Skip to main content

Full text of "History of Leavenworth County Kansas"

See other formats


Gc 

978.101 

L48h 

1336476 


GENEALOG 


COLLECTION 


ALLEN  COUNTY  PUBL 


lllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllfllllllllllllll 

3  1833  01103  1686 


HISTORY 


OF 


Leavenworth  County 

Kansas 


By 

JESSE  A.  HALL  and  LEROY  T.  HAND 


'  HALL 


ILLUSTRATED 


HISTORICAL  PUBLISHING  COMPANY 

TOPEKA.  KANSAS 

1921 


±336476 


JESSE  A.  HALL 


LEROY  T.  HAND 


FOREWORD 


It  is  not  an  easy  task  to  write  the  history  of  such  a  county  as  Leaven- 
worth. Of  all  the  counties  in  the  State  of  Kansas,  there  is  none  so  rich 
in  historical  lore.  Carved,  as  it  was,  out  of  the  heart  of  the  wild  and  un- 
broken frontier;  organized  and  developed  amid  the  hardships  and  vicissi- 
tudes of  pioneer  days,  its  story  is  one  of  unusual  historic  interest.  Many 
events  had  an  influence  in  shaping  its  destiny.  Less  than  a  century  ago, 
the  territory  of  which  it  is  now  composed  was  a  wild,  unbroken  waste, 
inhabited  by  the  untutored  Indian.  Where  once  the  council  fire  blazed 
and  the  wigwam  of  the  red  man  stood,  we  now  find  unsurpassed  commer- 
cial, industrial  and  social  institutions  have  developed. 

History  is  but  a  record  of  the  happenings  of  human  events,  the  per- 
sonal element  ever  being  present,  and  the  history  of  a  community  or 
county  is  merely  a  record  of  those  who  have  contributed  to  its  upbuild- 
ing and  advancement.  Each  step  in  the  development  of  the  above  men- 
tioned institutions;  each  incident  connected  with  the  passing  of  the 
original  inhabitants  of  the  territory  of  which  our  country  is  now  com- 
posed as  well  as  the  coming  of  the  pioneers — our  forefathers — is  history 
today.  Centered  about  every  pioneer  family;  about  the  rude  log  cabin, 
long  since  deserted  and  fallen  to  decay;  about  the  old  landmarks  that 
live  now  only  in  our  memory;  about  the  farms,  and  about  the  grave 
marked  by  some  weather  worn  piece,  there  is  a  story  worth  the  telling; 
a  story  that  would  interest  someone.  Unfortunately  the  authors  have 
been  compelled  to  eliminate  much  that  they  would  like  to  tell  owing  to 
want  of  space. 

Having  finished  our  undertaking  of  writing  a  history  of  Leavenworth 
County,  though  not  to  our  satisfaction,  we  look  back  upon  our  labor  as 
one  of  love  and  pleasure.  While  the  task  has  been  a  tedious  one,  yet 
we  feel  a  bit  of  satisfaction  in  our  belief  that  we  have  written  a  story 
of  our  county  in  "Leavenworth  County"  language ;  that  it  is  not  so  much 
written  as  spoken  and  in  a  way  that  we  feel  the  average  citizen  can  read 
and  understand.    We  claim  for  this  work  no  literary  merit,  neither  do 


we  claim  absolute  correctness.  Errors  have  doubless  occurred  by  rea- 
son of  transcribing,  typesetting  and  proof  reading.  Again  much  of  this 
history  as  it  is  written  herein  has  been  handed  down  by  word  of  mouth, 
and  realizing  as  we  do  the  frailty  of  human  memory,  we  have  attempted 
to  arrive  at  the  truth  as  best  we  could. 

Thoughout  this  work  we  have  tried  to  tell  the  story  of  Leavenworth 
County  and  its  people  simply  and  plainly  with  the  hope  that  we  might 
be  able  to  present  a  substantially  authentic  history  of  our  county  and  its 
people  to  which  the  present  and  future  generations  may  refer  with  con- 
fidence and  satisfaction  as  the  years  come  and  go,  that  it  may  be  a  per- 
manent record  for  all  time,  and  incidentally  to  inspire,  by  the  sweep  of  the 
story,  a  love  for  our  county  and  our  cities  and  an  intelligent  solicitude  for 
their  destiny. 

Especial  attention  is  directed  to  the  biographical  sketches  which  form 
a  part  of  this  volume.  In  these  sketches  will  be  found  much  interesting 
and  valuable  reading,  from  which  the  future  historian  may  well  compile 
a  history  of  Leavenworth  County.  It  is  to  be  regretted  that  many  others 
of  our  citizens  have  not  availed  themselves  of  the  opportunity  to  perpet- 
uate the  history  of  their  families  for  the  benefit  of  those  who  come  after 
them.  However,  it  is  no  fault  of  the  editor,  as  the  pages  of  this  volume 
have  been  open  to  all  who  cared  to  respond  to  the  invitation  of  the 
solicitors. 

JESSE  A.  HALL,    LEROY  T'.  HAND. 

Leavenworth,  Kansas,  May  1,  1921. 


To  the  memory  of  our  fathers  and  mothers — the  hardships 
and  adversity  with  which  they  have  met  as  pioneers 
of  this  county — their  unswerving  devotion  to  us — 
the  sacrifices  that  they  have  made  for  us — 
their  honest  toil  and  brave  hearts,  as  an 
humble   token  of  our  grateful  ap- 
preciation for  the   sacred  her- 
itage they  have  left  us  in 
these,   we   respectfully 
dedicate  this 
volume. 

— The  Authors. 


INDEX 


Adams,  Dr.  A.  R. .__  357 

Adams,  William    456 

Alford,  Dan  A.   608 

Anderson,  James   D.   568 

Anthony,  D.  R.,  Jr. 676 

Arring,  Henry  C. 343 

Atkinson,  D.   I.   423 

Baade,  John 414 

Babcock,   Samuel  Z.   435 

Baer,  Bernard  E.  610 

Baker,  Miss  Lucy 576 

Banks,  Leo  597 

Barnes,  Cassius  M.  344 

Barnes,  John  G. 350 

Barrett,  Charts  R.  541 

Basehor  State  Bank 466 

Beal,   George   549 

Becker,  Richard  E. 543 

Becher,  William 546 

Begley,   Michael   503 

Biddle,  W.   I.  646 

Biehler,  H.  T.  516 

BVeistein,    Pete    614 

Bodde,  Lieu  660 

Boling,  Dr.  T.  G.  V 426 

Bollin,  John  N. 448 

Bond,  Lee 547 

Boone,  Dr.  Thomas  John 355 

Bowen,  A.  A. 517 

Bransfleld,  W.   J.   378 

Bright,  Ira  J. 360 

Brose,  Tony 620 

Brown,  Felix  406 

Brown,  Gus  A. 403 

Brown,  Thomas  J. 341 

Browning,  H.  B. 663 

Brune,  Henry  J. 441 

Brune,  J.  F. 436 

Brune,  Louis 439 

Brune,  William  M. 446 

Buchanan,  Benjamin  B. 388 

Bueckemann,   Frank  463 

Bullard,  Mrs.  Cora  AdVelia 544 


Bullard,  Henry  Shelby 545 

Burns,   Peter   657 

Burre,  Fred  451 

Byrne,  Francis  A. 631 

Cahill,  Thomas  618 

Campbell  Bros.  Tire  Service  Shop...  413 

Campbell,  C.  V. 462 

Campbell,  John  S. 447 

Carr,  George  E.  392 

Chambers,  B.  C. 627 

Chapman,  Ira  N. 352 

Choatwood,  James  M. 477 

Cheatwood,  Joel 468 

Cherrie,  Charles  L. 376 

Chestnut,  T.  J. 395 

Clark,  Leonidas  C. 584 

Clark,  J.  L.   593 

Cleavenger,  Joseph  D. 494 

Cockerell,  H.  E. 601 

Coe,  Dr.  Walter  B.  662 

Coflman,   Allen   665 

Cogan,  Richard 393 

Coldnen,  Harry  Isaac 367 

Collins,  Samuel  P. 664 

Colvin,  Sidney  O. 363 

Concannon,  Joseph   622 

Connelly,  Robert  S. 628 

Corson,  Clarence  W. 503 

Cory,  John  Milton 403 

Cooper,  Miss  Julia 580 

Courtney,  Rufus 605 

Courtney,  William  H. 382 

Cox,  Charles  T. 375 

Crites,  Frank 589 

Curtin,  Charles  Edward 351 

Dassler,  Charles  F.  W. 677 

Davidson  Brothers 611 

Davis,  Theodore  C.  569 

Day,  Minor  H. 412 

Defrees,  Sjoerd 598 

Dews,  Mrs.  T.  C. 580 

Dick,  Rev.  A.  G.   540 

Dickenson,  A.  M. 675 


HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 


Dicks,  Edward  T. 373 

Dohrn,  Henry  E. 602 

Domann,  William  J. 485 

Donnelly,  Felix 672 

Donovan,  Benjamin  J. 421 

Donovan,  J.  H.  420 

Doran,   R.  E.   426 

Douglas,  Earl   380 

Douglas,  Oscar  Lee 476 

Drews,  William  F. 654 

Dunbar,  C.  C. 607 

Dunnuck,  A.  G. 337 

Easton  State  Bank  511 

Eberth,   Ernest   666 

Edmonds,  Charles  396 

Eggert,  Martin  J. 359 

Ehart,  Adam  483 

Ehart,  Martin   483 

Ehart,  William  F.  A.  515 

Evans,  John  W.   555 

Evans,  Lemuel  F.,  Jr. 670 

Everhardy,  Dr.  J.  L. 354 

Everhardy,  Peter 353 

Farrell,  Frank  A. 641 

Faulkner,  R.  F. 397 

Fenning,  C.  M.   379 

Fishback,  Gustave  H. 638 

Flinner,  Max  437 

Folger,  Arthur  638 

Freeman,  Robert  W. ...  673 

Fredrick,  F.  E. 525 

Fuqua,  J.  T. 592 

G»9isen,  Charles 645 

Geraughty  and  Tetxor 381 

Gilman,  John  Milton 400 

Gist,   Charles   429 

Gist,  Dr.  William 430 

Goble,  W.   F.   474 

Goff,  John 464 

Gray,  James  B. 475 

Grisham,  James  R.  473 

Grootaers,  Rev.  A. 617 

Haag,  Peter  W. 667 

Hall,  Jesse  A. 651 

Hall,  T.  F.  502 

Hallenbeck,  Hugh  A.  572 

Halpin,   Mike  652 

Hand,  LeRoy  T. 649 

Harper,  Floyd  E.  591 


Harris,  F.  P.   387 

Harris,  L.  D. 387 

Hashagen  Brothers  417 

Hassett,  Dennis  A. 452 

Hegarty,    James   497 

Heim,  Charles  J. 619 

Heim,  John  G. 508 

Henderson,  William   445 

Hennessy,  John  W. 525 

Hennessey,  Thomas  J. 661 

Henry,  Frank  W. 556 

Herries,   David   534 

Hiatt,  Mauriw  W.   478 

Hicks,  Charles  H.   623 

Hiesrodt,   Lewis    595 

Hill,  Samuel  H.   438 

Hillner,  William  H. 564 

Hinz  Brothers  &  Company 630 

Hogue  Catholic  Church 612 

Hook,  Miss  Lucy  V 334 

Hooper,   Duke  585 

Hovey,  Wallace  FranWin 624 

Hughey,  F.   L.   665 

Hughey,  John  T.   496 

Hunnius,   Carl   356 

Hunnius,  Ernest 356 

Hunt,  Floyd 590 

Jadicke,    Oscar   495 

Jamieson,  Charles  R.   386 

Jeffries,  John  H.  405 

Johnson,  Charles  E. 574 

Johnson,  Orra  S. 527 

Justus,  Herbert  L. 348 

Keating,  Charles  E. 628 

Kelly,  Rev.  Bernard  S. 550 

Kemler,  J.  W.  479 

Kemberling,  Henry  A. 565 

Kenton,  J.  W. 466 

Kennedy,  Lawrence 498 

Kennedy,  Matthew  C. 659 

Kern,  W.  J.  418 

Kesinger,  Calvin 563 

Klamm,  John  P. 471 

Klinkenberg,   Henry   581 

Knipe,  Ben  H. 588 

Knipe,  Henry  C. 632 

Kopp,  John  N. 433 

Kowalewski,  Joseph 436 

Krueger,  Fred 507 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY 


Kruse,    Dietrich    472 

Kuhnhoff,  George  H. 434 

Kuhnhoff,  W.  A. 631 

La  Caille,  William  L. 432 

Laird,  Jack  J. 415 

Langworthy,  Dr.  Joseph  Howard  „.  369 

Langworthy,   Dr.    S.    B 368 

Lark,  A.  C. 431 

Leakey,  Dr.  Eustace  P. 561 

Leeman,  Robert  L.   399 

Linaweaver,  W.  J.  384 

Linwood  Soap  Powder  Co. 530 

Linwood  State  Bank 524 

Logan,  Frank  W.  490 

Lohman,  Fred  W. 506 

Lohman,  H.  A.  634 

Lohman,  Henry  J. 389 

Loomis,  Calvin  Willard 512 

Lord,  C.  L. 594 

Lord,  E.  J.  592 

Lowe,  David  C. 601 

Lozensky,  John 380 

Lozensky,    Marian    380 

Lysle,  E.  D.   364 

Lysle  Milling  Company,  The 366 

McAuliffe,  Francis  J.  363 

McClure,  Ross  J.  411 

McConkey,  Melvin  K.  644 

McCreary,   Miller   B.   444 

McEvoy,    Patrick   501 

McEvoy,  Joseph  P.  500 

McFarland,  John   582 

McGuire  Brothers  Clothing  Company  548 

Mclntire,  George  J. 385 

McMillen,  John 616 

McNamee,  James  557 

McNaughton,  Malcom  N. 370 

McNaughton,  Samuel  James 554 

McNerney,  E.  C. - 613 

McRill,   Kirby   668 

McQuillan,  Ed.   642 

McQuillan,   Peter   639 

Martin,  T.  W.  522 

Masterson,  Charles  H. 416 

Mayer,  J.  H. 460 

Mayor,  Reinhart 662 

Medill,  Sherman 334 

Meinke,  Theo.  529 

Mensing,  C.  F. 586 


Meyer,  Charles  G.  621 

Meyer,  Charles  Frederick 467 

Morris,  C.  E. 637 

Morris,   Thomas   629 

Mosse,  Arthur  St.  Leger 487 

Mottin,   J.   F.   487 

Mottin,  L.  A.  656 

Murr,   Henry   566 

New,  Oliver  F.  626 

Nieman,  John  F.  514 

Nirschl,    Anton    480 

Ode,  August   656 

Ode,  Henry 499 

O'Dea,  Dennis   504 

O'Donnell,  J.   J.,   Jr.   409 

Oplinger,   Christian   636 

Oplinger,  Samuel  635 

Papenhausen,   Fred   558 

Payeur,   Francis   499 

Peters,  Jordan  B.   578 

Petherbridge,  R.  M. 465 

Pettit,  C.  E. 428 

Phelps,   E.   Rice    457 

Poberezny,   Peter  599 

Porter,   George   514 

Porter,  S.  C. 410 

Potter,  F.  M.   346 

Potter,  Mrs.  Grace  J.  Fisher 342 

Potter,  O.  J. 339 

Powell,  James  W.  424 

Pulley,  T.   C.   626 

Rapp,  George  L. 536 

Robinson,   I.   W.   508 

Roe,  George  William 505 

Rozendal,  Gerardus 604 

Rumford's  Ford  Hospital  422 

Rush,    Lon   390 

Sanders,  Louis  P.   570 

Sass,   Christian  511 

Schmekel,  Otto  F. 679 

Schmidt,  John 442 

Schroeder,   Gus   587 

Schweizer,  George „ 492 

Seckler,  Harry  H.  648 

Sedgwick,  John : 577 

Sedgwick,  John  C. 675 

Seeley,  Dr.  Timothy  D. 551 

Seifert,  Charles 539 

Seifert,  Roy 535 


HISTORY  OF  LEAVENWORTH  COUNTY 


Seifert,  Wallace  596 

Seitz,  John  C. 378 

Seymour,   Robert  L.   394 

Sharpe,  William  F 491 

Short,  H.  C.  530 

Shrey,    Carist    609 

Siscoe,  Clyde  F.  528 

Smelser,  John 526 

Smith,  Walter  C.   461 

Snyder,  Charles  E.  373 

Snyder,  E.  W. 371 

Sparks,  W.  W.   643 

Spaulding,   Joseph   412 

Spears,   Baxter   596 

Specialty  Garage  and  Manufacturing 

Company    419 

Stafford,  R.  W. 509 

Stein,   Otto   658 

Stephenson,  William  J. 482 

Stevenson,  George  A. 377 

Stigleman,   Martin  L.   449 

St.  Joseph's  Church  of  the  Valley 617 

Stoneburner,  B.  W. 430 

Swan,  Charles  Morehead 408 

Taylor,  Capt.  John  T. 332 

Taylor,   Thomas    571 

Taschetta,  Peter  V. 588 

Thornburgh,  Giles  H. 501 

Timberlake,  James  F. 391 


Timpe,  Frank  665 

Toffler,   Morris   469 

Townsend,  Charles  D.  349 

Townsend,  Charles  E. 418 

Tudhope,   John   520 

Twomey,  Rev.  Jerome 612 

Uhlrich,  Frank — _  450 

Unmessig,  A.  A. 465 

Unmessig,  William  H. 459 

Victor  Manufacturing  Company 401 

Voorhees,  Joseph  532 

Voorhees,  Prof.  Eph. 660 

Waelti,  Dr.  Christian  533 

Walden,   William   470 

Walker,  John  C. 374 

Ward,  Samuel  H. 669 

Warring,  Dr.  J.  W. 519 

Weingarth,  Louis  Smith 633 

Wellhouse,  Frederick  652 

Wendel,   William    518 

White,  James  G. 488 

Wilson,  Russell 639 

Wilson,  Thomas  K.  537 

Wise,  F.  L. 423 

Wosser,  Thomas 440 

Wortman,  John 407 

Wright,  John  W.  454 

Wuerth,  Franklin 361 

Yoakum,  Robert  B. 443 

Yoakum,  Walter  C.  443 


History  of  Leavenworth  County 


CHAPTER  I 


INDIAN  HISTORY 


THE  KANSAS— PRINCIPAL,  VILLAGES— THE  TRIBE  REMOVAL— CHARACTERISTICS- 
NOTED  CHIEFS— TREATY  OP  1806— DELA WARES  AND  KICKAPOOS— TREATIES 
_  LEGENDS  —  CHIEFS— "JOURNEY  CAKE"  — "KETCHUM"—  CUSTOMS  —  OTHER 
TREATIES     97-104 


CHAPTER  II 


_  EARLY  EXPLORATIONS 


NEW  WORLD— SPANISH  EARLIEST  CLAIMANT— PONCE  DE  LEON— PAMPHILO 
DE  NARAVEZ— CABEZA  DE  VACA— CORONADO— TREATMENT  OF  INDIANS- 
FRENCH  EXPLORERS— MARQUETTE— LA  SALLE— CROZAT  GRANT— DU  TISS- 
NETT  EXPEDITION— FORT  ERECTED— LOUISIANA  PURCHASE— LEWIS  AND 
CLARKE— DANIEL  BOONE 106-114 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 


CHAPTER  III 


EARLY  SETTLEMENTS 


COLONEL.  LEAVENWORTH— FIRST  SETTLERS— "SQUATTERS"— TOWN  COMPANY- 
SALE  OF  LOTS — EARLY  INDUSTRIES— FIRST  STORES — NEWSPAPERS — HOTELS 
— EARLY  FLOUR  MILLS— BREWERIES— SCHOOLS— THEATERS— PUBLIC  HALLS 
—BANKING— CHURCHES     115-136 


CHAPTER  IV 


EARLY  SETTLEMENTS  CONTINUED. 


KICKAPOO— DELAWARE— EASTOX— SPRINGD  ALE— TONGANOXIE— RENO    137-153 


CHAPTER  V 


PIONEER  LIFE  AND  HOMES 


TYPES  OF  PIONEERS— THEIR  HOMES— HOW  HOMINY  WAS  MADE— HOSPITALITY- 
IMPLEMENTS  AND  CLOTHING— THE  TYPICAL  PIONEER— THE  PIONEER 
WOMEN    154-158 


HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

CHAPTER  VI 


FIRST  THINGS  IN  CITY  AND  COUNTY 


CHAPTER  VII 


EARLY  DAY  TRANSPORTATION  AND  HIGHWAYS 


STBAMBOATING  ON  THE  MISSOURI— LANDING— EARLY  HIGHWAYS  AND  TRAILS- 
OTHER  ROADS — STAGE  ROUTES — SALT  LAKE  TRAIL— SANTA  PE  TRAIL— OXEN 
USED— METHOD  OF  TRAVEL 166-170 


CHAPTER  VIII 


FORT  LEAVENWORTH 


SELECTED  BY  COL  LEAVENWORTH— BOUNDARIES— DESCRIPTION— BUILDINGS- 
WATER  WORKS— SCHOOL— CHAPEL  AND  OTHER  BUILDINGS— DURING  WORLD 
WAR— A  BASE  OP  SUPPLIES  DURING  WARS— COMMANDANTS— ARMY  SERVICE 
SCHOOL— DISCIPLANARY    BARRACKS    171-180 


HISTORY  OF  LEAVENWORTH  COUNTY 

CHAPTER  IX 


ORGANIZATION  OF  COUNTY. 


TERRITORIAL    ACT    OF    1855— BOUNDARIES    DEFINED— TOWNSHIPS    ORGANIZBD— 
COURT    HOUSE— COUNTY    OFFICERS 181-199 


CHAPTER  X 


LEAVENWORTH  CITY. 


FORM  OF  GOVERNMENT— OFFICERS— FIRE  DEPARTMENT— POLICE  DEPARTMENT 
—CEMETERIES— CUSHING-  HOSPITAL— KANSAS  ORPHAN  ASYLUM— PUBLIC  LI- 
BRARY—PUBLIC   SCHOOLS— CHAMBER    OF    COMMERCE 200-209 


CHAPTER  XI 


SLAVERY  QUESTION  AND  THE  CIVIL  WAR. 


MASON  AND  DIXON  LINE— MISSOURI  COMPROMISE— PLATTE  PURCHASE— WILMOT 
PROVISO— DRED  SCOTT  DECISION— COMPROMISE  OF  1850— KANSAS-NEBRASKA 
BILL— "SQUATTERS"  SALT  CREEK  MEETING! — PRO-SLAVERY  BANDS— EAST- 
ERN IMMIGRATION— LEAVENWORTH  COUNTY  IN  THE  CIVIL  WAR— MILITARY 
LEADERS    210-221 


HISTORY  OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

CHAPTER  XII 


CHURCHES 


FIRST  METHODIST— FIRST  CHRISTIAN— EVANGELICAL,  GERMAN  LUTHERAN- 
EPISCOPAL— JEWISH— PRESBYTERIAN  —  CONGREGATIONAL  —  EPISCOPAL,  ST. 
PAUL'S— CATHOLIC— FIRST   CHURCH   OF   CHRIST,   SCIENTIST 222-24S 


CHAPTER  XIII 


LODGES,  CLUBS  AND  SOCIETIES. 


ABDALLAH  TEMPLE— MASONIC  LODGES— KNIGHTS  OF  PYTHIAS— INDEPENDENT 
ORDER  OF  ODD  FELLOWS— MODERN  WOODMEN  OF  AMERICA— WOMAN'S  AUX- 
ILIARY OF  AMERICAN  LEGION— KANSAS  FEDERATION  OF  WOMEN'S  CLUBS— 
CHAUTAUQUA   ASSOCIATION — YEOMEN— KNIGHTS   OF    COLUMBUS 244-256 


CHAPTER  XIV 


NATIONAL  AND  STATE  INSTITUTIONS 


NATIONAL    MILITARY    HOME— UNITED    STATES    PENITENTIARY— STATE    PENITEN- 
TIARY      257-261 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 


CHAPTER  XV 


THE  PRESS 


"THE  KANSAS  HERALD"— "TERRITORIAL  REGISTER"— "THE  JOURNAL"— "YOUNG 
AMERICA" — OTHER  PIONEER  NEWSPAPERS — LATER  PUBLICATIONS — THE 
LEAVENWORTH    TIMES— THE    LEAVENWORTH    POST 262-266 


CHAPTER  XVI 


MEDICAL  PROFESSION 


FIRST  PHYSICIANS  CAME  WITH  THE  ARMY— FIRST  ON  THE  TOWNSITE-^EARLY 
PHYSICIANS— KICKAPOO— OTHER  SMALL  TOWNS— PROMINENT  DOCTORS- 
SANITARY  COMMISSION  ESTABLISHED— U.  S.  MILITARY  HOSPITAL— OTHER 
HOSPITALS — "MEDICAL    HERALD"— PRESENT    DAY    PHYSICIANS 267-271 


CHAPTER  XVII 


THE  LEAVENWORTH  COUNTY  BAR 


TERRITORIAL  CODE  OF  PROCEDURE— JUDGES  APPOINTED— JUDICIAL  DISTRICTS- 
FIRST  TERRITORIAL  COURT  AT  LEAVENWORTH— ATTORNEYS  ADMIT- 
TED          272-293 


ILLUSTRATIONS 


Adams,  William 456 

Barnes,  C,  M 344 

Bollin,  J.  N 448 

Bright,  Ira  J 360 

Bullard,  Mrs.  Cora  A 644 

Cherrie,  C.  L 376 

Cherrie,  Mrs.  C.  L 376 

Court  House,  Leavenworth  County 97 

D.  A.  R.  Room  in  Leavenworth  County  Court  House 248 

Ft.  Leavenworth,  Marking  the  Beginning  of 176 

Gilman,  John  M. 400 

Goff,  John  and  Family 464 

Grist  Mill,  The  Jacob  Rapp 536 

Hall,  Jesse  A Frontispiece 

Hand,  LeRoy  T Frontispiece 

High  School,  Leavenworth  and  Cadets 144 

Hughey,  John  T.,  and  Family 496 

Kruse,  Dietrich  472 

Langworthy,  Dr.  S.  B 368 

Leavenworth,  View  of 200 

Library,  Public 224 

Linaweaver,  W.  J 384 

Linaweaver,  Mrs.-W.  J 384 

Loomis,  Calvin  W 512 

Loomis,  Mrs.  Mary 512 

Motor  Company,  Leavenworth 416 

Nirschl,  William,  John  and  Carl  H 480 

O'Dea,  Residence  of  Dennis 504 

Powell,  J.  W 424 

Siscoe,  Family  and  Residence  of  C.  F 528 

Steamboating  on  the  Missouri 112 

Swan,  C.  M 408 

Taylor,  Capt.  John  T 332 

Transportation,  Early  Day 168 

Tudhope  Family,  Five  Generations  of 520 

Wellhouse,  Frederick 552 

White,  Mr.  and  Mrs.  James  W 488 

World  War  Veterans,  Banquet  to 296 

Wosser,  Thomas  and  Grandsons,  Owen  and  Francis  Buchanan 440 


History  of  Leavenworth  County 


CHAPTER  I 


INDIAN  HISTORY 


THE  KANSAS— PRINCIPAL  VILLAGES — THE  TRIBE  REMOVAL—  CHARACTERISTICS- 
NOTED  CHIEFS — TREATY  OF  1806— DELAWARES  AND  KICKAPOOS— TREATIES 
—  LEGENDS  —  CHIEFS— ".TOURNEY  CAKE"  —  "KETCHUM"-  CUSTOMS  —  OTHER 
TREATIES. 

The  earliest  known  inhabitants  of  the  territory  which  now  comprises 
Leavenworth  County  was  a  tribe  of  Indians  known  as  the  Kansas.  Early 
day  historical  accounts  vary  greatly  in  the  spelling  of  the  name.  They 
were  frequently  known  and  referred  to  as  the  Canceas,  Kansez,  Canzas, 
Canzes,  Okanis,  Cances,  Kansies,  Canzon,  Kanzon,  Konza,  Konzas  and  the 
Kasas.  It  was  not  until  1854,  when  Edward  Everett  Hale  wrote  his  "Ac- 
count of  Emigrant  Aid  Companies  and  Directions  to  Emigrants,"  under  the 
title  of  "Kanzas  and  Nebraska,"  that  the  spelling  of  the  word  was  finally 
settled  upon  as  Kanzas,  in  preference  to  what  he  terms  the  more  fashion- 
able way  of  spelling  it,  "Kansas."  The  name  of  our  state  as  well  as  .the 
river,  Kansas,  which  flows  through  it  from  west  to  east,  draining  a 
major  portion  of  it,  was  derived  from  the  name  of  this  early  Indian  tribe. 

Early  historical  accounts  of  this  tribe  place  their  lands  and  country  as 
north  of  the  Kansas  River  of  today  and  along  the  western  banks  of  the 
Missouri.  The  tribe  was  known  to  have  been  divided  up  into  two  principal 
villages  referred  to  as  the  upper  and  lower  village.     What  was  known  as 

(3) 


98  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

the  lower  village  was  located  about  forty  miles  north  of  the  junction  of 
the  Missouri  and  Kansas  rivers,  the  present  site  of  Kansas  City,  Missouri. 

In  1804  when  the  explorers,  Lewis  and  Clarke,  ascended  the  Missouri 
River  they  reported  that  they  were  unable  to  find  any  trace  of  the  lower 
Kanzas  village  but  had  found  at  its  location  the  ruins  of  an  old  French  fort 
that  had  apparently  been  abandoned  some  twenty-five  or  thirty  years  pre- 
vious. It  is  believed  that  the  cause  of  the  Kanzas  removing  from  this 
locality  was  due  to  the  war-like  encroachments  of  the  Iowas  and  Sacs, 
tribes  to  the  northward  who  had  previously  had  extensive  dealings  with 
Mississippi  Valley  traders,  had  been  abundantly  supplied  with  firearms  and 
were  desirous  of  obtaining  the  hunting  and  trapping  grounds  of  the  Kanzas. 

Upon  leaving  their  country,  which  extended  over  all  of  the  territory 
of  which  Leavenworth  County  is  now  composed,  the  Kanzas  removed  to  a 
point  situated  on  the  Kansas  River,  near  the  present  location  of  Manhattan, 
Kansas.  It  was  not  until  June,  1825,  that  the  Kanzas  ceded  their  lands, 
of  which  Leavenworth  County  is  now  a  part,  to  the  United  States  by 
treaty.  The  treaty  by  which  they  ceded  their  lands  was  made  at  St. 
Louis,  June  3,  1825,  with  Superintendent  of  Indian  Affairs  Clarke  and, 
with  reference  to  the  land  ceded,  reads  in  part  as  follows: 

"Beginning  at  the  entrance  of  the  Kansas  River  into  the  Missouri 
River;  from  thence  North  to  the  North  West  corner  of  the  state  of  Mis- 
souri, from  thence  westerly  to  the  Nodaway  River,  thirty  miles  from  its 
entrance  into  the  Missouri  River  and  with  that  river,  (the  Nemaha),  to 
its  source;  from  thence  to  the  source  of  the  Kansas  River,  leaving  the 
old  village  of  the  Pania  (Pawnee)  Republic  to  the  West;  from  thence  on 
the  ridge  dividing  the  waters  of  the  Kansas  River  from  those  of  the 
Arkansas,  to  the  westerly  line  of  the  state  of  Missouri;  and  with  that 
line  Thirty  miles  to  place  of  beginning." 

According  to  the  terms  of  the  treaty,  the  United  States  Government 
was  to  pay  in  consideration  of  the  ceding  of  the  above  described  lands 
the  sum  of  $3,500.00  per  year  for  a  period  of  twenty  years  to  the  tribe. 
In  addition  thereto  a  reservation  was  made  to  the  Indians  of  a  tract  of 
land  near  the  present  location  of  Manhattan,  Kansas,  and  the  govern- 
ment was  to  provide  the  Indians  with  stock  and  agricultural  implements, 
and  was  to  supply  them  with  a  blacksmith  and  furnish  them  a  teacher 
of  agriculture. 

The  Kanzas,  or  "Kaws,"  as  they  were  sometimes  known  by  the 
French  contraction  of  the  word,  Kanza,  which  signifies  "Smoky,"  were 


HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  99 

said  to  have  been  more  or  less  inclined  to  be  a  peaceful  tribe.  They  were 
more  industrious  than  some  of  the  tribes  west  of  the  Mississippi,  yet 
there  was  great  room  for  improvement.  Their  requirement  in  their 
treaty  of  1825  with  the  United  States  Government,  that  they  be  furnished 
agricultural  implements,  a  blacksmith  and  teacher  of  agriculture,  would 
indicate  that  they  were  desirous  of  deserting  the  chase  and  hunt  as  a 
means  of  obtaining  a  livelihood  and  resorting  to  the  tilling  of  the  soil. 
Their  treatment  of  visitors  has  always  been  recorded  as  generous  and 
considerate.  In  the  journals  of  M.  de  Bourgmont,  the  French  explores, 
it  is  said  that  they  believed  in  a  Great  Spirit;  had  crude  forms  of  re- 
ligious worship;  a  code  of  ethics  existed  which  looked  with  extreme  dis- 
taste upon  such  a  crime  as  drunkenness.  Insanity  among  them  was 
unknown.  Their  language  was  the  dialect  of  the  Dacotahs.  Among 
their  most  noted  chiefs  were  "Na-he— da-ba"  or  Long  Neck;  "Ka-he-ga- 
wa-ta-ning-ga"  or  Little  Chief,  and  "Shen-ga-ne-ga."  To  the  south  of 
this  tribe  dwelt  the  Osages,  with  which  they  occasionally  became  in- 
volved in  disputes.  At  a  grand  council  of  these  tribes  held  at  Pawnee 
village,  Republic,  September  28,  1806,  a  treaty  was  entered  into  between 
them  and  the  United  States  Government,  the  government  being  represented 
by  Lieut.  Zebulon  Montgomery  Pike  and  Lieut.  J.  B.  Wilkinson,  which 
reads  as  follows: 

"In  council  held  by  the  subscribers,  at  the  village  of  the  Pawnee  Re- 
public, appeared  Wahonsongay  with  eight  principal  soldiers  of  the  Kansas 
nation  on  the  one  part,  and  Shin-ga-wasa,  a  chief  of  the  Osage  nation, 
with  four  of  the  warriors  of  the  Grand  and  Little  Osage  villages  on  the 
other  part.  After  having  smoked  the  pipe  of  peace,  and  buried  past  ani- 
mosities, they  individually  and  jointly  bound  themselves  in  behalf  of  and 
for  their  respective  nations  to  observe  a  friendly  intercourse  and  keep  a 
permanent  peace,  and  mutually  pledge  themselves  to  use  every  influence  to 
further  the  commands  and  wishes  of  their  great  father. 

"We,  therefore,  American  Chiefs,  do  require  of  each  nation,  a  strict 
observance  of  the  above  treaty,  as  they  value  the  good  will  of  their  great 
father,  the  President  of  the  United  States. 

"Done  at  our  council  fire,  at  the  Pawnee  Republic  village,  the  28th 
day  of  September,  1806,  and  the  Thirty-first  year  of  American 
Independence. 

"(Signed)  "Z.  M.  Pike, 

"J.  B.  Wilkinson." 


100  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

The  above  treaty  as  entered  into  by  the  chiefs  of  the  Kanzas  and 
Osage  tribes  was  never  broken. 

With  the  removal  of  the  Kanzas  from  the  territory  of  which  Leaven- 
worth County  is  now  a  part,  came  the  entrance  of  two  other  tribes,  the 
Delawares  and  Kickapoos,  of  which  more  is  known.  In  the  year  1818  at 
St.  Mary's,  Ohio,  the  Delaware  or  Lenni  Lenapes  ceded  all  lands  held  by 
them  in  the  State  of  Indiana.  Part  of  the  consideration  being  that  the 
government  was  to  furnish  them  with  a  country  west  of  the  Mississippi 
in  which  to  reside.  Subsequent  to  this  they  were  assigned  certain  tracts 
of  land  in  the  State  of  Missouri  to  which  they  removed.  On  September 
24,  1829,  the  Delawares  again  ceded  their  lands  by  treaty  to  the  govern- 
ment and  were  granted  lands  further  west  and  in  what  was  later  to  be 
organized  into  Kansas  Territory  and  of  which  Leavenworth  County  was 
to  become  a  part.  In  the  treaty  granting  the  lands  last  mentioned  to  the 
Delawares,  the  tract  granted  them  is  described  as  follows:  "The  country 
in  the  fork  of  the  Kanzas  and  Missouri  rivers  extending  up  the  Kanzas 
river  to  where  the  Kanzas  (Indians)  live  and  up  the  Missouri  River  to 
Camp  Leavenworth  and  thence  West  by  a  line  drawn  westerly  leaving  a 
space  ten  miles  wde  North  of  Kanzas  boundary  as  an  outlet." 

This  ti-act  of  land  as  ceded  to  the  Delawares  comprised  the  greater 
portion  of  what  is  now  Leavenworth  County.  Of  this  tract  of  land 
granted  them,  the  Delawares  on  December  14,  1843,  sold  to  the  Wyan- 
dottes  triangular  tract  at  the  junction  of  the  Kansas  and  Missouri  rivers 
which  comprised  the  greater  portion  of  what  is  now  Wyandotte  County. 
Later,  and  on  May  6,  1854,  the  Delawares  ceded  to  the  United  States  Gov- 
ernment by  treaty  practically  all  of  their  lands  excepting  a  strip  ten  miles 
wide  on  the  north  bank  of  the  Kansas  River  beginning  at  the  western 
boundary  of  the  Wyandotte  lands  and  extending  forty  miles  westward. 
This  strip,  commonly  known  and  referred  to  as  the  "Delaware  Strip," 
"Delaware  Reserve,"  and  "Delaware  Trust  Lands,"  remained  in  possession 
of  the  tribe  until  May  30,  1860,  when  it  was  ceded  by  the  Delawares  to 
the  United  States  Government  by  treaty. 

The  Delawares  or  Lenni  Lenapes  as  a  tribe  were  rich  in  legendary 
and^  historical  lore.  They  were  descendants  of  the  famous  Algonquin 
tribB^  Their  oldest  known  home  was  in  Pennsylvania,  where  they  resided 
along  the  banks  of  the  Delaware  River,  the  river  getting  its  name  from 
that  of  the  tribe.  The  name,  Lenni  Lenape,  by  which  they  were  some- 
times   known,    means    in    Indian    parlance    "Original    Man."      The    tribe 


HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  101 

claimed  to  have  been  the  original  parents  of  the  Algonquins.  Among 
other  things  this  tribe  had  the  distinction  of  being  the  first  Indian  tribe 
upon  the  American  continent  to  negotiate  a  treaty  with  the  United  States. 
This  treaty  was  made  at  Fort  Pitt,  September  17,  1778. 

Among  the  names  of  the  chiefs  of  the  Delawares  we  find  those  of 
"Four  Miles,"  "Fall  Leaf,"  "Ketchum,"  and  "Journey-Cake."  In  his  val- 
uable work,  "Beyond  the  Mississippi,"  which  dealt  exclusively  with  the 
New  West  of  the  early  fifties,  Albert  D.  Richardson  tells  of  a  night  spent 
by  himself  at  the  cabin  of  Chief  "Four  Miles."  He  describes  the  location 
of  the  cabin  as  being  about  fifteen  miles  east  of  Lawrence,  where  it  is 
believed  to  have  been  located  in  what  is  now  Sherman  Township,  Leaven- 
worth County,  Kansas.  It  was  during  this  stay  that  he  met  the  chief 
"Fall  Leaf,"  after  which  the  station,  Fall  Leaf,  on  the  main  line  of  the 
Union  Pacific  Railway  between  Linwood  and  Lawrence,  is  named.  A 
legend  connected  with  the  name  of  the  chief,  "Four  Miles,"  is  to  the  effect 
that  he  once  ran  a  distance  of  four  miles  and  back  without  stopping. 

The  city  of  Linwood,  Leavenworth  County,  Kansas,  which  is  situ- 
ated at  the  junction  of  Big  Stranger  Creek  and  the  Kansas  River,  was 
originally  called  Journey-Cake.  It  was  named  after  a  chief  of  the  Dela- 
ware tribe  around  which  the  following  legend  was  interwoven:  At  one 
time  a  young  brave  of  the  Delaware  tribe  was  captured  by  white  traders 
and  carried  to  a  far  distance  from  his  tribe.  He  eventually  managed  to 
escape  and  upon  his  long  journey  home,  which  was  fraught  with  many 
dangers  and  hardships,  he  was  forced  to  rely  for  subsistence  upon  a 
small  cake  of  corn  bread  which  he  had  concealed  upon  his  person.  Having 
arrived  safely  with  his  tribe  and  after  telling  them  the  story  of  his  es- 
cape he  was  immediately  rechristened  "Journey-Cake."  This  name  was 
originally  given  to  the  city  of  Linwood,  Kansas,  owing  to  the  close  prox- 
imity within  which  Journey-Cake  lived  to  the  city  at  the  time  of  its 
establishment.  The  name,  which  is  of  purely  Indian  origin,  has  been 
corrupted  by  the  whites  to  that  of  "Johnny-Cake."  Another  legend  of 
the  Delawares  in  connection  with  their  chief,  "Ketchum,"  was  to  the 
effect  that  while  he  was  quite  young,  he  was  captured  by  white  soldiers 
while  in  battle  and  carried  away  captive.  Long  afterward  he  escaped  by 
tearing  away  a  board  from  the  floor  of  the  guardhouse  in  which  he  was 
held  prisoner.  After  he  had  gained  the  open  he  was  discovered  by  one 
of  the  guards  who  immediately  fired  upon  him  several  times  and  then 
cried  loudly  to  his  associate  guards:  "Catch  him!" 


102  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

Upon  his  return  to  his  tribe  and  after  telling  the  story  of  his  escape 
he  was  rechristened  "Ketchum."  Later  he  became  chief  of  the  Delawares 
and  died  as  chief  of  the  tribe  in  1857. 

The  Delawares  as  an  Indian  tribe  were  unusually  industrious.  Many 
of  them  were  quite  intelligent  and  quite  readily  forsook  the  chase  and 
hunt  as  a  means  of  livelihood  and  resorted  to  agriculture.  The  govern- 
ment gave  them  considerable  assistance  in  their  agricultural  work.  They 
built  numerous  cabins  which  were  found  mostly  upon  the  hills  and  bluffs 
and  along  the  well  established  trails  through  their  lands.  It  is  recorded 
that  they  were  not  as  a  rule  very  strict  abont  the  marriage  relation. 
Whenever  a  brave  took  a  liking  to  one  of  the  female  members  of  the 
tribe  he  usually  gave  her  father  some  sort  of  a  present,  a  pony,  hunting 
knife,  or  some  other  article  valuable  to  the  Indian  way  of  thinking,  and 
took  the  girl.  They  lived  together  as  long  as  he  liked  and  then  he  either 
traded  her  off  or  they  separated.  The  offspring,  as  a  rule,  went  with 
the  mother. 

On  May  30,  1860,  the  Delawares  entered  into  a  treaty  at  Sarcoxie- 
ville,  a  settlement  on  their  reservation  named  after  a  chief  of  their  tribe, 
"Sarcoxie,"  the  terms  of  which  assigned  to  each  member  of  the  tribe 
eighty  acres  of  land  in  one  compact  body.  A  privilege  was  extended  the 
Leavenworth,  Pawnee  &  Western  Railroad  Company,  now  the  Union  Pa- 
cific Railway  Company  to  purchase  the  balance  of  the  land  at  not  less 
than  $1.25  per  acre. 

On  July  4,  1866,  what  was  left  of  the  Delaware  lands,  then  referred 
to  as  the  Delaware  Diminished  Reserve,  was  offered  for  sale  by  the  Sec- 
retary of  the  Interior  of  the  United  States  at  not  less  than  $2.50  per  acre. 
All  of  the  remaining  land  was  subsequently  bought  by  the  Leavenworth, 
Pawnee  &  Western  Railroad  Company,  the  date  of  transfer  being  Janu- 
ary 7,  1868. 

The  greater  portion  of  the  tribe  removed  to  the  Indian  Territory  in 
1867,  leaving  only  about  two  hundred  members  who  in  1868  removed  to 
the  Wichita  Agency. 

The  Kickapoos,  who  followed  the  Delawares  in  the  occupation  of  the 
territory  of  which  Leavenworth  County  is  now  composed  in  part,  ceded 
their  lands  and  country  on  the  Osage  River  in  Missouri,  October  24,  1832, 
by  treaty  to  the  United  States  Government.  Subsequent  to  this  and  on 
November  26,  1832,  they  were  granted  a  tract  of  land  in  the  territory  of 
which  Kansas  was  later  to  be  formed  and  of  which  Leavenworth  County 
was  to  become  a  part,  which  was  described  as  follows,  to-wit: 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  103 

"Beginning  en  Delaware  line  where  said  line  crosses  the  left  branch 
of  Salt  Creek;  thence  down  said  creek  to  Missouri  River;  thence  up  the 
Missouri  River  to  a  point  thirty  miles  when  measured  on  a  straight 
line;  thence  westerly  to  a  point  twenty  miles  from  Delaware  line  so  as 
to  include  in  the  lands  assigned  to  the  Kickapoos  at  least  1,200  square 
miles." 

The  first  settlement  of  the  Kickapoo  tribe  on  their  arrival  upon  their 
new  lands  to  take  possession  was  at  the  southeastern  corner  of  their 
grant  or  reservation,  a  short  distance  northwest  of  where  Fort  Leaven- 
worth now  stands  and  near  the  present  site  of  Kickapoo.  As  a  tribe  they 
were  industrious  and  of  extremely  good  habits.  Like  a  great  many  Indian 
tribes  they  were  prone  to  build  their  villages  upon  high  places  such  as 
hills  and  bluffs.  Their  cone  shaped  lodges  v/ere  closely  grouped.  About 
the  individual  lodges  were  grouped  such  ornaments  as  buffalo  skulls, 
various  hides,  and  bits  of  pottery.  Occasional  sacrifices  might  be  seen 
in  the  way  of  some  gayly  colored  cloth  or  costly  stuff  hung  over  the  door 
of  the  lodge  of  the  chief,  offered  by  him  for  the  good  fortune  that  the 
Great  Spirit  saw  fit  to  allow  him  to  enjoy.  The  Kickapoos  were  more  or 
less  religious  in  a  sense.  They  believed  strongly  in  a  Great  Spirit. 
"Kennekuk,"  their  prophet,  resented  in  a  way  the  teaching  of  the  white 
missionaries,  holding  that  they,  not  teaching  the  way  of  the  Indian 
prophets,  were  wrong.  He  taught  long  among  his  tribe  and  the  major 
portion  of  the  tribe  were  ardent  followers  of  his  doctrine.  Among  other 
things  embodied  in  his  teachings  was  the  total  abstenence  from  the  use 
of  liquor.  He  also  taught  that  he  would  arise  upon  the  third  day  after 
his  death.  So  strong  was  the  belief  of  his  followers  in  his  teachings  that 
upon  his  death  in  1857  from  smallpox,  a  large  number  of  his  adherents 
stayed  with  his  body  until  after  the  third  day,  expecting  to  see  him  arise 
from  the  dead.  Almost  all  of  those  who  so  attended  his  dead  body  in 
turn  contracted  the  disease  of  which  he  died,  and  in  many  instances  it 
proved  fatal. 

By  the  treaty  of  May  18,  1854,  the  Kickapoos  ceded  the  major  por- 
tion of  their  lands  to  the  United  States  Government  for  the  sum  of  $20,- 
000.  They  reserved  in  this  treaty,  however,  a  tract  on  the  western  por- 
tion of  their  land  containing  150,000  acres,  to  which  they  moved. 

Two  early  missions  were  founded  upon  the  Kickapoo  land.  In  May, 
1836,  a  Catholic  mission  was  located  near  the  junction  of  Salt  Creek  and 
the  Missouri  River.     It  was  established  by  Fathers  Van  Quickenborn  and 


104  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

Hoeken,  assisted  by  two  lay  brothers.  It  was  established  for  the  benefit 
of  the  numerous  Pottawatomies  who  were  at  that  time  located  on  the 
Kickapoo  lands.  A  Methodist  mission  was  established  for  the  Kickapoos 
in  1833,  which  was  under  the  supervision  of  Rev.  J.  C.  Berryman,  of 
Weston,  Missouri. 


CHAPTER  II 


EARLY  EXPLORATIONS 


THE  NEW  WORLD— SPANISH  EARLIEST  CLAIMANT— PONCE  DE  LEON— PAMPHILO 
DE  NARAVEZ— CAEEZA  DE  VACA— CORONADO— TREATMENT  OF  INDIANS- 
FRENCH  EXPLORERS— MARQUETTE— LA  SALLE— CROZAT  GRANT— DU  TISS- 
NETT  EXPEDITION — FORT  ERECTED— LOUISIANA  PURCHASE — LEWIS  AND 
CLARKE — DANIEL  BOONE. 

History  has  been  held  to  be  speculative,  inferential,  and  actual ;  spec- 
ulative when  it  records  conclusions  based  on  hypothesis  founded  on  facts, 
far  removed;  inferential  when  conclusions  are  reasonably  based  on  facts; 
and  actual  when  facts  alone  are  recorded.  The  historian  in  his  writing 
deals  with  all  three  more  or  less  in  combination  one  with  the  other.  This 
chapter  is  more  or  less  inferential  and  speculative  insofar  as  it  deals 
with  the  visits  and  explorations  of  the  earliest  explorers. 

When  the  new  world  was  discovered  and  had  wonderfully  revealed 
itself  to  the  adventurous  and  daring  men  of  the  Old  World,  the  enterprise 
of  Europe  was.  startled  into  action.  Those  valiant  men  who  had  won 
laurels  among  the  mountains  of  Andalusia,  on  the  fields  of  Flanders,  and 
on  the  battlefields  of  Albion,  sought  a  more  remote  field  for  adventure. 
The  revelation  of  a  New  World  and  a  new  race,  and  communication  be- 
tween the  old  and  the  new,  provided  a  field  of  fertile  imagination.  The 
fact  was  more  astounding  to  the  people  then  than  it  would  be  to  us  today 
were  we  to  awake  some  morning  and  find  communication  had  been  estab- 
lished with  one  or  more  of  our  nearest  planets. 

The  heroes  of  the  ocean  despised  the  range  of  Europe  as  too  narrow, 
offering  to  their  extravagant  ambition  nothing  but  mediocrity.  Ambi- 
tion, avarice,  and  religious  zeal  were  strangely  blended,  and  the  heroes  of 
the  main  sailed  to  the  west,  as  if  bound  on  a  new  crusade,  for  infinite 


106  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

wealth  and  renown  were  to  reward  their  piety,  satisfy  their  greed,  and 
satiate  their  ambition. 

America  was  the  region  of  romance  where  their  heated  imaginations 
could  indulge  in  the  boldest  of  delusions,  where  the  simple  ignorant  native 
wore  the  most  precious  ornaments,  the  sands  by  the  side  of  the  clear 
runs  of  water,  sparkled  with  shining  gold.  Says  the  historian  of  the 
ocean,  these  adventurous  heroes  speedily  prepared  to  fly  by  a  beckoning 
or  a  whispering  wheresoever  they  were  called.  They  forsook  the  cer- 
tainties of  life  for  the  lure  and  hope  of  more  brilliant  success. 

To  win  provinces  with  the  sword,  divide  the  wealth  of  empires,  to 
plunder  the  accumulated  treasures  of  some  ancient  Indian  dynasty,  to 
return  from  a  roving  expedition  with  a  crowd  of  enslaved  captives,  and 
a  profusion  of  spoils,  soon  became  ordinary  dreams.  Fame,  fortune, 
life  and  all  were  squandered  in  these  visions  of  wealth  and  renown. 
Even  if  the  issue  was  uncertain,  success,  greater  than  the  boldest  imagin- 
ation had  dared,  was  sometimes  attained. 

It  would  be  an  interesting  story  to  trace  each  hero  across  the  ocean 
to  the  American  continent,  and  through  the  three  great  gateways  thereof, 
through  which  he  entered  the  wilds  of  the  great  West.  The  accounts  of 
the  explorations  and  exploitations  into  the  great  West  reads  like  a 
romance.  The  trials  through  which  these  early  explorers  passed  were 
enough  to  make  the  stoutest  heart  quail  and  to  task  the  endurance  of 
men  of  steel. 

The  earliest  known  claimants  of  the  vast  stretch  of  land  and  country 
west  of  the  Mississippi  River  were  the  Spanish.  Among  the  members 
of  the  crew  that  crossed  the  Atlantic  with  Columbus  on  his  second  voyage 
was  a  certain  Juan  Ponce  de  Leon,  who  had  spent  the  greater  part  of 
his  life  in  the  military  service  of  Spain.  In  the  year  1513,  with  a  squad- 
ron of  three  ships  which  he  had  fitted  up  at  his  own  expense  he  set  sail 
upon  an  expedition  which  resulted  in  the  discovery  of  Florida  a  few  miles 
north  of  the  present  location  of  the  oldest  city  in  the  United  States,  St. 
Augustine.  Here,  Ponce  de  Leon  and  a  greater  portion  of  his  crew  re- 
mained for  some  time  patiently  and  persistently  exploring  and  penetrat- 
ing the  regions  to  the  westward.  Wild  and  fanciful  tales  were  constantly 
poured  into  his  ears  by  the  various  Indian  tribes  concerning  the  country 
further  to  the  westward.  They  told  him  of  great  life-giving  springs  and 
streams  of  water  found  in  the  interior,  a  veritable  paradise  where  the. 
youth  of  those  who  had  grown  old  was  restored  to  them  by  bathing  in 


HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  107 

the  fabled  waters.  Ponce  de  Leon  was  old.  His  cheeks  were  deeply 
etched  by  the  fingers  of  time.  The  spell  of  the  strange  wild  country 
added  new  fire  to  his  adventurous  spirit.  His  fortune  had  been  squand- 
ered, the  lure  of  the  fabled  "Fountain  of  Perpetual  Youth"  of  which  the 
Indians  told;  the  dream  of  replenishing  his  dwindled  fortunes  by  con- 
quests of  new  kingdoms,  led  him  on  and  on.  It  was  on  his  second  voyage 
to  this  territory  in  1521  that  he  was  killed  in  a  battle  with  Indians  who 
resented  his  intrusion.     His  body  was  buried  on  the  island  of  Cuba. 

It  was  thus  that  the  Spanish  laid  claim  to  the  vest  stretch  of  territory 
of  which  the  territory  of  Kansas,  later  the  State  of  Kansas  and  our  own 
county  was  to  be  organized  as  part  thereof. 

In  the  year  1528,  Pamphilo  de  Naravez,  who  had  been  appointed 
governor  of  Florida  by  the  King  of  Spain,  organized  an  expedition  for 
the  purpose  of  exploring  the  lands  of  which  he  had  been  made  governor. 
With  a  fleet  of  four  ships  and  a  company  of  nearly  400  men  under  his 
command  he  set  sail  from  Havana,  Cuba.  Upon  his  arrival  in  Florida 
he  took  possession  of  all  the  territory  in  the  name  of  Spain  and  proceeded 
at  once  to  diligently  explore  the  regions  to  the  westward.  Upon  his 
return  to  the  sea  after  one  of  his  exploring  expeditions  he  found  that  the 
ships  of  the  company  had  been  spirited  away  or  destroyed.  The  stranded 
explorers  were  forced  to  construct  several  rude  boats  and  with  these  they 
started  out  to  find  the  nearest  Mexican  post,  following  the  gulf  coast. 
During  their  voyage  along  the  gulf  coast  several  of  their  boats  were 
wrecked  and  a  number  of  the  crew  were  drowned.  Those  who  were  not 
drowned  were  taken  captive  by  the  Indians.  The  cruel  treatment  accorded 
them  by  the  savages  soon  led  to  the  death  of  the  major  portion  of  the 
captives.  Cabeza  de  Vaca,  who  had  occupied  the  position  of  treasurer  of 
the  expedition,  learned  the  language  of  the  tribe  as  well  as  their  customs 
and  gained  their  confidence.  After  remaining  captive  six  years  he  es- 
caped and  made  his  way  to  San  Miguel,  in  Sonora,  Mexico. 

Cabeza  de  Vaca,  who  had  been  a  member  of  the  ill-fated  Naravez  ex- 
pedition, had  as  before  mentioned  set  out  with  that  expedition  fronj 
Havana,  Cuba,  in  the  year  1528.  He  had  remained  with  Naravez  and  his 
expedition  as  treasurer  and  had  been  one  of  the  members  of  the  expedi- 
tion that  had  been  left  stranded  when  the  ships  of  the  party  disappeared. 
He  was  one  of  the  party  that  had  escaped  drowning  when  the  illy-con- 
structed boats  of  the  party  were  destroyed  and  wrecked  in  an  attempt  to 
reach  a  Mexican  port  and  had  fallen  into  the  hands  of  Indian  tribes  as 


108  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

prisoner.  Six  years  after  his  capture,  during  which  he  had  studied  the 
ways  of  the  tribe,  their  language,  and  had  gained  their  confidence,  he 
effected  his  escape  with  a  small  party  and  started  out  to  reach  the  Spanish 
settlements  in  Mexico.  Upon  leaving  his  captors  on  the  gulf,  his  party 
proceeded  north  toward  what  they  termed  a  great  range  of  mountains 
which  are  believed  now  to  have  been  those  in  northern  Alabama.  From 
thence  they  proceeded  in  a  westerly  direction  crossing  what  they  referred 
to  in  their  story  as  "the  large  river  that  comes  from  the  north"  (the 
Mississippi).  It  is  believed  by  many  historians  that  in  the  course  of 
their  wanderings  and  explorations  to  the  westward  that  they  traversed 
the  territory  of  which  Kansas  and  the  State  of  Colorado  are  now  com- 
prised. Whether  or  not  this  Spanish  crusader  and  his  party  touched 
upon  any  of  the  territory  of  which  Leavenworth  County  is  now  a  part 
is  highly  conjectural.  It  is  known  that  it  was  the  custom  of  exploring 
parties  in  those  days  to  follow  closely  main  river  courses.  In  view  of 
the  fact  that  Leavenworth  County  as  originally  laid  out  occupied  all  that 
territory  of  which  Wyandotte  County  is  now  composed  and  the  confluence 
of  two  great  river  systems  center  there,  it  is  highly  probable  that  did, 
Cabeza  de  Vaca  at  any  time  follow  the  course  of  the  Missouri  which  led 
westward  from  the  Mississippi,  that  he  traversed  territory  of  which  either 
Wyandotte  or  Leavenworth  County  is  now  composed. 

In  all  probability  the  most  famous  of  all  exploring  expeditions  sent, 
out  under  the  Spanish  Government  for  the  purpose  of  exploring  its  hold- 
ings west  of  the  Mississippi  River  was  that  of  Coronado.  The  expedition 
of  which  he  was  at  the  head  set  out  from  Mexico  on  the  morning  following 
Easter,  1540.  The  party  consisted  of  some  eleven  hundred  members. 
They  were  well  equipped  and  supplied  for  a  long  journey.  The  object 
for  which  the  expedition  went  forth  was  to  find  and  take  possession  of 
the  cities  of  Cibola,  Indian  cities  which  were  said  to  be  enormously 
wealthy  in  gold  and  other  valuable  articles.  After  a  long  and  tedious 
journey  fraught  with  much  hardship  the  party  reached  the  object  for 
which  they  sought  to  find  that  they  had  been  deceived.  The  cities  of 
Cibola  had  nothing  in  the  way  of  riches  to  offer  them,  yet  they  did  find 
thereabouts  provisions  with  which  they  replenished  their  diminished 
supply.  After  remaining  for  some  time  with  the  tribes  of  Indians  there- 
abouts, there  was  brought  to  the  ears  of  Coronado  by  one  of  the  leaders 
of  the  numerous  scouting  and  exploring  parties  he  sent  out,  a  wild  fanciful 
tale  concerning  the  wealth  found  in  the  kingdom  of  the  Quivera,  far  to 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY  109 

1336176 

the  eastward.  In  due  time  the  party,  again  thoroughly  organized  and 
equipped,  set  out  in  search  of  the  kingdom  of  Quivera.  When  the  party 
reached  the  Arkansas  River  they  again  found  their  provisions  low  and 
it  was  decided  to  split  the  party  up,  allowing  some  to  go  on  forward  while 
the  others  proceeded  upon  their  return  trip  to  their  base  on  the  Rio 
Grande.  Coronado  took  with  him  from  this  point  on  the  Arkansas  thirty 
of  his  best  mounted  troops  and  six  foot  soldiers  and  proceeded  on  in 
search  of  the  kingdom  which  he  believed  the  streets  whereof  to  be  paved 
with  gold.  Jfiter  marching  on  for  a  period  of  some  forty  days  the  party 
halted  in  the  fabled  kingdom,  only  to  find  that  they  had  been  deceived. 
The  wealth  of  which  they  had  dreamed  was  nowhere  to  be  found.  The 
Indian  guides  who  had  attended  the  party  finally  confessed  that  the  stories 
they  had  told  the  Spaniards  had  been  told  for  the  purpose  of  luring  them 
away  from  the  native  tribes  of  the  guides  that  they  might  not  be  further 
imposed  on  by  the  Spaniards  and  with  the  hope  that  after  leading  the 
party  far  into  the  desert  like  interior,  their  supplies  would  fail  and  they 
would  eventually  perish. 

The  exact  line  of  march  of  Coronado  and  his  party  through  the  State 
of  Kansas  is  and  always  will  remain  a  matter  of  pure  conjecture.  Major 
Henry  Inman,  best  known  as  the  author  of  "The  Santa  Fe  Trail,"  and 
who  spent  a  great  many  years  on  the  western  frontier,  believes  that  the 
expedition  crossed  the  Kansas  River  near  Abilene  and  then  proceeded  to 
the  northward,  striking  the  Missouri  River  in  the  vicinity  of  Atchison. 
He  further  contends  that  the  expedition  returned  by  following  the  Mis- 
souri to  its  junction  with  the  Kansas  River,  where  the  party  turned  to 
the  westward  along  the  north  bank  of  the  Kansas  River,  proceeding  as 
far  westward  as  the  Smoky  Hill  River,  where  they  crossed  the  Kansas 
and  again  proceeded  on  to  Big  Creek,  where  they  turned  to  the  south 
toward  the  Arkansas. 

Coronado  in  his  report  of  the  voyage  to  the  Viceroy  of  Mexico  stated 
that  he  had  reached  the  fortieth  degree  of  north  latitude,  and  described 
the  country  thereabout  as  being  very  fertile  and  productive.  Jaramillo, 
a  member  of  the  party  who  chronicled  the  expedition's  progress,  mentions 
the  name  of  a  large  river,  the  "Saint  Peter  and  Saint  Paul,"  which  is  be- 
lieved by  historians  to  be  none  other  than  the  Arkansas.  After  reaching 
the  province  of  Quivera,  he  tells  of  the  party's  learning  of  another  large 
river  to  the  northward  which  was  named  by  them  the  "Teucarea."  Gen. 
J.  H.  Simpson  in  his  "Annals  of  Kansas"  expresses  the  belief  that  this 
latter  river  was  the  Missouri  of  today. 


110  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

The  expedition  of  Coronado  it  is  estimated  cost  the  Spanish  approxi- 
mately one-half  million  dollars  and  netted  them  practically  nothing.  It 
is  recorded  that  more  than  a  hundred  years  elapsed  before  the  country 
over  which  Coronado  traveled  was  again  visited  by  any  member  of  the 
white  race. 

As  a  rule  the  Spanish  explorers  treated  the  Indians  with  barbarous 
cruelty.  Their  great  hopes  of  limitless  riches  and  conquered  provinces 
became  as  ashes  in  their  hands.  Their  men,  after  long  marches  for 
months  through  the  wilderness,  became  tattered,  disgruntled  and  surly. 
They  were  burdens  upon  the  red  men  whom  they  visited  in  their  different 
villages,  and  consumed  their  maize  and  provisions.  The  Indians  were 
distrustful  and  suspicious,  and  an  inborn  hatred  for  the  white  man  in- 
stantly grew  in  their  breasts,  that  was  handed  down  by  tradition  with 
growing  rancor,  to  future  generations.  The  fabled  cities  of  Cibola  were 
found  to  be  miserable  mud  huts.  Indian  guides  lured  them  from  place 
to  place  with  wonderful  stories  in  order  that  the  white  men  might  be 
kept  away  from  their  own  country. 

The  earliest  known  explorations  upon  which  the  French  based  any 
claim  to  the  territory  of  which  Leavenworth  County  is  now  a  part  were 
those  of  Jacques  Marquette  and  Louis  Joliet.  In  May,  1673,  Marquette, 
who  was  a  French  missionary  at  the  time  with  station  on  Lake  Superior, 
set  out  with  five  companions  and  three  canoes  to  the  southwestward  in 
search  of  rich  Indian  tribes  and  valuable  mines,  the  stories  of  which  had 
been  borne  to  his  ears  by  various  Indians.  Probably  this  was  merely  a 
secondary  object  of  the  expedition,  as  it  is  known  that  one  of  the  purposes 
was  to  establish  a  mission  among  the  Illinois  Indians,  and  another  to 
carry  the  gospel  to  the  tribes  west  of  the  Mississippi. 

The  party  set  out  from  the  Straits  of  Michilimackinac  and  went  by 
way  of  Green  Bay,  the  Fox  River,  the  Wisconsin  River  and  then  into 
the  Mississippi,  which  they  followed  to  the  southward  to  near  the  mouth 
of  the  Arkansas.  It  is  known  that  they  explored  the  Missouri  River  for 
some  distance  up  its  course  from  the  Mississippi  and  in  their  various 
reports  of  their  travels  they  refer  to  the  Missouri  as  the  "Pekitanc 

Having  heard  the  story  of  the  great  river  whose  course  Mai' 
and  Joliet  had  followed  on  their  trip  to  the  southward,  Robert  Cavaner 
de  la  Salle  conceived  the  idea  that  it  was  none  other  than  the  great  river 
that  had  been  discovered  by  De  Soto  in  1541.     With  a  view  of  opening 
it  for  navigation  La  Salle  led  an  expedition  that  set  out  from  the  Illinois 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY  111 

River,  February  6,  1682,  with  three  barges.  Upon  entering  the  Missis- 
sippi, La  Salle  gave  to  it  the  name,  "Colbert."  At  various  points  along 
the  river  on  their  journey  to  the  south  they  erected  crosses  and  took 
possession  of  the  vast  tracts  to  the  westward  in  the  name  of  France. 
On  April  9,  1682,  the  party  entered  the  Gulf  of  Mexico.  By  right  of 
discovery  they  claimed  all  of  the  lands  and  country  west  of  the  Mississippi 
for  the  French  Government. 

Being  desirous  of  getting  into  actual  possession  of  the  vast  area  of 
territory  which  they  had  come  into  ownership  of  through  the  right  of 
discovery,  the  French  Government  on  September  14,  1712,  granted  the 
Louisiana  Territory,  which  this  country  had  come  to  be  known  as,  to 
one  Anthony  Crozat,  a  merchant,  for  a  period  of  ten  years,  the  said 
Crozat  to  have  perpetual  propriety  of  all  mines  and  minerals  he  should 
discover  subject  to  certain  conditions,  and  other  stipulations.  Later, 
Crozat  retroceded  this  vast  tract  to  the  French  Government  and  they 
immediately  and  under  similar  conditions  ceded  these  tracts  to  a  company 
which  offered  many  inducements  in  the  way  of  land,  etc.,  to  emigrants. 

In  the  year  1719,  M.  Du  Tissnett,  who  had  previously  been  in  the 
service  of  M.  Crozat  when  the  French  Government  had  ceded  him  the 
Louisiana  Territory,  was  ordered  to  make  an  expedition  to  west  of  the 
Mississippi.  It  was  during  his  travels  that  he  crossed  and  explored  a 
great  deal  in  territory  of  which  the  State  of  Kansas  is  now  a  part.  He 
visited  many  of  the  native  tribes  and  erected  many  crosses,  taking  posses- 
sion of  all  the  territory  explored  and  discovered  by  him  in  the  name  of 
France.  The  principal  object  of  this  expedition  was  to  locate  valuable 
mines  the  story  of  which  had  been  poured  into  the  ears  of  the  French 
as  well  as  those  of  the  Spanish  explorers.  Du  Tissnett  is  commonly  re- 
ferred to  by  various  historians  as  Du  Tisne.  He  was  the  first  French 
explorer  to  give  definite  information  concerning  the  native  tribes  of 
Kansas. 

In  order  to  protect  their  great  interests  west  of  the  Mississippi,  the 
French,  as  early  as  1722,  commenced  the  construction  of  a  fort  on  the 

■ouri  River  near  where  the  Osage  River  empties  into  it,  which  they 
d  Fort  Orleans.  It  was  completed  in  the  year  1723  and  was  placed 
in'  command  of  M.  De  Bourgmont.  De  Bourgmont  in  the  year  1724  made 
an  extensive  trip  of  exploration  to  the  westward  about  and  through  the 
territory  of  which  the  State  of  Kansas  is  now  composed.  He  entered 
what  is  now  the  bounds  of  Kansas  near  the  present  site  of  Atchison, 


112  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

Kansas.  One  of  the  objects  of  the  expedition  was  to  try  and  effect  a 
reconciliation  among  numerous  native  trbes  who  were  at  war  among 
each  other.  After  visiting  among  the  tribes  for  a  considerable  length 
of  time,  during  which  he  succeeded  in  bringing  about  an  amicable  adjust- 
ment of  the  variQiis  difficulties  among  a  large  number  of  the  tribes,  he 
returned  to  Fort  Orleans  November  5,  1724.  It  is  almost  a  certainty  that 
De  Bourgmont  during  his  travels  touched,  either  himself  or  some  of  his 
party,  on  territory  which  now  goes  to  make  up  Leavenworth  County. 

After  Jefferson  had  negotiated  the  purchase  of  the  great  Louisiana 
tracts  of  land  from  the  French  in  1803  there  arose  a  desire  on  his  part 
to  have  the  territory  acquired  thoroughly  explored,  and  investigated  with 
a  view  of  learning  what  uses  it  might  be  best  adapted  to.  Accordingly 
in  the  year  1804  the  first  American  exploring  expedition  that  had  ever 
set  foot  on  the  vast  expanse  west  of  the  Mississippi  set  out  from  St.  Louis 
under  the  supervision  of  Capts.  William  Clarke  and  Merriwether  Lewis. 
The  party  in  full  consisted  of  from  thirty-five  to  forty-two  men,  accounts 
differing;  the  date  of  the  expedition's  starting  was  May  10,  1804;  they 
traveled  in  three  boats  and  made  their  way  very  slowly  up  stream.  As 
a  rule  hunting  parties  proceeded  along  the  banks  with  the  boats  as  they 
wended  their  way  against  the  muddy  current  and  it  was  through  the 
agency  of  these  parties  that  the  party  was  supplied  with  much  of  its 
provisions.  On  June  27,  1804,  the  party  reached  the  present  site  of  Kan- 
sas City,  Kansas,  where  they  encamped.  On  July  2,  1804,  they  encamped 
near  the  present  site  of  Leavenworth,  in  all  probability  a  little  to  the 
north  and  nearer  the  fort.  The  journals  kept  by  the  party  refer  to  an 
island  in  the  river  to  the  north  several  miles  under  date  of  this  encamp- 
ment, which  was  in  all  probability  the  island  known  as  Kickapoo  Island 
these  days.  There  is  no  question  but  the  members  of  this  party  and  it 
wouldn't  be  unreasonable  to  say  the  leaders  of  the  expedition  had  tramped 
over  considerable  of  the  territory  comprised  in  the  eastern  part  of  Leaven- 
worth County.  The  expedition  as  a  whole  was  most  successful  in  every 
way.  The  trip  consumed  about  two  years  of  time  and  much  of  the  terri- 
tory embodied  in  the  Louisiana  Purchase  was  traversed,  mapped  and 
thoroughly  explored. 

For  twelve  years  after  the  Lewis  and  Clarke  expedition  into  the 
Northwest  nothing  was  done  further  in  the  way  of  exploring  the  regions 
traversed  by  the  first  mentioned  parties.  In  the  year  1819  an  expedition 
was  sent  out  by  the  United  States  Government  for  the  purpose  of  arriv- 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  113 

ing  at  and  collecting  all  scientific  knowledge  possible  pertaining  to  the 
newly  acquired  territory.  The  expeditfon  was  in  charge  of  Major  J.  C. 
Long  and  set  out  from  Fort  Osage  on  the  Osage  River  in  Missouri  in 
1819,  and  proceeded  up  the  Missouri  River  by  steamboat  to  Council  Bluffs, 
where  winter  quarters  were  established  for  the  winter  of  1819-1820.  The 
expedition  required  two  years  and  while  much  scientific  data  was 
gathered,  the  practical  value  derived  therefrom  was  insignificant.  One 
of  the  chief  features  of  the  expedition  was  in  the  fact  that  it  was  the 
first  expedition  as  well  as  the  first  men  of  any  kind  or  race  to  proceed  up 
the  Missouri  River  in  a  steamboat. 

A  bit  of  exploring  of  a  very  different  nature  than  that  hitherto  set 
out  was  done  between  the  years  1805  and  1815  in  the  valley  of  the  Kansas 
River  by  Daniel  Boone.  Boone,  the  most  famous  of  American  hunters 
and  trappers,  Indian  fighters  and  pioneers,  was  one  of  the  first  white  men 
of  American  birth  to  visit  the  Kansas  Valley..  His  grandfather,  George 
Boone,  was  born  in  Devonshire,  England,  1668,  and  came  to  America  in 
1717,  locating  in  Berks  County,  Pennsylvania.  Daniel,  the  grandchild, 
was  born  in  Bucks  County,  Pennsylvania,  February  11,  1735.  In  the  year 
1796  he  lost  much  of  his  land  holdings  in  Kentucky  through  defective 
titles,  which  led  him  to  renounce  all  allegiance  to  the  government  and 
resort  to  the  wild  frontier.  Later  he  declared  his  intention  while  residing 
in  the  territory  west  of  the  Missouri  of  becoming  a  citizen  of  Spain,  and 
was  through  this  given  a  position  of  overseeing  certain  Indian  districts. 
It  was  his  wont  and  habit  to  take  long  hunts  and  to  go  on  trapping  tours 
that  kept  him  much  away  from  his  home  country.  In  that  interval  of 
time  elapsing  between  1805  and  1815  he  is  known  to  have  hunted  and 
trapped  up  and  down  the  Kansas  River  Valley  for  a  distance  of  100  miles 
or  more  from  its  mouth.  The  Kansas  River,  as  it  does,  touching  upon 
the  southern  end  of  Leavenworth  County  and  the  southern  extremity  of 
the  county  being  rough  and  consisting  in  places  of  rugged  bluffs,  it  is  not 
unreasonable  to  believe  that  Boone  in  the  ten  years  which  he  spent  in 
this  river  valley,  touched  many  times  upon  Leavenworth  County  territory 
and  hunted  and  trapped  thereon.  This  great  son  of  the  wild  and  untamed 
frontier  died  September  26,  1820,  in  his  ninety-second  year. 

John  Peck,  the  noted  Baptist  preacher,  in  his  memoirs  of  the  Louisi- 
ana Territory,  described  Boone  thus :  . 

"His  high,  bold  forehead  was  slightly  bald,  and  his  silvered  locks 
were  combed  smooth,  his  countenance  was  ruddy  and  fair  and  exhibited 

(4) 


114  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

the  simplicity  of  a  child,  a  smile  frequently  played  over  his  countenance; 
in  conversation  his  voice  was  soft  and  melodious;  at  repeated  interviews 
an  irritable  expression  was  never  heard ;  his  clothing  was  the  coarse,  plain 
manufacture  of  the  family;  but  everything  denoted  that  kind  of  comfort 
that  was  congenial  to  his  habits  and  feelings  and  evinced  a  busy,  happy, 
old  age.  His  room  was  a  part  of  a  range  of  log  cabins  kept  in  order  by 
his  affectionate  daughters  and  granddaughters.  Every  member  of  the 
household  appeared  to  take  delight  in  administering  to  his  comforts;  he 
was  sociable  and  communicative  in  replying  to  questions,  but  did  not  in- 
troduce incidents  of  his  own  history.  He  was  intelligent,  for  he  had 
treasured  up  the  experience  afid  observation  of  more  than  fourscore  years. 
'Not  moody  and  unsociable  as  if  desirous  of  shunning  society  and 
civilization'." 

Among  other  explorers  whose  deeds  and  names  are  not  recorded,  yet 
who  played  an  important  part  in  the  early  settlement  of  Leavenworth 
County,  were  those  children  of  the  river,  the  woods  and  frontier,  who 
intermingled  with  the  various  tribes,  frequently  marrying  into  the  tribe; 
who  knew  the  habits  of  wild  game  with  the  same  degree  of  adeptness  as 
did  the  savage;  who  was  as  skillful  at  the  hunt,  in  the  chase  or  with  the 
traps;  who  were  generally  referred  to  as  Coureur-de-bois. 

These  men  were  as  a  rule  of  French  descent.  They  were  always 
found  domiciled  along  the  various  rivers,  where  they  depended  upon  their 
traps  and  hunting  prowess  to  provide  them  a  means  of  livelihood.  They 
were  free  and  easy  of  manner,  peaceful  of  disposition  and  quickly  adapted 
themselves  to  the  customs  of  the  various  tribes.  They  traveled  by  boat 
exclusively  and  as  the  trading  posts  moved  westward  they  preceded  them, 
usually  at  long  distances. 


CHAPTER  III 


EARLY  SETTLEMENTS 


COLONEL  LEA\'ENWORTH-FIRST  SETTLERS— "SQUATTERS'— TOWN  COMPANY- 
SALE  OF  LOTS— EARLY  INDUSTRIES — FIRST  STORES— NEWSPAPERS — HOTELS 
—EARLY  FLOUR  MILLS— BREWERIES— SCHOOLS— THEATERS— PUBLIC  HALLS 
—BANKING— CHURCHES: 

Leavenworth. — While  the  preceding  chapters  deal  with  history, 
largely  speculative  and  inferential,  leading  up  to  the  year  1804,  when  the 
United  States  took  possession  of  Upper  Louisiana,  the  present  chapter  is 
based  on  actual  facts  from  the  year  1827  on  and  deals  most  pertinently 
with  that  section  of  Leavenworth  County  comprising  its  northeastern 
part. 

^The  history  of  Leavenworth  County  from  the  time  of  the  red  men 
and  the  first  hardy  adventurers  and  pioneers  involves  indeed  a  wondrous 
story  which  is  well  worth  preserving.  States  and  nations  preserve  their 
history,  but  the  story  of  a  county,  its  creation  and  development  touches 
a  chord  of  home  life  and  home  making  which  is  nearer  and  dearer  than 
that  which  is  purely  informational. 

The  beginning  of  settlement  of  the  territory  of  which  Leavenworth 
County  is  now  composed  came  when  Col.  Henry  Leavenworth,  Third 
United  States  Infantry,  was  directed  in  March,  1827,  to  proceed  up  the 
Missouri  River  with  four  companies  of  his  regiment  and  to  select  a  site 
within  twenty  miles  of  the  mouth  of  the  Little  Platte  River  to  be  used 
as  a  location  for  a  permanent  cantonment.  The  story  of  how  Col.  Leaven- 
worth, not  being  able  to  decide  upon  a  suitable  location  on  the  Missouri 
side  which  he  was  instructed  to  do,  and  of  his  fixing  upon  the  present  site 
of  Fort  Leavenworth  has  been  told  in  detail  in  other  parts  of  this  volume 


116  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY 

as  well  as  the  approval  of  the  selected  site  which  became  official  Septem- 
ber 19,  1827.  With  the  establishment  of  this  military  post,  which  was 
known  as  Cantonment  Leavenworth,  there  was  opened  up  the  first  post- 
office  in  the  territory  which  was  known  as  Cantonment  Leavenworth  or 
"La  Platte,"  Clay  County,  Missouri,  Clay  County  being  the  Missouri 
county  that  joined  the  post  on  the  east,  the  river  separating  them.  This 
postoffice  was  established  May  29,  1828,  and  Phillip  G.  Rand  was  the 
first  postmaster. 

The  first  white  settlers  who  came  into  the  territory  were  mostly 
farmers  and  mechanics  who  secured  positions  tending  the  farm  on  the 
government  reservation  and  were  employed  in  various  capacities  in  and 
around  the  post.  There  were  also  some  white  missionaries,  who  had 
come  in  previously  with  emigrant  tribes  of  Indians.  After  the  passage 
of  the  territorial  act  of  1854  numerous  settlers  flocked  in  and  proceeded 
to  take  up  claims,  mostly  in  close  proximity  to  the  present  location  of  the 
fort.  All  of  those  who  had  come  in  previous  to  this  year  could  not  in 
any  way  establish  any  right  or  title  to  their  lands,  it  being  ceded  by 
previous  treaties  to  occupying  Indian  tribes.  When  the  Territorial  Act 
of  1854  passed  a  great  majority  of  the  emigrants  who  came  into  the 
territory  were  under  the  impression  that  the  lands  were  then  subject  to 
pre-emption  under  the  pre-emption  laws  of  the  United  States.  Yet  when 
the  Delawares  in  May,  1854,  ceded  the  greater  portion  of  their  lands  in 
what  is  now  Leavenworth  County,  reserving  a  strip  ten  miles  wide  along 
the  north  bank  of  the  Kansas  River  in  the  southern  end  of  the  county,  it 
appears  that  the  lands  so  ceded  were  not  under  the  terms  and  conditions 
of  treaty  subject  to  settlement  but  were  to  be  sold  to  the  highest  bidder 
after  having  been  surveyed.  Many  of  the  emigrants  who  came  into  the 
territory  of  which  this  county  is  now  composed  were  from  Platte  County 
and  Weston,  Missouri.  They  knew  the  value  of  these  new  lands  and 
acting  upon  the  advice  of  David  R.  Atchison,  then  United  States  Senator 
from  Missouri,  came  over  and  took  up  all  land  possible.  So  strong  was 
this  rush  for  land  that  followed  the  passage  of  the  Kansas-Nebraska  Act 
that  it  is  said  by  the  month  of  June,  1854,  there  were  very  few  acres  of 
land  in  what  is  now  Leavenworth  County  that  had  not  been  staked  out 
and  claimed. 

What  is  believed  to  have  been  the  first  land  "staked"  and  claimed 
upon  what  is  now  the  present  site  of  Leavenworth  City  after  the  passage 
of   the   Kansas-Nebraska   Act   was   that   "staked"   and   claimed   by   Gen. 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY  117 

George  W.  Gist,  John  C.  Gist  and  Samuel  Farnandis.  Later  when  the 
Leavenworth  Town  Company  was  organized  Gen.  George  W.  Gist  was 
chosen  its  president  and  it  was  he  that  platted  and  surveyed  the  original 
townsite.  To  this  day  it  is  known  as  the  "Gist  Survey."  The  plat  of 
this  survey  was  filed  in  the  surveyor  general's  office  at  Fort  Leavenworth, 
December  20,  1854.  John  C.  Gist,  who  was  a  son  of  Gen.  George  W.  Gist, 
and  Samuel  Farandis  were  also  members  of  the  town  company.  John  C. 
Gist  and  Samuel  Farandis  "squatted"  upon  their  respective  claims  June 
12,  1854. 

On  June  10,  1854,  the  "squatters,"  having  had  more  or  less  conten- 
tion in  the  way  of  getting  valid  titles  to  their  respective  claims,  held  a 
public  meeting  at  Rively's  store  in  Salt  Creek  Valley  and  drew  up  a  series 
of  resolutions  with  reference  to  their  respective  rights  and  holdings. 
Among  other  things  done  at  the  meeting  it  was  decided  by  the  "squatters" 
to  relinquish  any  claims  that  they  might  have  to  land  which  in  any  way 
conflicted  with  those  of  the  Leavenworth  Town  Company,  which  company 
was  then  in  process  of  formation  and  was  definitely  organized  June  13, 
1854.  This  was  the  first  "squatter's"  meeting  ever  held  in  the  territory 
of  which  Kansas  is  constituted  as  well  as  in  Leavenworth  County. 

Despite  the  fact  that  the  "squatters"  were  held  to  have  no  right  to 
settle  upon  the  lands  lately  ceded  by  the  Delaware  Indians  until  the  lands 
had  been  surveyed  and  sold  at  public  sale,  they  nevertheless  lost  no  time 
in  staking  out  the  town  of  Leavenworth,  selling  shares  in  the  town  com- 
pany and  proceeding  in  general  and  on  a  large  scale  to  occupy  and  claim 
the  territory.  The  first  sale  of  town  lots  of  the  city  to  take  place  in  the 
city  of  Leavenworth  occurred  on  Monday,  October  9,  1854.  Previous  to 
this  the  town  site  had  been  cleared  of  all  timber  and  underbrush  by  "Uncle 
George"  Keller,  who  had  been  given  the  contract.  He  began  this  work 
about  June  15,  1854,  and  employed  eighty  men  and  finished  the  job  about 
the  middle  of  September.  The  "Herald,"  Leavenworth's  weekly  paper, 
under  date  of  October  13,  1854,  contained  the  following  article  with  refer- 
ence to  the  sale: 

"On  Monday  last,  at  11  o'clock  A.  M.,  the  sale  of  lots  in  this  town 
was  commenced.  There  was  a  large  assemblage  of  people  on  the  ground, 
many  of  whom  had  come  from  a  distance  for  the  purpose  of  attending 
the  sale.  The  survey  had  been  completed  and  charts  of  the  town  drawn. 
The  streets  had  been  cleared  of  rubbish,  and  marked  with  their  names. 
Those  parallel  with  the  river  are  numbered  as  far  out  as  Seventh  Street; 


118  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

the  cross  streets  are  named  for  Indian  tribes,  and  commencing  on  the 
south,  are  as  follows:  Choctaw,  Cherokee,  Delaware,  Shawnee,  Seneca, 
Miami,  Osage,  Pottawatomie,  Ottawa,  Kickapoo,  Kiowa,  Dacotah,  Pawnee, 
and  Cheyenne.  The  streets  parallel  with  the  river  are  sixty  feet  wide, 
and  the  cross  streets  are  sixty-one  feet  wide,  except  Delaware,  which  is 
seventy  feet.  The  lots  are  twenty-four  feet  front,  by  125  feet  deep,  and 
there  are  thirty-two  lots  in  each  block.  Through  the  center  of  each  block 
runs  an  alley  fifteen  feet  wide.  Seven  lots  have  been  laid  off  next  the 
river  in  warehouse  lots,  the  fronts  of  which  are  about  150  feet  from  the 
water's  edge.  All  the  space  between  Main  or  First  street  and  the  river, 
except  these  several  blocks,  has  been  donated  for  a  levee  and  esplanade. 

"The  terms  of  the  sale  were  one-third  cash  and  the  balance  payable 
when  the  title  is  secured.  G.  W.  McLane,  of  Weston,  and  W.  S.  Palmer, 
of  Platte  City,  were  the  auctioneers  on  the  first  day.  Fifty-two  lots  were 
sold,  at  an  average  of  $140.00;  on  the  second  day  fifty  lots  were  sold,  at 
an  average  of  $120.00;  making  the  average  of  both  days'  sale  about 
$130.00.  Only  four  lots  were  sold  out  of  the  thirty-two  in  each  block. 
The  sales  were  distributed  equally  over  the  entire  site.  The  purchases 
were  generally  made  for  immediate  improvement,  but  a  small  number 
having  been  sold  to  shareholders.  Every  lot  that  was  offered  was  sold, 
and  many  others  could  have  been  disposed  of  if  time  had  permitted.  The 
highest  price  paid  for  any  one  was  $390.00,  the  lowest,  $50.00.  It  was 
recollected  that  no  lot  exceeded  twenty-four  feet  front." 

The  Leavenworth  Town  Company,  which  was  permanently  organized 
June  13,  1854,  was  made  up  in  the  great  part  of  citizens  of  Missouri,  as 
follows :  George  W.  Gist,  Lorenzo  D.  Bird.  D.  H.  Stephens,.  L.  W.  Caples, 
William  H.  Adams,  Oliver  Diefendorf,  L.  A.  Wisely,  Amos  Rees,  Samuel 
Norton,  William  S.  Murphy,  Sam  Farnandis,  Meret  Johnson,  G.  H.  Keller, 
William  G.  Caples,  H.  Miles  Moore,  Joseph  Murphy,  John  C.  Gist,  G.  B. 
Panton,  Edward  Mix,  Joseph  B.  Evans,  Malcolm  Clark,  John  Bull,  Frans 
Impey,  James  F.  Brunei-,  Frederick  Starr,  J.  D.  Todd,  A.  Thomas  Kyle, 
Sackfield  Maclin,  E.  A.  Ogden,  Samuel  F.  Few. 

The  officers  of  the  company  were  as  follows:  Gen.  George  W.  Gist 
President ;  H.  Miles  Moore,  Secretary ;  Joseph  B.  Evans,  Treasurer.  Amos 
Rees,  L.  D.  Bird,  and  Major  E.  A.  Ogden  were  selected  as  a  board  of  trus- 
tees, and  the  committee  on  by-laws  was  composed  of  L.  D.  Bird,  O.  Diefen- 
dorf, and  H.  Miles  Moore.  H.  Miles  Moore  was  until  his  death  considered 
one  of  the  ablest  authorities  on  the  early  history  of  Leavenworth  City  and 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY  119 

Leavenworth  County.  His  classification  of  the  members  of  the  original 
Town  Company  was  as  follows:  Ministers,  three;  lawyers,  four;  doctors, 
five;  printers,  two;  merchants,  four;  surveyors,  one;  army  officers,  two; 
army  clerks,  one;  farmers,  eight. 

The  company  staked  off  and  claimed  a  tract  of  land  comprising  some 
220  acres  of  land  on  the  present  site  of  the  city  of  Leavenworth  and  pro- 
ceeded at  once  to  have  it  surveyed  and  divided  into  lots.  The  organiza- 
tion was  perfected  on  June  13,  1854,  and  on  October  9th,  following,  the 
first  public  sale  of  lots  was  held  in  the  city  as  will  be  seen  in  account  pre- 
viously set  out  in  this  chapter.  Shortly  after  the  platting  of  the  town 
a  discussion  arose  among  the  members  of  the  by-laws  committee  as  to 
what  the  town  should  be  named  and  the  majority  of  the  committee,  L.  D. 
Bird  and  0.  Diefendorf,  favored  naming  the  city  "Douglas"  in  honor  of 
the  author  of  the  Kansas-Nebraska  Act,  Sen.  Stephen  A.  Douglas  of 
Illinois.  It  was  due  to  the  influence  of  H.  Miles  Moore  that  the  name 
"Leavenworth"  was  chosen.  The  naming  of  the  streets  from  Choctaw, 
north  to  the  reservation  after  the  various  western  Indian  tribes  was  done 
upon  the  suggestion  of  Major  E.  A.  Ogden. 

With  the  establishing  of  the  city  and  the  selling  of  the  lots,  the  town 
immediately  took  on  an  industrial  aspect.  Houses  were  erected  as  quickly 
as  possible  and  in  the  meantime  tents  and  various  other  structures  that 
provided  shelter  were  pressed  into  use.  The  first  dwelling  house  to  be 
erected  within  the  present  confines  of  the  city  limits  is  said  to  have  been 
erected  at  the  corner  of  4th  and  Walnut  streets  in  1854  by  Jeremiah 
Clark.  This  house,  which  was  afterward  moved  to  a  location  on  the  alley 
between  4th  and  5th  streets  and  Spruce  and  Olive  remained  standing 
until  the  summer  of  1919  when  it  was  torn  down. 

A  saw  mill,  one  of  the  most  needed  industries  at  this  time,  began 
operations  a  short  distance  north  of  the  mouth  of  Three-Mile  Creek.  It 
was  owned  and  operated  by  Capt.  W.  S.  Murphy  and  Capt.  Simeon  Scruggs, 
the  partnership  being  known  as  Murphy  &  Scruggs.  H.  Miles  Moore,  in 
his  valuable  work,  "Early  History  of  Leavenworth  City  and  County"  tells 
of  his  advancing  the  members  of  this  firm  the  sum  of  $96.00  with  which 
to  pay  the  steamboat  freight  on  their  mill  and  of  his  having  to  take  his 
pay  long  afterwards  in  cottonwood  lumber  at  the  rate  of  $35.00  a  thou- 
sand feet.  Capt.  W.  S.  Murphy,  one  of  the  partners  in  the  project  was  a 
member  of  the  Leavenworth  Town  Company.  Before  his  coming  to  Leav- 
enworth he  was  a  very  prominent  citizen  of  the  city  of  Weston,  Missouri. 


120  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

He  had  served  as  a  captain  in  the  Mexican  war  under  General  Doniphan. 
Captain  Scruggs  had,  too,  been  a  resident  of  Weston  before  coming  to 
Leavenworth  and  had  served  as  constable  'there  for  a  number  of  years. 
Following  the  erection  of  the  saw-mill  Captain  Sawyer  erected  a  dwelling 
house  near  northeast  corner  of  Second  and  Shawnee  streets  and  moved  his 
family  there  from  Weston,  Missouri.  Their  mill  did  a  flourishing  business 
until  the  death  of  Captain  Murphy  when  the  business  affairs  became 
involved  in  litigation  which  resulted  in  Captain  Scruggs  losing  much  of 
his  interests.  After  this  he  removed  with  his  family  to  a  farm  north- 
west of  Kickapoo  and  just  across  the  line  in  Atchison  County  where  he 
lived  the  remaining  days  of  his  life.  The  mill  later  came  to  be  known  as 
Col.  Isaac  Young's  Eclipse  Mill. 

Stores  and  storerooms  were  opened  soon,  the  first  being  that  of  Lewis 
N.  Rees  which  was  erected  in  the  summer  of  1854.  The  store  which  Rees 
erected  was  upon  the  present  site  of  the  Union  Depot  and  was  what  is 
commonly  known  as  a  general  merchandise  store.  Rees  also  acted  as 
postmaster  without  pay  as  an  accommodation  to  the  public  for  some  time 
until  he  was  officially  appointed.  The  postoffice  remained  in  his  store  of 
the  Levee  for  some  time  when  it  was  later  moved  further  up  town  as  a 
matter  of  public  accommodation.  Numerous  other  stores  of  various  nature 
soon  sprung  into  existence.  Engleman  Bros,  built  the  second  store  in  the 
city.  It  was  located  on  Main  street  about  the  middle  of  the  block  between 
Delaware  and  Cherokee.  H.  Miles  Moore,  in  his  "Early  History  of  Leav- 
enworth City  and  County,"  mentions  the  following  stores  that  began 
operation  in  the  city  during  the  years  1854  and  1855 :  Nelson  McCracken, 
on  Water  street  near  Choctaw;  Adam  Fisher,  general  store,  southwest 
comer  Water  street  and  Cherokee;  James  L.  Beyers  and  M.  M.  Jewett, 
grocery,  Water  street  and  Choctaw;  White  &  Fields,  dry  goods,  Water 
street  below  Cherokee ;  A.  M.  Clark,  grocery,  south  side  of  Cherokee,  west 
of  Third  street;  Cohn  &  Abel,  general  store,  on  Water  street;  Col.  J.  C. 
Clarkson,  general  store,  southwest  corner  of  Cherokee  and  Second;  Hall 
&  Walcott,  dry  goods,  south  side  of  Cherokee  between  Second  and  Third 
streets ;  George  Russell,  stove  and  tin,  east  side  of  Main  street  near  Dela- 
ware; Strass,  Block  &  Rosenfield,  dry  goods  and  clothing,  between  Third 
and  Fourth  streets  on  south  side  of  Cherokee  street;  Shannon  &  Van 
Doren,  general  store  on  Cherokee  street  between  Second  and  Third ;  James 
Dixon,  dry  goods,  on  Cherokee  between  Second  and  Third;  Meyer's  Gro- 
cery, on  Levee  north  of  Cherokee ;  Philip  Rothschild's  clothing,  on  Levee 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  121 

north  of  Delaware;  E.  Cody,  grocery,  west  of  Main  street  between  Dela- 
ware and  Cherokee  streets ;  R.  E.  Allen,  drugs,  on  Main  street,  west  side, 
north  of  Delaware  street;  William  Russell,  dry  goods  and  outfitting,  on 
east  side  of  Main  street  where  Bittman  &  Todd's  wholesale  grocery  now 
stands.  The  latter,  Mr.  Moore  states,  was  the  largest  institution  of  its 
kind  on  the  Missouri  River  above  St.  Louis. 

A  newspaper  began  operations  in  the  city  before  there  was  a  building 
in  the  city  in  which  to  house  its  plant.  The  first  edition  of  the  paper  was 
published  under  the  shade  of  a  large  elm  tree  that  stood  near  the  north- 
west corner  of  Cherokee  and  Front  or  Levee  streets.  The  type  of  the 
original  issue  was  set  up  by  W.  H.  Adams.  The  first  issue  bore  the  date 
of  September  15,  1854.  The  second  issue  appeared  September  22,  1854, 
and  was  published  in  a  one-story  frame  cottonwood  house,  the  first  erected 
in  the  city  of  Leavenworth  which  was  situated  south  of  Delaware  on 
Levee  or  Front  street.  W.  H.  Adams,  the  original  owner  of  the  paper 
which  was  known  as  the  "Kansas  Herald,"  was  also  one  of  the  original 
thirty-two  members  of  the  Leavenworth  Town  Company.  He  was  a  son- 
in-law  of  Gen.  George  W..  Gist,  president  of  the  Leavenworth  Town  Com- 
pany and  a  brother-in-law  of  Hon.  John  C.  Gist,  who  was  also  a  member 
of  the  Town  Company.  A  certain  Mr.  Osborn  was  associated  with  Adams 
in  the  newspaper  adventure  at  first  possibly  in  the  way  of  a  printer  more 
than  anything  else.  He  had  little  or  no  capital  invested  and  was  retired 
from  the  business  after  a  period  of  about  six  weeks.  He  later  became  a 
U.  S.  Deputy  Marshal  under  I.  B.  Donaldson.  With  the  retirement  of 
Osborn  from  the  newspaper,  W.  H.  Adams  sold  an  interest  in  the  paper 
to  Gen.  Lucien  J.  Eastin,  who  became  the  active  editor  of  the  paper  from 
then  on.  General  Eastin  was  originally  from  Missouri.  He  remained  in 
Kansas  until  about  the  year  1859  when  he  again  returned  to  Missouri 
to  become  editor  of  a  Missouri  paper.  During  his  stay  in  Kansas  he  was 
elected  a  member  of  the  first  Territorial  Council  from  Leavenworth  County 
in  1855  and  1856. 

In  1855  H.  Rives  Pollard,  a  young  Virginian,  became  associated  with 
General  Eastin  in  the  editorship  and  publication  of  the  "Herald,"  the 
latter  having  acquired  complete  control  of  the  paper  at  that  time.  From 
this  time  on  the  paper  became  an  unusually  bitter  pro-slavery  organ.  In 
1859  General  Eastin  sold  out  his  interest  and  removed  to  Missouri.  Will- 
iam H.  Gill,  who  became  editor  at  that  time,  tempered  the  policy  of  the 
paper  to  great  extent,  going  so  far  at  one  time  as  to  support  Stephen  A. 


122  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY 

Douglas  for  the  nomination  to  the  presidency.  In  1860  the  paper  was  again 
sold  to  William  P.  Fain,  a  former  U.  S.  marshal,  who  in  turn  sold  it  to 
R.  C.  Satterlee,  B.  R.  Wilson  and  C.  W.  Helm.  The  financial  status  of  the 
paper  at  this  time  had  gotten  low  and  the  publication  of  the  paper  was  no 
longer  prosperous.  Publication  was  suspended  in  June,  1861,  the  last 
issue  being  under  date  of  June,  27,  1861.  Only  two  weeks  previous  to  this 
R.  C.  Satterlee,  one  of  the  owners,  was  shot  and  killed  by  Col.  D.  R. 
Anthony. 

The  great  influx  of  emigration  into  the  territory  surrounding  the 
city  and  the  city  itself  in  those  early  days  necessitated  the  opening  of 
hotels  and  other  places  where  the  emigrants  might  be  housed.  George 
Keller,  commonly  known  and  referred  to  in  those  days  as  "Uncle  George" 
and  one  of  the  most  resourceful  of  the  town's  citizenry  at  the  time  took 
advantage  of  the  opportunity  and  opened  up  the  first  hotel  erected  in  the 
city  as  well  as  in  the  new  territory.  The  hotel  which  was  erected  in  1854 
was  a  frame  structure  and  was  located  at  the  northwest  corner  of  Main 
streets  and  Delaware.  It  was  a  two-story  affair  and  was  situated  upon 
much  higher  ground  than  is  found  at  the  location  this  day,  the  ground 
thereabout  having  been  submitted  to  much  grading  and  excavating  since 
those  days.  A.  T.  Kyle,  a  son-in-law  of  Keller,  was  associated  with  him 
in  the  conducting  and  managing  of  the  institution.  Before  coming  to 
Leavenworth  and  Kansas  territory  Keller  was  a  Missourian  and  lived  near 
Weston.  When  the  town  was  platted  and  mapped  out  by  the  Town  Com- 
pany Keller  was  given  the  job  of  cleaning  the  brush  from  the  townsite 
as  well  as  opening  up  the  various  streets.  The  Keller  and  Kyle  hostelry 
was  operated  for  about  a  year  when  it  was  sold.  Kyle  soon  after  removed 
to  Weston,  Missouri,  where  he  engaged  for  a  number  of  years  in  the  con- 
ducting of  a  general  merchandise  store.  Later  he  returned  to  Leaven- 
worth County  and  settled  at  Lansing,  Kansas,  where  he  and  his  wife 
conducted  a  boarding  house  for  the  officers  of  the  Kansas  penitentiary. 

After  selling  out  his  interests  in  the  "Old  Leavenworth  Hotel,"  "Un- 
cle George"  Keller  subsequently  engaged  in  the  hotel  business  in  various 
parts  of  the  city.  At  one  time  he  was  connected  with  the  management  of 
the  "Fisher-Parry"  Hotel  which  was  later  remodeled  and  re-named  the 
"Old  Mansion  House".  This  famous  old  hostelry  was  located  at  the  south- 
east comer  of  5th  and  Shawnee  Streets.  It  early  became  such  a  ren- 
dezvous for  Free  State  men  that  it  earned  the  title  "Abolition  Hill"  and 
Abolition  Hotel  by  those  of  Southern  sympathy. 


HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY  123 

Keller  for  years  took  an  active  interest  in  early  day  politics.  He 
served  as  a  member  of  the  First  Free  State  Territorial  Legislature  of 
1857-1858,  and  also  later  after  the  building  of  the  State  Penitentiary  at 
Lansing  he  served  as  warden  from  1867  to  1869.  After  leading  a  very 
active  life  in  the  city  during  its  early  days  and  associating  very  much 
in  the  building  up  of  the  county  he  retired  to  his  farm  a  short  distance 
south  of  the  little  village  of  Springdale  in  the  western  end  of  the  county 
where  he  died. 

While  the  "Old  Leavenworth  Hotel,"  under  the  managership  of  Keller 
and  Kyle,  was  always  well  conducted,  yet  it  came  into  early  disrepute 
especially  so  by  those  of  Southern  sympathies.  "Uncle  George"  Keller, 
while  a  Missonrian  in  every  sense  of  the  word,  never  approved  of  the  tac- 
tics of  the  South  in  trying  to  force  slavery  upon  the  newly  organized 
territory  of  Kansas.  Consequently  his  attitude  was  frowned  upon  by  all 
Southerners  who  had  emigrated  to  Leavenworth  in  those  days.  It  was 
this  feeling  that  led  several  radical  Southerners  to  organize  a  company  and 
solicit  subscriptions  for  the  purpose  of  erecting  a  new  hotel  in  the  city 
of  Leavenworth.  The  city  was  growing  very  rapidly  and  the  proposition 
met  with  much  favor  as  the  accommodations  of  the  "Old  Leavenworth 
Hotel"  were  more  or  less  limited.  H.  P.  Johnson,  known  as  "Hog"  John- 
son, a  rabid  pro-slavery  advocate  of  those  days,  solicited  the  subscriptions. 
With  the  funds  that  were  thus  raised  the  "Old  Planters  Hotel"  which  is 
now  situated  at  northeast  corner  of  Main  and  Shawnee  streets  ,was 
erected  in  1855. 

One  of  the  terms  and  conditions  of  the  membership  of  the  Associa- 
tion was: 

"That  the  hotel  was  to  be  owned  by  Southern  men  and  was  to  be 
conducted  on  exclusive  Southern  principles." 

This  was  looked  upon  with  much  disfavor  by  the  Abolitionists  and 
Free  State  men  of  those  days  and  for  several  years  there  was  much  antag- 
onism shown  toward  the  hotel  on  their  part. 

The  original  structure  was  of  brick  and  was  four  stories  in  height. 
It  was  first  managed  and  conducted  by  McCarthy  &  McMeekin,  both  of 
whom  were  originally  from  Missouri  and  of  strong  pro-slavery  tenden- 
cies. In  1857  the  hotel  was  sold  to  Len  T.  Smith  and  Col.  Jepp  Rice  who 
operated  it  for  a  period  of  seven  years.  Both  Smith  and  P.ice  were  North- 
erners and  not  wishing  to  entirely  change  The  policy  of  the  business  they 
strove  to  strike  a  happy  medium.     They  catered  to  both  the  Northern 


124  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

and  Southern  trade  and  assured  each  of  equally  fair  and  honest  treatment, 
a  policy  which  boomeranged  against  them  from  both  sides  for  some  time. 
An  amusing  incident  of  the  Smith  and  Rice  policy  is  mentioned  by  the 
late  H.  Miles  Moore  in  his  work,  "Early  History  of  Leavenworth  City  and 
County,"  in  which  he  tells  of  the  proprietors  hiring  two  bartenders,  one 
pro-slavery,  the  other  Free  State.  When  a  thirsty  citizen  of  the  South 
would  happen  into  the  place  of  business  and  between  drinks  proceed  to 
give  vent  to  his  opinion  on  matters  of  importance  of  the  day  he  immedi- 
ately found  an  interested  listener  and  sympathizer  in  the  person  of  the 
Southern  barkeep.  When  a  Free  State  man  of  like  inclinations  and  con- 
trary opinion  happened  along  he  found  a  friend  in  the  barkeeper  at  the 
other  end  of  the  bar. 

Numerous  incidents  of  note  attended  the  operation  of  the  famous 
old  hostelry  in  its  early  days.  At  one  time  a  negro  slave  that  had  escaped 
from  his  master  in  Kentucky  was  apprehended  while  working  in  the  bar- 
ber shop  there.  He  was  arrested  and  was  going  to  be  returned  to  his 
master  when  Free  State  men  interfered.  Controversies  and  altercations 
immediately  arose  between  the  various  factions  which  finally  resulted  in 
the  Free  State  men's  refusing  to  allow  the  negro  to  be  placed  in  jail  to 
await  his  hearing  before  the  U.  S.  Commissioner,  James  McDowell.  As 
a  sort  of  a  compromise  the  negro  was  finally  placed  in  a  room  on  the  fourth 
floor  where  he  was  under  a  guard  consisting  of  two  Free  State  and  two 
pro-slavery  men.  During  the  night  the  Free  State  men  in  numbers  made 
an  assault  upon  the  room  and  after  liberating  the  negro,  he  refused  to 
accompany  them.  This  attempt  at  liberation  so  enraged  the  pro-slavery 
adherents  that  they  immediately  brought  out  the  "old  Kickapoo  Cannon" 
and  planted  it  facing  the  hotel,  at  the  same  time  passing  the  word  down 
the  line  that  unless  the  slave  was  turned  over  to  them  they  would  pro- 
ceed to  destroy  the  hotel.  The  negro  was  finally  spirited  away  under  a 
heavy  guard  and  appeared  before  the  U.  S.  Commissioner  the  following 
day  for  a  hearing.  During  the  hearing  some  one  called  the  commissioner 
outside  and  during  his  stay  the  negro  was  spirited  away.  He  was  never 
re-captured. 

During  the  days  when  the  Civil  War  was  at  its  height  more  or  less 
guerilla  warfare  was  carried  on  across  the  river.  It  was  not  an  uncom- 
mon thing  for  the  windows  on  the  east  side  of  the  building  to  be  shot  out 
by  guerillas  under  the  leadership  of  Cy  Gordon  who  would  gather  his  men 
together  on  the  Missouri  River  sandbars  and  fire  at  the  hotel  and  the 


HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY  125 

building  south  of  it  owned  by  Col.  D.  R.  Anthony.  On  March  17,  1879, 
Dan  Smith,  a  brother  of  the  proprietor,  Len  T.  Smith,  was  shot  and  killed 
on  the  west  steps  of  the  hotel  by  a  party  named  Lattin  following  an  alter- 
cation over  a  horse.  Smith  had  attacked  Lattin  with  a  hatchet,  cutting 
him  in  several  places  before  he  was  shot  by  the  latter.  Lattin  was  after- 
ward acquitted  of  the  crime  of  murder. 

Probably  no  other  western  hotel  can  boast  of  having  entertained  in 
its  day  more  notable  early  day  characters  as  can  the  old  Planters  House. 
Stephen  A.  Douglas,  the  author  of  the  Kansas-Nebraska  Act  and  Senator 
from  Illinois,  made  one  of  his  famous  speeches  from'  the  balcony  there. 
Abraham  Lincoln  stopped  there  on  his  visit  to  Leavenworth.  Gen.  Will- 
iam T.  Sherman,  famous  for  his-  march  through  the  Southern  states  dur- 
ing the  latter  part  of  the  Civil  War  and  who  later  came  to  Leavenworth 
to  practice  law,  stayed  at  the  old  Planters  while  he  remained  here  engaged 
in  legal  practice. 

Among  other  hostelries  that  sprang  into  existence  during  the  early 
days  of  the  city  of  Leavenworth  was  that  one  located  at  the  Southwest 
corner  of  what  is  now  5th  and  Shawnee  streets.  The  original  owner  of 
of  this  hotel  was  George  Keller,  the  original  owner  of  the  old 
Leavenworth  Hotel  at  Main  and  Delaware  streets.  In  1857  Keller 
sold  out  his  interest  to  Adam  Fisher,  one  of  the  oldest  settlers  of  the 
city,  who  at  once  proceeded  to  remodel  the  place  and  enlarged  it  some. 
It  was  then  named  the  Fisher  House.  Subsequent  to  this  the  place  was 
leased  to  a  party  named  Parry  and  came  to  be  known  as  the  Parry  House 
or  "Fisher-Parry"  House.  Insley  and  Kiser  later  purchased  the  place 
and  it  began  operations  under  the  name  of  "The  Mansion  House".  It 
rapidly  came  in  favor  as  a  hotel,  being  especially  favored  by  Free  State 
men  which  led  the  Pro-Slavery  forces  to  refer  to  it  as  Abolition  Hill.  At 
that  time  the  ground  was  much  higher  at  this  particular  point  than  now, 
it  being  graded  down  some  fifteen  or  twenty  feet  when  the  present  build- 
ings were  erected  on  the  site  and  the  streets  paved. 

Among  the  numerous  other  hotels  that  operated  in  the  city  of  Leaven- 
worth during  the  middle  and  late  '50's  was  the  "Shawnee  Hotel"  which 
began  operations  in  1856.  It  was  owned  by  Miles  Norton  and  was  located 
on  the  north  side  of  Shawnee  Street  between  Main  and  Second  streets. 
The  "Rennick  House"  was  built  in  1857  on  the  southwest  corner  of  Main 
and  Seneca  streets  by  Doctor  Rennick,  an  early  day  physician.  It  was  a 
three-story  frame  building.    Later  the  name  was  changed  to  the  "Brevort 


126  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

House".  The  "Woodward  House"  was  built  in  1858  on  northeast  corner 
of  4th  and  Seneca  streets.  It  was  afterward  known  as  the  "Morris  House" 
and  later  as  the  "Washington  House".  It  is  still  standing  though  much 
the  worse  for  wear  and  tear.  It  has  long  since  been  abandoned  as  a  hotel 
and  has  been  unoccupied  for  the  past  seven  or  eight  years.  The  original 
"Pennsylvania  House"  was  built  in  1856  on  northwest  corner  of  Main  and 
Cherokee  streets.  It  was  burned  down  at  an  early  date.  A  hotel  by  the 
same  name  was  later  started  on  the  north  side  of  Shawnee  street  between 
Second  and  Third  streets.  It  was  on  the  identical  site  of  the  present  site 
of  the  "Wilkins  Hotel".  Still  later  an  early  day  hotel  by  the  name  of  the 
"Pennsylvania  House"  began  operations  at  the  southeast  corner  of  Broad- 
way and  Sioux  streets.  It  was  owned  and  operated  by  Hubbard  Frazier 
and  was  built  in  the  late  fifties.  The  "Pittsburg  House"  was  also  built 
during  the  late  fifties  at  the  southwest  corner  of  Cherokee  and  Front  or 
Levee  streets.  It  was  operated  by  a  famous  early  day  character  known 
as  "Pap"  Hancock.  The  "Merchants  Hotel"  was  built  in  1858  by  Adam 
Fisher  on  the  south  side  of  Cherokee  street  between  Main  and  Second. 
It  was  a  brick  structure  three  stories  in  height.  It  was  operated  as  a 
hotel  for  a  number  of  years  by  Adam  Fisher  who  was  an  experienced 
hotel  man,  having  previously  operated  the  old  Fisher  Hotel  at  Fifth  and 
Shawnee  street  and  the  "Fisher-Parry"  House  at  the  same  place.  "Har- 
mony Hall"  was  built  and  operated  as  a  hotel  and  public  hall  in  1855  by 
an  old  Swiss  by  the  name  of  Jean-de-Arms.  It  was  located  at  the  north- 
east corner  of  Second  and  Choctaw  streets.  Among  other  famous  early 
day  hostelries  were  the  "Railroad  Hotel"  located  near  Walnut  and  Main 
streets ;  "Poor  Jake's  House"  situated  on  the  southeast  corner  of  Main  and 
Choctaw  streets,  conducted  by  Jacob  Stroble,  an  early  day  politician; 
"The  Leavenworth  House"  located  at  northwest  corner  of  Fourth  and 
Cherokee  streets,  now  known  as  "The  Imperial  Hotel ;  the  "McCarthy  Ho- 
tal,"  owned  and  operated  by  an  early  day  politician  named  Timothy  Mc- 
Carthy; the  "Second  Ward  House"  located  on  the  south  side  of  Cherokee 
street  about  the  middle  of  the  block  between  Second  and  Third  streets, 
operated  by  William  Cranston;  the  "St.  George  Hotel"  located  near  the 
northwest  corner  of  Second  and  Delaware  streets;  the  "Balensloe  House" 
located  at  the  northwest  corner  of  Seventh  and  Kickapoo  streets,  operated 
by  Capt.  John  J.  Murphy,  and  the  "Half-Way  House"  located  on  Sioux 
street  about  the  middle  of  the  block  between  Seventh  and  Broadway  on 
the  south  side. 


HISTORY   OF  LEWENWORTH   COUNTY  127 

Scarcely  had  the  city  of  Leavenworth  got  well  under  way  of  exist- 
ence when  flour  mills  began  operations,  being  at  the  time  a  very  neces- 
sary industry,  yet  meeting  with  great  obstacles  in  the  carrying  on  of  their 
business.  The  first  flour  mill  to  be  erected  was  built  in  1857  at  the  north- 
west corner  of  Main  and  Short  streets  by  Earle  &  Bunbing.  It  was  a  two- 
story  brick  structure  approximately  forty-five  by  one  hundred  feet  in 
dimension.  It  was  not  the  roller  type  of  mill  prevalent  these  days  but  the 
flour  was  made  through  a  process  of  crushing  between  stones  or  what 
was  known  as  "burrs".  There  was  not  a  great  deal  of  wheat  grown  in  the 
community  hereabout  at  the  time  and  as  the  mill  required  considerable 
money  to  be  invested  to  get  it  on  an  operating  basis,  it  did  not  prove  to  be 
a  profitable  enterprise.  After  a  short  time  it  was  abandoned  as  a  flour 
mill  and  the  building  was  occupied  as  a  furniture  factory  by  Woods  & 
Abernathy.  Among  the  other  flour  mills  that  were  later  started  was  one 
by  Capt.  Elijah  Wilhite,  known  as  the  "Wilhite  Mill".  It  was  located 
along  the  river  under  what  is  now  known  as  the  South  Esplanade.  The 
"Koehler  Mill"  was  built  in  1865  on  Delaware  street  near  Broadway  by 
Philip  Koehler.  It  was  a  brick  structure  three  stories  in  height.  The 
business  failed  a  number  of  years  later  and  passed  into  the  hands  of  Hines 
&  Eaves  who  later  sold  it  to  H.  D.  Rush.  Rush  enlarged  the  capacity  of 
the  mill  and  built  the  elevator  that  stands  to  the  west  of  the  original  struc- 
ture. This  mill  was  later  destroyed  by  fire.  It  stood  on  the  site  where 
the  Vogel  Box  Factory  is  now  located.  The  "Plummer  Mill"  was  built  near 
the  intersection  of  Kickapoo  and  Main  streets  in  the  year  1872.  This  will 
was  also  sold  out  later  to  H.  D.  Rush  who  enlarged  it.  It  too  was  burned 
down  in  the  year  1878.  Possibly  one  of  the  most  successful  of  early  flour 
mill  industries  was  that  engaged  in  by  A.  B.  Havens  and  Paul  Havens  who 
built  what  was  known  as  the  "Havens  Mill"  a  short  distance  south  of  the 
bridge  over  Three  Mile  Creek  on  Main  street.  The  location  originally 
taken  up  by  this  mill  site  is  now  occupied  by  the  railroad  tracks  of  the 
local  terminal  company.  The  mill  was  a  three-story  frame  building  and 
was  equipped  with  all  of  the  latest  machinery  available  in  those  days.  It 
was  burned  down  like  a  great  many  other  early  day  business  institutions, 
the  fire  occurring  May  28,  1882. 

Among  other  mills  which  might  in  a  way  be  termed  later  day  mill- 
ing industries  was  the  "White  Mill"  which  was  erected  and  operated  by  a 
party  named  White.  This  mill  was  located  on  Choctaw  street,  south  side, 
near  Fifth  street.    It  was  later  sold  to  H.  D.  Rush.    This  is  the  same  mill 


128  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

as  is  now  known  and  operated  as  The  Leavenworth  Milling  Company.  The 
Kelly  &  Lysle  Milling  Company  owned  and  operated  a  mill  on  the  north 
side  of  Choctaw  street  near  the  intersection  of  Sixth  street.  This  mill  site 
is  now  occupied  by  the  Lysle  Milling  Company.  Another  mill  of  the  '80's 
was  located  near  the  intersection  of  Fifth  and  Oak  streets.  It  was  built 
in  1886.  This  mill  operated  at  considerable  loss  for  some  time  owing  to 
its  not  being  on  a  railroad  and  having  to  go  to  the  expense  of  having  the 
wheat  hauled  to  the  mill  and  the  finished  product.  It  was  later  sold  to 
Thomas  Ashby  and  has  been  operated  as  a  corn  meal  mill  for  a  number  of 
years  .past.  An  oat  meal  mill  was  constructed  during  the  early  '80's  at 
the  northeast  corner  of  Main  and  Delaware  streets.  It  was  very  success- 
ful from  it's  inception.  The  mill  was  operated  by  S.  F.  North  and  occupied 
a  building  which  stood  immediately  north  of  the  Union  Station.  It  was 
destroyed  by  fire  a  short  time  after  its  beginning  operations.  A  woolen 
mill  was  put  in  operation  during  the  early  days  of  the  city  known  as  the 
"Leavenworth  Woolen  Mills."  It  was  erected  in  1857  on  a  location  imme- 
diately across  Cherokee  street  from  what  is  now  known  as  the  Klemp  Fur- 
niture Factory.  The  original  promoters  of  this  industry  were  L.  N.  Latta 
and  W.  H.  Hastings.  It  met  the  fate  of  many  other  early  day  mills,  being 
destroyed  by  fire  at  an  early  date.  The  old  "Latta"  House  originally 
owned  by  Judge  L.  N.  Latta,  one  of  the  proprietors,  is  still  standing  near 
the  former  mill  site.  The  Leavenworth  Carpet  Mills  began  operations  in 
the  city  in  1870  on  the  south  side  of  Choctaw  street  near  where  the  Great 
Western  Foundry  now  stands  between  Second  and  Third  streets.  It  pros- 
pered for  a  time  and  was  destroyed  by  cyclone  May  24,  1878. 

Among  other  industries  that  put  in  their  appearance  early  in  the  city 
of  Leavenworth  during  its  early  settlement  was  the  brewing  industry. 
The  first  brewery  to  be  built  in  the  city  was  that  built  in  the  fall  of  1855 
by  Fritzen  &  Mundee.  It  was  a  two-story  stone  structure  and  was  located 
along  the  bank  of  the  river  immediately  adjoining  what  is  now  the  South 
Esplanade.  This  brewery  was  operated  for  a  number  of  years  and  was 
later  sold  out  to  Capt.  Elijah  Wilhite  who  used  the  building  for  the  opera- 
tion of  his  flour  mill  known  as  the  "Wilhite  Mill."  Another  early  day 
brewery  was  that  known  as  the  "Kuntz  Brewery."  It  was  located  on 
South  Fourth  street  along  the  south  bank  of  Three  Mile  Creek  immedi- 
ately across  the  creek  from  the  present  site  of  the  Fisher  Machine  Works. 
The  large  square  stone  house  standing  on  the  bank  overlooking  the  former 
site  of  this  brewery  was  built  by  the  proprietor,  Joseph  Kuntz,  for  his 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  129 

family.  Underneath  the  present  location  of  the  house  which  has  been 
known  for  some  time  as  the  Ferrill  property  immense  subterranean  vaults 
were  constructed  for  holding  the  beer  until  it  had  reached  certain  stages 
of  fermentation  and  aging.  A  road  to  the  brewery  building  proper  led 
in  from  Fifth  street  on  the  west.  A  large  veranda  and  grove  adjoined 
the  house  in  early  days  and  was  a  favorite  resort  of  summer  evenings  to 
which  thirsty  citizens  of  the  city  flocked  for  refreshments  and  an  even- 
ing's entertainment,  music  generally  being  furnished  in  the  nature  of  some 
first-class  band.  After  the  death  of  the  proprietor  the  property  fell  into 
the  hands  of  his  nephew,  Charles  Kuntz,  who  married  the  widow.  Lack 
of  proper  business  management  soon  brought  the  business  into  litigation 
and  it  was  finally  closed  out. 

The  "John  Grund  Brewery",  owned  and  operated  by  John  Grund,  was 
erected  in  1857  on  Delaware  street  between  Fifth  and  Sixth  streets,  south 
side,  and  on  the  location  of  the  former  building  which  was  known  as  Chick- 
ering  Hall  and  what  is  now  known  as  the  "Leavel  Motor  Company".  Henry 
Foot,  one  of  the  wealthiest  of  Leavenworth's  citizens  in  those  days,  was 
associated  with  Grund  in  the  enterprise.  The  brewery  was  a  brick  struc- 
ture two  stories  in  height.  Its  operation  at  this  location  was  never  a  com- 
plete success,  owing  to  the  fact  that  they  could  not  provide  suitable  con- 
ditions under  which  to  have  their  beer  age  and  the  place  was  sold  out, 
the  partners  buying  out  a  small  brewery  which  was  located  on  the  west 
side  of  what  is  now  Shoemaker  avenue,  and  which  was  operated  under  the 
name  of  the  "Little  Cannon  Brewery",  and  run  and  operated  by  an  old 
German  on  a  small  scale.  The  Grund  interests  at  the  same  time  also  pur- 
chased a  tract  of  land  on  the  east  side  of  what  is  now  Shoemaker  avenue 
and  proceeded  to  erect  an  up-to-date  brewery,  the  building  itself  being  of 
stone  and  the  ruins  of  which  are  to  this  day  standing.  This  brewery  con- 
tinued to  do  a  flourishing  business  until  the  early  '60's  when  it  was  closed 
out  by  Lucien  Scott,  then  president  of  the  First  National  Bank,  from 
whom  Grund  had  borrowed  heavily. 

Another  prominent  early  day  brewery  was  opened  for  business  in 
1857  near  the  northeast  corner  of  Choctaw  and  Sixth  streets  upon  the 
present  site  of  the  Lysle  Milling  Company.  It  was  owned  and  operated  by 
Keim  &  Wehrle,  and  while  it  did  business  upon  a  smaller  scale  than  the 
other  breweries  heretofore  mentioned,  nevertheless  for  the  amount  of 
capital  invested,  the  business  was  a  very  profitable  one. 
(5) 


130  HISTORY    OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

In  1858  John  Brandon  and  David  Block  started  the  manufacture  of 
soda  water  at  the  southeast  corner  of  Second  and  Kiowa  streets.  A  few 
years  later  M.  Kirmeyer  bought  out  the  interest  in  the  business  and  he 
first  operated  under  the  name  of  Brandon  &  Kirmeyer  and  the  business 
was  changed  to  that  of  brewing.  This  industry  was  finally  forced  to  cease 
operations  through  the  interference  of  the  law  as  administered  under  the 
Prohibitory  Act.  A  still  later  adventure  at  the  brewing  industry  was  set 
upon  when  John  Brandon  and  George  Beal  formed  a  partnership  and 
engaged  in  the  manufacture  of  beer  under  the  firm  name  of  Brandon  & 
Beal.  Their  brewery  was  located  on  Kickapoo  street,  north  side,  between 
Second  and  Main  streets.  This  was  the  last  brewery  to  do  business  in  the 
city  of  Leavenworth. 

Schools  were  not  so  quickly  to  be  established  in  the  city.  This  was 
due  principally  to  the  fact  of  the  unsettled  condition  of  the  slavery  ques- 
tion in  those  days.  As  soon  as  it  became  apparent  that  the  new  territory 
was  to  be  Free  State  the  establishment  of  schools  took  on  a  new  impetus. 
Previous  to  this  about  the  only  schools  existing  in  the  city  were  those 
that  were  privately  conducted.  The  first  school  of  this  nature  to  be  estab- 
lished was  located  on  the  southeast  corner  of  Fifth  and  Delaware  streets. 
It  was  opened  during  the  summer  of  1855  and  was  conducted  by  Rev.  J.  B. 
McAfee.  He  conducted  the  school  at  this  place  for  several  years.  Later 
McAfee  was  ordered  out  of  the  territory  owing  to  the  color  of  his  political 
views  and  not  wishing  to  make  a  contest  of  the  matter  he  left.  It  was 
not  until  after  the  year  1858  when  the  first  organized  system  of  schools 
was  perfected,  that  the  education  of  the  children  of  the  territory  and  city 
ceased  to  be  neglected. 

A  large  two-story  frame  building  was  erected  in  the  fall  of  1856  at 
the  southeast  corner  of  Third  and  Delaware  streets  which  was  used  as  a 
public  hall  and  theatre.  It  operated  until  the  fall  of  1858  when  it  was 
destroyed  by  fire.  Another  building  was  erected  in  1863  on  Shawnee 
street,  north  side,  about  the  middle  of  the  block  between  Fourth  and 
Fifth  streets  by  the  Goddard  Bros.  It  was  operated  as  an  opera  house 
and  theatre,  playing  vaudeville  principally  and  was  very  popular  until 
destroyed  by  fire.  The  next  early  day  theatre  established  in  the  city  was 
that  which  was  located  on  the  southeast  corner  of  Fourth  and  Delaware 
streets.  It  was  known  as  the  "Thorn  Theatre",  being  named  after  a  party 
named  Thom  who,  with  his  family,  were  actors  and  generally  made  up  the 
stock  company  that  played  there.    Thorn,  himself,  owned  and  operated  the 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY  131 

place  for  a  number  of  years.  The  old  Crawford  Grand  Opera  House  was 
erected  in  1880.  It,  while  not  in  any  sense  being  an  early  day  house  of 
amusement,  will  be  remembered  by  many  of  the  old  timers  of  the  pres- 
ent day.  It  was  located  on  Shawnee  street,  south  side,  between  Fifth  and 
Sixth  streets,  and  was  erected  by  a  stock  company  of  which  H.  D.  Rush 
was  president.  It  played  for  years  to  large  audiences  and  always  showed 
the  very  best  bills.  In  1910  the  building  was  sold  to  the  Abdallah  Shrine 
and  after  being  thoroughly  overhauled,  has  been  since  used  as  a  Shrine 
Temple.  Recent  theatres  are  not  mentioned  here,  owing  to  the  fact  that 
this  article  is  supposed  to  deal  with  only  the  earlier  history  of  the  city  of 
Leavenworth. 

A  number  of  buildings  used  as  public  halls  were  erected  and  conducted 
during  the  days  of  early  settlement  in  the  city.  In  1855  a  large  two-story 
frame  building  was  erected  on  the  north  side  of  Delaware  street  between 
Second  and  Third  streets  which  was  used  for  public  meetings  and  for 
church  services.  Melodeon  Hall,  Stockton  Hall,  Turner  Hall,  Lainge  Hall, 
Odd  Fellows  Hall,  and  Chickering  Hall,  were  also  famous  in  their  day  and 
enjoyed  equal  popularity  as  places  of  public  meeting  and  entertainment. 

"Melodeon  Hall"  consisted  of  the  third  floor  of  a  large  three-story 
brick  building  which  was  located  on  the  north  side  of  Cherokee  street 
between  Main  and  Second  streets.  It  was  erected  in  1851  by  Springer 
&  Fries,  a  Cincinnati  firm.  It  was  one  of  the  most  famous  as  well  as  the 
finest  of  early  day  halls.    It  was  totally  destroyed  by  fire  at  a  later  date. 

"Stockton  Hall  was  located  on  the  southwest  corner  of  Fourth  and 
Delaware  streets.  It  was  erected  in  1857  by  Capt.  J.  B.  Stockton.  Abra- 
ham Lincoln  spoke  there  December  3d,  during  his  visit  to  Kansas  in  1859. 
It,  too,  was  totally  destroyed  by  fire  at  a  later  date. 

The  original  "Turner  Hall"  was  located  at  the  northeast  corner  of 
Sixth  and  Delaware  streets.  It  was  erected  in  1857  by  the  Turner  Society 
of  which  Henry  Deckelman,  who  ran  a  jewelry  store  in  Leavenworth  in 
early  days,  was  first  president.  It  was  equipped  with  a  stage  and  served 
the  purpose  of  both  public  hall  and  opera  house  for  the  society.  It  stood 
on  this  corner  for  thirty  years  or  more.  Later  the  Turner  Society  erected 
a  larger  and  finer  hall  at  the  northeast  corner  of  Broadway  and  Shawnee 
streets  which  is  still  standing.  The  original  structure,  after  being  deserted 
by  the  Turners,  was  used  for  years  as  a  livery  stable. 

"Lainge  Hall"  was  located  at  the  northwest  corner  of  Fourth  and 
Delaware  streets.  It  occupied  the  third  floor  of  what'  was  known  as  the 
Lainge  building.    It  was  used  principally  for  political  and  religious  meetings 


132  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY 

The  "Odd  Fellows  Hall"  was  erected  in  the  early  '60's  at  the  south- 
east corner  of  Sixth  and  Shawnee  streets.  It  was  one  of  the  largest  and 
finest  structures  of  its  kind  in  those  days  and  early  became  immensely 
popular.  The  building  is  still  standing  and  is  still  used  for  lodge  purposes, 
the  lower  part  being  at  present  used  by  the  J.  C.  Davis  Undertaking  Co.,. 
J.  C.  Davis  of  the  latter  mentioned  company,  being  at  the  present  time 
owner  of  this  famous  old  building. 

"Chickering  Hall"  was  erected  in  1885,  by  Carl  Hoffman.  It  was 
located  on  the  south  side  of  Delaware  street  between  Fifth  and  Sixth 
streets  on  what  is  now  lots  owned  and  occupied  by  the  Leavel  Motor  Car 
Company.  It  was  very  popular  as  an  early  day  hall  and  theatre,  being 
equipped  with  a  stage.  It  passed  into  the  discard  as  a  theatre  with  the 
establishment  of  the  Crawford  Grand  Opera  House  on  Shawnee  street.  It 
was  totally  destroyed  by  fire  November  14,  1914. 

"G.  A.  R.  Hall,"  located  immediately  north  of  the  court  house  grounds 
on  Fourth  street,  and  on  the  south  side  of  Three  Mile  Creek,  long  served 
as  a  public  meeting  place  and  hall.  While  it  can  not  be  linked  with  the 
history  of  the  earlier  day  halls  of  the  city,  yet  it  deserves  mention  here, 
owing  to  the  fact  that  its  tearing  down  in  1912  marked  the  passing  of  a 
familiar  landmark. 

The  banking  business  became  quickly  established  in  the  city  during 
its  early  settlement.  The  first  bank  to  open  for  business  was  located  on 
the  north  side  of  Delaware  street  between  Main  and  Second  streets.  It 
Avas  owned  and  controlled  by  a  party  named  Bailey  and  began  business 
operations  in  the  early  part  of  1855.  It  operated,  however,  but  a  very 
short  time. 

Another  early  day  bank  was  located  on  the  north  side  of  Cherokee 
street,  between  Main  and  Second  streets.  It  was  originally  owned  by 
Issett,  Brewster  &  Co.  Later  Lyman  Scott,  an  early  day  citizen,  pur- 
chased the  interests  of  Isett  and  Brewster  and  the  institution  came  to  be 
known  as  Scott,  Kerr  &  Co.  This  banking  business  was  later  absorbed  by 
the  First  National  Bank  now  located  at  the  northeast  corner  of  Fourth 
and  Delaware  streets. 

Among  the  other  early  day  banks  that  operated  in  the  city  were  those 
of  Eaves  &  Keller;  Henry  J.  Adams  &  Co.;  Clark  &  Gruber;  J.  C.  Heming- 
way &  Co.;  Smoot.  Russell  &  Co.;  J.  W.  Morris;  Diefendorf,  Hellen  & 
Bliss;  Newman  &  Havens;  E.  Schoolscoff;  E.  H.  Gruber;  The  German 
Bank,  and  the  Leavenworth  Savings  Bank. 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY  133 

The  bank  operated  by  Eaves  &  Keller  was  located  near  the  northeast 
corner  of  Main  and  Cherokee  streets.  It  began  business  in  1858  and  oper- 
ated for  only  a  short  time.  The  bank  owned  and  operated  by  Henry  J. 
Adams  &  Co.,  was  located  in  a  one-story  frame  building  which  formerly 
stood  on  the  south  side  of  Delaware  about  the  middle  of  the  block  between 
Second  and  Third  streets.  It  was  organized  under  the  territorial  laws  of 
the  territory  of  Kansas  in  1857  and  was  sometimes  referred  to  as  the 
Leavenwoi-th  City  Bank.  It,  like  former  banking  adventures,  continued  in 
business  but  a  short  time.  Clark  &  Gruber  started  a  bank  during  the 
middle  '50's  on  Delaware  street  two  doors  west  from  the  southwest  corner 
of  Delaware  and  Third  streets.  The  original  building  is  now  occupied  by 
the  Sanitary  Bakery,  a  new  business  adventure  in  this  city.  It,  too,  oper- 
ated but  a  short  time  when  the  partnership  dissolved  and  the  business 
was  merged  into  other  banking  institutions.  The  J.  C.  Hemingway  &  Co. 
bank  was  originally  located  at  the  northwest  corner  of  Shawnee  and  Main 
streets,  immediately  west  of  the  old  Planters  House.  This  bank  was  the 
outgrowth  of  the  banking  business  of  Smoot,  Russell  &  Co.,  which  was 
started  in  1855.  The  bank  was  later  removed  to  the  east  side  of  Main 
street  between  Delaware  and  Shawnee  streets  and  still  later  was  again 
located  at  the  southwest  corner  of  Shawnee  and  Main  streets.  The  bank 
operated  and  conducted  by  the  banking  firm  of  Smoot,  Russell  &  Co.,  was 
originally  located  at  the  southwest  corner  of  Main  and  Shawnee  streets. 
As  previously  mentioned,  it  was  opened  for  business  in  1855.  The  original 
bank  building  was  a  two-story  frame  structure.  Russell,  one  of  the  part- 
ners in  the  firm  was  heavily  interested  in  the  great  overland  freighting 
concern  known  as  Majors  Russell  &  Waddell,  and  when  that  company 
removed  from  the  city,  the  bank  was  sold  to  J.  C.  Hemingway  &  Co.  A 
banking  business  conducted  by  J.  W.  Morris  which  was  opened  for  busi- 
ness in  1857  was  located  near  the  northwest  corner  of  Second  and  Shaw- 
nee streets.  It  did  business  only  on  a  small  scale  and  was  early  discon- 
tinued. The  banking  firm  of  Diefendorf,  Hellen  &  Bliss  which  began  busi- 
ness in  1858  was  located  at  the  southwest  corner  of  Delaware  and  Main 
streets.  It  discontinued  business  at  an  early  date.  Paul  E.  Havens  and 
H.  L.  Newman  began  a  banking  business  during  the  late  '50's  under  the 
name  of  Newman  &  Havens.  Their  bank  was  located  on  the  northwest 
corner  of  Third  and  Delaware  streets  in  the  building  now  occupied  by  the 
Tremont  Hotel.  This  bank  operated  successfully  and  on  a  large  scale  for 
a  number  of  years.    The  banking  institution  conducted  by  C.  E.  Scholscoff 


134  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY 

located  on  the  north  side  of  Delaware  street  between  Second  and  Third 
streets,  which  did  business  during  the  late  '50's  was  more  of  a  loan  office 
than  bank.  It  was  conducted  for  a  number  of  years  on  a  very  successful 
scale.  The  large  three-story  brick  building  which  now  stands  at  the  south- 
west comer  of  Main  and  Delaware  streets  was  built  by  E.  H.  Gruber,  a 
partner  of  the  early  banking  firm  of  Clark  &  Gruber  who  started  a  bank- 
ing business  a  few  doors  west  of  the  southwest  corner  of  Third  and  Dela- 
ware streets  at  an  early  date.  The  former  building  mentioned  was  erected 
in  1859  by  Gruber  after  the  dissolution  of  the  Clark  &  Gruber  partnei-ship. 
Gruber,  upon  the  completion  of  this  building,  started  a  bank  there  on  a 
large  scale  known  as  the  "Gruber  Bank."  He  did  a  large  and  flourishing 
business  there  for  a  number  of  years  but  overstepped  the  bounds  of  pro- 
priety in  his  desire  to  outdistance  other  banks  and  was  finally  closed  out. 
A  bank  known  as  "The  German  Bank"  was  started  at  the  northwest  cor- 
ner of  Third  and  Cherokee  streets  by  Simeon  Abeles  at  an  early  date. 
Later  it  was  moved  to  the  southeast  corner  of  Fourth  and  Delaware  streets 
and  occupied  the  room  now  occupied  by  the  Reif  Drug  Company.  It  was 
finally  merged  into  the  First  National  Bank  which  is  now  located  at  the 
northeast  corner  of  Fourth  and  Delaware  streets.  The  bank  known  as 
the  "Leavenworth  Savings  Bank"  was  established  during  the  late  '60's 
by  Hines  &  Eaves.  It  was  at  first  located  at  the  southwest  corner  of 
Main  and  Delaware  streets.  Later  it  was  removed  and  eventually  was 
located  at  the  Times  building  on  Fourth  street.  While  located  there  it 
failed,  causing  much  financial  distress  to  its  depositors  who  were  numer- 
ous and  were  unfortunately  of  the  working  classes.  The  banks  of  today 
in  the  city  are  not  mentioned,  owing  to  their  having  no  historical  signifi- 
cance in  this  article  which  purports  to  deal  only  with  the  early  day  insti- 
tutions and  early  settlement  of  the  city. 

That  the  pioneers  who  helped  establish  the  city  of  Leavenworth,  al- 
though typical  frontiersmen  and  soldiers  in  a  sense  of  civilization's  edge, 
were  a  God  fearing  lot  and  Christians  at  heart  is  clearly  evidence  by  the 
quick  establishment  of  churches  and  the  building  of  other  houses  where 
religious  services  were  conducted.  Scarcely  had  the  city  been  laid  out, 
before  religious  services  were  being  held  in  different  ways  and  forms, 
throughout  its  limits.  The  first  religious  service  believed  to  have  been 
held  within  the  present  city  limits  was  conducted  October,  8,  1854,  by  W. 
G.  Caples,  a  Methodist  elder.  The  services  were  held  on  the  west  bank 
of  the  Missouri  river  near  the  northeast  corner  of  the  city  limits.     There 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  135 

being  no  appropriate  building  in  the  city  at  that  time  which  could  be 
utilized  for  church  purposes,  the  first  meeting  was  held  under  the  shade 
of  a  large  grove  of  trees  which  formerly  stood  at  the  aforementioned 
place.  Rev.  Caples  was  one  of  the  members  of  the  original  Town  Com- 
pany and  came  here  from  Missouri.  The  Rev.  Father  Fish  of  Weston, 
Missouri,  officiated  at  the  first  Catholic  church  services  that  were  con- 
ducted in  the  city.  There  being  no  appropriate  building,  the  residence 
of  Andrew  Quinn  who  resided  on  the  south  side  of  Shawnee  street  *e- 
tween  Second  and  Third  streets  was  used.  A  bureau  was  pressed  into 
service  as  an  altar.  This  mass,  the  first  Catholic  mass  to  be  said  in  the 
city,  was  held  during  the  early  summer  of  1855. 

What  is  believed  to  have  been  the  first  building  erected  for  exclus- 
ive use  for  church  purposes  was  built  during  the  summer  of  1855  by  the 
Methodists  on  Main  street.  The  first  Catholic  church  of  the  city  was 
built  during  the  latter  part  of  1855.  It  was  erected  at  the  southwest 
corner  of  Fifth  and  Kickapoo  streets  where  the  Catholic  school  now 
stands.  It  was  a  large  frame  structure  and  was  erected  under  the  super- 
vision of  the  Rt.  Rev.  Bishop  Miege  whose  pastorate  it  continued  to  be 
for  a  number  of  years.  The  present  Catholic  Cathedral  supplanted  it  in 
1863.  Other  Catholic  churches  were  later  established,  a  history  of  which 
will  be  found  elsewhere  in  this  volume. 

A  Christian  of  Campbellite  Church  was  erected  during  the  summer 
of  1855  on  Shawnee  street  between  Second  and  Third  streets  which  was 
destroyed  by  fire  several  years  later.  Shortly  after  this  the  congregation 
erected  another  church  building  on  the  east  side  of  Sixth  street  between 
Shawnee  and  Seneca  streets.  This  building  is  still  standing  and  is  still 
used  for  religious  purposes. 

A  Methodist  Church,  south,  was  erected  in  1855  on  the  north  side 
of  Choctaw  street  between  Second  and  Third  streets.  It  stood  near  where 
the  Great  Western  Manufacturing  Co.  now  has  its  offices.  In  1859  the 
Methodist  Church  which  stood  for  so  many  years  at  the  northwest  corner 
of  Fifth  and  Choctaw  streets  was  erected.  It  was  purchased  in  1912,  by 
the  J.  C.  Lysle  Milling  Company  and  was  torn  down,  its  present  site 
being  converted  into  a  lawn  to  the  East  of  the  milling  company's  offices. 
In  the  late  50's  or  early  60's  another  Methodist  church  was  erected  at 
the  southwest  corner  of  Sixth  and  Osage  streets. 

A  Presbyterian  Church  was  erected  in  the  fall  of  1855  at  the  south- 
west corner  of  Sixth  and  Miami  streets.     Rev.  A.  W.  Pitzer  was  pastor 


186  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY 

of  this  church  for  about  five  years  after  its  erection.  Later  and  during 
the  year  1871  a  First  Presbyterian  Church  was  erected  near  the  north- 
east corner  of  Seventh  and  Delaware  streets  on  Delaware  street.  It  was 
eventually  purchased  by  the  Goodjohn  Sash  and  Door  Company  and 
converted  to  their  business.  Part  of  the  old  original  building  is  still  stand- 
ing and  is  incorporated  into  the  new  building  which  they  recently  con- 
structed for  the  carrying  on  of  their  business. 

Other  branches  of  the  Presbyterian  Church  included  the  "West- 
minister Presbyterian  Church"  which  formerly  stood  at  the  corner  of 
West  Seventh  and  Oak  streets;  the  "Second  Westminister  Church"  which 
was  built  en  the  north  side  of  Walnut  street  between  Fourth  and  Fifth 
streets;  the  "Cumberland  Presbyterian  Church"  which  was  erected  on 
the  north  side  of  Cherokee  street  between  Fourth  and  Fifth  streets,  and 
the  "United  Presbyterian  Church"  erected  in  1866  between  Fifth  street 
and  Second  avenue  on  Arch  street,  often  referred  to  as  the  "Flatiron 
Church." 

The  first  Episcopal  Church  erected  in  the  city  was  built  near  the 
southwest  corner  of  Fifth  and  Chestnut  streets.  It  was  erected  in  1858 
and  was  abandoned  later  when  the  congregation  erected  a  new  church  at 
the  northeast  corner  of  Seventh  and  Seneca  streets. 

A  German  Lutheran  Church  was  erected  in  1857  at  Seventh  and 
Miami  streets.  The  first  Congregationalist  Church  was  located  on  the 
northwest  corner  of  Fifth  and  Delaware  streets  in  1859.  The  congrega- 
tion sold  their  property  at  this  location  in  1887  and  built  their  church 
which  at  present  stands  at  Fifth  and  Walnut  streets,  the  northeast 
corner.  The  Jewish  Synagogue  which  stands  at  Sixth  and  Osage  streets 
was  first  erected  in  the  year  1866.  In  1916  it  was  completely  overhauled 
and  remodeled  and  the  new  synagogue  now  stands  on  the  old  original 
location.  The  first  Baptist  Church  which  is  at  present  still  standing  and 
still  used  for  religious  purposes  was  dedicated  in  1871  at  the  southwest 
corner  of  Sixth  and  Seneca  streets.  For  years  it  was  one  of  the  most 
massive  and  imposing  looking  church  buildings  in  the  city.  A  Colored 
Church  was  erected  in  1868  on  the  south  side  of  Kiowa  street  between 
Fourth  and  Fifth  streets.  It  was  of  the  First  Methodist  denomination. 
The  First  colored  Baptist  church  was  erected  in  1868  at  the  corner  of 
Seventh  and  Pottawatomie  streets. 


CHAPTER  IV 


EARLY  SETTLEMENTS  CONTINUED. 


KICKAPOO — DELAWARE— EASTON— SPRING  DALE — TONGANOXIE— RENO. 

Kickapoo. — One  of  the  most  bitter  of  rivals  of  the  city  of  Leaven- 
worth during  its  fight  for  the  supremacy  of  the  cities  of  the  county  "was 
waged  by  the  little  city  of  Kickapoo,  situated  several  miles  northwest  of 
the  government  reservation  on  the  Missouri  River.  Kickapoo  is  in  reality 
a  much  older  city  in  point  of  settlement  than  the  city  of  Leavenworth.  It 
was  for  a  time  a  very  bitter  rival  of  Fort  Leavenworth  in  a  business  way. 

The  name  of  the  city,  "Kickapoo",  was  derived  from  that  of  the  Kick- 
apoo Indians,  who  came  there  and  settled  in  1832  upon  grounds  that  had 
been  allotted  them  by  the  United  States  Government. 

The  original  townsite  was  composed  in  all  of  three  hundred  and  nine 
acres  of  land  and  covered  ground  and  land  located  principally  in  the  north- 
west quarter  of  section  thirty-three,  and  the  north  one-half  of  the  south- 
west quarter  of  section  thirty-three,  township  seven,  range  twenty-two. 
The  townsite  was  surveyed  in  July,  1854,  and  Josiah  Elliott,  who  was 
selected  the  first  mayor  of  the  city  acknowledged  the  plat  of  the  city  in 
October,  1854.  The  townsite  was  re-surveyed  in  May,  1858,  and  on  Sep- 
tember 10,  1858,  the  plat  of  the  city  as  it  was  re-surveyed  was  recorded 
with  Scott  J.  Anthony,  Register  of  Deeds  of  Leavenworth  County  at 
that  time. 

The  recorded  plat  of  the  city  of  Kickapoo,  according  to  the  re-survey 
shows  a  city  with  streets  beginning  at  the  west  bank  of  the  Missouri 
River  and  numbered  north  to  south  from  one  to  thirteen.  The  names  of 
the  streets  from  east  to  west  are  as  follows,  beginning  at  the  north: 


138  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

Locust,  Chestnut,  Walnut,  Main,  Washington,  Jefferson  and  Madison.  All 
streets  were  eighty  feet  in  width  with  the  exception  of  Main  street  which 
was  one  hundred  feet  wide.  The  alleys  as  laid  out  were  sixteen  feet  in 
width  and  all  lots  were  124  f eef  by  44  feet  in  dimension. 

For  a  number  of  years  it  appeared  that  the  city  of  Kickapoo  was 
destined  to  outstrip  Leavenworth  in  growth  and  political  prominence.  As 
early  as  September  20,  1853,  a  convention  was  held  there  for  the  purpose 
of  selecting  a  delegate  to  go  to  Washington  and  urge  the  organization  of 
Kansas  and  Nebraska  as  territories.  A  Catholic  Mission  was  established 
there  in  1833  under  the  supervision  of  Fathers  Van  Quickenborn  and 
Hoecken.  A  trading  post  was  doing  a  large  business  there  at  that  date. 
The  old  mission  building  that  was  erected  by  the  Catholics  was  later  con- 
verted into  a  hotel  and  operated  for  a  number  of  years.  Later  it  was  used 
as  a  land  office  and  was  also  used  as  an  office  for  the  "Kansas  Pioneer,"  a 
newspaper  published  there  under  the  management  of  Saxton  &  Hazzard. 
A  part  of  this  old  building  remained  standing  until  a  few  years  ago  when 
it  was  torn  down  by  0.  L.  Spencer  into  whose  hands  this  property  had 
eventually  passed. 

One  of  the  most  flourishing  industries  of  early  day  Kickapoo  was  a 
saw  mill  which  was  operated  there  under  the  management'  of  Capt.  Elijah 
Wilhite  and  Captain  Dennis.  The  lumber  out  of  which  many  of  the  early 
day  buildings  in  this  city  were  constructed  was  made  at  this  mill.  Nearly 
all  of  the  early  day  frame  buildings  at  the  fort  were  constructed  from 
lumber  sawed  at  the  Wilhite  &  Dennis  mill.  Wilhite  later  sold  out  the 
interest  which  he  owned  in  the  mill  and  moved  to  the  city  of  Leavenworth 
and  started  a  flour  mill  which  stood  on  the  river  bank  along  the  South 
Esplanade.  George  A.  Sharp,  father  of  William  F.  Sharp,  a  prominent 
farmer  of  Kickapoo  at  the  present  time,  was  an  early  employee  of  the 
Wilhite  &  Dennis  saw  mill  at  Kickapoo. 

A  postoffice  was  established  in  the  city  of  Kickapoo  in  1855  and  T.  D. 
Armond  was  appointed  the  first  postmaster.  For  years  the  mail  was 
received  at  Kickapoo,  coming  across  the  river  from  Weston,  Missouri. 
Kickapoo  then  in  turn  acted  as  a  distributing  point  for  all  points  further 
west  in  the  surrounding  country. 

Among  the  early  day  settlers  of  the  city  of  Kickapoo  and  vicinity 
were  Rev.  Joel  Grover,  Major  Robert  Wilson,  Major  R.  P.  Rively,  William 
Finley,  John  Freeland,  Jesse  Connell,  George  0.  Sharp,  Captain  Dennis, 
Isaac  Cody,  Lawrence  Kennedy,  Merrill  Smith,  David  Herley,  T.  D.  Ar- 


HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  139 

mond,  A.  B.  Hazzard,  Elijah  Wilhite,  John  Baker,  Francis  M.  Beagle,  Ben- 
jamin F.  Edwards,  Frederick  Hoberg,  Jackson  Hundley,  Henry  Clay 
Squires,  and  Nathaniel  S.  Ward. 

Rev.  Joel  Grover  was  a  missionary  to  the  Kickapoo  Indians  and  came 
to  Kansas  in  1851.  He  settled  on  a  farm  a  short  distance  south  of  the 
village  of  Kickapoo.  He  was  the  father  of  D.  A.  N.  Grover  and  C.  A. 
Grover,  both  of  whom  were  early  day  attorneys  in  the  city  of  Leaven- 
worth. C.  A.  Grover  was  the  first  County  Attorney  of  the  city  and  county 
of  Leavenworth. 

Major  Robert  Wilson  was  the  first  white  settler  in  Kickapoo  Town- 
ship, coming  there  in  1844.  He  settled  on  what  is  now  known  as  the  Cad 
Flint  farm  which  is  located  a  short  distance  west  of  the  station  called 
Miocene  on  the  Atchison,  Topeka  &  Santa  Fe  Railway.  He  kept  a  trading 
post  there  for  several  years  and  sold  out  in  1852  to  Major  R.  P.  Riveley, 
who  conducted  a  general  store  and  hotel  there  for  several  years.  Rive- 
ley's  place  of  business  was  one  of  the  most  noted  on  the  Fort  Riley  Road 
and  Oregon  Trail.  One  of  the  first  "Squatters"  meetings  ever  held  in 
Kansas  territory  was  held  there  June  10,  1854.  It  was  at  this  meeting 
that  the  famous  "Salt  Creek  Valley"  resolutions  were  drawn  up,  a  copy 
of  which  appears  elsewhere  in  this  volume.  Riveley  conducted  a  general 
store  and  inn  at  this  place  until  July,  1857,  when  he  sold  out  to  Hiram 
Rich. 

William  Finley  settled  on  a  farm  in  the  Kickapoo  community  during 
the  middle  '50's  and  for  years  took  an  active  interest  in  the  affairs  of  the 
city  of  Kickapoo  and  the  surrounding  community.  John  Freeland  was  also 
a  farmer  who  lived  in  the  Kickapoo  community  during  the  early  '50's. 
He  took  an  active  interest  in  early  day  politics  and  was  elected  a  county 
commissioner  at  an  early  date  occupying  the  position  of  chairman  of  the 
county  board  from  August,  1858,  until  March  30,  1860.  Jesse  Connell  was 
also  an  early  day  farmer  in  the  Kickapoo  community.  He  served  several 
years  as  state  senator  also. 

George  O.  Sharp,  another  of  Kickapoo's  oldest  residents,  came  to 
Kansas  in  1855.  He  held  the  position  of  postmaster  for  a  number  of  years 
at  that  place  and  was  also  the  first  station  agent  there.  He  took  an  active 
interest  in  the  early  day  politics  of  the  little  village  and  served  one  term 
as  police  judge  there,  and  held  the  office  of  mayor  from  1858  to  1861.  He 
was  the  father  of  William  F.  Sharp  who  at  present  lives  a  short  distance 
south  of  the  little  village. 


140  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

Captain  Dennis  operated  a  saw  mill.  For  a  time  Elijah  Wilhite  was 
associated  with  him.  Practically  all  of  the  lumber  that  was  used  in  the 
construction  of  the  stables  at  Fort  Leavenworth  during  the  early  days  was 
sawed  at  this  mill. 

Isaac  €ody,  the  father  of  the  world  famous  "Buffalo  Bill"  also  was 
an  early  day  settler  in  Kickapoo  Township.  There  is  no  record  of  his 
ever  having  lived  in  the  village  of  Kickapoo.  Cody's  farm  was  situated  on 
the  south  side  of  the  Fort  Riley  road  and  Old  Oregon  Trail  and  was  a  short 
distance  west  of  the  Hund  farm  of  today.  His  pi'operty  eventually  passed 
through  different  hands  and  it  is  now  part  of  the  Weisinger  and  Seymour 
farms. 

Lawrence  Kennedy,  sometimes  referred  to  as  the  "Mayor  of  Pleasant 
Ridge,"  the  father  of  M.  C.  Kennedy  and  L.  V.  Kennedy,  prominent  farm- 
ers of  Kickapoo  Township,  at  the  present  time  was  also  an  early  settler 
in  the  township.  His  farm  was  located  a  short  distance  to  the  northwest 
of  the  Cody  farm. 

Merrill  Smith  conducted  a  saloon  and  hotel  in  what  might  be  properly 
called  Salt  Creek  Valley,  a  small  early  day  village  situated  south  of  Kick- 
apoo. His  place  was  located  on  the  Fort  Riley  Road  and  old  Oregon  Trail 
and  was  a  famous  early  day  stopping  place  for  freighting  trains  passing 
over  these  trails. 

David  Herley  operated  the  famous  early  day  tavern  and  saloon  known 
as  the  "Eight  Mile  House".  It  was  located  approximately  eight  miles 
northwest  of  the  city  of  Leavenworth  in  Kickapoo  Township  at  a  point 
where  the  Fort  Riley  Road  and  Old  Oregon  Trail  branched.  Part  of  the 
old  building  is  still  standing  and  the  place  is  now  owned  by  Mrs.  Patrick 
Burns. 

T.  D.  Armond  was  a  resident  of  the  village  of  Kickapoo  during  the 
early  '50's.  He  was  the  first  postmaster  at  that  place,  being  appointed  in 
January,  1855.  At  that  time  the  mail  was  brought  across  the  river  from 
Weston,  Missouri,  by  ferry. 

A.  B.  Hazzard  was  the  editor  of  the  "Kansas  Pioneer",  a  radical  pro- 
slavery  weekly  published  in  Kickapoo.  He  published  the  "Pioneer"  for  a 
period  of  about  three  years  and  when  it  became  evident  that  Kickapoo  had 
lost  the  fight  for  the  county  seat  and  the  territory-was  destined  to  become 
Free  State  the  publication  was  suspended.  He  later  published  a  paper 
in  Savannah,  Missouri. 

Elijah  Wilhite  was  also  an  early  day  resident  of  the  city  of  Kickapoo. 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  141 

For  a  time  he  was  interested  there  in  the  operation  of  a  saw  mill  with 
Captain  Dennis.  After  selling  out  his  interests  he  removed  to  Leaven- 
worth where  he  opened  a  flour  mill. 

John  Baker  came  to  Kansas  in  1857  and  located  in  Kickapoo.  He 
was  at  various  times  engaged  in  the  manufacture  of  brooms  there  and 
also  at  farming.  He  served  as  police  judge  of  the  city  of  Kickapoo  one 
term,  as  a  member  of  the  council  three  terms  and  as  mayor  of  the  city 
one  term. 

Francis  M.  Beagle  came  to  Kansas  in  1852  and  at  first  settled  on 
Kickapoo  Island.  About  two  years  later  he  moved  to  the  city  of  Kickapoo 
where  he  engaged  in  the  general  merchandise  business  under  the  firm 
name  of  Dennis,  Lewis  &  Co.  A  short  time  afterward  he  moved  to  Colo- 
rado but  later  returned  to  Kickapoo. 

Benjamin  F.  Edwards,  one  of  the  early  and  prominent  farmers  and 
stock  misers  of  Kickapoo  Township,  came  to  Kansas  in  1855  and  located 
on  a  farm  northwest  of  the  city  of  Kickapoo.  During  the  Civil  War  he 
served  as  a  sergeant  of  Company  A,  Seventeenth  Kansas  Infantry.  Mr. 
Edwards  took  an  active  interest  in  early  day  political  affairs.  He  was  an 
ardent  Free  State  man  and  was  one  of  the  foremost  farmers  of  Kickapoo 
Township  during  his  lifetime. 

Frederick  Hoberg,  another  early  day  resident  of  the  city  of  Kickapoo, 
came  to  Kansas  in  June,  1854.  His  original  claim  constituted  a  part  of 
the  original  townsite  of  the  city.  After  selling  it  to  the  town  company 
he  moved  to  a  farm  a  short  distance  outside  the  city. 

Jackson  Hundley  came  to  Kansas  in  September,  1854,  and  at  first 
settled  in  Salt  Creek  Valley,  a  short  distance  south  of  Kickapoo.  He 
farmed  quite  extensively  in  Kickapoo  Township  for  a  number  of  years. 

Henry  Clay  Squires  was  another  early  day  settler  of  Kickapoo  Town- 
ship. He  came  to  Kansas  in  1858  and  for  a  number  of  years-  engaged  in 
the  freighting  business  on  the  plains.  During  his  lifetime  he  was  one  of 
the  largest  and  most  influential  farmers  in  Kickapoo  Township.  He  took 
an  active  interest  in  politics  and  served  several 'terms  as  County  Commis- 
sioner of  Leavenworth  County.  His  beautiful  home  is  still  well  preserved 
and  is  located  a  short  distance  northwest  of  the  little  vilage  of  Lowemont 
on  the  Atchison,  Topeka  &  Santa  Fe  Railway. 

Nathaniel  S.  Ward  came  to  Kansas  in  1858  and  settled  on  a  farm  a 
short  distance  west  of  the  city  of  Kickapoo.  During  the  Civil  War  he 
served  as  a  member  of  Company  A,  Seventeenth  Kansas  Infantry. 


142  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

Delaware. — Another  former  rival  of  the  city  of  Leavenworth  for 
political  and  business  prominence,  now  long  since  lost  and  forgotten,  stands 
about  two  miles  east  of  the  present  site  of  Lansing.  This  city,  known  in 
its  day  as  Delaware  and  sometimes  referred  to  as  "Old  Delaware",  was 
commenced  during  the  summer  of  1854.  A  townsite  was  laid  out,  sur- 
veyed and  platted  by  the  Delaware  Town  Association  of  which  S.  B.  Pren- 
tiss was  president.  The  original  plat  of  the  city  of  Delaware  was  filed 
in  the  office  of  Scott  J.  Anthony,  Register  of  Deeds  of  Leavenworth 
County,  Kansas,  on  December  15,  1859,  and  the  description  of  the  city 
from  the  plat  recorded  reads  as  follows : 

"Beginning  at  a  limsetone  rock  15  inches  long  by  3  inches  thick 
set  for  the  northwest  corner  of  the  town  of  Delaware  on  the  south  bank 
of  the  Missouri  River,  in  Leavenworth  County,  Kansas  Territory,  from 
which  a  Cottonwood  tree  bears  South  S.  81J  degrees  W.  68  links  and  an 
elm  tree  bears  S.  83|  degrees  E.  42  links  distant,  thence  S.  35  degrees  E. 
down  the  south  bank  of  said  river  80  chains  to  a  limestone  30  inches  long, 
10  inches  wide  and  H  thick  from  which  an  oak  tree  bears  N.  78  degrees  W. 
21  links  and  an  elm  tree  bears  N.  79  degrees  E.  A5  links  distant.  Thence 
South  55  degrees  W.  40  chains  set  a  part  corner  from  which  a  hickory 
tree  bears  N.  9  degrees  W.  17  links.  Thence  north  35  degrees  W.  80 
chains  set  for  a  corner  a  limestone  30  inches  long,  10  inches  wide  and  2 
thick.  Thence  55  degrees  E.  40  chains  to  the  place  of  beginning.  The 
width  of  streets,  lots,  alleys,  and  depth  of  lots  are  as  appear  on  plat.  The 
number  of  blocks  and  reserves  are  as  well  as  the  names  of  the  street's 
laid  down  on  this  plat." 

The  plat  referred  to  above  was  filed  by  George  Quinby  on  behalf  of 
the  Delaware  Town  Association.  The  plat  as  recorded  shows  that  the 
streets  from  east  to  west  were  numbered  from  1  to  6.  From  north  to  south 
the  streets  were  names  as  follows :  Hazel,  Hickory,  Hackberry,  Elm,  Vine. 
Maple,  Mulberry,  Walnut,  Main,  Oak,  Linden,  Ash,  Cherry  and  Plum. 

In  1855  an  election  was  held  in  the  county  for  the  purpose  of  select- 
ing a  county  seat  and  on  November  6,  1855,  the  County  Board  of  Leaven- 
worth met  for  the  purpose  of  canvassing  the  votes  cast.  After  canvassing 
the  votes  it  appeared  that  the  city  of  Delaware  had  cast  929  votes,  the 
city  of  Kickapoo,  878  and  the  city  of  Leavenworth  726.  At  the  election  it 
is  said  that  large  numbers  of  Missourians  had  come  over  to  Delaware  and 
Kickapoo  and  voted  for  the  purpose  of  securing  the  county  seat  to  each 
of  these  cities.    Following  the  canvassing  of  the  votes  Commissioners  Hall 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  148 

and  Walker  voted  that  Delaware  city  be  selected  as  the  permanent  county 
seat.  John  A.  Halderman,  one  of  the  county  commissioners  at  that  time 
refused  to  take  any  hand  in  the  matter  of  the  selection  of  Delaware  as  the 
county  seat  for  the  reason  that  numerous  illegal  votes  had  been  cast.  A 
county  building  was  built  at  Delaware  following  this  election  and  the 
county  offices  were  moved  there  February  20,  1857. 

In  1857,  however,  the  legislature  ordered  the  holding  of  another  elec- 
tion for  the  purpose  of  fixing  upon  a  permanent  county  seat  for  Leaven- 
worth County.  At  this  election  which  was  held  in  October,  1857,  the  city 
of  Kickapoo  received  the  largest  number  of  votes,  polling  a  vote  of  1,004 
as  against  Leavenworth's  968.  When  the  board  of  county  commission- 
ers canvassed  the  vote  they  declared  that  Kickapoo  was  to  be  the  county 
seat  and  the  county  records  were  ordered  transferred  from  Delaware  to 
th  city  of  Kickapoo.  After  this  the  matter  of  the  county  seat  was  thrown 
into  litigation  and  eventually  the  city  of  Leavenworth  won  out.  With 
Leavenworth's  winning  the  cities  of  Delaware  and  Kickapoo  began  quickl) 
to  pass  into  the  discard  and  especially  was  this  true  as  the  Free  State 
sentiment  began  to  grow. 

An  amusing  story  is  told  of  the  election  of  October  8,  1855,  when 
Kickapoo,  Leavenworth,  and  Delaware  City  were  waging  a  hot  three- 
cornered  fight  for  the  county  seat.  On  the  evening  of  the  election  after 
the  votes  had  been  counted  it  appeared  that  Kickapoo  had  won  out  by  a 
vote  of  892  to  860  over  Delaware,  her  closest  rival.  There  was  a  great 
celebration  held  in  Kickapoo  and  Weston  where  most  of  the  Kickapoo 
votes  had  come  from  during  the  day.  However,  the  next  day,  Delaware, 
not  to  be  outdone,  decided  that  there  were  several  of  her  citizens  who  had 
not  voted  so  they  threw  the  polls  open  on  that  day  with  the  result  that  the 
Delaware  vote  grew  from  860  to  928,  easily  outdistancing  Kickapoo  in  the 
final  canvass  by  the  county  commissioners. 

Among  the  early  settlers  of  Delaware  City  and  Delaware  Township 
were  the  following:  G.  B.  Redmond,  J.  M.  Churchill,  James  Bruce,  Will- 
iam H.  Spratt,  George  Quinby,  L.  F.  Hollingsworth,  R.  C.  Foster,  David 
Churchill,  B.  H.  Twombly,  S.  D.  LeCompte,  G.  W.  Gardner,  Eli  Macamer, 
John  W.  Loar,  H.  T.  Green,  Thomas  Abshire,  Joseph  Kelley,  Barnabas 
Gable,  Doctor  Whiteside,  Fred  Frye,  Matt  Boyle,  Herman  Brandt,  Mrs. 
Hanson,  William  Patterson,  Jonas  Edge,  Tom  Yates  and  William  Sprague. 

Practically  all  of  the  residents  of  Delaware  and  community  emigrated 
to  Kansas  territory  from  Platte  County,  Missouri.  They  were  in  the  main 
strongly  pro-slavery. 


144  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

Of  the  old-time  settlers  of  the  city  of  Delaware  and  Delaware  Town- 
ship heretofore  named,  none  are  now  living.  G.  B.  Redmond,  whose  name 
was  mentioned  afterward,  started  the  little  village  of  Weimer,  which  was 
located  a  short  distance  south  of  Delaware  on  the  Missouri  River.  There 
he  operated  a  saw-mill  and  for  a  time  it  appeared  that  the  village  was 
destined  to  blossom  out  into  a  real  city.  All  of  the  former  site  of  this 
little  village  has  now  been  carried  away  by  the  encroachment  of  the  river. 

J.  M.  Churchill  was  one  of  the  early  day  storekeepers.  James  Bruce 
was  a  brother-in-law  of  Churchill's  and  lived  in  the  city  of  Delaware. 
William  H.  Spratt  ran  a  saloon  there  for  a  number  of  years. 

In  the  mind  of  the  old  timers  there  still  lingers  recollections  of  George 
Quinby,  one  of  the  leaders  of  the  little  village  in  its  palmiest  days.  Quinby 
ran  a  livery  stable  there  for  a  number  of  years.  He  was  a  man  of  the 
typical  "town  boomer"  type  of  the  fifties.  He  came  to  Delaware  when  it 
was  nothing  but  a  "wooding  up"  station  for  the  steamboats  and  it  was 
largely  through  his  efforts  that  it  gave  promise  for  a  time  of  being  the 
leading  city  in  Leavenworth  County.  L.  F.  Hollingsworth  was  an  early 
day  doctor  of  the  little  village  and  had  an  office  there.  Later  he  purchased 
a  farm  a  short  distance  from  the  townsite  and  removed  there  following  the 
less  strenuous  occupation  of  farming. 

R.  C.  Foster  was  an  early  day  farmer  of  the  community.  His  farm 
was  located  adjoining  the  city.  David  Churchill  was  associated  with  his 
brother  in  the  conducting  of  a  general  store  there,  and  B.  H.  Twombly  was 
an  early  day  attorney  of  Leavenworth  City  and  County  who  lived  on 
a  farm  adjoining  the  village. 

Of  Samuel  D.  LeCompte  much  could  be  said.  He  was  the  first  judge 
of  the  district  of  which  Leavenworth  County  was  a  part.  He  was  inclined 
to  be  a  bit  radically  inclined  toward  the  pro-slavery  element  and  cause. 
He  resided  in  the  city  of  Delaware  for  several  years  and  held  court  there 
when  the  county  building  was  located  there.  When  the  city  of  Delaware, 
in  order  to  defeat  Leavenworth  and  Kickapoo  for  the  county  seat,  threw 
open  the  polls  and  voted  a  second  day,  it  is  said  that  when  the  matter  came 
before  LeCompte  as  a  legal  controversy,  he  decided  in  favor  of  Delaware. 
After  his  retirement  as  judge  hei'e  he  practiced  law  for  a  number  of  years 
in  Leavenworth  but  finally  removed  east  where  he  died. 

G.  W.  Gardener  was  another  early  day  attorney  of  Leavenworth  city 
and  county  who  took  up  an  early  residence  in  the  city  of  Delaware.  After- 
ward he  removed  to  a  farm  in  Delaware  Township  where  he  followed  the 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY  145 

occupation  of  farming.  Eli  Macamer  was  another  lawyer  who  resided  at 
Delaware  on  a  farm  as  well  as  was  H.  T.  Green.  John  W.  Loar  was  an  early- 
day  farmer  in  the  Delaware  community  as  well  as  was  Thomas  Abshire  and 
Joseph  Keliey. 

Barnabas  Gable,  another  early  settler  of  the  Delaware  community, 
came  to  Kansas  in  1854  from  Platte  County,  Missouri.  At  first  he  took  up 
a 'claim  on  Broadway  in  the  city  of  Leavenworth  which  he  afterward  aban- 
doned, the  same  being  taken  up  and  afterward  platted  as  Benz'  Addition 
io  the  city.  Mr.  Gable  died  about  ten  years  after  locating  on  his  Dela- 
ware Township  farm,  leaving  a  large  family.  Frank  M.  Gable  of  Delaware 
Township,  and  John  M.  Gable  of  this  city,  are  his  sons. 

Doctor  Whiteside  was  for  years  one  of  the  leading  physicians  of  Dela- 
ware city.  He  enjoyed  a  large  and  lucrative  practice  and  was  rated  as  one 
of  the  leading  physicians  in  this  part  of  the  country. 

Fred  Frye  was  Delaware's  baker.  He  conducted  a  bakery  there  dur- 
ing the  fifties  and  did  a  large  and  flourishing  business.  Matt  Boyle  ran 
the  leading  saloon  in  the  village.  He  was  found  guilty  of  selling  liquor 
without  a  license  after  the  town  boom  had  died  out  and  was  compelled 
to  serve  a  term  in  the  penitentiary  for  same.  Herman  Brandt  ran  a  saloon 
and  a  small  general  store.  He  later  moved  to  a  farm  south  of  Lansing 
after  that  city  had  started. 

The  hotel  which  was  operated  by  Mrs.  Hanson,  referred  to  as  the 
"Widow"  Hanson,  was  one  of  the  most  noted  places  in  the  little  village. 
It  enjoyed  a  large  patronage  and  was  political  headquarters  in  early  days. 
There  was  about  fifteen  rooms  in  the  hotel  building  as  well  as  a  large  hall 
which  was  often  pressed  into  use  as  a  dance  hall.  It  was  conducted  under 
the  name  of  the  "Hanson  House". 

William  Patterson  was  an  early  day  contractor  and  builder  of  the  vil- 
lage and  later  built  himself  a  fine  residence  there.  William  Sprague  was 
an  early  day  stone  mason  and  bricklayer  who  helped  build  many  of  the 
houses  and  buildings  that  sprung  up  when  the  boom  was  at  its  height. 

The  first  mayor  of  the  city  was  Thomas  Yates,  a  typical  town  boomer 
who  saw  visions  of  big  things  in  store  for  his  infant  city. 

Henry  Foreback  was  the  first  shoemaker  to  locate  in  the  city.  For  a 
time  he  was  a  political  "boss"  there,  controlling  the  German  vote. 

During  its  palmy  days  town  lots  in  the  city  of  Delaware  sold  for 
fabulous  prices.  An  improvement  company  was  organized  to  grade  and 
make  streets.     The  townsite  was  on  very  hilly  ground  and  they  cut  one 

(6) 


146  HISTORY    OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

street  down  to  the  river  landing.  The  street  was  about  a  quarter  of  a 
mile  long  and  in  many  places  it  was  necessary  to  make  cuts  as  deep  as 
twenty  feet. 

An  amusing  incident  relative  to  the  county  seats  being  established 
there  is  still  recalled  by  some  of  the  old  timers.  After  the  building  of  a 
temporary  structure  there  for  the  purpose  of  housing  the  county  offices, 
it  became  necessary  to  hold  a  term  of  court.  Judge  Samuel  D.  LeCompte 
was  at  that  time  judge  of  the  district  of  which  this  county  was  a  part. 
During  the  trial  of  a  case  in  the  Delaware  court  house  and  while  the  jury 
was  in  the  box,  the  floor  of  the  building  collapsed  and  the  jury  all  fell  into 
the  basement.    Fortunately  no  one  was  seriously  injured. 

Frank  M.  Gable,  who  came  to  Delaware  Township  as  a  small  boy 
with  his  father,  Barnabas  Gable,  tells  that  it  was  a  practice  during  the 
early  days  of  the  town  for  the  real  estate  agents  to  have  emissaries  down 
at  the  river  who  hailed  passing  steamboats  in  search  of  immigrants,  cry- 
ing out:  "Hear  ye  me!  Hear  ye  me!  Come  to  my  town.  It  is  the  best 
located." 

Easton. — The  city  of  Easton,  situated  about  twelve  miles  west  of  the 
city  of  Leavenworth,  was  another  early  day  settlement  in  the  county. 
This  city  was  originally  called  "Eastin"  and  was  named  after  Lucien  J. 
Eastin,  one  of  the  early  editors  and  owners  of  the  "Kansas  Herald,"  a 
weekly  Leavenworth  newspaper.  It  was  located  and  named  in  the  fall 
of  1854  by  Andre  Dawson,  William  G.  Mathias  and  L.  J.  Eastin.  It  is 
said  the  the  name  "Eastin"  was  changed  to  "Easton"  owing  to  the  fact 
that  Governor  Reeder,  the  first  territorial  governor  of  the  territory  of 
Kansas,  was  originally  from  a  city  in  Pennsylvania  named  "Easton"  and 
the  change  in  the  spelling  of  the  name  was  done  in  his  honor. 

The  first  known  white  settler  in  the  immediate  vicinity  of  Easton  i? 
believed  to  have  been  Andre  Dawson,  who  at  first  lived  a  short  distance 
to  the  southeast  of  the  present  site  of  the  city.  Dawson's  Creek  Cross- 
ing on  Stranger  Creek  was  a  famous  early  day  fording  place  where  trains 
traversing  the  Fort  Riley  Road  crossed  the  stream.  Dawson  Creek,  a 
small  creek  running  through  the  south  part  of  the  city  of  Easton,  was 
named  after  Dawson.  Dawson  was  married  to  an  Indian  squaw.  There 
was  one  son  born  to  their  union,  a  son  named  John. 

The  plat  to  the  city  of  Easton  was  recorded  May  8,  1855.  It  was 
recorded  by  Jesse  Connell,  administrator  of  the  estate  of  Andre  Dawson, 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY  147 

The  plat  of  the  city  of  Easton  shows  the  city  to  be  divided  into  six- 
teen square  blocks.  The  streets  are  numbered  from  east  to  west,  be- 
ginning with  one  and  ending  with  four.  From  north  to  south  the  streets 
are  named  as  follows,  beginning  at  the  north:  Dawson,  Riley,  Kickapoo, 
and  Broad  Street.  The  blocks,  as  laid  out,  are  divided  into  twelve  lots 
each. 

Among  the  earliest  settlers  in  the  city  of  Easton  and  its  immediate 
community  were  Stephen  Minard,  who  bought  out  Andre  Dawson's  hotel 
there  and  operated  it  as  early  as  1855 ;  Samuel  J.  Kookagee,  who  operated 
a  store  there  for  several  years  during  the  middle  fifties ;  John  Large,  who 
lived  two  miles  south  of  the  city  and  whose  daughter  married  Andre 
Dawson,  and  John  McNeesh,  who  also  operated  a  hotel  there  during  the 
early  fifties.  Samuel  Pearson  was  also  an  early  resident  of  the  city.  It 
was  he  who  in  company  with  Merrill  Smith,  then  the  proprietor  of  a 
hotel  and  saloon  in  Salt  Creek  Valley,  engaged  Martin  Klien  in  an  alter- 
cation in  the  Number  Six  neighborhood  one  day  and  shot  the  latter,  seri- 
ously wounding  him. 

Other  early  day  settlers  included  William  H.  Bristow,  William  N. 
Borden,  John  L.  Bristow,  Robert  Fevurly,  A.  E.  Cleavinger,  Joshua  Hall, 
Robert  Kelsey,  M.  H.  Langley,  G.  H.  Loughmiller,  C.  D.  Oliphint,  J.  H. 
Seever,  Stephen  Sparks,  Joshua  Turner,  E.  K.  Adamson,  H.  B.  Gale,  Rob- 
ert Bishop,  Thomas  Snoddy,  Charles  Foster,  John  Thornburg  and  Jackson 
Crane. 

Practically  all  of  these  parties  named  in  the  last  paragraph  settled 
on  farms  in  the  vicinity  surrounding  Easton.  William  H.  Bristow,  for 
a  number  of  years  conducted  a  general  merchandise  store  until  it  was 
destroyed  by  border  ruffians  during  the  fall  of  1856.  William  N.  Borden 
came  to  Kansas  in  1842  and  located  in  what  is  now  Kickapoo  Township. 
He  later  moved  back  to  Platte  County,  Missouri,  but  again  moved  back 
to  Kansas  several  years  later,  locating  in  the  village  of  Easton,  where 
he  engaged  in  the  grocery  business  for  several  years  before  moving  to 
his  farm  north  of  Easton.  Joshua  Turner  conducted  a  grocery  store  in 
the  city  for  a  number  of  years  during  its  early  days.  Stephen  Sparks, 
one  of  the  earliest  settlers  in  the  Easton  community,  came  to  Kansas  in 
1854  and  located  on  his  farm  on  Walnut  Creek  a  short  distance  to  the 
south  of  Easton,  where  he  lived  until  his  death.  A.  E.  Cleavinger  came 
to  Kansas  in  1851  and  located  on  a  farm  northeast  of  the  city  of  Easton 
several  miles.     Until  his  death  he  ranked  as  one  of  the  leading  farmers 


148  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY 

of  Easton  Township.  E.  K.  Adamson  came  to  Kansas  in  1854  and  at  first 
located  on  a  farm  in  Alexander  Township.  Several  years  later  he  moved 
to  Easton,  where  he  engaged  in  the  mercantile  business.  M.  H.  Langley 
came  to  Kansas  in  April,  1854,  and  located  on  a  farm  to  the  northwest  of 
the  city  of  Easton  a  short  distance.  He  was  a  prominent  farmer  and 
stock  grower  there  during  his  lifetime.  C.  D.  Oliphint,  another  of 
Easton's  most  prominent  old  timers,  came  to  Kansas  in  August,  1856,  and 
located  in  Easton,  where  he  resided  until  his  death.  He  took  an  active 
interest  in  early  day  politics  and  served  as  a  member  of  the  State  Legis- 
lature during  the  session  1877-78.  J.  H.  Seever,  H.  B.  Gale,  Robert 
Bishop,  Charles  Foster,  John  Thornburg  and  Jackson  Crane  were  all  early 
day  farmers  in  Easton  Township  and  community.  They  all  lived  to  the 
north  and  northeast  of  the  city  and  all  came  to  their  respective  homes 
during  the  early  and  middle  fifties.  There  are  none  of  those  old  timers 
heretofore  mentioned  living  at  this  date. 

An  early  day  incident  showing  to  what  extent  the  pro-slavery  forces 
willingly  went  in  order  to  carry  out  their  purposes  is  illustrated  in  the 
election  which  was  held  in  the  territory  on  January  17,  1858.  Easton 
was  at  that  time  one  of  the  polling  places.  The  home  of  T.  A.  Minard 
was  used  as  a  voting  place.  A  number  of  pro-slavery  men  sent  word  to 
Minard  that  they  wanted  the  ballot  box.  A  number  of  Free  State  men 
from  Fort  Leavenworth  under  the  leadership  of  Capt.  Reese  P.  Brown, 
a  newly  elected  member  of  the  State  Legislature,  had  gone  out  to  see 
that  the  election  was  conducted  fairly.  The  Free  State  men  of  the  vi- 
cinity were  under  the  leadership  of  Stephen  Sparks,  who  lived  a  short 
distance  south  of  the  city  of  Easton.  The  election  went  along  quietly 
until  the  morning  after,  when  the  Free  State  men  from  Leavenworth 
learned  that  Sparks  and  his  son  had  been  taken  prisoners.  They  imme- 
diately set  out  to  rescue  them.  On  reaching  the  village  they  found  Sparks 
and  his  son  and  released  them.  Trouble  followed.  A  pro-slavery  man 
named  Cook  was  killed  and  several  Free  State  men  were  wounded.  Capt. 
Brown  set  out  with  his  party  on  their  return  to  Leavenworth.  On  the 
way  back  the  party  was  met  by  two  bands  of  pro-slavery  men,  one  under 
the  leadership  of  Capt.  Martin,  and  another  under  the  leadership  of  Capt. 
Dunn.  Most  of  both  parties  were  "Kickapoo  Rangers."  Seeing  that  they 
were  outnumbered  the  Free  State  men  surrendered  and  were  taken  back 
to  Easton.  A  mock  trial  was  held  and  all  the  prisoners  were  turned 
loose  with  the  exception  of  Brown.     He  was  locked  up.     The  mob,  be- 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY  149 

came  unruly  and  broke  open  the  jail,  dragged  Brown  out  and  one  of  the 
party  struck  him  in  the  head  with  a  hatchet.  He  was  stabbed  and  hacked 
from  head  to  foot  and  thrown  into  a  farm  wagon  and  taken  to  his  home, 
where  he  was  thrown  out  at  the  door.  His  wife  shortly  after  this  went 
violently  insane  and  later  died  from  the  direct  effect  of  the  shock. 

Another  incident  is  illustrated  in  the  raiding  of  the  store  which  was 
conducted  at  Easton  by  William  H.  Bristow.  Bristow  had  been  engaged 
in  the  mercantile  business  there  during  the  years  1855  and  1856.  In  the 
fall  of  1856  border  ruffians  from  Missouri  came  to  the  little  village  of 
Easton  and  robbed  the  store  of  all  the  provisions  they  were  able  to  carry. 
They  then  set  fire  to  the  building  and  set  out  on  their  return.  The  old 
store  book  kept  by  Bristow  is  still  preserved  and  contains  many  items  of 
interest.  Among  the  first  pages  appears  the  heading:  "Easton  K.  T. 
October  10,  1855."  Among  the  first  customers  appears  an  Indian,  who 
paid  a  balance  on  account  of  $1.00  for  pantaloons.  Several  Indians'  names 
are  found  in  the  record,  showing  a  great  deal  of  trade  among  them. 

The  following  is  a  copy  of  some  of  the  original  items  as  they  appear 
in  this  old  account  book: 

"Saturday,  Oct.  13,  1855;  George  W.  Messersmith,  to  gallon  of  mo- 
lasses, 75c ;  to  8  pounds  of  sugar,  $1 ;  to  one  gallon  whiskey,  75c.  Another 
bill:  Tuesday,  October  30,  1855;  John  Large,  to  25  pounds  flour,  $1.37;  to 
50  cents  coffee,  50c;  to  i/2  gallon  whiskey,  40c.  Another  bill:  William 
Sparks,  Dec.  3,  1855;  to  five  pounds  of  nails,  60c;  to  set  of  knives  and 
forks,  50c ;  to  8  yds.  calico  @  12i/2c,  $1.00 ;  to  matches,  5c." 

The  last  entry  made  in  the  store  book  was  under  date  of  December 
1,  1856.  The  following  are  names  of  some  of  the  customers  recorded: 
Wansuck  Indian,  Esquier  Indian,  John  Thomas,  Witousa  Indian  John, 
Pacnocca  Indian,  Jim  Thomas,  Kawhuk  Indian,  Joel  Crook,  James  Kain, 
W.  Sparks,  James  Novel,  M.  Langley,  Steven  Sparks,  Mathias  Ralston,  F. 
G.  Braden,  L.  White,  Mr.  Mayfield,  J.  Brady,  William  Linck,  K.  Adamson, 
David  Large,  S.  J.  Kockogee,  Robert  Whitehead,  John  Large,  Levi  White, 
George  Messersmith,  Christopher  Linvil,  Jacob  Adamson,  John  Wilfly, 
Daniel  Shiply,  William  McLain,  Thomas  Carson,  Peyton  Bristow,  James 
T.  Roberts,  Daniel  Nickson,  Anthony  Reader,  Joseph  Langley,  E.  K. 
Adamson,  Thomas  W.  Brooks,  Thomas  Gwartney,  W.  R.  Tubbs,  Thomas 
Turner,  Augusta  White,  James  Novel,  William  Sparks,  James  Ready, 
Greenville  Thompson,  A.  D.  Jones,  William  Gabard,  Charles  Hedrick, 
Zachariah  Sparks,  David  Merphy,  J.  G.  Brown,  James  Bradley,  James 


150  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

Hugens,  Henry  Ready,  Henry  Price,  S.  C.  Sumpter,  Taswell  Rose,  John 
Higgins,  L.  Minard,  John  Menech,  Levi  White,  John  Tritt,  M.  H.  Langley, 
Thomas  Minard,  Daniel  Rose,  William  Rose,  William  Jones,  Patrick  Orr, 
Benjamin  Hicks,  John  Foular,  Amber  Jones,  Moses  Sparks,  M.  Coomstock, 
John  Large,  M.  Mackey,  R.  W.  Chinnly,  N.  Taylor,  Louisiana  Lockmiller, 
Chester  Ferry,  Lance  Woodward,  John  Thompson,  Robert  Thompson. 

The  following  is  the  contract  for  the  first  school  house  at  Easton. 
The  original  contract  with  other  papers  of  William  H.  P.  Bristow,  includ- 
ing the  old  store  book,  are  at  present  in  possession  of  William  P.  Hall, 
grandson  of  Mr.  Bristow,  and  to  him  we  are  indebted  for  this  information : 

"Know  all  men  by  these  presents,  that:  We,  G.  C.  Linvill  &  D.  L. 
McMickle,  for  and  in  consideration  of  the  sum  of  one  hundred  and  Twenty 
five  Dollars  to  be  paid  in  manner  following  do  agree  to  build  and  complete 
a  school  house  in  the  Town  of  Easton  of  the  following  dimensions,  viz: 
twenty  four  by  eighteen  feet,  and  nine  feet  between  joints  with  one  door 
and  four  twelve  light  windows  eight  by  ten,  floor  to  be  laid  of  plank  with 
a  square  edge  drove  up  tight;  sleepers  and  joice  to  be  placed  two  feet 
apart,  the  house  to  be  chinked  and  pointed  inside  and  out  with  lime  and 
set  upon  a  good  foundation  one  foot  above  the  ground.  When  the  house 
is  up  and  covered  the  sum  of  twenty  five  dollars  will  be  paid  and  the  re- 
mainder one  hundred  dollars  when  the  house  shall  be  completed  and  fully 
finished  in  a  good  and  workmanlike  manner. 

"  (Thos.  A.  Minard  "C.  C.  Linville 

"Trustees  (Wm.  H.  P.  Bristow  "D.  L.  McMickle." 

"(Joseph  Langley" 

"Easton  Nov.  14th  A.  D.  1855 
"Received  of  W.  H.  P.  Bristow  and  T.  A.  Minard,  Trustees  of  the 
Easton  School  House  the  sum  of  One  Hundred  and  Twenty  Five  Dollars 
in  full  of  all  demands  against  the  Easton  School  House. 

"C.  C.  Linville 
"D.  L.  McMickle" 

The  foregoing  contract  and  receipt  are  written  on  a  sheet  of  lined 
foolscap  paper  and  is  plainly  legible  to  the  present  day. 

Springdale. — The  city  of  Springdale  was  platted  and  surveyed  in 
1860  by  Hiram  Rees  and  Eli  Morris.  It  is  located  in  the  center  of  Alex- 
ander Township  and  about  sixteen  miles  west  of  the  city  of  Leavenworth. 
It  has  no  railroad  connections.     John  Wright  was  reputed  to  have  been 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY  151 

the  first  settler  in  the  township,  coming  there  in  1854.  A  postoffice  was 
established  there  in  1860  and  P.  F.  Walker  was  appointed  the  first  post- 
master. In  those  days  the  mail  was  hauled  overland  by  stage  on  the 
Fort  Riley  Road,  Springdale  getting  its  mail  from  the  station  at  Easton, 
and  Easton  in  turn  getting  its  mail  from  Leavenworth,  where  it  was 
brought  by  steamboat.  The  township  of  Alexandria,  in  which  Spring- 
dale  is  located,  was  settled  to  a  large  extent  by  the  Friends'  Society. 
They  built  a  church  and  schoolhouse  there  at  an  early  date.  Among  the 
earliest  industries  of  the  little  village  was  a  sawmill  operated  by  Henry 
Ready  and  a  grist  mill  operated  by  Thomas  Ashby. 

Among  the  earliest  settlers  of  the  village  and  community  were  the 
following:  Robert  E.  Courtney,  Garrett  V.  Keller,  James  Medill,  Alfred 
B.  Powell,  Buell  Trackwell  and  Dr.  William  B.  Wood. 

Robert  Courtney  came  to  Kansas  April  7,  1855,  and  located  on  a 
farm  near  the  village  of  Springdale.  He  soon  acquired  considerable  real 
estate  and  was  a  prominent  and  prosperous  farmer  of  that  locality  until 
his  death.  Garrett  V.  Keller,  another  early  day  settler,  located  in  the 
Springdale  community  in  January,  1859.  He  also  was  a  farmer  and 
resided  there  for  a  number  of  years,  operating  one  of  the  leading  farms 
of  the  community. 

James  S.  Medill  came  to  Kansas  April  15,  1857,  and  did  not  until 
1864  move  to  the  Springdale  community.  He  took  an  active  interest  in 
early  day  politics  and  served  four  years  in  the  State  Legislature  and  two 
years  as  railroad  assessor.  On  his  farm,  which  was  one  of  the  leading 
ones  of  the  community,  he  specialized  in  the  raising  of  Shorthorn  cattle 
and  Poland-China  hogs.  He  was  the  father  of  a  large  family  and  was 
one  of  the  county's  foremost  citizens  until  his  death. 

Buell  Trackwell  came  to  Kansas  and  settled  in  the  Springdale  com- 
munity in  1857.  He  also  was  one  of  the  community's  leading  farmers 
and  citizens  until  his  death.  Dr.  William  B.  Wood  came  to  Kansas  in 
the  fall  of  1855.  After  his  graduation  from  the  Missouri  College  of 
Medicine  in  1875  he  established  himself  in  the  practice  at  Springdale, 
where  for  a  number  of  years  he  enjoyed  a  large  practice. 

Tonganoxie.— The  city  of  Tonganoxie,  which  is  the  second  largest 
city  in  Leavenworth  County  at  the  present  time,  was  also  an  early  settle- 
ment in  the  county.  It  was  named  after  an  old  Indian  chief  who  lived 
along  the  Lawrence-Leavenworth  Road  in  that  community  during  the 
early  fifties  and  whose  home  was  a  famous  early  day  stopping  place  for 


152  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

travelers  in  those  days.  The  city  of  Tonganoxie  was  platted  in  1866. 
The  original  townsite  at  the  time  of  the  platting  was  owned  by  Magdalena 
Berry.  As  platted  the  city  contained  forty  acres.  The  first  white 
settler  of  the  village  is  reputed  to  have  been  William  H.  Fox,  who  built 
a  log  cabin  on  the  townsite  in  1862.  During  the  early  60's  a  postoffice 
was  established  there,  and  James  English  was  appointed  the  first  post- 
master. It  was  not  until  1866  that  a  regular  merchandise  store  was 
opened  up  there.  It  was  owned  by  William  Dane.  A  flour  mill  was  put 
into  operation  there  at  an  early  date,  the  same  being  situated  several 
miles  southeast  of  the  village  and  being  owned  by  Mrs.  E.  Davis  &  Son. 
Among  the  early  settlers  of  Tonganoxie  City  and  community  were 
the  following:  Willard  S.  Angell,  Jacob  Becker,  Wallace  A.  Brice,  Charles 
Colwell,  Francis  J.  Dessery,  John  S.  Grist,  Abner  F.  Hoskins,  Archer  J. 
Jones,  Eli  H.  Linton,  A.  McLawrence,  Ashley  A.  Moody,  Crawford  Moore. 
Axum  Newby  and  Jonathan  Winslow.  Of  these  Willard  Angell  came  to 
Kansas  in  1869  and  at  first  located  in  High  Prairie  Township.  He  settled 
later  in  the  city  of  Tonganoxie,  where  for  a  number  of  years  he  conducted 
a  livery  stable  and  a  hotel.  Jacob  Becker  came  to  Kansas  in  1867  and 
located  in  Leavenworth,  where  he  lived  for  two  years,  when  he  moved  to 
Tonganoxie  in  1869.  His  occupation  was  that  of  a  saddler  and  harness 
maker  and  for  years  he  followed  his  trade  in  that  village.  William  A. 
Brice  came  to  Kansas  in  1869  and  landed  at  the  city  of  Leavenworth. 
He  was  an  early  day  farmer  of  the  Tonganoxie  community.  Charles  Col- 
well came  to  Kansas  in  1861  and  located  for  a  time  in  Leavenworth.  He 
was  a  blacksmith  by  trade  and  in  the  year  1866  he  located  in  Tonganoxie, 
where  he  conducted  an  early  day  blacksmith  shop.  Francis  J.  Dessery 
located  in  the  city  of  Tonganoxie  in  1867.  For  years  he  traded  in  horses 
and  mules  there.  John  S.  Grist  arrived  in  Kansas  in  1868  and  located 
at  Tonganoxie.  He  was  a  contractor  and  builder  by  profession  and  many 
of  the  early  day  houses  of  the  city  and  community  as  well  as  the  bridges 
were  built  under  his  supervision.  Abner  F.  Hoskins  came  to  Kansas  in 
1857  and  during  his  first  three  years  in  the  territory  resided  in  Anderson 
County.  In  1860  he  moved  to  a  farm  in  the  Tonganoxie  community.  He 
was  for  years  one  of  the  leading  farmers  and  stockraisers  of  that  com- 
munity. Archer  J.  Jones  came  to  Kansas  in  1859  but  it  was  not  until 
1861  that  he  located  in  the  vicinity  of  Tonganoxie  on  a  farm.  In  1866 
Eli  Linton  arrived  at  the  little  village  of  Tonganoxie  and  located  there 
permanently.     He  was  one  of  the  early  day  postmasters  of  the  village 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY  153 

and  also  worked  as  an  agent  for  the  railroad  company  there.  A.  McLaw- 
rence  arrived  in  the  Tonganoxie  community  in  1866  and  located  on  Big 
Stranger  Creek  a  short  distance  from  the  city.  For  years  he  conducted 
a  grocery  store  at  Tonganoxie.  Ashley  A.  Moody  located  in  Tonganoxie 
in  1868  and  for  years  conducted  a  general  merchandise  store  there. 
Crawford  Moore  came  to  the  Tonganoxie  community  in  1861  and  located 
on  a  farm  which  was  situated  about  a  mile  northeast  of  the  village.  The 
station  of  "Moore"  on  the  Leavenworth-Lawrence  branch  of  the  Union 
Pacific  Railway  is  named  after  him.  His  farm,  which  consisted  of  900 
acres,  was  one  of  the  finest  in  Leavenworth  County.  Axum  Newby  lo- 
cated on  a  farm  in  the  Tonganoxie  community  in  the  year  1873  and  for 
years  was  one  of  the  most  prominent  farmers  of  the  neighborhood.  Jona- 
than Winslow  was  another  of  the  early  day  fanners  to  settle  in  that 
vicinity.     He  located  there  in  the  year  1868. 

Reno. — The  little  station  of  Reno,  which  is  situated  on  the  Leaven- 
worth-Lawrence branch  of  the  Union  Pacific  Railway,  was  named  after 
General  Reno.  One  of  the  earliest  merchants  of  the  place  was  John 
Jacobs,  who  was  also  the  first  postmaster  there.  Another  small  station 
which  is  situated  in  Reno  Township  is  named  Fall  Leaf  and  is  located  on 
the  main  line  of  the  Union  Pacific  Railway.  It  was  named  after  an  In- 
dian chief  who  lived  there  in  early  days. 

Among  the  early  settlers  of  Reno  Township  are  the  following:  R.  C. 
Taylor,  John  Jordan,  Gavin  Allan,  Smith  Benedict,  William  Bruce,  John 
C.  Canary,  John  Develbess  and  Christian  J.  Halstead.  Among  these  R. 
C.  Taylor  was  one  of  the  earliest  settlers  of  Reno  Township,  the  other 
oldest  settler  being  John  Jordan.  They  both  were  farmers  and  took  up 
their  claims  in  the  township  at  a  very  early  date.  Gavin  Allan  came 
to  Reno  Township  in  1869  and  located  on  a  farm  there,  where  he  lived 
for  a  number  of  years.  He  specialized  in  the  raising  of  fine  hogs  and 
cattle.  Smith  Benedict  was  another  early  day  farmer  to  locate  in  the 
Reno  community.  He  came  there  in  1867  and  for  years  conducted  one 
of  the  finest  farms  in  the  neighborhood.  William  Bruce  came  to  the 
community  in  1869  and  located  on  a  farm.  John  Canary  also  located 
there  at  an  early  date  and  followed  the  occupation  of  farming.  John 
Divelbess  located  on  a  farm  in  the  township  in  1867  and  devoted  most 
of  his  time  to  the  raising  of  fine  cattle.  In  1880  he  was  elected  state 
representative  from  his  district.  Christian  J.  Halstead  located  in  Reno 
in  the  year  1866.  He  was  one  of  the  early  day  postmasters  of  the  place. 
He  also  served  his  district  as  a  state  representative  for  a  number  of  years. 


CHAPTER  V 


PIONEER  LIFE  AND  HOMES 


TYPES   OF    PIONEERS — THEIR    HOMES — HOW    HOMINY    WAS   MADE — HOSPITALITY — 
IMPLEMENTS      AND      CLOTHING— THE      TYPICAL      PIONEER— THE      PIONEER 

WOMEN. 


"Home  of  our  childhood !  how  affection  clings, 
And  hovers  round  thee  with  her  seraph  wings. 
Dearer  thy  hills,   though  clad  in  autumn  brown. 
Than  fairest  summits  which  the  cedars  crown." 

— O.  W.  Holmes. 

There  were  several  different  types  of  men  found  among  the  early  day 
settlers  of  Leavenworth  City  and  Leavenworth  County.  There  was  the 
type  which  came  here  mainly  for  political  purposes  with  but  one  object 
in  view  and  that  to  make  the  new  territory  of  Kansas  pro-slavery.  Many 
of  these  were  in  the  employ  of  Southern  agencies.  Their  names  are  found 
connected  with  many  of  the  early  atrocities  which  were  committed  in 
the  county  in  its  early  days.  After  it  became  apparent  that  they  had 
lost  their  fight  and  that  the  territory  was  destined  to  be  free  state  they 
gradually  dwindled  and  slunk  away.  There  was  another  type  who  came 
here  for  the  purpose  of  establishing  homes  for  themselves  and  their  pos- 
terity. It  is  indeed  a  grateful  thought  that  the  latter  were  in  the  ma- 
jority. Those  it  was  that  made  up  what  might  be  truly  termed  the  pio- 
neers of  our  city  and  county.  They  were  a  people  who  despised  the 
coddling  ease  of  luxury,  ruddy  of  health,  fired  with  an  ambition  of  service 
to  their  progeny,  true  soldiers  of  civilization's  edge.  Their  first  care 
was  to  protect  themselves  from  the  elements.  The  first  cabins  that  they 
erected  were  a  cross  between  a  hoop  cabin  and  Indian  hut.  Soon  after, 
however,   the  men  assembled  for  what  in  those  days  was  termed  "log 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY  155 

raisings."  The  forests  furnished  the  timber  and  the  strong  arms  of  the 
pioneer  with  his.  ax  fashioned  out  the  logs.  The  earth  supplied  the  clay. 
None  of  these  first  cabins  are  now  in  existence  but  the  following  is  a  fair 
description  of  the  way  and  manner  in  which  they  were  constructed. 

These  cabins  were  generally  built  of  round  logs,  notched  together 
at  the  corners,  ribbed  with  poles,  and  covered  with  boards  split  from  a 
tree.  A  puncheon  floor  was  then  laid  down,  a  hole  cut  in  the  end  and  a 
chimney  run  up  through.  A  clapboard  door  was  then  made,  and  a  window 
was  made  by  cutting  a  hole  through  at  the  end  or  side  two  or  three  feet 
square,  and  finished  without  glass  or  transparency.  The  house  was  then 
"chinked"  or  "daubed"  with  mud  and  the  cabin  was  ready  to  go  into. 
The  household  and  kitchen  furniture  was  adjusted  and  life  on  the  frontier 
really  began  in  earnest.  Much  of  the  furniture  used  by  the  earliest  of 
these  pioneers  was  "home  made,"  being  fashioned  out  of  the  timber  by 
the  husband  with  no  other  instrument  than  an  ax.  The  doors  were  fas- 
tened with  old  fashioned  wooden  latches,  and  the  latch  string  always 
hung  out  for  friends  and  neighbors.  The  convenience  of  stoves  was  a 
thing  at  first  unheard  and  unthought  of,  the  housewife  doing  all- of  her 
cooking  by  means  of  pots  and  kettles  over  and  above  the  fireplace,  which 
was  usually  later  constructed.  The  acquisition  of  glass  windows  was  im- 
possible for  these  first  settlers.  White  paper  was  pressed  into  service, 
being  greased  and  thus  admitting  a  small  portion  of  light. 

Those  settlers  who  thus  faced  the  hardships  of  the  new  territory 
were  indeed  true  home  builders,  the  very  foundation  of  our  nation,  the 
true  root  of  patriotism  and  love  of  country.  They  appreciated  the  fruits 
of  their  own  industry,  and  manufactured  practically  everything  they 
used.  The  home  made  hominy-block  is  doubtless  not  within  the  memory 
of  our  oldest  citizens.     This  was  made  after  this  fashion: 

A  tree  of  suitable  size  was  selected  in  the  forest  and  felled.  If  a 
cross  cut  saw  was  convenient,  the  tree  was  butted,  that  is  the  large  end 
was  sawed  off  so  that  it  would  stand  firmly  when  ready  for  use.  If  there 
were  no  saws  in  the  neighborhood  the  ax  was  used  to  do  the  work  above 
mentioned.  Then  the  proper  length,  generally  four  or  five  feet,  was 
measured  off  and  again  cut  off.  After  this  the  block  was  raised  on  end 
and  the  work  began  of  hollowing  out  one  of  the  ends.  This  was  generally 
done  with  a  common  chopping  ax.  When  the  cavity  was  adjudged  to  be 
large  enough  a  fire  was  built  in  it  and  carefully  watched  until  the  ragged 
edges   were   burned   away.     When   completed   it   somewhat   resembled   a 


156  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

druggist's  mortar.  Then  a  pedestle  or  something  was  necessary  to  crush 
the  com.  This  was  as  a  rule  made  from  a  suitably  sized  piece  of  timber 
with  an  iron  wedge  attached  large  end  down.  This  completed  the  ap- 
paratus. The  block  was  then  ready  for  use.  Sometimes  one  hominy- 
block  accommodated  a  whole  neighborhood  and  acted  as  a  means  of  stay- 
ing the  hunger  of  a  number  of  mouths. 

One  of  the  most  noted  of  characteristics  of  the  early  day  pioneer 
when  contrasted  with  the  people  of  today  was  the  spirit  of  helpfulness 
and  hospitality.  Men  and  women  everywhere  assisted  each  other.  Aris- 
tocratic feeling  was  unknown.  Log  raisings,  brush  clearings,  hunts  and 
such  things  were  participated  in  by  the  entire  neighborhood,  each  one 
doing  his  share.  When  a  neighbor  butchered,  his  neighbors  were  sure  to 
come  in  for  a  portion  of  the  meat.  What  one  had  all  had.  There  is  a 
difference  today  when  if  we  look  over  a  neighbor's  fence  we  are  charged 
for  it.  There  are  many  who  for  these  reasons  decry  the  progress  we 
have  made  in  the  last  three-quarters  of  a  century  and  long  to  go  back 
to  the  years  gone  by  when  hospitality  was  a  part  of  the  human  make-up. 
On  Sundays  and  holidays  the  pioneers  would  as  a  rule  go  visiting,  gen- 
erally to  one  of  the  more  important  neighbors,  who  as  a  rule  would  kill 
a  hog  or  sheep  to  provide  eating  for  his  visitors  over  Sunday.  It  was  the 
custom  for  the  whole  family  to  partake  of  these  visits,  generally  coming 
in  the  farm  wagon  and  staying  all  day,  sometimes  several  days. 

The  farming  implements  of  the  early  county  pioneers  were  very 
crude  and  have  long  since  passed  into  the  discard  and  disuse.  The  "bull" 
plough  and  mould  board  plow  were  early  pressed  into  use.  These  plows 
were  then  made  of  wood.  The  "cradle"  was  an  improvement  on  the  com- 
mon scythe  of  today  and  was  used  in  harvesting  early  grain  crops.  When 
the  "dropper"  and  "reaper"  came  into  use  in  the  early  80's  their  advent 
was  heralded  as  one  of  the  greatest  advancements  in  the  agricultural 
implement  age.  Previous  to  this  but  little  wheat  was  grown  owing  to  the 
fact  that  there  was  no  way  to  care  for  it  during  harvest  season.  With 
the  invention  of  the  latter  two  machines  wheat  growing  was  given  a  new 
impetus,  although  even  at  that  time  the  use  of  twine  for  the  tieing  of 
the  sheaves  was  unknown,  they,  before  this,  being  tied  by  a  handful  of 
the  sheaf  ingeniously  twisted  and  tied  about  it.  A  good  "binder,"  after 
the  use  of  the  "dropper"  came  in,  was  always  in  demand  during  harvest 
season.  The  original  way  of  preparing  the  soil  for  seeding  by  the  pioneers 
was  to  plow  or  "root"  it  up  with  a  "bull"  plow  and  then  drag  it  down  with 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY  157 

brush  or  logs.  Later  a  harrow  in  the  shape  of  the  letter  "A"  was  de- 
signed, it  being  constructed  by  mortising  three  heavy  pieces  of  timber 
together  in  the  form  of  a  triangle  and  then  boring  holes  through  at  cer- 
tain distances  apart  and  inserting  therein  at  first  wooden  and  later  iron 
teeth  or  plugs.  Rollers  were  designed  by  the  early  day  farmer,  being 
made  out  of  a  large  log  into  each  end  of  which  there  was  mortised  a 
heavy  steel  pin  upon  which  a  frame  work  was  constructed  which  con- 
nected with  a  tongue  and  means  by  which  it  could  be  drawn  by  oxen  or 
horses.  The  fences  that  usually  surrounded  the  pioneer's  domicile  were 
constructed  of  rails  which  his  ax  had  fashioned  from  the  timber  on  the 
premises.  When  not  of  rails  they  were  usually  made  of  stone.  Both 
forms  entailed  a  great  amount  of  labor  when  compared  with  the  manner 
and  form  as  used  in  these  latter  days.  The  family  clothes  were  made 
entirely  by  the  mother  through  the  use  of  her  needle  and  spinning  wheel. 
Boots  were  worn  more  than  shoes.  Every  pioneer  was  his  own  cobbler 
and  the  yarn  hose  knitted  by  the  mother  for  the  family  for  the  winter 
months  were  repaired  over  and  over  again.  The  straw  hats  which  the 
members  of  the  family  usually  wore  during  the  summer  months  were 
made  by  the  mother  from  the  wheat  straw  after  its  being  threshed. 
There  was  nothing  wasted ;  there  was  nothing  fastidious.  Life  was  lived 
in  a  sensible,  homely,  common-sense  way. 

The  typical  pioneer  man  was  in  the  majority  of  cases  strong  and 
robust  of  physique.  His  face  was  usually  bearded  and  his  hair  was 
allowed  to  grow  long.  As  a  rule  the  face  was  firm  and  seamed.  His  eyes 
were  clear,  strong  and  piercing,  the  sense  of  sight  being  developed  to  a 
wonderful  degree  as  well  as  that  of  the  other  senses.  He  had  vices  and 
traces  of  barbarism  in  his  makeup  peculiar  to  the  situation  in  which  he 
was  found.  His  manners  were  rough  and  appearance  uncouth,  yet  under- 
neath the  rough  veneer  one  generally  found  a  true  spirit  of  generosity 
and  a  sympathetic  side  to  the  nature  rarely  found  in  these  later  days. 
When  one  entered  the  door  of  the  pioneer's  cabin  seeking  shelter  for  the 
night  his  request  was  generally  answered  with:  "I  reckon  you  can  stay, 
or  I  suppose  we  better  let  you  stay."  The  welcome  would  indeed  seem 
ungracious,  yet  it  was  generally  the  harbinger  of  every  kindness  and 
comfort  his  cabin  afforded.  Coffee,  corn  bread,  butter,  pork,  wild  fowl 
or  wild  game  were  generally  set  before  one  at  the  mealtime.  The  wife 
and  mother,  timid,  silent  and  reserved  but  constantly  attentive  to  your 
comfort  did  not  as  a  rule  sit  at  the  table  with  the  guest,  but  like  the  wives 


158  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

of  the  patriarch's  stood  by  and  attended.  One  seeking  shelter  was  gen- 
erally given  the  best  the  house  could  afford  in  the  way  of  a  bed.  When 
this  kind  of  hospitality  had  been  shown  the  stranger  as  long  as  he  cared 
to  stay  and  when  he  was  ready  to  depart  and  proceeded  to  speak  of  his 
bill  he  was  generally  told  that  they  were  not  running  an  inn  or  board- 
ing house,  with  some  slight  mark  of  resentment,  and  that  he  was  indeed 
welcome  to  the  accommodations  such  as  they  had  been  able  to  afford  him. 
The  true  pioneer  woman  and  mother  was  a  type  of  woman  that  is 
rapidly  and  lamentably  passing  out  of  existence.  She  was  mild  of  man- 
ner and  as  a  rule  spoke  but  very  seldom.  She  was  generally  strong  and 
healthy  of  physique  and  met  unflinchingly  the  hardships  and  perils  of 
her  situation.  She  was  ever  alert  to  the  care  and  duties  of  her  house- 
hold and  was  seldom  idle.  Her  house  was  always  kept  neat  and  tidy 
regardless  of  the  nature  of  the  structure.  About  it  she  drew  no  social 
lines  based  on  the  simplicity  or  grandeur  thereof;  she  valued  her  friends 
and  neighbors  at  their  true  worth  and  all  were  welcome  to  visit  with 
her.  Resolutely  and  cheerfully  she  bore  her  heavy  burdens  and  met  the 
many  vicissitudes  cumbent  to  her  life.  There  was  a  whole-souled  opti- 
mism and  a  spirit  of  buoyant  laughter  ever  present  in  her  heart.  She 
was  not  adverse  to  the  bearing  of  children  and  found  solace  in  the  care 
and  homely  attentions  which  she  lavished  upon  them  in  her  simple  way. 
The  "homey"  instinct  was  deeply  embedded  in  her.  She  was  not  a  dis- 
ciple of  vogues,  styles  of  the  fashion  plates  and  the  relief  offered  her  from 
her  work  in  the  divorce  courts  held  no  lure.  She  worshipped  her  God  in 
the  simple  way,  her  Bible  being  her  constant  companion  and  her  greatest 
pleasure  being  to  gather  her  children  about  her  of  evenings  and  read  to 
them  therefrom  and  teach  them  simple  prayers.  With  the  establishment 
of  churches  at  a  later  period  she  always  tried  to  raise  her  family  in  her 
church.  About  this  true  mother  and  her  rude  pioneer  home  there  has 
ever  centered  a  magic  enchantment.  Recollections  of  the  sacrifices  which 
she  unflinchingly  made ;  of  her  many  kindnesses,  her  honest  toil  and  brave 
heart  still  clings  and  pays  homage  to  the  memory  of  many  of  the  older 
citizens  of  today,  touching  their  heart  strings  with  angelic  fingers.  The 
influence  which  she  exerted  was  stronger  than  death.  She  is  gone  but 
the  spirit  which  she  animated  in  the  breasts  of  our  fathers  and  mothers 
and  their  forefathers  still  lives  in  the  progress  and  greatness,  the  ad- 
vancement and  worth  of  our  city  and  county  as  it  has  established  itself 
in  the  years  that  have  gone  by. 


CHAPTER  VI 


FIRST  THINGS  IN  CITY  AND  COUNTY 


History  has  been  said  to  be  nothing  other  than  a  record  of  events. 
The  older  the  event,  in  reality  the  more  valuable  information  it  is  from 
a  historical  standpoint.  A  history  that  does  not  go  back  to  the  beginning 
of  things  and  events  loses  much  of  its  value  as  a  historical  work.  Leav- 
enworth City  and  Leavenworth  County  had  to  be  started.  A  city  or 
county  is  nothing  in  itself ;  a  state  is  nothing  in  itself,  neither  is  a  nation ; 
it  is  the  people  that  constitute  them  that  make  them  what  they  really 
are.  The  first  settler  in  the  city  of  Leavenworth  and  the  first  "squatter" 
in  the  county  together  with  the  industries  which  they  started  really  form 
the  nucleus  around  which  our  present  day  city  and  county  grew.  In  con- 
sequence of  this  the  present  chapter,  a  chapter  which  deals  with  the  first 
things  of  the  city  and  county,  has  been  inserted  in  this  work. 

In  a  former  article  it  will  be  noted  that  the  first  white  settlers  of 
the  county  were  mechanics  and  laborers  who  lived  in  and  very  close  to 
the  fort,  where  they  were  employed  by  the  government  in  various  ca- 
pacities. Just  who  was  the  first  white  settler  in  the  county  is  a  matter 
which  has  long  since  been  lost  in  the  maze  of  antiquity.  It  is  a  historical 
fact  that  the  first  land  staked  out  and  occupied  after  the  passage  of  the 
Kansas-Nebraska  Act  on  the  present  site  of  the  city  of  Leavenworth 
was  that  staked  out  and  occupied  by  John  C.  Gist  and  Samuel  Farandis. 
Gen.  George  W.  Gist  also  staked  out  a  claim  on  the  present  site  of  the 
city  but  was  never  an  actual  resident  of  the  territory. 

The  first  sale  of  the  town  lots  into  which  the  city  of  Leavenworth 
had  been  divided  and  which  was  held  in  the  city  of  Leavenworth  took 
place  on  October  9,  1854.  G.  W.  McLane,  of  Weston,  Missouri,  and  W.  S. 
Palmer,  of  Platte  City,  Missouri,  were  the  auctioneers. 


160  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY 

The  first  industry  of  note  to  begin  operations  in  the  city  was  the  saw 
mill  owned  and  operated  by  Capt.  W.  S.  Murphy  ond  Capt.  Simeon  Scruggs 
on  the  north  side  of  "Three  Mile  Creek"  where  it  empties  into  the  river. 
This  mill  began  operation  in  the  fall  of  1854.  A  more  detailed  account 
of  this  industry  is  found  in  the  Chapter  on  Early  Settlement  and  institu- 
tions of  the  city  of  Leavenworth. 

The  first  newspaper  published  in  the  city  of  Leavenworth  and  in  the 
territory  of  Kansas  was  set  up  and  published  under  the  shade  of  a  large 
elm  tree  which  stood  a  short  distance  to  the  southwest  of  the  corner  of 
Cherokee  and  Main  Streets.  The  first  edition  of  this  paper,  which  was 
named  the  "Kansas  Herald,"  bore  the  date  of  September  15,  1854.  The 
first  editors  of  this  paper  were  Adams  &  Osborne. 

The  first  storeroom  erected  in  the  city  was  located  at  the  northwest 
corner  of  Delaware  and  Levee  or  Front  Street.  It  was  erected  in  the 
summer  of  1854  by  Lewis  N.  Rees  and  was  operated  as  a  general  store 
and  later  used  for  the  first  postoffice  building  in  the  city. 

The  "First  Squatter's  Meeting"  held  in  the  territory  was  held  at 
the  store  of  H.  P.  Rively,  a  short  distance  west  of  the  Salt  Cleek  Valley 
Bridge  over  Salt  Creek.  This  store  was  located  on  the  farm  now  owned 
by  Cad  Flint.  About  two  hundred  "Squatters"  were  present  at  this 
meeting  and  it  was  then  that  the  famous  "Salt  Creek  Valley  Resolutions" 
were  drawn,  a  fuller  and  more  detailed  account  of  which  appears  elsewhere 
in  this  volume.     This  meeting  was  held  May  9,  1854. 

The  first  church  services  held  in  the  city  of  Leavenworth  were  con- 
ducted by  W.  G.  Caples,  a  Methodist  elder  on  Sunday,  October  8,  1854. 
The  services  were  conducted  along  the  west  bank  of  the  Missouri  River 
near  the  northeast  corner  of  the  present  city  limits  and  there  being  no 
building  adequate  for  the  purpose,  the  services  were  held  under  the  shade 
of  a  grove  of  trees  which  stood  at  the  aforementioned  location. 

The  first  postmaster  of  the  city  of  Leavenworth  was  Lewis  N.  Reese. 
The  postoffice  conducted  by  him  first  was  located  in  his  store  at  the  north- 
west corner  of  Delaware  and  Levee  or  Front  Streets.  He  served  as  post- 
master here  for  several  years  without  pay,  the  mail  being  brought  down 
from  the  fort  postoffice.  Later  he  was  officially  appointed  by  the  gov- 
ernment. 

The  first  postoffice  of  the  territory  was  established  May  29,  1828, 
and  was  known  as  Cantonment  Leavenworth.  Phillip  G.  Rand  was  the 
first  postmaster  there.     Up  until  and  even  after  the  establishment  of 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  161 

Kansas  as  a  territory  this  postoffice  handled  the  mail  of  the  earliest 
settlers  as  well  as  the  official  government  mails  at  the  fort  or  as  it  was 
then  known,  Cantonment  Leavenworth.  For  several  years  after  a  post- 
office  was  opened  in  the  city  of  Leavenworth  by  Lewis  N.  Reese,  the  mail 
was  brought  down  from  the  fort  to  the  local  office. 

The  first  dwelling  house  erected  in  the  city  of  Leavenworth  was 
built  by  Jeremiah  Clark.  It  was  located  at  the  southwest  corner  of 
Walnut  and  Fourth  streets  in  the  fall  of  1854.  Later  it  was  moved  to  a 
place  on  the  alley  between  Olive  and  Spruce  Streets  near  Fifth  Street, 
where  it  stood  until  a  few  years  ago  when  it  was  torn  down. 

The  first  territorial  election  held  in  the  territory  of  Kansas  was  held 
November  29,  1864.  This  was  for  the  purpose  of  selecting  a  delegate 
to  Congress.  The  voting  place  in  the  city  of  Leavenworth  for  this  elec- 
tion was  the  basement  of  the  old  Leavenworth  Hotel,  situated  at  the 
corner  of  Main  and  Delaware  Streets.  It  was  at  this  election  that  such 
a  large  crowd  of  Missourians  came  over  and  by  the  casting  of  their  votes 
made  it  possible  to  secure  the  election  of  the  pro-slavery  candidate,  Gen. 
John  W.  Whitfield. 

The  first  hotel  in  the  city  of  Leavenworth  was  situated  at  the  north- 
west corner  of  Main  and  Delaware  Streets.  It  was  erected  in  1854  and 
was  a  frame  building.  It  was  operated  and  conducted  by  George  Keller 
and  his  son-in-law,  A.  T.  Kyle,  and  was  known  as  the  "Leavenworth  Ho- 
tel."    The  building  was  torn  down  in  1859. 

The  first  well  ever  dug  and  known  to  exist  in  the  city  of  Leaven- 
worth was  dug  immediately  south  of  the  old  Leavenworth  Hotel  by  its 
proprietors  in  the  year  1854.  It  was  situated  about  the  middle  of  what 
is  now  Delaware  Street  and  almost  at  its  conjunction  with  Main  Street. 
It  was  filled  up  when  Delaware  Street  was  graded. 

The  first  child  born  in  the  city  of  Leavenworth  was  born  in  the 
Leavenworth  Hotel.  She  was  a  daughter  of  A.  T.  Kyle,  one  of  the  early 
proprietors  of  the  hotel  and  was  christened  Cora  Leavenworth  Kyle.  She 
was  born  December  5,  1855.  After  growing  to  womanhood  she  was 
married  to  James  N.  Allen,  who  for  years  was  Rock  Island  ticket  agent 
in  the  city  of  Leavenworth. 

The  first  white  male  child  born  in  the  city  of  Leavenworth  was  George 
C.  Richardson,  a  son  of  Jason  Richardson,  who  then  lived  in  a  one-story 
frame  house  on  Main  Street,  between  Main  and  Cherokee  streets.  Thi3 
child  was  born  November  14,  1858. 

(7) 


162  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

The  first  marriage  ceremony  performed  in  the  city  was  that  per- 
formed by  Squire  Alexander  Russell  on  January  13,  1856,  when  he  united 
in  marriage  John  Grund  and  Miss  Eliza  A.  Tennell.  Mr.  Grund  was 
later  connected  with  the  brewing  industry  in  the  city. 

The  first  boarding  house  conducted  in  the  city  was  opened  in  the 
year  1854  by  an  elderly  lady  named  Gano.  It  was  located  on  Main  Street 
near  the  present  site  of  the  Union  Depot. 

The  first  flour  mill  operated  in  the  city  was  erected  at  the  northwest 
corner  of  Main  and  Short  streets  by  Earle  &  Bumbing.  It  was  a  two 
story  brick  structure. 

The  first  brewery  in  the  city  was  built  in  the  fall  of  1855.  It  was 
a  two  story  stone  structure  and  was  located  along  the  river  bank  about 
the  middle  of  and  under  the  bank  of  what  is  now  the  South  Esplanade. 
It  was  owned  and  operated  by  a  partnership  known  as  Fritzen  &  Mundee. 

The  first  school  conducted  in  the  city  was  located  at  the  southeast 
corner  of  Fifth  and  Delaware  streets  on  the  present  location  of  the  Axa 
building.     It  was  a  private  school  and  was  conducted  by  Rev.  J.  B.  McAfee. 

The  first  public  hall  was  erected  in  the  fall  of  1855  and  was  located 
on  the  north  side  of  Delaware  Street  about  the  middle  of  the  block.  It 
was  used  for  many  diversified  purposes,  among  which  were  religious 
meetings,  political  meetings,  public  speakings  and  was  often  used  as  a 
dancing  hall. 

The  first  bank  to  open  for  business  in  the  city  was  located  on  the 
north  side  of  Delaware  Street  between  Main  and  Second  streets  in  the 
early  part  of  the  year  1855.  It  was  in  the  nature  of  a  private  banking 
institution  and  was  conducted  by  a  party  named  Bailey. 

The  first  election  of  members  to  the  territorial  legislature  of  the 
territory  of  Kansas  to  take  place  in  the  city  occurred  March  30,  1855. 
The  polls  for  this  election  were  to  have  been  in  the  old  Leavenworth 
Hotel,  but  the  proprietor,  George  Keller,  objected  to  the  elections  being 
held  there.  The  polling  place  was  then  selected  at  the  saddlery  shop  of 
Ben  Woods,  near  Third  and  Cherokee  streets.  A  large  crowd  came  down 
by  steamboat  from  Weston,  Missouri,  the  day  of  the  election  and  cast 
their  votes. 

The  first  convention  held  in  Leavenworth  for  the  purpose  of  nomi- 
nating a  candidate  for  delegate  to  Congress  was  held  November  15,  1854. 

The  first  "Squatter's  Trial"  ever  held  in  the  territory  of  Kansas  was 
held  in  Salt  Creek  Valley  at  the  store  conducted  by  Major  R.  P.  Rively  on 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY  163 

September  20,  1854.  The  question  involved  was  over  which  one  of  two 
parties  had  the  legal  right  to  the  possession  of  a  certain  claim.  The 
late  E.  Miles  Moore,  who  for  years  was  a  practicing  attorney  in  the  city 
of  Leavenworth  afterward  acted  as  attorney  for  a  party  named  Martin, 
who  claimed  that  his  claim  had  been  "squatted"  upon  during  his  absence. 
The  case  was  tried  by  a  board  of  three  arbitrators,  each  party  choosing 
one  and  the  two  chosen  choosing  a  third.  Malcolm  Clark,  who  was  after- 
ward murdered  in  the  city  of  Leavenworth,  was  acting  as  marshall  of 
the  "Squatter's  Court." 

The  first  fire  company  of  the  city  of  Leavenworth  was  organized 
September  17,  1855,  by  consent  of  the  city  council. 

The  incorporation  of  the  city  of  Leavenworth  as  a  city  took  place  in 
the  summer  of  1855.  A  special  charter  was  issued  by  the  First  Territorial 
Legislature  which  was  then  in  session  at  the  territorial  capital  at  Shaw- 
nee Mission. 

The  election  of  the  first  city  officers  of  the  city  of  Leavenworth 
occurred  September  3,  1855.  This  election  was  held  pursuant  to  an  act 
passed  by  the  territorial  legislature  of  1855  authorizing  the  holding  of 
an  election  in  the  city  of  Leavenworth  for  the  purpose  of  electing  city 
officers.  J.  H.  Day,  W.  H.  Adams  and  Lewis  N.  Rees,  of  the  city  of 
Leavenworth,  were  the  judges  of  this  election. 

The  first  city  officers  of  the,  city  of  Leavenworth  were  as  follows : 
Mayor,  Thomas  F.  Slocum ;  President  of  Council,  J.  H.  Day ;  Councilmen, 
Fred  Emery,  Thomas  H.  Doyle,  George  W.  Russell,  M.  L.  Truesdell, 
Adam  Fisher,  Dr.  G.  J.  Park  and  William  T.  Marvin.  The  Council,  after 
being  duly  organized,  appointed  the  following  officers  of  the  city:  City 
Clerk,  Scott  J.  Anthony;  City  Assessor,  H.  G.  Weibling;  City  Marshal, 
William  McDowell;  City  Treasurer,  William  H.  Bailey;  City  Attorney, 
John  I.  Moore;  City  Engineer,  E.  L.  Berthoud,  and  Comptroller,  M.  L. 
Truesdell. 

What  is  believed  to  have  been  the  first  death  of  a  settler  of  the 
territory  occurred  December  6,  1854,  a  short  distance  north  of  the  present 
site  of  Fort  Leavenworth,  Kansas,  at  the  old  Platte  City  River  landing 
when  Stephen  A.  Noble  was  drowned  while  crossing  from  Weston,  Mis- 
souri, to  this  side.  Joseph  O'Neil,  who  was  with  him  in  the  boat  at  the 
time  it  capsized,  was  also  drowned. 

The  first  "grist  mill"  owned  and  operated  by  local  settlers  was  not 
built  on  this  side  of  the  river  but  was  built  in  what  is  commonly  known 


164  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

as  "Slabtown,"  a  short  distance  east  of  the  former  site  of  Drydale.  It 
was  owned  and  operated  by  Panton  &  Yohe. 

The  first  hardware  store  to  open  for  business  in  the  city  was  situated 
on  Main  Street  and  was  operated  by  George  Russell. 

The  first  barber  shop  ever  conducted  in  the  city  was  owned  and 
operated  by  Julius  Trummel.  It  was  opened  for  business  during  the 
month  of  February,  1855,  and  was  located  on  Cherokee  Street  near  Water 
Street,  or  Levee. 

Dr.  Charles  Leib  is  believed  to  have  been  the  first  physician  to  estab- 
lish an  office  and  practice  in  the  city  of  Leavenworth.  For  a  time  his 
office  was  located  in  a  tent  that  stood  near  the  "big  elm  tree"  that  stood 
near  Cherokee  and  Water  Street.  Dr.  John  H.  Day  was  also  an  early 
day  physician,  both  he  and  Dr.  Leib  practicing  here  during  the  latter 
part  of  1854. 

The  first  person  to  engage  in  the  carpenter  business  in  the  city  of 
Leavenworth  was  Samuel  M.  Lyon.  He  came  here  and  established  him- 
self as  a  carpenter  in  September,  1854. 

The  first  wholesale  grocery  store  established  in  the  city  was  located 
on  Water  or  Levee  Street  in  October,  1854.  It  was  owned  and  operated 
by  Joseph  J.  Bentz. 

What  is  believed  to  have  been  the  first  drug  store  to  begin  business 
in  Leavenworth  was  that  operated  by  M.  France  &  Co.  This  store  began 
business  here  when  there  was  no  building  in  which  its  products  might 
be  housed  and  for  quite  a  length  of  time  at  first  used  the  office  of  the 
"Herald"  as  a  dispensing  room. 

What  is  believed  to  have  been  the  first  bridge  to*  have  been  con- 
structed in  the  city  of  Leavenworth  was  constructed  across  a  creek  which 
ran  south  crossing  Delaware  between  Seventh  Street  and  Broadway.  It 
was  erected  by  Majors,  Russell  and  Waddell.  It  was  a  temporary  struc- 
ture and  erected  for  the  purpose  of  enabling  this  great  freighting  firm  to 
cross  this  particular  stream  with  their  freighting  wagons.  The  first 
frame  bridge  to  be  erected  in  the  city  was  built  over  Three  Mile  Creek 
on  Main  Street.  The  first  stone  bridge  was  built  over  Three  Mile  Creek 
on  Main  Street. 

James  W.  Skinner  was  the  first  official  steamboat  agent  to  have 
an  office  in  the  city  of  Leavenworth.     This  office  was  opened  in  1855. 

The  first  express  company  to  do  business  was  known  as  Richard- 
son's Missouri  River  Express.  It  operated  between  St.  Joseph,  Missouri, 
and  St.  Louis. 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY  165 

The  first  city  ordinance  to  be  drafted  by  the  Leavenworth  City  Coun- 
cil was  entitled:  "An  Ordinance  Relating  to  Games  of  Skill  and  Chance." 

The  first  meeting-  of  the  regular  council  of  the  city  of  Leavenworth 
was  held  Tuesday,  September  11,  1855,  and  the  meeting  was  held  on  the 
second  floor  of  a  building  located  on  the  south  side  of  Delaware  about 
half  way  between  Second  and  Third  streets. 

The  first  surveyor  general  of  Kansas  Territory  was  Gen.  John  Cal- 
houn. His  first  office  in  Kansas  was  located  in  Leavenworth  City  and 
was  in  an  old  frame  building  on  the  south  side  of  Delaware  Street  about 
midway  between  Second  and  Third  streets. 

What  is  believed  to  have  been  the  first  court  ever  organized  in  the 
territory  of  Kansas  as  well  as  the  county  of  Leavenworth  was  that  pro- 
vided for  by  the  Squatter's  Meeting  which  was  held  at  Rively's  store  in 
Salt  Creek  Valley  June  10,  1854.  Following  this  several  squatter's  meet- 
ings were  held  in  Leavenworth  with  the  result  that  a  committee  appointed 
for  the  purpose  of  arriving  at  some  solution  of  the  question  of  claims 
reported  a  preamble  and  resolutions  which  provided  for  a  court  to  try  all 
matters  of  contested  claims.  The  officers  of  the  court  were  H.  R.  Rees, 
Chief  Justice;  A.  Payne,  Associate  Justice,  from  Stranger  District;  Alex. 
Russell,  Associate  Justice,  from  Salt  Creek  Valley  District;  Miles  Shan- 
non, Marshal;  Green  D.  Todd,  Deputy  Marshal,  and  S.  D.  Pitcher,  Chief 
Clerk  of  the  Court  and  Recorder  of  Claims. 


CHAPTER  VII 


EARLY  DAY  TRANSPORTATION  AND  HIGHWAYS 


STEAMBOATING  ON  THE  MISSOURI— LANDING— EARLY  HIGHWAYS  AND  TRAILS- 
OTHER  ROADS— STAGE  ROUTES— SALT  LAKE  TRAIL— SANTA  FE  TRAIL— OXEN' 
USED— METHOD  OF  TRAVEL. 


Advanced  transportation  and  good  highways  are  indices  of  a  people, 
certain  evidence  of  their  culture,  progressiveness  and  prosperity.  As  are 
these  so  are  the  people.  Good  transportation,  advanced  civilization;  or 
advanced  civilization,  good  transportation;  either  way  one  follows  the 
other  as  certainly  as  night  the  day,  or  the  day  the  night. 

Transportation  has  been,  is,  and  will  be  a  process  of  evolution.  Could 
we  turn  back  the  scroll  of  time  and  witness  the  primitive  methods  of  the 
pioneer,  great  would  be  our  astonishment;  could  we  project  ourselves 
into  the  future  one  hundred  years,  and  observe  the  methods  of  transporta- 
tion then,  doubtless  it  would  be  beyond  anything  then  that  we  today 
comprehend  or  anticipate. 

When  the  first  settlers  of  Leavenworth  County  arrived  at  the  Mis- 
souri River,  the  routes  of  commerce  and  travel  were  largely  the  water 
courses.  For  this  reason  all  early  day  settlements  were  made  on  the 
banks  of  that  river  or  in  close  proximity  thereto.  Steamboats  were  then 
in  use.  Could  we  people  of  today  behold  one  of  the  typical  early  day 
steamboats  it  would  indeed  prove  an  awe-inspiring  sight.  They  had  as  a 
rule  but  one  engine..  They  were  small  and  most  of  them  were  constructed 
along  the  lines  of  a  flat  boat  and  were  stern  wheelers.  The  cabin  was 
a  primitive  affair.  It  was  on  the  lower  deck,  as  a  rule  in  the  back  part 
of  the  boat.  At  first  there  were  no  staterooms.  They  were  arranged 
with  curtains  in  front  of  the  berths.  They  were  very  small  as  a  rule 
and  were  slow.     Weston,  Missouri,  was  a  great  stopping  place  for  early 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  167 

day  boating  in  those  days,  the  river  then  swinging  in  close  to  the  present 
site  of  the  city  and  there  being  a  good  landing  place.  With  the  advent 
of  the  late  '40s  and  early  '50s  steamboating  had  undergone  a  considerable 
change.  The  boats  had  been  improved.  They  were  larger  and  faster. 
Some  were  of  the  side  wheel  variety.  Regular  schedules  were  estab- 
lished. When  the  city  of  Leavenworth  was  founded  a  landing  place  was 
established  immediately  east  of  the  present  site  of  the  Union  Depot.  It 
was  not  an  uncommon  sight  to  see  four  or  five  river  steamboats  anchored 
there  during  the  late  '50s.  It  is  said  that  during  the  year  1856  there 
were  forty-one  steamboats  operating  on  the  Missouri  River  that  made 
regular  stops  at  the  city  of  Leavenworth  and  that  in  all  328  trips  had 
been  made  by  them  during  the  year.  J.  W.  Skinner  was  the  general 
agent  for  the  steamboating  industry  on  the  river  in  those  days  and  had 
his  office  located  for  several  years  in  the  old  "Leavenworth  Hotel"  at  the 
corner  of  Main  and  Delaware  streets. 

The  new  born  city  of  Leavenworth  in  the  middle  and  late  '50s  was 
most  fortunate  in  that  it  had  at  its  disposal  numerous  highways  and  trails 
that  had  been  previously  established.  When  Fort  Leavenworth  was  es- 
tablished in  1827  the  government  immediately  set  out  to  connect  it  with 
prominent  trading  centers  to  the  east  and  west  by  roads  or  trails.  These 
up  to  the  establishment  of  the  city  of  Leavenworth  were  used  principally 
for  military  purposes.  With  the  coming  of  the  pioneer  home  builders 
other  roads  were  quickly  established  such  as  necessity  demanded.  At 
this  time  the  second  largest  city  in  the  territory  of  Kansas  was  Lawrence, 
consequently  a  road  was  opened  through  from  Leavenworth  to  there.  Le- 
compton  was  the  capital  of  the  territory  which  led  to  the  establishment 
of  a  road  leading  there.  Other  roads  led  up  and  down  the  river  to  the 
towns  of  Atchison,  Kickapoo  and  Wyandotte.  A  hack  line  carried  pas- 
sengers three  times  a  week  to  Westport  Landing,  Westport,  Missouri.  It 
was  owned  and  operated  by  Kimball,  Moore  &  Company.  A  tri-weekly 
line  of  hacks  and  stages  operated  between  the  city  of  Lawrence  and  here. 
Mail  stages  were  run  daily  between  heer  and  Weston.  Daily  stages  were 
operated  between  here  and  the  capital  at  Lecompton  and  mail  stages  oper- 
ated between  the  two  latter  named  places  three  times  a  week.  Fred 
Emery  operated  a  line  of  passenger  and  mail  coaches  between  here  and 
Fort  Riley,  using  the  old  Fort  Riley  Road  and  passing  through  Salt  Creek, 
Easton,  Manhattan  and  other  towns  along  the  way.  A  weekly  mail  and 
passenger  stage  service  was  in  operation  between  Leavenworth  and  Atchi- 


168  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

son.  This  service  passed  through  by  way  of  Kickapoo  following  a  branch 
of  the  old  Salt  Lake  Trail  which  led  off  from  the  original  trail  at  the  Salt 
Creek  bridge  to  the  northward  and  again  connected  with  the  main  trail 
northwest  of  the  present  site  of  the  little  city  of  Lowemont. 

One  of  the  most  famous  of  the  great  early  day  trails  had  its  eastern 
terminus  in  the  city  of  Leavenworth.  It  was  known  to  this  county  as 
the  Salt  Lake  Trail.  North  of  Atchison  it  connected  with  the  St.  Joe 
Emigrant  Trail  and  led  on  to  the  northwestward,  being  there  known  as 
the  Oregon  Trail.  Its  route  out  of  the  city  led  to  the  northwestward 
along  what  is  now  known  as  the  Fort  Riley  Road  to  a  point  known  in 
early  days  as  the  "Eight  Mile  House,"  a  famous  early  day  inn  and  tavern 
conducted  and  owned  by  David  Herley,  which  stood  a  short  distance  to 
the  southeast  of  the  present  city  of  Lowemont,  Kansas,  Leavenworth 
County.  Here  it  branched  off,  leading  sharply  to  the  northwest,  while 
the  Fort  Riley  Road  led  slightly  to  the  southwest  toward  the  city  of 
Easton.  It  entered  Atchison  County  about  four  miles  east  of  the  present 
site  of  the  city  of  Potter,  Atchison  County,  Kansas.  Among  the  noted 
and  famous  early  day  stopping  places  along  the  trail  in  Leavenworth 
County  in  those  days  were  the  taverns  and  hotels  operated  by  Merrill 
Smith  in  Salt  Creek  Valley;  Isaac  Cody,  father  of  "Buffalo  Bill,"  in  Salt 
Creek  Valley,  and  H.  P.  Rively  in  Salt  Creek  Valley.  Also  that  famous 
early  day  tavern  and  inn  operated  by  David  Herley  known  as  the  "Eight 
Mile  House."  This  famous  early  day  trail  and  road  was  pressed  into 
constant  use  during  the  middle  '50s  by  the  great  government  Overland 
Freighting  Company,  operated  by  Majors  Russell  and  Waddell,  which  had 
established  its  eastern  terminus  in  the  city  of  Leavenworth. 

The  Great  Santa  Fe  Trail,  the  eastern  terminus  of  which  was  at 
Westport  Landing,  Westport,  Missouri,  was  also  a  famous  and  much 
used  trail  by  the  early  day  emigrants  of  the  city  and  county  of  Leaven- 
worth. The  establishment  of  this  great  highway  across  the  southwestern 
part  of  the  United  States  was  necessitated  through  the  growth  of  trade 
between  the  western  trading  establishments  of  the  American  frontier 
and  the  Spanish  provinces  in  Mexico.  Baptiste  La  Lande  was  the  first 
white  man  to  traverse  the  country  and  deserts  through  which  this  trail 
extended.  In  1804  he  made  the  trip  from  the  western  trading  posts  in 
Missouri  to  Santa  Fe,  carrying  with  him  a  small  amount  of  articles  which 
he  traded  to  the  Spanish  traders  at  the  latter  post.  The  trail  was  prac- 
tically established  in  1812  when  Capt.  Becknell  with  a  party  set  out  from 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY  169 

Franklin,  Missouri,  for  the  purpose  of  trading  with  western  Indian  tribes. 
After  they  had  traded  with  the  various  Indian  tribes  they  proceeded  on 
to  Santa  Fe,  where  they  sold  the  articles  which  they  had  obtained  from 
te  Indians  at  an  enormous  profit.  When  they  returned  to  the  American 
settlements  in  Missouri  with  the  story  of  their  great  success  it  served  to 
stimulate  such  trading  excursions  on  a  larger  and  still  larger  scale.  These 
great  trading  excursions  led  to  the  permanent  establishment  of  the  Santa 
Fe  Trail  and  it  remained  in  constant  use  until  superseded  by  the  Atchison, 
Topeka'  &  Santa  Fe  Railroad.  At  first  these  trading  excursions  met  with 
many  hardships  at  the  hands  of  hostile  Indian  tribes,  who  held  up  and 
plundered  the  moving  parties.  This  led  to  the  sending  out  of  larger  and 
larger  trains.  The  first  wagon  train  that  ever  passed  over  this  great 
trail  made  the  trip  in  1821.  Up  to  this  time  pack  mules  had  been  used 
as  a  means  of  carrying  the  various  goods  and  provisions  carried.  This 
great  highway  deserves  mention  particularly  in  this  history  of  Leaven- 
worth County  because  of  the  fact  that  a  branch  of  the  trail  led  out  of 
this  city  to  the  southwest  and  connected  with  the  main  trail. 

Experience  very  early  demonstrated  that  the  use  of  oxen  was  best 
in  the  handling  of  the  heavy  freight  wagons  over  these  various  trails  and 
roads,  although  mules  came  into  very  popular  use  at  a  later  date. 

When  oxen  were  used,  the  day  was  usually  divided  into  two  drives. 
As  soon  as  early  dawn  approached,  the  first  drive  was  started  and  its 
termination  was  in  a  measure  decided  by  the  most  favorable  camping 
place  where  grass  and  water  were  to  be  found  in  plenty.  About  midday 
the  wagons  were  corralled  and  the  oxen  were  given  food.  In  very  hot 
weather  the  afternoon  drive  was  not  ordered  until  about  three  or  four 
o'clock.  On  such  days  the  drive  often  continued  until  nine  or  ten  o'clock 
in  the  night.  When  the  oxen  were  unyoked  they  were  turned  over  to 
the  night  herder,  who  kept  watch  over  them  as  they  went  about  seeking 
the  best  grass.  As  it  was  only  necessary  for  the  herder  to  keep  track 
of  the  leader  of  the  herd,  one  man  could  easily  watch  over  as  many  as 
three  or  four  hundred  head  of  oxen  at  night.  In  the  herd  on  the  trail 
there  developed,  very  soon  after  the  start,  one  animal  which  all  the  others 
recognized  as  a  leader.  Wherever  the  leader  of  the  herd  went  the  rest 
usually  followed.  The  night  herder  always  kept  track  of  the  leader,  and 
frequently  got  off  his  mule,  drove  a  peg  in  the  ground  to  which  he 
attached  a  long  rope  that  allowed  the  mule  some  grazing  range,  rolled 
himself  up  in  his  blanket  and  went  to  sleep.     Sometimes  when  the  grass 


170  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY 

was  poor  the  leader  would  wander  about  a  great  deal  in  search  of  food, 
the  rest  following  and  it  would  be  necessary  for  the  herder  to  be  on  the 
alert  all  of  the  night.  If  the  grass  was  plentiful  the  herd  would  usually 
obtain  a  sufficient  supply  in  the  course  of  three  or  four  hours  and  would 
then  lie  down  until  morning.  At  the  first  appearance  of  morning  the 
night  herder  would  round  up  the  herd  and  start  them  for  the  corral. 
After  yoking  up  the  oxen  and  eating  their  breakfast  the  train  would  move 
away  slowly  to  repeat  the  operations  above  mentioned  until  they  had 
reached  their  destination. 

After  the  ox   teams  mule   teams   were  pressed   into  service.     The 
method  of  handling  them  was  much  the  same  as  that  of  the  ox  teams. 


CHAPTER  VIII 


FORT  LEAVENWORTH 


sKI.ECTED     BY     COL.     LEAVENWORTH— BOUNDARIES— DESCRIPTION— BUILDINGS — 

WATER  WORKS— SCHOOI CHAPEL  AND  OTHER  BUILDINGS— DURING  WORLD 

WAR — A  BASE  OF  SUPPLIES  DURING  WARS— COMMANDANTS— ARMT  SERVICE 
SCHOOL — DISCIPLINARY  BARRACKS. 

Leavenworth  County  and  City  derive  their  names  from  Fort  Leaven- 
worth. On  March  7,  1827,  Col.  Henry  Leavenworth  of  the  Third  United 
States  Infantry  received  orders  to  take  four  companies  of  his  regiment 
and  ascend  the  Missouri  River.  At  the  time  the  order  was  given  Col. 
Leavenworth  was  on  duty  at  Jefferson  Barracks,  St.  Louis.  A  portion 
of  the  order  in  substance  was  as  follows:  "And  when  he  reaches  a  point 
on  the  left  bank  near  the  mouth  of  the  Little  Platte  River,  and  within  a 
range  of  eighty  miles  above  its  confluence,  he  will  select  such  a  position 
as  in  his  judgment  is  best  calculated  for  the  site  of  a  permanent  canton- 
ment. The  spot  being  chosen,  he  will  construct,  with  the  troops  of  his 
command,  comfortable  though  temporary  quarters  sufficient  for  the  ac- 
commodation of  four  companies." 

He  proceeded  as  instructed,  carefully  explored  the  region  and  finding 
no  desirable  site  on  the  left  bank  of  the  river  wrote  to  the  department, 
stating  that  there  was  a  suitable  location  on  the  right  bank  of  the  river 
within  the  distance  designated  and  that  he  had  concluded  there  was  no 
other  place  that  would  answer  the  purpose.  Early  in  June  before  the 
official  approval  reached  him  Col.  Leavenworth  began  the  erection  of 
barracks  and  named  the  post  Cantonment  Leavenworth.  On  September 
19,  1827,  Major  General  Gains,  commanding  the  Western  Department, 
approved  the  site  selected  by  Col.  Leavenworth,  which  is  the  present  site 
of  Fort  Leavenworth,  and  it  grew  to  be  the  most  important  military  post 


1IZ  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

established  by  the  government  in  the  West.  The  name  was  changed  to 
Fort  Leavenworth  February  8,  1832,  as  all  army  posts  after  this  date 
were  designated  as  forts. 

The  boundaries  of  the  fort  were  given  as  follows  in  the  office  of  the 
adjutant  general: 

"It  extends  from  six  to  seven  miles  along  the  Missouri  Kiver  and 
varies  from  one  to  two  miles  wide,  containing  about  6,840  acres,  on  the 
right  bank  of  the  river." 

The  land  was  claimed  by  the  Delaware  Indians.  Later  on  some  939 
acres  of  land  were  added  to  the  reservation  on  the  Missouri  side  of  the 
river.  There  still  exists  the  old  stone  wall  with  its  port  holes  erected 
for  a  defense  against  the  Indians.  Extensive  improvements  have  been 
made  at  Fort  Leavenworth  and  on  the  reservation.  A  paved  road  con- 
nects the  city  of  Leavenworth  with  the  fort  as  also  does  an  electric 
railway. 

The  fort  is  a  magnificent  natural  park.  To  the  east  lies  the  Missouri 
River  and  to  the  west  lies  a  long  ridge  of  wooded  hills.  The  grounds  are 
dotted  here  and  there  with  fine  shade  trees.  To  the  southwest  of  the 
new  barracks  are  golf  links  and  drilling  grounds.  North  of  the  new 
barracks  and  south  of  the  old  barracks  are  the  west  end  parade  grounds 
used  for  drilling  purposes  and  athletic  events.  The  National  Cemetery 
lies  at  the  foot  of  the  hills  on  the  west.  It  is  a  beautiful  place  covered 
with  blue  grass  and  shade  trees.  Here  many  illustrious  dead  lie.  The 
graves  are  orderly  arranged  and  many  have  monuments  ■  showing  who 
are  buried  there.  The  body  of  Gen.  Henry  Leavenworth  was  removed 
from  Delhi,  New  York,  to  the  cemetery  on  Memorial  Day,  1902.  A  road 
leads  northwest  toward  Kickapoo  at  the  western  terminus  of  which  is 
found  a  hog  ranch,  cattle  barns  and  chicken  houses  OAvned  and  operated 
by  the  government.  A  fine  herd  of  purebred  cattle  is  kept  by  the 
government. 

Besides  the  west  end  parade  grounds  there  is  a  tract  east  of  head- 
quarters and  south  of  the  disciplinary  barracks  used  for  drill  purposes. 
The  fort  is  laid  off  in  the  same  manner  as  a  city.  Along  the  streets  are 
located  officers'  residences.  They  are.  fine  structures  generally  built  for 
two  apartments  so  that  two  officers  and  their  families  can  occupy  the 
same  building.  There  is  a  large  hospital  facing  the  west  end  parade 
grounds  on  the  east.  The  old  barracks  are  on  the  north  and  the  one  to 
the  south,  consisting  of  a  double  row  all  built  of  brick.     Just  northwest 


-HISTORY   OF   LE    VENWORTH    COUNTY  173 

of  the  electric  depot  is  a  magnificent  Y.  M.  C.  A.  Building,  the  gift  of 
Helen  Gould.     Standing  far  out  on  the  golf  links  is  a  radio  station. 

The  first  water  works  consisted  of  a  six  mule  team  and  wagon  driven 
to  the  edge  of  the  river  and  there  barrels  were  filled  and  distributed  to 
the  fort.  In  1865  a  pumping  station  was  erected  on  the  bank  of  the  river 
about  a  quarter  of  a  mile  north  of  the  bridge.  Water  was  pumped  from 
there  to  a  large  tank  situated  on  Scott  Avenue  south  of  Pope  Hall  holding 
21,000  gallons.  From  this  water  was  hauled  to  the  various  places  in 
wagons.  Cisterns  and  wells  were  also  used.  In  1883  mains  were  laid 
from  Leavenworth  City  and  Ft.  Leavenworth  Water  Co.  and  since  then 
the  water  supply  has  been  obtained  from  this  source. 

Metropolitan  Avenue  is  100  feet  wide  along  the  entire  length  of  the 
southern  boundary  of  the  reservation.  Grant  Avenue,  commonly  known 
as  the  Fort  Road  connects  the  fort  with  Leavenworth  City  at  Seventh 
Street  and  Metropolitan  Avenue.  It  formerly  connected  at  Fifth  and  Met- 
ropolitan Avenue.  Sheridan's  Drive  is  along  the  summit  of  the  bluffs 
forming  the  western  boundary  of  the  post  and  is  used  exclusively  for 
pleasure.    It  was  named  after  General  Sheridan. 

Prior  to  1901  the  educational  facilities  of  the  post  were  limited.  By 
an  act  of  the  Kansas  State  Legislature  all  of  the  military  reservation  was 
organized  into  a  school  district  and  called  District  No.  81.  The  Board  of 
County  Comissioners  compose  the  school  board  and  it  is  under  the  juris- 
dction  of  the  County  Superintendent  of  Leavenworth  County.  The  revenue 
derived  for  defraying  the  expenses  of  the  school  is  obtained  by  taxes  on 
the  corporations  in  the  district.  The  burden  falls  principally  upon  the 
railroads  and  the  Leavenworth  Water  Company.  The  valuation  of  all  the 
taxable  property  is  about  $500,000.  Tax  on  this  amount  together  with 
the  State  School  Fund  furnishes  ample  funds  to  carry  on  the  school. 
There  are  five  teachers  including  the  principal.  There  is  a  well  equipped 
school  building  erected  by  the  government  just  east  of  Pope  Hall  on  the 
incline  overlooking  the  Missouri  River. 

In  1838  Congress  enacted  a  law  authorizing  the  appointment  of  chap- 
lains in  the  United  States  Army  and  provided  that  they  serve  as  school 
teachers.  The  Rev.  Henry  Gregory  was  appointed  chaplain  at  Fort  Leaven- 
worth and  he  established  what  is  known  as  the  first  school  for  white 
children  on  Kansas  soil. 

St.  Ignatius  Chapel,  a  Catholic  Church  edifice,  was  erected  in  the 
fall  of  1889.     The  Post  Chapel  was  erected  in  1878.     The  Y.  M.  C.  A. 


174  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY 

building  was  built  and  completed  in  1907.  It  is  a  most  beautiful  structure 
without  and  handsomely  furnished  within.  Helen  Gould  furnished  the 
money  to  erect  the  building  and  was  present  at  the  dedication.  Pope  Hall 
was  dedicated  in  the  fall  of  1894  and  named  in  honor  of  Capt.  James  W. 
Pope.  It  is  an  amusement  hall  used  for  entertainments.  Union  Hall  was 
constructed  in  1871.  It  was  built  for  a  Catholic  Church.  The  Post  Hospi- 
tal is  a  magnificent  structure  costing  about  $120,000.  The  Post  Steam 
Laundry  was  opened  for  business  in  September,  1905.  The  Mess  Hall 
was  established  in  March,  1877.     The  postoffice  was  erected  in  1828. 

In  1917-1918  during  the  World  War  new  temporary  cantonments  were 
erected  along  the  Fort  Road  leading  to  the  post  proper.  Many  troops 
were  quartered  here  and  at  the  regular  barracks.  Most  of  the  temporary 
buildings  are  still  used  for  troops.  There  are  at  present  960  soldiers  at 
the  post. 

Fort  Leavenworth  has  been  a  base  of  supplies  and  rendezvous  for 
troops  and  expeditions  from  the  time  of  its  establishment.  Gen.  Kearney's 
expedition  to  Santa  Fe  in  1845  started  from  here.  So  also  were  the  expe- 
ditions of  Gen.  Joseph  Lane  to  Oregon  in  1848;  Capt.  Stansbury  to  Utah 
in  1849 ;  Col.  Fremont  in  1849.  All  through  the  Civil  War,  the  Spanish- 
American  War  and  the  World  War  troops  were  assembled,  sent  out  and 
returned  to  be  mustered  out  at  Fort  Leavenworth.  It  was  the  seat  of 
government  for  the  Territory  of  Kansas  in  1854,  being  the  only  place  in 
the  territory  having  buildings  convenient  for  government  purposes. 

Commandants  of  Fort  Leavenworth. 

1827-1829,  Col.  Henry  Leavenworth 3d  Infantry 

1829,  Capt.  Bennett  Riley. 6th  Infantry 

1830,  Major  William  Davenport. 6th  Infantry 

1832,  Capt.  Bennett  Riley. 6th  Infantry 

1833,  Capt.  Wm.  N.  Wickliff 6th  Infantry 

1834,  Capt.  Bennett   Riley.    6th  Infantry 

1834-1836,  Col.  Henry  Dodge.   1st  Dragoons 

1836-1841,  Col.  Stephen  W.  Kearney. 1st  Dragoons 

1842,  Lieut.  Col.  R.  B.  Mason. 1st  Dragoons 

1843,  Col.  Stephen  W.  Kearney.  1st  Dragoons 

1844-1845,  Maj.   Clifton  Wharton.    1st  Dragoons 

1846-1847,  Lieut.  Col.  Clifton  Wharton.  1st  Dragoons 

1848,  Capt.  W.  S.  Ketchum. 6th  Infantry 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  175 

1848,  May  2,  Lieut.  Col.  E.  V.  Sumner. 1st  Dragoons 

1850,  June  30,  Capt.  Chas.  S.  Lovell. 6th  Infantry 

1850,  Aug.  20,  Lieut.  Col.  Joseph  Plymton. 1st  Dragoons 

1850,  Sept.  6,  Maj.  Benj.  L.  Beale. 1st  Dragoons 

1850,  Oct.  8,  Lieut.  Col.  E.  V.  Sumner. 1st  Dragoons 

1851,  March  12,  Maj.  B.  L.  Beale. 1st  Dragoons 

1853,  March  29,  Col.  T.  T.  Fauntleroy.  1st  Dragoons 

1854,  Capt.  F.  E.  Hunt. 4th  Artillery 

(McCown  Hunt,  of  421  Chestnut  Street,  is  his  son.) 

1855,  Lieut.  Col.  Phil.  St.  George  Cooke. 2nd  Cavalry 

1856,  Col.  E.  V.  Sumner.   1st  Dragoons 

1856,  July  12.  Capt.  Thomas  J.  Wood. 1st  Cavalry 

1856,  July  28,  Lieut.  Col.  Joseph  E.  Johnston. 1st  Cavalry 

1856,  Aug.  21,  Capt.  S.  D.  Sturgis. 1st  Cavalry 

1856,  Sept.  21,  Capt.  Thomas  Hendrickson. 6th  Infantry 

1856,  Oct.  13,  Col.  E.  V.  Sumner. 

1857,  Oct.  12,  Gen.  W.  S.  Harney. 

1857,  Oct.  27,  Col.  Francis  S.  Belton. 

1858,  Jan.  31,  Gen.  W.  S.  Harney. 

1858,  May  15,  Maj.  Thomas  W.  Sherman. 3rd  Artillery 

1858,  May  16,  Lieut.  Col.  John  Munroe. 4th  Artillery 

1859,  June  15,  Col.  T.  Dimmick. 

1859,  Nov.  14,  Capt.  Horace  Brooks. 2nd  Artillery 

1859,  Dec.  19,  Lieut.  Col.  John  Blankhead  Magruder 2nd  Artillery 

1860,  Sept.  3,  Capt.  W.  F.  Barry 2nd  Artillery 

1860,  Oct.  2,  Capt.  Horace  Brooks. 2nd  Artillery 

I860,  Oct.  27,  Col.  John  Blankhead  Magruder. 

1860,  Oct.   31,   Capt.   Horace   Brooks.    2nd  Artillery 

1861,  Feb.  3,  Capt.  William  Steel. 2nd  Dragoons 

April  30,  Dixon  S.  Mills. 2nd  Infantry 

May  23,  Capt.  Alfred  Sully 2nd  Infantry 

May  31,  Maj.  Delos  B.  Sackett. 1st  Cavalry 

June  12,  Maj.  S.  D.  Sturgis.   1st  Cavalry 

June  21,  Maj.  William  E.  Prince. 3rd  Infantry 

1862,  June  11,  Lieut.  Col.  J.  T.  Burris 8th  Kansas  Cavalry 

1863,  Dec.  24,  Col.  C.  R.  Jennison. 15th  Kansas  Cavalry 

1864,  July  7,  Col.  J.  A.  Goodwin. 138th  111.  Vol.  Infantry 

Sept.  27,  Lieut.  Col.  W.  R.  Davis. 16th  Kansas  Cavalry 


176  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

1865,  April  27,  Lieut.  Col.  Heinrichs. 16th  Kansas  Cavalry 

June  27,  Col.  A.  P.  Carahar 2nd  U.  S.  Vol.  Cavalry 

Sept.  14,  Lieut.  Col.  Rufus  E.  Fleming 6th.  W.  Va.  Cavalry 

Sept.  23,  Maj.  Win.  Clinton. 13th  Infantry 

Nov.  20,  Col.  Isaac  V.  D.  Reeve. 13th  Infantry 

1866-1867,  Col.  Wm.  Hoffman.   3rd  Infantry 

1868,  April  9,  Maj.  Alfred  Gibbs. 1 7th  Cavalry 

Sept.  10,  Maj.  Henry  S.  Huntington. 

Oct.  7,  Capt.  H.  C.  Hasbrouck. 4th  Artillery 

J 869,  March  26,  Capt.  W.  M.  Graham.  4th  Artillery 

April  22,  Capt.  Simon  Snyder.  5th  Infantry 

June  13,  Lieut.  Col.  W.  H.  Lidell. 10th  Infantry 

Oct.  22  to  April  2,  1871,  Col.  S.  D.  Sturgis. 7th  Cavalry 

1871,  April  2,   Capt.   Dangerfield  Parker.   3rd  Infantry 

April  7,  to  July  12,  1876,  Col.  Nelson  A.  Miles 5th  Infantry 

1876,  July  22,  Capt.  W.  Lyman.  5th  Infantry 

July  22,  Capt.  A.  C.  Wildrick. 2nd  Cavalry 

Dec.  20,  to  Feb.  5>  1878,  Col.  Jefferson  C.  Davis 23rd  Infantry 

1878,  Feb.  5,  Lieut.  Col.  R.  I.  Dodge. 23rd  Infantry 

May  19,  Col.  Jefferson  C.  Davis. 23rd  Infantry 

Jan.  27,  Capt.  George  W.  Randall. _" 23rd  Infantry 

Feb.  20,  Col.  C.  H.  Smith. 19th  Infantry 

1881,  to  June,  1885,  Col.  E.  S.  Otis. 20th  Infantry 

1885-1886,  Col.  Thomas  H.  Rusrer. 18th  Infantry 

1886,  to  June,  1890,  Col.  A.  McDowell  McCook. 6th  Infantry 

1890,  to  Sept.,  1894,  Col.  E.  F.  Townsend. 12th  Infantry 

1894,  to  April,  1898,  Col.  H.  S.  Hawkins. 20th  Infantry 

1898,  Maj.  J.   A.   Augur.   4th  Cavalry 

1899,  Maj.  J.  J.  O'Connell.  1st  Infantry 

1900,  Lieut.  Col.  J.  M.  Lee.   6th  Infantry 

1902,  Col.  Charles  W.  Miner.    6th  Infantry 

1903,  Brig.  Gen.  J.  Franklin  Bell. 

1904,  Col.  J.  W.  Duncan.  6th  Infantry 

1905,  Col.  Charles  B.  Hall.  18th  Infantry 

1906,  Lieut.  Col.  Wm.  Paulding. 18th  Infantry 

1907,  Col.  R.  H.  R.  Loughbourough. 13th  Infantry 

1907,  Col.  Thomas  F.  Davis. 18th  Infantry 

1909,    Jan.  1  to  Aug.  23,  Col.  R.  H.  R.  Loughbourough. 

Aug.  24  to  Oct.  11,  Lieut.  Col.  Nichols. 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  177 

1909,  Oct.  11  to  Dec.  31,  1910  to  March  8,  1911,  Col.  R.  H.  R.  Loughbour- 

ough. 
1911,  March  9  to  April  20,  Capt.  James  R.  Lindsey. 

April  1  to  July  8,  Maj.  M.  J.  Lenihan. 

July  9  to  Sept.  30,  Col.  Loughborough. 

1911,  Oct.  1  to  Dec.  81,  Jan.  15,  1912,  Maj.  M.  J.  Lenihan. 

1912,  Jan.  16  to  Feb.  23,  1913,  Col.  Daniel  Cornman. 

1913,  Feb.  24  to  Oct.  6,  Capt.  Johnston. 
Oct.  7  to  Nov.  8,  Capt.  Martin. 
Nov.  9  to  Dec.  10,  Capt.  P.  Mawry. 
Dec.  11  to  Dec.  22,  Capt.  J.  F.  Barnes. 

1913,  Dec.  22  to  April  28,  1914,  Capt.  C.  C.  Smith. 

1914,  April  29  to  Aug.  21,  Lieut.  W.  P.  Burnham. 
1914,  Aug.  22  to  March  29,  1916,  Colonel  Roberts. 

1916,  March  30  to  June  23,  Capt.  H.  E.  Comstock,  Q.  M.  C. 

1916,  June  24  to  May  26,  1917,  Capt.  A.  B.  Warfield. 

1917,  May  27  to  June  4,  Capt.  Emerson  Eng. 
1917,  June  5  to  June  22,  Lieut.  Col.  M.  L.  Walker. 
1917,  June  23  to  June  4,  1919,  Col.  Wm.  A.  Shunk. 
1919,  June  5  to  July  31,  Col.  Charles  Gerhardt. 

1919,  Aug.  1  to  Aug.  27,  1920,  Maj.  Gen.  C.  H.  Muin. 

1920,  Aug.  28  to  Sept.  1,  Brig.  Gen.  H.  E.  Ely. 
1920,  Sept.  2  to  Sept.  4,  Col.  F.  L.  Munson 
1920,  Sept.  5  to  Sept.  20,  Col.  L.  R.  Holbrook. 

1920,  Sept.  20  to  present  time,  Brig.  Gen.  H.  A.  Drum. 

The  Army  Service  School. — The  Army  Service  School  was  organized 
in  1881.  It  is  a  large  stone  building  consisting  of  four  halls,  namely: 
Grant,  Sherman,  Sheridan  and  Wagner.  It  is  located  near  the  river  bank 
north  and  west  of  the  bridge.  Wagner  Hall  is  the  library  over  which  Col. 
Ezra  B.  Fuller  has  charge.  The  other  three  halls  are  devoted  to  offices, 
recitation  rooms  and  other  purposes  connected  with  the  school.  A  large 
clock  is  located  in  the  tower  over  Grant  Hall.  Among  the  subjects  taught 
are:  Military  Organization,  Field  Engineering,  Tactics,  Solution  of  Prob- 
lems, Combat  Orders,  Discussion  of  Problems,  Map  Manuevers,  Strategy, 
Military  History,  Care  of  Troops,  Care  of  Animals,  Military  Intelligence, 
Leadership,  Laws  of  War,  Methods  of  Training. 

The  first  class  was  graduated  in  1883  and  consisted  of  thirty-five 
members.    The  class  of  1916  consisted  of  thirty-two  members.    The  Army 

(8) 


178  HISTORY   OP  LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY 

Staff  College  is  located  in  the  Service  School  as  is  also  the  Army  Signal 
School.  Theses  bring  to  the  post  every  year  a  large  number  of  army 
officers  for  training  and  as  instructors.  The  following  is  a  list  of  the  Com- 
mandants of  the  school: 

Otis,  E.  S.,  Col.,  20th  Infantry Nov.,  1881  to  June,  1885 

Ruger,  T.  H.,  Col.,  18th  Infantry June,  1885  to  May,  1886 

McCook,  A.  McD.,  Col.,  6th  Infantry May,  1886  to  Aug.,  1890 

Townsend,  E.  F.,  Col.,  12th  Infantry Aug.,  1890  to  Oct.,  1894 

Hawkins,  H.  S.,  Col.,  20th  Infantry Oct.,  1894  to  Apral,  1898 

Miner,  C.  W.,  Col.,  6th  Infantry Sept.,   1902  to  June,  1903 

Bell,  J.  F.,  Brig.  Gen.,  U.  S.  Army July,  1903  to  June,  1906 

Hall,  C.  B.,  Brig.  Gen.,  U.  S.  Army Aug.,  1906  to  April,  1908 

Morrison,  J.  F.,  Maj.,  20th  Infantry April,  1908  to  Aug.,  1908 

Funston,  Fred,  Brig.  Gen.,  U.  S.  Army Aug.,  1908  to  Jan.,  1911 

Potts,  R.  D.,  Brig.  Gen.,  U.  S.  Army Jan.,  1911  to  Feb.,  1913 

Burnham,  W.  P.,  Lieut.  Col,  Infantry Feb.,  1913  to  Aug.,  1914 

Greene,  H.  A.,  Brig.  Gen.,  U.  S.  Army Sept.,  1914  to  Aug.,  1916 

Swift,  Eden,  Brig.  Gen.  U.  S.  Army Aug.,  1916  to  ,  1917 

Shunk,  Wm.  A.,  Col ,  1917  to ,  1919 

Muir,  C.  H.,  Maj.  Gen July  1,  1919  to  Sept.  1,  1920 

Drum,  H.  A.,  Brig.  Gen Sept.  1,  1920  to  date 

United  States  Disciplinary  Barracks. — The  United  State  Disciplinary 
Barracks  is  a  post  separate  and  distinct  from  Fort  Leavenworth  and  is 
managed  by  a  Commandant,  an  officer  of  the  United  States  Army.  It  was 
formerly  called  the  Military  Prison.  The  first  buildings  were  erected 
in  1874-1875.  The  walls,  which  inclose  about  seven  acres  of  ground,  are 
from  fifteen  feet  to  thirty  feet  high,  five  and  one-half  feet  thick  at  the 
base  and  two  and  one-half  feet  at  the  top.  There  are  confined  within  the 
walls  1,559  prisoners  and  110  on  parole.  Those  who  are  convicted  of 
violating  the  military  law  and  all  who  have  been  convicted  of  charges  not 
greater  than  a  felony  by  the  laws  of  the  Federal  Government  are  confined 
at  this  prison.  The  prison  was  discontinued  in  1895  and  continued  again 
in  1906,  during  which  time  the  Federal  Penitentiary  was  located  here. 
In  1906  the  Federal  Penitentiary  was  moved  to  its  present  location  as 
is  shown  elsewhere.  The  farm  is  operated  by  the  prisoners  as  is  also 
the  hog  ranch,  dairy,  chicken  ranch,  brick  plant  and  many  and  various 
trades  inside  the  prison.  It  was  here  that  many  conscientious  objectors, 
slackers  and  alien  enemies  were  confined  during  the  World  War.     Trades 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY  179 

and  occupations  of  all  kinds  are  taught  the  prisoners.  There  is  a  dry 
cleaning  plant,  dye  house,  harness  shop,  shoe  shop,  tailor  shop,  laundry, 
salvage  department,  building  department,  farm,  rock  quarries,  saw  mill, 
brick  plant,  machine  and  blacksmith  shop,  carpenter  and  paint  shop,  broom 
shop,  plumbing  shop,  electric  shop,  tin  shop,  road  construction,  ice  plant. 
In  these  various  departments  the  men  are  employed.  On  being  restored 
prisoners  are  allowed  to  re-enlist  in  the  Army.  Any  valuables  he  may 
have  had  are  returned  to  him  at  his  discharge  together  with  a  small 
amount  of  money  and  transportation  to  his  former  home.  About  all  the 
building  work  around  the  prison  is  done  by  the  prisoners  with  the  aid  of 
overseers.  While  under  strict  discipline  they  receive  manly  and  consider- 
ate treatment.  They  are  drilled  in  the  manual  of  arms  and  calisthenics. 
Any  Friday  they  may  be  seen  drilling  on  the  parade  grounds.  It  has  been 
said  that  they  are  the  best  drilled  men  outside  of  West  Point. 

The  Prisoners  Conference  Committee  was  in  effect  in  1919.  This 
committee  incited  the  prison  body  to  make  extraordinary  demands  on  the 
Commandant  on  July  22,  1919.    Among  them  were  the  following: 

1.  A  general  amnesty  for  all  military  prisoners  and  that  a  telegram 
be  sent  to  President  Wilson  demanding  same. 

2.  Better  mess,  that  the  prisoners  take  over  the  mess. 

3.  Better  living  conditions,  more  time  for  mess  and  two  issues  of 
tobacco  per  week. 

There  was  a  general  mutiny  following.  The  committee  was  abolished 
and  the  prisoners  locked  in  their  cell  wings  on  bread  and  water  diet.  The 
prisoners  set  fire  to  the  Barracks  Exchange  and  about  all  the  buildings 
were  destroyed.  The  fire  started  at  night  and  there  was  ample  oppor- 
tunity for  the  prisoners  to  escape  but  when  morning  came  not  one  was 
missing. 

The  following  have  been  Commandants  of  the  Prison  or  Disciplinary 
Barracks : 

Gen.  Thomas  Francis  Barr,  U.  S.  Army 1871 

(Known  as  the  father  of  the  U.  S.  Military  Prison.) 

Major  James  M.  Robertson  (first  Commandant) 1875  to  1877 

Major  Asa  Peabody  Blunt June,  1877  to  Dec.  1,  1887 

Col.  James  Worden  Pope Jan.  1,  1888  to  June  30,  1895 

Lieut.  Col.  George  S.  Young Feb.  1,  1906  to  June,  1908 

Major  Thomas  H.  Slavens June,  1908  to  Jan.  12,  1914 

Col.  H.  J.  Slocum Jan.  13,  1914  to  Aug.  31,  1914 


180  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

Frank  A.  Barton,  Cavalry Sept.  1,  1914  to  Dec.  19,  1914 

Col.  Sedgwick  Rice Dec.  20,  1914  to  Aug.  26,  1919 

Brig.  Gen.  J.  H.  McRae Aug.  26,  1909  to  Sept.  4,  1920 

Col.  Malvern-Hill  Barum Sept.  4,  1920  to  present  time 


CHAPTER  IX 


ORGANIZATION  OF  COUNTY. 


TERRITORIAL    ACT    OF     1855— BOUNDARIES     DEFINED— TOWNSHIPS    ORGANIZED- 
COURT  HOUSE— COUNTY  OFFICERS. 

The  First  Territorial  Legislature  of  1855  formed  Leavenworth  County. 
Under  Section  27  of  the  Territorial  Act  the  boundaries  were  as  follows: 
Beginning  at  a  point  on  the  southern  boundary  of  Atchison  County  due 
north  of  a  point  four  miles  west  of  Dawson's  crossing  of  the  Fort  Riley 
road,  on  Stranger  Creek ;  thence  due  south  to  the  main  channel  of  Kansas 
River;  thence  down  said  channel  to  where  said  channel  crosses  the  chan- 
nel of  the  Missouri  River ;  thence  up  said  channel  of  the  Missouri,  to  the 
southeast  corner  of  Atchison  County ;  thence  along  the  southern  boundary 
to  the  place  of  beginning. 

The  boundaries  as  then  defined  included  the  present  county  of  Wyan- 
dotte. January  29,  1859  the  Territorial  Legislature  Wyandotte  County 
was  detached  and  formed  into  a  separate  county,  leaving  Leavenworth 
County  essentially  as  it  now  exists. 

The  General  Statutes  of  Kansas  for  1915  defines  the  boundaries  as 
follows :  Beginning  at  the  southeast  corner  of  Atchison  County ;  thence 
west  with  the  south  boundary  of  Atchison  County,  to  the  corner  of  sec- 
tions twenty-one,  twenty-two,  twenty-seven  and  twenty-eight,  of  township 
seven  south,  of  range  twenty  east;  thence  south  with  the  section  lines 
between  the  third  and  fourth  tiers  of  sections,  to  the  middle  of  the  main 
channel  of  the  Kansas  River;  thence  down  said  Kansas  River,  in  the 
middle  of  the  main  channel  thereof,  to  the  intersection  with  range  line 
between  ranges  twenty-two  and  twenty-three  east;  thence  north  on  said 
range  line  to  the  old  Delaware  reserve  line,  the  same  being  the  dividing 
line  between  the  original  Delaware  reservation  and  Delaware  trust  lands; 


182  HISTORY   OF   LFAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

thence  east  with  said  reserve  line,  to  the  western  boundary  line  of  the 
state  of  Missouri;  thence  northerly  with  said  boundary  line  of  the  state 
of  Missouri,  to  the  place  of  beginning. 

It  is  bounded  on  the  north  by  Atchison  County;  east  by  Missouri 
River  and  Wyandotte  County;  south  by  Wyandotte  County  and  the 
Kansas  River;  and  west  by  Jefferson  County  and  Douglas  County. 

The  Board  of  Supervisors  of  Leavenworth  County  met  February  10, 
1859,  at  10  o'clock  a.  in.  and  adopted  the  following  resolution: 

Resolved,  By  the  Board  that  from  and  after  the  28th  day  of  Febru- 
ary A.  D.  1859,  the  County  of  Leavenworth  be  and  is  hereby  set  off  and 
organized  as  follows: 

Easton  Township. — "All  of  Fractional  Township  number  seven  south 
range  number  twenty  east  and  the  west  half  of  fractional  township  num- 
ber seven  south  range  number  twenty-one  east,  and  so  much  of  township 
number  eight  south  range  number  twenty  east,  and  of  the  west  half  of 
township  number  eight  south  range  number  twenty-one  east,  as  lies  north 
of  the  section  lines  dividing  sections  27  and  34,  26  and  35,  and  25  and  36 
in  T.  8,  R.  20  and  sections  30  and  31,  29  and  32,  and  28  and  33,  in  T.  8, 
R.  21,  to  constitute  the  township  of  Easton." 

Kickapoo  Township. — "The  east  half  of  fractional  township  number 
seven  south,  range  number  twenty-one  east,  and  fractional  township  num- 
ber seven  south  of  range  number  twenty-two  and  twenty-three  east,  also 
so  much  of  the  east  half  of  township  number  eight  south,  range  number 
twenty-one  east,  as  lies  north  of  the  section  lines  dividing  sections  27  and 
34,  26  and  35,  25  and  36  and  of  fractional  township  number  eight  south, 
range  number  twenty-two  east  as  lies  north  of  the  section  line  dividing 
sections  30  and  31,  29  and  32,  and  28  and  33  to  constitute  the  township 
of  Kickapoo." 

Leavenworth  Township. — "All  of  fractional  townships  number  eight 
and  nine  south  of  range  number  twenty-two  and  twenty-three  east  em- 
braced within  the  corporation  of  Leavenworth  City  and  the  Leavenworth 
Military  Reserve,  to  constitute  the  township  of  Leavenworth." 

Delaware  Township. — "So  much  of  the  east  half  of  township  num- 
ber nine  and  ten  south  of  range  number  twenty-two  east  and  fractional 
townships  number  nine  and  ten  south  of  range  number  twenty-three  east 
as  lie  south  of  Leavenworth  City  and  north  of  the  Delaware  Reserve  line, 
to  constitute  the  township  of  Delaware." 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  183 

Stranger  Township. — "Sections  34  and  35,  and  36  of  township  number 
eight  south,  range  number  twenty-one  and  sections  numbers  31,  32  and 
33  of  township  number  eight  south,  range  number  twenty-two  east  and 
the  east  half  of  township  number  nine  south,  range  number  twenty-one 
and  the  west  half  of  township  number  nine  south,  range  number  twenty- 
two  east,  and  so  much  of  east  half  of  township  number  ten  south,  range 
number  twenty-one  east  and  of  the  west  half  of  township  number  ten 
south,  number  twenty-two  east  as  lies  north  of  the  Delaware  Reserve  and 
all  of  the  Delaware  Reserve  lying  east  of  Stranger  Creek  and  west  of  the 
range  line  dividing  ranges  number  22  and  23  to  constitute  the  township 
of  Stranger." 

Alexandria  Township. — "Sections  34,  35  and  36  of  townships  num- 
ber eight  south,  range  number  twenty-one  east  and  the  east  half  of 
township  number  nine  south  of  range  number  twenty  east,  and  the  west 
half  of  township  number  nine  south,  range  number  twenty-one  east,  frac- 
tional sections  1,  2,  and  3  of  township  number  ten  south,  range  number 
twenty,  and  fractional  sections  4,  5  and  6  of  township  number  ten  south, 
range  number  twenty-one  east,  and  so  much  of  the  Delaware  Reserve  as 
lies  within  the  county  south  of  the  Reserve  line  and  west  of  Stranger 
Creek  to  constitute  the  township  of  Alexandria." 

Tonganoxie  Township. — Tonganoxie  Township  was  organized  on 
April  1,  1867,  with  the  following  boundaries:  Commencing  at  the  north- 
east corner  of  section  number  nine  (9),  township  ten  (10),  range  twenty- 
one  (21),  and  running  thence  due  west  along  the  section  lines  dividing 
sections  4  and  9,  5  and  8,  6  and  7,  range  21,  and  sections  1  and  12,  2  and  11, 
and  3  and  10,  range  20,  to  the  county  line  of  Jefferson  County;  thence 
southward  along  the  line  between  the  said  county  of  Jefferson  and  the 
county  of  Leavenworth  to  the  southern  boundary  of  the  county  of  Leaven- 
worth on  the  Kansas  River;  thence  eastwardly  along  the  southern  boun- 
dary of  Leavenworth  County  To  the  present  line  between  the  townships 
of  Alexandria  and  Stranger,  both  of  the  county  of  Leavenworth;  thence 
northwardly  along  the  said  line  between  Alexandria  and  Stranger  town- 
ships to  the  place  of  beginning." 

Fairmount  Township. — Fairmount  Township  was  organized  on  July  1, 
1867,  with  the  following  boundaries:  Commencing  at  the  northwest  cor- 
ner of  section  ten,  township  ten,  range  twenty-two,  and  running  thence 
south  following  section  lines  about  five  miles;  thence  west  to  the  north- 
west corner  of  section  three,  township  eleven,  range  twenty-two;  thence 


184  HISTORY   OP   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

south  following  section  lines  about  ten  miles  to  the  banks  of  the  Kansas 
River;  thence  eastwardly  following  the  banks  of  said  Kansas  River  about 
three  miles  and  a  half  to  a  point  where  said  river  intersects  the  line 
dividing  ranges  twenty-two  and  twenty-three;  thence  north  following  said 
range  about  nine  and  a  fourth  miles,  to  the  northwest  corner  of  section 
six,  township  eleven,  range  twenty-three;  thence  east  to  the  southwest 
corner  of  section  thirty-one,  township  ten,  range  twenty-three;  thence 
north  following  section  lines  about  five  miles  to  the  northeast  corner  of 
section  twelve,  township  ten,  range  twenty-two ;  thence  west  following 
section  lines  about  three  miles  to  the  place  of  beginning. 

High  Prairie  Township. — High  Prairie  Township  was  organized  on 
September  16,  1867,  as  follows:  All  that  part  of  Stranger  Township  lying 
north  of. the  section  lines  dividing  sections  4  and  9,  5  and  8,  6  and  7,  in 
township  ten,  ranges  twenty-one  and  twenty-two  and  sections  1  and  12, 
2  and  11,  and  3  and  10,  in  township  ten,  range  twenty-one  was  declared 
to  be  a  new  and  distinct  township  known  as  High  Prairie  Township. 

Reno  Township. — Reno  Township  was  organized  on  January  4,  1869, 
with  boundaries  as  follows :  To  be  taken  from  the  territory  of  Tonganoxie 
Township  to  be  bounded  as  follows:  Beginning  at  the  southwest  corner 
of  section  twenty-two,  township,  eleven,  range  twenty,  and  running  east  on 
the  section  line  bet-ween  sections  22  and  27,  23  and  26,  24  and  25,  19  and 
30,  20  and  29,  21  and  28,  thence  south  commencing  at  the  northeast  cor- 
ner of  section  28  and  running  on  the  section  line  between  sections  28  and 
■27,  33  and  34,  4  and  3,  9  and  10,  16  and  15,  21  and  22  to  the  Kansas  River; 
thence  by  said  river  to  the  east  boundary  line  of  Douglas  County ;  thence 
north  by  the  dividing  line  between  Douglas  and  Jefferson  and  Leaven- 
worth counties  to  the  place  of  beginning. 

Sherman  Township. — Sherman  Township  was  organized  on  January 
4,  1869,  with  boundaries  as  follows:  To  be  taken  from  the  territories  of 
Stranger  and  Fairmount  Townships  as  follows:  Commencing  at  the 
northwest  corner  of  section  thirty-four,  township  eleven,  and  range  twen- 
ty-one, thence  east  on  the  section  lines  between  sections  27  and  34,  26 
and  35,  25  and  36,  30  and  31.  29  and  32,  28  and  33,  27  and  34,  26  and  35, 
25  and  36,  to  the  west  boundary  line  of  Wyandotte  County;  thence  south 
by  the  boundary  line  between  Wyandotte  and  Leavenworth  County  to  the 
Kansas  River;  thence  west  by  the  Kansas  River  to  the  southeast  corner 
of  Reno  Township;  thence  north  by  the  east  boundary  line  of  Reno  town- 
ship to  the  place  of  beginning. 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  185 

Later  on  a  strip  one  section  wide  was  taken  from  Stranger  Township 
and  added  to  Fairmount  Township,  making  the  townships  of  Fairmount 
and  Stranger  conform  to  the  present  boundaries.  With  this  change  the 
various  townships  attained  the  boundaries  which  they  have  at  the  pres- 
ent time. 

Court  House. — After  the  removal  of  the  county  seat  from  Kickapoo 
to  Leavenworth  the  county  offices  were  located  at  the  northwest  corner 
of  Third  and  Delaware  streets  where  they  remained  during  some  time 
and  then  removed  to  the  City  Hall  at  the  northeast  comer  of  Fifth  and 
Shawnee  streets,  remaining  there  for  many  years.  April  22,  1858,  Jere- 
miah Clark  offered  the  county  part  of  the  present  site  of  the  court  house, 
under  the  following  proposal : 

"To  the  Board  of  Supervisors  for  the  County  of  Leavenworth  K.  T. 
Gentlemen:  I  have  the  honor  to  submit  the  following  proposition  for 
your  consideration.  I  hereby  propose  to  donate  to  the  County  of  Leaven- 
worth, in  perpetuity,  the  following  described  tract  of  land,  viz.:  The 
East  half  of  Block  Thirteen  (13)  known  as  Court  Square  lying  300  feet 
on  Third  street  by  180  feet  on  Central  avenue,  and  Walnut  street,  exclu- 
sively for  the  purpose  of  being  occupied,  as  the  site  for  Court  House, 
public  offices  and  such  buildings  as  the  county  may  require. 
Respectfully  Your  Obt.  Servant, 

JEREMIAH  CLARK." 

On  May  18,  1858,  the  board  accepted  the  proposition  of  Jeremiah 
Clark  in  the  following  resolution: 

"Resolved  by  the  Board,  That  the  proposition  of  Jeremiah  Clark, 
Esq.,  be  and  is  hereby  accepted,  and  that  the  County  Attorney  be  requested 
to  draw  up  a  title  deed  to  the  land  named  in  said  proposition." 

On  June  9,  1858,  John  G.  Haskell  was  appointed  architect  of  the  court 
house  and  that  the  building  when  complete  to  be  of  the  dimensions  of 
about  100  by  200  feet  in  three  wings,  surmounted  by  a  dome  or  tower 
and  to  cost  about  $100,000,  the  middle  wing  about  60  by  100  to  be  built  at 
once  with  accommodations  for  jail  in  the  basement  at  a  cost  of  about 
$35,000. 

On  Monday,  October  8,  1860,  deed  was  received  from  Jeremiah  Clark 
and  Florinda  Clark,  his  wife,  for  the  east  half  of  block  thirteen  (13)  300 
feet  front  on  Third  street  by  180  feet  deep  in  Clark  &  Reese  Addition, 
Leavenworth  City,  County  and  Territory  of  Kansas.     The  deed  was  ac- 


186  HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

cepted,  approved  and  filed  in  the  Recorder's  Office.  The  other  half  of  the 
said  block  was  purchased  for  $9,200  from  John  Halderman  and  deed  ac- 
cepted June  21,  1869. 

Although  bonds  were  voted  for  the  court  house  in  June,  1858,  it  was 
not  till  February,  1873,  that  the  structure  was  completed.  It  was  built 
of  red  brick,  with  stone  trimmings,  and  consisted  of  three  stories  and  a 
basement.  It  had  a  lofty  tower  in  which  was  situated  a  fine  clock  giving 
forth  the  time  to  many  passers  by.  It  was  one  of  the  most  attractive 
court  house  buildings  in  the  West.  It  would  not  be  far  wrong  to  value 
the  court  house  property  at  $200,000.00,  including  the  building  proper, 
clock,  fixtures,  furniture  and  the  site.  Its  situation  commands  one  of  the 
grandest  views  to  the  city  of  Leavenworth,  the  Missouri  River  to  the 
east  and  the  surrounding  country.  It  was  occupied  by  the  county  offices 
in  1873  and  continued  to  be  used  as  such  till  March,  1911. 

On  the  morning  of  March  22,  1911,  the  court  house  burned.  It  was 
reduced  to  ruins  except  the  walls  which  remained  standing.  On  these 
walls  was  afterwards  built  the  present  structure.  Owing  to  the  strong 
vaults  very  few  of  the  records  were  destroyed.  There  was  $81,000  insur- 
ance on  the  court  house  and  $2,000  on  the  furniture. 

Steps  were  immediately  taken  by  the  County  Board  for  rebuilding 
the  court  house.  On  June  24th,  John  G,  Barnes  was  awarded  the  con- 
tract for  removing  the  debris  from  the  ruins  of  the  old  building  at  the 
price  of  $1,668  less  $168  for  the  old  material. 

On  July  31st  W.  P.  Feth  was  appointed  architect  for  the  new  Leav- 
enworth County  Court  House.  He  was  instructed  to  immediately  pre- 
pare plans  for  the  building. 

Architect  W.  P.  Feth  made  his  report  on  plans  which  was  in  sub- 
stance as  follows: 

The  building  on  the  exterior  to  be  faced  with  stone,  porticoes  on  four 
sides,  windows  to  be  increased  in  size,  and  the  exterior  design  to  be  as 
shown  by  the  sketch.  Interior,  the  rooms  to  be  changed  as  shown  on 
sketch  with  enlarged  vaults,  the  building  made  fire-proof  throughout, 
terrazzo  floor  in  corridor  and  concrete  floors  in  offices,  wood  doors  and  trim, 
steam  heat,  plumbing  and  electric  wiring.  The  building  as  described  will 
cost  approximately  $96,000. 

The  contract  for  the  erection  of  the  present  court  house  was  awarded 
to  J.  B.  Betts  of  Topeka,  Kansas,  for  the  sum  of  $100,189.  September 
14,  1912,  contract  for  hardware  for  the  court  house  was  awarded  to  A.  J. 
Atwater  Hardware  Company  for  $697.00. 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY  187 

January  13,  1912,  the  county  board  awarded  the  contract  for  furni- 
ture to  the  Wollaiger  Manufacturing  Company  for  $10,500  which  included 
marble  fronts  for  recorder's  office,  county  clerk,  county  treasurer,  sheriff 
and  clerk  of  the  district  court,  also  battleship  linoleum  for  all  counter  tops 
and  desks. 

It  is  noted  that  the  board  ordered  changes  made  in  the  original  con- 
tract with  Mr.  Betts  and  they  are  as  follows,  being  made  on  December 
7,  1912: 

Concrete  columns  changed  to  Pheniz  cut  stone  with  a  difference  in 
price  of  $6,608. 

Where  concrete  floors  are  specified  change  to  terrazo  with  added  cost 
of  $3,000. 

Extra  window  in  office  of  clerk  of  district  court  with  added  price 
of  $40.00. 

Extra  marble  treds  and  rises  in  toilet  rooms  price  additional,  $169.00. 

Change  in  steel  beams  north  and  south  porticos  additional  price  of 
$205.00. 

Extra  vault  doors  in  treasurer's  and  clerk's  office  added  cost  of  $25.00. 
This  made  a  total  additional  cost  of  the  building  over  the  original  con- 
tract of  $10,047. 

The  total  cost  of  the  court  house,  additional  grounds,  etc.,  was  as 
follows : 

J.  B.  Betts,  contract  for  erection $110,915.75 

Tholen  Bros.,  heating  and  plumbing 10,022.30 

Tholen  Bros.,  electric  light  and  fixtures 1,800.00 

C.  L.  Lord,  electric  wiring  and  phone  conduit 1,666.15 

Wollaeger  Mnfg.  Co.,  furniture 10,516.10 

J.  G.  Barnes,  removing  debris 1,668.00 

Inspecting  old  walls,  McGonigle  and  others 150.00 

F.  E."  Hinds,  clerk  of  works 1,285.00 

McCune,  for  grading  grounds 272.42 

W.  P.  Feth,  architect  fees 4,756.82 

G.  A.  R.  Hall,  grounds 1,897.00 

Duffy  property  and  car  barn 1,900.00 

Total $146,849,54 


188  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

County  Boards. — The  following  are  the  various  members  of  the  county 
boards  and  the  dates  of  their  entrance  into  office: 

Board  of  County  Commissioners — John  A.  Halderman,  September  7, 
1855,  resigned  May  1,  1857;  J.  M.  Hall,  September  7,  1855,  died  in  office 
May  31,  1857;  Matthew  R.  Walker,  September  7,  1855,  resigned  May  13, 
1857;  William  Franklin,  May  13,  1857;  George  W.  Perkins,  May  18,  1857; 
Josiah  Elliott,  December  3,  1857 ;  Charles  Starns,  December  21,  1857. 

Board  of  Supervisors — Samuel  F.  Few,  April  2,  1858;  George  Rupell, 
April  2.  1858;  John  W.  Penoyer,  April  2,  1858;  George  Dickinson.  April 
2,  1858;  John  Freeland,  August  9,  1858;  E.  F.  Stafford,  August  9,  1858; 
(in  place  of  Penoyer)  Sampson  Miller,  September  2,  1858;  (in  place  of 
Few),  Alfred  Gray,  December  8,  1858. 

On  April  2,  1859.  the  Board  of  Comity  Supervisors  was  reorganized 
and  was  composed  of  the  following  members:  John  Freeland,  Kickapoo 
Township;  R.  C.  Foster,  Delaware  Township;  Thomas  A.  Gwartney,  Eas- 
ton  Township;  George  Dickinson,  Alexandria  Township;  Henry  B.  Kel- 
ler, Stranger  Township;  H.  B.  Denman,  Leavenworth  City,  Mayor;  Elijah 
Hughe?,  Leavenworth  City,  Councilman;  I.  W.  Morris,  Leavenworth  City, 
Councilman;  John  C.  Tarr,  Leavenworth  City,  Councilman. 

On  March  30,  1860,  the  County  Board  of  Supervisors  ceased  to  exist 
and  adjourned  sine  die. 

Board  of  County  Commissioners — Edward  Stevenson,  Chairman, 
April  2,  1860;  Marion  Todd,  April  2,  1860;  John  M.  Gallagher,  April  2, 
1860;  Frederick  Wellhouse,  Chairman,  January,  1862;  Roger  F.  Kelly, 
January.  1862;  Alexander  Harlow,  January,  1862;  E.  W.  Baird,  January, 
1864;  Thomas  Kincaid,  January,  1864;  C.  N.  Palmer,  January,  1864;  Will- 
iam T.  Marion,  January,  1866;  William  Dunlap,  January,  1866;  C.  N. 
Palmer,  January,  1866;  John  Hannon,  January,  1868;  George  B.  Hines, 
January,  1868;  J.  P.  Curran,  January,  1868;  A.  J.  McMannas,  January, 
1868;  John  W.  Broaddus,  January,  1868;  R.  H.  Davis,  January,  1868;  B.  B. 
Moore,  January,  1868;  William  Crowder,  January,  1868;  John  C.  Gist. 
January,  1868 ;  W.  P.  Burney,  January,  1868 ;  R.  C.  Foster,  January,  1868 ; 
Benjamin  Harrod,  January,  1868;  John  Hannon,  January,  1870,  First 
Ward;  G.  B.  Hines,  January,  1870,  Second  Ward;  Cyrus  Hicks.  January, 
1870,  Third  Ward ;  P.  J.  McMamius,  January,  1870,  Fourth  Ward ;  Charles 
H.  Chapin,  January,  1870,  Alexandria  Township;  J.  F.  Miller,  January. 
1870,  Delaware  Township;  J.  Thomburg.  January,  1870,  Easton  Town- 
ship; O.  S.  Hiatt  January,  1870,  Fairmount  Township;  J.  T.  McWirt,  Janu- 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  189 

ary,  1870,  High  Prairie  Township;  Charles  Spencer,  January,  1870,  Kick- 
apoo  Township;  A.  A.  Harrison,  January,  1870,  Stranger  Township;  John 
Jewett,  January,  1870,  Sherman  Township;  J.  W.  Murphy,  January,  1870, 
Tonganoxie  Township;  J.  E.  Eaton,  January,  1870,  Reno  Township;  W.  S. 
Plummer,  January,  1872 ;  John  Wilson,  January,  1872 ;  Enos  Hook,  Janu- 
ary, 1872;  Gottlieb  Geiger,  January,  1872;  C  .W.  Spencer,  January,  1872; 
O.  S.  Hiatt,  January,  1872;  A.  C.  Williams,  January,  1872;  John  Hannon, 
January,  1874,  Nineteenth  District;  John  Wilson,  January,  1874,  Twenti- 
eth District;  Enos  Hook,  January,  1874,  Twenty-first  District;  J.  McCor- 
mick,  January,  1874,  Twenty-second  District;  W.  F.  Ashby,  January, 
1874,  Twenty-third  District;  J.  G.  Mclntyre,  January,  1874,  Twenty- 
fourth  District;  James  Pickens,  January,  1874,  Twenty-fifth  District; 
B.  S.  Richards,  January,  1876;  E.  W.  Lucas,  January,  1876;  John  Van 
Winkle,  January,  1876  (commissioners  at  large)  ;  H.  C.  Squires,  January, 
1878,  District  No.  1 ;  B.  S.  Richards,  January,  1878,  District  No.  2 ;  James 
Pickens,  January,  1878,  District  No.  3;  B.  S.  Richards,  re-elected  Novem- 
ber 4,  1879,  from  Second  District ;  H.  W.  Rice,  elected  November  2,  1880, 
from  Third  District;  H.  C.  Squires,  re-elected  November  8.  1881,  from 
First  District;  L.  Michael,  elected  November  7,  1882,  from  Second  Dis- 
trict; J.  M.  Phinicie,  elected  November  6,  1883,  from  Third  District,  in 
office  till  first  Monday  in  January,  1899 ;  H.  C.  Squires,  re-elected  Novem- 
ber 4,  1884,  from  First  District;  John  Hannon,  elected  November  3,  1885, 
from  Second  District,  in  office  till  January,  1895 ;  J.  M.  Phinicie,  re-elected 
November  2,  1886,  from  Third  District;  H.  C.  Squires,  re-elected  Novem- 
ber 8,  1887,  from  First  District,  in  office  till  first  Monday  in  January,  1891 ; 
John  Hannon,  re-elected  November  6,  1888,  from  Second  District;  J.  M. 
Phinicie,  re-elected  November  5,  1889,  from  Third  District;  R.  C.  Mullins, 
elected  November  4,  1890,  from  First  District,  in  office  till  second  Monday 
in  January,  1903;  John  Hannon,  re-elected  November  3,  1891,  from  Sec- 
ond District;  Jacob  Rodenhaus,  elected  November  6,  1894,  from  Second 
District;  Frank  O'Donnell,  elected  November  2,  1897,  from  Second  Dis- 
trict; Joseph  Bleakley,  elected  November  8,  1898,  from  Third  District,  re- 
signed 1910,  and  Moses  Harvey  appointed  to  fill  vacancy  till  first  Monday 
in  January,  1911 ;  Stephen  Naeher,  elected  November  6,  1920,  from  Second 
District,  in  office  till  first  Monday  in  January,  1905 ;  M.  C.  Kennedy,  elected 
November  4,  1902,  from  First  District,  in  office  till  first  Monday  in  Janu- 
ary, 1911 ;  Harold  C.  Short,  elected  November  8,  1904,  from  First  District, 
in  office  till  first  Monday  in  January,  1913 ;  John  Bollin,  elected  November 


190 


HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY 


8,  1910,  from  First  District,  in  office  till  first  Monday  in  January,  1915; 
S.  H.  Ward,  elected  November  8,  1910,  from  Third  District;  Robert  E. 
Davis,  elected  November  5,  1912,  from  Second  District;  George  Roe, 
elected  November  3,  1914,  from  First  District,  present  incumbent;  Har- 
old C.  Short,  elected  November,  1916,  from  Second  District,  present  incum- 
bent ;  Ernest  Eberth,  elected  November,  1916,  present  incumbent. 

County  Clerks — James  M.  Lyle,  September  7,  1855;  D.  J.  Johnson, 
June  25,  1857 ;  H.  B.  C.  Harris,  October  19,  1857 ;  William  Perry,  January 
5,  1858;  H.  C.  Fields,  April  2,  1858;  James  H.  Churchill,  January  18,  1860; 
August  Gates,  January  1,  1862;  S.  J.  Darrah,  second  Monday  in  January, 
1866;  Oliver  Diefendorf,  second  Monday  in  January,  1868;  A.  B.  Keller, 
second  Monday  in  January,  1872;  Oliver  Diefendorf,  second  Monday  in 
January,  1874;  Oliver  Diefendorf,  second  Monday  in  January,  1876;  J.  W. 
Niehaus,  second  Monday  in  January,  1878,  to  second  Monday  in  January, 
1911 ;  Jesse  A.  Hall,  second  Monday  in  January,  1911,  to  second  Monday  in 
January,  1915;  Joseph  E.  Voorhees,  second  Monday  in  January,  1915, 
(present  incumbent). 


Probate  Judge. 

John  A.  Halderman 1856-1861 

George  W.  Perkins 1861-1862 

David  J.  Brewer 1862-1864 

Peter  McFarland 1864-1866 

James  Ketner 1866-1868 

S.  B.  Williams 1868-1870 

Richard  R.  Rees 1870-1876 

Newton  Mann 1876-1878 

Oliver  Diefendorf 1878-1880 

Newton  Mann 1880-1882 

Laurens  Hawn 1882-1904 

Thomas  Johnson 1904-1916 

Win.  P.  Wettig 1916- 

present  time 

Clerk  District  Court. 

James  A.  Burton 1858-1860 

William  Shepperd 1860-1862 

John  E.  Blaine 1862-1864 

Edward  Carroll 1864-1866 

Henry  Carney 1866-1868 


H.  J.  Dennis 1868-1870 

Julius  Haug 1870-1874 

H.  J.  Dennis 1874-1876 

McCown  Hunt 1876-1882 

John  Rohr 1882-1886 

C.  W.  Curtan 1886-1890 

J.  W.  Brandon 1890-1892 

H.  E.  Abry ____1892-1896 

James  Gray 1896-1900 

Frank  J.  Ryan 1900-1906 

R.  G.  McFarland 1906-1910 

C.  C.  Smith 1910-1914 

Grace  Fisher 1914- 

present  time 


Horace  Dunlap 1861-1866 

Thomas  Stewart 1866- 

VlcCown  Hunt 1910-1912 

W.  H.  Courtney 1912-1914 

(Abolished  in  1914) 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 


191 


Coroner. 

Richard  R.  Rees 1856-1864 

Joseph  F.  Smith 1857-1861 

Luke  P.  Stiles 1861-1864 

S.  B.  Williams 1861-1864 

L.  P.  Stiles 1864-1867 

A.  C.  VanDuyne 1867-1869 

S.  B.  Williams 1869-1873 

A.  Brown 1873-1875 


John  McKee 1875-1876 

J.  C.  Lynch 1876-1877 

E.  F.  Quinn 1877-1890 

J.  L.  Hamilton 1890-1891 

J.  F.  McGill 1891-1893 

H.  W.  Koohler 1893-1898 

C.  C.  Smith 1898-1902 

James  C.  Davis 1902-1910 

H.  T.  Madison 1910-1916 


Register  of  Deeds 

1861 
V.  S.  Van  Doren 

H.  C.  Keller 
John  Wolkiewicz 

County  Supt. 
David   J.   Bruner 

1858 

Geo.  E.  Rudington 
James  Taylor 

1860 
James  S.  McGill 

J.  G.  Reaser 
W.  W.  Bloss 
3.  L.  Baldridge 
3.  L.  Baldridge 

H.  D.  McCarty 

Surveyor 

1855 
John  P.  Thompson 

1857 
Bennett  Burnam 

1858 
Powell  Clayton 
John  J.   Bailey 
John  M.  McCarthy 

1861 
vVilliam  H.  Godwin 

John   McCarthy 

D.  Toohey 

E.  I.  Farnsworth 

County  Attorney 

James  McCahon 

1861 

Thomas  P.  Fenlen 

1862 

1864 
H.  W.  Ide 
1865 

1866 

Thomas  P.  Fenlen 

1867 

1868    ' 
David  J.  Brewer 

Treasurer 

1855 
M.  P.  Rively 

1857 
Daniel  Tibbets 

William  Tholen 

H.  L.  Pennock 

E.  McCrillus 
E.  McCrillus 

Sheriff 

1855 
Green  D.  Todd 

1856 
3.  W.  Tunnell 

1857 
Wm.   H.   Elliott 

W.  H.  Golden 

Alexander  Repine 

John  McKee 
Peter  McFarland 

Register  of  Deeds 

C.  C.  Mast 
C.  C.  Mast 
J.  Rohr 

John  Rohr 

Wm.  Crowder 

C.  W.  Curtain 

County  Supt. 

J.  P.  Bauserman 

* 

J.  P.  Bauserman 
W.  H.  Bradshaw 
A.  R.  Van  Earn  an 
A.  R.  Van  Eman 
R.  B.  Soper 

Surveyor 
S.  P.  McCrary 

D.  S.  Morrill 


E.  Diefendorf 

E.   Burwell 
D.  N.  Barnes 

County  Attorney 
1869 

1870 

F.  P.  Fitzwilliams 

1871 

1872 
L.  M.  Goddard 
1873 

1874 
L.  M.  Goddard 
1875 

1876 
J.  W.  Taylor 
1877 

1878 
T.  W.  Taylor 
1879 

1880 
Wm.  Dill 

1881 

Treasurer 
A.  Repine 

Geo.  S.  Smith 

Geo.  S.  Smith 
E.  McCrillus 
E.  Hook 

Wm.  Sheppard 

Enos  Hook 

Enos  Hook 

Sheriff 

Peter  McFarland 
Thomas  Leonard 
Thomas   Leonard 

W.  H.  Bond 

W.  H.  Bond 

P.  G.  Lowe 

P.  G.  Lowe 

John  W.  Prest 

03 

3 

-6 

O 

QJ 

3 

CO 

CJ 

J 

Q 

a 

0> 

-3 

■— 

^ 

bp 

j3 

'3 

o 

V 

oo 

bf 

o 

- 

3 

0 

pq 

pq 

a 

<v 

o 

•-5 

d 

d 

M 

6 

'S 

3d 

C 

00 

0) 

3 

M 

0) 

(3 

3 

0 

c£ 

4= 

o 

1 
GO 

>, 

S3 

3 

be 

o 

55 

■a 

41 

ft 

00 

1 

1 

o 

0> 

S3 

c 

ft 

O 

o 

od 
S 

j 

< 

'V 

i-a 

"3 
O 

l2 

! 

w 

CD 

o 

X 

£ 

— 

— 

CO 

1? 

> 
m 

o 

3 
a) 

3 

03 

"E 

ea 
pi 

0) 

— 

3 

CO 

CD 
f 

u 

3 

pq 

<5 

> 

§ 

>-s 

W 

W 

fe 

T3 

H 

w 

W 

•-5 

ffi 

d 

I 

s 
5 

! 

"S 

-p 

B 

43 

3 

(M 

? 

u* 

:o 

■<# 

^ 

kQ 

«© 

T3 

1 

t- 

00 

T3 

O 

| 

<3> 

j 

o 

o 

! 

< 

i-t     i 

<M 

1 

M 

■* 

1 

3 

< 
>. 

00 
00 

£ 

00 
00 

00 

00 

00 
00 

00 
00 

00 

00 

00 

00 

00 

C5         ' 
00 

en 

00 

K 

0". 
00 

00 

o 

w 

w 

« 

1 

W 

3 

3 

Pw" 

O 

43 

03 

,_; 

^ 

1 

•-i 

DO 

d 

4= 
go 

I 

s 

C3 

>> 

*H 

3 

>, 

>, 

43 

4= 

2 

3 
DO 
03 

1 

-2 

eg 

>. 

3 

1) 

5> 

a 
GO 

s. 

go 

be 

s 

3 

bo 

,c 

PQ 
Ha 

4* 

S 

ec 

43 
P, 
0) 
«3 

c 

h 

o> 

b( 

ta 

S-i 
CO 

43 

S 

ea 

0 

E 

S 

43 

3 

0' 

E 

43 

DC 

— 

3 

>. 
flj 
u 

3 

2 
O 

E 

•£ 

'> 

3 
es 

> 

ffi 

3 

ID 

43 

Q 

hJ 

J 

c 

d 

■"» 

GO 

T2 

CD 

« 

R 

c 

3 

o 

bo 

o 

1 

s 

CO 

JO 

00 

.2 

0) 

s 

so 
cu 

O 

§ 

CO 

'C 

'C 

'C 

'u 

'£ 

i 

SM 

"S 

"S 

«w 

&3 

9= 

8H 

63 

o 

GO 

O 

o 

<! 

"a; 

p 

0) 

1-5 

>-3 

CD 

>-s 

ffi 

0) 

« 

w 

1-5 

73 

X 

ffi 

ffi 

ffi 

w 

H 

« 

t-s 

»-s 

§ 

03 

o 

g 

73 

a 

>» 

03 

cu 

a 

£ 

T3 

T3 

TD 

00 

3 

3 

Si 

I 

! 

g 

s 

c 

S 

00 

>> 

CU 
CO 

'3 
M 

cu 

cu 

CD 
CD 

S 
3 

,g 

n 

W 

M 

3 

3 

cu 
M 

"a! 
M 

CO 

o 

5 

o 

5 

« 

e4 

« 

N 

§ 

CO 

CO 

a> 

s 

03 

-C 

* 

CS 

§ 

g 

§ 

,_; 

,_; 

a 

63 

a 

00 

03 
1 

1 

DO 

00 

3 

o 

co 
.3 

GO 

c 

00 

p. 

s 

"3 

"3 

O 

B 

> 

E 

3 

3 

1 

T3 
3 

cu 

3 

cu 

1 

1 

CD 

I 

g 

fc 

Ph 

CM 

CM 

CM 

Cm 

3 

CO 

3 

CO 

<i 

«i 

s 

d 

a 

d 

<i 

H 

H 

"efl 

a 

W 

K 

td 

ffi 

W 

td 

i-s 

►-s 

1 

>, 

i 

01 

>> 

tH 

\a     '  to 

! 

t»     '  oo 

15        1    O 

-3 

03 

CM    *§    «tf 

<o 

9S 

o 

o: 

a? 

"3 

CD 

1 

o»       os 

3 

OS             OS 

rs           o 

r3 

O     g    O 

os    s  os 

o 

o 

00           OC 

oo     |  oc 

o        os 

*a  os 

-a  o; 

T3    O! 

~-  5 

& 

tH         (    rH 

1 

"*     i  ^ 

§ 

tH£'h 

s  tH 
o 

3  "-1 
o 

O 

CO    iH 

H 

c 

CO 

CO 

CO 

00 

cu 

s 

TT 

o 

ffi 

ffi* 

w 

ffi 

cu 

cu 

CD 

cu 

>. 

o 

cu 

cu 

CU 

CD 

1 

h-a 

1 

i-^ 

ad 

l-rJ 

J 

J 

hJ 

uO 

H-5 

u 

B 

GO 

03 
0) 

5? 

1 

CD 

3 

o 
O 

>> 
3 
S 

3 
O 

O 

6 

CS 

>> 
'3 

8 

3 
cu 

a 

CO 

Q 

CD 

c 

CD 

a 

-CO 

O 

'3 
H 

0) 

s 

K 

ffi 

s 

s 

> 

> 

cu 

cu 
M 

s 

> 

h5 

£ 

fe: 

o 

o 

td 

bd 

Q 

p 

td 

1 

>> 

>» 

1 

CD 

"o 

1 

1 

2 

2 

5^ 

ft! 

'C 

co 

J3 

a> 
>> 
<x> 

5? 

i 
g 

1 

a 

03 

3 

1 

3 

6 

o 

CD 

CO 

CO 

hJ 

J 

t* 

h 

o 

o 

w 

ffi 

Z 

-2 

PS 

-2 

3 
03 

S 

F 

s 

s 

JP 

"S 

o 

o 

o 

O 

^ 

i-s 

Cm 

Cm 

CO 

CO 

H 

H 

H 

Fh 

go 

"3 

| 

T3 

1 

VH 

C« 

eS 

O 

| 

| 

tt 

O 

5 

3 

M 

ffi 

s 

"3 

0) 

H 

H 

a 

M 

S 

S 

^ 

■<-> 

QQ 

I 

2 

,3 

-C 

J 

>> 

u 

3 

g 

t 

§ 

o 

o 

o 
o 

3 

o 

> 

> 

> 

O 

-E3 

J3 

X 

a 

& 

Pi 

H 

H 

a 

§ 

a 

"^ 

u 

2 

'o 

1 

S| 

r 

> 

o 

3 

-O 

K5 

< 

>. 

m 

h 

o 

S3 
& 

1 

O 

< 

i«3 

oo 

ffi 

os  " 

« 

^    OS 

>. 

^  H 

H 

H  rt 

£ 

c 

T3 

T3 

o 

>> 

>> 

O 

_© 

O 

3 

U-, 

E 

Q 

u 

1l 

3 

■1 

~s 

'53 

§ 

s 
o 

> 

>> 

B 

M 

j 

J 

>» 

0J 

s 

«s 

E 

c 

c 

c 

3 

o 

o 

0J 

o 

J2 

9 

to 

3 

03 

3 

03 

HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  197 

Judges  of  the  District  Court.— Mw.  C.  McDowell,  1861-1865 ;  David  J. 
Brewer,  1865-1869;  H.  W.  Ide,  1869-1877;  Robert  Crozier,  1877-1893;  L. 
A.  Myers,  1893-1900 ;  J.  H.  Gillpatrick,  1900  to  Oct.,  1909,  resigned ;  Wil- 
liam Dill,  appointed  Oct.,  1909,  to  Dec.  24,  1910 ;  J.  H.  Wendorff,  1910  to 
present  time. 

Judge  of  Criminal  Court.— B.  Gray,  1868. 

District  Railroad  Assessor.— James  Medill,  1871 ;  H.  S.  Bickford,  1873. 

State  Senators.— 1862— John  Wilson,  C.  B.  Pierce,  F.  P.  Fitzwilliams. 

1866— H.  C.  Haas,  Peter  McFarland,  A.  C.  Foster. 

1868 — John  McKee,  Wm.  Larimer,  Martin  Smith. 

1870— W.  S.  VanDoren,  H.  C.  Hass,  Joseph  Kellogg. 

1871 — C.  R.  Jennison  (to  fill  vacancy). 

1872— Thomas  Moonlight,  J.  T.  McWhirt,  Jacob  Winters. 

1874 — John  A.  Halderman,  T.  L.  Johnson,  J.  P.  Bauserman. 

1876— J.  H.  Gillpatrick,  R.  D.  Evans. 

1880— H.  M.  Aller,  T.  G.  V.  Boling. 

1884— P.  G.  Lowe,  W.  C.  Butts. 

1888— Edward  Carroll. 

1892— Lucien  Baker. 

1895— J.  W.  Hirst  (to  fill  vacancy)  Baker  elected  to  U.  S.  Senate. 

1896— W.  A.  Harris. 

1900— Louis  H.  Wulfekuhler. 

1904— Vinton  Stillings. 

*  1908— Vinton  Stillings. 

1912— Vinton  Stillings. 

1916-1920— Charles  E.  Snyder  (present  incumbent). 

State  Representatives. — 1861 — Thomas  Carney,  James  A.  McGonigle, 
M.  S.  Adams,  John  McCarthy,  Charles  Starns,  Erastus  McCrillus,  Thomas 
O.  Gwartney,  Charles  H.  Grover,  James  Medill. 

1862 — Josiah  Kellogg,  Abraham  Brown,  Horace  W.  Ide,  W.  A.  Lattin, 
R.  C.  Foster,  James  Medill,  D.  F.  Walker,  Thomas  O.  Gwartney,  Charles 
Grover. 

1866— John  Hannon,  M.  Przybylowicz,  H.  Allen,  John  Dugan,  J.  T. 
Knight,  L  Kennedy,  John  Faulkner,  S.  D.  Lecompte,  J.  Turner. 

1867— Wm.  P.  Gamble,  H.  Miles  Moore,  C.  R.  Jennison,  Matthew 
Ryan,  Wm.  H.  Hastings,  James  Cooley,  Seth  Hollingsworth,  J.  L.  Wallace, 
Thomas  S.  Towne. 

1868— P.  H.  Liernow,  J.  Kellogg,  M.  S.  Adams,  R.  C.  Flora,  T.  Mc- 
intosh, James  Larimer,  N.  Humber,  Joseph  Palmer,  R.  E.  Palmer. 


198  HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY 

1869.  Ryan  Sherry,  Joseph  Kellogg,  J.  A.  Halderman,  Dan  Shire, 
Charles  H.  Grover,  W.  F.  Ashby,  S.  B.  Stewart,  J.  K.  Faulkner,  James 
Larimer. 

1870— Thomas  J.  Darling,  D.  D.  Calley,  James  F.  Legate,  Thomas  P. 
Fenlon,  A.  C.  Williams,  Levi  Churchill,  Wm.  F.  Ashby,  Joseph  Howell, 
J.  J.  Crook. 

1871— L.  M.  Goddard,  N.  Marchand,  S.  N.  Latta,  Thomas  P.  Fenlon, 
James  Cooley,  B.  C.  Barker,  C.  J.  Halstead. 

1872— W.  S.  Plummer,  Thomas  Morgan,  Josiah  Kellogg,  W.  H.  Bond, 
Josiah  Turner,  H.  C.  Fields,  Thos.  Dillard. 

1873— D.  R.  Anthony,  J.  W.  Taylor,  S.  N.  Latta,  Thos.  P.  Fenlon,  W. 
Tucker,  James  Medill,  C.  W.  Lawrence. 

1874— H.  D.  Mackey,  J.  C.  Vaughn,  J.  F.  Legate,  F  P.  Fitzwilliams, 
H.  C.  Squires,  M.  R.  Mitchell,  Crawford  Moore. 

1875— E.  Stillings,  J.  W.  Taylor,  A.  F.  Fenn,  J.  C.  Stone,  W.  T.  Mar- 
vin, Jas.  Howell,  C.  C.  Duncan. 

1876— E.  Stillings,  Jas.  Clark,  J.  Kellogg,  L.  B.  Wheat,  C.  D.  Oliphant, 
A.  Huddleston,  Joel  Willis. 

1878— Geo.  T.  Berens,  Thos.  P.  Gable,  J.  F  Legate,  Chas.  H.  Miller, 
Wm.  R.  Henderson,  Frank  M.  Gable,  J.  A.  Blackman. 

1880— Oscar  Haberlin,  P.  Geraughty,  Jas.  F.  Legate.  John  Schott,  W. 
T.  Marvin,  M.  C.  Harris,  John  Divelbess. 

1882— Edward  Carroll,  H.  T.  Green,  Geo.  W.  Greever,  J.  K.  Faulkner. 

1884— Edward  Carroll,  George  T.  Anthony.  Wm.  F.  Ashby,  E.  J. 
Holman. 

1886— Edward  Carroll,  T.  A.  Hurd,  M.  H.  Berry,  Frank  M.  Gable. 

1888 — L.  C.  Hay,  Jas.  Legate,  L.  J.  Morgan,  F.  Wellhouse. 

1890— Fred  W.  Willard,  S.  F.  Neely,  T.  C.  Craig,  F.  M.  Gable. 

1892— Stephen  Meagher,  H.  C.  F.  Hackbush,  McCown  Hunt. 

1894— S.  H.  Hill.  H.  C.  F.  Hackbush,  McCown  Hunt. 

1896— H.  C.  F.  Hackbush,  Horace  A.  Keefer,  N.  F.  Graves. 

1898— Sherman  Medill,  M.  W.  Edmonds,  F.  B.  Dawes. 

1900— J.  M.  Hund.  F.  G.  Markhart,  James  G.  Gaw. 

1902— O.  G.  Ballard,  J.  Ross  Perkins,  George  B.  Hollenbeck. 

1904 — Stephen  Meagher.  Frank  Ohlhausen,  J.  M.  Phenicie. 

1906— James  F.  O'Conner,  Charles  E.  Snyder,  D.  V.  Umholtz. 

1908— John  Hannon,  Charles  E.  Snyder,  H.  G.  Parker. 

1910— C.  C.  Goddard,  Hiram  G.  Parker. 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  199 

1912— Edward  Carroll,  L.  M.  Gilman. 

1914— Ben j.  F.  Endres,  J.  M.  Gilman. 

1916— Benj.  F.  Endres,  J.  M.  Gilman. 

1918— Benj.  F.  Endres,  J.  M.  Gilman. 

1920 — Benj.  F.  Endres  (present  incumbent),  J.  M.  Gilman  (died 
shortly  after  election),  Charles  Hicks  (elected  in  December,  1920,  to  fill 
vacancy) . 


CHAPTER  X 


LEAVENWORTH  CITY. 


FORM  OF  GOVERNMENT— OFFICERS—  FIRE  DEPARTMENT— POLICE  DEPARTMENT 
—CEMETERIES— CUSHING  HOSPITAL— KANSAS  ORPHAN  ASYLUM— PUBLIC  LI- 
BRART— PUBLIC   SCHOOLS — CHAMBER  OF   COMMERCE. 

Leavenworth  City  was  governed  by  a  mayor  and  councilmen  till  1909, 
when  the  city  adopted  a  commission  form  of  government.  The  mayor 
was  elected  by  the  entire  city  and  the  councilmen  were  chosen,  two  each 
from  each  of  the  six  wards.  Under  the  commission  form  of  government 
the  mayor  is  elected  by  the  entire  city  and  the  four  commissioners  are  also 
elected  by  the  entire  city.  The  duties  of  the  commissioners  are  desig- 
nated and  divided  as  follows:  Finance  and  Revenue,  Parks  and  Public 
Property,  Streets  and  Public  Improvements,  Water  and  Lights. 

The  following  are  the  officers  of  the  City  of  Leavenworth  since  its 
organization : 

Judge  of  City  Court.— 1899-1900,  F.  P.  Harkness,  appointed  by  Gov- 
ernor ;  1900-1904,  H.  Miles  Moore ;  1904-1910,  David  W.  Flynn ;  1910-1914, 
Floyd  E.  Harper;  1914-1916,  Wm.  P.  Wettig;  1916,  present  time,  Eli  Nird- 
linger. 

Clerk  of  City  Court.— 1899-1900,  O.  C.  Phillips;  1900-1904,  Wm. 
Bucher;  1904-1906.  R.  G.  McFarland;  1906-1914,  A.  J.  Erman;  1914-1916. 
August  Kunz,  abolished  in  1916. 

Marshal  of  City  Court.— 1899-1904,  John  Bramlage ;  1904-1906,  Henry 
Yerkes. 

Fire  Department. — The  first  fire  company  was  organized  by  charter 
granted  to  the  City  Council  by  the  Territorial  Legislature  in  the  fall  of 
1855.  Miles  Shannon  was  chosen  the  first  chief  that  fall  and  served  two 
terms.    James  L.  McDowell  was  the  next  chief  and  later  served  as  mayor 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 


201 


3 

3 
a 

E.    S.    Berthoud 
E.    S.    Berthoud 
Geo.    P.    Buell 
Geo.    P.    Buell 
Geo.    P.    Buell 
Powell    Clayton 
Powell    Clayton 
John     McCarthy 
John    JlcCartln 
C.    G.    Waite 

C.  G.     Waite 
Daniel     Tuohey 
E.    I.    Farnsworth 

E.  1.   Farnsworth 
G.    W.    Vaughn 
Win.   o.   Gould 
(i.     W.     Vaughn 
G.    W.     Vaughn 

F.  Hawn 

D.  N.    Barnes 

E.  Diefendorf 

G.  T.    Nelles 
G     T.    Nelles 
G.    T.    Nelles 
G.    T.    Nelles 
G.   T.    Nelles 

p. 

s 

M.    D.    Parlin 
M.    D.    Parlin 
C.    F.    Greever 
C.    F.    Greever 
W.   G.  Neely 
W.  G.  Neely 
Edw.    Jones 

Joe    O'Neil 
Joe    O'Neil 
Joe    O'Neil 

H.    A.    Perkins 

H.    A.    Perkins 

Walter  Thomas 

a 

< 

a 
o 
a 

a 
o 
3 

SM8?T 

l<  : 

1 1  if  1 1 

s  ""  =<  -i  -: 
hi  £  <ri  *j  hj 

E- 

nil  jfllii  i  fMiSpii  i 

lw 

4  d  js  S°  *  a  ^  i 

•5  =i-J-e£  i-sf  d 
a    he*        h  .   .  . 
.•  ■  .  .**  .o'< 

d  -'  a  a  £  x  a  d  -  4 

3 

:|ii||3i;3iJIl^;;;|Jij}}} 

1 

h,  tl'Hl 

f  Illlll  1 

«i,B 

|ijj 1 1  j|;=ii ii =U  i  jA'iiii\ii  i 

= 

B  -id  d  d  -'  -i 

I^~!:!!; 

5 

ijli^ily ^fpifll  iJlllf 

I 

1  fill  I 

I^._:  Jill  § 

p 

1 

lllr-ijlf  y&l^^^i&ttl    II 

1 

lilt 
1 11  Li  1 

q  aa  la         < 

•st  |  gj  g  g  J    j 

°? 

'    :  :  §   :     : 

»^SS35 2    ° 

202  HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY 

of  the  city.  Henry  Deckelman  was  the  next  and  he  was  the  father  of 
the  Turner's  Society.  Martin  Smith  followed  him  for  eight  years.  The 
following  have  been  chiefs  since  that  time :  Cyrus  Sprague,  Matt  Kelley, 
Patrick  Delaney,  Mike  Bahler  and  Gus  Schoreder,  the  present  incumbent. 

The  department  has  two  divisions.  Department  No.  1  is  located  at 
the  northeast  corner  of  5th  and  Shawsee  Streets  and  No.  2  is  located  at  the 
southeast  corner  of  5th  Avenue  and  Spruce. 

The  following  men  make  up  the  department: 

Department  No.  1 — Fire  chief,  Gus  Schroeder;  foremen,  Peter  Jo- 
hosky  and  Chas.  Voss ;  mechanic,  J.  H.  Ciift ;  firemen,  J.  E.  Ramey,  Fred- 
erick Copenhaver,  Andrew  Hauserman,  J.  L.  Ramey,  Lynton  Tuttle  and 
Louis  Ringlesby. 

Department  No.  2 — 1st  assistant  chief,  Peter  Taschetta;  2nd  assistant 
chief,  G.  A.  Stevenson ;  firemen,  Wm.  Meeker,  L.  L.  Malody,  Chas.  Hoctor, 
and  W.  R.  Shouse. 

The  department  is  equipped  with  the  following  fire  apparatus:  At 
Fire  Department  No.  1.  one  White  combination  hose  wagon,  one  White 
service  ladder  truck,  one  Fulton  hose  truck,  and  one  Stutz,  chief's  car. 

At  Fire  Department  No.  2.  one  White  combination  hose  wagon. 

Police  Department. — The  headquarters  of  the  police  department  was 
formerly  located  between  Delaware  and  Shawnee  streets  on  Fifth.  It  is 
now  located  at  the  northeast  corner  of  5th  and  Shawnee  streets. 

The  following  named  persons  have  served  as  chiefs:  John  Roundee, 
John  Shockley,  John  Kendall,  John  Schott,  Joseph  Michael,  John  McKee, 
Hiram  Robinson,  D.  A.  Hook,  Col.  Thomas  Moonlight,  James  Jennings, 
Isaac  Losee,  Charles  H.  Miller,  Milt  Orr,  S.  S.  Ellis,  W.  D.  Shallcross,  Joseph 
E.  Walter,  Wm.  W.  Roberts.  J.  G.  Doane,  Chas.  H.  Robinson,  A.  McGahey, 
Dan  McFarland,  F.  W.  Willard,  E.  C.  Murphy,  J.  H.  Rothenberger.  J.  A. 
Cranston,  W.  M.  Pickens,  Anton  Maduska,  J.  T.  Taylor,  J.  M.  Murphy,  W. 
B.  Shaughnessy,  John  T.  Glynn,  Lewis  Young  (the  present  incumbent.) 

The  following  constitutes  the  entire  police  force  at  present:  Lewis 
Young*  chief ;  Wm.  Mueller,  captain;  John  Kinney,  lieutenant;  Geo.  W. 
Herren,  detective;  Andy  Welkey,  W.  A.  Heath,  J.  A.  Cranston,  H.  T. 
Madison,  Geo.  Richardson,  Frank  Brown,  V.  M.  Hooper,  W.  E.  Felix,  Louis 
Jackson,  Henry  Johnson,  Phil  Knight,  Robt.  Buckley,  patrolmen ;  M.  Fitz- 
patrick,  jailor;  James  Freeh,  guard;  Bentley  Clark,  J.  P.  Reavy,  auto 
drivers;  Jas.  M.  Thompson,  Wm.  Leeman,  Joe  Gorzkiewicz,  merchant  police. 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  203 

J.  A.  Cranston  served  as  chief  from  1897  to  1903,  from  1905  to  1908 ; 
a  part  of  the  year  1893  and  for  the  past  three  years  has  been  a  patrolman ; 
he  has  the  longest  service  as  chief  of  any  one  on  record  in  the  department. 

Cemeteries. — There  are  four  burial  grounds  in  the  vicinity  of  the 
city  of  Leavenworth,  namely:  Mount  Muncie,  Mt.  Calvary,  Jewish  Ceme- 
tery and  Greenwood  Cemetery.  In  1858  a  burial  place  known  as  Mount 
Aurora  was  donated  by  W.  W.  Bachus.  This  was  used  for  about  fifteen 
years  and  then  abandoned.  Most  of  the  bodies  were  removed  to  Mount 
Muncie  and  the  ground  has  been  since  used  by  the  Leavenworth  Water 
Company. 

Greenwood  Cemetery  is  located  on  the  Lawrence  Road  at  the  city 
limits.    This  tract  was  donated  by  Mrs.  Mary  A.  Davis  in  December,  1865. 

Mt.  Calvary  Cemetery  is  three  and  a  half  miles  south  of  the  city  on 
the  DeSoto  Road.  It  is  the  Roman  Catholic  burial  grounds.  It  consists 
of  an  eighty-acre  tract  of  land. 

Mount  Muncie  Cemetery  is  located  about  three  and  a  half  miles  south 
of  the  court  house  on  the  old  Delaware  Road.  It  adjoins  the  grounds  of 
The  National  Military  Home  on  the  south.  It  is  a  tract  of  187  acres, 
extending  to  the  Missouri  River. 

It  is  incorporated  under  the  laws  of  Kansas  and  a  portion  of  the 
charter  provides  that  the  sale  of  the  lots  and  proceeds  of  the  investment 
of  the  funds  are  dedicated  to  the  purchase  and  improvement  of  the 
grounds  for  a  cemetery  and  keeping  them  durably  and  permanently  in- 
closed and  perpetual  repair  throughout  all  future  time  and  no  part  of  the 
funds  shall  inure  as  dividends  or  profits  to  the  incorporators.  The  grounds 
were  opened  for  burial  about  1865.  Thirteen  thousand  persons  have  been 
buried  in  this  cemetery. 

The  Jewish  Cemetery  is  located  about  three  miles  west  of  the  city 
on  the  Mt.  Olive  road. 

Cushing  Hospital  and  Home  of  the  Friendless. — Cushing  Hospital 
grew  out  of  the  Home  for  the  Friendless.  The  latter  institution  was  or- 
ganized in  1868.  A  charter  was  secured  in  1870.  An  appropriation  of 
$10,000  was  made  by  the  State  Legislature  and  the  city  of  Leavenworth 
purchased  the  present  site  of  five  acres  for  the  institution.  In  1879  an 
additional  appropriation  of  $6,000  was  obtained  from  the  state  for  the 
purpose  of  an  additional  building.  The  first  building  was  known  as  the 
"Cottage".  The  building  as  it  now  stands  is  of  brick  with  stone  trim- 
mings, three  stores  and  a  basement  located  on  Marshall  street.    It  orig- 


204  HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY 

inally  cost  about  $16,000.  The  Home  of  the  Friendless  was  originally 
founded  for  the  following  purposes :  First,  to  temporary  shelter  for  sick 
and  destitute  women  and  children;  second,  to  aid  women  in  securing 
employment  in  respectable  families  and  secure  Christian  homes  for  chil- 
dren; third,  to  reform  the  inmates  and  teach  them  a  better  mode  of  life. 
The  management  of  Cushing  Hospital  has  been  in  the  hands  of  benevolent 
women  of  the  various  Protestant  churches  of  the  city  till  1920  when  an 
advisory  board  of  men  were  selected  to  aid  them.  It  was  named  after 
Mrs.  C.  H.  Cushing  who  devoted  much  of  her  time  and  money  to  the  found- 
ing and  maintaining  of  this  most  needed  institution. 

The  following  are  the  names  of  the  presidents:  Mrs.  C.  H.  Cushing, 
Mrs.  S.  A.  Lord,  Mrs.  H.  Mills,  Mrs.  Florence  Hopkins,  Mrs.  O.  H.  Shelly, 
Mrs.  Carrie  Huffman,  Mrs.  Louis  C.  Feller. 

The  Kansas  Orphan  Asylum  was  located  on  a  beautiful  five-acre  tract 
of  land  on  South  Broadway.  It  was  organized  and  incorporated  as  a  pri- 
vate charitable  institution  for  Leavenworth  city  and  county.  The  orig- 
inal cost  of  the  land  and  buildings  thereon  was  met  by  the  business  men 
of  the  city.  The  organization  was  formed  in  1866.  At  first  the  asylum 
had  only  the  right  to  receive  and  dispose  of  children  under  the  apprentice 
law.  In  1867  the  State  Legislature  gave  the  asylum  the  right  "to  receive 
and  retain  orphans,  destitute  and  friendless  children,  and  provide  the  same 
with  homes  for  such  time,  not  exceeding  their  majority,  and  upon  such 
terms  as  the  board  of  directors  may  determine." 

The  institution  was  first  known  as  The  Leavenworth  Protestant  Or- 
phan Asylum  and  Home  for  Friendless  Children,  and  changed  to  the  name 
of  Kansas  Orphan  Asylum  by  act  of  1874.  By  this  act  the  board  of  direc- 
tors were  bound  to  receive  children  from  all  the  counties  of  the  state.  The 
sum  of  $16,000  was  expended  for  buildings  which  sum  was  appropriated 
by  the  legislature  and  donated  by  people  of  Leavenworth.  The  state  also 
made  appropriations  at  various  times  for  the  support  and  maintenance. 
The  report  of  the  board  of  directors  in  1882  stated  that  twenty-eight  chil- 
dren remained  in  the  home,  sixty-four  received ;  making  a  total  of  ninety- 
two;  forty-eight  boys  and  forty-four  girls;  placed  in  homes,  twenty; 
adopted,  eight;  agreement,  twelve;  returned  to  friends,  thirty-one;  died, 
one;  sent  to  Reform  School,  one;  remaining  in  the  asylum,  thirty-eight. 

About  the  year  1900  the  Dr.  Stewart  McKee  took  over  the  asylum  and 
ran  it  till  1914  as  The  Leavenworth  Hospital,  a  private  institution.  May 
27,  1912,  the  board  of  trustees  offered  a  lease  to  Leavenworth  County  for 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY  205 

a  County  Hospital.  On  March  9,  1914,  was  recorded  a  lease  dated  May 
25,  1912,  and  running  to  May  25,  1959,  to  the  Board  of  County  Commis- 
sioners of  Leavenworth  County.  The  inmates  of  the  old  Poor  Farm  were 
then  removed  to  the  County  Hospital  and  the  farm  was  sold. 

The  Leavenworth  Free  Public  Library  Association  was  organized  in 
1895  under  the  auspices  of  the  Whittier  Club  of  Leavenworth  and  the 
library  was  opened  in  a  room  in  the  Ryan  building  with  Mrs.  G.  W.  Mickel 
as  librarian  and  Miss  Syrena  McKee  and  Mrs.  Mary  Fitzwilliam  Carney 
as  assistants. 

In  the  spring  of  1899  the  city  of  Leavenworth  voted  to  levy  a  tax  for 
library  maintenance  and  in  August  of  the  same  year  Mayor  Neely  called  a 
meeting  to  effect  a  permanent  library  organization.  In  November,  1899, 
the  first  formal  meeting  was  held  at  which  officers  were  elected  and  rules, 
regulations  and  by-laws  adopted.  Miss  Syrena  McKee  was  appointed 
librarian  and  Miss  Bessie  Martin  assistant.  The  following  were  mem- 
bers of  the  first  Board  of  Directors :  Judge  M.  L.  Hacker,  president ;  James 
A.  McGonigle,  vice-president;  Mrs.  J.  A.  Lane,  secretary;  A.  J.  Tullock, 
Mrs.  Florence  Hopkins,  Mrs.  W.  C.  Hook,  Miss  Catherine  Becker,  W.  C. 
Schott,  L.  P.  Rothchild,  Mrs.  G.  W.  Mickel,  Mrs.  E.  W.  Snyder  and  Mrs. 
Mary  Fitzwilliam  Carney. 

Through  the  efforts  of  A.  J.  Tullock  a  gift  of  $25,000  was  secured 
from  Andrew  Carnegie  for  the  erection  of  a  permanent  library  building. 
This  gift  was  later  increased  to  $30,000  and  in  May,  1902,  the  library  was 
moved  to  its  present  location  at  Fifth  and  Walnut. 

In  November,  1904,  Miss  Syrena  McKee  resigned  her  position  as  libra- 
rian and  was  succeeded  by  Miss  Ortha  Johnson  as  acting  librarian.  Miss 
Johnson's  appointment  as  librarian  was  confirmed  in  March,  1905.  In 
January,  1907,  she  resigned  and  Asa  Don  Dickinson  was  appointed  to  fill 
the  vacancy.  Mr.  Dickinson  served  until  September,  1909,  and  was  suc- 
ceeded by  Julius  Lucht  who  resigned,  in  May,  1912.  Irving  R.  Bundy,  his 
successor,  served  until  March,  1916,  when  Truman  R.  Temple  became 
librarian.  Mr.  Temple  resigned  in  January,  1919,  and  was  succeeded  by 
Miss  Elsie  Evans,  the  present  incumbent.  The  present  Board  of  Direc- 
tors is  comprised  of  the  following  members :  N.  H.  Burt,  president ;  Lee 
Todd,  vice-president;  Mrs.  Mary  Fitzwilliam  Carney,  secretary;  Mrs.  Vic- 
tor Cain,  Mrs.  Harry  DcCoursey,  A.  J.  Schilling,  C.  E.  Snyder,  O.  H.  Wulfe- 
kuhler.  The  only  member  of  the  present  board  who  was  a  member  of  the 
original  board  is  Mrs.  Mary  Fitzwilliam  Carney.  She  has  served  continu- 
ously since  the  establishment  of  the  institution. 


206  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

The  total  number  of  books  in  the  library,  January  1,  1921,  was  28,679. 
The  number  of  registered  borrowers  was  5,216,  32  per  cent  of  the  popu- 
lation. The  circulation  for  the  year  1920  totaled  99,786.  Besides  the  cen- 
tral library,  the  library  maintains  deposit  stations  at  the  Y.  W.  C.  A.  and 
the  Small  Memorial  Home  and  traveling  libraries  in  twelve  of  the  public 
and  parochial  schools  of  the  city. 

Leavenworth  Public  Schools. — The  Board  of  Trustees  for  the  common 
schools  of  Leavenworth  City  was  organized  July  3,  1858.  This  board  con- 
sisted of  four  members  and  was  responsible  for  the  management  of  the 
public  schools  although  it  had  no  control  over  the  school  funds  which  were 
entrusted  to  the  common  council.  In  May,  1864,  the  Board  of  Education, 
displacing  the  old  Board  of  Trustees,  was  organized  and  entered  upon  its 
duties  as  guardian  and  manager  of  the  educational  interests  of  the  city. 
In  October,  1859,  the  board  adopted  the  graded  system.  In  1865  the 
high  school  was  organized  and  has  continued  to  grow  in  importance  and 
numbers  since  that  time. 

The  Board  of  Education  is  now  composed  of  six  members  elected  at 
large  for  a  term  of  four  years.  A  clerk  and  treasurer  are  appointed  by 
the  board  yearly. 

The  personnel  of  the  present  board  is  as  follows :  S.  B.  Langworthy, 
president;  William  S.  Albright,  vice-president;  F.  D.  Bolman,  W.  W. 
Hooper,  Thomas  L.  Todd,  S.  E.  Nirdlinger,  Ira  J.  Bright,  superintendent. 

The  following  table  gives  the  essential  facts  concerning  the  schools: 

Name  of  School                    Location.  Enrollment 

Jan.,  1921.  Principal. 

High  School Fourth  and  Walnut     512 E.  R.  Stevens 

Morris Fifth  and  Osage    376 Josephine  O'Keefe 

Third  Avenue__Third  Ave.  and  Congress    413 Mary  M.  Pfefferkorn 

Oak  Street Seventh  and  Oak    374 Olga  Gates 

Maplewood Chestnut  and  Grand    220 Anna  Willcott 

Sumner Fifth  Ave.  and  Chestnut    146 B.  K.  Bruce 

Lincoln 612  Dakota    124 E.  H.  Lawson 

Franklin Ninth  and  Arthur    100 Lillian  McBride 

Jefferson Eleventh  and  Kickapoo      95 Lillian  Kunz 

Wilson Union  and  Vilas      43 Jane  Cleavinger 

Cleveland  Park Sixteenth  and  Vilas      34 Anna  Truesdale 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY  207 

The  larger  elementary  school  buildings,  Oak  Street,  Third  Avenue, 
Morris,  and  Sumner,  need  to  be  replaced  by  modern  school  buildings.  Oak 
Street  was  rebuilt  in  1874;  Third  Avenue  was  built  in  1860,  and  Morris 
was  built  in  1867.  It  is  needless  to  say  that  these  buildings  do  not  meet 
modern  educational  needs. 

The  Board  of  Education  is  now  working  out  a  School  Building  Pro- 
gram and  there  is  little  doubt  that  Leavenworth  will  have  school  build- 
ings of  which  she  may  be  proud. 

The  efficiency  and  standing  of  the  Leavenworth  school  system  is  well 
set  forth  in  the  report  of  Allen  D.  Albert,  a  "city  doctor"  of  national 
renown,  who  made  a  survey  of  the  city  in  the  early  summer  of  1920.  He 
says: 

"Leavenworth  has  developed  one  of  the  outstanding  school  systems 
in  the  Middle  West.  There  runs  through  the  whole  establishment  the 
modern  purpose  to  fit  the  school  to  the  child,  to  help  the  child  find  him- 
self, to  arouse  motive  rather  than  to  impose  disciplinary  control,  to  build 
character  rather  than  to  teach  by  note." 

The  standing  of  the  high  school  is  best  indicated  by  the  fact  that  the 
Leavenworth  High  School  has  been  a  member  of  the  North  Central  Asso- 
ciation of  Secondary  Schools  and  Colleges  for  fifteen  years  and  no  school 
in  Kansas  has  been  a  member  of  the  association  for  a  longer  period.  Affili- 
ation with  this  organization  means  that  admission  without  examination 
to  practically  all  the  larger  universities  and  colleges  of  the  middle  west  is 
granted  graduates  of  high  schools  belonging  to  the  association. 

The  Leavenworth  Chamber  of  Commerce  was  organized  by  consoli- 
dating and  absorbing  the  Commercial  Club,  Greater  Leavenworth  Club, 
Merchants'  League,  Retail  Merchants'  Association  and  Ad  Club.  This  was 
done  in  1914.  The  organization  was  incorporated  under  the  laws  of  the 
State  of  Kansas  in  1916  and  since  that  time  has  operated  as  a  corpora- 
tion organized  not  for  profit. 

The  Leavenworth  Chamber  of  Commerce  has  been  very  active  in  busi- 
ness and  civic  affairs.  It  secured  the  establishment  in  Leavenworth  in 
1917  of  the  Red  Cross  Sanitary  Unit  No.  6.  This  unit,  in  co-operation  with 
the  United  States  Public  Health  Service  and  the  City  and  County  Govern- 
ments and  Board  of  Education,  spent  approximately  $50,000  in  sanitary 
work  in  the  city  and  immediately  adjacent  county  during  the  years  of 
1917,  1918  and  1919  and  after  the  clinic  was  withdrawn  this  work  was 
then  carried  on  by  the  city  government  through  the  organization  of  a 
public  health  service. 


208  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY 

The  Leavenworth  Chamber  of  Commerce  undertook  the  organization 
of  Leavenworth  County  and  Leavenworth  City  for  war  work  in  prepara- 
tion for  the  Third  Liberty  Loan  campaign  and  perfected  an  organization 
in  the  city  by  dividing  the  congested  district  into  committees,  the  resi- 
dence district  into  precincts  and  the  county  into  school  districts.  Loyal, 
public  spirited  citizens  of  the  city  and  county  volunteered  in  this  organiza- 
tion which,  with  minor  changes,  "put  over"  the  Third  Liberty  Loan  cam- 
paign, the  Second  Red  Cross  Drive,  the  United  War  Fund  Drive,  the 
Fourth  Liberty  Loan  campaign,  the  Near  East  campaign,  the  Victory 
Liberty  Loan  campaign,  the  War  Savings  Stamps  drive  and  the  Welcome 
Home  Fund  for  the  returning  soldiers.  One  million  and  twelve  thousand 
dollars  ($1,012,000)  was  raised  in  the  Third  Liberty  Loan  which  was  over 
$300,000  more  than  the  county's  quota.  Approximately  $53,000  was  raised 
in  the  Second  Red  Cross  War  Fund,  which  was  $17,000  more  than  the 
county's  quota.  One  million  six  hundred  and  sixty-six  thousand  dollars 
($1,666,000)  was  raised  in  the  Fourth  Liberty  Loan,  which  was  approxi- 
mately $50,000  more  than  the  county's  quota.  The  quota  of  $60,000  in  the 
United  War  Work  Drive  was  exceeded.  Nearly  $14,000  was  raised  in  the 
Near  East  campaign.  In  the  Victory  Liberty  Loan  the  county  exceeded 
its  quota  of  $1,100,000  by  nearly  $50,000  and  nearly  $4,000  was  raised  in 
the  Welcome  Home  Fund  to  afford  a  proper  celebration  and  welcome  for 
the  boys  from  Leavenworth  County  who  did  their  part  in  the  Great  War. 

The  Leavenworth  Chamber  of  Commerce  sponsored  the  organization 
of  the  Leavenworth  County  Counsel  of  Defense  which  served  during  the 
war  and  the  secretary-manager  acted  as  chairman  of  the  County  Council 
of  Defense.  The  Farm  Agent  acted  as  Vice-Chairman.  The  local  Food 
Administration  was  also  handled  by  the  County  Council  of  Defense. 

The  Chamber  of  Commerce  also  organized  the  local  branch  of  the 
Military  Training  Camp  Association  in  the  early  days  of  our  participation 
in  the  war  and  acted  as  headquarters  in  this  work  of  securing  personnel 
for  the  training  camps. 

The  Chamber  of  Commerce  also  organized  the  Leavenworth  War- 
Camp  Community  Service,  which  handled  the  Community  House  at  Leav- 
enworth during  the  war. 

The  Leavenworth  Chamber  of  Commerce  also  organized  the  work  of 
securing  harvest  laborers  and  recruited  harvest  armies  in  1918  and  1919, 
furnishing  the  farmers  of  Leavenworth  County  with  harvest  help  and 
sending  the  excess  to  the  harvest  fields  in  central  and  western  Kansas. 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  209 

The  Leavenworth  Chamber  of  Commerce  helped  organize  the  Farm  Bu- 
reau of  Leavenworth  County,  which  was  the  first  bureau  organized  in  the 
State  of  Kansas.  They  paid  a  substantial  proportion  of  the  expenses  of 
the  Farm  Bureau  for  the  first  two  years  of  its  existence  and  at  the  pres- 
ent time  furnished  an  office  and  headquarters  for  the  Farm  Bureau. 

The  Leavenworth  Chamber  of  Commerce  has  been  very  active  in  the 
promotion  of  good  roads.  It  originated  the  Fort  to  Fort  road  but  the  put- 
ting over  of  these  petitions,  especially  on  the  cross  county  road,  was 
done  by  the  good  roads  booster  in  and  around  Tonganoxie.  These  road 
boosters  at  Tonganoxie  had  been  trying  for  a  long  time  to  secure  a  hard 
road  connection  with  Kansas  City  and  with  Lawrence,  and  at  the  time  the 
Federal  Aid  Law  was  passed,  practically  the  only  hard  road  sentiment  in 
the  entire  county  was  along  the  line  of  the  east  and  west  road  from  Tonga- 
noxie to  the  end  of  the  parallel  road  in  Wyandotte  County. 

The  Leavenworth  Chamber  of  Commerce  has  approximately  325  mem- 
bers holding  about  400  memberships.  Through  its  activities,  secured  the 
purchase  by  the  War  Department  of  the  old  North  Bridge.  It  has  co- 
operated with  the  Farm  Bureau  in  its  efforts  to  bring  pure-bred  livestock 
into  the  county  and  with  the  State  Holstein  Association  and  the  County 
Holstein  Association  in  the  holding  of  pure-bred  livestock  sales  at  Leaven- 
worth. 


CHAPTER  XI 


SLAVERY   QUESTION   AND   THE   CIVIL  WAR. 


MASON  AND  DIXOX  LINE— MISSOURI  COMPROMISE— PLATTE  PURCHASE— WILMOT 
PROVISO— DRED  SCOTT  DECISION— COMPROMISE  OF  1850— KANSAS-NEBRASKA 
BILL— •'SQUATTERS"  SALT  CREEK  MEETING — PRO-SLAVERY  BANDS— EAST- 
ERN IMMIGRATION— LEAVENWORTH  COUNTY  IN  THE  CIVIL  WAR— MILITARY 
LEADERS. 


In  order  to  give  the  reader  a  clearer  idea  of  the  events  directly  con- 
nected with  the  history  of  Leavenworth  County  in  the  Civil  war,  it  will  be 
necessary  to  briefly  state  some  of  the  events  leading  up  to  the  formation 
of  the  county  into  a  political  unit.  This  will  bring  into  prominence  the 
slavery  question  with  many  of  its  features. 

Dui'ing  the  early  history  of  Maryland  and  Pennsylvania  there  arose 
a  dispute  between  William  Penn  and  Lord  Baltimore  as  to  the  boundaries 
of  their  respective  colonies.  They  agreed  on  a  compromise  line  run  by 
the  surveyors,  Mason  and  Dixon,  which  is  the  present  boundary  between 
the  states  of  Maryland  and  Pennsylvania.  The  line  later  became  the  divid- 
ing line  between  free  and  slave-holding  states.  As  a  balance  between  the 
North  and  South  the  number  of  slave  and  free  states  were  kept  equal  for 
some  time.  It  was  equal  when  Louisiana  was  admitted  as  a  slave  state  in 
1812,  both  sections  having  equal  representation  in  the  Senate;  Indiana, 
in  1816,  was  balanced  by  Mississippi  in  1817;  Illinois,  in  1818,  was  followed 
by  Alabama  in  1819.  The  North  and  Northwest  grew  so  much  faster  than 
the  South  that  in  1820  the  House  of  Representatives  was  composed  of 
105  free  state  members  and  81  slave  state  members. 

Missouri  petitioned  for  admission  in  1818.  Though  a  western  com- 
munity they  had  slaves  and  wanted  to  keep  them.  The  bill  was  lost  in 
the  Senate.    In  1819,  a  bill  was  introduced  to  admit  Maine  and  another  to 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY  211 

admit  Missouri.  Both  bills  finally  passed  the  House  and  Senate,  but  con- 
taining the  famous  Missouri  Compromise,  prohibiting  slavery  in  Louisiana 
Purchase,  north  of  36  degrees  30  mnutes  north  latitude,  except  in  Mis- 
souri. Maine  was  admitted  as  a  free  state  and  Missouri  was  a  slave  state, 
again  keeping  the  balance  between  the  two  sections.  This  act  excluded 
slavery  from  the  territory  comprising  Leavenworth  County. 

In  forming  the  boundaries  of  Missouri  originally  the  western  boundary 
of  the  state  was  a  line  drawn  north  and  south  of  a  point  at  the  intersection 
of  the  Kaw  and  Missouri  Rivers.  This  made  Platte  County  and  the  terri- 
tory north  of  it  just  across  the  Missouri  River  from  Leavenworth  County 
free  territory.  Later  on  that  territory  was  added  to  the  State  of  Missouri. 
This  was  the  first  violation  of  the  Missouri  Compromise. 

In  1846  David  Wilmot  of  Pennsylvania  offered  a  proviso  in  the  House 
of  Representatives,  "That  neither  slavery  nor  involuntary  servitude  shall 
ever  exist  in  any  part  of  the  said  territory."  This  had  reference  to  terri- 
tory then  under  consideration  for  purchase  from  Mexico.  The  proviso 
failed  to  pass  but  again  set  into  agitation  the  slavery  question. 

Dred  Scott,  a  slave,  was  taken  by  his  owner  Dr.  Emerson,  in  1834, 
from  Missouri  to  Rock  Island,  Illinois,  a  free  territory.  Afterwards  he  was 
taken  to  Louisiana,  then  back  to  Missouri,  slave  territory.  Dred  Scott 
brought  suit  for  his  freedom  on  the  grounds  that  being  carried  into  free 
territory  made  him  free.  The  case  was  tried  in  the  Supreme  Court  of 
the  United  States  under  title  of  Dred  Scott  vs.  Sandford,  and  the  decision 
handed  down  held  that  negroes,  "had  no  rights  which  the  white  man  was 
bound  to  respect."  The  North  was  bitterly  incensed  at  the  decision  and 
declared  that  they  were  not  bound  by  it. 

The  balance  of  free  and  slave  states  was  continued  till  1849 ;  Arkansas 
(slave)  was  admitted  in  1836  and  Michigan  (free)  in  1837;  Florida  and 
Texas,  both  slave,  in  1845;  Iowa  and  Wisconsin,  both  free,  in  1846  and 
1848. 

By  1850  the  slavery  question  had  grown  to  such  enormity  that  such 
eminent  statesmen  as  John  C.  Calhoun  advocated  secession  of  the  slave 
states.  This  year  what  is  known  as  the  Clay  Compromise  was  passed 
and  contained  the  following  provisions  briefly  stated : 

(1)  New  Mexico  to  be  organized  and  admitted  with  or  without  slav- 
ery as  their  constitution  may  prescribe. 

(2)  California  be  admitted  as  a  free  state. 

(3)  Utah  bill  organized  Utah  as  a  territory  intended  to  be  free. 


212  HISTORY   OP  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

(4)  A  new  fugitive  slave  law  to  try  cases  in  a  "summary  manner". 

(5)  Prohibited  slavery  in  the  District  of  Columbia. 

The  bill  in  Congress  proposed  the  organization  of  two  territories,  one 
to  comprise  the  territory  lying  directly  west  of  Missouri  and  extending 
west  to  the  crest  of  the  Rocky  Mountains  to  be  called  Kansas ;  the  remain- 
der of  the  territory  lying  north  of  Kansas  and  west  of  Iowa,  to  be  called 
Nebraska.  Kansas  was  bounded  on  the  north  by  Nebraska;  on  the  east 
by  Missouri;  on  the  south  by  the  37th  degree  of  North  Latitude,  a  line 
dividing  the  Cherokees  and  Osages ;  on  the  west  by  the  ridge  of  the  Rocky 
Mountains.  The  bill  was  passed  May  27,  1854,  and  signed  by  the  President 
on  May  30.  The  vote  in  the  House  was  113  yeas  and  100  nays.  The  pro- 
visions pertaining  to  slavery  are  as  follows: 

First.  That  all  questions  pertaining  to  slavery  in  the  territories  and 
in  the  new  states  to  be  formed  therefrom,  are  to  be  left  to  the  decision  of 
the  people  residing  therein  through  their  appropriate  representatives. 

Second.  That  all  cases  involving  title  to  slaves  and  questions  of  per- 
sonal freedom  are  referred  to  the  adjudication  of  the  local  tribunals,  with 
the  right  of  appeal  to  the  Supreme  Court  of  the  United  States. 

Third.  That  the  provisions  of  the  Constitution  and  laws  of  the  United 
States  in  respect  to  fugitives  from  service  are  to  be  carried  into  faithful 
execution  in  all  the  organized  territories  the  same  as  in  the  states, 

The  Missouri  Compromise  was  positively  annulled  by  the  act.  Stephen 
A.  Douglas  actively  supported  the  measure  which  finally  brought  on  the 
great  Civil  War.  It  was  designed  to  uphold  the  aggressions  of  slavery  but 
finally  tolled  its  death  knell.  It  meant  two  million  men  in  arms,  one-fourth 
million  in  soldier's  graves,  and  the  freedom  of  four  million  slaves. 

So  under  the  provisions  of  the  foregoing  act  Leavenworth  County, 
along  with  the  rest  of  Kansas,  was  to  be  settled,  government  established 
and  its  institutions  begun  by  the  settlers.  Up  to  the  passage  of  this  act  of 
1854  Leavenworth  County  may  be  said  to  have  had  no  civilized  residents 
except  the  soldiers  sent  to  Fort  Leavenworth,  and  a  few  missionaries  to 
the  Indians,  together  with  a  few  fur  traders. 

In  1853,  previous  to  the  Kansas-Nebraska  Act,  all  the  eastern  part  of 
what  is  now  Kansas  was  covered  by  Indian  reservations  and  upon  this 
territory  white  settlements  were  forbidden.  The  only  exception  being 
for  government  agents  and  religious  missionaries.  Immediately  preced- 
ing the  aforesaid  act,  treaties  were  secretly  made  with  the  various  Indian 
tribes,  consisting  of  the  Delawares,  Kickapoos,  Shawnees,  Sacs,  Foxes, 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  213 

Otoes  and  other  tribes,  whereby  a  large  part  of  the  territory  adjoining 
Missouri  on  the  west  was  opened  for  settlement.  These  purchases  of 
Indian  land  by  the  government  was  well  understood  by  the  Missourians 
of  the  western  border.  They  had  for  some  time  been  organizing  societies 
such  as  "Blue  Lodges,"  "Sons  of  the  South"  and  others  for  the  purpose 
of  taking  possession  of  the  new  territory  for  slavery. 

Immediately  following  the  passage  of  the  aforesaid  Kansas-Nebraska 
Act  hundreds  of  Missourians  crossed  over  into  Leavenworth  County,  staked 
out  large  areas  of  land  and  held  meetings  to  further  their  purpose. 

With  undue  haste  and  before  the  time  for  occupancy  of  the  Indians 
had  expired  the  border  Missourians  occupied  the  greater  portion  of  what 
is  now  Leavenworth  County.  They  still  retained  their  homes  in  Missouri 
and  held  squatters'  claims  in  the  adjoining  territory. 

As  early  as  June  10,  1854,  squatters  held  a  meeting  in  Salt  Creek  Val- 
ley and  formed  an  organization.  The  following  resolutions  were  adopted 
by  them: 

Whereas,  We  the  citizens  of  Kansas  Territory  and  many  other  citi- 
zens of  the  adjoining  State  of  Missouri,  contemplating  a  squatter's  home 
on  the  plains  of  said  Territory,  are  assembled  at  Salt  Creek  Valley  for  the 
purpose  of  taking  such  steps  as  will  secure  safety  and  fairness  in  the  loca- 
tion and  preservation  of  claims.;  therefore  be  it 

Resolved  (1)  That  we  are  in  favor  of  a  bona  fide  Squatter  Sovereignty, 
and  acknowledge  the  right  of  any  citizen  of  the  United  States  to  make  a 
claim  in  Kansas  Territory,  ultimately  with  the  view  of  occupying  it. 

(2)  That  such  claim,  when  made,  shall  be  held  inviolate  so  long  as 
a  bona  fide  intention  of  occupying  is  apparent,  and  for  the  purpose  of 
defending  and  protecting  such  claim,  we  agree  to  act  in  concert,  if  neces- 
sary, to  expel  intruders. 

(3)  That  every  person  of  lawful  age  who  may  be  at  the  head  of  a 
family,  who  shall  mark  out  his  claim  of  160  acres,  so  that  it  may  be 
apparent  how  the  same  lies,  and  proceed  with  reasonable  diligence  to 
erect  thereon  a  cabin  or  tent,  shall  be  deemed  to  have  made  a  proper 
claim. 

(5)  That  all  persons  now  holding  claim  shall  have  two  weeks  from 
this  day,  in  which  to  make  improvements  contemplated  by  the  foregoing 
resolutions. 

(6)  No  person  shall  be  protected  by  the  Squatter's  Association  who 
shall  hold  in  his  own  right  more  than  one  claim. 


214  HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

(7)  That  a  citizen  of  the  Territory  be  appointed  as  register  of 
claims,  who  shall  keep  a  book  in  which  he  shall  register  the  name  and  de- 
scription of  all  squatters,  and  their  claims,  and  the  dates  of  making  the 
same  for  which  registration  he  shall  be  allowed  fifty  cents,  to  be  paid  by 
the  claimant. 

(8)  That  we  recognize  the  institution  of  slavery  as  always  existing 
in  this  Territory,  and  recommend  that  slaveholders  to  introduce  their 
property  as  soon  as  possible. 

(9)  That  we  will  afford  protection  to  no  Abolitionists  as  settlers  of 
Kansas  Territory. 

(10)  That  a  "Vigilance  Committee"  be  appointed  by  the  chairman 
to  decide  upon  all  disputes  in  relation  to  claims,  and  to  protect  the  right- 
ful party;  and  for  that  purpose  shall  have  power  to  call  together  the 
entire  "Squatter's  Association". 

(11)  That  all  persons  who  wish  to  become  members  of  the  "Squat- 
ter's Association"  shall  subscribe  to  the  foregoing  preamble  and  res- 
olutions. 

(12)  That  the  Secretary  of  this  meeting  be  instructed  to  hand  these 
proceedings  to  E.  S.  Wilkinson  and  S.  J.  Finch,  or  either  of  them,  for 
immediate  publication  and  reference. 

J.  H.  R.  Cundiff,  Secretary.  Lewis  Burns,  President. 

Doubtless  the  pro-slavery  element  was  stimulated  to  make  settlement 
of  the  territory  by  the  knowledge  that  organizations  of  the  free  state  ele- 
ment were  being  formed  in  New  England  and  other  parts  of  the  North. 
The  sentiment  along  the  Mississippi  border  was  intense,  especially  just 
across  the  river  from  our  county.  The  Salt  Creek  Valley  meeting  received 
extensive  comment  and  the  sentiment  is  shown  in  some  of  the  following 
extracts  from  newspapers  at  that  time: 

The  Democratic  Platform.  Liberty,  Mo.,  June  8,  1854: 

"We  learn  from  a  gentleman  from  the  Territory  of  Kansas  that  a 
great  many  Missourians  have  already  settled  in  that  country,  and  are 
making  arrangements  to  "darken  the  atmosphere"  with  their  negroes. 
That  is  right.  Let  every  man  that  owns  a  negro  go  there  and  settle,  and 
our  Northern  brethren  will  be  compelled  to  hunt  further  north  for  a  loca- 
tion." 

Also  under  date  of  June  27,  1854,  same  source : 

"We  are  in  favor  of  making  Kansas  a  "Slave  State"  if  it  should  re- 
quire half  the  citizens  of  Missouri,  musket  in  hand,  to  emigrate  there, 
and  even  sacrifice  their  lives  in  accomplishing  so  desirable  an  end." 


HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  215 

Platte  Argus,  Missouri,  has  the  following: 

"The  abolitionists  will  probably  not  be  interrupted  if  they  settle  north 
of  the  fortieth  parallell  fo  north  latitude,  but  south  of  that  line,  and 
within  Kansas  Territory,  they  need  not  set  foot.  It  is  decreed  by  the 
people  who  live  adjacent  that  their  institutions  are  to  be  established,  and 
candor  compels  us  to  advise  accordingly." 

The  Industral  Luminary,  Parksville,  Mo.,  June  20,  particularly  refers 
to  the  Salt  Creek  Valley  meeting  as  follows : 

"We  give  today,  in.  another  column,  the  resolutions  passed  at  the 
meeting  held  in  Kansas  Territory  on  last  week.  They  are  more  temperate 
than  the  Independence  and  Westport  resolves.  The  claim-makers  are 
right  in  organizing  themselves,  but  they  should  avoid  everything  that 
savors  of  sectionalism.  We  hope  fanatico-political  combinations  will  be 
kept  out  of  the  new  country,  especially  such  as  we  read  of  being  formed 
in  some  of  the  Eastern  states.  American  freemen  are  wanted — not 
mercenary  tools  of  furious  demagogues  either  from  the  South  or  North." 

The  Baltimore  Sun,  on  June  28,  1854,  commenting  on  the  Salt  Creek 
Valley  meeting  states: 

"According  to  these  resolutions  free-soilers  will  do  well  not  to  stop 
in  Kansas  Territory,  but  keep  on  up  the  Missouri  River  to  Nebraska  Terri- 
tory where  they  may  peacefully  make  claims  and  establish  their  abolition 
and  free  soil  notions ;  if  they  do  they  will  be  allowed  one  day's  grace  to 
take  up  their  bed  and  baggage  and  walk.  It  is  estimated  2,000  claims  have 
already  been  made  within  fifteen  miles  of  the  military  reserve,  and  in 
another  week's  time,  double  that  number  will  be  made. 

Meetings  were  held  across  the  river  in  Missouri  and  bands  were 
organized  for  the  purpose  of  crossing  over  into  Kansas  and  taking  over 
the  polling  places  in  behalf  of  slavery.  Subscriptons  were  taken  to  de- 
fray the  expenses  of  the  parties.  Some  of  them  crossed  over  at  Leaven- 
worth. The  History  of  Clay  County,  Missouri,  by  Col.  W.  H.  Woodson 
(1920)  gives  the  following  account: 

"The  troubles  in  Kansas  began  in  1853,  when  the  Kansas-Nebraska 
bill  was  being  discussed  in  the  halls  of  Congress ;  this  bill  was  passed  by 
Congress,  and  repealed  the  Missouri  Compromise  of  1820.  The  law  left 
to  the  people  of  the  territory  to  decide  whether  slavery  should  exist  or  be 
excluded  therefrom.  "The  true  intent  and  meaning  of  the  act"  as  therein 
expressed,  to  be  "not  to  legislate  slavery  into  any  state  or  territory,  or 
exclude  it  therefrom,"  but  to  leave  the  people  form  and  regulate  their 


216  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY 

domestic  relations  as  they  pleased,  subject  only  to  the  Constitution  of  the 
general  government.  The  Free  Soilers  claimed  that  all  public  territories 
were  to  be  admitted  into  the  Union,  as  free  States,  and  that  slavery  was 
to  be  excluded  therefrom;  on  the  other  hand,  this  was  denied  by  pro- 
slavery  men;  that  under  the  Kansas-Nebraska  bill,  they  had  the  right  to 
vote  in  the  territory  of  Kansas,  there  being  no  restrictions  denying  them 
the  right.  The  Free  State  men  clamed  only  actual  settlers  had  the  right 
to  vote  in  the  territory.  Yet  it  became  a  notorious  fact  that  "Emigrant 
Aid  Societies"  from  New  England,  and  parts  of  the  North,  sent  hundreds 
of  men,  "armed  with  the  Bible  in  one  hand,  and  a  Sharp  rifle  in  the  other," 
as  expressed  by  a  noted  Northern  preacher,  for  no  other  purpose  than  to 
vote  to  make  Kansas  a  free  state.  This  was  known  to  the  people  of  the 
Southern  states,  and  was  the  cause  of  great  excitement  to  Missourians, 
and  particularly  so  to  those  living  in  the  Western  part  of  the  state,  who 
determined  if  the  Free  State  men  intended  to  import  voters  into  the  terri- 
tory, certainly  the  Missourians  or  any  other  persons  had  the  right  to  ex- 
ercise suffrage  at  the  same  polls,  to  determine  whether  the  territory  should 
be  admitted  as  a  state,  with  or  without  slavery. 

No  subject  for  years  had  caused  so  much  talk  during  1854,  and  winter 
of  1855,  as  the  Kansas  question.  Organizations,  not  only  in  Missouri,  but 
the  Southern  States,  were  made  to  take  suitable  action  in  the  premises. 
Western  Missouri  was  very  active.  The  border  counties  on  the  North  side 
of  the  Missouri  River,  next  to  Kansas,  held  meetings  and  men  were  urged 
to  go  to  Kansas,  and  be  there  by  March  30,  1855,  for  an  election  was  to  be 
held  to  choose  members  of  the  Territorial  Legislature.  On  the  South  side 
of  the  Missouri,  and  in  counties  bordering  on  Kansas,  like  meetings  were 
held,  and  resolutions  passed  pledging  the  people  to  go  to  Kansas. 

The  people  of  Clay  County  were  thoroughly  aroused.  A  large  and 
enthusiastic  meeting  assembled  at  the  court  house,  and  many  of  the  best 
men  of  the  country  were  enrolled  into  companies,  and  started  for  Kansas. 
Many  who  did  not  go  in  person,  furnished  horses,  arms  and  provisions. 
Gen.  David  R.  Atchison  was  the  leader,  chief  adviser  and  commander  of 
the  men  living  in  Northwest  part  of  the  state.  These  men  crossed  the 
river  at  Leavenworth,  and  on  the  day  of  election  cast  their  votes  at  the 
various  polling  places  in  that  section.  The  Missourians  from  the  Southern 
and  western  part  of  the  state,  south  of  the  Missouri  River,  were  under  the 
leadership  of  Congressman  Samuel  H.  Woodson,  at  Tecumseh,  and  points 
in  that  part  of  Kansas,  to  cast  their  votes.     The  result  of  this,  the  first, 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY  217 

election  in  Kansas,  was  that  the  pro-slavery  candidates  were  elected  by 
an  overwhelming  majority. 

During  the  entire  troubles  in  Kansas  until  it  was  admitted  as  a  state 
into  the  Union,  Clay  County  furnished  men  and  means  to  aid  the  pro- 
slavery  cause  whenever  called  upon.  On  one  occasion  when  the  young 
men  of  the  county  were  preparing  to  go  to  Kansas  in  aid  of  the  pro-slavery 
cause  the  following  subscriptions  were  obtained  to  pay  their  expenses: 
Col.  James  H.  Moss,  $20.00;  J.  T.  V.  Thompson,  $50.00;  John  Purley, 
$10.00;  A.  G.  Reed,  $20.00;  F.  R.  Long,  $20.00;  W.  E.  Price,  $20.00;  E.  M. 
Samuel,  $50.00;  R.  C.  Thompson,  $10.00;  A.  Withers,  $20.00;  David  Lin- 
coln, $10.00 ;  John  Dougherty,  $50.00 ;  John  Holbert,  $50.00 ;  W.  H.  Wymore, 
Bird  &  Co.,  $50.00 ;  Joel  Turnham,  $50,00 ;  W.  E.  Rhea,  $10.00 ;  R.  M.  G. 
Price,  $50.00;  John  Mosby,  $10.00;  Garrard  Long,  $20.00;  William  Mc- 
Nelly,  $10.00;  Francis  Henshaw,  $25.00;  J.  M.  Watkins,  $10.00;  Joseph 
Pf ester,  $5.00;  John  Arthur,  $10.00;  Spencer  Anderson,  $20.00;  R.  H. 
Miller,  $10.00;  William  Onan,  $10.00;  M.  Haines,  $10.00;  David  Roberts, 
$25.00;  Edwin  Bell,  $10.00;  G.  W.  Gerden,  $20.00;  Thomas  McCarty, 
$10.00;  William  Davenport,  $10.00;  Simpson  McGaghey,  $5.00;  Capt. 
Anthony  Harsel,  $20.00;  A.  Lightburne,  $50.00;  Thomas  Routt,  $10.00; 
George  Stone,  $10.00 ;  Thomas  Fields,  $50.00 ;  Bernard  Mosby,  $10.00 ;  A. 
J.  Calhoun,  $10.00 ;  John  Estes,  $10.00 ;  Wade  Mosby,  $50.00 ;  Robert  Ad- 
kins,  $10.00;  D.  J.  Adkins,  $50.00;  J.  J.  Moore,  $10.00;  S.  R.  Shrader, 
$50.00;  John  B.  Talbott,  $20.00;  R.  A.  Neely,  $20.00;  John  Berry,  $10.00; 
M.  Arthur,  $50.00;  Robert  Reardon,  $20.00;  John  Ecton,  $20.00;  Joseph 
Anderson,  $50.00 ;  David  D.  Miller,  $10.00 ;  M.  V.  Wymore,  $10.00 ;  Bland, 
Fisher  &  Co.,  $20.00;  A.  B.  Everett,  $10.00;  M.  Estes,  $10.00;  Andrew 
Robertson,  $25.00 ;  Elisha  Cravens,  $5.00 ;  Samuel  Homes,  $5.00 ;  Strother 
H.  McGinniss,  $25.00;  O.  P.  Mess,  $20.00;  Fountain  Waller,  $25.00; 
Thomas  C.  Gordon,  $50.00 ;  Presley  Gray,  $10.00 ;  Robert  Thomason,  $5.00 ; 
John  D.  Hall,  $25.00;  James  Chanslor,  $25.00;  Gen.  A.  W.  Doniphan, 
$40.00;  William  J.  Stark,  $10.00;  J.  D.  Davidson,  $20.00;  John  D.  Ewing, 
$10.00;  William  Collins,  $20.00;  Joseph  Lewis,  $20.00;  James  Fleming, 
$25.00 ;  T.  J.  Young,  $10.00." 

Eastern  Emigration. — By  the  middle  of  the  summer  of  1854  emigrant 
aid  companies  were  formed  in  the  East  and  North,  and  the  great  flow  of 
Northern  emigration  moved  toward  Kansas  and  especially  toward  the 
territory  bordering  on  the  west  bank  of  the  Missouri  River.  Up  to  August 
there  were  probably  not  more  than  fifty  free  state  families  in  the  ter'ri- 


218  HISTORY   OP  I.EA.VENWOXTH    COUNTS 

tory  of  Kansas,  and  most  of  them  in  the  present  boundaries  of  Leaven- 
worth County.  Thenceforth  this  vicinity  became  the  theater  of  the  most 
momentous  struggle  known  to  the  nation.  It  was  the  beginning  of  the 
final  contest  between  freedom  and  slavery,  and  became  the  issue  of  life 
and  death  to  the  great  Republic. 

Leavenworth  County  in  the  Civil  War. — Leavenworth  County  fur- 
nished more  troops  in  the  Civil  War  than  any  other  county  in  the  State. 
having  the  largest  population.  Many  from  the  surrounding  country  sought 
refuge  here  and  enlisted  in  the  Union  Army.  Leavenworth  seemed  to  be 
a  vast  camp  for  enlistment  to  suppress  the  Rebellion.  A  detailed  account 
will  not  be  attempted  to  be  given  here. 

The  first  company  mustered  into  service  was  the  Steuben  Guards 
under  Capt.  Gustavus  Zesch  and  designed  as  Company  I,  First  Kansas 
Infantry.  The  date  given  was  May  27,  1861.  It  participated  in  the  bat- 
tle of  Wilson  Creek  and  sustained  a  heavy  loss.  It  took  part  in  many 
other  engagements. 

By  May  20,  1861,  eighteen  companies  had  been  organized  and  were 
ready  for  service.    These  companies  were  known  as  follows: 

Home  Guards,  Thomas  Carney  in  command;  Leavenworth  Fencibles, 
J.  B.  Stockton  in  command;  German  Rifles,  J.  B.  Huesgen  in  command; 
Leavenworth  Guards,  I.  G.  Losee  in  command;  Emmett  Guards,  William 
Phillips  in  command ;  Steuben  Guards,  Gustavus  Zesch  in  command ;  Dela- 
ware Guards,  G.  W.  Gardner  in  command ;  Delaware  Rifles,  B.  T.  Twombly 
in  command ;  Lincoln  Rangers,  William  Freeland  in  command ;  Mounted 
Rifles,  H.  P.  Johnson  in  command;  Leavenworth  Grays,  A.  H.  Kent  in 
command;  Shields  Guards,  Daniel  McCook  in  command;  Phoenix  Guards, 
Peter  McFarland  in  command;  Union  Guards,  Edward  Cozzens  in  com- 
mand; Leavenworth  Light  Infantry,  Powell  Clayton  in  command;  Lafay- 
ette Guards,  David  Block  in  command;  Lane  Rifles,  T.  J.  Weed  in  com- 
mand; Leavenworth  Rifles,  W.  B.  Smith  in  command.  During  the  year 
many  other  companies  were  organized.  Companies  continued  to  be  organ- 
ized throughout  the  war.    Among  them  are  the  following: 

A  cavalry  company  of  Union  Home  Guards  in  Stranger  Township, 
J.  P.  Salisbury  in  command;  Kickapoo  Guards,  Capt.  Fred  Wellhouse  in 
command ;  Capt.  Black's  Guards,  re-enlisted  to  serve  in  first  regiment  of 
diome  guards ;  Lyon  Guards,  D.  H.  Baily  in  command ;  Fourth  Ward  Guards, 
L.  B.  Wheat  in  command ;  The  "Old  Guards",  James  M.  Dickson  in  com- 
mand; Third  Ward   Guards.  William  Haller  in  command;  Leavenworth 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY  219 

Mercantile  Guards,  M.  S.  Adams  in  command ;  Leavenworth  Light  Cavalry, 
I.  G.  Losee  in  command. 

James  L.  Abernathy  entered  the  service  November  1,  1862,  as  Lieu- 
tenant Colonel  and  resigned  November  8,  1862;  founder  of  Abernathy 
Furniture  Company. 

M.  S.  Adams,  Captain,  commissioned  September  16,  1862,  resigned 
10th,  1863. 

Henry  J.  Adams,  Major,  Paymaster  Commissioned  September  5,  1861, 
discharged  August  1,  1864. 

D.  R.  Anthony,  Sr.,  Lieutenant  Colonel  Seventh  Kansas  Cavalry,  com- 
missioned October  29,  1861,  resigned  September  3,  1862.  Editor  of  Leav- 
enworth Times. 

E.  N.  0.  Clough,  Provost  Marshall  a  large  part  of  the  war ;  raised  2,300 
men  for  the  union;  appointed  colonel  but  not  assigned;  served  without  pay. 

Powell  Clayton,  Captain  Company  G,  First  Kansas  Infantry,  brevet 
Brigadier  General  August  1,  1864,  afterwards  United  States  Senator  from 
Arkansas. 

William  F.  Cloud,  Colonel  Fifteenth  Kansas  July  26,  1865;  mustered 
out  October  19,  1865. 

Samuel  F.  Drake,  Lieutenant  Colonel  Seventeenth  Infantry,  commis- 
sioned July  28,  1864. 

George  W.  DeCosta,  Major,  Paymaster,  Commissioned  April  21,  1864 ; 
Brevet  Lieutenant  Colonel,  mustered  out  February  16,  1865. 

S.  B.  Davis,  Major  Medical  Department;  commissioned  February  19, 
1863 ;  breveted  Lieutenant-Colonel ;  mustered  out  February  7,  1865. 

Thomas  Ewing,  Jr.,  Colonel  Eleventh  Infantry,  September  15,  1862; 
promoted  Brigadier  General  March  13,  1863;  afterwards  member  of  Con- 
gress from  Ohio. 

Henry  Foote,  Major  Paymaster,  commissioned  June  1,  1861 ;  resigned 
July  27,  1863. 

J.  H.  Gillpatrick,  First  Lieutenant  and  Adjutant  First  Regiment 
Home  Guards,  commissioned  November  1,  1862;  promoted  to  Major  Sec- 
ond Kansas  (colored)  ;  promoted  to  Lieutenant  Colonel  November  9,  1864 ; 
afterwards  Judge  District  Court. 

John  Gould,  Captain,  commissioned  November  26,  1862;  breveted 
Major  and  mustered  out  October  9,  1865. 

Cyrus  L.  Gorton  and  R.  M.,  by  President,  May  18,  1864;  mustered 
out  October  7,  1865. 


220  HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

George  W.  Gardner,  commissioned  Captain  February  18,  1863;  re- 
signed January  18,  1864. 

George  Hoyt,  Second  Lieutenant  C.  K.  Seventh  Kansas  Infantry, 
commissioned  November  11,  1861 ;  promoted  Captain  May  7,  1862 ;  re- 
signed November  3,  1862;  appointed  Lieutenant  Colonel  September  7, 
1863;  resigned  July  19,  1865;  appointed  Brevet  Brigadier  General  March 
13,  1865. 

John  A.  Halderman,  Major  First  Kansas  Volunteers;  Major  Gen- 
eral of  northern  division  of  state  forces ;  members  of  first  County  Board ; 
Major  of  Leavenworth  two  terms;  regent  of  State  University;  State 
Senator  and  Representative;  Consul  to  Siam. 

M.  H.  Insley,  Captain,  commissioned  by  President  August  16,  1861; 
promoted  to  regular  army  March  13,  1863 ;  resigned  May  26,  1865 ;  banker. 

Charles  R.  Jennison,  Colonel  Seventh  Kansas  Cavalry,  October  28, 
1861 ;  Colonel  Fifteenth  Kansas  Cavalry,  1863 ;  Brigadier  General ;  com- 
mand at  Fort  Leavenworth;  State  Senator  and  State  Representative. 

Hampton  P.  Johnson,  Colonel  of  Fifth  Kansas  Cavalry;  killed  in  ac- 
tion at  Morristown,  Missouri,  September  17,  1861. 

James  Ketner,  First  Lieutenant  Company  G,  Second  Kansas;  pro- 
moted to  Captain;  Bi-evet  Major  General  March  13,  1865. 

Albert  Lee,  Captain,  commissioned  August,  1861 ;  May  17,  1862,  pro- 
moted to  Colonel,  Seventh  Regiment,  and  November  29,  1862,  promoted 
to  Brigadier  General. 

Daniel  McCook,  Captain  Shields  Guards ;  Captain  Company  H,  First 
Kansas,  November  9,  1861 ;  appointed  Brigadier  General  by  the  President ; 
killed  in  action. 

Thomas  Moonlight,  Captain  Leavenworth  Light  Battery;  Captain 
Company  D,  Fourth  Kansas ;  Colonel  Eleventh  Kansas ;  Brevet  Major  Gen- 
eral 1865;  served  in  Seminole  War;  Adjutant  General  of  Kansas. 

George  W.  McLain,  commissioned  Captain  by  the  President  in  Quar- 
termaster Department,  October  20,  1862. 

H.  Miles  Moore,  Major  and  Judge  Advocate  Fifth  Kansas  Regiment, 
June,  1861 ;  resigned  November,  1862 ;  lawyer ;  author  of  History  of  Leav- 
enworth City. 

Marcus  J.  Parrott,  commissioned  by  President  as  Captain  August 
3,  1861 ;  member  of  Congress. 

Edward  H.  Schneider,  Lieutenant  Colonel  Eighth  Kansas  Infantry, 
December  3,  1863;  resigned  July  11,  1864;  Brevet  Major  General  March 
13,  1865. 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  221 

Hiram  S.  Sleeper,  Major  Paymaster;  commissioned  February  19, 
1863;  resigned  November  23,  1864. 

William  Tholen,  Captain,  appointed  by  President  March  8,  1863 ;  dis- 
charged March  10,  1864. 

Champion  Vaughn,  Major  and  Aid-de-Camp;  appointed  by  President 
November  21,  1862 ;  mustered  out  April  11,  1865. 

T.  J.  Weed,  Major  and  Aid-de-Camp,  January  29,  1862;  discharged 
November  21,  1862;  re-appointed  March  31,  1863;  Brevet  Lieutenant 
Colonel  March  13,  1865. 

A.  C.  Wilder,  Captain,  August  7,  1861 ;  resigned  August  22,  1862. 


CHAPTER  XII 


CHURCHES 


THE  FIRST  METHODIST— FIRST  CHRISTIAN— EVANGELICAL  GERMAN  LUTHERAN- 
EPISCOPAL— JEWISH— PRESBYTERIAN  —  CONGREGATIONAL  —  EPISCOPAL.  SI 
PAUL'S— CATHOLIC— FIRST    CHURCH    OF    CHRIST.    SCIENTIST 


The  First  Methodist  Episcopal  Church. — The  first  sermon  preached 
in  Leavenworth  County  was  delivered  by  Rev.  W.  G.  Caples,  of  the 
Methodist  Episcopal  Church,  at  or  near  the  Leavenworth  Company's  coal 
shaft  October  8,  1854.  Occasional  services  were  held  by  Rev.  W.  Butt. 
of  Indiana,  during  the  years  of  1855  and  1856.  It  is  said  that  he  was 
fairly  driven  out  of  town  by  the  pro-slavery  element  and  hid  for  a  long 
time  in  the  hazel  brush,  so  fearful  was  he  for  his  life. 

In  May,  1857,  George  R.  Weaver  organized  the  first  Methodist  Epis- 
copal Sunday  School,  which  has  been  maintained  ever  since.  At  the  same 
time  a  Quarterly  Meeting  of  the  church  was  held. 

On  February  21,  1860,  the  church  was  incorporated  by  a  special  act 
of  the  Kansas  Territorial  Legislature,  under  the  name  of  "The  First 
Methodist  Episcopal  Church,  Leavenworth  City,  Kansas,"  and  has  ever 
since  maintained  its  corporate  existence. 

The  first  incorporators  or  board  of  trustees  named  in  the  charter 
were  George  H.  Weaver,  Elijah  Hughes,  Jacob  Landis,  William  B.  Waugh, 
James  R.  Lunn,  William  Ferguson  and  William  Fairchild.  Before  that 
time,  however,  under  the  ministry  of  Rev.  Hugh  D.  Fisher  the  church  had 
acquired  the  property  at  the  northwest  corner  of  Fifth  and  Choctaw 
streets  and  commenced  and  completed  the  erection  of  a  church  building 
thereon.  Here  the  members  worshiped  until  the  fall  of  1912,  when  the 
congregation  moved  to  the  new  and  present  edifice  at  the  northeast  corner 
of  Fifth   and  Chestnut   streets.    The  old   church   building  on   Choctaw 


HISTORY   OF   LEWENWORTH    COUNTY  223 

Street,  together  with  the  grounds  and  the  parsonage  were  sold  to  The 
J.  C.  Lysle  Milling  Company.  The  new  owners  soon  tore  down  the  church 
building  pioper  but  the  parsonage  still  stands.  The  new  church  is  built 
of  stone  and  cost  approximately  $50,000  completed.  It  is  a  fine  modern 
structure  of  striking  architectural  beauty.  The  present  membership  is 
400.  There  are  several  organizations  of  the  church,  consisting  of  a  For- 
eign Missionary  Society,  Epworth  League,  Sunday  School  and  a  Ladies 
Aid  Society.  Ira  M.  Benham  is  the  present  pastor.  The  following  are 
the  names  of  the  various  pastors : 

William  Butt 1856  C.  B.  Mitchell 1884-1886 

Charles  Ketchum 1856  J.  A.  Swaney 1886-1889 

Milton  Haun 1857  A.  S.  Embree 1889-1891 

Hugh  D.  Fisher 1858-1860  Josephus  Collins   1891-1893 

James  Paddock   1860-1863  E.  M.  Randall 1893-1896 

D.  P.  Mitchell 1863-1866  S.  A.  Bright 1896-1900 

A.  B.  Leonard 1866-1868  E.  Combie  Smith 1900-1903 

W.  K.  Marshall 1868-1870  J.  G.  Henderson 1903-1904 

D.  P.  Mitchell 1870-1871  J.  D.  Hitchcock 1904-1905 

J.  J.  Thompson 1871-1874  A.  E.  Young 1905-1908 

T.  F.  Houts 1874-1876  H.  E.  Wark 1908-1911 

P.  H.  Phillips 1876  C.  M.  Williams 1911-1913 

William  Smith 1876-1877  M.  M.  Culpepper 1913-1916 

J.  R.  Madison 1877-1881  A.  L.  Wood 1916-1919 

A.  E.  Higgins 1881-1883  Ira  M.  Benham  ___1919  to  present 

William  Jones 1883 

The  Official  Board  at  the  present  time  is  as  follows: 

N.  T.  Atwell.  Albert  Berg. 

A.  M.  Bain.  F.  E.  Borst. 

Sam  Butt.  Earl  Berg. 

George  Combs.  George  Conrad. 

F.  M.  Denny.  Reese  Faulkner.- 

M.  A.  Gonser.  W.  F.  Harding, 

lesse  A.  Hall.  A.  B.  Irwin. 

H.  G.  Powers.  J.  M.  Parsons. 

Herbert  Kihm.  Clarence  McGuire. 

Charles  R.  Moore.  Dr.  J.  H.  Langworthy. 

Carl  Sill.  J.  C.  Walker. 


224  HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY 

The  Board  of  Trustees  is: 

William  Dill,  President.  H.  W.  Sexton,  Secretary. 

F.  J.  Tallant,  Treasurer.  George  Bleakley. 

M.  B.  Hamilton.  Dr.  S.  B.  Langworthy. 

M.  T.  Powell.  W.  D.  Reyburn. 
J.  W.  Wright. 

First  Christian  Church. — The  few  members  who  stood  for  the  restora- 
tion of  the  New  Testament  Church  in  creed,  ordinance  and  life  were  or- 
ganized into  a  church  in  the  summer  of  1855.  Elder  William  S.  Yohe 
was  the  leader  and  the  first  minister  of  the  congregation.  He  had  been 
a  captain  in  the  United  States  Army  and  received  honorable  discharge 
at  Fort  Leavenworth  in  1845.  He  was  one  of  the  early  settlers  and  be- 
came one  of  the  leading  citizens  of  these  early  days.  A  Christian  Church 
at  Little  Stranger  and  at  Nine  Mile  were  also  organized  through  his 
ministry. 

The  first  building  was  a  small  frame  building  on  the  south  side  of 
Shawnee  between  Second  and  Third  streets,  erected  in  1855.  This  was 
destroyed  in  the  big  fire  of  Leavenworth  in  1857.  In  1859  the  present 
location  was  secured  and  the  brick  church  erected  at  a  cost  of  $7,300. 
The  first  trustees  were  J.  C.  Stone,  William  S.  Yohe,  J.  P.  Marshall,  B.  S. 
Richards  and  Geoi-ge  Fisher. 

The  signers  of  the  charter  secured  in  1858  were  Elder  J.  B.  McCleery, 
Julia  McCleery,  Dr.  E.  W.  Younkin,  R.  A.  Lovitt,  B.  S.  Richards,  W.  B. 
Halyard,  Sallie  L.  Halyard,  Dr.  J.  P.  Marshall,  J.  W.  Renfrow,  Clara  Bell, 
Eleanor  T.  Kelly,  Elizabeth  M.  Wilson  and  Mary  Renfrow. 

The  following  ministers  have  served  the  church  since  Elder  Yohe: 
A.  A.  Bartholomew,  John  F.  Rodgers,  John  O'Kane,  Calvin  Reasoner, 
James  J.  Sloan,  J.  P.  Bauserman,  F.  M.  Rains,  Sumner  T.  Martin,  Elder 
Underwood,  Leslie  Drake,  Benton  Bowen,  WTilliam  H.  Embry,  T.  L.  Myers, 
James  S.  Myers,  S.  W.  Nay,  W.  J.  Dodge,  E.  L.  Cunningham,  H.  L.  Daven- 
port, B.  E.  Parker,  Ernest  Seibenthal,  Bert  E.  Stover. 

The  church  building  has  been  improved  many  times.  The  lots  cor- 
nering on  Sixth  Street  and  Seneca  were  secured  in  recent  years.  A  neat 
parsonage  has  been  erected.  Th  church  building  has  also  been  improved 
at  an  expenditure  of  $4,000  in  the  past  two  years. 

The  trustees  of  the  church  elected  in  1920  were  A.  P.  Flack,  O.  J. 
Snyder,  Carl  Holman,  W.  A.  Strean  and  G.  F.  W.  Knuth.  The  Bible 
School  superintendent  is  W.  A.  Strean. 


HISTOHY   OF    LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY  225 

The  present  pastor,  Elder  Bert  E.  Stover,  after  a  year  in  welfare 
work  with  the  American  Expeditionary  Forces  in  France,  began  his  min- 
istry here  in  October,  1919. 

The  Evangelical  German  Lutheran  Church  was  organized  in  1861 
with  the  following  members:  G.  Elbert,  Peter  Schott,  George  Lueders, 

Henry  Schott,  Henry  Steinker,  F.  Scheer, Becker  and  John  Ulrich. 

The  Rev.  Michael  Meier  was  chosen  pastor  and  he  remained  their  leader 
till  1882.  The  Rev.  C.  Hoffner  became  the  pastor  in  that  year.  The 
congregation  first  worshipped  on  Delaware  Street  and  occupied  the  build- 
ing on  the  present  site  in  1881.  It  is  a  brick  building  costing  $3,500  and 
is  situated  on  the  northwest  corner  of  Seventh  and  Miami  streets.  A 
parsonage  is  attached  to  the  church. 

The  Michigan  Avenue  Methodist  Episcopal  Church  was  organized  in 
February,  1888,  and  at  the  same  time  incorporated  under  the  laws  of 
Kansas.  William  Fairchild  donated  the  lots  on  which  the  church  build- 
ing is  located  at  the  northwest  corner  of  Michigan  Avenue  and  Shoemaker- 
Avenue.  Mr.  Fairchild  was  a  prominent  member  of  the  First  Methodist 
Episcopal  Church  of  Leavenworth.  William  Dill,  also  a  member  of  the 
First  Methodist  Episcopal  Church,  secured  the  charter.  So  this  church 
may  be  considered  a  child  of  the  First  Methodist  Episcopal  Church. 

Jewish  Church. — From  their  first  arrival  in  the  city  here  the  Jews 
have  always  maintained  a  house  of  worship.  In  early  days  services  were 
held  in  a  building  which  stood  near  the  northwest  corner  of  Fifth  and 
Seneca  streets.  In  1866  a  synagogue  was  erected  on  the  southeast  corner 
of  Sixth  and  Osage  streets.  Col.  R.  N.  Hershfield,  a  resident  of  Kansas 
City.  Missouri,  is  the  only  living  charter  member  of  this  church  today. 
In  1916  this  synagogue  was  torn  down  and  a  new  temple  erected.  This 
structure  represents  a  cost  of  $35,000.00.  Recently  a  new  $2,500.00  pipe 
organ  was  installed. 

The  rabbis  who  have  officiated  in  the  old  as  well  as  the  new  temple 
since  1893  and  the  term  of  their  rectorship  is  as  follows:  Rabbi  Rosen- 
pitz,  1893-1894;  Rabbi  Samuel  Marks,  1894-1897;  Rabbi  Kornfelt,  1897- 
1898 ;  Rabbi  Zelonika,  1898-1899 ;  Rabbi  S.  Frey,  1899-1901 ;  Rabbi  Joseph 
Kahn,  1901-1904 ;  Rabbi  David  Liknaitz,  1904-1914 ;  Rabbi  H.  Elkins,  1915- 
1916;  Rabbi  J.  J.  Meyerovitz,  1918-1919;  and  Rabbi  Emil  Ellinger,  who 
has  charge  at  the  present  time. 

The  First  Presbyterian  Church  was  organized  January  1,  1856.  It 
was  the  first  white  Presbyterian  Church  organized  in  Kansas.  With  the 
(ID 


226  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

exception  of  the  Southern  Methodist  Church  it  was  the  first  religious 
organization  in  the  city  of  Leavenworth.  Rev.  C.  D.  Martin  presided  at 
the  organization,  and  the  following  were  among  the  first  members :  George 
I.  Park,  Sarah  Park,  John  I.  Moore,  Jane  Moore,  R.  R.  Kirkpatrick,  Eliza- 
beth A.  Kirkpatrick,  Margaret  Doyne,  John  D.  Ross,  Auley  McAuley,  Mary 
Douglas  and  John  R.  Rapp. 

Rev.  A.  W.  Pitzer,  of  Danville  Seminary,  was  the  first  pastor,  being 
called  in  May,  1857.  He  remained  the  pastor  until  1861,  when  he  resigned 
to  take  up  the  cause  of  the  South.  From  this  time  on  till  January  1, 
1863,  the  church  was  without  a  pastor.  On  this  date  William  S.  Sterrett 
became  the  pastor  and  remained  till  July,  1863.  On  August  6,  1863, 
George  S.  Woodward,  of  Parkville,  Missouri,  was  elected  pastor  and  re- 
mained till  December  18,  1867,  resigning  on  account  of  ill  health.  Under 
his  charge  the  church  became  prosperous  and  added  a  large  membership. 

The  first  church  building  was  erected  on  Miami  Street  between  Sixth 
and  Seventh  and  was  dedicated  in  July,  1857,  by  Rev.  J.  G.  Fackler,  of 
Liberty,  Missouri.  The  first  Sabbath  School  was  organized  August  23, 
1857,  with  six  teachers  and  eighteen  scholars. 

The  church  was  united  with  the  Westminster  Church  February  4, 

1867,  and  the  congregations  were  joined  on  March  5,  1867.     In  February, 

1868,  the  church  resumed  its  former  status  in  Odd  Fellows  Hall  and  Rev. 
William  L.  Green  was  chosen  pastor  May  24,  1868.  He  held  the  pastorate 
till  October,  1869.  William  R.  Brown  became  the  pastor  January  23, 
1870,  and  remained  till  January  27,  1873. 

In  1871  the  church  building  was  completed  on  Delaware  Street  be- 
tween Sixth  and  Seventh  on  the  north  side  and  was  dedicated  on  October 
22.  The  cost  including  the  ground  was  $20,000.  In  1879  a  large  and 
beautiful  chapel  was  built  holding  about  500  people.  Col.  J.  L.  Abernathy 
was  the  Sunday  School  superintendent  during  this  time.  The  Rev.  Wil- 
liam Alford,  of  the  Methodist  Church,  supplied  the  pulpit  for  a  short  time 
after  the  resignation  of  Rev.  Brown.  June  29,  1873,  Dr.  W.  N.  Page  was 
elected  pastor.  This  building  on  Delaware  Street  was  used  for  church 
purposes  till  January  1,  1909,  and  soon  afterwards  sold  to  the  Goodjohn 
Sash  and  Door  Company,  who  at  the  present  time  are  using  it  in  their 
business. 

The  present  church  building  at  the  southwest  corner  of  Fourth  and 
Walnut  streets  was  dedicated  January  1,  1909.  It  is  one  of  the  finest 
church  buildings  in  the  city.     The  cost,  including  the  manse  and  grounds, 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  227 

is  about  $80,000.  The  pipe  organ  cost  $7,000  and  was  donated  by  E.  P. 
Willson  and  family. 

Doctor  Page  continued  to  be  the  pastor  till  1905,  a  continuous  service 
of  thirty-two  years.  The  pastors  since  then  are  as  follows :  R.  A.  Elwood, 
1905-1908;  A.  H.  Morrison  (supply),  1908-1910;  R.  B.  A.  McBride,  1910- 
1915;  A.  B.  Miller,  1915-1921,  and  William  R.  Dodd,  February,  1921. 

The  following  are  some  of  the  elders  who  have  served  since  the  found- 
ing of  the  church :  A.  McAuley,  George  Park,  W.  C.  Yoakum,  C.  Carlysle, 
B.  Greenup,  Wilson  James,  George  M.  Burrell,  H.  D.  McCarthy,  Edward 
Russell,  E.  P.  Wilson,  J.  L.  Abernathy,  William  Merill,  D.  C.  Hawthorne, 

A.  Kirk,  R.  C.  Clement,  J.  C.  Lysle,  Ed  Burns,  C.  R.  Carpenter,  Lewis 
Mayo,  Alexander  Sharp,  W.  R.  McLaughery,  F.  Picketts,  E.  R.  Marquis, 
Eugene  Burt  and  C.  P.  Hollingsworth. 

The  following  are  the  official  boards:  Elders:  M.  B.  McCreary,  W.  F. 
Cobb,  E.  S.  Catlin,  H.  Peters,  George  Baker,  W.  C.  Yoakum,  R.  B.  Yoakum, 

B.  G.  Culver,  Dr.  D.  R.  Sterritt,  Albert  Kirk  and  D.  D.  Dickey.  Trustees : 
Homer  Cory,  Chairman;  Dr.  Charles  Brown,  H.  C.  Feller,  George  Geiger, 
W.  G.  Leavel,  Laun  Clark,  Louis  Vanderschmidt,  Eugene  Lysle,  Rev. 
Parsons,  I.  B.  Parmalee  and  Clarence  Chase. 

The  First  Congregational  Church  was  established  in  the  city  of  Leav- 
enworth in  1857.  Prior  to  this  and  in  the  year  1855  Rev.  J.  N.  Byrd 
had  settled  in  Kansas  Territory  and  in  the  vicinity  of  Leavenworth.  Rev. 
Byrd  was  an  ardent  Free  State  man  and  early  came  into  disrepute  with 
the  pro-slavery  factions,  who  did  not  hesitate  to  threaten  his  life  because 
of  his  opposition  to  them. 

In  November,  1857,  Rev.  R.  D.  Parker,  one  of  the  Kansas  Yale  Band 
of  Volunteers,  was  commissioned  by  the  Home  Missionary  Society  to  hold 
services  in  the  city  of  Leavenworth.  On  March  6,  1853,  articles  of  faith 
and  a  church  covenant  were  adopted  by  the  following  twenty-seven  per- 
sons, who  constituted  the  original  charter  members  of  the  church :  James 
Taylor,  Maria  Taylor,  C.  B.  Brace,  Harriet  N.  Brace,  Caroline  Williams, 
Samuel  Norton,  Elizabeth  Norton,  M.  S.  Adams,  Lizzie  C.  Adams,  G.  Mor- 
timer Lee,  J.  A.  Bullen,  Anna  M.  Bullen,  Anna  C.  Hastings,  S.  L.  North, 
Maria  J.  North,  A.  K.  Todd,  M.  P.  Purdy,  L.  A.  McRaw,  Lydia  E.  Wil- 
liams, G.  W.  Hogeboon,  John  C.  Douglas,  R.  D.  Parker,  Thomas  Todd, 
Susan  M.  Todd,  John  E.  Gould,  Adelia  Gould  and  Mrs.  Mary  Scott.  A 
council  of  churches  consisting  of  delegates  and  ministers  from  Lawrence, 
Topeka,  Quindaro  and  Grasshopper  Falls. 


228  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY 

In  the  autumn  of  1860  two  lots  were  purchased  on  the  northwest 
corner  of  Fifth  and  Delaware  streets  and  the  first  house  of  worship  of 
this  congregation  was  erected.  It  was  a  brick  edifice  42x60  feet  and  cost 
85,000.  Its  location  was  that  now  occupied  by  the  Wulfekuhler  Bank 
Building.  In  1863  a  pipe  organ  was  purchased  for  the  church  and  in- 
stalled and  is  to  this  day  in  use  by  the  church.  The  old  building  was 
yold  in  the  year  1887  and  a  location  at  the  northeast  corner  of  Fifth  and 
Walnut  streets  was  selected,  where  the  congregation  caused  to  be  erected 
the  present  church  building  at  a  cost  of  $30,000. 

The  following  is  a  list  of  the  ministers  of  the  First  Congregational 
Church  from  its  establishment  in  the  city  until  the  present  day  and  the 
periods  of  time  which  they  served  in  that  capacity:  Rev.  R.  D.  Parker, 
1857-1859;  Rev.  J.  D.  Leggett,  1859-1870;  Rev.  William  Kincaid,  1870- 
1876;  Rev.  Henry  L.  Hubbell,  1876-1877;  Rev.  J.  C.  Bodwell,  1877-1879; 
Rev.  W.  H.  Thomas,  1880-1885;  Rev.  Josiah  H.  Jenkins,  1885-1887;  Rev. 
Thomas  N.  Boss,  1888-1896 ;  Rev.  Charles  H.  Fenn,  1896-1900 ;  Rev.  Ralph 
Newman,  1900-1901;  Rev.  Charles  Connolly,  1901-1905;  Rev.  W.  E.  Hard- 
ing, 1905-1914,  and  Rev.  W.  F.  Butcher,  the  present  rector  of  the  church, 
has  served  since  1914  to  this  date. 

St.  Paul's  Episcopal  Church — The  first  effort  to  establish  a  parish  of 
the  Episcopal  Church  in  the  city  of  Leavenworth  occurred  in  November, 
1856,  when  Rev.  Hiram  Store  commenced  his  missionary  work  in  the  city. 
Later  and  on  December  10,  1856,  Rev.  Store  organized  the  St.  Paul's 
Church  of  this  city.  It  was  the  first  organized  Episcopal  parish  in  the 
territory  of  Kansas.  He  remained  as  pastor  of  the  church  from  1856 
unutil  1859.  This,  the  first  church  of  this  congregation,  was  consecrated 
on  November  1,  1858.  by  Bishop  Kemper.  The  consecration  of  this  churcn 
was  also  the  first  consecration  of  any  Episcopal  Church  in  the  Territory 
of  Kansas. 

The  location  chosen  for  this  church  was  or  at  least  proved  to  be  un- 
fortunate and  impeded  in  a  way  the  growth  of  the  parish.  In  October, 
1859,  the  Rev.  Store  resigned  the  rectorship  to  accept  a  chaplaincy  at 
Fort  Leavenworth. 

On  March  6,  1863,  the  Church  of  St.  Paul  was  reorganized  by  the 
adoption  of  a  constitution  and  the  election  of  wardens  and  a  vestry.  The 
Rev.  John  H.  Egal,  D.  D.,  was  called  to  the  rectorship.  Steps  were  at 
once  taken  to  erect  a  new  church  building.  Three  lots  were  purchased 
on  the  corner  of  Seventh  and  Seneca  streets  and  plans  for  the  erection  of 
a  building  that  would  seat  about  BOO  people  were  approved. 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY  229 

The  building  of  this  church  was  commenced  in  June,  1863,  and  on 
Sunday,  July  10,  1864,  the  first  services  were  held  there.  At  that  time 
the  number  of  communicants  reported  was  fifty-three.  At  this  date  there 
are  252  active  members. 

The  following  is  a  list  of  the  rectors :  Rev.  Hiram  Store,  1856-1859 ; 
Rev.  John  H.  Egal,  1863-1868;  Rev.  John  M.  Kendrick,  1868-1874;  Rev. 
Charles  S.  Daniel,  1876-1877;  Rev.  Thomas  W.  Barry,  1878-1883;  Rev. 
Charles  T.  Stout,  1884-1885;  Rev.  T.  C.  Tapper,  1886-1891;  Rev.  S.  B. 
Pond,  1891-1893;  Rev.  N.  S.  Thomas,  1894-1897;  Rev.  F.  N.  Atkins,  1898- 
1907;  Rev.  James  C.  Cameron,  1908-1910,  and  Rev.  R.  K.  Pooley,  from 
1911  until  this  date. 

Cathedral  of  Immaculate  Conception  and  Catholicy  in  Leavenworth. 
— Catholicy  in  Leavenworth  County  was  practically  bom  with  the  visit  of 
Rev.  Joseph  Anton  Lutz  to  Cantonment  Leavenworth,  September  18,  1828. 
Father  Lutz  had  been  sent  by  Bishop  Rosati,  first  bishop  of  St.  Louis  at 
that  time,  to  open  a  mission  among  the  Kansas  Indians.  His  visit  to  the 
northwestward  thirty-seven  miles  from  the  Kaw's  mouth  was  merely  an 
incident  of  his  labors  among  the  Kanzas.  A  few  years  later  Father  Roux* 
was  sent  by  Bishop  Rosati  to  the  mouth  of  the  Kansas  River  as  a  mis- 
sionary to  the  Kansas  Indians.  During  his  stay  there  he  made  numerous 
visits  to  the  Kickapoo  Indians,  then  living  to  the  northwest  of  the  present 
government  reservation  and  near  and  about  the  little  village  of  Kickapoo. 
In  a  letter  under  date  of  January  20,  1834,  Father  Roux  wrote  Bishop 
Rosati  relative  to  the  Kickapoos  as  follows: 

"The  Kickapoo  prophet  has  two  very  docile  sons,  who,  like  their 
father,  show  themselves  very  favorably  inclined  toward  religion.  Con- 
cerning that  nation  I  could  tell  you  very  many  fine  things  which  I  have 
heard  with  my  own  ears  and  seen  with  my  own  eyes.  They  pray  every 
day,  morning  and  night  and  before  meals;  they  sanctify  Sunday  as  we 
do  and  spend  it  entirely  in  prayer.  They  do  not  swear  or  wage  war, 
nor  lie,  nor  have  more  than  one  wife;  they  believe  in  Heaven,  Purgatory 
and  Hell,  honor  the  Blessed  Virgin  and  the  Saints,  etc.  I  should  never 
finish  were  I  to  tell  you  all  the  edifying  things  I  saw  among  them." 

In  1836  a  Catholic  Mission  was  opened  among  the  Kickapoo  Indians 
at  Kickapoo  by  Rev.  Charles  Van  Quickenborne.  Through  Father  Van 
Quickenborne's  solicitations  at  Washington  the  sum  of  $500  a  year  had 
been  allowed  for  the  maintenance  of  the  mission.  Funds  for  the  erection 
of  the  various  buildings  had  been  solicited  by  the  reverend  father  in 


230  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

different  eastern  cities.  With  these  funds  a  building  was  erected  and  a 
chapel,  which  was  dedicated  to  St.  Francis  Xavier.  This  was  the  first 
Catholic  place  of  worship  in  the  Missouri  Valley.  It  was  not  until  1920 
that  the  last  of  the  old  mission  building  was  completely  torn  down.  The 
land  where  it  formerly  stood  now  belongs  to  0.  M.  Spencer. 

In  1837  Father  Van  Quickenborne  was  summoned  from  the  mission 
and  the  next  priest  to  become  Father  Superior  was  Rev.  Christian  Hoecken, 
S.  J.  On  June  21,  1851,  Father  Hoecken  died  while  aboard  a  river  steam- 
boat near  Council  Bluffs,  Iowa,  from  cholera,  which  he  had  contracted 
from  a  passenger  to  whom  he  had  ministered.  Rev.  Anthony  Eysbogels 
then  became  Father  Superior  of  the  Kickapoo  Mission. 

Up  to  1850  the  Indian  missions  of  the  Missouri  Valley  were  subject 
to  the  See  of  St.  Louis,  when  the  Holy  See  erected  the  Vicariate  Apostolic 
of  the  Indian  Territory  East  of  the  Rocky  Mountains  and  appointed  the 
Rt.  Rev.  J.  B.  Miege  Vicar  Apostolic.  The  Vicariate  Apostolic  over  which 
Bishop  Miege  ruler  as  spiritual  adviser  extended  from  the  Kansas  River 
at  it's  mouth  to  the  British  possessions  on  the  north  and  from  the  Mis- 
souri River  west  to  the  Rocky  Mountains.  Bishop  Miege  made  Potto- 
watomie  Mission,  which  later  developed  into  St.  Mary's  College,  his  place 
of  residence. 

In  1853  Bishop  Miege  visited  Rome.  Upon  his  return  he  found  that 
Kansas  had  been  opened  to  white  settlers  and  that  several  promising 
towns  had  sprung  up  in  the  territory,  the  most  promising  of  which  he 
believed  to  be  Leavenworth.  On  May  15,  1855,  he  visited  here  and  cele- 
brated mass  and  on  the  same  day  fixed  this  city  as  his  permanent  residence. 

Shortly  after  this  Bishop  Miege  purchased  some  ground  near  the 
present  site  of  the  Cathedral  and  a  temporary  frame  building  24x40  feet 
was  erected  to  be  used  for  church  purposes.  Two  years  later  Bishop 
Miege  had  a  larger  building  40x100  feet  erected,  dedicating  it  to  the 
Immaculate  Conception  of  the  Blessed  Virgin  Mary. 

In  1864  Bishop  Miege  projected  the  erection  of  a  cathedral.  The 
corner  stone  for  the  cathedral  as  it  stands  today  was  laid  in  September, 
1864.     December  8,  1868,  the  cathedral  was  ready  for  dedication. 

The  dedication  ceremonial  was  attended  by  many  distinguished  pre- 
lates. Among  them  was  the  Most  Rev.  R.  P.  Kendrick,  Archbishop  of  St. 
Louis;  the  Rt.  Rev.  John  Hennessey,  Bishop  of  Duquesne;  the  Rt.  Rev. 
James  O'Gorman,  Vicar  Apostolic  of  Nebraska,  and  the  Rt.  Rev.  J.  J. 
Hogan,  of  St.  Joseph.     The  sermon  in  the  morning  was  delivered  by  Rt. 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  231 

Rev.  John  Hennessey,  while  that  in  the  evening  was  delivered  by  Rev.  P. 
J.  Ryan,  later  Archbishop  of  Philadelphia. 

There  is  a  conflict  of  opinion  among  historians  as  to  when,  where  and 
by  whom  the  first  mass  was  celebrated  within  the  city  of  Leavenworth. 
Andreas  in  his  "History  of  Kansas"  states  that  it  was  celebrated  by 
Bishop  Miege  in  the  house  of  a  Mrs.  Quinn  in  1854.  The  late  H.  Miles 
Moore  in  his  "Early  History  of  Leavenworth  City  and  County"  holds  that 
the  first  Catholic  mass  was  celebrated  in  the  early  summer  of  1855  by 
the  Rev.  Father  Fish,  of  Weston,  Missouri,  at  the  home  of  Andy  Quinn 
on  the  south  side  of  Shawnee  Street  between  Second  and  Third  streets, 
where  a  bureau  was  pressed  into  service  as  an  altar. 

The  first  pastor  of  the  Cathedral  parish  was  Father  Heiman.  He 
officiated  until  1864,  being  assisted  by  Rev.  James  DeFouri  and  the  Jesuit 
Fathers.  After  that  time  the  following  ministers  have  held  the  pastorate 
of  the  parish:  Rev.  Paul  Ponsiglioni,  S.  J.;  Rev.  Father  Coghlan,  S.  J.; 
Rev.  Father  Corbett,  S.  J. ;  Rev.  Father  Schultz,  S.  J. ;  Rev.  Father  Panken, 
S.  J. ;  Rev.  Ambrose  Butler,  S.  J. ;  Rev.  William  Fitzgerald ;  Rev.  James 
DeFouri,  V.  G. ;  Rev.  James  O'Reilly;  Rev.  John  B.  McCune;  Rev.  John 
Cunningham ;  Rev.  Father  Ward,  and  Rev.  B.  S.  Kelly,  who  is  at  present 
rector  and  dean  of  the  Cathedral  Parish. 

Easton  Catholic  Church. — The  pioneer  Catholic  family  of  Leaven- 
worth County  was  that  of  Pensoneau,  who  dwelt  on  Stranger  Creek.  The 
name  of  Lawrence  Pensoneau  appears  in  the  letters  of  the  first  mission- 
aries to  this  region.  He  was  an  agent  for  the  American  Fur  Company, 
which  was  largely  controlled  by  the  Catholic  Chouteau  family,  one  mem- 
ber of  which  founded  St.  Louis  and  another  of  which  was  largely  instru- 
mental in  the  founding  of  Kansas  City.  The  records  as  far  back  as  the 
early  thirties  of  the  last  century  found  in  the  "Kickapoo  Register,"  which 
is  now  kept  at  St.  Mary's,  Kansas,  among  the  first  marriages  and  bap- 
tisms the  name  of  Pensoneau. 

After  Bishop  Miege  was  constituted  Vicar  Apostolic  of  all  Indian 
missionary  work  east  of  the  Rocky  Mountains,  he  sent  the  Rev.  Ambrose 
T.  Butler  to  the  settlers  on  Stranger  Creek  in  the  vicinity  of  Easton  in 
the  year  1854.  Among  the  other  priests  that  were  later  sent  there  were 
the  Rev.  Bernard  Hayden,  and  Rev.  Sylvester  Meehan.  The  latter  is  now 
at  Everest,  Kansas.     Father  Hayden  has  been  dead  for  a  number  of  years. 

In  1889  the  Rev.  Francis  Taton  was  appointed  to  Easton  and  outlying 
missions  then  comprising  Springdale  and  St.  Joseph's  at  Mount  Olivet. 


232  HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY 

Father  Taton  completed  a  beautiful  stone  church  at  Springdale  in  1893. 
He  built  the  present  St.  Joseph's  Church  at  Mount  Olivet  also.  The  pres- 
ent pastor  at  the  Mount  Olivet  Church  is  Rev.  A.  Grootaers,  who  having 
built  the  present  parish  house  adjoining  the  church  moved  there  from 
Easton  to  become  the  first  resident  pastor  of  the  St.  Joseph's  of  the  Valley 
Church.  He  was  succeeded  at  Easton  by  Rev.  Father  Fisher,  now  at 
Tonganoxie,  Kansas.  The  next  pastor  at  Easton  to  follow  Father  Fisher 
was  Father  Lercke,  who  was  forced  to  leave  on  account  of  ill  health  and 
died  later  in  California.  His  successor  was  Rev.  J.  A.  Laczniak,  who  is 
now  pastor  at  the  St.  Casimer's  Catholic  Church  of  Leavenworth.  Father 
Lacznizk's  predecessor  at  St.  Casimer's  was  sent  to  Easton,  where  he  built 
the  present  beautiful  brick  church  of  Roman  style.  He  also  furnished 
the  church  with  a  beautiful  altar  and  stations  and  a  large  bell. 

The  Rev.  Stephen  F.  Healy,  who  is  at  the  present  time  pastor  of  the 
St.  Lawrence  Church  at  Easton,  is  a  zealous  young  priest  who  is  well 
pleased  with  the  generous  co-operation  of  his  parishoners  in  religious 
work.  He  is  contemplating  the  erection  of  a  new  rectory  in  the  near 
future. 

The  Kickapoo  Catholic  Church,  known  as  the  Sacred  Heart  Church 
of  Kickapoo,  has  an  interesting  history.  The  settlers  of  Kickapoo  and 
vicinity  were  among  the  very  first  in  the  county  of  Leavenworth  as  well 
as  the  territory  of  Kansas.  Among  them  were  a  number  of  devout 
Catholics.  Bishop  Miege,  after  establishing  his  residence  in  the  city  of 
Leavenworth,  furnished  the  parish  and  vicinity  with  the  services  of  a 
priest  who  at  first  was  required  to  say  mass  in  private  residences  in  the 
neighborhood,  the  Catholic  mission  houses  at  the  place  having  been  aban- 
doned. For  a  number  of  years  the  Catholic  families  of  the  vicinity  were 
forced  to  do  without  a  church,  owing  to  the  bigotry  of  the  Kickapoo  Town 
Company,  who  blocked  every  effort  on  the  part  of  the  Catholics  to  get 
ground  on  which  to  build  a  church.  At  length  a  tract  of  land  was  donated 
to  the  Catholics  to  be  used  for  church  purposes  by  Theodore  Meyers,  an 
early  day  resident  of  the  city  and  community  and  a  church  was  built. 

The  priests  of  St.  Joseph's  Church  were  among  the  first  to  go  to 
Kickapoo.  Among  the  pastors  of  the  church  were  Rev.  M.  Huhn,  Rev. 
J.  Hurley,  Rev.  James  O'Reilly,  Rev.  T.  H.  Kinsella,  Rev.  J.  A.  Shorter, 
Rev.  A.  Jennings,  Rev.  T.  J.  McCaul  and  Rev.  J.  M.  Dougherty  It  was 
during  Father  Kinsella's  pastorate  that  the  old  frame  church  originally 
built  was  remodeled.  A  vestibule  was  added  to  it  during  Father  Shorter' s 
term  as  pastor. 


HISTORY   OF   LE.WENWORTH    COUNTY  233 

When  Father  Dougherty  was  in  charge  he  found  it  necessary  to  build 
a  larger  and  better  church.  It  was  during  his  term  as  pastor  that  the 
beautiful  brick  church  was  erected  that  stands  there  today.  After  Father 
Dougherty  considered  that  all  his  time  should  be  taken  up  with  the  church 
at  the  fort,  the  Rt.  Rev.  Bishop  Ward  placed  the  care  of  the  Kickapoo 
Church  under  that  of  the  cathedral  clergy.  Rev.  B.  S.  Kelly  being  rector 
there,  the  Rev.  Thomas  McNamara,  assistant  at  the  cathedral,  usually 
held  divine  services  at  the  Kickapoo  Church.  He  built  there  a  modern 
two-story  brick  rectory  and  was  appointed  resident  pastor.  Upon  Rev. 
Father  McNamara's  being  transferred  to  Blaine,  Kansas,  the  Rev.  R.  B. 
Groener  was  appointed  resident  pastor  at  Kickapoo.  Father  Groener  at 
the  present  time  has  complete  charge  of  the  Kickapoo  parish. 

The  Catholic  Church  at  Hoge. — The  priests  stationed  in  Leavenworth 
did  not  neglect  any  of  the  Catholic  families  even  though  they  lived  miles 
away  during  the  early  days.  There  being  a  number  of  Catholic  families 
living  in  the  community  now  known  as  Hoge  during  the  early  days  of 
statehood,  a  congregation  was  organized  there  by  Rev.  Aloysius  Laigneil, 
S.  J.,  who  resided  at  the  cathedral  in  1866,  and  a  church  was  built  and 
placed  under  the  invocation  of  the  Holy  Angels.  One  year  following  this, 
Rev.  Laigneil  was  succeeded  in  the  pastorate  by  Rev.  Ambrose  Butler, 
who  before  the  end  of  the  year  1867  was  replaced  by  Rev.  Joseph  Perrier, 
who  remained  four  years. 

The  rectors  of  the  Holy  Angels'  Church  at  Hoge  from  1871  to  1874 
were  the  following:  Rev.  John  Murphy,  Rev.  M.  J.  Dougherty  and  Rev. 
P.  J.  Tuit.  In  1874  Rev.  Ambrose  Butler  returned  and  remained  until 
1875.  His  successor  at  Hoge  was  the  Rev.  John  Leary.  He  remained 
there  as  rector  until  1879. 

The  next  rectors  at  Hoge  in  the  succession  in  which  they  held  the 
pastorate  were  as  follows:  Rev.  Michael  Browne,  Rev.  Bernard  Hayden, 
Rev.  Michael  Harrigan,  Rev.  Peter  Bishop,  Rev.  James  McNamee,  Rev. 
Patrick  Shields,  Rev.  M.  D.  Cavanaugh,  Rev.  P.  J.  Kennedy,  Rev.  Sylvester 
Meehan,  Rev.  Eugene  Dekat  and  Rev.  Thomas  J.  McCaul.  The  Revs. 
James  McNamee  and  Thomas  J.  McCaul  died  while  at  Hoge  in  charge  of 
the  prison  there. 

The  present  pastor,  Father  Twomey,  has  replaced  the  old  stone  church 
with  a  handsome  brick  edifice  in  the  Roman  style  and  dedicated  the  new 
church  to  St.  Patrick.  The  altar  and  other  interior  furnishings  are  very 
beautiful  and  are  in  keeping  with  the  architecture.     A  Catholic  Cemetery 


234  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY 

adjoins  the  church  in  which  many  of  the  pioneer  Catholics  of  this  com- 
munity have  long  since  been  laid  to  rest.  A  beautiful  monument  has 
been  erected  in  the  cemetery  by  the  members  of  the  parish  in  honor  of 
the  Rev.  James  McNamee,  who  died  at  Hoge  attending  his  parish. 

The  Catholic  Church  at  Lansing  was  originally  located  at  the  city  of 
Old  Delaware,  which  stood  about  two  miles  east  of  the  present  site  of 
Lansing.  It  was  dedicated,  when  built,  which  was  at  an  early  date  when 
Delaware  was  making  a  strong  bid  for  city  supremacy  in  Leavenworth 
County,  to  St.  Francis  de  Sales. 

Father  Downey,  who  was  succeeded  at  the  fort  parish  and  also  in 
the  mission  in  Delaware  Township  by  Rev.  John  Hurley,  had  made  nu- 
merous attempts  to  secure  a  site  for  a  church  in  the  city  of  Lansing 
without  avail.  Father  Kinsella,  who  succeeded  Rev.  John  Hurley  at  the 
Delaware  Mission,  bought  the  ground  in  Lansing  on  which  the  Catholic 
Church  of  that  place  now  stands  and  had  the  small  church  building  which 
was  standing  on  the  present  site  of  old  Delaware  moved  -to  the  new 
location. 

In  1888  Father  Kinsella  was  succeeded  as  rector  of  the  Lansing 
Church  by  the  Rev.  E.  Coolen,  who  is  now  in  the  Wichita  Diocese.  In  1890 
the  Rev.  H.  Eummellen  had  charge  of  the  Delaware  Mission  for  a  period 
of  about  five  months.  During  their  rectorship  there  Fathers  Coolen  and 
Eummellen  visited  the  Kansas  Penitentiary  and  said  mass  each  month. 
They  also  had  charge  of  the  Holy  Epiphany  Church  while  there.  Father 
Shorter  succeeded  them,  having  in  addition  the  Kickapoo  Mission  and  the 
St.  John's  Hospital. 

Following  Father  Shorter  the  Rev.  J.  Heuberger  was  appointed  chap- 
lain of  the  St.  Vincent's  Home  and  was  also  given  charge  of  the  St.  Francis 
de  Sales  parish  at  Lansing.  When  he  received  an  appointment  in  Miami 
County,  Father  Shorter  was  succeeded  by  Rev.  J.  W.  Gormley,  who  was 
in  turn  succeeded  by  Rev.  Patrick  Smith.  It  was  during  the  rectorship 
of  Father  Smith  that  a  building  fund  was  collected.  Father  Smith's  suc- 
cessor increased  this  fund  and  during  the  rectorship  of  Father  McManus, 
who  succeeded  Father  Smith,  and  the  Rev.  F.  A.  Geinitz,  who  in  turn 
succeeded  him,  this  fund  had  reached  such  proportions  that  Father  Gein- 
itz decided  that  instead  of  erecting  a  new  building  the  addition  of  a 
transept  with  other  changes  would  answer  the  immediate  needs  of  the 
parish.  Alterations  and  improvements  were  accordingly  made.  Stained 
glass  windows,  new  pews  and  a  furnace  were  installed.     During  this  time 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  235 

Father  R.  B.  Groener,  who  had  been  away  on  account  of  ill  health,  re- 
turned from  Wyoming.  He  was  shortly  after  his  return  appointed  by 
Bishop  Ward,  chaplain  of  St.  Vincent's  Home  and  rector  of  St.  Francis 
de  Sales  Church  at  Lansing.  When  Father  Groener  was  transferred  to 
the  Sacred  Heart  Church  at  Kickapoo  he  was  succeeded  at  Lansing  by 
Father  O'Farrell.  The  Rev.  Father  Malloy  succeeded  Father  O'Farrell 
at  St.  Francis  de  Sales  and  is  in  charge  there  at  the  present  time. 

Tonganoxie  Catholic  Church. — The  Catholics  in  the  Tonganoxie  com- 
munity were  visited  in  the  early  days  of  the  county  by  Rev.  Louis  Guen- 
ther,  0.  C.  C,  and  other  priests  of  the  neighboring  missions. 

When  St.  Patrick's  Church  at  Hoge  received  a  resident  priest  in 
Father  McCaul,  he  and  his  successors  there  attended  Tonganoxie  as  a 
mission. 

The  Rev.  O.  E.  Degan,  Rev.  J.  A.  Budrean  and  Rev.  E.  Fischer,  who 
is  now  pastor  at  Holy  Family  Church  at  Tonganoxie,  have  succeeded  one 
another  as  resident  priests  of  the  church  at  Tonganoxie. 

The  Sisters  of  Charity,  of  Nazareth,  was  founded  by  a  priest  by  the 
name  of  John  Baptist  Mary  David,  who  came  to  America  from  France 
with  the  future  Bishop  Flaget,  whose  coadjutor  he  became  in  Bardstown, 
Kentucky.  Their  first  school  was  opened  there  in  1819.  Their  rule  was 
founded  after  that  of  St.  Vincent  de  Paul. 

In  1841  the  nucleus  of  a  new  community  went  to  Nashville,  Tennes- 
see for  educational  and  charitable  work.  In  1858  the  Nashville  com- 
munity was  invited  to  Leavenworth  by  Bishop  Miege,  who  afterward 
always  considered  this  one  of  the  greatest  things  he  had  done  for  Kansas. 
The  first  Sister  Superior  here  for  the  Sisters  was  Mother  Francis  Xavier. 
Around  this  most  amiable  personage  there  is  woven  a  wealth  of  history 
and  romance  that  essences  of  the  most  beautiful  thought.  She  was  born 
November  13,  1813,  in  Cincinnati,  Ohio,  of  Protestant  parentage,  her 
father  being  a  Methodist  minister.  On  her  first  entering  the  Novitiate 
at  Nazareth,  her  father  came  after  her  and  forced  her  to  return  home. 
There  was  no  objection  on  the  part  of  her  mother  to  her  taking  up  her 
chosen  work,  and  shortly  afterward  she  escaped  from  home  and  again 
returned  to  the  Sisters  of  Nazareth.  The  mother  of  Sister  Xavier  wrote 
kindly  and  frequently  to  the  convert  daughter,  but  the  father  remained 
bitter  toward  the  daughter  to  the  end  of  his  life.  After  finishing  her 
novitiate  Sister  Xavier  was  sent  to  Louisville,  Kentucky,  where  she  had 
charge  of  an  orphanage  for  a  time.     In  1853  she  was  sent  to  Nashville, 


236  HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

Tennessee,  from  which  place  she  came  to  Leavenworth  in  1858.  Sister 
Xavier  died  April  2,  1895,  being  at  the  time  of  her  death  over  eighty-one 
years  of  age. 

Soon  after  their  arrival  in  Leavenworth  the  Sisters  began  teaching 
in  two  small  frame  buildings.  In  1860  a  boarding  school  was  opened  in 
a  rented  building,  but  shortly  after  this  Bishop  Miege  erected  an  academy, 
to  which  girls  were  sent  from  neighboring  territories.  A  novitiate  was 
approved  by  the  Rt.  Rev.  Bishop  Miege  and  the  Sisters  began  receiving 
candidates  for  the  Sisterhood.  In  1868  St.  Mary's  Female  Academy,  con- 
ducted by  the  Sisters  of  Charity  of  St.  Vincent  de  Paul  of  Leavenworth, 
Kansas,  was  incorporated  under  the  state  laws  of  the  State  of  Kansas, 
and  thereafter  conferred  diplomas  of  graduation  on  those  who  had  finished 
satisfactorily  the  academy's  course  of  studies. 

Mount  St.  Mary's  Academy. — In  1868  it  was  found  necessary  to  plan 
a  larger  building  than  the  Sisters  then  had  for  a  mother-house  of  the 
Leavenworth  Sisters.  On  April  30,  1868,  the  foundation  of  the  present 
Mount  St.  Mary's  Academy  south  of  the  city  of  Leavenworth  was  com- 
menced. In  a  short  time  the  sisters  obtained  thirty-five  acres  of  ground 
which  has  been  increased  by  later  purchases.  James  A.  McGonigale  re- 
ceived the  contract  for  building  the  academy.  The  architecture  is  of  the 
Italian  order  and  the  academy  as  it  now  stands  is  one  of  the  finest  educa- 
tional institutions  in  the  country. 

The  completed  building  was  occupied  by  the  sisters  in  1870.  Before 
it  was  completed  the  sisters  found  themselves  short  of  funds.  A  loan  of 
$25,000.00  was  secured  through  a  St.  Louis  bank,  which  enabled  them  to 
properly  equip  and  furnish  the  building. 

With  the  exception  of  three  terms  of  office  held  by  Mother  Vincent. 
Mother  Xavier  was  Superior  of  the  Leavenworth  Sisters  until  1877,  when 
Mother  Josephine  Cantwell  was  elected.  Mother  Cantwell  was  very  effi- 
cient in  paying  off  the  debt  of  the  property.  In  1886  she  was  succeeded 
in  the  office  of  Mother  Superior  by  Sr.  Josepha  Sullivan,  who  secured  a 
second  state  charter  for  the  community  in  1892.  In  1890  the  erection 
of  a  handsome  addition  conformable  in  style  to  the  original  building  was, 
begun.  The  addition  comprises  the  spacious  chapel  of  the  Annunciation. 
It  was  dedicated  by  the  Rt.  Rev.  L.  M.  Fink,  O.  S.  B.  D.  D.,  December  6, 
1894.  Buildings  equal  to  those  described  have  since  been  added.  Xavier 
Hall  has  a  seating  capacity  of  500.  The  new  Annunciation  Chapel  is  a 
fine  specimen  of  the  Basilica  style.     Its  fine  marble  altars  and  its  paint- 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  237 

ings  including  the  stations  are  works  of  art.  The  teaching  staff  is  well 
equipped  to  give  the  students  a  thorough  academic  education.  At  the 
present  time  there  are  over  100  students  enrolled. 

The  Sisters  cf  Charity  also  conduct  the  parochial  schools  in  the 
cathedral  parish,  Sacred  Heart  parish,  and  St.  Joseph's  parish.  The  pupils 
in  these  three  schools  number  about  600.  They  also  act  as  teachers  in 
the  Leavenworth  Catholic  High  School,  which  has  over  100  pupils  en- 
rolled. 

St.  Vincent's  Home. — It  was  the  desire  of  Bishop  Miege,  once  the 
Sisters  of  Charity  were  located  in  Leavenworth,  to  establish  an  Orphan's 
Home  or  Asylum.  Accordingly  a  fair  was  held  under  the  direction  of 
Bishop  Miege  in  1862  and  from  the  proceeds,  which  amounted  to  $7,000.00, 
a  neat  two-story  brick  building  was  erected  before  the  end  of  the  year. 
It  was  located  on  Kickapoo  Street  and  it  was  here  that  the  orphans  of 
Leavenworth  received  a  home  under  the  charge  of  the  Leavenworth 
Sisters  of  Charity. 

The  Orphanage  was  later  removed  to  its  present  location  by  Bishop 
Fink.  The  building  erected  by  Bishop  Fink  was  improved  and  enlarged 
by  Bishop  Lillis  and  more  land  was  added.  At  the  present  time  accom- 
modations can  be  furnished  100  children. 

St.  John's  Hospital. — Another  and  one  of  the  most  valuable  of  insti- 
tutions which  was  built  and  conducted  by  the  Sisters  of  Charity  in  the 
city  of  Leavenworth  was  St.  John's  Hospital.  This  was  opened  by  the 
Sisters  March  15,  1864.     At  that  time  it  was  the  only  hospital  in  Kansas. 

The  first  Sister  Superior  of  the  hospital  was  Sister  Joanna.  Several 
times  the  old  building  was  improved  and  remodeled  and  in  1911  the  hos- 
pital was  entirely  reconstructed  and  modernized  so  as  to  make  its  equip- 
ment equal  to  the  best.  At  the  present  time  it  has  a  capacity  of  seventy- 
five  beds.  It  has  a  training  school  and  a  maternity  department.  The 
hospital  affords  every  facility  for  diagnosis  and  for  medical  and  surgical 
operations,  including  an  operating  room  with  every  modern  improvement. 

St.  John's  has  an  "open  staff"  of  physicians,  so  that  any  reputable 
physician  can  attend  his  patients  that  may  be  there.  It  has  done  a  great 
deal  of  charity  work  and  is  now  well  patronized.  Its  doors  are  open 
to  all  colors  and  creeds. 

St.  Joseph's  Church,  Leavenworth. — When  the  Rt.  Rev.  Louis  Mary 
Fink  was  consecrated  Bishop  of  Eucarpia  as  coadjutor  to  Bishop  Miege 
his  first  public  function  in  Kansas  was  the  consecration  of  St.  Joseph's 


238  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

Church  at  Leavenworth  on  June  16,  1871.  Bishop  Miege  himself  cele- 
brated the  solemn  high  mass. 

In  the  year  1858  Rev.  Casimer  Seitz,  0.  B.,  who  was  the  first  priest 
ordained  by  the  Rt.  Rev.  Bishop  Miege  in  Leavenworth,  erected  a  frame 
building  two  stories  in  height  to  answer  the  parochial  requirements  of  a 
new  parish  in  Leavenworth  for  the  Catholic  Germans.  A  Catholic  school 
was  also  instituted  shortly  afterward.  Father  Casimer  Seitz  was  suc- 
ceeded by  the  Rev.  Father  Fisch,  who  said  the  first  mass  there  on  June  13, 
1855.  Father  Aloys  Mayer  had  charge  of  the  parish  in  1859.  In  1863 
Rev.  Anthony  Kuhls,  who  is  now  Monsignore,  and  who  after  leaving 
Leavenworth  was  pastor  at  St.  Mary's,  Kansas  City,  Kansas,  for  forty- 
four  years,  assisted  Father  Fisch  and  when  the  latter  was  forced  through 
ill  health  to  retire  Father  Kuhls  took  charge  of  the  parish  until  October, 
1864. 

Father  Kuhls  was  succeeded  at  this  parish  by  the  Revs.  Cyril  Knoll 
and  Xavier  Huber,  two  Carmelite  Fathers,  who  had  come  during  the  early 
part  of  the  year  1864  from  Germany.  The  Rev.  Father  Heimann,  who 
was  the  first  secular  priest  in  the  vicariate  and  who  was  the  first  priest 
with  Bishop  Miege  in  Leavenworth,  with  the  exception  of  Father  Fisch, 
joined  the  Carmelites  in  1865,  as  well  as  did  Rev.  Father  Louis  Guenther. 
Subsequent  to  his  joining  this  order  Father  Heimann  was  known  as  Father 
Albert,  O.  C.  C.  It  was  Father  Albert  that  built  the  beautiful  St.  Joseph's 
Church  which  was  consecrated  by  Bishop  Fink  on  Corpus  Christi,  1871. 
Father  Louis,  0.  C.  C,  succeeded  Father  Albert  as  rector  of  this  parish 
and  during  his  incumbency  built  the  three  story  parish  house. 

In  1882  the  Rev.  Father  Bernard  Fink,  0.  C.  C,  became  rector  of 
the  parish.  He  remained  until  1887,  when  he  was  succeeded  by  the  Rev. 
Otto  Wiedeman,  who  added  the  transepts  to  the  church  and  had  the  in- 
teriors decorated.  In  1890  Father  Leo  Vanden  Heuvel  took  charge  of  the 
pastorate.  During  his  pastoral  administration  the  new  stations  in  bas 
relief  were  donated  in  memory  of  the  Mergen  de  Leglise  families.  The 
"Sorrowful  Mother"  of  "Pieta"  in  heroic  size  was  also  added  for  the  de- 
votion of  the  congregation.  Chime  bells  were  also  hung  in  the  tower, 
which  were  blessed  by  the  Rt.  Rev.  Bishop  Fink. 

In  1895  the  Rev.  Father  Louis  Guenther  returned  and  a  little  later 
the  corner  stone  for  a  new  school  building  was  laid.  The  dedication  took 
place  on  the  Feast  of  the  Patronage  of  St.  Joseph,  April  26,  1896,  the  Rev. 
Father  Aloysius  Bradley,  0.  S.  B.,  preaching  the  dedication  sermon.     In 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  239 

May,  1896,  the  new  brick  building  two  stories  in  height  was  ready  for 
occupancy  and  200  children  find  ample  accommodation  there.  The  Rev. 
Father  Ferdinand  Vander  Stay,  who  had  been  assisting  Father  Louis 
Guenther,  was  placed  in  charge  of  the  pastorate  when  ill  health  forced 
Father  Louis  to  retire.  During  the  latter  part  of  the  year  1903  he  died 
here  and  was  buried  from  the  St.  Joseph's  Church,  the  Rt.  Rev.  Bishop' 
Fink  officiating  at  his  funeral  and  Father  Beck,  of  Argentine,  preaching 
an  interesting  sermon. 

In  1903  Father  Sebastian  Urnauer,  O.  C.  C,  became  pastor  of  St. 
Joseph's  parish.  He  made  many  valuable  improvements  in  the  church 
and  schools.  He  was  succeeded  in  1906  by  Father  Ferdinand,  who  had 
been  his  predecessor.  Father  Ferdinand  had  the  church  refrescoed  and 
repaired  in  many  ways  in  preparation  of  the  parish's  Golden  Jubilee,  which 
was  held  May  the  10th  to  12th,  1908.  Pontifical  High  Mass  was  cele- 
brated on  the  first  day  by  Bishop  T.  F.  Lillis,  of  Leavenworth;  on  the 
second  day  by  Bishop  Cunningham,  of  Concordia,  and,  on  the  third  day 
by  Rt.  Rev.  Abbot  Innocent  Wolf,  Abbot  of  St.  Benedict's,  Atchison,  Kan- 
sas. Shortly  after  this  Father  Ferdinand  was  called  east  and  Father 
Sebastian  was  again  placed  in  charge.  Father  Sebstian  was  succeeded 
by  Father  Peter,  O.  C.  C,  who  served  two  terms  of  three  years  each,  and 
he  was  succeeded  by  Father  Angela  Lager,  the  present  pastor,  who  is 
assisted  by  Rev.  Xavier  Tynan,  O.  C.  C. 

St.  Joseph's  Benevolent  Society  was  organized  in  this  parish  in  Octo- 
ber, 1859.  On  October  20,  1879,  P.  C.  Becker  instituted  the  first  branch 
of  the  Catholic  Mutual  Benevolent  Association  in  Kansas  at  this  parish. 
A  Young  Ladies  Sodality  of  the  Blessed  Virgin  was  organized  in  the 
parish  in  1871  by  Rev.  Father  Albert  Heimann.  The  Society  of  Christian 
Mothers,  The  Young  Men's  Casino  and  the  L.  C.  B.  A.  are  also  flourishing 
organizations  of  the  St.  Joseph's  parish. 

On  December  10,  1903,  Bishop  Fink  dedicated  the  new  chapel  under 
the  title  of  Our  Lady  of  Lourdes.  In  the  city  Father  Shorter  has  built 
a  school  west  of  the  Holy  Epiphany  Church  at  a  cost  of  $5,000.00  and 
a  roomy  two-story  building  to  the  east  of  the  church  as  a  home  for  the 
Oblate  Sisters  and  dependent  colored  girls,  where  they  are  given  needed 
care  and  attention. 

Father  Shorter  is  still  in  charge  of  the  colored  mission  work  in 
Leavenworth  and  of  the  prisoners  in  the  penitentiary  here  after  a  period 
of  more  than  thirty  years.  In  1909  Rev.  Thomas  F.  Lillis  appointed 
Father  Shorter  Vicar  General  of  Leavenworth. 


240  HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH^.  COUNTY 

Holy  Epiphany  Church  owes  its  origin  to  the  zeal  of  Rev.  M.  Huhn, 
who,  encouraged  by  Bishop  Fink,  collected  in  the  diocese  the  sum  neces- 
sary for  the  building  of  the  church.  The  cornerstone  of  the  structure 
was  laid  September  29,  1878,  and  it  was  dedicated  August  20,  1879.  It 
was  the  first  Catholic  Church  west  of  St.  Louis  built  for  a  colored  congre- 
gation and  the  first  confirmation  services  were  conducted  there  by  Bishop 
Fink  November  15,  1878. 

It  was  through  Father  Huhn's  efforts  that  a  Guardian  Angel's  Home, 
one  of  the  very  first  institutions  in  the  country  for  the  care  of  homeless 
colored  boys,  was  begun.  In  1887  he  transferred  this  institution  to  Texas. 
In  1889,  however,  the  Colored  Orphan's  Home  was  reorganized  by  the 
Oblate  Sisters  of  Baltimore. 

Before  the  arrival  of  Father  Shorter  in  1890,  Rev.  E.  Coolen  and 
the  Rev.  H.  Eummellen  held  services  at  regular  intervals  at  Holy  Epiphany 
Church.  Upon  Father  Shorter's  taking  charge  he  pressed  the  church 
basement  into  service  for  school  purposes  and  mass  was  celebrated  at 
this  church  more  frequently.  When  the  number  of  orphans  cared  for  in 
the  school  and  home  increased  more  sisters  came  from  Baltimore  to 
assist,  and  Bishop  Fink  authorized  the  purchase  of  the  Whitaker  home- 
stead with  forty  acres  of  ground.  The  orphans  were  subsequent  to  this 
moved  from  the  city  to  their  new  home,  where  in  charge  of  the  Oblate 
Sisters  of  Providence  they  continued  under  the  direction  of  Father 
Shorter. 

The  buildings  of  the  home  as  they  exist  today  were  added  from  time 
to  time.  Forty  acres  more  of  land  was  added  to  the  grounds  during 
Lillis'  administration. 

Sacred  Heart  Church. — The  Sacred  Heart  parish  was  organized  by 
the  Rev.  Thomas  Downey,  who  also  built  the  present  Sacred  Heart  Church, 
a  two-story  brick  structure  with  a  tower.  The  building  as  originally 
built  still  serves  for  church  and  school  purposes.  It  was  during  the 
pastoral  administration  of  Father  Burke  that  the  parish  house  was  erected. 

Rev.  Father  Burke  was  succeeded  as  pastor  of  the  Sacred  Heart  par- 
ish by  Rev.  R.  B.  Groener,  who  at  the  present  time  is  pastor  of  the  Sacred 
Heart  Church  of  Kickapoo.  Rev.  Patrick  Smith,  who  is  at  the  present 
time  pastor  of  the  Sacred  Heart  parish  of  Leavenworth,  succeeded  Father 
Groener.  He  is  a  native  of  Kansas  and  an  alumnus  of  St.  Benedict's  at 
Atchison.  Shortly  after  his  ordination  he  was  appointed  chaplain  of  St. 
Vincent's  Home  and  pastor  of  St.  Francis  de  Sales  Church  at  Lansing, 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  241 

where  he  was  transferred  to  Blaine  and  Wheaton,  from  which  places  he 
received  his  appointment  to  the  Sacred  Heart  Church.  The  school  at  the 
Sacred  Heart  Church  is  taught  by  the  Sisters  of  Charity. 

St.  Casimer's  Church. — St.  Casimer's  parish  and  church  is  among 
the  younger  of  the  Catholic  Churches  organized  and  built  in  Leavenworth 
City  and  County.  The  parish  was  organized  and  the  present  church  built 
by  Rev.  A.  Smietana  in  1896.  One  year  later  Rev.  John  Grudzinski  was 
ordained  #and  in  1897  he  was  appointed  as  successor  to  Father  Smietana. 
He  arrived  to  take  charge  of  his  pastorate  on  Thanksgiving  Day  and 
found  a  debt  of  over  83,000  hanging  over  the  parish.  Father  Grudzinski 
being  a  zealous  worker  scon  liquidated  this  debt  and  set  out  to  make 
additional  improvements.  He  enlarged  and  decorated  the  church  with 
side  altars  and  purchased  a  suitable  bell  and  also  built  a  beautiful  parish 
house  at  a  cost  of  85,500.00  and  a  fine  school  building  that  cost  more  than 
twice  as  much.  This  school  is  conducted  by  the  Felician  Sisters,  who 
have  quarters  in  the  school  building. 

Father  Grudzinski  was  succeeded  at  the  St.  Casimer's  parish  by  Rev. 
Frank  Kozlowski.  When  Fther  Kozlowski  was  transferred  to  the  parish 
at  Easton,  Kansas,  he  was  succeeded  by  Rev.  Joseph  Laczniak  at  St. 
Casimer's,  who  is  rector  there  at  the  present  time. 

Catholic  Church  at  Fort  Leavenworth. — When  the  building  of  a 
Catholic  Church  at  Fort  Leavenworth  was  first  undertaken  there  was  at 
the  fort  many  civilian  employees  whose  number  was  greatly  reduced  a 
short  time  afterward,  making  it  a  very  difficult  task  to  pay  off  the  in- 
debtedness incurred  in  the  initial  erection  of  a  church.  General  Morgan 
and  Ordinance  Sergeant  Cornelius  Kelly  were  among  the  most  ardent  early 
day  workers  in  this  parish.  When  the  work  of  building  a  Catholic  Church 
there  was  begun  they  had  collected  a  sum  amounting  to  $3,000.00.  which 
was  used  to  defray  initial  and  immediate  expenses. 

The  cornerstone  of  the  first  Catholic  Church  at  the  fort  was  laid  in 
the  fall  of  1871  and  the  work  was  rushed  forward  with  considerable  help 
from  the  Quartermaster's  Department.  The  church  upon  its  completion 
was  dedicated  under  the  title  of  St.  Ignatius  Chapel  in  honor  of  the 
founder  of  the  Society  of  Jesus.  Father  Ambrose  Butler  was  one  of  the 
early  day  pastors  of  the  parish.  He  was  succeeded  by  Rev.  James 
O'Reilly,  who  remained  pastor  for  about  five  years.  During  his  adminis- 
tration he  succeeded  in  relieving  the  parish  of  all  its  indebtedness  and 
having  the  church  handsomely  furnished. 

(12) 


242  «Y   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

The  first  resident  priest  of  the  Fort  Leavenworth  parish  was  Rev. 
T.  F.  Kinsella,  who  about  a  month  after  his  ordination  at  the  cathedral, 
July  17,  1884,  was  assigned  to  the  Fort  Leavenworth  parish.  At  that 
time  his  duties  included  that  of  being  chaplain  at  the  United  States  Mili- 
tary Prison.  In  1885  Father  Kinsella,  who  had  made  a  request  to  the 
War  Department  for  permission  to  build  a  rectory,  was  notified  by  that 
body  that  his  request  had  been  denied  and  that  the  government  desired 
to  purchase  or  remove  the  Catholic  Church  at  the  fort,  together  with  the 
building  that  was  used  for  school  purposes.  The  government  subsequent 
to  this  purchased  the  Catholic  Church  building  and  authorized  the  selec- 
tion of  a  new  site  for  the  church  by  the  church  authorities.  It  was  not 
until  June  27,  1889,  that  Bishop  Fink  and  the  government  officials  finally 
agreed  upon  the  terms  and  conditions  that  the  church  was  to  be  built  at 
the  fort  and  on  August  18,  1889,  Bishop  Fink  laid  the  cornerstone  for 
the  present  church  at  the  fort  which  wa^  dedicated  December  22,  1889. 
The  new  edifice  was  of  Gothic  design  and  was  erected  at  a  total  cost  of 
$15,233.85. 

In  January,  1892,  Father  Kinsella  was  succeeded  at  the  fort  parish 
by  Rev.  Alexander  Jennings,  who  remained  in  charge  there  until  April 
18,  1895,  when  the  Rev.  Thomas  McCaul  took  charge  and  continued  as 
pastor  until  November  12,  1905.  The  Military  Prison,  which  has  been 
transferred  into  the  Federal  Prison,  was  attended  by  Father  McCaul.  He 
was  the  first  clergyman  here  to  receive  an  annual  salary  of  $300.00  for 
his  services  at  the  prisen.  When  Father  McCaul  was  sent  to  the  parish 
at  Hoge,  Rev.  William  Ospital,  O.  S.  B.,  a  father  of  the  Sacred  Heart 
Abbey,  Oklahoma,  succeeded  him.  He  was  in  turn  succeeded  by  a  priest 
of  the  same  Abbey,  Rev.  J.  M.  Dougherty,  on  August  27,  1908.  Father 
Dougherty  has  remained  in  charge  of  the  fort  parish  from  the  last  men- 
tioned date  until  the  present  time. 

The  Catholic  Church  at  the  Soldiers  Home. — When  the  western 
branch  of  the  National  Home  for  Disabled  Volunteer  Soldiers  was  estab- 
lished, the  need  of  a  Catholic  chaplain  to  minister  to  the  needs  of  the 
Catholic  veterans  was  early  recognized.  The  Rev.  Peter  Flannagan,  who 
was  at  that  time  pastor  of  St.  Francis  de  Sales  at  Lansing  for  a  short 
time,  supplied  this  want  and  then  was  succeeded  by  Rev.  M.  A.  Finn,  who 
was  also  chaplain  of  St.  Vincent's  Home. 

Father  Finn  was  succeeded  by  Rev.  T.  F.  Kinsella.  who  held  the 
chaplaincy  of  the  home  for  a  period  of  seventeen   years.     When  Rev. 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  243 

Father  Kinsella  was  sent  to  Paola  as  chaplain  of  the  Ursuline  Academy,  he 
was  succeeded  at  the  Soldiers  Home  by  Rev.  Francis  Pottgieser,  who  re- 
mained until  March  1,  1918,  when  he  was  succeeded  by  the  Rev.  Owen 
Degan.  Father  Degan  died  during  the  month  of  December,  1918,  and 
the  Rev.  Francis  Taton  was  appointed  chaplain  at  the  Soldiers  Home 
parish.  Father  Taton  at  the  present  time  is  chaplain  at  this  parish 
and  church. 

First  Church  of  Christ,  Scientist. — The  introduction  of  Christian 
Science  in  the  city  of  Leavenworth  was  brought  about  in  the  year  1885 
through  the  mediumship  of  two  students  who  began  holding  services  in 
their  own  homes.  Some  seven  years  later  and  on  the  27th  day  of  De- 
cember, 1892,  the  First  Church  of  Christ,  Scientist,  was  organized  with 
fourteen  members.  Several  years  later  a  charter  was  obtained.  A  read- 
ing room  was  established  February  26,  1899,  and  lectures  have  been  given 
yearly  since  1898. 

For  years  services  were  held  in  various  down-town  buildings.  In  1903 
the  building  now  owned  by  this  congregation  was  purchased  from  the 
English  Lutheran  Church.  The  growth  of  this  organization  has  been 
gradual  until  at  the  present  time  there  is  a  large  and  prosperous  con- 
gregation. 


CHAPTER  XIII 


LODGES,  CLUBS  AND  SOCIETIES. 


ABDALLAH  TEMPLE— MASONIC  LODGES— KNIGHTS  OF  PYTHIAS— INDEPENDENT 
ORDER  OF  ODD  FELLOWS— MODERN  WOODMEN  OF  AMERICA— WOMAN'S  AUX- 
ILIARY OF  AMERICAN  LEGION— KANSAS  FEDERATION  OF  WOMEN'S  CLUBS— 
CHAUTAUQUA    ASSOCIATION— YOEMEN— KNIGHTS    OF   COLUMBUS 

The  Abdallah  Temple,  Ancient  Order  Nobles  of  the  Mystic  Shrine, 

was  chartered  March  28,  1887,  and  is  located  at  Leavenworth.  It  has  a 
membership  of  4,500  and  its  jurisdiction  extends  over  nineteen  counties 
in  the  northeastern  part  of  Kansas.  The  Temple  is  located  on  Shawnee 
street,  between  Fifth  and  Sixth,  on  the  site  of  the  old  Crawford  Opera 
House  which  was  purchased  December  11,  1910.  A  new  temple  is  being 
erected  on  the  lots  just  west  of  the  present  temple.  The  new  structure 
will  cost  about  $200,000  when  completed.  The  Shrine  owns  the  park 
southwest  of  the  city,  formerly  known  as  the  Leavenworth  County  Fair 
Association  Park.  It  is  fitted  up  with  a  lake,  bath  houses,  dancing  pa- 
vilion, race  track  and  other  places  of  amusement.  The  membership  is 
made  up  of  Knight  Templars  and  Scottish  Rite  Masons.  Shrine  Clubs  are 
located  at  Atchison,  Emporia,  Hiawatha,  Kansas  City,  Lawrence,  Marys- 
ville,  Ottawa,  and  Topeka,  all  under  the  jurisdiction  of  Abdallah  Temple 
at  Leavenworth, 

The  temple  maintains  a  band  and  a  patrol,  located  at  Leavenworth. 
At  the  time  of  the  ceremonials  which  are  held  several  times  during  the 
year,  large  number  of  members  come  to  Leavenworth  from  the  surround- 
ing district. 

The  first  officers  were:  Richard  A.  Ketner,  Potentate;  Dwight  By- 
ington,  Chief  Rabban;  Carle  A.  Woodruff,  Assistant  Rabban;  Tullius  C. 
Tupper,  High  Priest;  Edward  W.  Osgood,  Oriental  Guide;  John  M.  Laing, 
Treasurer;  La  Martine  Cretors,  Recorder. 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  245 

The  present  officers  are :  John  A.  Steinmeyer,  Potentate ;  T.  I.  Mains, 
Chief  Rabban ;  Samuel  L.  Courtney,  Assistant  Rabban ;  Asa  T.  Hoge,  High 
Priest;  Charles  K.  Haw,  Recorder;  O.  B.  Taylor,  Jr.,  Treasurer;  John  H. 
Atwood,  Ad  Vitam ;  J.  H.  Steinmeyer,  F.  L.  Olson,  Horace  T.  Phinney,  John 
N.  Johnson,  Representatives  to  Grand  Council;  William  Newmark,  First 
Ceremonial  Master;  M.  B.  Hamilton,  Second  Ceremonial  Master;  J.  W. 
Farley,  Marshal ;  C.  F.  Mattmiller,  Captain  Guards ;  Ed.  W.  Osgood,  First 
Alchemist;  J.  P.  Dobbs,  Second  Alchemist;  J.  F.  Schiffer,  Outer  Guard; 
Oscar  Helmers,  Director  of  Work;  Fred  L.  Olson,  Class  Director;  George 
Fisher,  Captain  of  Patrol;  R.  K.  Pooley,  Organist;  Peter  Strauss,  Execu- 
tioner; John  McNarry,  Official  Announcer;  Webb  Tholen,  Electrician;  A. 
R.  Evans,  Electrician;  Herman  Weidman,  Sand  Heater. 

Henri  Lodge  No.  190,  A.  F.  &  A.  M.  of  Tonganoxie  was  organized 
December  27,  1879,  with  the  following  charter  members:  0.  K.  Lock- 
wood,  J.  M.  Phenicie,  S.  B.  Cantrell,  J.  C.  Alexander,  A.  L.  Jacobs  and 
A.  Mac  Lawrence,  John  Divelbees,  Edward  Bowman,  James  Duncanson, 
E.  H.  Linton,  John  Billingsley,  J.  S.  Grist,  Charles  Collins,  C.  J.  Halstead, 
Charles  Collins  is  the  only  charter  member  now  living.  E.  H.  Linton  was 
the  first  Master  and  James  Duncanson  its  first  Secretary. 

Grafton  D.  Whitaker,  Jr.,  is  the  present  Master  and  William  Hevnen 
the  Secretary. 

Hancock  Lodge  No.  311,  A.  F.  &  A.  M.  was  chartered  February  20, 
1889,  and  is  located  at  Ft.  Leavenworth.  There  are  494  members  made 
up  principally  of  officers  and  enlisted  men  of  the  army.  Charles  M.  Snell 
is  Master;  Fred  Nodsle,  Secretary;  Ezra  B.  Fuller,  Treasurer;  Russell  P. 
Reeder,  S.  W. ;  William  J.  Snyder,  J.  W. ;  Fred  Jensen,  S.  D. ;  Edward  Wil- 
son, J.  D. ;  Henry  J.  Matchett,  S.  S. ;  John  E.  Stafford,  J.  S. ;  Raymond  Kis- 
cadden,  Tyler. 

Linwood  Lodge  No.  241  of  Linwood  was  chartered  February  19,  1885. 
It  has  seventy-six  members.  Charles  H.  Harris  is  the  Master  and  Archie 
T.  Meinke  is  the  Secretary. 

Nine  Mile  Lodge  No.  49,  A.  F.  &  A.  M.,  at  Lansing,  Kansas,  was  char- 
tered October  17,  1866.  It  now  has  a  membership  of  ninety-nine.  The 
following  are  the  officers :  U.  J.  Matthey,  W.  M. ;  Paul  B.  Owens,  S.  W. : 
David  T.  Lindsey,  J.  W.;  T.  J.  Boone,  Sec;  William  A.  Harmon,  Treas.; 
Charles  L.  Cherry,  S.  D. ;  Orvil  F.  Spencer,  J.  D. ;  W.  O.  Thomas,  Tyler ; 
George  E.  Carr,  S.  S.;  William  R.  McCormick,  J.  S.  Trustees:  W.  0. 
Thomas,  Orvil  M.  Spencer,  C.  L.  Cherry. 


246  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

The  fiftieth  anniversary  was  celebrated  October  17,  1916,  with  a 
sumptuous  banquet  and  an  excellent  program  given  in  the  chapel  of  the 
State  Prison.  Frank  Gable,  one  of  the  charter  members,  was  present  on 
the  occasion  and  delivered  an  address  on  the  early  history  of  the  lodge. 

Boling  Lodge  No.  365  A.  F.  &  A.  M.,  was  chartered  February  17, 
1904.  It  has  a  present  membership  of  forty-eight.  The  following  are  the 
officers:  C.  M.  Bozworth,  W.  M.;  H.  Smith,  S.  W.;  H.  Starns,  J.  W.;  W. 
Hedges,  S.  D. ;  F.  McCune,  J.  D.;  William  Boling,  Treasurer;  George 
Hobbs,  Secretary;  Len  Pitts,  Tyler;  Fred  Sloan,  S.  S. 

Leavenworth  Lodge  No.  2,  A.  F.  &  A.  M. — Organized  January  18, 
1855,  with  R.  R.  Rees,  W.  M. ;  A.  Payne,  S.  W. ;  Auley  McAuley,  J.  W. ; 
Charles  Mundy,  Secretary;  George  B.  Panton,  Treasurer;  L.  J.  Easton, 
S.  D ;  J.  M.  Alexander,  J.  D. ;  J.  J.  Bentz,  Tyler.  It  was  organized  under 
dispensation  from  the  Grand  Lodge  of  Missouri.  It  was  chartered  by  the 
Grand  Lodge  of  Missouri  as  Leavenworth  Lodge  No.  150,  June  16,  1855, 
and  chartered  by  the  Grand  Lodge  of  Kansas  July  14,  1856,  as  Leaven- 
worth Lodge  No.  2.  It  is  the  oldest  Masonic  Lodge  in  Kansas  under  con- 
tinuous operation. 

The  present  officers  are  as  follows :  H.  L.  Justus,  W.  M. ;  D.  S.  Lewis, 
S.  W.;  C.  E.  Rosenquist,  J.  W.;  C.  E.  Cart,  Treasurer;  Ed.  W.  Osgood,  Sec- 
retary (has  been  Secretary  since  1876) ;  Lazarus  Loeb,  S.  D. ;  Carl  Jenson, 
J.  D.;  Charles  Tholen,  S.  S. ;  Alfred  Alexander,  J.  S. ;  Joseph  Chalmers, 
Tyler.  First  officers  were  as  follows :  R.  R.  Rees,  A.  Payne,  Auley  McAu- 
ley; George  B.  Panton,  Charles  Mundy,  L.  J.  Easton,  J.  M.  Alexander, 
J.  J.  Bentz.    There  were  343  members  on  February  12,  1921. 

King  Solomon  Lodge  No.  10  was  organized  November  30,  1857,  under 
dispensation  granted  by  M.  W.  Richard  R.  Rees,  Grand  Master  of  Kansas. 
In  October,  1858,  a  charter  was  granted.  Calvary  Lodge  No.  50  was  con- 
solidated with  King  Solomon  by  approval  of  the  Grand  Master  on  May 
19,  1876. 

The  present  officers  are  as  follows:  Edward  Eraser  W.  M. ;  R.  C. 
Thornton,  S.  W. ;  H.  J.  Cramm,  J.  W. ;  Harry  Simonn,  S.  D. ;  A.  W.  Kim- 
ball, J.  D. ;  Earl  Eschlemann,  S.  S. ;  V.  A.  Hank,  J.  S. ;  Elmer  McCool,  Sec- 
retary; Clarence  Rohrbough,  Treasurer;  Joseph  Chalmers,  Tyler.  First 
officers  were  as  follows:  Henry  C.  Justice,  Moses  S.  Adams,  George  A. 
Eddy,  H.  H.  Beck,  J.  J.  Clarkson.  There  are  371  members  on  February 
12,  1921. 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  247 

Hiram  Lodge  No.  68  was  organized  January  18,  1868,  and  chartered 
on  October  21,  1868,  with  the  following  charter  members:  Barnard 
Flesher,  George  Einstein,  David  Prager,  John  Switzer,  Sam  Suman,  Julius 
Levi,  Benjamin  Thuse,  Walter  Wetheim,  Joseph  Westenberger,  Joseph 
Waise,  Dr.  C.  C.  Shoyer  and  Sam  Wolf. 

The  present  officers  are  as  follows:  Edwin  Sickel,  W.  M. ;  Elzra  W. 
Reel,  S.  W. ;  J.  Ross  Perkins,  J.  W. ;  Harry  Coldren,  Jr.,  S.  D. ;  William  H. 
Case,  J.  H.;  William  Rumford,  S.  S.;  H.  W.  Coldren,  J.  S.;  Joseph  Chal- 
mers, Tyler;  George  Leak,  Secretary;  Morris  -  Toff  ler,  Treasurer.  First 
officers  were  as  follows:  George  Einstein,  B.  Flesher,  J.  Simmons.  There 
were  229  members  on  February  12,  1921. 

Leavenworth  Chapter  No.  2,  R.  A.  M.,  was  instituted  by  the  General 
Grand  Chapter  of  the  United  States,  February  27,  1857.  The  charter  was 
received  September  9,  1865.  The  date  of  the  charter  from  the  Grand 
Chapter  of  Kansas,  October  19,  1868.  The  first  officers  were  R.  R.  Rees, 
H.  P. ;  Leander  Kerr,  King ;  E.  E.  McCarty,  Scribe. 

The  present  officers  are  as  follows:  Maj.  H.  G.  Stahl,  High  Priest; 
Rolo  Lawn,  King;  Joseph  F.  Seymour,  Scribe;  John  McCool,  Treasurer; 
Ed.  W.  Osgood,  Secretary;  John  McFarland,  Capt.  of  Hosts;  Carl  Jensen, 
Principal  Sojourner;  Charles  W.  Tholen,  R.  A.  Captain;  James  E.  Snyder, 
Master  3d  Veil ;  Dr.  Van  Manning,  Master  2d  Veil ;  Albert  Kihm,  Master 
1st  Veil;  Joseph  Chalmers,  Sentinel.  The  number  of  members  on  Febru- 
ary 12,  1921,  was  400. 

Leavenworth  Conunandery  No.  1,  Knight  Templar,  was  organized 
February  10,  1864,  by  the  General  Grand  Commandery  with  the  following 
as  officers:  T.  A.  Hurd,  Em.  Commander;  R.  R.  Rees,  Generalissimo;  L.  P. 
Stiles,  Captain  General. 

The  present  officers  are:  Robert  Hertel,  Jr.,  Em.  Commander;  Ben- 
jamin F.  Heis,  Generalissimo;  Col.  Frank  D.  Webster,  Capt.  General; 
George  Pulsifer,  Prelate;  W.  D.  Woodman,  Sr.  Warden;  C.  L.  D.  Terry, 
Jr.  Warden;  Asa  Hoge,  Treasurer;  Ed.  W.  Osgood,  Recorder;  Eugene  N. 
Meyer,  Standard  Bearer;  James  Franks,  Sword  Bearer;  Ed.  C.  Lingen- 
felser,  Warder;  Joseph  Chalmers,  Guard.  Number  of  members  February 
12,  1921,  359. 

Scottish  Rite-EIeusis  Lodge  of  Perfection  No.  1  was  organized  in  1871 
and  received  its  charter  from  the  southern  jurisdiction  of  the  United 
States.  The  first  officers  were  as  follows :  P.  J.  Freling,  V.  Master ;  John 
Westlake,  S.  W. ;  Ed.  W.  Osgood,  J.  W. ;  J.  W.  Park,  Secretary. 


248  HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY 

The  lodge  was  afterwards  moved  to  Topeka,  Kansas,  with  the  same 
number  and  Abdallah  Temple  of  Mystic  Shrine  was  organized  in  Leaven- 
worth. This  was  by  mutual  agreement  between  members  of  the  two 
bodies  in  Leavenworth  and  Topeka  and  that  Topeka  should  not  ask  for 
a  Shrine  nor  Leavenworth  ask  for  a  Scottish  Rite. 

Leavenworth  Council  No.  1,  Royal  and  Select  Masters,  was  organized 
December  16,  1865,  and  received  a  charter  May  24,  1866,  from  the  Grand 
Council  of  Missouri.  The  Grand  Council  of  Kansas  gave  a  charter  Decem- 
ber 12,  1867. 

The  present  officers  are  as  follows :  Joseph  F.  Seymour,  Master ;  H.  G. 
Stahl,  Deputy;  Rollo  Lawn,  P.  C.  W.;  Asa  T.  Hoge,  Treasurer;  Fred  T. 
Nye,  Recorder;  Carl  Jensen,  C.  G.;  Fred  M.  Patton,  C.  C;  Edward  L. 
Luther,  Steward ;  Jerome  A.  Chalmers,  Sentinel. 

The  charter  members  were  as  follows :  R.  R.  Rees,  Dwight  Byington, 
N.  Daniels,  Dr.  S.  Houston,  Otto  C.  Beeler,  M.  B.  Haas,  Jacob  D.  Rush, 
Fritz  Magers,  A.  Cohn. 

Past  Masters :  John  McCool,  Ezra  B.  Fuller,  William  M.  Bonar,  T.  I. 
Mains,  Eugene  S.  Davidson,  Fred  T.  Nye,  John  H.  Clarke. 

Byington  Chapter  No.  177,  Order  Eastern  Star,  was  instituted  Decem- 
ber 28,  1896,  and  received  its  charter  May  14,  1896. 

The  present  officers  are  as  follows:  Mrs.  Jennie  Pitts,  Worthy  Ma- 
tron; Ben  J.  Hughes,  Worthy  Patron;  Sue  Brown,  Associate  Matron; 
Geneva  Curry,  Treasurer;  Mrs.  Ben  J.  Hedges,  Secretary;  Mrs.  Asa  Hoge, 
Conductress;  Kate  Beeler,  Associate  Conductress;  Mrs.  Ida  L.  Kaufmann, 
Chaplain ;  Bettie  Cleavinger,  Ada ;  Evelyn  Kihm,  Ruth ;  Elizabeth  Franks, 
Esther;  Blanch  Carr,  Martha;  Virginia  Meyer.  Electa;  Grace  Fisher, 
Warder;  Anna  Cramm,  Marshall;  Opal  Donagan,  Organist;  Joseph  Chal- 
mers, Sentinel.    Number  of  members  February  12,  1921,  272. 

Azor  Grotto  No.  72,  M.  O.  V.  P.  E.  R.,  was  organized  January  6,  1916, 
with  the  following  officers:  George  Pulsifer,  Monarch;  Sam  Nirdlinger, 
Master  C;  Joseph  F.  Seymour,  Marshal;  John  McFai'land,  Treasurer; 
George  Leak,  Secretary. 

The  present  officers  are  as  follows:  Eugene  S.  Davidson,  Monarch; 
Henry  Kaufmann,  Master  C;  Gustave  Nitsche,  Marshal;  James  E.  Sny- 
der, Treasurer ;  George  Leak,  Secretary.    Present  membership  is  216. 

Ivanhoe  Lodge  No  14,  Knights  of  Pythias,  was  instituted  December  1, 
1873,  with  the  following  officers:  L.  M.  Goddard,  C.  C;  T.  J.  Darling, 
V.  C. ;  W.  F.  Porter,  Prelate ;  J.  L.  Vickers,  M.  E. ;  W.  E.  Robinson,  M.  of 
E. ;  John  R.  Creighton,  K.  of  R.  and  S. 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY  249 

The  present  officers  are:  E.  W.  Jennings,  C.  C;  0.  L.  Wiltsey,  V.  C; 
J.  F.  Casey,  Prelate;  D.  I.  Atkinson,  M.  of  W.;  W.  L.  Thomas,  K.  of  R.  & 
S. ;  George  R.  Bleakley,  M.  of  F. ;  Sig  Anderson,  M.  of  E. ;  J.  A.  Downum, 
M.  at  A. ;  F.  M.  Denny,  I.  G. ;  R.  C.  Thornton,  O.  G. ;  Trustees,  J.  C.  Franks, 
F.  M.  Denny,  F.  W.  Bartlett.  There  are  150  members  at  present.  Meet- 
ings are  held  every  Monday  night  at  the  southeast  corner  of  Sixth  and 
Shawnee. 

Concordia  Lodge  No.  8,  K.  of  P.,  was  organized  December  4,  1872, 
with  the  following  officers :  August  Thanheldt,  P.  C. ;  John  Trump,  V.  C. ; 
August  Geveke,  Prelate ;  E.  F.  Haberlin,  K.  of  R. ;  J.  C.  Dickelmann,  M.  of 
F. ;  Charles  Engstrom,  M.  of  E. ;  George  Linck,  M.  A. ;  Henry  Berine  I.  G. ; 
H.  J.  Caniff,  G.  C. ;  J.  A.  Bliss,  G.  K.  of  R.  S. 

Far  West  Encampment  No.  1,  I.  O.  O.  F.,  was  instituted  February  14, 
1859,  with  the  following  as  charter  members:  J.  B.  Davis,  Phillip  Koeh- 
ler,  N.  W.  Cox,  C.  A.  Logan,  Thomas  Plowman,  Charles  Monday.  In  1882 
it  had  101  members. 

Mechanics  Lodge  No.  89,  I.  O.  0.  F.,  was  organized  October  8,  1872, 
with  the  following  charter  members:  G.  A.  Davis,  John  Shoemaker,  J. 
Burnham,  J.  R.  Duncan,  George  Byron,  J.  E.  Varney,  R.  A.  Saunders, 
J.  L.  Duncan  and  C.  H.  White.    It  had  a  membership  in  1882  of  142. 

Allemenia  Lodge  No.  123,  I.  O.  O.  F.,  was  instituted  December  27, 
1875,  with  the  following  charter  members:  Charles  Chienke,  Christian 
Hoffman,  Peter  Bubb,  And.  Dreschel,  August  Benz,  Henry  Schiermayer, 
Charles  Conrad,  Jacob  Rodenhaus,  Joseph  Walter,  Henry  Brueggen,  Will- 
iam Graisky,  Dom.  Wissler,  Charles  Paeper,  William  Hermance,  Fred 
Wochner,  H.  C.  Mohr,  N.  Hieb,  Charles  Ackenhausen,  Karl  Kempire,  G.  F. 
Zeitz,  August  Schanze,  Chris.  Kantner,  August  Streibich,  C.  F.  Cremer, 
W.  Stech,  Julius  Meincke,  Joseph  Woolman,  William  Schroeder,  Charles 
Fees,  Jac.  Elsasser,  G.  M.  Young,  Joseph  Bergmann,  W.  G.  Hesse,  John 
Grund.    It  had  a  membership  in  1882  of  75. 

Schiller  Encampment  No.  2,  I.  0.  O.  F.,  was  instituted  May  20,  1866, 
with  the  following  charter  members :  Phillip  Koehler,  William  Schroeder, 
Charles  Diebrich,  Charles  Besser,  George  Walter,  Michael  Hoffman,  Gott- 
lieb Geiger.    It  had  a  membership  in  1882  of  50  members. 

Metropolitan  Lodge  No.  27, 1.  O.  O.  F.,  was  instituted  October  11,  1867. 

The  Grand  Encampment,  I.  O.  O.  F.,  was  instituted  October  9,  1866, 
in  Leavenworth,  and  its  headquarters  have  been  there  ever  since,  its  three 
Grand  Scribes  each  serving  till  his  death:     Samuel  F.  Burdette,  Ed.  T. 


250  HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

Rees  and  Lewis  T.  Rees.  The  present  incumbent,  A.  M.  Bain  has  been 
Grand  Scribe  since  1910. 

Tonganoxie  Lodge  No.  390,  I.  O.  O.  F.,  was  instituted  April  17,  1891, 
with  charter  members:  J.  W.  Reno,  W.  W.  Reno,  R.  H.  Southard,  J.  L. 
Shaffer,  H.  Cronemeyer,  M.  W.  Hadley,  J.  Coolidge.  Its  first  officers  were: 
R.  H.  Southard,  N.  G. ;  J.  W.  Reno,  V.  G. ;  W.  W.  Reno,  Secretary,  and 
James  Coolidge,  Treasurer.  Its  present  officers  are :  Vin.  Needham,  N.  G. ; 
James  Skaggs,  V.  G. ;  George  Cline,  Secretary,  and  John  Rumsey,  Treas- 
urer. 

Lansing  Lodge  No.  449,  I.  O.  O.  F.,  was  instituted  March  24,  1894, 
with  charter  members :  C.  L.  Cherrie,  S.  W.  Furnas,  M.  A.  Burdick,  C.  D. 
Jones,  J.  R.  Wilson,  E.  W.  Prather  and  W.  R.  Knisley.  Its  first  officers 
were :  C.  L.  Cherrie,  N.  G. ;  J.  R.  Wilson,  V.  G. ;  G.  W.  Thomas,  Secretary ; 
W.  R.  Knisley,  Treasurer.  Its  present  officers  are:  O.  M.  Spenser,  N.  G. ; 
C.  H.  Walker,  V.  G. ;  C.  L.  Cherrie,  Secretary ;  W.  A.  Hannon,  Treasurer. 

Linwood  Lodge  No.  607,  I.  0.  O.  F.,  was  instituted  October  15,  1907, 
with  twenty-eight  charter  members.  Its  first  officers  were:  Thomas  P. 
Frederick,  N.  G. ;  Theodore  Meinke,  V.  G.;  Harry  Coons,  Secretary;  and 
Francis  Frederick,  Treasurer.  Its  present  officers  are:  A.  H.  Engle, 
N.  G. ;  F.  W.  Attebery,  V.  G. ;  Ed.  Brown,  Secretary ;  and  T.  P.  Frederick, 
Treasurer. 

Easton  Lodge  No.  662,  I.  O.  O.  F.,  was  instituted  April  25,  1916,  with 
twenty-eight  charter  members  Its  first  officers  were :  William  A.  Evans, 
N.  G. ;  Henry  Goff,  V.  G. ;  Christian  Sass,  Secretary;  and  Charles  O. 
Trower,  Treasurer.  Its  present  officers  are :  William  L.  Partridge,  N.  G. ; 
William  R.  Taylor,  V.  G.;  Lloyd  Coberly,  Secretary;  and  Dean  G.  Erhart, 
Treasurer.    Its  membership  is  68. 

No.  367,  Modern  Woodman  of  America  was  the  first  Woodman  Lodge 
organized  in  Leavenworth  County.  It  is  located  at  Leavenworth  and  the 
following  are  the  officers:  A.  C.  Dengler,  Consul;  W.  W.  Trew,  Adviser; 
Frank  Ohlhausen,  Clerk;  Fred  Lutgens,  Banker;  J.  M.  Murphy,  Escort; 
L.  Miller,  Watchman;  R.  C.  Powers,  Sentry;  W.  E.  Ferry,  L.  Weingarth, 
P.  J.  Feidler,  Trustees. 

Live  Oak  Camp  No.  3322,  Modern  Woodman  of  America,  was  organ- 
ized October  30,  1895.  The  first  officers  were:  J.  J.  Hartnett,  Consul; 
Henry  Dolde,  Banker;  Frank  O'Kane,  Clerk.  Present  officers  are:  Julius 
Textor,  Consul;  Carl  Hunnius,  Banker;  Joseph  Schuelle,  Clerk.  Present 
membership,  252.  Thirty-nine  claims  have  been  paid,  amounting  to  $72,- 
000,  since  the  lodge  was  organized. 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  251 

Other  Lodges  of  Modern  Woodman  of  America  are  as  follows : 
Camps  Place  Clerk  Camps  Place  Clerk 

6812— Basehor F.  A.  Hein         1181— Lansing W.  R.  Davis 

3500— Boling W.  Klinkenberg  561— Linwood T.  W.  Martin 

3693— Easton W.  P.  Hall         3634— Lowemont__ John  W.  Roach 

3581 — Fairmount E.  A.  Seegert  2310 — Tonganoxie J.  C.  Rumsey 

3608— Kickapoo W.  E.  Oliphant 

Easton  Lodge  No.  45,  A.  F.  &  A.  M.,  was  organized  December  20,  1864, 
with  the  following  charter  members:  Robert  A.  Kelsey,  E.  K.  Adamson, 
T.  Donohue  and  William  Kelsey.  The  first  officers  were  Robert  A.  Kelsey, 
W.  M. ;  E.  K.  Adamson,  S.  W. ;  William  Kelsey,  J.  W.  For  many  years  the 
lodge  was  held  over  the  store  building  known  as  McGee  Bros.  The  lodge 
owned  the  upper  story  of  the  building.  In  1915  the  lodge  bought  the 
building  they  now  occupy  and  moved  into  it.  The  upper  story  is  used  for 
a  lodge  room  and  the  lower  story  for  a  confectionery  and  a  store.    There 

is  now  a  membership  of Meetings  are  Saturdays  on  or  before  the 

Full  Moon. 

The  following  are  the  present  officers :  Christian  Sass,  W.  M. ;  Walter 
Borden,  S.  W.;  Ed.  Searles,  J.  W.;  Lloyd  Coberly,  S.  D.;  Lee  Sass,  J.  D.; 
William  Taylor,  S.  S.;  Grover  Fevurly,  J.  S.;  Henry  Gray,  Tyler;  Tom 
Adamson,  Secretary;  Dean  Erhart,  Treasurer. 

The  Easton  Chapter  of  the  Order  of  Eastern  Star  No.  274  was  char- 
tered May  11,  1905,  with  the  following  charter  members  Anna  Adams, 
Ella  Jones,  Nellie  Kelsey,  Maggie  Kelsey,  Florence  Kelsey,  Mattie  Kelsey, 
Jessie  Mitchell,  May  Oliphant,  Norah  Potter,  Elva  Smith,  W.  A.  Adams, 
Joseph  P.  Hall,  Charles  Jones,  John  Kelsey,  James  B.  Kelsey,  Chris  Saas, 
Fred  Thornburg,  James  L.  Oliphant,  Oscar  Potter,  James  Wilburn. 

Germania  Lodge  No.  9,  I.  O.  O.  F.,  was  organized  July  24,  1859,  with 
the  following  charter  members:  F.  W.  Wood,  C.  A.  Shinke,  Christian 
Beck,  Phillip  Kaler,  and  W.  Itz.  It  had  a  membership  in  1882  of  103 
members. 

Leavenworth  Lodge  No.  2,  I.  O.  O.  F.,  was  organized  March  9,  1855, 
with  the  following  charter  members:  Christian  Beck,  J.  H.  Blanchard, 
Ryland  Jones,  John  Shirley,  W.  A.  Thompson  and  Samuel  C.  Weller.  It 
had  a  membership  of  1882  of  118  members.    There  are  now  210  members. 

All  the  Odd  Fellow  lodges  were  consolidated  into  one  lodge  under  the 
name  of  Leavenworth  Lodge  No.  2,  I.  O.  O.  F.,  in  1920.    They  owned  the 


252  HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY 

building  at  the  southeast  comer  of  Sixth  and  Shawnee  street,  but  sold  it 
to  James  C.  Davis  in  1920. 

The  following  are  the  present  officers :  John  H.  Dickey,  N.  G. ;  George 
C.  True,  Secretary ;  Edward  Butt,  Financial  Secretary ;  John  Keets,  Deputy 
Grand  Master;  E.  C.  Dresser;  Trustees,  J.  B.  Howell,  Edward  Butt  and 
Ike  Swartz. 

Leavenworth  No.  22,  K.  of  P.,  was  installed  August  24,  1878,  with  the 
following  officers:  J.  W.  Wheeler,  P.  C. ;  McCown  Hunt,  C.  C.;  L.  E. 
Wicks,  V.  C. ;  S.  Simmons,  P. ;  R.  B.  Cleghorn,  M.  of  E. ;  Joseph  McDonald, 
M.  of  F. ;  E.  T.  Rees,  K.  of  R.  &  S. ;  T.  W.  Thomas,  M.  at  A. ;  W.  P.  Doerson, 

I.  G. ;  W.  D.  Skinner,  0.  G.  This  lodge  has  surrendered  its  charter  and  no 
longer  exists.  * 

Tonganoxie  Lodge  No.  125,  K.  of  P.,  was  organized  May  2,  1885,  with 
the  following  charter  members :  A.  M.  Thistlewaite,  John  B.  Moore,  J.  W. 
Ratliff,  William  G.  Singley,  R.  W.  Myers,  J.  S.  Grist,  N.  M.  Grist,  Frank 
F.  Stone,  Charles  Tholen,  Jonathan  Knight,  William  J.  Carter,  James  M. 
Phenicie,  B.  C.  Stringfellow,  R.  F.  Slaughter,  Sr.  Charles  F.  Milett  is  the 
present  K.  of  R.  &  S. 

Graham  Chapter  No.  395,  Eastern  Star,  was  organized  at  Lansing 
early  in  1916.  It  was  named  after  Mrs.  Julia  Graham  who  was  at  the 
time  a  member  of  the  Leavenworth  chapter  and  desired  to  have  one  located 
at  Lansing,  her  home.  Through  her  efforts  a  dispensation  was  granted 
February  29,  1916.  May  20,  1916,  the  Grand  Matron  appointed  Past  Grand 
Matron  Katharine  S.  Hughes  to  install  the  new  officers  and  they  were 
duly  installed  June  8,  1916. 

Rachel  Chapter  0.  E.  S.,  Linwood,  was  organized  in  1896.  The  seal, 
records  and  all  the  paraphernalia  were  destroyed  in  the  flood  of  1903. 
Afterwards  it  was  reorganized  and  received  a  duplicate  charter.  It  was 
named  after  Rachel  Passon  of  Lawrence,  Kansas.  The  chapter  was  called 
Martha  Washington  till  the  charter  was  received.    They  have  65  members. 

Rinda  Chapter  0.  E.  S.,  Tonganoxie,  was  organized  at  Tonganoxie  in 
December,  1899.  Members  from  Ada  Chapter  of  Lawrence  instituted  the 
chapter.  It  was  named  Rinda  after  Rinda  Chesney,  Grand  Secretary  at 
the  time.  In  the  following  March  they  received  their  charter.  There  are 
120  members. 

Army  Chapter  No.  339,  O.  E.  S.,  Ft.  Leavenworth,  was  organized 
May  10,  1910.    It  worked  under  dispensation  till  March  31,  1911.    On  May 

II,  1911,  a  charter  was  received.  The  name  "Maple  Leaf"  was  originally 
used  and  afterwards  changed  to  the  present  name. 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  253 

The  following  were  the  first  officers :  Hulda  C.  Church,  W.  M. ;  Mar- 
tin W.  Rose,  W.  P.;  Charlotte  Parish,  Associate  M. ;  Ruth  D.  Timmons, 
Secretary ;  Sadie  V.  Smith,  Treasurer ;  Laura  M.  Corbett,  Cond. ;  Mary  A. 
Rose,  Asso.  Cond. ;  Ethel  Brown,  Adah ;  Clara  Kalb,  Ruth ;  Helen  Unthank, 
Esther;  Grace  Weikamp,  Martha;  Lena  Nodsle,  Electa;  L.  V.  Smith, 
Warder;  W.  A.  Weikamp,  Sent.;  Charles  S.  Timmons,  Marshal;  Albert 
Kalb,  Chap. ;  John  L.  Corbett,  Organist. 

The  chapter  holds  its  meetings  in  the  hall  of  Hancock  Lodge  No.  311. 

The  Women's  Auxiliary  of  the  American  Legion  was  organized  in 
March,  1920.  It  is  an  outgrowth  of  the  World  War.  It  comprises  mothers, 
wives,  sisters  and  daughters  of  those  who  were  in  the  World  War.  These 
noble  women  are  helping  the  boys  who  were  in  the  great  struggle  as  best 
they  can  in  time  of  peace.  The  hospital  needs  are  being  looked  after  wher- 
ever they  may  be  found. 

The  Leavenworth  Unit  of  the  Byron  H.  Mehl  Post  have  pledged  sup- 
port to  those  in  the  National  Military  Home.  Visitations  are  made  once  a 
month.  Fruits,  flowers  and  reading  material  are  furnished.  The  follow- 
ing are  the  officers  of  the  Leavenworth  Unit:  •  Mrs.  Sherman  Medill, 
president ;  Mrs.  Grace  Fisher  Potter,  secretary ;  Mrs.  George  Pulsifer,  vice- 
president  ;  Mrs.  May  S.  Coleman,  treasurer ;  Mrs.  Frank  Ricketson,  auditor. 

The  Tonganoxie  Auxiliary  of  Lester  E.  Hamil  Post  was  organized  in 
March,  1921,  and  the  following  are  officers:  Mrs.  J.  L.  Johnson,  president; 
Miss  Thekla  Farrell,  vice-president;  Mrs.  B.  A.  C.  Williams,  secretary; 
Miss  Maude  Dessery,  treasurer;  Miss  Izola  Farrell,  auditor. 

Kansas  Federation  of  Women's  Clubs. — To  Mrs.  C.  H.  Cushing,  of 
Leavenworth,  and  Mrs.  May  Tenny  Gray,  of  Wyandotte,  Kansas,  is  due 
the  honor  of  founding  of  the  Kansas  Federation  of  Women's  Clubs. 

On  May  19,  1881,  by  invitation  of  Mrs.  C.  H.  Cushing,  of  Leavenworth, 
a  meeting  was  held.  Ladies  from  Topeka,  Atchison,  Lawrence,  Wyan- 
dotte, and  Kansas  City,  Kansas,  were  in  attendance.  In  all  over  one  hun- 
dred ladies  responded  to  Mrs.  Cushing's  invitations  and  all  met  in  the 
parlors  of  the  "Home  of  the  Friendless".  Mrs.  Cushing  acted  as  chair- 
man of  the  meeting.  Permanent  officers  were  elected.  The  following 
were  elected  as  the  first  officers:  President,  Mrs.  Mary  F.  Gray,  Wyan- 
dotte; Mrs.  N.  C.  McFarland,  Secretary,  Topeka;  Treasurer,  Mrs.  C.  B. 
Brace.  Leavenworth;  Committee  of  Constitution  and  By-Laws,  Mesdames 
Cushing,  Hopkins,  Scott,  Brace,  Leeper  and  Monroe.  This  organization 
was  known  as  the  Social  Science  Club.    It  was  known  for  twelve  years  by 


254  HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY 

this  name.  On  May  3,  1895,  the  name  of  the  organization  was  changed 
to  that  of  the  Kansas  State  Social  Science  Federation.  It  was  not  until 
1903  that  the  name  was  changed  to  that  of  the  Kansas  Federation  of 
Women's  Clubs. 

Mrs.  R.  R.  Bittman,  of  Independence,  Kansas,  is  at  the  present  time 
president  of  the  Federation.  Mrs.  Sherman  Medill,  of  Leavenworth,  is 
president  of  the  First  District  of  the  Federation. 

Through  the  efforts  of  the  organization  industrial  training  was  intro- 
duced in  the  Beloit  School  for  Girls  and  Manual  Training  in  the  public 
schools.  A  traveling  arm  gallery  was  started  which  was  a  success  from 
the  first.  A  Scholarship  Loan  Fund  feature  has  been  added  to  the  Fed- 
eration by  which  girls  finishing  high  school  may  borrow  three  hundred 
dollars  with  which  to  finish  their  education,  paying  the  money  back  after 
they  have  secured  positions  and  are  earning  money.  A  continuous  cam- 
paign in  the  interest  of  education  in  general  has  ever  been  waged  by  the 
Federation. 

At  the  present  time  the  following  Leavenworth  County  Clubs  have 
been  federated :  Leavenworth  Art  League,  Catholic  Literary  Club,  Lowell 
Club,  Glenwood  Community  Club,  Lansing  Community  Club,  Leavenworth 
County  Rural  Life,  Easton  Improvement  Club,  Basehor  Merry  Matrons, 
Kickapoo  Woman's  Club,  Boling  Community  Club,  Tonganoxie  Civic 
League,  and  Tonganoxie  Reading  Club. 

The  Leavenworth  County  Chautauqua  Association  was  organized  in 
1913  with  the  following  officers:  Otto  Wulfenkuhler,  president;  Otto 
Rotherberger,  secretary;  Amos  Wilson,  treasurer;  Rev.  T.  W.  Harding, 
platform  manager. 

Feeling  the  need  of  a  better  organization  the  citizens  of  Leavenworth 
City  and  County  obtained  a  charter  in  1917  with  eighty  stockholders.  A 
set  of  by-laws  were  drawn  up  making  the  first  Monday  in  October  every 
year  the  date  of  the  regular  meeting.  The  corporation  is  not  one  for  profit 
but  for  the  purpose  of  securing  a  high  class  of  educational  entertainments 
for  the  community.  The  programs  were  first  given  in  the  grand  stand  of 
the  old  fair  grounds,  now  the  Shrine  Park.  The  place  was  later  changed 
to  the  Court  House  Grounds  just  north  of  the  building,  in  a  large  tent. 
The  program  for  the  year  1921  will  be  given  in  the  Sales  Pavilion  at 
Seventh  and  Delaware.  The  programs  have  been  given  under  the  auspices 
of  Redpath-Horner  Chautauqua  and  the  contract  calls  for  $1,500  for  the 
year  1921. 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  255 

The  following  are  the  officers  and  board  of  directors:  Board  of  di- 
rectors :  Otto  Wulfenkuhler,  Clarence  McGuire,  J.  W.  Wright,  F.  R.  Beery, 
H.  C.  Feller,  J.  A.  Searcy,  C.  H.  Wentworth,  A.  J.  Reno.  Officers :  Clar- 
ence McGuire,  president;  C.  H.  Wentworth,  first  vice-president;  F.  R. 
Beery,  second  vice-president;  F.  M.  Potter,  treasurer;  Jesse  A.  Hall, 
secretary. 

Yeomen. — Sunflower  Homestead  No.  1393,  Brotherhood  of  American 
Yeomen,  was  organized  in  Leavenworth,  Kansas,  March  29,  1906,  by  Dis- 
trict Managers  West  and  West  with  fourteen  members.  The  first  officers 
were  as  follows:  Honorable  Foreman,  J.  A.  Downum;  Master  of  Cere- 
monies, E.  E.  Lanhan;  Correspondent,  Etta  V.  Downum;  Master  of  Ac- 
counts, Kate  Harr;  Chaplain,  Mary  Ludwig;  Overseer,  Charles  Powell1 
Watchman,  Frank  Wormer;  Sentinel,  D.  P.  Chapman;  Guard,  Alva  Adams; 
Lady  Rowena,  Katherine  Drowns ;  Lady  Rebecca,  Katie  A.  Chapman. 

The  present  officers  of  the  organization  are  as  follows:  Honorable 
Foreman,  J.  F.  Casey;  Master  of  Ceremonies,  Thomas  I.  Fowler;  Corre- 
spondent, Etta  V.  Downum ;  Master  of  Accounts,  Dr.  A.  R.  Adams ;  Chap- 
lain, Lillian  Fowler ;  Overseer,  Roy  E.  Wells ;  Watchman,  James  Connelly ; 
Sentinel,  Herman  Levene;  Guard,  Earl  Downing;  Lady  Rowena,  Jennie 
Biltz ;  Lady  Rebecca,  Addie  Ramey,  and  Musician,  Myrtle  Ledman. 

J.  A.  Downum  is  first  district  manager  of  the  organization  and  has 
held  the  position  for  a  number  of  years.  Etta  V.  Downum  has  served 
continuously  as  correspondent  since  the  organization  of  the  lodge.  This 
organization  has  a  membership  at  the  present  time  of  about  600. 

Knights  of  Columbus. — Leavenworth  Council  No.  900  of  the  Knights 
of  Columbus  was  organized  and  instituted  in  the  city  of  Leavenworth, 
May  30,  1904.  A  constitution  and  by-laws  was  adopted  October  10,  1904. 
The  following  were  the  charter  members  of  the  local  organization  at  the 
time  of  its  institution  in  Leavenworth :  Frank  X.  Aaron,  Ed.  R.  Bannon, 
J.  J.  Brown,  Frank  E.  Carroll,  Frank  J.  Dougherty,  Edward  T.  Dicks, 
James  H.  DeCoursey,  Jacob  L.  Everhardy,  Charles  M.  Fenning;  Simon 
Flynn,  Arnold  Frana,  T.  H.  Hannon,  Anton  Hartwig,  Joseph  D.  Hurley, 
Frank  J.  Hurley,  Michael  P.  Kearney,  Charles  M.  Mullen,  James  McAu- 
liffe,  W.  G.  McLaughlin,  John  McLaughlin,  M.  J.  McDonald,  John  McGuire, 
Peter  W.  Nichola,  William  A.  O'Kane,  John  J.  Roche,  Leo  J.  Roche,  R.  F. 
Thayer,  Joseph  F.  Wallace,  J.  P.  Wallace,  F.  J.  Wincheck,  A.  J.  Wohlfrom, 
J.  F.  Wohlfrom,  Thomas  E.  Walsh,  Simon  Collins,  Edward  Carroll,  George 
M.  Christ,  Jr.,  M.  J.  Cunningham,   A.  E.  Dempsey,   L.  A.  Dougherty, 


256  HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

Thomas  E.  Dougherty,  E.  E.  DeCoursey,  Rev.  I.  Eliselade,  James  H.  Foley, 
Rev.  R.  B.  Groener,  John  J.  Glynn,  John  J.  Hartnett,  William  A.  Hannon, 
McCown  Hunt,  John  Hannon,  Thomas  Jones,  Rev.  T.  H.  Kinsella,  W.  F. 
Koel,  Aloysius  Meyers,  M.  B.  Murray,  Stance  Meyers,  William  K.  Miller, 
M.  S.  McCarthy,  Rev.  Francis  M.  Orr,  John  J.  O'Donnell,  Patrick  O'Brien, 
Patrick  F.  Roche,  W.  B.  Reilly,  William  B.  Shaughnessy,  and  W.  E. 
Thomas. 

The  first  officers  chosen  for  the  organization  were  as  follows:  Grand 
Knight,  J.  D.  Hurley;  Deputy  Grand  Knight,  J.  J.  Brown;  Chancellor,  Dr. 
M.  S.  McCarthy;  Recorder,  James  McAuliffe;  Financial  Secretary,  Ed.  R. 
Bannon;  Treasurer,  Frank  E.  Carroll;  Lecturer,  John  J.  Hartnett;  Advo- 
cate, A.  E.  Dempsey ;  Warden  A.  J.  Wohlfrom ;  Inside  Guard,  Arnold 
Frana;  Outside  Guard,  Charles  M.  Fanning;  Chaplain,  Rev.  Francis  M. 
Orr;  Medical  Examiner,  Dr.  Joseph  F.  Wallace;  Trustees,  McCown  Hunt, 
Edward  Carroll  and  John  J.  Roche. 

The  present  officers  of  the  organization  are  as  follows :  Grand  Knight, 
T.  J.  Cahill ;  Deputy  Grand  Knight,  J.  J.  O'Connell,  Jr. ;  Chancellor,  George 
Collins;  Recorder,  Raymond  Thayer;  Financial  Secretary,  J.  P.  Wallace; 
Treasurer,  Edward  Keane;  Lecturer,  Edward  Van  Grino;  Advocate,  John 
T.  O'Keefe;  Warden,  Thomas  L.  Medill;  Inside  Guard,  Joseph  Hurley, 
Jr. ;  Outside  Guard,  George  O'Donnell ;  Chaplain,  Rev.  B.  S.  Kelly ;  Medical 
Examiner,  Dr.  J.  L.  Everhardy,  and  Trustees,  A.  F.  Miller,  A.  E.  Becker, 
and  J.  C.  Reick. 


CHAPTER  XIV 


NATIONAL  AND  STATE  INSTITUTIONS 


NATIONAL,    MILITARY    HOME— UNITED    STATES    PENITENTIARY— STATE    PENITEN- 
TIARY. 


The  National  Military  Home. — By  Act  of  Congress  March  3,  1865,  the 
National  Military  and  Naval  Asylum  for  disabled  officers  and  men  of  vol- 
untary forces  was  established.  It  was  located  at  Dayton,  Ohio.  Since 
then  branches  have  been  established  at  various  places  over  the  country. 
A  movement  was  started  in  Leavenworth  to  secure  a  branch  of  the  home. 
S.  F.  Neely,  ex-Gov.  George  T.  Anthony,  Gen.  Chas.  W.  Blair  and  Hon. 
Alexander  Caldwell  were  the  prime  movers.  A  meeting  was  called  at 
which  the  following  committee  was  chosen:  J.  B.  Johnson,  Maj.  W.  B. 
Shockley,  Thomas  Ryan,  Charles  W.  Blair,  George  T.  Anthony  and  S.  F. 
Neely.  This  committee  met  with  the  Congressional  representative  at 
the  various  places  viewed  and  examined.  Five  states  were  after  the  prize. 
Iowa  offered  $50,000  and  Kansas  delegation  $50,000  and  a  section  of  land. 
After  careful  deliberation  the  present  site  overlooking  the  Missouri  River 
was  chosen.  The  Leavenworth  branch  was  established  by  Act  of  Con- 
gress March  7,  1877.  The  first  disabled  soldier  was  admitted  September 
1,  1885.  Fifteen  years  later  there  were  4,000  veterans  in  the  home. 
Nearly  all  of  these  were  Civil  War  veterans  but  in  the  early  '90s  there 
were  some  from  the  Mexican  War.  Beginning  a  few  years  after  the 
Spanish-American  War  a  few  veterans  from  this  war  began  to  enter  the 
home.  At  present  a  large  number  of  the  World  War  soldiers  are  enter- 
ing. So  that  the  members  now  enrolled  may  be  classified  as  follows: 
Civil  War,  1,811 ;  Spanish-American  War,  354 ;  World  War,  133 ;  Mexican 
Border  War,  1 ;  total  number  enrolled  April  15,  1921,  2,299 ;  total  enrolled 
since  beginning  of  the  home  till  June  30,  1920,  40,080. 

(13) 


258  HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

There  are  some  sixteen  or  more  barracks,  a  large  hospital,  a  hospital 
for  epileptics,  a  general  mess  hall,  a  library,  administration  building,  a 
theatre,  a  chapel,  greenhouse,  power  plant,  several  fine  residences  for  the 
officials  and  other  buildings.  There  is  a  fine  lake  to  the  south  of  the 
hospital,  at  the  east  edge  of  which  stands  a  band  stand.  Here  the  Soldiers 
Home  band  plays  during  the  summer  months  on  Sunday  afternoons.  A 
band  stand  also  is  located  in  front  of  the  mess  hall.  A  cannon  is  placed 
near  by  and  is  fired  every  evening  at  sundown  and  during  the  lowering  of 
the  flag.  A  more  beautiful  place  for  a  soldiers'  home  probably  could  not 
be  found  in  this  section  of  the  United  States.  The  governors  of  the  home 
to  the  present  time  are  as  follows :  Col.  Andrew  J.  Smith,  Col.  J.  G.  Row- 
land, Col.  S.  G.  Cooke. 

United  States  Penitentiary. — June  10,  1898,  Congress  set  aside  700 
acres  adjoining  Leavenworth  City  for  a  site  for  a  prison.  Work  was  be- 
gun on  the  present  penitentiary  during  this  year.  Prison  labor  was  used 
in  the  construction  of  the  walls  and  buildings.  From  1895  to  1906  the 
penitentiary  occupied  the  military  prison  at  the  fort.  In  1906  the  United 
States  Penitentiary  was  moved  to  the  present  site.  It  is  inclosed  by  a 
wall  about  thirty  feet  high,  built  of  stone.  The  west  wing  cell  house  is 
under  construction  at  the  present  time.  The  entrance  to  the  prison  is 
on  the  south.  A  fine  lawn  extends  to  Metropolitan  Avenue,  and  is  planted 
in  shade  trees  and  sodded  in  blue  grass.  The  warden's  residence  is  lo- 
cated on  the  east  side  of  the  east  driveway  and  the  deputy  warden's  resi- 
dence is  located  on  the  west  side  of  the  west  driveway.  Band  concerts 
are  held  on  the  lawn  in  the  summer  time  and  the  music  is  furnished  by  a 
band  composed  of  prisoners.  A  small  railway  leads  from  the  prison  to 
the  hills  on  the  west,  over  which  stone  is  hauled  from  the  quarry. 

The  prisoners  are  employed  at  various  occupations  inside,  such  as 
carpentering,  blacksmithing,  stone  cutting,  brick  making,  building  and 
many  other  trades.  Strict  discipline  is  maintained  within,  although  the 
inmates  are  allowed  many  privileges  at  stated  times.  Baseball  games 
are  played  within  the  inclosure.  When  the  Federal  League  had  a  team 
in  Kansas  City  an  exhibition  game  was  played  between  the  Kansas  City 
team  and  a  picked  team  from  the  prison  and  it  proved  to  be  an  interesting 
game,  although  the  Kansas  City  team  won  by  a  handsome  score.  Many 
amusements  are  provided  for. the  inmates.  Picture  shows  are  given  in 
the  chapel  at  times.  The  writer  recently  attended  an  entertainment  in 
the  chapel  given  by  members  of  the  prison.     Among  the  numbers  on  the 


HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  259 

program  was  a  boxing  exhibition  between  Jack  Johnson,  a  former  heavy- 
weight champion  pugilist,  and  three  other  members. 

A  school  is  maintained  and  is  in  charge  of  the  chaplain.  The  Rev. 
Harmon  Allen  is  the  present  chaplain. 

A  prison  cemetery  is  located  to  the  west  of  the  institution  at  the  foot 
of  the  hills  and  here  are  buried  those  who  died  while  in  prison  and  not 
taken  in  charge  by  relatives. 

The  penitentiary  was  first  in  charge  of  Warden  French.  In  1895  R. 
W.  McClaughery  became  the  warden  and  held  this  position  till  1913,  when 
Thomas  W.  Morgan  became  the  warden.  In  1919  A.  B.  Anderson  was 
chosen  warden  and  holds  the  position  at  the  present  time. 

State  Penitentiary. — The  first  move  toward  establishing  a  peniten- 
tiary was  February  11,  1858.  A  commission  was  appointed  and  the  next 
year  John  Ritchey,  E.  B.  Prentiss  and  Fielding  Johnson  were  selected 
commissioners  to  erect  and  maintain  a  prison  for  Kansas.  They  were 
given  power  to  select  a  tract  of  land  on  which  were  good  building  stone 
and  erect  temporary  buildings  for  prisoners  and  officers.  Twenty  thou- 
sand dollars  was  appropriated  for  the  purpose  of  a  prison  building  ade- 
quate for  twenty  years.  No  action  was  taken  immediately  and  the  pris- 
oners were  kept  in  an  inclosure  at  Lecompton  and  at  the  various  county 
jails.     Later  they  were  kept  in  the  Leavenworth  County  jail. 

In  1861  the  Legislature  passed  an  act  authorizing  the  state  prison  to 
be  located  in  Leavenworth  County.  Governor  Robinson  appointed  M.  S. 
Adams,  C.  S.  Lambdin  and  Charles  Starne  commissioners  as  required  by 
law.  In  the  fall  of  1861  the  commissioners  selected  the  present  site  for 
the  prison.  The  land  was  purchased  from  Mr.  Whitney  for  $600  and 
the  deed  was  executed  November  25,  1861.  No  appropriation  had  been 
made  for  locating  the  prison  so  the  total  sum  to  be  met  by  the  Legisla- 
ture was  given  by  the  commissioners  in  their  report  as  follows: 

Expenses  of  the  penitentiary  for  1862 $4,271.29 

Land  for  site  with  one  year's  interest 660.00 

Expenses  of  locating  same  and  service  of  commissioners 305.75 

Total    $5,237.04 

The  commissioners  also  recommended  the  employment  of  convicts  in 
the  construction  of  the  prison  and  pointed  out  that  the  judgment  of  the 
courts  was  that  they  should  be  employed  at  hard  labor  and  that  there 
was  no  labor  they  could  perform  while  confined  in  a  jail. 


260  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY 

In  1863  the  Legislature  passed  an  act  for  the  regulation  of  the  peni- 
tentiary and  made  an  appropriation  therefor.  Under  this  act  William 
Dunlap,  John  Wilson  and  S.  S.  Ludlum  were  appointed  directors  of  the 
penitentiary,  the  term  "commissioners"  having  been  dropped.  The  di- 
rectors visited  the  state  prisons  in  New  York,  Michigan  and  Illinois,  for 
the  purpose  of  obtaining  views  to  be  embodied  in  a  penitentiary.  They 
found  that  Joliet,  Illinois,  the  best  and  this  one  was  followed  as  a  model. 
The  Illinois  prison  was  just  nearing  completion  at  the  time.  Erasmus 
E.  Carr  was  chosen  architect  May  22,  1863.  He  prepared  plans  on  the 
order  of  the  Joliet  prison  and  they  were  accepted. 

The  contract  for  the  construction  of  the  prison  was  awarded  to  John 
McCarthy  and  Calvin  Adams.  They  began  work  in  the  summer  of  1864 
and  put  in  the  foundation  of  the  first  wing,  known  as  the  north  wing. 
Owing  to  the  conditions  in  Kansas  growing  out  of  the  Civil  War,  work 
was  then  stopped  for  two  years. 

In  1866  the  contract  was  awarded  to  Flory  and  Caldwell  for  building 
the  penitentiary.  The  buildings  were  to  be  completed  on  or  before  Octo- 
ber 1,  1867. 

Before  the  building  of  the  Federal  Penitentiary,  military  and  Federal 
prisoners  were  kept  at  the  State  Prison.  The  Oklahoma  prisoners  were 
also  kept  there  for  a  number  of  years.  The  last  of  these  were  removed 
to  Oklahoma  on  January  31,  1909.  Until  1909  contracts  had  been  made 
to  furnish  convict  labor  to  private  employers,  but  since  then  no  more 
contracts  have  been  let. 

The  north  wing  cell  house  burned  down  on  election  day  in  November, 
1917.  It  is  now  being  rebuilt  and  the  east  wall  of  the  wing  is  being 
moved  farther  east  so  that  more  room  is  added.  It  is  being  rebuilt  in 
the  most  modem  style  with  all  the  conveniences  of  up  to  date  cells.  The 
dining  hall  was  built  in  1872.  Over  the  dining  hall  is  the  chapel,  where 
services  are  held  and  entertainments  furnished  for  the  prisoners. 

Amusements  of  various  kinds  are  furnished.  In  summer  there  is 
baseball  and  in  winter  are  picture  shows,  boxing  and  wrestling.  There 
is  a  band  which  furnishes  music  inside  and  also  plays  at  times  during 
good  weather  in  front  of  the  administration  building.  - 

There  are  four  departments  of  industry.  The  coal  mine,  twine  plant, 
brick  plant  and  the  farm.  The  state  owns  a  part  of  Stigers  Island  in  the 
Missouri  River  and  on  this  a  large  amount  of  farm  products  are  raised. 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  261 

The  State  Industrial  Farm  is  located  on  the  prison  farm  overlooking 
the  Missouri  River.     It  was  established  in  1918. 

The  records  show  that  there  are  confined  at  the  prison  and  at  the 
industrial  farm  on  February  9,  1921,  1,026  prisoners. 

The  following  wardens  have  served:  J.  L.  Philbrick,  Maj.  Henry  Hop- 
kins, W.  C.  Jones,  John  H.  Smith,  George  H.  Case,  S.  W.  Chase,  J.  B. 
Lynch,  H.  S.  Landis,  J.  B.  Tomlinson,  E.  B.  Jewett,  W.  H.  Haskell,  J.  K. 
Codding,  J.  D.  Botkin,  J.  K.  Codding. 


CHAPTER  XV 


THE  PRESS 


"THE  KANSAS  HERALD"— "TERRITORIAL  REGISTER"— "THE  JOURNAL"— "YOUNG 
AMERICA"— OTHER  PIONEER  NEWSPAPERS — LATER  PUBLICATIONS— THE 
LEAVENWORTH  TIMES — THE  LEAVENWORTH  POST. 

From  the  very  inception  of  the  city  of  Leavenworth  as  a  city,  the 
newspaper  industry  has  been  one  of  the  leading  industries.  Even  before 
there  was  a  house  in  the  city  to  shield  the  presses  from  the  elements,  a 
paper  was  being  published.  An  account  of  the  publication  of  this  first 
paper  in  the  city,  "The  Kansas  Herald,"  will  be  found  elsewhere  in  this 
volume  in  more  complete  detail.  The  first  publication  was  under  the 
management  of  Adams  and  Osborne  and  the  paper  was  printed  under  the 
shade  of  a  large  elm  tree  that  stood  near  the  foot  of  Cherokee  Street 
and  Levee  or  Water  Street.  The  date  of  this  publication  was  September 
15,  1856.  This  paper  eventually  passed  into  the  hands  of  R.  C.  Satterlee 
and  several  others.  When  Satterlee  was  shot  and  killed  by  Col.  D.  R. 
Anthony,  the  paper  suspended  publication.  It  was  later  merged  with 
"The  Inquirer,"  a  publication  of  this  city  in  those  days  but  was  totally 
destroyed  by  a  mob  in  October,  1861. 

The  next  early  day  newspaper  to  begin  publication  in  the  city  was 
published  under  the  name  of  the  "Territorial  Register."  It  was  strongly 
Free  State  and  came  quite  early  into  disrepute  in  the  eyes  of  the  pro- 
slavery  element  of  the  city  and  territory.  It  was  owned  and  published  by 
a  partnership  known  as  Severe  &  Delahay.  After  a  few  months  of  exist- 
ence the  office  was  raided  by  Kickapoo  Rangers  and  the  presses  and  type 
were  thrown  in  the  Missouri  River. 

Another  early  day  paper  was  published  under  the  name  of  "The 
Journal."     Col.  S.  S.  Goode  was  the  first  editor  of  this  publication.     It 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  263 

was  an  evening  paper  and  owing  to  the  bitterness  displayed  toward  its 
publication  by  the  "Herald"  interests,  it  was  forced  to  quit  publication 
within  a  short  time. 

A  paper  named  "Young  America"  was  published  for  a  short  time  by 
George  W.  McLane.  It  had  a  tendency  to  be  Free  State  and  consequently 
met  with  considerable  resistance  at  the  time  of  its  publication.  McLane 
was  registered  on  the  attorney  roll  of  the  city  of  Leavenworth  but  there 
is  no  record  of  his  ever  practicing  law  here.  He  was  the  auctioneer  at 
the  sale  of  the  first  town  lots  sold  in  the  city  of  Leavenworth,  October 
9,  1854.  McLane  left  the  city  during  the  middle  '60s  and  never  after- 
ward returned.  His  paper,  "Young  America,"  was  published  but  a  short 
time  and  was  finally  merged  with  the  "Daily  Ledger." 

The  "Daily  Ledger"  was  the  first  daily  paper  to  begin  publication  in 
the  city  of  Leavenworth,  in  fact  it  was  the  first  daily  paper  published 
west  of  the  Mississippi  River  at  the  time  of  its  beginning  publication, 
September  1,  1857.  Conditions  at  that  time  were  not  favorable  to  the 
publication  of  a  daily  paper  and  the  "Ledger"  was  forced  to  suspend  pub- 
lication in  1859. 

"The  Weekly  Times,"  one  of  the  foremost  of  the  early  day  publica- 
tions, began  publication  in  the  summer  of  1857.  The  first  editor  of  this 
paper  was  Judge  Robert  Crozier,  who  for  years  held  the  position  of  judge 
of  the  District  Court  here.  The  "Times"  was  at  first  owned  by  a  stock 
company.  Eventually  this  paper  began  a  daily  publication,  the  first  daily 
being  issued  February  15,  1858.  The  ownership  finally  passed  into  the 
hands  of  the  late  Col.  D.  R.  Anthony,  who  published  it  until  his  death, 
when  it  passed  into  the  hands  of  D.  R.  Anthony,  Jr.,  his  son,  the  present 
owner.  For  years  this  paper  has  ranked  among  the  foremost  of  its  kind, 
occupying  one  of  the  strongest  positions  in  the  newspaper  business  in 
the  Middle  West.  The  paper  since  it  came  in  the  hands  of  the  Anthonys 
has  always  been  strongly  Republican  in  policy  and  politics. 

A  paper  named  the  "Kansas  Zeitung"  was  started  in  the  city  of 
Leavenworth  during  the  year  1858  by  Dr.  Kopph.  This  was  the  first 
German  paper  to  be  published  in  this  city.  In  1869  another  German 
paper  was  published  by  Major  Haberlein  under  the  name  of  the  "Frie 
Presse."  This  paper  was  published  by  Major  Haberlein  for  a  number  of 
years  until  his  death,  when  the  publication  of  it  was  taken  up  by  his  son. 

"The  Conservative,"  one  of  the  foremost  of  early  day  Leavenworth 
papers,  was  started  by  D.  W.  Wilder,  who  was  also  editor  of  the  publica- 


264  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

tion.  Wilder  continued  the  publication  of  the  "Conservative"  for  some 
time,  eventually  selling  out  his  interests  to  Col.  D.  R.  Anthony.  About 
this  time  Anthony  also  bought  out  a  stock  company's  interests  in  the 
publication  known  as  the  "Evening  Bulletin,"  a  Republican  organ  as  well 
as  "The  Conservative."  Another  publication  known  as  the  "Leavenworth 
Commercial,"  which  was  published  about  this  time  by  Prescott  and  Hume, 
also  passed  into  the  hands  of  Col.  Anthony.  A  paper  that  had  been 
published  for  a  short  time  by  J.  C.  Clark  &  Co.,  known  as  the  "Evening 
Call,"  suspended  publication  when  the  owners  became  interested  in  the 
publication  of  the  "Leavenworth  Commercial,"  which  as  aforementioned 
later  passed  into  the  hands  of  Col.  D.  R.  Anthony. 

Another  early  day  paper  that  lived  but  a  short  time  was  published 
by  Emory  &  Co.  and  was  known  as  the  "Daily  Appeal." 

Among  other  papers  that  began  publication  in  this  city  and  met  with 
indifferent  success  were  the  "Home  Record,"  "The  Daily  Public  Press," 
"The  Evening  Commercial,"  "The  Kansas  Farmer,"  "The  Cosmopolitan," 
"The  Evening  Ledger,"  "The  Daily  Standard,"  "The  Daily  Evening  Press," 
"The  Chronicle,"  "The  Labor  Review,"  "The  Kansas  Churchman,"  "The 
Advertiser,'*  "Western  Life,"  "Leavenworth  Post"  and  "Leavenworth 
Times." 

The  "Home  Record"  was  a  small  publication  published  in  the  city 
here  for  a  number  of  years  in  the  interest  of  the  "Home  of  the  Friend- 
less." It  was  a  monthly  journal  and  has  long  since  suspended  publi- 
cation. 

"The  Daily  Public  Press"  was  a  daily  publication  under  the  manager- 
ship of  F.  J.  Wendell  and  under  the  editorship  of  Dr.  H.  B.  Horn.  It 
was  published  but  a  short  time  when  it  suspended  publication. 

H.  Miles  Moore,  one  of  the  pioneer  citizens  of  the  city  Leavenworth, 
was  the  editor  of  a  publication  for  a  short  time  known  as  the  "Evening 
Commercial."  The  publication  was  Democratic  in  politics  and  was  forced 
after  a  short  time  to  suspend  publication  due  to  the  lack  of  financial 


On  October  17,  1877,  Frank  Hall  and  J.  W.  Remington  began  the 
publication  of  an  evening  paper  known  as  the  "Evening  Ledger,"  Being 
Democratic  in  politics  it  soon  went  the  route  of  all  early  day  Democratic 
papers. 

The  "Kansas  Farmer"  was  published  here  but  a  short  time.  It  was 
under  the  editorship  of  George  T.  Anthony,  who  afterward  was  elected 
governor  of  the  State  of  Kansas. 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY  265 

-One  of  the  strongest  adventures  in  the  way  of  a  Democratic  news- 
paper in  the  city  of  Leavenworth  was  began  here  in  1870,  when  a  publi- 
cation known  as  the  "Daily  Standard"  was  begun.  This  publication  was 
under  the  managership  of  Frank  T.  Lynch  and  the  editorship  of  ex-Sena- 
tor Ross.  It  was  owned  by  a  syndicate  of  leading  Democrats  of  this 
city.  After  fighting  the  fight  of  a  Democratic  paper  against  heavy  odds 
for  about  twelve  years  it  was  finally  consolidated  with  the  "Daily  Eve- 
ning Press"  and  was  issued  as  a  morning  paper.  After  this  consolidation 
Lynch  became  part  owner  and  editor.  Upon  his  death  the  paper  was 
gotten  control  of  by  Col.  Anthony,  who  published  it  for  a  time  as  an 
evening  paper.     Not  succeeding  in  this,  the  publication  was  suspended. 

"The  Chronicle"  was  another  Leavenworth  paper  owned  and  con- 
trolled by  a  syndicate  of  Leavenworth  men.  It  was  under  the  editorship 
of  R.  M.  Ruggles  and  quickly  became  one  of  the  leading  publications  of 
this  city.  The  majority  of  the  stock  in  the  concern,  however,  eventually 
found  its  way  into  Col.  Anthony's  hands  and  when  the  publication  became 
involved  to  some  extent,  publication  was  suspended. 

"The  German  Tribune"  was  a  weekly  publication  for  years  pub- 
lished in  this  city.  It  was  originally  owned  and  published  by  Capt.  Met- 
cham  and  enjoyed  a  very  successful  business  under  the  captain  and  Sig 
Kuraner,  into  whose  hands  it  eventually  passed.  Publication  was  sus- 
pended several  years  ago. 

In  1902  George  Davis  started  a  publication  known  as  the  "Labor 
Review."  For  a  number  of  years  it  was  under  the  editorship  of  J.  F. 
O'Conner.     It  was  and  still  is  devoted  exclusively  to  the  cause  of  labor. 

"The  Advertiser"  was  another  newspaper  adventure  entered  into  by 
Capt.  Metcham,  the  first  editor  of  the  "German  Tribune."  Shortly  after 
its  publication  began  it  was  purchased  by  Fred  Jameson,  who  changed 
its  name  to  the  "Western  Life."  Under  the  editorship  of  Jameson  the 
"Western  Life"  grew  rapidly  in  favor  with  the  people  of  this  city  and 
county.  The  outgrowth  of  this  publication  was  the  "Leavenworth  Post," 
a  publication  originally  owned  and  controlled  by  Fred  Jameson  and  Albert 
T.  Reid.  The  "Leavenworth  Post,"  Leavenworth's  evening  paper  at  this 
time,  is  owned  and  controlled  by  a  stock  company.  Wallace  F.  Hovey  is 
at  the  present  time  editor  and  manager  of  the  publication.  It  enjoys  a 
large  circulation  and  stands  well  in  rank  with  other  evening  papers  in 
the  state. 


266  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

"The  Leavenworth  Times,"  Leavenworth's  morning  paper  of  today, 
ranks  among  the  leading  morning  papers  of  the  state.  It  is  owned  and 
controlled  by  Congressman  D.  R.  Anthony,  Jr.,  and  is  one  of  the  oldest 
and  most  stable  of  local  publications.  It  enjoys  a  very  large  circulation 
and  in  politics  has  always  been  found  to  be  one  hundred  per  cent  Republi- 
can. James  M.  Mickey  has  for  a  number  of  years  past  been  associated 
with  the  publication  of  "The  Times"  in  the  capacity  of  associate  editor, 
while  W.  I.  Biddle  has  acted  as  city  editor  of  the  publication. 

A  paper  that  should  have  been  classified  with  the  early  day  publica- 
tions of  Leavenworth  County,  that  while  it  was  only  published  for  a  short 
length  of  time  contributed  materially  to  the  keeping  of  all  things  pertain- 
ing to  the  slavery  question  in  an  uproar,  was  the  "Kansas  Pioneer." 

The  "Pioneer"  was  published  at  Kickapoo,  Kansas,  one  of  the  bitterest 
rivals  of  the  city  of  Leavenworth  as  well  as  Fort  Leavenworth.  The 
first  edition  of  the  paper  came  out  during  the  month  of  November,  1854. 
A.  B.  Hazzard  was  for  a  while  the  sole  owner,  manager  and  editor  of  the 
publication,  which  was  radically  pro-slavery.  For  a  while  a  party  named 
Sexton  associated  himself  with  Sexton  in  the  publication  of  the  "Pioneer." 
When  it  became  evident  to  the  editors  that  the  fight  of  Kickapoo  for  the 
county  seat  of  Leavenworth  was  hopelessly  lost  and  that  Kickapoo  City 
was  destined  to  a  certain  death,  the  publication  of  the  "Pioneer"  was 
abandoned. 

Among  other  papers  now  published  in  the  county  of  Leavenworth  is 
the  "Easton  Transcript"  and  the  "Tonganoxie  Mirror."  Both  are  weeklies 
and  enjoy  a  large  circulation  as  well  as  remunerative  patronage  in  the 
way  of  advertising.  The  "Easton  Transcript"  is  published  in  the  city  of 
Easton,  in  Easton  Township,  Leavenworth  County,  Kansas.  At  the  pres- 
ent time  Robert  Stafford  is  the  owner  and  editor.  The  "Transcript"  is 
practically  the  outgrowth  of  an  early  day  Easton  publication  known  as 
the  "Light  of  Liberty"  and  later  as  the  "Easton  Light."  The  first  publi- 
cation of  the  "Light"  was  dated  July  26,  1895,  and  the  original  owners 
and  editors  were  M.  L.  and  K.  Lockwood. 


CHAPTER  XVI 


MEDICAL  PROFESSION 


FIRST  PHYSICIANS  CAME  WITH  THE  ARMY— FIRST  ON  THE  TOWNSITE— EARLY 
PHYSICIANS — KICKAPOO— OTHER  SMALL.  TOWNS— PROMINENT  DOCTORS- 
SANITARY  COMMISSION  ESTABLISHED— U.  S.  MILITARY  HOSPITAL— OTHER 
HOSPITALS— "MEDICAL  HERALD"— PRESENT  DAY  PHYSICIANS. 

The  medical  profession  of  Leavenworth  County  has  a  longer  span 
of  activity  than  any  other  of  the  learned  professions.  The  physician  came 
with  the  troops  located  at  Cantonment  Leavenworth,  now  Fort  Leaven- 
worth, in  1827.  The  first  medical  officer  there  was  Assistant  Surgeon 
Clement  A.  Finlay,  according  to  the  information  given  by  Maj.  Howard 
McC.  Snyder,  Medical  Corps,  United  States  Army,  now  post  surgeon  of 
Fort  Leavenworth.  The  physician  has  been  active  at  the  post  in  an  un- 
broken line  of  succession  from  1827  to  the  present  day.  In  1854,  when 
Leavenworth  City  and  Kickapoo  were  founded,  Dr.  G.  Magruder  and  Dr. 
Samuel  Phillips  were  on  duty  at  Fort  Leavenworth.  The  first  physician 
of  the  new  townsite  of  Leavenworth  was  Dr.  Charles  Leib,  who  had  an 
office  in  the  "Big  Tent"  north  of  the  elm  tree  at  Levee  and  Cherokee 
Street.  Five  physicians  were  included  in  the  original  Town  Company. 
Among  them  were  Drs.  Magruder,  Samuel  Philips  and  S.  F.  Few.  The 
latter  was  for  a  long  time  city  physician  in  after  years.  Other  early 
physicians  in  Leavenworth  were  Drs.  Dyer,  W.  S.  Catterson,  Levi  Houston, 
John  Harvey  Day,  S.  F.  Norton,  James  Davis,  J.  M.  Bodine  and  Tiffin  Sinks. 

Dr.  H.  B.  Callahan  located  here  in  1856,  and  after  a  temporary  ab- 
sence in  Platte  City,  relocated  in  1866.  He  died  in  his  office  in  1896. 
The  wonderful  growth  of  Leavenworth  spread  afar  and  attracted  the 
following  physicians,  who  permanently  settled  here  in  the  years  men- 
tioned: Drs.  M.  S.  Thomas,  1856;  T.  J.  Weed,  1857;  J.  L.  Weaver,  1859; 


268  HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

S.  W.  Jones,  1859 ;  Margaret  Burdell,  1861 ;  John  McCormick,  1862 ;  A.  C. 
Van  Duyn,  1865;  J.  W.  Brock,  1865;  W.  B.  Carpenter,  1866;  J.  J.  Edic, 
1869,  and  S.  F.  Neely,  1869. 

The  activity  of  these  physicians  is  still  remembered  by  many  of  the 
present  adult  population  of  Leavenworth.  When  they  became  older  their 
work  was  continued  by  such  men  as  Drs.  D.  W.  Thomas,  B.  E.  Fryer,  L.  K. 
Hunter,  W.  J.  Van  Eman,  J.  A.  Lane,  W.  W.  Walter,  W.  R.  Van  Tuyl,  D. 
R.  Phillips  and  R.  F.  Slaughter.  From  the  foregoing,  who  have  long  since 
ceased  their  labors,  the  present  medical  profession  of  Leavenworth  County 
has  inherited  a  reputation  of  eminent  skill  and  ability.  They  are  grateful 
to  them  for  their  heritage.  They  hold  them  aloft  in  their  own  esteem, 
respect  and  veneration.  In  cherishing  the  memory  of  their  success,  sac- 
rifices and  arduous  work  for  humanity,  the  Medical  Association  of  today 
is  sensible  of  its  duties  to  them  and  are  resolved  to  uphold  their  high 
ideals  in  promoting  the  progress  of  medical  and  surgical  science. 

Kickapoo,  while  it  was  contending  with  Leavenworth  for  supremacy, 
numbered  among  its  population  Drs.  D.  A.  Crane,  H.  B.  C.  Harris,  Brown- 
field  and  Hathaway.  Dr.  T.  H.  Hathaway  came  in  1878.  As  the  rural 
portion  of  the  county  was  settled  by  the  pioneers  smaller  towns  also  grew 
up.  Dr.  T.  G.  V.  Boling  located  in  High  Prairie  Township  in  1865.  He 
was  a  member  of  the  Legislature  for  a  number  of  years.  He  was  joined 
later  in  1876  by  Dr.  James  Hutchison.  Dr.  William  B.  Wood  came  to  the 
Springdale  settlement  in  1855  as  a  youth,  and  after  graduation  in  1875 
practiced  there.  Dr.  J.  W.  Warring  has  been  in  active  practice  at  Lin- 
wood  since  1873.  Dr.  W.  J.  Van  Eman  started  his  professional  career  at 
Tonganoxie  in  1879  and  moved  to  Leavenworth  in  1881.  He  died  ah  un- 
timely death  from  blood  poison  in  1901.  Dr.  R.  F.  Slaughter,  of  Tonga- 
noxie, who  died  in  March,  1921,  dated  back  to  1873.  Dr.  T.  C.  Craig  has 
been  at  Easton  since  1866  and  is  now  retired.  Lansing  has  had  a  number 
of  physicians  temporarily  located  at  the  Kansas  Penitentiary,  one  of  whom 
was  Dr.  George  F.  Neally,  who  became  a  permanent  resident  of  Lansing 
in  1883. 

The  outstanding  historical  character  of  the  Leavenworth  medical 
profession  is  Dr.  Samuel  Phillips,  who  was  a  contract  surgeon  at  Fort 
Leavenworth  before  coming  to  Leavenworth  in  1857,  where  his  first  office 
was  at  the  southeast  comer  of  Fifth  and  Kickapoo  streets.  In  1855  he 
volunteered  to  go  to  Fort  Riley,  where  cholera  was  raging  and  where 
Maj.  E.  0.  Ogden  was  constructing  new  buildings.     Dr.  Phillips  has  the 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY  269 

credit  of  checking  the  ravages  of  cholera  at  that  post.  On  August  3, 
1855,  fifteen  people  died,  among  them  Maj.  Ogden.  Dr.  Phillips  died 
October  31,  1919,  after  serving  three  generations. 

Dr.  C.  A.  Logan  was  very  prominent  and  successful  in  Leavenworth 
until  he  gave  up  his  practice  to  become  minister  to  Chili.  Prior  to  that 
he  was  a  member  of  the  State  Legislature.  Dr.  J.  W.  Brock  succeeded 
him  in  Leavenworth,  and  was  active  until  he  died,  on  November  26,  1900. 

Dr.  B.  E.  Fryer  was  an  eminent  specialist  on  the  eye  and  ear.  After 
his  retirement  from  army  service  he  practiced  in  Kansas  City,  Missouri, 
where  he  recently  died,  beloved  and  honored  by  all. 

Col.  C.  F.  Craig,  of  the  Medical  Corps  at  Fort  Leavenworth,  is  an 
accepted  authority  of  international  reputation  on  serology  and  malaria. 
He  is  a  prolific  writer  and  has  published  several  volumes  on  serology  and 
malaria.  He  is  now  on  duty  at  the  Army  Medical  Museum  at  Washing- 
ton, District  of  Columbia. 

The  United  States  Sanitary  Commission  established  in  Leaven- 
worth in  1861  a  general  supply  depot  of  sanitary  stores  for  hospitals  and 
armies  west  of  Missouri.  From  here  supplies  were  forwarded  to  the  far 
West  and  all  points  in  Kansas  as  far  south  as  Fort  Scott.  Material  aid 
was  given  to  the  needy  at  Westport  after  Price's  raid  in  October,  1864. 

In  1863  the  United  States  Military  Hospital  was  a  frame  structure 
on  the  northeast  corner  of  Third  and  Seneca  streets.  Dr.  S.  B.  Davis 
was  the  medical  officer  on  duty. 

St.  John's  Hospital  was  opened  in  1864  as  a  general  hospital  by  the 
Sisters  of  Charity.  It  was  enlarged  in  1911  to  its  present  capacity  oft 
seventy  beds. 

The  City  and  County  Hospital,  on  Shawnee  Street  west  of  Broadway, 
was  in  charge  of  Dr.  H.  Buckmaster  in  1866.  The  old  poor  farm  was 
abandoned  in  1914,  and  its  inmates  transferred  to  the  new  County  Hos- 
pital, which  was  formerly  the  Kansas  Orphan  Asylum,  and  later  the 
Leavenworth  Hospital. 

The  Homeopathic  Free  Dispensary  was  organized  January  26,  1866, 
and  was  located  at  29  Shawnee  Street.  It  was  supported  by  a  society 
of  citizens,  and  furnishes  free  medical  advice  and  medicines  to  the  poor. 
It  was  attended  by  Dr.  Martin  Mayer.    Office  hour:  9  to  10  A.  M. 

In  the  early  days  Leavenworth  was  the  medical  center,  as  well  as 
the  commercial  metropolis  of  the  West.  The  Leavenworth  Medical  and 
Surgical  Association  was  active  from  1862  to  1865,  with  a  membership 


270  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

including  Drs.  Levi  Houston,  C.  A.  Logan,  Tiffin  Sinks,  J.  P.  Earickson, 
George  E.  Budington,  A.  Bowlby,  0.  P.  Barbour  and  others.  The  Leaven- 
worth Medico-Chirurgical  Society  was  organized  April  14,  1865,  with  Dr. 
0.  P.  Barbour  president  and  Dr.  W.  B.  Carpenter,  secretary. 

Four  meetings  of  the  Kansas  State  Medical  Society  have  been  held 
in  Leavenworth.  Three  Leavenworth  physicians  have  held  the  office  of 
president  of  the  society.  A  meeting  of  the  state  society  will  be  held 
whenever  the  hotel  accommodations  are  adequate. 

The  Homeopathic  Society  of  Kansas  met  in  Leavenworth  on  April 
14,  1869,  with  Dr.  J.  J.  Edic  as  secretary. 

"The  Medical  Herald,"  a  quarterly,  appeared  June  1,  1867,  and  was 
edited  by  Drs.  C.  A.  Logan  and  Tiffin  Sinks,  later  by  Dr.  J.  W.  Brock. 

In  1859  there  were  in  Leavenworth  ten  drug  stores,  four  midwives 
and  thirty-five  physicians;  in  1868,  ten  drug  stores,  fifteen  nurses  and 
forty-one  physicians ;  in  1921  there  are  thirteen  drug  stores,  thirty  nurses 
and  twenty-three  physicians. 

The  county  of  Leavenworth  is  more  hospitalized  than  any  other  in 
Kansas,  and  is  unique  in  the  entire  country  in  the  variety  of  its  hospitals. 
The  capacity  of  the  hospitals  is  given  as  follows: 

Cushing  Hospital  30  beds 

Elmwood  Hospital 30  beds 

Evergreen  Hospital  50  beds 

St.  John's  Hospital 70  beds 

County  Hospital 70  beds 

Kansas  Prison  Hospital  16  beds 

Kansas  Industrial  Farm 10  beds 

National  Military  Home  Hospital 525  beds 

United  States  Disciplinary  Barracks  Hospital 150  beds 

United  States  Prison  Hospital 122  beds 

United  States  Post  Hospital 150  beds 

The  names  of  physicians  of  Leavenworth  County,  who  are  in  active 
practice,  together  with  address  and  year  of  graduation,  are  as  follows: 

Easton:  Clint  A.  Laffoon 1907 

Basehor:  James  McCully 1915 

Jarbalo:  Edwin  S.  Wood 1896 

Lansing:  S.  L.  Axford 1902 

J  T.  Faulkner 1903 

Leo  J.  Swann 1908 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  271 

Leavenworth:  Alonzo  R.  Adams 1904 

Wilbur  A.  Baker 1916 

Charles  E.  Brown 1904 

G.  Ralph  Combs 1902 

P.  W.  Darrah 1898 

J.  L.  Everhardy 1897 

C.  C.  Goddard 1873 

Frederic  J.   Haas 1907 

S.  N.  Jackson 1894 

Cyrus  D.  Lloyd 1898 

J.  H.  Langworthy 1907 

Charles  J.  McGee 1902 

S.  B.  Langworthy 1887 

Stewart  McKee 1895 

J.  D.  Miller 1898 

C.  M.  Moates 1888 

Frank  M.  Morrow 1905 

James  W.  Risdon 1905 

J.  E.  Skaggs 1915 

Andrew  J.  Smith 1894 

H.  J.  Stacey 1896 

D.  R.  Sterrett 1907 

A.  L.  Suwalsky 1901 

C.  K.  Vaughn 1898 

A.  F.  Yohe 1888 

Linwood:  H.  E.  Vannoy 1907 

J.  W.  Warring 1873 

Tonganoxie:  Walter  B.  Coe 1896 

National  Military  Home :  Surgeon,  A.  W.  Bartel ;  assistant  surgeons,  A.  S. 
Stayer,  O.  A.  Menges,  F.  C.  Fuller,  E.  Raike,  F.  S.  Yates  and  A.  S. 
McClain. 

At  Fort  Leavenworth:  Maj.  Howard  McC.  Snyder  is  post  surgeon;  Maj. 
Edgar  King,  of  the  Medical  Corps,  is  in  charge  of  the  United  States 
Disciplinary  Barracks  Hospital;  Lieut.  Col.  M.  A.  W.  Shockley  is  on 
duty  at  the  Service  Schools. 


CHAPTER  XVII 


THE  LEAVENWORTH  COUNTY  BAR 


TERRITORIAL  CODE  OF  PROCEDURE— JUDGES  APPOINTED— JUDICIAL.  DISTRICTS- 
FIRST   TERRITORIAL  COURT   AT    LEAVEN  WORTH— ATTORNEYS   ADMITTED 


It  is  no  more  than  fitting  that  in  a  history  of  Leavenworth  City  and 
County  mention  should  be  made  of  the  various  members  of  the  county 
bar.  The  major  portion  of  these  members  once  famed  for  their  handling 
of  early  day  legal  matters  have  long  since  died  or  removed  to  other  cities. 
When  the  Territory  of  Kansas  was  established  and  the  Territorial  Legisla- 
ture had  met  and  passed  a  code  of  procedure  a  system  of  courts  was  estab- 
lished. Three  judges  were  appointed  and  each  had  a  certain  district  over 
which  they  presided.  The  first  judge  to  preside  over  the  district  of  which 
Leavenworth  County  was  a  part  was  Samuel  D.  LeCompte. 

The  clerk  of  the  court  was  furnished  with  an  attorney's  roll  book 
which  each  practicing  attorney  having  business  before  the  court  was  re- 
quired to  sign.  Not  all  of  the  attorneys  who  signed  the  roll  were  neces- 
sarily residents  of  the  city  of  Leavenworth,  as  there  were  some  who  from 
time  to  time  came  before  the  local  court  to  transact  business  who  conse- 
quently signed. 

The  first  territorial  court  ever  organized  in  the  Territory  of  Kansas, 
as  well  as  in  the  county  of  Leavenworth,  was  organized  in  Leavenworth 
City,  April  16,  1855,  and  this  court  met  in  a  room  on  the  south  side  of 
Delaware  Street  between  Second  and  Third  streets.  S.  D.  LeCompte  pre- 
sided as  judge.  His  district  at  that  time  comprised  all  of  the  territory 
north  of  the  Kansas  River  and  east  of  the  Blue  River  in  the  Territory 
of  Kansas. 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  273 

The  names  of  the  attorneys  as  they  appear  on  the  attorney  roll  in  the 
office  of  the  clerk  of  the  District  Court,  together  with  data  relative -to  their 
enrollment  as  well  as  a  short  sketch  of  each  is  as  follows: 

John  A.  Halderman,  April  19,  1855.  One  of  the  first  county  com- 
missioners of  the  county  of  Leavenworth,  having  been  appointed  probate 
judge  by  the  territorial  governor  of  Kansas  and  ex-officio  county  commis- 
sioner. Mr.  Halderman  was  for  a  number  of  years  associated  in  the  prac- 
tice of  law  with  W.  S.  Stanley  under  the  firm  name  of  Halderman  &  Stanley. 
Volunteered  his  services  during  the  Civil  War  and  was  commissioned  major. 
Afterward  promoted  to  rank  of  brigadier-general.  Subsequent  to  war  was 
appointed  United  States  minister  to  Siam. 

Richard  R.  Rees  is  the  second  name  found  on  the  attorney's  roll.  Mr. 
Rees  came  to  Leavenworth  during  the  early  '50s.  He  was  a  member  of 
one  of  the  oldest  and  most  highly  respected  families  of  the  city.  He  was 
elected  in  1855  as  one  of  the  members  of  the  territorial  council.  Judge 
Rees  was  associated  in  early  days  quite  strongly  with  the  pro-slavery  ele- 
ment of  the  city  and  county.  After  serving  in  the  Legislature  he  was 
elected  probate  judge  of  Leavenworth  County  and  later  as  justice  of  the 
peace,  which  offices  he  held  for  a  number  of  years  successively.  Subse- 
quent to  this  Judge  Rees  practiced  his  profession  in  the  city  successfully 
for  a  number  of  years. 

The  name  of  D.  J.  Johnson  is  third  found  upon  the  attorney  roll.  Col. 
Johnson,  as  he  was  sometimes  referred  to,  was  a  native  Georgian.  He 
came  to  the  city  of  Leavenworth  in  the  fall  of  the  year  1854  and  estab- 
lished himself  in  the  practice  of  law,  building  up  a  very  lucrative  practice. 
For  a  time  he  was  associated  with  James  M.  Lysle  in  his  practice. 

Aulay  McCauley,  the  fourth  attorney  to  be  entered  on  the  roll,  is  re- 
ported not  to  have  engaged  in  the  practice  of  law  so  much  as  that  of  specu- 
lating in  real  estate  in  those  early  days.  He  laid  out  and  had  platted  sev- 
eral additions  to  the  city  and  took  an  active  interest  in  the  civic  develop- 
ment in  every  way. 

James  M.  Lysle,  the  fifth  attorney  registered,  was  a  southerner  and 
took  an  active  interest  in  early  day  politics,  always  aligning  himself  with 
the  pro-slavery  interests.  His  feelings  ran  very  bitter  against  all  Free- 
State  men  and  his  utterances  and  demeanor  generally  kept  him  in  trouble. 
He  was  killed,  being  stabbed  to  death,  in  an  election  fight  in  1855,  by  Wil- 
liam Haller,  an  election  clerk,  after  Lysle  and  a  number  of  others  had  tried 
to  break  up  the  polling  place  in  the  Second  Ward.  Haller  was  never  tried 
for  the  crime,  it  being  evident  that  he  acted  in  self-defense. 

(14) 


274  HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

D.  A.  N.  Grover  appears  to  have  been  the  sixth  to  register  as  an  at- 
torney in  the  county.  Grover  resided  with  his  father  near  the  city  of 
Kickapoo,  where  his  father  was  an  Indian  missionary.  When  the  squatters 
of  the  territory  held  their  meeting-  at  Rively's  store  in  Salt  Creek  Valley, 
June  10,  1854,  Grover  was  selected  as  recorder  of  claims  on  the  Kickapoo 
and  Delaware  lands. 

David  Dodge  is  registered  as  the  seventh  attoi*ney. 

The  eighth  lawyer  registered  on  the  local  attorney  roll  was  B.  H. 
Twombly,  who  resided  on  a  farm  near  the  city  of  Old  Delaware. 

The  ninth  name  to  appear  on  the  attorney  roll  is  that  of  Cole  McCrea. 
In  his  valued  work,  "Early  History  of  Leavenworth  City  and  County,"  H. 
Miles  Moore  intimates  that  there  was  no  real  reason  ever  became  apparent 
for  the  name  being  placed  there.  On  April  30,  1855,  McCrea  and  Malcolm 
Clark,  then  marshal  of  the  county,  engaged  in  an  altercation  at  a  squatter's 
meeting,  which  resulted  in  the  killing  of  Clark  at  the  hands  of  McCrea. 

The  name  of  Charles  H.  Grover  appears  tenth  on  the  attorney  roll. 
Mr.  Grover  was  a  brother  of  D.  A.  N.  Grover  heretofore  mentioned.  Mr. 
Grover,  too,  lived  in  Salt  Creek  Valley.  Among  other  distinctions  Mr. 
Grover  had  the  honor  of  being  elected  the  first  county  attorney. 

Amos  Rees  was  for  a  number  of  years  an  attorney  in  Platte  City, 
Missouri.  He  was  a  member  of  the  Leavenworth  Town  Company  and  took 
an  active  part  in  politics  in  the  city's  early  days.  For  a  number  of  years 
Mr.  Rees  was  one  of  the  city's  and  county's  foremost  attorneys. 

Peter  J.  Abell,  the  twelfth  name  to  appear  on  the  roll  of  attorneys, 
was  a  resident  of  Weston,  Missouri. 

John  Doniphan,  the  thirteenth  attorney,  also  practiced  law  in  Weston, 
Missouri,  before  coming  here.  Later  he  moved  to  St.  Joseph,  Missouri, 
where  he  was  for  years  one  of  the  most  successful  and  prosperous  attor- 
neys.    He  was  a  nephew  of  Col.  Doniphan. 

C.  F.  Burns,  the  fourteenth  attorney,  practiced  law  in  Weston,  Mis- 
souri, before  coming  here. 

W.  B.  Almond  was  the  fifteenth  attorney  to  register  for  practice.  Be- 
fore coming  here  he  had  served  as  district  judge  of  Platte  district  in  Mis- 
souri. He  practiced  here  but  a  short  time  and  later  removed  to  San 
Francisco,  California. 

William  G.  Mathias  came  here  from  Maryland  in  1854.  He  was  elected 
a  member  of  the  House  of  Representatives  from  Leavenworth  County  to 
the  first  Territorial  Legislature  in  1855. 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  275 

Marens  J.  Parrot  came  from  Ohio.  In  later  years  he  removed  back 
to  Dayton,  Ohio,  where  he  died. 

J.  Marion  Alexander  came  to  Leavenworth  in  1854  from  Pennsylvania. 
After  the  Civil  War  he  went  to  Florida. 

William  Wier,  Jr.,  practiced  successfully  for  several  years.  He  raised 
a  regiment  of  volunteers  during  the  Civil  War  and  was  commissioned 
colonel. 

William  Phillips,  the  twenty-first  name  on  the  list,  came  to  Leaven- 
worth in  1854  from  Ohio.  He  was  a  very  active  Free  State  man  and 
was  soon  classified  as  a  bitter  enemy  of  the  pro-slavery  classes.  The  pro- 
slavery  element  several  times  ordered  him  to  leave  the  city.  On  Septem- 
ber 1,  1856,  he  was  shot  and  killed  by  a  mob  of  pro-slavery  fanatics. 

C.  F.  Barnard,  the  twenty-second  attorney  to  appear  on  the  roll, 
never  practiced  much  before  the  local  courts. 

Benjamin  F.  Simmons,  the  twenty-third  attorney,  came  here  from 
Virginia.  He  was  an  ardent  pro-slavery  man  and  shortly  after  it  became 
apparent  that  the  territory  was  distined  to  be  Free  State  he  moved  away 

Samuel  Formly  appears  to  have  been  the  twenty-fourth  to  sign  the 
roll. 

M.  L.  Truesdell  came  from  Ohio  and  was  an  ardent  Free  State  man. 

Jeremiah  Clark  was  the  twenty-sixth  party  to  register.  He  had  been 
appointed  deputy  marshal  of  the  court  by  Judge  Samuel  D.  LeCompte. 

H.  P.  Johnson  came  from  Ohio.  He  was  an  ardent  pro-slavery  advo- 
cate and  he  with  others,  interested  parties  of  pro-slavery  inclination  in  the 
building  of  the  old  Planters'  Hotel.  When  the  Civil  War  broke  out  John- 
son joined  the  Union  Army  and  was  commissioned  a  colonel  by  Gov.  Rob- 
inson.    He  was  killed  in  the  battle  of  Morristown. 

M.  W.  Delahay  came  in  1854  from  Illinois.  He  was  an  ardent  Free 
State  man  and  very  early  began  the  publication  of  a  Free  State  paper 
known  as  the  "Kansas  Territorial  Register,"  which  came  into  much  dis- 
favor in  the  sight  of  the  pro-slavery  element.  During  Delahay's  absence 
from  the  city  on  one  occasion  a  number  of  Kickapoo  Rangers  came  to  the 
city  and  raided  the  "Register's"  place  of  business,  confiscating  all  type 
and  printing  machines  which  they  threw  into  the  Missouri  River.  After 
this  the  paper  was  never  re-established  or  published.  Upon  Lincoln's 
taking  his  office  of  President  he  appointed  Delahay  to  the  office  of  judge 
of  the  United  States  District  Court  for  the  District  of  Kansas. 

Thomas  Shanklin  came 'to  Leavenworth  in  1855. 


276  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

H.  Miles  Moore,  next  to  register  as  a  practicing  attorney,  came  to 
Leavenworth  from  Weston,  Missouri,  in  1854.  Mr.  Moore  was  a  Free 
State  man  and  took  an  active  part  in  early  day  politics  in  the  territory. 
He  was  admitted  to  the  bar  in  New  York  and  later  removed  to  Weston. 
He  took  an  active  part  in  the  organization  of  the  Leavenworth  Town 
Company  and  was  a  member  and  officer  in  the  same.  The  first  squatter 
trial  ever  held  in  the  territory  of  Kansas  was  held  at  Salt  Creek  Valley 
and  Judge  Moore  was  one  of  the  attorneys  in  the  same.  During  the 
latter  years  of  his  life  he  wrote  a  very  authentic  work  in  the  way  of  a 
history  of  the  early  days  of  Leavenworth  City  and  County. 

G.  W.  Gardner  came  to  the  city  in  1854.  He  later  moved  from  here 
to  Colorado. 

Solomon  P.  McCurdy  was  never  a  resident  of  the  city  or  county. 

William  H.  Miller  came  to  Leavenworth  County  from  Virginia  in 
1855.     He  returned  to  Virginia  and  enlisted  in  the  Confederate  Army. 

H.  T.  Green  was  a  native  of  Missouri  and  came  to  Leavenworth 
County  in  1855.  'When  the  Civil  War  broke  out  he  enlisted  in  an  or- 
ganization to  suppress  the  threatened  Price  raid. 

Thomas  C.  Shoemaker  came  from  Illinois  in  1854.  His  first  work 
here  was  as  an  appointee  of  President  Pierce  as  register  of  the  first  land 
office  in  the  territory.  He  was  an  ardent  Free  State  man.  He  was  subse- 
quently murdered  by  a  mob  of  pro-slavery  fanatics. 

John  I.  Moore,  a  practicing  attorney  from  St.  Joseph,  Missouri,  came 
to  the  county  in  the  year  1855  and  remained  here  until  the  Civil  War, 
when  he  removed  to  Salt  Lake,  Utah. 

G.  W.  Purkins  came  in  1855  from  Virginia.  He  ranked  as  one  of 
the  ablest  attorneys  at  the  bar  in  these  days  and  while  a  man  of  pro- 
slavery  tendencies  and  belief  he  was  broad  minded  enough  to  take  no 
offense  with  those  who  differed  with  him  in  his  political  belief.  He  after 
several  years'  successful  practice  in  this  city  removed  to  Denver,  Colorado. 

George  W.  McLane  appears  to  have  been  the  next  to  enroll  as  an 
attorney. 

B.  F.  Stringfellow  practiced  in  Weston,  removing  from  there  to 
Atchison,  Kansas.  It  was  he  and  other  radical  pro-slavery  leaders  who 
organized  the  various  "Blue  Lodges"  and  "Defense  Associations"  which 
came  over  from  Missouri  in  early  days  and  tried  to  control  elections. 

Edward  Young,  a  young  Kentuckian,  stayed  here  and  practiced  but 
a  very  short  time. 


HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  277 

James  Hadley  was  a  practicing  attorney  of  Atchison,  Kansas. 
Henry  Tutt  is  the  next  name  found  registered. 

James  Christian,  a  law  partner  of  James  H.  Lane  at  Lawrence,  Kan- 
sas, practiced  successfully  before  the  local  courts  for  a  number  of  years. 
W.  M.  Patterson  is  the  next  name. 

A.  G.  Otis,  a  member  of  the  firm  of  Otis  &  Glack,  of  Atchison,  Kan- 
sas, was  never  a  resident  here. 

J.  P.  Kichardson  practiced  law  but  very  little. 

Lorenzo  Bird  came  to  Leavenworth  in  1854.  He  was  a  member  of 
the  Leavenworth  Town  Company. 

H.  H.  Hutchison  was  the  next  to  enroll. 

L.  F.  Hollingsworth  resided  in  the  county  south  of  town. 

Joseph  P.  Carr  was  a  resident  of  Atchison,  Kansas. 

John  Wilson  came  from  Platte  City,  Missouri,  in  1856.  He  occupied 
a  high  place  in  the  rank  of  local  attorneys  from  the  first. 

Josiah  Kellog  came  to  Leavenworth  in  1855. 

Marshall  P.  Taylor  never  practiced  much. 

Burrell  B.  Taylor,  of  Kentucky,  came  here  in  1855.  For  a  time  he 
was  editor  of  the  "Leavenworth  Herald." 

Robert  P.  Clark  resided  at  Platte  City,  Missouri,  before  coming  to 
this  city. 

William  Perry  practiced  successfully  here  for  a  number  of  years. 

S.  S.  Goode  was  an  ardent  pro-slavery  man.  For  several  years  edited 
"The  Journal." 

Reece  Paynter  came  here  from  Missouri  in  1856. 

D.  S.  Boling  practiced  but  little  here. 

Daniel  L.  Henry  was  a  resident  of  Missouri  and  a  strong  pro-slavery/ 
man. 

B.  M.  Hughes  resided  at  St.  Joseph,  Missouri.  He  was  later  elected 
governor  of  Colorado. 

R.  C.  Foster,  Jr.,  came  from  Platte  County,  Missouri,  and  formed  a 
partnership  with  H.  T.  Green.  Foster  practiced  in  the  city  for  several 
years  very  successfully  and  later  moved  to  Texas,  where  he  was  counsel 
for  the  Missouri,  Kansas  &  Texas  Railway. 

E.  M.  Mackemer  was  another  practicing  attorney. 

David  M.  Smith  did  but  little  in  the  way  of  practicing  law. 
Lewis  Ramage  was  a  practicing  attorney  of  Weston,  Missouri. 
H.  B.  Branch  was  a  St.  Joseph,  Missouri,  attorney. 


278  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

William  McKay  resided  here  for  a  number  of  years. 

0.  B.  Holman  came  from  Wisconsin  and  was  very  successful. 

William  M.  McMeath  was  the  next  attorney  to  register. 

Ferdinand  J.  McCann  is  the  next  member  enrolled. 

Henry  J.  Adams  came  to  this  city  from  New  York  in  1857.  At  the 
outbreak  of  the  war  he  joined  the  Union  forces  and  was  appointed  pay- 
master by  President  Lincoln. 

Henry  W.  Ide  came  to  this  city  in  1857  from  Wisconsin.  He  was  a 
very  able  attorney  and  was  elected  judge  of  the  district  court  here  and 
held  this  position  for  four  successive  terms. 

Albert  Perry  was  the  next  attorney. 

John  W.  Henry  came  from  Weston,  Missouri,  in  1857. 

E.  Magruder  Lowe  was  from  Virginia. 

Clifton  Hellen  came  from  Washington,  District  of  Columbia. 

Samuel  A.  Young  was  a  prominent  Missouri  attorney. 

J.  W.  Whitfield  was  the  first  delegate  to  Congress  to  be  elected  from 
the  Territory  of  Kansas.     He  was  a  Georgian  and  pro-slavery  in  politics. 

A.  E.  Mayhew  was  never  a  resident  lawyer. 

James  H.  Lane  was  never  a  resident  of  the  county.  His  home  was 
in  Lawrence.  At  the  time  of  his  suicide  on  the  military  reservation  north 
of  the  city  he  was  United  States  Senator. 

Albert  Weed  was  but  little  known. 

John  C.  Douglas  came  to  Leavenworth  County  in  the  early  '50s,  and 
was  one  of  the  early  attorneys  who  began  practicing  in  this  city  and  re- 
mained here  engaged  in  the  practice  during  his  lifetime. 

William  Scott  Brown  enrolled  April  29,  1857. 

Guernsey  Sackett  enrolled  April  30,  1857. 

Van  B.  Young  enrolled  May  10,  1857. 

Willard  P.  Gamble  came  to  this  county  during  the  middle  fifties  from 
Michigan.  He  was  early  associated  with  M.  S.  Adams,  the  partnership 
being  one  of  the  strongest  in  the  city.  He  served  as  a  member  of  the  Leg- 
islature from  the  city  in  1868. 

David  W.  Guensey  never  engaged  actively  in  practice. 

John  L.  Pendery  came  in  1857  from  Cincinnati,  Ohio. 

S.  W.  Johnstone  came  to  Kansas  in  1854  from  Ohio.  He  had  been 
appointed  as  a  territorial  judge  by  President  Pierce  and  assigned  to  the 
western  district.  After  serving  for  a  period  of  three  years  he  resigned 
the  judgeship  and  took  up  a  residence  in  Leavenworth  and  became  asso- 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  279 

dated  with  the  law  firm  of  Johnstone,  Stinson  and  Havens.  Later  he 
removed  to  Washington,  D.  C. 

John  E.  Pitt  was  a  practicing  lawyer  of  Platte  City,  Missouri. 

0.  Diefendorf  came  here  from  Illinois.  He  was  at  one  time  associ- 
ated in  practice  of  law  with  Stephen  A.  Douglas  and  later  with  H.  Miles 
Moore. 

J.  B.  Chapman  was  never  a  resident  of  this  city  or  county. 

James  McCahan  was  one  of  the  most  successful  attorneys  in  Leaven- 
worth in  the  early  days. 

Col.  John  P.  Slough  came  to  this  city  from  Ohio  in  1857.  He  returned 
to  Ohio  and  joined  the  Union  army.  He  was  appointed  governor  of  the 
territory  of  New  Mexico  by  President  Lincoln. 

William  Franklin  was  never  a  resident  of  this  city  or  county. 

William  Stanley  came  to  this  city  in  1857  from  Kentucky.  Shortly 
after  arriving  here  he  entered  into  a  partnership  with  John  A.  Halderson 
in  the  practice  of  law.  When  the  Civil  War  began  he  enlisted  together 
with  the  greater  majority  of  a  company  of  men  which  he  had  organized 
in  this  city  known  as  the  "Shields  Guards",  in  the  Union  Army.  After 
the  war  he  studied  for  the  ministry  and  in  due  time  became  a  Christian 
minister. 

William  H.  Cole  practiced  but  little  here,  if  any. 

Jerome  B.  Conklin  practiced  but  little. 

M.  S.  Adams  came  to  Leavenworth  in  1857  from  Connecticut.  Mr. 
Adams  was  a  very  able  attorney  and  practiced  successfully  for  a  number 
of  years. 

William  Kemp,  Jr.,  was  at  one  time  associated  in  the  publishing  of 
the  "Leavenworth  Times"  in  early  days. 

Jackson  Smith  registered  September  19,  1857. 

Claudius  McGiven,  registered  September  22,  1857,  Robert  H.  Shan- 
non, registered  September  25,  1857,  and  William  C.  Prest  registered  the 
same  date. 

Franklin  G.  Adams  was  a  brother  of  Henry  J.  Adams. 

George  S.  Withers  enrolled  October  7,  1857. 

J.  A.  Burton  was  next  to  enroll. 

A.  W.  McCauslen  enrolled  November  7,  1857. 

Warren  Woodson  enrolled  February  2,  1858. 

Alex.  Paddock  signed  the  attorney  roll  April  13,  1858. 

Henry  Tinsmede  signed  April  14,  1858. 


280  HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

Joseph  E.  Merryman,  of  Platte  City,  Missouri,  was  very  widely  known. 

James  Taylor  came  to  Leavenworth  in  1857  from  New  York. 

Walter  N.  Allen  was  admitted  to  the  bar  after  coming  here  from  Ken- 
tucky in  1858. 

A.  M.  Sawyer  enjoyed  a  large  practice  here  for  a  number  of  years. 

J.  S.  Kalloch  enrolled  April  17,  1858.  For  a  time  here  he  was  minister 
to  the  Baptist  Church,  and  later  moved  to  Ottawa,  Kansas,  where  he 
became  interested  in  the  publication  of  a  newspaper  there. 

S.  A.  Stinson  came  to  Leavenworth  in  1858  from  Maine.  He  was  one 
of  the  most  brilliant  young  attorneys  the  city  ever  had. 

John  Gill  Spivey  practiced  successfully  here  for  a  number  of  years. 

Fox  Diefendorf  came  here  comfortably  fixed  in  the  way  of  the  world's 
goods  and  devoted  but  little  time  to  the  practice  of  his  profession. 

C.  B.  Trowbridge  was  devoted  to  real  estate  speculating. 

E.  N.  0.  Clough,  the  next  name  to  appear  on  the  attorney  roll,  came 
here  from  Parkville,  Missouri,  in  1858.  With  the  outbreak  of  the  Civil 
War  he  enlisted  in  the  Union  Army  where  he  was  later  elected  to  several 
positions  of  honor  and  trust  by  his  many  friends. 

E.  Joyce  Smithers  and  L.  B.  Hamilton  practiced  for  only  a  limited 
time. 

R.  Crozier  came  to  this  county  in  1857  and  was  interested  in  the  pub- 
lication of  the  "Leavenworth  Times".  He  was  appointed  United  States 
District  Attorney  for  the  district  of  Kansas  by  President  Lincoln.  He 
also  served  three  terms  as  Judge  of  the  District  Court  of  the  First  Judi- 
cial District  of  Kansas. 

William  Simpson,  J.  K.  S.  Burbridge,  William  D.  Wood,  J.  H.  Bennett, 
D.  C.  Allen,  F.  T.  Goodrich,  F.  T.  Logan  did  not  reside  here. 

Frederick  Swoyer,  Benjamin  Wigley  and  Alfred  Gray  were  never 
residents  of  the  city  or  county. 

E.  F.  Havens  practiced  successfully  here  for  a  number  of  years,  yet 
died  young. 

Alonzo  F.  Callahan  came  to  Leavenworth  County  from  Ohio,  in  1858. 

J.  C.  Hemingway  came  from  Kentucky. 

J.  F.  Broadhead,  George  W.  Still  and  Barzills  Gray  next  appear. 

The  next  five  attorneys  to  appear  on  the  roll  are:  P.  Sidney  Post, 
Charles  H.  Bargh,  D.  H.  Hailey,  William  S.  White,  and  W.  R.  Kickpatrick. 

John  C.  Tarr  came  here  from  Virginia. 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  281 

D.  S.  Johns,  S.  H.  Glenn,  Ira  P.  Ballen,  Edwin  S.  Grant,  Othello  I. 
Flagg,  L.  S.  Mager  and  William  H.  Ruell  were  registered  attorneys. 

The  names  of  the  attorneys  as  heretofore  set  out  were  all  subscribed 
to  the  attorney's  roll  previous  to  the  admission  of  Kansas  as  a  state. 
After  the  admission  of  Kansas  as  a  state  the  first  name  to  appear  on  the 
roll  is  that  of  Samuel  D.  Lecompte.  Lecompte,  after  leaving  the  bench 
as  judge  of  the  First  Judicial  District  of  the  territory  of  Kansas,  opened 
an  office  here.  He  associated  with  him  in  the  practice  William  G.  Mathias 
and  Lewis  Burns.  He  practiced  here  for  several  years  and  then  returned 
to  the  East  where  he  spent  the  latter  part  of  his  days. 

D.  J.  Brewer  whose  name  follows  that  of  Judge  Lecompte's  on  the 
attorney  roll  came  to  this  city  from  New  York.  His  first  legal  association 
here  was  with  the  law  firm  of  Johnstone,  Stinson  &  Havens.  Later  he 
formed  a  partnership  with  P.  B.  Hathaway  under  the  firm  name  of  Brewer 
&  Hathaway.  Shortly  afterward  he  was  appointed  United  States  Commis- 
sioner. Later  he  was  elected  county  attorney,  then  probate  judge,  and 
still  later  judge  of  the  district  court.  He  also  held  the  office  of  county 
superintendent  of  schools  here  at  one  time. 

Judge  Brewer's  rise  was  rather  rapid  from  the  very  inception.  From 
the  district  bench  he  was  elected  one  of  the  judges  of  the  supreme  court 
of  the  state  of  Kansas.  Later  when  there  was  a  vancancy  on  the  bench  of 
the  United  States  Circuit  Courts  he  was  appointed  by  the  President.  From 
this  position  he  advanced  in  a  few  years  to  a  Justice  of  the  Supreme  Court 
of  the  United  States,  being  appointed  December  18,  1889.  He  died  in 
Washington,  D.  C,  March  28,  1910. 

R.  H.  Housley,  for  a  time  identified  with  the  law  office  of  Clough  & 
Wheat,  devoted  more  of  his  attention  to  farming  than  to  his  practice. 

Thomas  P.  Fenlon  came  to  this  county  in  1859  from  Pennsylvania, 
and  took  a  high  rank  as  a  criminal  lawyer:  He  served  several  terms  in 
the  State  Legislature.  He  was  a  Democrat  and  was  one  of  the  leaders 
of  his  party. 

Samuel  S.  Ludlam  came  to  this  county  in  1859  from  Michigan.  He 
early  deserted  the  practice  of  law  and  entered  into  newspaper  work. 

F.  P.  Fitzwilliam  was  one  of  the  foremost  attorneys  in  the  city  for 
a  number  of  years. 

Lysander  B.  Wheat  was  another  attorney  who  early  forced  his  way 
to  the  very  pinnacle  of  his  profession  in  this  city  and  went  to  make  up 
that  legal  coterie  which  gave  to  Leavenworth  County  one  of  the  most  for- 


282  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

midable  of  bars.  He  came  to  this  county  in  1859  and  for  a  time  was  asso- 
ciated in  the  practice  with  William  McNeil  Clough. 

Owen  A.  Bassett  lived  at  Lawrence,  Kansas,  where  he  was  district 
judge. 

John  M.  Case  came  to  this  county  in  1859  from  Wisconsin.  He  prac- 
ticed here  until  about  the  time  of  the  Civil  War  when  he  returned  to 
Wisconsin. 

R.  P.  C.  Wilson,  before  coming  here,  resided  in  Platte  City,  Missouri. 
He  early  associated  himself  with  A.  J.  Jacobs. 

George  W.  DcCosta  practiced  here  but  a  very  short  time  and  then 
moved  to  the  West. 

T.  A.  Hurd  shed  light  and  brilliancy  upon  the  Leavenworth  Bar.  He 
came  here  in  1859  from  New  York.  He  was  associated  with  H.  Miles 
Moore.  During  Governor  Glick's  administration  he  was  appointed  to  the 
Supreme  Court  of  the  State  of  Kansas.  Judge  Hurd  enjoyed  a  large  and 
successful  practice  here  during  his  lifetime  as  an  attorney. 

N.  H.  Wood  was  also  from  Wisconsin. 

John  P.  Mitchell  was  a  resident  of  the  city  for  a  number  of  years. 

W.  W.  Gallagher  was  for  a  time  associated  with  the  firm  of  Delahay, 
Dugger  &  Gallagher. 

P.  P.  Hathaway  practiced  quite  extensively  here  for  several  years. 
He  was  identified  with  David  J.  Brewer  for  some  time. 

W.  S.  Carroll  came  to  this  county  in  1859,  and  eventually  moved  to 
Wyandotte  County. 

E.  Stillings,  another  of  the  more  noted  of  early  day  lawyers,  came 
from  Ohio  at  an  early  date  and  formed  a  law  partnership  with  Thomas 
Fenlon,  and  later  with  Judge  Hurd. 

Hiram  Griswold  came  from  Ohio.  For  a  time  he  was  associated  in 
the  practice  of  law  with  Z.  E.  Britton. 

William  McNeil  Clough  came  here  from  Platte  County,  Missouri. 

Charles  W.  Lowrie  never  practiced. 

George  H.  Hoyt,  Z.  E.  Britton  and  D.  B.  Halderman  registered  but 
never  practiced. 

William  C.  McDowell,  from  Ohio,  enjoyed  a  large  and  successful  prac- 
tice here  for  a  number  of  years  and  was  eventually  elected  judge  of  the 
District  court  of  this  county.  He  met  death  through  an  accident  in  St. 
Louis,  Missouri. 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  283 

Lewis  Burns  was  a  resident  of  Weston,  Missouri,  before  coming 
here.  When  Kansas  was  admitted  as  a  territory  Burns  came  here  from 
Weston  and  proceeded  to  take  up  a  large  tract  of  land  in  Salt  Creek  Val- 
ley. At  one  time  he  was  a  member  of  the  law  partnership  known  as 
Lecompte,  Mathias  &  Burns.  He  later  moved  to  St.  Joseph,  Missouri,  and 
entered  the  newspaper  business. 

L.  M.  Goddard  took  a  leading  part  in  the  affairs  of  the  city  and  was 
elected  county  attorney  for  several  years.  Mr.  Goddard  removed  from 
here  to  Colorado  and  was  elected  one  of  the  judges  of  the  Supreme  Court 
of  that  state. 

Hector  D.  Mackey  devoted  his  time  to  the  insurance  and  real  estate 
business. 

James  S.  Jelly  came  from  Indiana  and  practiced  very  successfully 
until  about  the  time  of  the  outbreak  of  the  Civil  War  when  he  returned 
to  his  home  in  Indiana. 

George  H.  English  was  a  very  clever  attorney  and  gentleman  and 
practiced  here  for  a  number  of  years  but  when  Kansas  City  gave  evi- 
dence of  developing  into  a  city  he  moved  there. 

Charles  W.  Helm  came  from  Virginia.  He  was  a  very  successful 
practitioner  while  here.  He  remained  in  this  city  until  about  the  time  of 
the  Civil  War  when  he  moved  to  Texas. 

Henry  M.  Burligh  was  a  resident  of  the  city  here  but  did  not  practice 
on  an  extensive  scale  or  for  long. 

Joseph  W.  Taylor  occupied  a  very  prominent  place  among  the  early 
day  attorneys,  and  his  active  interest  in  politics  secured  his  election  to 
the  State  Legislature  several  terms  as  well  as  county  attorney.  He 
removed  to  Colorado. 

Byron  Sherry  served  one  term  as  judge  of  the  Leavenworth  County 
Criminal  Court  and  later  went  to  Kansas  City. 

James  Ketner  occupied  a  very  high  position  in  the  legal  profession 
here  for  a  number  of  years  and  served  two  terms  as  probate  judge.  He 
later  removed  to  Junction  City,  Kansas. 

Nicholas  Smith  came  from  Kentucky  at  an  early  date.  After  the 
death  of  his  wife  he  removed  to  New  York  where  he  became  associated 
with  Horace  Greeley  in  the  publication  of  the  New  York  Tribune. 

Isaac  E.  Eaton  was  another  Ohio  attorney  to  come  to  this  state.  He 
was  an  active  Democrat  and  quite  a  leader. 


284  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

Newton  Mann  came  to  this  state  shortly  after  its  organization.  He 
was  elected  twice  as  probate  judge  of  the  county  and  together  with  his 
brother  Nathan  Mann  who  was  associated  with  him  in  the  practice  of  law. 

Among  the  most  famous  of  early  day  attorneys  to  practice  law  in 
this  city  was  William  T.  Sherman  of  Civil  War  fame.  Sherman  came  to 
this  city  in  1858  and  soon  engaged  in  the  practice  of  law,  associating  him- 
self in  partnership  with  Hugh  Ewings  and  Dan  McCook.  Sherman,  while 
associated  with  a  formidable  firm  of  attorneys  here,  never  gave  a  great 
deal  of  his  time  to  the  practice  of  law.  Shortly  before  the  outbreak  of  the 
Civil  War  Sherman  removed  to  Louisiana.  It  was  from  that  place  that 
he  entered  the  army  upon  the  outbreak  of  the  war. 

Thomas  Ewings,  Jr.,  another  famous  early  day  lawyer,  was  associ- 
ated with  William  Sherman  in  the  practice  here.  He  was  elected  as  the 
first  chief  justice  of  the  Supreme  Court  of  the  State  of  Kansas.  When 
the  war  broke  out  he  was  commissioned  a  colonel  of  a  company  which  he 
had  raised.  He  rose  from  this  rank  to  that  of  Brigadier-General.  It  was 
he  that  during  the  war  issued  the  famous  "Order  No.  11"  which  was  aimed 
at  the  destruction  of  Missouri  Guerillas.  After  the  war  Ewings  returned 
to  his  home  in  Ohio  and  still  later  went  to  New  York  where  he  engaged  in 
the  practice  of  law. 

Hugh  Ewings  was  another  member  of  the  famous  early  day  legal 
firm  of  Sherman,  Ewings  &  McCook.  Most  of  Mr.  Ewings'  time  was 
taken  up  in  real  estate  business  rather  than  the  practice  of  law.  He  like 
other  members  of  this  famous  legal  firm  proceeded  to  get  connected  quite 
early  with  military  affairs  upon  the  outbreak  of  the  war,  he  returned  td 
Ohio  and  raised  a  regiment  of  volunteers  for  the  Union  Army.  He  was 
appointed  colonel  of  this  regiment  and  from  this  rank  rose  during  the  war 
to  that  of  Major  General.  He  held  the  position  of  United  States  Minister 
to  The  Hague. 

Dan  McCook,  the  other  member  of  the  firm  of  Sherman,  Ewings  & 
McCook,  came  here  originally  from  Ohio  during  territorial  days.  He  was 
a  very  brilliant  young  attorney  and  the  partnership  was  a  noted  one  of 
those  days.  McCook  was  a  member  of  the  famous  "Shields  Guards"  of 
this  city  in  those  days  and  at  the  time  of  the  outbreak  of  the  war  this 
famous  partnership  dissolved  and  McCook  returned  to  his  home  in  Ohio 
where  he  assisted  in  raising  a  regiment  for  the  Union  Army  and  received 
a  commission  of  colonel.  From  this  he  rose,  like  his  three  associates,  to 
the  rank  of  General  during  the  war.  He  was  wounded  in  battle  during  the 
war  from  which  he  eventually  died. 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  285 

James  F.  Legate,  whose  name  appears  next  on  the  attorney  roll, 
came  to  Kansas  in  the  early  fifties  from  the  State  of  Massachusetts.  He 
was  a  very  active  Free  State  man  and  took  an  unusual  amount  of  interest 
in  early  day  politics.  Insofar  as  the  practice  of  law  is  concerned,  Legate 
devoted  but  little  of  his  time  to  it  before  the  local  courts.  He  liver,  upon 
first  coming  to  the  state,  at  Lawrence,  Kansas.  Mr.  Legate  held  numerous 
positions  of  honor  and  trust  during  his  lifetime  which  were  given  him  by 
his  numerous  friends  and  constituents. 

L.  G.  Hopkins  came  here  in  1868  from  New  York  State  where  he  had 
been  engaged  for  several  years  in  the  practice  of  law.  He  practiced  here 
until  he  died.  During  his  latter  years,  especially,  he  devoted  most  of  his 
time  to  abstract  work.  His  son,  Edgar  Hopkins,  at  present  carries  on  the 
abstract  business. 

J.  D.  Shafer  was  another  attorney  of  the  late  sixties  and  early  seven- 
ties who  practiced  here.  He  came  from  Pennsylvania  and  arrived  here 
April  2,  1867.    He  practiced  here  successfully  for  a  number  of  years. 

H.  N.  Pendery,  the  next  attorney,  was  a  son  of  John  L.  Pendery,  also 
an  early  day  attorney.  He  was  born  in  Cincinnati  and  was  a  graduate  of 
Harvard  University.    He  practiced  here  for  a  number  of  years. 

William  Green  came  to  Leavenworth  with  his  parents  in  1854.  His 
father,  Henry  T.  Green,  was  also  an  early  day  attorney  who  early  gave 
up  the  practice  of  law  and  retired  to  his  farm  in  the  vicinity  of  Delaware 
City.    William  studied  law  and  practiced  here  for  some  time. 

E.  L.  Carney  was  the  son  of  Governor  Carney,  second  governor  of  the 
State  of  Kansas.  Ed.  Carney,  as  he  was  known,  was  born  in  Kenton 
County,  Ohio,  and  came  here  at  an  early  date.  He  practiced  here  for 
some  time  after  his  admission  to  the  bar. 

Vinton  Stillings  came  to  Kansas  in  1863  with  his  parents  in  1863. 
His  father,  E.  Stillings,  was  one  of  the  early  attorneys  of  the  county. 
Vinton  Stillings  practiced  here  for  several  years. 

W.  C.  Hook  was  born  in  Waynesburg,  Pennsylvania,  September  24, 
1857.  He  practiced  in  this  city  from  1878  until  1899.  In  1899  he  was 
chosen  United  States  District  Judge  for  the  District  of  Kansas  and  held 
this  position  until  1903  when  he  was  appointed  judge  of  the  United  States 
Circuit  Court  for  the  8th  judicial  circuit,  which  position  he  still  holds. 

Henry  Woolman  was  a  son  of  Jonas  Woolman,  a  prominent  early  day 
citizen  of  this  city.    He  practiced  here  for  a  number  of  years. 

Laurens  Hawn  was  born  at  Weston,  Missouri,  and  came  to  this  city 
with  his  parents  in  1860.     He  later  graduated  from  Cornell  University 


286  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

and  began  the  practice  of  law  here  in  the  year  1878.  For  a  number  of 
years  he  held  the  office  of  Probate  Judge  in  this  county.  His  practice  at 
the  present  time  is  confined  exclusively  to  his  office. 

M.  L.  Hacker  came  here  from  Kentucky  in  1871.  He  practiced  here 
for  some  time.  He  held,  during  his  lifetime,  numerous  positions  of  trust, 
being  at  one  time  mayor  of  the  city. 

J.  P.  Stinson  came  from  Maine.  He  was  a  graduate  of  Yale  Univer- 
sity and  practiced  here  during  the  eighties  and  early  nineties.  He  finally 
removed  to  Boston,  Massachusetts,  where  he  died. 

C.  P.  Rutherford  was  born  in  Meigs  County,  Ohio,  November  13, 
1847.  He  was  a  graduate  of  Atwood  College,  Albany,  New  York,  and 
came  to  Kansas  in  1881,  locating  at  Leavenworth.  His  first  office  in  the 
city  was  with  Lucien  Baker.  He  has  served  as  county  attorney  and  as  city 
attorney  of  the  city  of  Leavenworth.    He  is  still  active. 

Henry  F.  Misselwitz  practiced  here  during  the  eighties  for  awhile. 

Lysander  B.  Wheat  was  the  son  of  Lysander  B.  Wheat,  a  prominent 
early  day  citizen  of  this  city.  For  years  he  took  an  active  interest  in  the 
welfare  of  the  city.  He  held  numerous  positions  of  trust  during  his  life- 
time here  and  was  for  years  the  city's  foremost  criminal  attorney. 

John  H.  Atwood's  name  is  next  to  appear  on  the  attorney  roll.  He 
was  born  in  Phillipston,  Massachusetts,  and  was  a  son  of  Andrew  and 
Mary  E.  Atwood.  His  legal  education  was  obtained  at  Harvard  Univer- 
sity where  he  graduated  in  1884.  He  then  came  to  Leavenworth  where  he 
engaged  in  the  practice  of  law  from  1884  until  1908  when  he  removed  to 
Kansas  City,  Missouri,  to  engage  in  the  practice  there,  being  at  the  pres- 
ent time  connected  with  the  law  firm  of  Atwood,  Wickersham,  Hall  & 
Popham. 

During  his  practice  here,  Mr.  Atwood  ranked  as  one  of  the  city's 
most  brilliant  attorneys.  He  took  an  active  interest  in  Democratic  poli- 
tics. He  served  as  County  Attorney  of  Leavenworth  County  from  1886 
to  1892.  During  the  World  War  he  was  sent  to  France  on  a  special  mis- 
sion and  while  there  traversed  the  entire  Western  battle  front. 

Samuel  C.  Wheat,  the  next  attorney  to  register  for  practice  in  this 
city  and  county,  was  the  son  of  Samuel  Wheat.  He  was  at  one  time  rated 
as  Leavenworth's  most  brilliant  attorney.  He  was  associated  for  years 
here  in  the  practice  of  law  with  his  father. 

J.  H.  Wendorff,  for  several  years  before  taking  up  the  practice  of 
law  in  this  county,  taught  in  the  county  schools.    He  served  four  years  as 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  287 

county  attorney  of  Leavenworth  County  and  for  the  past  twelve  or  four- 
teen years  has  been  judge  of  the  first  judicial  district  of  the  State  of 
Kansas  which  is  composed  of  Leavenworth  County. 

T.  W.  Bell  registered  December  7,  1886.  He  has  for  years  been  one 
of  the  leading  colored  attorneys  of  this  city. 

Joseph  Combs  registered  for  practice  before  the  local  court  Septem- 
ber 19,  1887.    He  never  practiced  here  to  any  extent. 

William  E.  Goss,  the  next  attorney  on  the  roll,  registered  October  15, 
1887.    He  practiced  here  but  very  little. 

C.  S.  Kinney,  whose  name  appears  next  on  the  attorney  roll,  regis- 
tered for  practice  before  the  local  courts.  He  practiced  in  this  city  but  a 
short  time. 

W.  W.  Hooper  subscribed  his  name  to  the  roll  September  26,  1888. 
Mr.  Hooper  came  here  from  Nebraska  and  his  legal  education  was  obtained 
in  the  office  of  Vinton  Stillings  and  at  Ann  Arbor,  Michigan.  For  a  num- 
ber of  years  before  taking  up  the  study  of  law,  Mr.  Hooper  was  employed 
in  the  city  here  as  a  telegraph  operator  and  station  agent.  While  he  has 
always  taken  an  active  interest  in  public  affairs,  Mr.  Hooper  has  never 
held  a  public  office  with  the  exception  of  being  a  member  of  the  local  school 
board. 

Wilson  G.  Lowe  was  born  and  raised  in  the  city  of  Leavenworth  and 
organized  the  first  company  of  high  school  cadets  here.  He  never  practiced 
very  extensively  here. 

Thomas  P.  Fenlon,  Jr.,  a  son  of  T.  P.  Fenlon,  one  of  Leavenworth's 
leading  early  day  lawyers,  was  the  next  attorney  to  subscribe  his  name. 

W.  B.  Latta  registered  June  19,  1889.  He  did  not  practice  here  but 
a  short  time  when  he  removed  to  New  York.    He  died  several  years  ago. 

J.  D.  Wendorff,  a  brother  of  J.  H.  Wendorff,  at  present  time  judge  of 
the  first  judicial  district,  was  born  in  Jefferson.  He  registered  as  an  attor- 
ney here  June  29,  1889.  At  the  present  time  he  is  a  practicing  attorney 
in  Kansas  City,  Missouri. 

N.  E.  VanTuyl  registered  September  16,  1889.  For  a  number  of  years 
he  was  a  member  of  the  law  firm  of  Kelso,  Van  Tuyl  &  O'Keefe.  He  prac- 
ticed in  this  city  about  fifteen  years  and  is  at  the  present  time  connected 
with  the  Prairie  Oil  &  Gas  Company  at  Independence,  Kansas. 

H.  M.  Minor  was  the  next  attorney  to  subscribe  his  name. 

W.  L.  McClinton  came  here  from  Pennsylvania.  He  registered  for 
practice  February  28,  1891.    He  served  as  assistant  county  attorney  under 


288  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY 

John  H.  Atwood  and  served  during  the  Spanish-American  War  in  the 
United  States  army.  At  present  he  is  a  lieutenant  colonel  in  the  United 
States  army. 

William  C.  McDonald,  next  on  the  attorney  roll,  came  to  Leavenworth 
in  1888  and  studied  law  in  the  office  of  William  Dill.  He  served  as  deputy 
clerk  of  the  district  court  under  Con  Curtin,  and  later  removed  to  the 
Pacific  Coast  where  he  died  of  consumption  in  1905. 

J.  C.  Petherbridge  was  a  Leavenworth  County  man,  being  born  near 
Boling.  He  practiced  here  for  a  number  of  years.  About  1904  he  removed 
to  Kansas  City,  Missouri,  where  he  is  at  the  present  time  engaged  in  the 
practice. 

B.  R.  Brewer  is  never  known  to  have  resided  here. 

John  T.  O'Keefe,  whose  name  appears  next  on  the  attorney  roll  was 
born  in  Leavenworth  County,  January  19,  1871.  His  legal  education  was 
obtained  at  Yale  University  where  he  graduated  with  the  degree  of  L.L.B. 
in  1893.  He  opened  an  office  here  after  his  being  admitted  to  the  bar  and 
has  remained  in  the  practice  here  since  that  time.  While  he  has  always 
taken  an  active  interest  in  public  affairs  he  has  never  held  but  one  office, 
that  of  city  attorney  for  several  years. 

Eli  Nirdlinger  registered  September  20,  1892.  He  has  served  as  judge 
of  the  city  court  of  Leavenworth  since  1917. 

John  R.  Judge  never  practiced  here  to  any  extent. 

James  C.  Stone  never  engaged  in  active  practice  here,  though  he 
registered  for  such  May  5,  1893. 

A.  E.  Dempsey,  next  on  the  attorney  roll  for  this  county,  was  born 
in  High  Prairie  Township,  Leavenworth  County,  in  April,  1866.  After 
being  admitted  to  the  bar  he  became  associated  with  the  late  Judge  Gil- 
patrick  in  the  practice  of  law  here.  At  the  present  time  he  is  located  in 
the  Times  Building. 

F.  P.  Fitzwilliam  was  born  and  raised  in  the  city  of  Leavenworth. 
He  practiced  successfully  here  for  a  number  of  years  and  served  three 
terms  as  city  attorney.     He  died  September  22,  1913. 

Morris  G.  Levison  registered  July  13,  1894.  He  later  went  to  St. 
Louis,  Missouri,  where  he  is  at  the  present  time  engaged  in  the  practice. 

Harry  E.  Michael  practiced  law  here  for  a  number  of  years  and  served 
as  county  attorney  for  two  years,  1900-1901.  He  later  removed  to  San 
Francisco. 

Ira  E.  Dudley  registered  for  practice  October  2,  1894. 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY  289 

L.  L.  McBride  subscribed  his  name  March  11,  1895. 

Lee  Bond  whose  name  was  subscribed  to  the  local  attorney  roll  May 
4,  1895.  Mr.  Bond  served  the  county  as  county  attorney  for  eight  years 
and  also  served  several  years  as  deputy  clerk  of  the  District  Court.  Since 
1907  he  has  served  as  U.  S.  commissioner  for  this  district. 

H.  M.  Aller  was  the  next  attorney  to  subscribe  his  name  to  the  list 
of  practicing  attorneys. 

0.  E.  Mann,  a  son  of  Newton  Mann,  a  prominent  early  day  attorney 
of  Leavenworth  city  and  county  registered  as  a  practicing  attorney  May 
18,  1895.  He  has  been  engaged  in  the  practice  of  law  here  since  that 
time. 

Frank  Garrett  registered  as  a  practicing  attorney  of  this  city  and 
county,  July  15,  1895.  After  practicing  here  several  years  he  removed  to 
Los  Angeles,  where  he  died. 

Dennis  Jones  has  been  one  of  the  leading  colored  attorneys  of  this 
city. 

Benjamin  F.  Endres  registered  February  24,  1896.  He  was  born 
January  27,  1875  in  this  city  and  attended  the  Leavenworth  schools.  He 
was  admitted  to  the  bar  in  February,  1896.  Mr.  Endres  served  from  1903 
to  1907  as  police  judge  of  the  city  of  Leavenworth  and  as  city  attorney 
from  1909  to  1913.  He  was  also  deputy  county  attorney  under  Harry 
E.  Michael.  At  the  present  time  he  represents  the  city  of  Leavenworth 
in  the  State  Legislature  and  has  for  several  years. 

Arthur  M.  Jackson  registered  July  18,  1896.  He  was  born  in  Arenz- 
ville,  Illinois. 

E.  K.  Krezdorn  registered  January  4,  1897.  Mr.  Krezdorn  was  for  a 
time  associated  in  the  practice  with  the  offices  of  Clough  and  Wheat.  He 
is  at  the  present  time  chief  clerk  in  the  quartermaster's  office  in  San  An- 
tonio, Texas. 

Stanley  A.  Pearson  never  practiced  to  any  extent  in  this  city. 

John  Dougherty  registered  January  30,  1897.  He  was  born  and 
reared  in  the  city  of  Leavenworth. 

N.  Earl  Mann  never  practiced  law  to  any  extent  here. 

A.  C.  Harding  subscribed  his  name  July  12,  1897.  He  practiced 
nothing  but  pension  law. 

C.  R.  Middleton  subscribed  in  June,  1899.  He  came  to  this  city  from 
Montana  and  practiced  here  for  three  or  four  years. 

(15) 


290  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

W.  H.  Bond  was  admitted  January  6,  1900.  He  was  born  in  Weston, 
Missouri,  from  which  place  he  moved  to  St.  Louis,  Missouri,  later  coming 
here  in  the  year  1864.  He  took  an  active  part  in  politics  and  represented 
this  district  as  State  Representative  for  several  years.  He  also  served  as 
sheriff  of  Leavenworth  County  and  several  years  as  city  commissioner, 
as  well  as  fifteen  years  as  U.  S.  commissioner  from  this  district. 

Thomas  L.  Johnson  subscribed  his  name  April  20,  1900,  as  a  practic- 
ing attorney.  For  many  years  Mr.  Johnson  held  the  office  of  probate 
judge,  being  succeeded  by  the  present  incumbent,  W.  P.  Wettig. 

David  W.  Flynn  served  as  judge  of  the  city  court  from  1904  to  1911. 

Harry  L.  Wilson  registered  September  15,  1900.  He  was  admitted  to 
the  bar  on  the  motion  of  C.  R.  Middleton.  He  practiced  here  for  ten  or 
fifteen  years  and  finally  removed  to  Minnesota. 

Samuel  Eugene  Nirdlinger  registered  November  24,  1900,  although 
he  never  practiced  in  this  city,  and  has  been  for  a  number  of  years  con- 
nected with  the  C.  B.  &  Q.  Ry.  Company  in  this  city. 

E.  B.  Baker  registered  as  a  practicing  attorney  November  24,  1900. 
Mr.  Baker  practiced  law  in  this  city  until  about  1910.  He  is  now  engaged 
in  practice  at  Alamosa,  Colorado. 

James  W.  Hawes  registered  March  31,  1902. 

Paul  F.  Roberts  registered  as  a  practicing  attorney  January  24,  1903. 

Thomas  Reed  registered  March  28,  1903. 

Lawrence  E.  Hohl  was  admitted  to  the  bar  April  4,  1903.  He  is  now 
a  lieutenant-colonel  in  the  United  States  army. 

Malcolm  McNaughton  was  born  in  Reno  Township,  Leavenworth 
County,  April  1,  1882.  For  years  he  has  been  associated  with  Lee  Bond 
here  in  the  practice  of  law.  He  was  deputy  county  attorney  under  Mr. 
Bond  from  1908  to  1903.  He  also  held  the  office  of  city  attorney  from 
1917  to  1918. 

Floyd  E.  Harper  came  here  from  Illinois.  He  was  born  at  Ross  Grove, 
Illinois,  March  9,  1879,  and  obtained  his  legal  education  at  the  University 
of  Chicago.  He  was  admitted  to  the  Kansas  bar  in  1905.  He  served  as 
judge  of  the  city  court  from  1911  to  1915  when  he  was  elected  county 
attorney  which  position  he  held  until  1921. 

Lucien  B.  Rutherford  enrolled  January  25,  1910.  At  the  present 
time  Mr.  Rutherford  is  associated  with  the  Wulfekuhler  State  Bank  in 
the  banking  business. 

James  Benton  Kelsey  was  born  and  reared  in  Leavenworth  County. 
For  a  number  of  years  he  taught  in  the  county  schools  and  was  superin- 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  291 

tendent  of  schools  before  taking  up  the  study  of  law.  His  legal  education 
was  contained  at  the  Kansas  City  School  of  Law.  He  registered  as  a 
practicing  attorney  of  Leavenworth  County  July  2,  1910.  He  was 
shortly  after  this  elected  county  attorney  which  position  he  held  for  some 
time.  During  the  World  War  he  enlisted  as  a  private  in  the  aviation  sec- 
tion of  the  signal  corps  and  soon  rose  to  the  rank  of  first  lieutenant.  In 
the  early  part  of  1921  after  being  discharged  from  the  military  service 
he  resumed  the  practice  of  law  in  the  city  of  Leavenworth. 

Jesse  A.  Hall,  next  attorney  to  register,  was  born  in  Easton  Town- 
ship, Leavenworth  County,  November  12,  1875.  He  attended  the  county 
schools  as  a  youth  and  taught  twelve  years  before  taking  up  the  pro- 
fession of  law.  His  legal  education  was  obtained  at  the  University  of 
Kansas  and  Kansas  City  School  of  Law.  In  1910  he  was  elected  county 
clerk  of  Leavenworth  County,  which  office  he  held  four  years.  He  also 
served  three  years  as  police  judge  of  the  city  of  Leavenworth  under  the 
Davis  and  Seitz  administrations. 

G.  F.  Dohrn,  who  registered  January  22,  1913.  For  a  number  of 
years  he  was  associated  in  the  practice  here  with  Bond  &  McNaughton. 

Stewart  Brewster  registered  as  a  practicing  attorney  June  25,  1910. 
For  a  time  he  was  associated  with  the  late  F.  P.  Fitzwilliam  in  the  prac- 
tice here  and  later  with  Floyd  E.  Harper.  He  served  several  years  as 
police  judge  of  this  city.  He  removed  from  here  to  Kansas  City  several 
years  ago. 

Charles  Dolde,  the  next  attorney  to  register  for  practice  here  was 
born  and  reared  in  Leavenworth.  He  practiced  here  but  a  short  time, 
being  associated  with  James  B.  Kelsey,  under  whom  he  served  as  deputy 
county  attorney  for  a  time. 

George  L.  Carter  registered  as  a  practicing  attorney  April  4,  1914. 

W.  P.  Wettig,  the  next  attorney  to  appear  on  the  local  roll,  was  born 
and  reared  in  the  city  of  Leavenworth  and  attended  the  city  schools.  He 
was  admitted  to  the  bar,  January  25,  1914.  In  1915  he  was  elected  judge 
of  the  city  court  which  office  he  held  for  a  term  of  two  years  when  he 
was  elected  probate  judge  and  now  holds  that  office. 

James  S.  Medill  subscribed  to  the  roll  June  24,  1915.  He  was  at  first 
associated  in  the  practice  with  Benj.  F.  Endres.  During  the  World  War 
he  was  commissioned  a  first  lieutenant  of  infantry  and  was  assigned  to 
the  43rd  Infantry.  He  died  of  pneumonia  at  Camp  Logan,  Texas,  while 
in  active  service. 


292  HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

W.  H.  Biddle,  a  son  of  W.  I.  Biddle,  warden  of  the  U.  S.  penitentiary 
at  the  present  time,  was  born  and  reared  in  the  city  of  Leavenworth,  at- 
tended the  city  schools  and  graduated  from  the  local  high  school.  He 
obtained  his  legal  education  at  the  Kansas  City  School  of  Law  and  reg- 
istered as  a  practicing  attorney  of  this  city  June  24,  1915.  During  the 
World  War  he  was  commissioned  a  second  lieutenant  and  was  for  a  time 
attached  to  Company  E,  353d  Infantry,  the  major  portion  of  which  was 
made  up  of  Leavenworth  men.  After  his  discharge  from  the  army  he 
resumed  practice  here  for  a  short  time  but  was  later  commissioned  a  cap- 
tain in  the  judge  advocate  department  which  position  he  is  at  present 
holding. 

Samuel  Parisa  signed  the  roll  as  a  practicing  attorney  October  5, 
1915.  Fo,r  a  short  time  he  was  associated  in  the  practice  with  James  B. 
Kelsey.     He  lives  at  present  on  his  farm  south  of  Lansing. 

LeRoy  T.  Hand,  the  next  attorney  to  subscribe  his  name  to  the  local 
roll  was  born  and  reared  in  Leavenworth  County.  He  graduated  from 
the  county  schools  and  for  a  number  of  years  taught  in  Leavenworth  and 
Atchison  county  schools  before  taking  up  the  study  of  law.  He  was  ad- 
mitted to  the  bar  January  20,  1916.  Since  beginning  the  practice  of  law 
he  has  been  associated  with  Jesse  A.  Hall.  Together  they  have  written 
this  work. 

Paul  C.  Mails  registered  June  24,  1916.  He  was  born  and  reared  in 
Leavenworth  County.  During  the  first  administration  of  J.  C.  Davis  as 
mayor  of  Leavenworth,  he  served  as  police  judge.  He  later  removed  to 
Tulsa,  Oklahoma. 

D.  W.  Hooper,  registered  June  27,  1917.  Since  being  admitted  to  the 
bar  he  has  been  associated  in  the  practice  with  his  father.  He  served  a 
term  as  city  attorney  under  the  J.  C.  Davis  administration  and  was  elected 
county  attorney  in  1920. 

Eugene  V.  Henderson  registered  July  7,  1916.  At  that  time  he  was 
treasurer  of  the  Kansas  City  Western  Railway  Company.  He  held  this 
position  for  a  number  of  years  here.  He  never  engaged  in  the  practice 
of  law  during  his  stay  in  this  city. 

James  J.  Olson  registered  as  a  practicing  attorney  of  this  city  Febru- 
ary 21,  1917.  For  several  years  he  was  sheriff  under  W.  H.  Courtney. 
He  served  during  the  World  War  in  the  United  States  army,  being  a  mem- 
ber of  the  89th  Division.  Upon  being  discharged  from  service  he  began 
practice  here  with  Floyd  E.  Hai*per  under  whom  he  served  as  deputy 
county  attorney. 


HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  293 

John  A.  McLaughlin,  during  the  World  War,  served  as  a  first  lieu- 
tenant of  cavalry  and  is  now  serving  with  that  rank  in  the  army. 

John  J.  Glynn  registered  for  practice  April  21,  1918.  He  is  now  serv- 
ing as  deputy  county  attorney  under  D.  W.  Hooper. 

W.  H.  Medill,  a  son  of  Sherman  Medill  and  brother  of  the  late  James 
S.  Medill,  was  admitted  to  the  Missouri  bar  in  1920  and  to  the  Kansas  bar 
in  January,  1921.     He  is  associated  with  Bond  &  McNaughton. 

While  the  name  of  C.  F.  W.  Dassler  does  not  appear  to  have  been 
subscribed  on  the  local  attorney  roll,  Mr.  Dassler  is  at  the  present  time 
a  member  of  the  local  bar  association  and  has  been  engaged  here  in  active 
practice  for  many  years.  He  came  to  this  city  in  1873  from  St.  Louis, 
Missouri,  and  since  that  time  has  been  engaged  in  practice  here.  Since 
1876,  Mr.  Dassler  has  compiled  the  statutes  for  the  state  of  Kansas.  He 
served  two  terms  as  city  attorney  here  in  previous  years  and  holds  that 
position  at  the  present  time.  He  has  also  served  as  president  of  the 
Board  of  Education  of  this  city  and  as  a  member  of  the  city  council.  He 
is  the  author  of  two  valuable  text  books  in  "Dassler's  Civic  Code"  and 
"Dassler's  Kansas  Form  Book." 


CHAPTER  XVIII 


WORLD  WAR. 


ENTRANCE  OP  THE  UNITED  STATES  IN  THE  WORLD  WAR— PRESIDENT  WILSON'S 
ADDRESS  TO  CONGRESS— WAR  ACTIVITY  IN  LEAVENWORTH  COUNTT— AR- 
MISTICE SIGNED— "IN  FLANDERS  FIELDS"— THOSE  WHO  SERVED — CAS- 
UALTIES. 


It  is  not  in  the  province  of  this  history  or  within  the  purview  of  this 
short  chapter  to  attempt  a  history  of  the  great  World  War  which  threat- 
ened the  very  foundation  of  civilization  and  affecting  every  nation  in  the 
world. 

President  Wilson,  in  his  speech  before  Congress,  April  6,  1918,  used 
the  following  eloquent  and  forceful  words  which  found  a  spontaneous 
response  throughout  all  America: 

"Let  everything  that  we  say,  my  fellow  countrymen,  everything  that 
we  henceforth  plan  and  accomplish,  ring  true  to  this  response  till  the 
majesty  and  might  of  our  concerted  power  shall  fill  the  thought  and  utterly 
defeat  the  force  of  those  who  flount  and  misprize  what  we  honor  and  hold 
dear. 

"Germany  has  once  more  said  that  force,  and  force  alone,  shall  decide 
whether  justice  and  peace  shall  reign  in  the  affairs  of  men,  whether  right 
as  America  conceives  it,  and  dominion,  as  she  conceives,  shall  determine 
the  destinies  of  mankind. 

"There  is.  therefore,  but  one  response  for  us;  force,  force  to  the 
utmost,  force  without  stint  or  limit,  the  righteous  and  triumphant  force 
which  will  make  the  law  of  the  world,  and  cast  selfish  dominion  down  in 
the  dust." 

Leavenworth  County  generously  and  nobly  did  her  part  in  the  great 
World  War  in  both  men  and  money.  Her  citizenship  is  made  up  from 
people  or  descendants  from  almost  every  nation  of  the  Eastern  Hemis- 
phere.    Like  other  localities  in  this  country  we  form  a  melting  pot  for 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  295 

the  nations  of  the  globe.  She  has  a  large  number  of  German  birth  or 
parentage.  As  a  class  they  are  frugal,  saving,  prosperous,  honest  and 
loyal  to  America. 

Before  our  entrance  into  the  great  war  most  of  them  were  in  sym- 
pathy with  Germany,  and  as  such  were  not  neutral.  But  with  our 
entrance  their  hearts  beat  true,  and  they  at  once  sprang  to  action,  and 
responded  as  a  class  to  every  call.  If  there  were  reservations  in  the 
minds  of  a  few,  the  number  was  indeed  small  and  existed  to  a  large  ex- 
tent in  the  minds  of  the  suspicious.  By  reason  of  the  variety  of  national- 
ities blended  into  our  citizenship  the  editors  are  called  upon  to  say  that 
they  can  conceive  of  no  war  with  a  foreign  foe  that  would  not  in  some 
way  involve  some  of  our  citizens  in  a  conflict  with  their  ancestors.  But 
with  all  we  are  Americans,  regardless  of  the  route  each  has  traveled  to 
become  one.  We  are  one  in  life  of  home  and  country.  Those  who  toiled, 
suffered,  bled  and  died  in  Flanders  fields  are  confined  to  no  special 
nationality. 

Early  Monday  morning,  November  11,  1918,  the  news  was  flashed 
across  the  country  that  the  armistice  was  signed.  A  great  demonstration 
was  held  in  Leavenworth  City.  Bands  played  and  demonstrations  of  all 
kinds  were  carried  on  in  celebration  of  the  occasion  and  in  jubilation  of 
the  end  of  the  most  stupendous  tragedy  in  the  history  of  the  world. 

The  treaty  of  peace  with  Germany  has  not  yet  been  signed  and  some 
of  our  brave  boys  are  yet  on  German  soil.  One  by  one  most  of  them  have 
returned.  We  are  not  able  to  give  the  promotions  or  special  deeds  of 
valor  of  our  boys  with  the  meager  information  at  hand.  Nor  are  we  able 
to  give  the  names  of  all  of  those  boys  who  left  their  homes  to  give  their 
services  to  their  country.  For  the  following  list  we  are  indebted  to  the 
draft  board,  consisting  of  W.  H.  Courtney,  sheriff;  H.  V.  Reilly,  county 
treasurer;  and  Loretta  Quinn,  secretary  of  the  board.  J.  E.  Voorhees, 
county  clerk,  was  a  member  of  the  draft  board  but  was  commisisoned  a 
lieutenant  and  gave  his  services  overseas. 

IN  FLANDERS  FIELDS. 

In  Flanders  fields,  the  poppies  grow 
Between  the  crosses,  row  by  row, 
That  mark  our  places ;  and  in  the  sky, 
The  lark,  still  bravely  singing  fly, 
Scarce  heard  amid  the  guns  below. 


296  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

We  are  the  dead.     Short  days  ago 
We  lived,  felt  dawn,  saw  sunset  glow, 
Loved  and  were  loved,  and  now  we  lie 
In  Flanders  fields. 

Take  up  our  quarrel  with  the  foe. 
To  you  from  failing  hands  we  throw 
The  torch ;  be  yours  to  hold  it  high. 
If  ye  break  faith  with' us  who  died 
We  shall  not  sleep,  though  poppies  grow 
In  Flanders  fields. 
(Written  by  Lieut.  Col.  John  McCrea  during  the  battle  of  Ypres, 
April,  1915.    He  now  sleeps  in  Flanders  fields.) 

AN  ANSWER. 

In  Flanders  fields  the  cannon  boom 
While  up  above,  like  eagles  fly 
The  fierce  destroyers  of  the  sky; 
With  stains  the  earth  wherein  you  lie 
Is  redder  than  the  poppy  bloom, 
In  Flanders  fields. 

Sleep  on,  ye  brave.     The  shrieking  shell, 
The  quaking  trench,  the  startled  yell, 
The  fury  of  the  battle  hell 
Shall  wake  you  not,  for  all  is  well. 
Sleep  peacefully,  for  all  is  well. 

Your  flaming  torch  aloft  we  bear, 
With  burning  heart  an  oath  we  swear 
To  keep  the  faith,  to  fight  it  through, 
To  crush  the  foe  or  sleep  with  you 
In  Flanders  fields. 
(Written  by  C.  B.  Galbraith,  Columbus,  Ohio,  Ohio  State  Librarian.) 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 


The  following  is  a  list  of  those  who  served  in  the  World  War  from 
Leavenworth  County: 


James  Arron 
Thomas  Adams 
John  Adams 
William  Adams 
Eugene  Alford 
Alfred  Alexander 
Edward  Alig 
Hugh  Ward  Allen 
Arthur  Allrich 
John  Alster 
Ray  B.  Anderson 
Claude  Anglin 
Floy  R.  Arnold 
Norvel  J.  Atkinson    ■ 
Manuel  Abillicira 
Herman  T.  Ala 
Oscar  Allen 
Albert  E.  Anderson 
Franklin  Attesburg 
David  R.  Alford,  Jr. 
Dan  R.  Anthony,  3rd 
Chas.  A.  Attesberg 
Lafe  M.  Amundeson 

Ray  Bachmann 
Leo  Bagley 
Chas.  Baker 
Albert  Balz 
George  A.  Burman 
John  E.  Barnhardt 
Earl  Barrett 
George  Becher 
August  W.  Biene 
James  Wm.  Bell 
John  Bell 
Nobel  Benefiel 


Louis  Bernstein 
Herbert  Boyer 
John  Bilsing 
Wm.  A.  Bishop 
John  Black 
.Arthur  Blanton 
Chris  Blockberger 
Thos.  J.  Boone 
Clarence  Andrew  Botts 
Charles  W.  Bowen 
Henry  A.  Bozworth 
Leo  N.  Bradley 
Edwain  Brewster 
Albert  Brightwell 
James  M.  Bristwow 
Harold  Brogan 
Herman  Brokaw 
John  D.  Brown 
Clifford  Brown 
Chester  Brown 
Lathrop  Brown 
James  Brown 
Carl  W.  Bucholz 
Hermann  Bullard 
William  L.  Burns 
William  Burns 
Albert  Burton 
William  Burwell 
John  J.  Bollin 
Clarence  Burr 
Chas.  C.  Brown 
Grover  E.  Bolten 
John  Blaser 
Hugh  M.  Bell 
Harry  Benson 
Jacob  Bellstusky 


298 


HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY 


Wallace  Bryant 
Frank  Brown 
Roscoe  Baker 
Edward  A.  Bloom 
Paul  Bear 
Curtis  A.  Brooks 
Nichodemus   Bonczynski 
Aloysious  Bollin 
Humphrey  Biddle 
Jess  Bridges 
Bradford  Baker 
Wm.  Borchhardt 
Fredrich  Bird 
Louis  Burton 
Raymond  Beandry 
Lawrence  Beard 
George  A.  Burhnam 
Eugene  Brooks 
John  Blume 
Earnest  Chas.  Brown 
Wm.  T.  Bush 
Clarence  Bell 
Arthur  Bojanwer 
Cyburnis  Brown 
Herman  Brandt 
Charles  B.  Bubb 
Albert  L.  Barr 
George  Bleistein 
Ernst  Babcock 
John  Busey 
Charles  Baker 
Chas.  Joseph  Bellstusky 
Raymond  Brown 
Joseph  Bradley 
Roy  Brinkley 
Louis  Bunker 
Vernon  Branch 
William  Baglin 


Leonard  Bishop 
Walter  Brueckan 
Charles  Behee 
Edgar  Bleistein 
John  Wm.  Bell 
Edward  0.  Besel 
Erwim  Samuel  Brown 
Carl  Brantigan 
Raymond  Brokaw 
William  Banes 
Earl  G.  Briggs 
Frederick  Butzin 
John  D.  Baker 
Joseph  Boone 
James  C.  Bates 
Joseph  Bates 
Howard  Bransfield 
Carl  Orrin  Bird 
Walter  Bleakley 
John  Richard  Babski 

Joseph  Cahill 
Peter  Caldwell 
Fred  Colson 
Raymond  Campbell 
Archibald  Campbell 
Harry  Campbell 
Terry  C.  Canady 
Dennis  Carter 
Joe  Chism 
John  Chismar 
Bentley  Clark 
John  F.  Clements 
Ralph  Coffman 
James  A.  Collier 
Walter  Collins 
Henry  Joseph  Collins 
John  Connelly 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 


299 


Frank  Conboy 
Alex.  Constantinopolus 
James  F.  Conway 
Emmett  Cook 
Leon  Cooter 
John  Cooter 
Wm.  Cowling 
David  Craig 
Charles  Creclius 
F.  M.  Crook 
Wm.  Curry 
Wm.  Curtian 
Harry  Can- 
Ernst  Cline 

Edward  Kenneth  Crowley 
James  C.  Craven 
Elmer  Camerron 
Harry  L.  Calvin 
James  Prentiss  Conley 
Roscoe  C.  Campbell 
William  McCarthy  Cook 
Fred  Collins 
Roy  Collins 
Myron  S.  Collins 
Oscar  Cowling 
Don  Phillip  Coleman 
John  W.  Christian 
Frank  Champbell 
Thommas  Francis  Connelly 
James  L.  Chase 
Burr  Cowan  Coelett 
Norman  F.  Cleverdon 
Thomas  John  Cahill 
Chauncey  Clark 
Ralph  Collins 
Fred  Carter 
George  Carther 
C.  C.  Cloud 


William  Edgar  Connell 
Joseph  Coffro 
Guy  Truman  Courtney 
Elmer  John  Cowling 
August  Albert  Cowling 
Tom  Carl 
James  A.  Clyce 
Willie  Lee  Collier 
Charles  H.  Clyde 
Frank  Curry 
Graham  M.  Coppersmith 
Harry  Elleworth  Crook 
Granville  M.  Coppersmith 
Raymond  Coldren 
William  Casey,  Jr. 
William  M.  C.  Cornforth 
Roy  Samuel  Campbell 
Arnett  Ray  Cox 
Dewey  Chandler 
Lloyd  Colvin 
William  Paul  Chandler 
Eugene  Hugh  Cammerron 
Joseph  B.  Colombo 
George  L.  Cochran 
Earl  Wayne  Cherrie 
William  Eugene  Collins 

Herbert  M.  Dallon 
N.  Davis 
Charles  Davidson 
Albert  C.  DeFrees 
Clarence  Dickinson 
Henry  Doll,  Jr. 
Leo  Bernand  Donovan 
Edward  Dooley 
Frank  Dorsey 
Walter  Dougherty 
Arthur  Singer  Downs 


300 


HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 


George  W.  Drescher 
Frank  Drexel 
Charles  Daniel  Driscoll 
Roy  L.  Droullard 
Arlie  Duree 
Henry  Charles  Dolde 
John  Albert  Denny 
Oscar  Lee  Douglas 
Thomas  Dooley 
Frank  Driscoll 
John  Dailey 
Robert  A.  Downing 
Edward  Doyle 
Fred  J.  Dabner 
Daniel  B.  Doyle 
Leonard  G.  Deamer 
Ownie  Davis 
Sir  Francis  Cecil  Drake 
James  Duncan 
Roy  Davenport 
Thomas  C.  Desmond 
John  M.  Duffin 
John  Dorsey 
John  B.  Donovan 
Daniel  T.  Dodson 
Charley  Davidson 
Floyd  J.  Decker 
Vernon  Alfred  DeHoff 
Ray  Jennings  Dessery 
Fred  H.  Dutweiler 
Ward  William  Dengler 

Chas.  Ebert 
Raymond  C.  Edgell 
William  Ebert 
John  Martin  Edler 
George  Adam  Ehart 
Albert  L.  Emsurlere 


Burnam  T.  English 
Perry  H.  Enyeart 
Joseph  E.  Egkert 
Fred  Eisler 
Taylor  England 
William  H.  P.  Evert 
William  Ralph  Evans 
Paul  Edmonds 
Ray  Edmonds 
Charley  Jack  Elberson 
James  Bryan  Erratt 
Alfred  Elmer 
Ralph  S.  Edwards 

Fred  Faerber 
Earl  Farrell 
Alphonsus  Fellman 
Myron  K.  Feth 
Grover  Ray  Fevurly 
Robert  E.  Field 
Neal  Flom 
William  G.  Forrin 
Carl  W.  Franie 
John  B.  Franks 
Sam  Frauson 
Chester  A.  Freeman 
John  M.  French 
Lee  H.  Frey 
Leo  Louis  Fink 
William  G.  Fuller 
William   Fitzgerald 
Gerald  Leo  Fitzgerald 
Emmett  Leo  Farrel 
George  Fowler 
Hirman  R.  Floyd 
John  Clifford  Fewing 
Henry  Clyde  Fisher 
Robert  B.  Frick 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 


301 


Henry  Forge 
Clyde  N.  Fritz 
Louis  Martin  Fink 
Glen  Frank  Ferree 
John  Fletcher 
Raymond  McKay  Flint 
Charles  Fewing 
Richard  N.  Fisher 
William  H.  Fort 
Frank  Milo  Ogden 
Edgar  Earl  Fevurly 
Edward  B.  Ferguson 
Clyde  Willis  Ford 
Henry  D.  Flom 
Elgie  Clarence  Flinner 
Michael  Paul  Forris 
Daniel  Francis  Foley 
James  Endriss  Farrell 
George  Forris 

Daniel  V.  Galvin 
Bert  Gardner 
Mayer  Garfinkle 
Joseph  E.  Gates 
John  Giese 
Ed.  Giacominni 
Roy  Gilbert 
John  Glynn 
Martin  W.  Goergen 
Charles  H.  Goetting 
Edwin  Leonard  Gordon 
Charles  E.  Gaupp 
Elmer  Gough 
Charles  F.  Green 
Paul  R.  Greever 
James  Guihm 
Roy  Grisham 
John  C.  Girt 


Paul  Evertt  Gilman 
James  Edwin  Garnett 
Eugene  P.  Gempel 
Paul  A.  Gempel 
Charles  N.  Giese 
Harry  0.  Garvey 
John  Henry  Glettig 
Joseph  Elmoin  Green 
James  U.  Gabbeft 
Arthur  Jacob  Grady 
Louis  George 
John  Glynn,  Jr. 
John  B.  Greever 
John  D.  Gallagher 
Robert  E.  Gror 
Walter  E.  Gerb 
Clarence  Earl  Geisen 
John  F.  Gwartney 
Michael  Ginsburg 
Walter  M.  Gist 
John  Alfred  Godfrey 
Fred  Goetting 
William  R.  Gardner 
William  Charles  Gailey 
John  F.  Grady 
William  Mason  Garrett 
Earl  Francis  Galvin 
Gerome  Galvin 
Hugo  Giacomini 
Russell  Walter  Good  John 
Carl  H.  Goehner 
Warren  Morse  Gorbett 
Walter  Henry  Goller 
Omar  Lealie  Gordon 
Robert  J.  Galvin 

Joh  H.  Hafferkamp 
Lester  D.  Hamil 


HI2 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 


Sam  Hamilton,  Jr. 
Harry  Harun 
James  Hauson 
Charles  A.  Harbaugh 
Aaron  Sylvester  Harvey 
August  Hashagen 
Jacob  A.  Hastert 
Clarence  Hathorne 
Milton  Haworth 
Andrew  J.  Hauserman 
Jacob  Hencheck 
Edward  Hencheck 
Walter  Henderson 
Carl  L.  Heim 
Lewis  L.  Heim 
Charles  A.  Heitzelman 
John  T.  Herkins 
Tony  Herrig 
Zell  Hewitt 
Henry  P.  Hicks 
Frank  B.  Hicks 
Glenn  Harry  Hill 
James  C.  Hill 
Alfred  Rudolph  Hilpert 
Claude  E.  Hinman 
Albert  R.  Hodapp 
Abe  Hoffman 
Edward  John  Hogan 
George  W.  Hageman 
John  P.  Holloman 
Ray  E.  Horton 
Otis  Horton 

Clarence  James  Hawkins 
Amos  Frederick  Hoy 
Edward  W.  Hoy 
Irvin  A.  Houghland 
Homer  Hughey 
Clyde  Hughes 


George  Huhn 
Alfred  Hultz 
Claude  H.  Humphreys 
Clark  Hurley 
Martin  Hunner 
Kenneth  Hunt 
Orville  Hunt 
King  L.  Hunting 
Walter  Melton  Hawkins 
Samuel  Hamler 
George  E.  Harding 
Antoine  A.  Holtmeyer 
Albert  N.  Hack 
Walter  N.  Hill 
William  Hubbard 
Carl  Martin  Holdorf 
E.  M.  Harris 
Homer  William  Haug 
Truman  F.  Henderson 
Edward  Kibbie  Hallaux 
Clarence  H.  Hitzemann 
Verne  Clarney  Hager 
Henry  Hicks 
Ora  N.  Hollingsworth 
Carl  Fountain  Huffman 
Carl  H.  Helman 
Wilbur  Hanley 
Thomas  0.  Hedges 
Richard  Hardin 
Daniel  Hawes 
Ed.  Haug 

Howard  Frances  Hassett 
Joseph  J.  Heintzelman 
Andrew  Hodock 
William  Hundley 
Dan  Hunter 
Mathew  Huff 
James  William  Hawkins 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 


303 


Pleasant  Hartley- 
Edward  James  Halpin 
Roy  Huffman 
Lester  Wilson  Hilner 
Gerald  Bruce  Harford 
Martin  Huhn 
Leo  Heintzelman 
Allie  Heintzelman 
Allen  A.  Hawkins 
Carl  Hopkins 
George  Henry  Harth 
Elmer  A.  Henderson 
Louis  Howard 
Walter  Michael  Halpin 
Frank  Hines 
Otto  Hertel 
Bisbarck  Haxlewood 
Martin  Andrew  Heim 
Lowell  F.  Harmon 
Lee  Graham  Henry 
Milton  Emil  Haas 
Harry  J.  Hicks 
William  Herman  Huhn 
William  H.  Helmers 
Paul  B.  Hughes 

Joseph  H.  Inkman 
Elmer  L.  Iven 

Ivan  A.  Jackson 
John  W.  Jenkins 
Asa  Lauter  Jewett 
Homer  R.  Jewett 
Henry  Johnson 
Louis  Johnson 
James  J.  Johnson 
Edward  Earl  Jones 
Walter  W.  Jones 


Clyde  Joyce 
Harry  F.  Joyce 
Pearly  J.  Jackson 
William  Miller  Jones 
Rudolph  Jost 
Lester  Jackson 
Albert  R.  Jackson 
Alex  Jackson 
John  Johnson 
Frank  Albert  Jenkins 
George  Joyce 
Frank  Albert  Jenkins 
Harry  Byron  Jenkins 
Frank  Charles  Jeanin 
Kilmer  Harris  Jackson 
Joseph  Henry  January 
Lawrence  Johnson 
Edward  Jackson 
Warren  B.  Jury 

Albert  Reiser 
Julian  E.  Keller 
Richard  L.  Kelley 
Floyd  J.  Kelsey 
Andy  P.  Kensbock 
Arthur  George  Kenton 
Leo  George  Kern 
Anton  Kern 
Lambert  J.  Kern 
McKinley  King 
John  Stance  Kirmeyer 
Joseph  Henry  Klamet 
Edward  J.  Klinkenberg 
Otto  A.  Klieistick 
Joseph  Knapp,  Jr. 
Alexander  T.  Knox 
John  B.  Kosakowski 
Joseph  Kolometz 


304 


HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY 


William  F.  Krautz 
Joseph  Kressin 
William  Kreutzer 
Edward  Kleinschmidt 
Albert  Alexander  Kihm 
William  John  Kersten 
Eddie  Kimble 
Ora  E.  Kinnaman 
James  Arthur  Keating 
Otto  August  Kasten 
Frank  Kiser 
Albert  L.  Koerner 
William  Keys 
Arthur  S.  Klemp 
Clarence  Kennedy 
Fred  Kreutzer 
Carl  Krekler 
Walter  E.  Klinkenberg 
William  Kelly 
Henry  Kempin 
Michael  William  Knapp 
Stephen  George  Kramer 
Louis  Harold  Kane 
Alva  King 
■  Arthur  Klamm 
Fred  Christ  Kruse 
Walter  Kaster 
Kenneth  C.  Knight 
Joseph  C.  Klasinski 
Matt  Kersten 
John  Krautz 
Frank  Joseph  Killillay 
Harold  Joseph  Kueny 
Henry  L.  Klamet 

William  C.  LaCaille 
John  Lada 
John  J.  Laird 


George  E.  Lamb 
Walter  A.  Lambert 
Roy  Lambkin 
Ralph  Earl  Larew 
Earl  M.  Lawson 
Lewis  LeGrande 
Edward  P.  Leonard 
Harry  T.  Lewis 
Henry  Liebenow 
Alphonse  Lienhart 
Charley  Lina 
Martin  Lippert 
Stanley  W.  Lloyd 
John  Loar 

John  A.  L.  Lockhart 
Ray  Love 
John  R.  Lowe 
George  Gary  Ludwig 
George  V.  Lingenfelser 
James  Carothers  Lysle 
Otis  Calvin  Lytten 
John  M.  Langley 
Clarence  L.  Langley 
I.  R.  Lurker 
Miner  Lott 
Earl  Long 
Mack  Lawrence 
John  Langly 
Squire  Logan 
Virgil  Charles  Lurker 
Jerome  Levy 
George  Lippert 
John  G.  Lozenski,  Jr. 
Herman  V.  Lichtenfel 
John  0.  Latta 
Raymond  L.  Lord 
John  Larkin 
Abe  E.  Laird 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 


305 


Dan  Love 
James  F.  Lahiff 
Adolf  Lowenstein 
Emmit  Logan 
David  T.  Lidsay 
Foster  Laming 
Joseph  Lozenski 
Eugene  A.  Longgood 
Ralph  Lewis 
Samuel  Langford 
George  Lawrence  Leonhard 
Lewis  Earnest  Lohman 
Lester  Carr  Lewis 
Charles  C.  Laming 
Dan  J.  Lyons 
Benedict  Lingenfelser 
Sidney  Guy  Long 
George  Adolf  Linck 
George  N.  Lawrence 
Ormand  Warren  Leavel 
Ralph  F.  Lewis 

John  Henry  Majors 
George  F.  Majors 
Edward  Monahan 
Charles  Leo  Mann 
Frederick  B.  Manatt 
Bertell  L.  Matthews 
Harry  Edward  Matthey 
Victor  Mayer 
James  C.  McCaffrey 
Ralph  McClain 
Elwood  McLain 
Thomas  McCarty 
Thomas  Robert  McCarty 
John  McConnell 
John  B.  McCool 
Thomas  F.  McDonald 

(16) 


William  H.  McGlynn 
Henry  McGraw 
Alexander  Meade 
George  Meeker 
Edward  Mainert 
Ray  Allen  Melvin 
Albert  Meister 
Charles  Henry  Merchant 
R.  A.  Meyer 
John  J.  Michalak 
Frank  Miller 
Edward  Lewis  Miller 
Joseph  Mischefsky 
Samuel  Jefferson  Mitchell 
Thomas  J.  Monahan 
John  Moore 
Essie  Moore 
Randell  Morton 
William  A.  Moses 
Charles  Murphy 
William  Murray 
William  A.  Mueller 
Oliver  Meyers 
Joseph  A.  Meyers 
Byron  Henry  Mehl 
James  Sherman  Medill 
Robert  McCarty 
Joseph  McCarty,  Jr. 
Arthur  McCIurg 
John  Charles  Madden 
Sidney  Baker  Mitchell 
Will  Murray 
Anthony  Michefsky,  Jr. 
James  Andrew  McCarren 
James  Cassies  Moore 
William  T.  Moore 
Michael  McCheskey 
Luther  May 


HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 


Floyd  Morris 
Joseph  Thomas  McEvoy 
Paul  Domby  McKenzie 
Robert  Earl  Moody 
Sherwin  Mella 
Bennie  Matthews 
Height  Majors 
Joseph  Frank  Mandel 
King  Edward  Marks 
William  Valentine  Majors 
Wilfred  J.  Maloy 
Joseph  John  Michalak 
Edward  Mosher 
Francis  Rudolph  McEvoy 
Henry  August  Meyer 
Thomas  James  McCaffrey 
Wallace  Emora  Matthews 
William  Harold  Medill 
Wilson  Robert  Meyers 
Gene  Alfred  McCone 
Morris  Morgan 
Charles  Percival  Matthews 
John  A.  McLoughlin 
Henry  Gustus  Meinert 
John  Herman  Meinken 
Ira  Llewlyn  Matthews 
Clarence  Morton 
George  Tabor  Medill 
Frank  William  Mayer 
Andrew  B.  Matzeder 
Paul  A.  Morton 
Roy  Herbert  Martin 
Thomas  F.  Murray 
Edward  Marcott 
Joseph  E.  Merrifield 
Selden  I.  Munson 
Lewis  Frederick  Mehl 
Porter  H.  McCartney 


James  0.  McFarland 

Samuel  H.  Markley 

Natus  J.  Milkowski 

Ralph  Charles  Matzeder 

Ralph  Arthur  McRill 

Noble  Hayes  Mayfield 

Edgar  McRill 

Thomas  L.  Medill 

Walter  Morris 

Bryan  Murphy 

Nicholas  N.  Navinsky 

Arthur  Noack 

John  Joseph  Nirschl 
Glenn  Norris 
Charles  Leon  Nuhn 
Richard  Nywenning 
Sidney  E.  Norris 
Charles  Henry  Norris 
Stephen  Nowowiezski 
Stephen  A.  Naeher 
John  Wesley  Nuhn 
John  Northrop 
Joseph  Alfred  O'Brien 
Adam  William  Ochs 
Leo  Frederick  Ode 
Edward  George  O'Leary 
James  Joseph  Olson 
Arthur  Olson 
Benjamin  J.  Olson 
William  T.  Orlowski 
Otto  Orlowski 
Ralph  O'Neil 
Homer  T.  Orick 
John  Edwin  Ortman 
George  L.  Ortel 
Frank  Underwood  Orr 
John  William  O'Connor 
Charles  Michael  O'Brien 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 


307 


Francis  O'Heron 
Edwin  G.  Oliver 
Michael  O'Keefe 
Frank  O'Hara 
Hugo  A.  Okoniewski 
Herman  Amor  Ochs 
Edgar  Harold  Oswalt 
John  Joseph  O'Donnell 
Julius  Peters  Ochs 

Albert  Panek 
Joseph  Panek 
Chester  L.  Parks 
Orville  Lee  Paronto 
John  Parsons 
Harry  Pasewark 
Frank  E.  Paul 
Stanley  Panek 
John  G.  Pellman 
Groutcher  Peet 
Paul  Peterson 
Gilbert  L.  Phillips 
Clarence  J.  Piechowaik 
Eddie  Pierce 
Charles  F.  Pike 
Lucien  B.  Pike 
Virgil  Poynter 
George  F.  Post 
James  E.  Potter 
Glenn  L.  Preston 
Antone  Price 
Emil  Psotta 
Willard  W.  Putnam 
Bernard  R.  Phillips 
Alois  Podlesny 
George  F.  Palmer 
Andrew  O.  Potter 
Freddie  Pennington 


John  Pappenhausen 
Charles  Aaron  Pouppirt 
Sherman  Palmer 
Alphonse  John  Payeur 
Audrey  Lavery  Purcell 
Harry  C.  Peterson 
Homer  Calvert  Peters 
Leo  Harrison  Pearson 
Robert  Emmett  Pike 
Malcolm  Bradley  Parlin 
William  Peck 
Ralph  N.  Phenicie 
Harry  Peterson 
Ben  Harrison  Pullins 
Jason  Penrod 
Paul  Russell  Parker 
Peter  Paul  Popowitz 
Eugene  Page 
William  H.  Perkins 
Arthur  Price 
Frank  F.  Payne 
Claude  H.  Porter 
Seymour  N.  Perkins 
Clarence  Price 
Jack  Patton 

Robert  Coleman  Powers 
Caryl  Wright  Parks 
Tom  Peet 
Albert  Phillips 
Peter  Paul  Panek 
Lucien  Parlin 
Paul  Dewey  Parker 
David  H.  Putney 
Herman  Poggemeyer 

William  C.  Quackenbush 
Amos  Lawrence  Quinlan 
Howard  D.  Quinlan 


2     ;     T  T^rsijLr  :::r^rr   H    ZicJiiris::: 

;?::   ::.\::  7 .j,L:±  ~-±  :■■:■■'■   :.:JT:>i;:: 

;;T  ;      ;;     -_   -r;  7;.:::^:                      ~~il-ir/.   :  az:.  Z::Ziris:- 

-------  v    J.,.;;-  lr:   Zuge-e  F.::i 

Err—   F.-i   ser  7:-ri=r.:>  Ery^  ?.=-cr 

7     -    -i  Walter  Bader 

7.t:t ...,:  5    J.T-i::  -ir!  ?.u":-e:±i.:;er 

Zd— -  7r        :   :  Charies  A.  Ross 


?.r~r:::  ?.:■£=: 


.:dz  rrrierlzk  Si—  ier 

7;~i:  ~    Si'iTArr 


".i-,:  A    S:de7e 

7^:,:   S:-;:-r; 

:,:::    7":    5:7~r:£A 


Thirls    7    S:7;  ^7 
Zi^-ie   S-i'rjri-e-ier 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 


Albert  J.  Singer 
John  Shaughnessey 
Leo  Shepherd 
Lowell  E.  Shields 
Walter  H.  Shirk 
Alexander  Sughrue 
Harry  D.  Skaggs 
Charles  W.  Slocum 
James  Snopkowski 
Martin  Slomski 
Joseph  Snopkowski 
Cecil  Bryan  Southwell 
Dee  Spain 
Paul  Spaethe 
Doc  Sparks 
Grover  C.  Spencer 
John  Spencer 
Peter  Stadsholt 
Robert  C.  Staniford 
Leonard  Stanwix 
Collin  Starnes 
Henry  Stein 
Walter  D.  Steinhauer 
Earl  Stigers 
Joseph  Ray  Stucker 
Peter  Paul  Stuchr 
Victor  Swiderski 
Fred  C.  Schrieber 
Andrew  L.  Schlonga 
Joseph  Schmidt 
David  J.  Schweizer 
Paul  H.  Suberkrup 
Hillel  Samisch 
Frank  C.  Salisbury 
Lawrence  Stucker 
Edward  Springer 
Frank  Spencer  Scott 
Fritz  Schillo 


Edward  John  Suydam 
Lee  E.  Sacks 
Charles  Albert  Sihler 
William  J.  Stevenson 
Rex  Slocum 
Reginald  O.  Shepherd 
Vincent  Straub 
Charles  X.  Sharpe 
Roy  William  Shouse 
Leonard  0.  Schapley 
Andrew  Ward  Stewart 
Emile  Sommerla 
Lonie  L.  Sample 
Paul  Sanders 
Charles  Henry  Smith 
Arthur  W.  Schonitzius 
George  Smith 
Carl  S.  Scott 
Guy  Sharp 
Franz  Stump 
Lysle  Michael  Sellers 
Willard  E.  Smith 
Lawrence  J.  Savage 
Frank  Scott 
William  Splride 
Luther  Self 
Charles  Scott 
Henry  Hampton  Springs 
Otto  Henry  Schulz 
August  E.  Schwanz 
Alfred  Strather 
Roy  Chester  Shaver 
Andrew  F.  Starnes 
John  Alvan  Schroeder 
August  E.  Schanze 
Archie  Henry  Seifert 
Lloyd  Dwight  Schlag 
Julius  Strong 


310 


HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 


Earl  N.  Stewart 
Paul  Hyde  Savage 
Frank  B.  Stacey 
Edwin  Arnold  Schalker 
Albert  Luther  Short 
LeRoy  Shepherd 
Russell  A.  Stephenson 
Charley  N.  Schroyer 
Daniel  Russell   Simmons 
Morrill  Self 

Arthur  Wm.  Stemmerman 
O.  M.  Schultes 

George  T.  Taylor 

George  T.  L.  Taylor 

Vessey  T.  Taylor 

Ernest  Theel 

Henry  Theel 

James  Jeremiah  Thompson 

Edward  P.  Tillquist 

Walter  T.  Timmons 

Joe  Titolski 

Henry  Todd 

William  N.  Todd 

Louis  Toffler 

Albert  H.  Tornedon 

Frank  Towns 

Clifford  Townsend 

Anton  Titolski 

Frank  Tonar 

Clyde  Mills  Theur 

Joseph  A.  Thorpe 

Ralph  Tierney 

Frank  Joseph  Tonar 

Joseph  Patrick  Turner 

Thomas  A.  Tabb 

Deamont  Thomas 

John  R.  Thayer 


Davis  Ernest  Theel 
William  Adolph  Teets 
Roy  Cornelius  Tinberg 
Randall  Trackwell 
Carl  Franklin  Turner 
Louis  F.  Terwilliger 
Charles  W.  Thornburg 

Corlett  Umholtz 
Charles  Nicholas  Ulrich 

Andrew  C.  Vlaehos 
John  H.  Voight 
Paul  A.  Voight 
Joseph  E.  Voorhees 
Luther  B.  Vigus 
John  Frederick  Vosmer 
Andrew  Stacey  Van  Emman 
George  Charles  Vickers 
Harry  Edward  Van  Tuyl 
Michael  Visocsky 
Eddie  C.  Vormehr 
William  T.  Van  Veighton 

Carl  Wagner 
Clement  Wahler 
Tony  Wahler 
Richard  Wahler 
Thomas  Wahler 
Plummer  Walker 
Robert  Wallace 
Albert  E.  Walsh 
Robert  L.  Watson 
Jesse  B.  Warren 
Charles  R.  Warren 
Herman  C.  Watson 
Clement  J.  Weber 
Harry  Welch 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 


311 


Lloyd  Welch 

Joseph  A.  Wellman 

August  L.  Werly 

Fred  Carl  Werner 

Edward  F.  Wettig 

George  Whitelaw 

Lawrence  Whitney 

Ernest  Wilkes 

David  Roy  Williams 

Jesse  Ed  Williams 

Otto  W.  Witt 

Edward  Wikelsky 

Ira  Wittelschofer 

Herman  Willhardt 

Mosby  Dan  Woodson 

William  Wright 

George  Wright 

W.  Wallace  Wright 

Floyd  Wuerth 

Harold  Raymond  Wood 

Amos  E.  Wilson,  Jr. 

Eugene  Wilson 

William  Edward  Wright 

James  Marshall  Wirtz 

Leo  Walz 

Elvin  Williams 

Whitney  Bastion  Wagner 

Ora  Withrow 

Gusta  Wash 

Harry  Omer  Westergeren 

John  Elmer  Wilson 

Willis  Edward  Wood 

Ben  Warren 

Harry  B.  Weeks 

Elmer  Whitten 

Wirt  Dudley  Walton 

William  R.  Wheeler 


James  Williams 
Willie  Floyd  Williams 
Chris  Wyrick 
Elliott  Edward  Winnig 
Fred  Wake 
Jesse  M.  Wilson 
George  A.  Weaver 
Vernon  LeRoy  Wake 
George  F.  Wilson 
Joseph  W.  White 
Anton  Weber 
John  C.  Ware 
John  Wizzard 
John  E.  Walker 
William  E.  Williams 
Chester  De  Witt  Worley 
Ralph  Welch 
Amiel  Wornei 
Leonard  C.  Williams 
Roy  Elwood  Wells 
Jesse  Earl  Wardwell 
John  Phillip  Wilhardt 
William  Ernest  Winter 
Edward  Martin  Willets 
Norman  Earl  Wiley 
Blair  C.  Watson 

Paul  P.  Younger 
Parker  C.  Young 
Mahlon  A.  Young 
Frank  Thomas  Young 

Elmer  Zook 
Raymond  George  Zeitz 
Anthony  Zienlinsky 
Walter  Frank  Zoellner 
Benjamin  E.  Zoll 


312  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

The  following  is  a  list  of  Leavenworth  County  soldiers  wounded: 

Wounded  in  Action. — Major  George  Pulsifer,  Capt.  Arthur  O'Keefe, 
Lieut.  William  D.  Bly,  Sgt.  Don  P.  Coleman,  Sgt.  E.  E.  Wilcox,  Lieut.  Per- 
cival  Wilson,  Sgt.  Arthur  Warner,  Sgt.  F.  Walters,  Sgt.  Sam  Loar,  Sgt. 
Walter  Cochran,  Sgt.  W.  E.  Burwell,  Corp.  Groucher  Peet,  Corp.  J.  J. 
Olson,  Corp.  Roy  A.  Nitsche,  Corp.  W.  J.  Peters,  Corp.  J.  D.  Brown,  Corp. 
William  J.  Kersten,  Aerial  Gunner  Tracy  Hand,  Privates  Merle  Ridgeway, 
Corlett  Umholtz,  Burt  Leonard,  F.  G.  Pottorf,  H.  P.  Hinks,  J.  W.  Calvert, 
Walter  Sullivan,  J.  F.  Conway,  H.  R.  Jewett,  Wilson  Meyers,  Charles 
Moorehead,  Alfred  Balz,  E.  M.  January,  W.  E.  Biene,  John  Roe,  Joe  Totoh 
ski,  John  Herkens,  H.  Skaggs,  A.  L.  Sclonga,  Oscar  Douglas,  A.  Mischef- 
sky,  Henry  Liebenow,  Ernest  Trackwell,  Clarence  Piechowiak,  Bert  Mc- 
Kelvey,  William  J.  Douglas,  Neal  Flom,  Sidney  Mitchell,  Claude  Erwin, 
Robert  Downing,  Joseph  Inkman,  C.  A.  Hitzeman,  Thomas  Hedges,  A.  J. 
Fellman,  Ranza  Moler,  William  Eberth,  Charles  Eberth,  Lloyd  Welch,  King 
Hunting,  James  Wilson,  Len  Kerr,  Ray  Anderson,  Walter  Tuninious,  Lam- 
bert Heitlinger,  Andrew  Clarke. 

Gassed— Lt.  Paul  Radford,  Pvt.  A.  L.  Jewett,  Pvt.  Edw.  Dooley,  Pvt. 
Oscar  Meyers. 

Shell  Shocked— Pvt.  Walter  F.  Timmons,  Pvt.  Eisner  Hammann. 

Necrology  of  Leavenworth  County  Soldiers  in  the  World  War: 

Bagwell,  Ernst  M.,  Bugler,  Tonganoxie ;  killed  in  action. 

Baker,  Charles  S.,  Corporal,  Leavenworth;  died. 

Bannister,  James  H.,  Captain,  Leavenworth. 

Blanchard,  Anthony,  Sergeant,  Leavenworth;  died. 

Blockberger,  Edward  R.,  Corporal,  Leavenworth;  killed  in  action. 

Burns,  William  E.,  Corporal,  Tonganoxie;  killed  in  action. 

Crockett,  David  H.,  First  Lieutenant,  Leavenworth;  died. 

Cunningham,  Riley  D.,  Private,  Ft.  Leavenworth;  killed  in  action. 

Curtis,  Frank,  Private,  Leavenworth;  killed  in  action. 

Defrees,  Albert  C,  Corporal,  Acherland;  died  of  wounds. 

Ewing,  George  T.,  Private,  Leavenworth ;  died. 

Fellman,  Alphonse  J.,  Private,  Leavenworth;  killed  in  action. 

Gadow,  Hans,  Sergeant,  Leavenworth;  died. 

Gallivan,  Daniel  J.,  Sergeant,  Ft.  Leavenworth ;  died. 

Gouck,  Kenneth  S.,  Private,  Leavenworth;  died. 

Hageman,  Harry  D.,  Corporal,  Leavenworth;  killed  in  action. 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  313 

Hamil,  Lester  D.,  Sergeant,  Tonganoxie ;  killed  in  action. 
Harding,  Gilman  C,  Private,  Leavenworth;  died. 
Joyce,  Harry  F.,  Corporal,  Leavenworth;  killed  in  action. 
Hicks,  Frank  B.,  Corporal,  Linwood;  died  of  wounds. 
Kahn,  Eugene  M.,  Captain,  Ft.  Leavenworth ;  died. 
Kelsey,  Floyd  J.,  Private,  Tonganoxie ;  killed  in  action. 
Kelsey,  Harry  B.,  First  Sergeant,  Easton ;  killed  in  action. 
Korakowski,  John,  Private,  Leavenworth ;  killed  in  action. 
Leahy,  John  L.,  Private;  killed  in  action. 

McCarren,  Andrew  J.,  Private,  Leavenworth ;  died  of  wounds. 

Medill,  James  S.,  First  Lieutenant ;  died. 

Mehl,  Byron  H.,  First  Lieutenant,  Leavenworth;  killed  in  action. 

Mischefsky,  Peter  P.,  Private,  Leavenworth ;  died. 

Mitchum,  Zachariah  H.,  Major,  Ft.  Leavenworth;  died. 

Moore,  Charles  A.,  Private,  Leavenworth;  died. 

Palmer,  Sherman,  Private,  Leavenworth;  died. 

Pogue,  Charley  E.,  Private,  Leavenworth ;  died. 

Rosencranz,  Ike,  Private,  Leavenworth;  killed  in  action. 

Sample,  Louie  L.,  Private,  Leavenworth ;  died. 

Schwandt,  Carl  F.,  Private,  Leavenworth ;  killed  in  action. 

Seichpine,  Edward,  Private,  Piper;  killed  in  action. 

Shepherd,  Reginald  0.,  Private,  Leavenworth;  died. 

Slowski,  Martin,  Private,  Tonganoxie;  killed  in  action. 

Smelley,  Duck,  Corporal,  Leavenworth;  died. 

Smith,  Mearil,  Private,  Loring;  killed  in  action. 

Summerla,  Emile,  Private,  Leavenworth;  died  of  wounds. 

Souhrada,  John,  First  Lieutenant,  Leavenworth;  died. 

Swiderski,  Victor,  Corporal,  Leavenworth;  killed  in  action. 

Thompson,  William  E.,  Private,  Leavenworth;  died. 

Titolski,  Joe,  Private,  Leavenworth;  died  of  wounds. 

Titolski,  Julius,  Private,  Leavenworth;  died. 

Warren,  Ben  C,  Private,  Lenwood;  died  of  wounds. 

Williams,  David  R.,  Sergeant,  Tonganoxie;  killed  in  action. 

Wright,  William  E.,  Private,  Leavenworth ;  killed  in  action. 

Corporal  H.  A.  Cline,  unaccounted  for. 

Private  Emery  Nobles,  unaccounted  for. 

Private  James  Haskins,  unaccounted  for. 

Private  Or  D.  Roach,  unaccounted  for. 


314  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

Private  Thomas  Owens,  unaccounted  for. 

Private  Homer  Hughey,  unaccounted  for. 

Bugler  Victor  J.  Johnson,  unaccounted  for. 

Mechanic  R.  Knowles,  unaccounted  for. 

Private  Paul  Schmidt,  unaccounted  for. 

Corporal  L.  L.  Peters,  missing  in  action. 

Private  M.  L.  Meyers,  missing  in  action. 

Private  M.  W.  Mails,  missing  in  action. 

Whitney  Wagner,  Seaman;  died. 

Jess  W.  Bridges,  Seaman,  died. 

Thomas  Duff  Cole,  First  Sergeant,  died. 

Archie  Phillips,  Private,  died. 

V.  W.  Lobb,  Private,  died. 

B.  H.  Doen,  Sergeant,  died. 

E.  S.  Brown,  Private,  died. 

J.  D.  Wright,  Private,  died. 

Anton  Holtney,  Seaman,  died. 

Charles  Goettings,  died. 

Summary  of  the  War  with  Germany. — The  following  is  taken  from 
report  of  Col.  Leonard  P.  Ayers,  authorized  by  the  War  Department: 

Five  out  of  every  100  Americans  took  up  arms  in  the  defense  of 
the  country. 

During  the  Civil  War  ten  out  of  every  100  inhabitants  of  the  North- 
ern States  served  as  soldiers  or  sailors ;  2,400,000  served  in  the  Northern 
Army  and  Navy. 

Between  April  6,  1917,  and  November  11,  1918,  when  the  armistice 
went  into  effect,  4,800,000  men  constituted  our  land  and  naval  forces. 

The  British  sent  forth  in  her  first  year  of  the  war  more  men  than  did 
the  United  States  during  her  first  year  of  the  war.  On  the  other  hand 
it  took  England  three  years  to  reach  a  strength  of  2,000,000  men  in 
France,  while  the  United  States  was  able  to  place  this  number  in  the  field 
and  across  the  seas  in  half  the  time. 

Organization  and  equipment  and  transportation  of  an  immense  army 
as  that  of  the  United  States  across  the  ocean  has  never  been  equaled  in 
the  history  of  the  world. 

Two  out  of  every  three  American  soldiers  who  reached  France  took 
part  in  battle;  2,084,000  reached  France  and  1,300,000  took  part  at  the 
front. 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  315 

American  divisions  were  in  battle  for  200  days  and  engaged  in  thir- 
teen major  operations  from  the  middle  of  August  till  the  armistice. 

American  divisions  held  during  the  greater  part  of  the  time  a  front 
longer  than  that  held  by  the  British  in  October.  They  held  101  miles 
of  the  line  or  twenty-three  per  cent  of  the  entire  western  front. 

In  the  battle  of  Saint  Mihiel  550,000  Americans  were  engaged  as  com- 
pared to  100,000  on  the  north  side  in  the  battle  of  Gettysburg. 

The  artillery  fired  more  than  1,000,000  shells  in  four  hours,  which 
is  the  most  intense  artillery  fire  recorded  in  the  history  of  the  world. 

The  Meuse-Argonne  battle  lasted  forty-seven  days,  during  which 
1,200,000  Americans  were  engaged. 

For  every  man  killed  in  battle  seven  were  wounded. 

Five  out  of  every  six  men  sent  to  hospitals  on  account  of  wounds 
were  cured  and  returned  to  duty. 

In  the  expeditionary  forces  battle  deaths  were  twice  as  many  as 
deaths  from  disease. 

The  number  of  American  lives  lost  was  122,500,  of  which  10,000 
were  in  the  navy  and  the  rest  in  the  army  and  marines  attached  to  it. 

The  war  cost  America  $21,850,000,000,  or  approximately  $1,000,000 
per  hour. 

The  greatest  number  of  men  sent  over  seas  in  a  single  month  was 
306,000  and  the  largest  number  returned  in  any  one  month  was  333,000. 

The  supplies  shipped  from  the  United  States  to  France  was  7,500,000 
tons  in  nineteen  months. 

The  registration  of  men  for  the  draft  was  24,234,021  and  of  these 
2,810,296  were  inducted  into  service.  The  largest  number  inducted  into 
service  in  a  single  month  was  400,000. 


CHAPTER  XIX 


SPANISH-AMERICAN  WAR 


COMPANY  C,  TWENTIETH  KANSAS  REGIMENT  U.  S.  V.  IN  THE   SPANISH-AMERICAN 
WAR. 


During  the  Spanish-American  War  Leavenworth  was  called  upon  to 
furnish  a  company  of  volunteers  for  active  service  in  our  war  against 
Spain.  So  it  was  that  this  company  was  organized  and  afterward  be- 
came C  Company  of  the  famous  Fighting  Twentieth  Kansas  Regiment. 

C  Company  was  organized  principally  through  the  efforts  of  William 
S.  Albright,  who  afterward  became  its  captain,  and  Reverend  Bright, 
pastor  of  the  Methodist  Church.  Both  of  the  above  gentlemen  organized 
companies.  These  two  companies  were  consolidated  and  finally  became 
C  Company  of  the  Twentieth  Kansas  Regiment. 

Of  the  services  of  the  Twentieth  Kansas  Regiment  in  the  Philippine 
Islands,  Elihu  Root,  Secretary  of  War,  makes  the  following  comment: 
"The  records  of  the  War  Department  show  that  the  Twentieth  Regiment 
of  Kansas  Volunteers  sailed  from  San  Francisco  on  the  steamship  "In- 
diana" on  the  27th  of  October,  1898,  and  on  the  steamship  "Newport" 
on  the  9th  of  November,  1898,  arriving  at  Manilla  on  the  first  and  sixth 
days  of  December  following;  that  the  regiment  was  engaged  in  actual 
battle,  sustaining  losses  by  death  or  wounds,  on  each  of  the  following 
days,  viz.:  The  4th,  5th,  7th,  10th,  11th,  12th,  17th,  23d,  24th,  26th  and 
28th  of  February,  1899 ;  the  11th,  12th,  13th,  23d,  24th,  25th,  26th,  27th, 
29th  and  31st  of  March;  the  25th  and  26th  of  April;  the  4th  and  24th  of 
May,  and  the  16th  and  22d  of  June.  Their  participation  in  engagements 
is  specially  mentioned  in  cablegrams  from  General  Otis  on  the  8th  of 
February,  the  28th  of  April  and  the  25th  of  May,  1899." 

The  greater  part  of  the  engagements  above  mentioned  were  fought, 
and  most  of  the  losses  of  life  were  incurred,  at  a  time  when  there  was 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  317 

no  obligation  for  further  service  resting  upon  the  members  of  the  regi- 
ment, except  that  which  was  self-imposed  upon  them  by  their  own  love 
of  country  and  their  determination  to  maintain  the  rightful  sovereignty 
of  the  United  States  and  the  honor  of  its  flag. 

The  officers  and  enlisted  men  of  the  regiment  exhibited  high  quality 
of  bravery  and  efficiency. 

I  beg  to  join  with  the  people  of  Kansas  in  welcoming  to  their  homes 
these  citizen  soldiers,  so  worthy  of  the  heroic  origin  and  patriotic  history 
of  their  state." 

C  Company  took  part  in  every  engagement  participated  in  by  the 
Twentieth  Kansas  Regiment.  Two  members  of  the  company,  Private 
Raymond  B.  Dawes  and  Private  Charles  Graves,  contracted  and  died  of 
typhoid  fever  at  Honolulu,  Hawaii.  The  following  is  a  list  of  officers 
and  enlisted  men  who  were  wounded  in  action:  Captain  William  S.  Al- 
bright, Privates  Arthur  C.  Howe,  William  Laudenschlager,  James  E. 
Riley,  Henry  L.  Johnson,  Frank  I.  Sample,  Thaddeus  J.  A.  Weigant,  Ben- 
jamin Couchman. 

The  following  is  a  list  of  the  officers  and  non-commissioned  officers, 
together  with  the  enlisted  personnel  of  Company  C: 

William  S.  Albright,  captain;  Samuel  H.  Hopkins,  1st  lieutenant; 
Harry  H.  Seckler,  1st  lieutenant;  John  W.  Hauserman,  2nd  lieutenant; 
John  G.  Waste,  2nd  lieutenant;  Ralph  Leavitt,  1st  sergeant;  John  C. 
Murphy,  1st  sergeant;  James  P.  Richardson,  1st  sei'geant;  William  Cor- 
natzer,  quartermaster  sergeant;  Joseph  Besser,  sergeant;  Aubrey  S.  Ed- 
wards, sergeant;  George  S.  Few,  sergeant;  Ernest  Mordaunt,  sergeant; 
Charles  I.  Sparks,  sergeant;  Frederick  Boeppler,  corporal;  Frederick  D. 
Carpenter,  corporal;  John  S.  Crook,  corporal;  Silas  E.  Davis,  corporal; 
Carl  H.  Delfs,  corporal;  Jacob  Dervies,  corporal;  Frank  I.  Dittman,  cor- 
poral; Elmer  Elkins,  corporal;  Lewis  B.  Howard,  corporal;  Arthur  Mays, 
corporal ;  Clarence  F.  Meyers,  corporal ;  Albion  C.  Nelson,  corporal ;  Frank 
I.  Sample,  corporal;  William  Suberkrup,  corporal;  Jay  Thomas,  corporal; 
Jacob  Vogler,  corporal;  Richard  Flannigan,  artificer;  John  Kennedy,  arti- 
ficer; Thomas  D.  Cole,  musician;  James  B.  Hines,  musician;  George  B. 
Clark,  wagoner;  privates,  William  W.  Baker,  Frank  Barbour,  Thomas  J. 
Bell,  William  Bickford,  Walter  M.  Birdsall,  Frederick  W.  Buckmaster, 
Robert  C.  Churchill,  William  S.  Clark,  William  A.  Conklin,  Clare  O.  Coe, 
Charles  M.  Crane,  Claude  Croft,  Benjamin  Couchman  Raymond  B.  Dawes, 
William  L.  Dawson,  Eli  C.  Dresser,  John  Eckert,  Edwin  E.  Ferris,  Emmit 


318  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

Fleming,  Taylor  Foster,  Frederick  Frank,  George  Frost,  Ralph  Gehrett, 
Charles  Graves,  Perry  C.  Goff,  Arthur  Ginger,  Francis  E.  Head,  Adolph 
Hensle,  Arthur  C.  Howe,  Charles  A.  Hund,  Harry  Jansen,  Henry  L.  John- 
son, Robert  Keifer,  Edward  Killilay,  William  P.  King,  William  Lauden- 
schlager,  William  J.  Lawson,  William  E.  Ledger,  Martin  W.  Layman,  Isaac 
N.  Lewis,  Jonathan  Loar,  George  W.  Lucas,  Edward  L.  McClure,  William 
McCormick,  Ralph  E.  McDowell,  James  C.  McPherson,  William  J.  Maloney, 
Owen  Meredith,  Robert  L.  Mitchell,  Walter  S.  Moonlight,  James  F.  Pinzon, 
Maiden  E.  Purvis,  James  T.  Quackenbush,  Joseph  S.  Reyburn,  Roy  B. 
Richards,  James  E.  Riley,  Stephan  E.  Ryan,  George  Schmania,  Harvey 
T.  Sherman,  Maurice  Sherman,  Charles  E.  Singleton,  Frank  Slaybough, 
Faret  A.  Snell,  William  B.  Sprague,  Hiram  W.  Stevenson,  Frederick 
Stewart,  Miles  A.  Sweeney,  William  W.  Taylor,  Oliver  Tillquist,  Park  C. 
Trueblood,  John  E.  Watson,  Albert  Welday,  Thaddeus  J.  A.  Wiegant, 
Arthur  Wrigley. 


CHAPTER  XX 


MISCELLANEOUS 


'■KICKAPOO  CANNON"— KICKAPOO  RANGERS — TARRING  AND  FEATHERING  OP 
WILLIAM  PHILLIPS— FLOOD  OF  1903— KILLING  OF  MALCOM  CLARK— LANSING. 
SKELETON— BIG  STRANGER,  ITS  MILLS  AND  BRIDGES— ABRAHAM  LINCOLN- 
SUICIDE  OF  JAMES  H.  LANE— MILWOOD  RAID. 

Kickapoo  Cannon. — This  famous  old  bit  of  artillery  occupied  no  little 
niche  in  the  early  day  history  of  the  territory  of  Kansas  as  well  as  Leav- 
enworth County.  It  was  a  relic  that  had  been  taken  into  the  Mexican 
War  by  General  Kearney.  It  has  been  said  that  at  one  time  this  cannon 
was  given  by  the  military  authorities  at  Santa  Fe,  New  Mexico,  to  some 
traders  who  were  to  make  a  trip  eastward  over  the  Santa  Fe  Trail  to 
serve  them  against  any  possible  attacking  parties  and  that  they  had  to 
abandon  the  cannon  near  where  the  Santa  Fe  Trail  crossed  the  Arkansas 
River;  that  it  was  subsequently  brought  to  Weston,  Missouri,  by  some 
citizens  that  happened  to  be  returning  to  the  eastward  over  the  trail,  and 
was  later  turned  over  to  the  military  authorities  at  Fort  Leavenworth, 
who  refused  to  accept  same.  Subsequent  to  this  it  was  again  taken  to 
Weston,  Missouri,  where  it  remained  for  a  number  of  years.  During  its 
stay  at  Weston  it  was  often  pressed  into  service  to  salute  steamboats 
upon  their  arrival. 

It  is  definitely  known  that  during  the  year  1856  when  the  "Kickapoo 
Rangers"  were  planning  their  raid  on  Lawrence  that  the  old  cannon  was 
stolen  from  Weston  and  taken  across  the  river  to  Kickapoo.  After  the 
raid  on  Lawrence  the  cannon  was  returned  to  Kickapoo,  where  it  remained 
until  a  party  of  Free  State  men  from  Leavenworth  went  out  to  Kickapoo 
one  night  and  stole  it.  At  one  time  it  was  pressed  into  use  by  pro-slavery 
men  to  threaten  the  owners  of  the  old  Planters  Hotel  into  turning  over 


320  HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY 

a  runaway  slave  under  penalty  of  having  the  hotel  blown  down  by  it. 
After  it  was  stolen  from  Kickapoo  by  Leavenworth  Free  State  men  it 
was  concealed  for  a  time  but  was  later  exhibited  openly  as  sentiment 
became  more  and  more  Free  State.  It  is  now  a  part  of  the  collection  of 
curios  at  the  Kansas  State  Historical  Society  at  Topeka. 

"Kickapoo  Rangers." — The  term  "Kickapoo  Rangers"  was  a  name 
quite  early  applied  to  the  northern  division  of  the  territorial  militia  of  the 
Territory  of  Kansas.  They  numbered  all  the  way  from  two  to  three  hun- 
dred men.  The  majority  of  these  men  were  of  pro-slavery  inclination 
and  their  leaders  were  all  pro-slavery  leaders.  A  great  many  of  the  ruffian 
acts  of  territorial  days  were  committed  by  parties  of  these  men  under  the 
guidance  and  leadership  of  their  radical  leaders.  David  R.  Atchison,  at 
one  time  Senator  from  Missouri,  was  a  leader  and  advisor  among  them 
and  urged  them  on  to  commit  many  of  their  atrocities.  In  Blackmar's 
History  of  Kansas  we  find  the  following  account  of  a  speech  made  by 
Atchison,  the  occasion  being  immediately  after  the  entering  of  Lawrence 
by  this  body  May  21st,  1856: 

"Boys,  this  day  I  am  a  Kickapoo  Ranger.  This  day  we  have  entered 
Lawrence  with  Southern  rights  inscribed  on  our  banner,  and  not  one 
Abolitionist  dared  to  fire  a  gun.  And  now,  boys,  we  will  go  in  again  with 
our  highly  honorable  Jones,  and  test  the  strength  of  that  Free-State 
hotel  and  teach  the  Emigrant  Aid  Company  that  Kansas  shall  be  ours. 
Boys,  ladies  should,  and  I  hope  will,  be  respected  by  every  gentleman. 
But,  when  a  woman  takes  upon  herself  the  garb  of  a  soldier  by  carrying 
a  Sharp's  rifle,  she  is  no  longer  worthy  of  respect.  Trample  her  under 
your  feet  as  you  would  a  snake.  If  one  man  or  woman  dare  stand  before 
you,  blow  them  to  hell  with  a  chunk  of  cold  lead." 

Both  Jones  and  Atchison  above  referred  to  were  never  citizens  of 
the  territory  or  state  of  Kansas  but  merely  operated  out  of  Missouri, 
coming  here  only  when  there  was  an  election  which  they  desired  to  carry 
or  some  other  bit  of  work  to  be  done  toward  the  furtherance  of  the  cause 
of  slavery  in  the  territory. 

One  of  the  most  diabolical  acts  committed  by  the  Rangers  in  this 
county  was  that  committed  January  18th,  1856,  by  a  number  of  the 
"Rangers"  under  the  leadership  of  Capts.  Martin  and  Dunn,  when  they 
murdered  Capt.  Reese  P.  Brown  at  Easton  following  an  election  quarrel 
in  which  pro-slavery  forces  had  attempted  to  take  by  force  the  ballot 
boxes  from  the  home  of  T.  A.  Minard,  at  whose  place  the  voting  had 
been  done  the  day  before. 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  321 

Tarring  and  Feathering  of  William  Phillips.— Another  early  day 
atrocity  catalogued  by  H.  Miles  Moore  in  his  "Early  History  of  Leaven- 
worth City  and  County"  was  the  tarring  and  feathering  of  William 
Phillips.    This  took  place  May  17,  1855. 

William  Phillips  was  an  early  day  attorney  of  the  city  of  Leaven- 
worth. He  was  an  ardent  Free  State  man  and  his  hasty  utterances  and 
decisive  stand  on  the  burning  question  of  those  times  brought  him  into 
disrepute  with  the  pro-slavery  elements  of  the  city.  He  led  a  fight  against 
this  element  over  several  election  matters  and  when  the  killing  of  Malcolm 
Clark  occurred  a  story  was  started  to  the  effect  that  it  was  Phillips  who 
handed  McCrea  the  pistol  with  which  he  shot  Clark. 

Shortly  after  this  killing  an  indignation  meeting  was  held  in  the 
city  and  resolutions  were  drawn  up  requesting  and  ordering  Phillips  to 
leave  the  territory.  A  copy  of  the  notice  which  was  given  Phillips  is  here 
set  out  as  it  appears  in  Mr.  Moore's  "Early  History  of  Leavenworth  City 
and  County:" 

"Leavenworth  City,  April  30,  1855. 
"To  William  Phillips: 

"Sir: — At  a  meeting  of  the  citizens  of  Leavenworth  and  vicinity, 
we,  the  undersigned,  were  appointed  a  committee  to  inform  you  that 
they  have  unanimously  determined  that  you  must  leave  this  territory  by 
two  o'clock  of  Thursday  next.  Take  due  notice  thereof  and  act  accord- 
ingly. 

"Sigwed:  Jarrett  Todd,  John  E.  Posey,  N.  B. 
Brooks,  William  E.  Berry,  H.  Rives  Pol- 
lard, Jno.  H.  McBride,  James  M.  Lysle, 
A.  Payne,  Thomas  C.  Hughes,  William 
Blair." 

Upon  the  day  appointed  for  Phillip's  departure  a  committee  called  at 
his  house  and  were  informed  that  he  had  left  the  city.  Later  he  was 
found  in  the  city  and  arrested  and  threatened.  It  is  said  that  he  promised 
to  leave  as  soon  as  he  could  get  his  business  affairs  straightened  up.  How- 
ever, time  passed  and  when  Phillips  did  not  take  any  definite  steps  toward 
leaving  the  pro-slavery  element  decided  to  take  drastic  action.  Mr.  Moore 
in  his  "Early  History  of  Leavenworth  City  and  County"  tells  of  the  inci- 
dent which  followed  in  the  following  way: 

"Thursday,  17th  of  May,  1855.  The  most  disgraceful  outrage  took 
place  here  this  P.  M.  that  I  ever  witnessed.     About  a  dozen  men  from 

(17) 


322  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

Leavenworth  took  a  man  by  the  name  of  Phillips,  a  lawyer  there,  whom 
they  had  before  ordered  to  leave  town  on  account  of  his  being  an  Aboli- 
tionist, as  they  charged,  but  he  had  returned  again.  They  took  him  today 
and  brought  him  across  the  river,  just  below  Weston,  and  in  a  warehouse 
stripped  him  to  the  waist,  tarred  and  feathered  him  and  brought  him 
up  into  town,  mounted  him  on  a  rail  and  had  a  number  of  niggers  and 
boys  to  drum  on  old  pans  and  ring  bells  around.  After  marching  through 
town  they  put  him  on  a  block  opposite  the  St.  George  Hotel,  and  Dr. 
Ransom's  old  darky,  Joe,  auctioned  him  off  and  bid  him  in  at  one  cent. 
They  then  took  him  down  from  the  block,  and  after  marching  him  about 
town  a  little  longer,  our  people  beginning  to  show  signs  and  mutterings 
of  disapproval  and  disgust  of  the  proceedings,  they  soon  started  for 
home  again  with  him. 

"He  still  stuck  to  his  integrity  to  the  last.  Thank  God  it  was  mostly 
drunken  rowdies  from  Leavenworth.  I  recognized  one  or  two  men  whom 
I  was  surprised  to  see  in  the  crowd,  tugging  at  the  rail  on  their  shoulders, 
on  which  was  seated  Phillips,  the  victim  of  this  vile  outrage.  *  *  * 
Among  the  crowd  who  brought  Phillips  over  to  Weston  and  took  an  active 
and  leading  part  in  the  outrage  upon  him,  I  saw  the  following  whom  I 
knew  personally,  Thos.  C.  Hughes,  and  Eli  Moore  *  *  *  John  E. 
Posey,  deputy  United  States  Court  clerk;  H.  Rives  Pollard,  assistant 
editor  and  W.  H.  Adams,  then  one  of  the  proprietors  and  founder  of  the 
"Herald ;"  J.  L.  McAleer,  engineer  and  surveyor ;  James  M.  Lysle,  attorney 
and  partner  of  D.  J.  Johnson ;  Wm.  L.  Blair,  clerk  in  store ;  D.  Scott  Boyle, 
clerk  of  United  States  Court;  Bennett  Burnham,  then  a  young  gentleman 
of  leisure,  and  some  four  or  five  others." 

It  was  not  so  long  after  this  that  a  pro-slavery  mob  again  attacked 
Phillips  and  shot  and  killed  him. 

Flood  of  1903. — During  the  latter  part  of  May  and  the  first  of  June, 
1903,  incessant  rains,  for  a  period  of  about  ten  days,  throughout  the  Kaw 
River  basin  and  the  basins  of  the  Solomon  and  Smoky  Hill  rivers,  tribu- 
taries of  the  Kaw  and  flowing  into  the  Kaw  in  central  Kansas,  caused  a 
congestion  of  water  in  the  Kaw  River  between  Topeka,  Kansas,  and  Kan- 
sas City  where  the  Kaw  flows  into  the  Missouri  River  such  as  had  never 
before  been  witnessed  even  by  the  oldest  settlers.  The  "June  Rise"  of 
the  Missouri  River  was  also  at  its  highest  point  at  the  time  and  there  had 
been  constant  rains  along  the  basin  of  the  Missouri  River,  for  several 
days,  for  hundreds  of  miles  toward  the  north.    The  fact  that  the  Missouri 


HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  323 

River  was  "out  of  its  banks"  made  it  impossible  for  the  water  from  the 
Kaw  to  quickly  flow  into  the  Missouri  at  its  mouth  in  Kansas  City,  and 
consequently  this  checking  of  the  flow  of  water  from  the  Kaw  to  the 
Missouri  contributed  toward  a  much  greater  congestion  of  water  than 
would  otherwise  have  occurred. 

The  farmers  in  the  valley  of  the  Kaw  from  Topeka,  Kansas,  to  Kansas 
City  had  planted  an  unusual  number  of  acres  of  potatoes  in  the  spring 
and  the  prospects  for  a  "bumper"  potato  crop  were  unusually  encourag- 
ing. Many  of  these  farmers  lived  in  the  southern  part  of  Leavenworth 
County  where  some  of  the  richest  potato  land  in  the  world  was,  at  that 
time,  and  is  yet  to  be  found.  Linwood,  Kansas,  in  the  southern  part  of 
the  county  suffered  the  most  serious  damage  as  a  result  of  this  "flood  of 
1903."  This  little  city  of  about  600  people  at  the  time  was  situated  in 
the  southern  part  of  the  county  where  Big  Stranger  flows  into  the  Kaw. 
Big  Stranger  had  been  noted,  locally,  for  occasional  floods  prior  to  that 
time  and  the  general  rains  had  swollen  this  stream  to  an  unusual  size. 
The  huge  volume  of  water  in  the  Kaw  "backed  up"  by  the  Missouri  made 
it  impossible  for  the  water  from  Big  Stranger  to  quickly  and  uninter- 
ruptedly flow  onward  into  the  Kaw.  Linwood  was  situated  mostly  on 
the  west  side  of  Big  Stranger  and  a  little  to  the  north  of  the  north  bank 
of  the  Kaw. 

During  the  month  of  May  the  Kaw  reached  a  point  when  it  was 
almost  out  of  its  banks.  Big  Stranger,  likewise,  was  about  ready  to  over- 
flow its  banks.  Linwood  at  that  time  was  on  low  ground  and  the  city 
was  generally  below  the  level  of  the  tops  of  the  east  and  west  banks  of 
Big  Stranger.  This  was  due  to  the  fact  that  the  citizens,  when  former 
floods  threatened,  had  from  time  to  time  built  up  the  banks  in  order  to 
keep  the  water  from  flowing  over  the  banks  and  into  the  streets  and  over 
the  entire  city.    In  this  they  had  been  successful  for  many  years. 

On  the  evening  of  May  29,  1903,  the  word  was  passed  around  to  all 
the  people  of  the  little  city  that  it  seemed  probable  that  it  would  be 
necessary  that  they  all  get  out  and  work  most  any  time  to  again  build 
up  the  Big  Stranger  banks  in  order  to  keep  the  water  out.  It  was  not 
long  until  the  population  of  the  city  was  generally  busy  in  throwing  up 
the  embankments  on  the  east  and  west  sides  of  Big  Stranger.  However, 
at  about  4  o'clock  on  the  morning  of  May  30,  the  water  broke  through 
and  began  gradually  to  back  into  the  city.  At  the  time  also  the  water 
seemed  to  be  rising  rapidly.    When  the  water  began  to  "back  in"  from 


324  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

Big  Stranger  there  did  not  seem  to  be  much  alarm  over  the  possibility 
of  its  "backing  in"  so  as  to  do  much  damage  to  buildings  and  property. 
The  general  consensus  of  opinion  was :  "It  can't  get  much  higher,  because 
it  never  was  this  high  before."  However,  about  8  o'clock  A.  M.  of  the 
same  day  word  suddenly  came  to  the  people  of  the  little  city  that  the 
Kaw  had  broken  through  on  Mr.  Tudhope's  farm  just  west  of  Linwood 
about  one-half  mile.  Hardly  had  this  word  been  received  when  on  came 
the  rushing  water  of  the  Kaw  overflown  from  its  banks  in  an  endeavor  to 
make  a  new  channel  right  through  Linwood  itself.  People,  however,  were 
not  yet  alarmed  over  the  safety  of  their  property  and  household  effects 
and  only  a  very  few  yet  began  to  move  to  higher  ground.  The  Kaw  kept 
rising  all  that  day  and  on  until  the  next  day.  Some  were  fortunate  enough 
to  get  their  household  effects  on  higher  ground  near  the  Linwood  High 
School  building  and  in  the  school  yard  before  it  was  too  late,  but  there 
were  many  who  saw  their  household  furniture  and  personal  belongings, 
the  accumulation  of  years,  swept  away  in  the  whirling  torrent  and  flood. 
Many  frame  houses  were  swept  away  in  the  newly  made  channel  of  the 
Kaw.  Some  were  upturned  and  were  not  swept  away.  Water  in  places 
was  20  feet  deep  over  what  had  been  Linwood.  The  postoffice  was  com- 
pletely submerged.  The  Linwood  State  Bank  and  all  business  buildings 
were  nearly  all  completely  submerged  by  the  water.  Lumber  from  the 
Linwood  Lumber  Yard  was  caught  in  the  channel  and  swept  onward  to- 
ward the  Missouri  never  to  be  recovered.  The  whole  city  was  caught  in 
the  main  channel  of  the  flood  and  ruin  and  devastation  was  inevitable. 

There  was  sadness  and  destruction  on  all  sides.  Families  were  ren- 
dered homeless  in  a  day.  Their  personal  effects  were  all  destroyed  in 
the  same  time.  However,  there  were  many  humorous  incidents.  Many 
buildings  from  up  the  river  came  by  in  the  rapidly  flowing  channel.  In 
some  buildings  were  pigs,  calves,  dogs,  cats,  chickens,  geese  and  ducks. 
Occasionally  one  would  see  dogs  on  top  of  the  buildings. 

There  is  no  cloud  so  dark,  however,  that  it  does  not  have  a  silver 
lining.  While  the  Kaw  Valley  potato  crop  for  the  fall  of  1903  was  ruined 
and  many  families  were  left  homeless,  nevertheless  the  rich  deposits  of 
alluvial  soil  greatly  benefited  the  fanners  of  the  valley  by  enriching  their 
soil  so  that  a  larger  yield  per  acre  of  potatoes  is  now  obtained  than  ever 
was  known  before  the  flood. 

Killing  of  Malcolm  Clark. — Among  the  more  important  incidents  of 
early  day  Leavenworth  County  and  City  history  recited  by  the  late  H. 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  6Z& 

Miles  Moore  in  his  "Early  History  of  Leavenworth  City  and  County"  was 
the  shooting  and  killing  of  Malcolm  Clark. 

Malcolm  Clark  was  one  of  the  earliest  and  most  prominent  settlers 
of  the  county.  He  was  one  of  the  members  of  the  original  town  company 
and  took  an  active  interest  in  the  welfare  of  the  city.  When  the  "Squat- 
ters" of  the  territory  held  their  first  meeting  at  the  Riveley  store  in  Salt 
Creek  Valley,  Clark  was  selected  by  them  as  marshal  of  Leavenworth 
city  and  territory  thereabout.  On  April  30,  1855,  a  meeting  was  held  in 
the  city  of  Leavenworth  for  the  purpose  of  arriving  at  some  definite 
policy  with  reference  to  "Squatters,"  who  were  flocking  into  the  territory 
and  taking  up  claims  in  bad  faith.  The  meeting  was  held  in  the  open  air 
under- the  "old  elm  tree"  which  stood  near  the  corner  of  Cherokee  and 
Front  or  Water  street.  The  killing  of  Clark  took  place  in  the  following 
manner  as  described  by  H.  Miles  Moore  in  his  "Early  History  of  Leaven- 
worth City  and  County:" 

"Several  speeches  had  been  made  and  resolutions  were  being  dis- 
cussed. The  excitement  was  pretty  high.  Mr.  Clark,  who  as  I  before 
stated  was  a  member  of  the  town  association,  a  little  passionate  when  his 
Scotch  blood  was  aroused,  was  taking  rather  an  active  part  in  the  meeting, 
as  one  deeply  interested.  Mr.  McCrea,  who  was  then  residing  in  the  coun- 
try, lately  an  inmate  of  the  Soldiers'  Home,  as  many  of  our  readers  are 
aware,-  was  reported  to  have  interrupted  the  speaker  once  or  twice,  and 
it  was  suggested  to  Clark  that  McCrea  was  not  a  "Delaware  Squatter," 
as  his  claim  was  on  the  cutoff  back  of  Fort  Leavenworth  reserve,  near 
the  Salt  Creek  bridge  (not  far  from  where  the  D.  W.  Powers  brick  house 
now  stands)  and  that  he  (McCrea)  was  not  interested  in  the  matter. 
Clark  went  to  him  and  stated  that  he  understood  about  his  claim,  and 
asked  him  to  not  again  interfere  in  the  meeting,  explaining  that  it  was  a 
Delaware  squatter  meeting.  Clark  returned  and  stated  that  McCrea  had 
not  understood  it  before,  but  would  not  again  interrupt  or  say  anything. 
Shortly  after  the  chairman  was  putting  to  a  vote  a  resolution  before  the 
meeting,  and  as  it  was  difficult  to  ascertain  the  result  by  sound  a  division 
was  called  for  and  it  was  upon  this  vote  that  McCrea  took  part  and  when 
the  chair  announced  that  the  resolution  was  carried  he  (McCrea)  pro- 
nounced the  division  a  fraud. 

"To  this  Clark  took  exception,  and  the  lie  passed  between  him  and 
McCrea.  Clark  advanced  upon  McCrea  and  stooped  down  to  pick  up  a 
piece  of  board  or  scantling,  and  raised  it  to  strike  McCrea,  who  rushed 


326  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY 

toward  Clark  and  the  blow  missed  him.  He  then  retreated  and  Clark 
pursued  him  and  McCrea  turned  and  shot  him.  He  spoke  but  a  word  or 
two  and  died  in  five  minutes.  McCrea  ran  and  jumped  down  the  bank 
at  the  edge  of  the  river.  Several  shots  were  fired  at  him  while  standing 
there  without  apparent  effect.  The  excitement  was  intense,  a  rope  was 
soon  produced  and  he  would  doubtless  have  been  hung  by  the  excited 
crowd  had  it  not  been  for  the  cool  bravery  of  Samuel  D.  Pitcher,  an  old 
citizen  of  the  territory  at  Fort  Leavenworth  and  afterwards  here,  who 
suddenly  appeared,  mounted  on  horseback  and  another  man  with  him, 
both  heavily  armed  and  ordered  the  driver  of  a  government  hack  or 
ambulance,  I  think,  to  drive  into  the  crowd,  and  then  approaching  McCrea, 
who  was  seated  on  a  block  near  the  tree,  told  him  to  get  into  the  hack, 
which  he  did  speedily  with  the  assistance  of  some  friends,  and  then 
ordered  the  driver  to  push  for  Fort  Leavenworth  as  rapidly  as  possible 
while  he  and  the  man  with  drawn  revolvers  followed,  their  movements 
being  so  rapid  that  the  crowd  was  completely  thrown  off  its  guard." 

McCrea  was  held  in  custody  at  Fort  Leavenworth  for  several  months 
and  finally  escaped.  He  did  not  come  back  to  Kansas  until  after  the  Civil 
War.  He  was  never  prosecuted  for  the  killing  of  Clark,  although  an 
indictment  was  found  against  him.  He  spent  the  latter  part  of  his  days 
at  the  Soldiers'  Home  south  of  the  city,  where  he  died. 

Lansing  Skeleton. — Two  brothers,  Joseph  and  Michael  Concannon, 
were  digging  a  trench  on  their  farm  near  Lansing  and  on  March  23, 
1902,  they  unearthed  a  human  skeleton.  It  was  deeply  imbedded  under 
a  stratum  of  earth  and  rock.  During  the  summer  Michael  Concannon 
took  the  skull  to  Kansas  City  and  gave  the  particulars  of  the  find  to  a 
newspaper  reporter.  An  article  was  written  at  the  time  and  aroused  the 
interests  of  the  scientists  all  over  the  United  States.  From  all  parts  of 
the  country  they  came  to  the  Concannon  farm  to  look  over  the  find.  Some 
advanced  the  theory  that  the  probable  age  was  all  the  way  from  10,000 
to  35,000  years.  The  residents  of  the  neighborhood  were  somewhat  skep- 
tical and  gave  it  as  their  opinion  that  it  was  the  remains  of  a  convict 
from  the  State  Penitentiary,  who  had  been  buried  there,  as  the  place  had 
at  one  time  been  used  as  a  cemetery  and  long  since  had  been  abandoned. 
However  the  discovery  was  of  such  importance  that  the  skull  now  rests 
in  the  national  museum  at  Washington,  District  of  Columbia,  and  the  most 
of  the  remainder  of  the  skeleton  is  in  the  museum  at  the  University  of 
Kansas. 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH'  COUNTY  .  327 

Big  Stranger,  Its  Mills  and  Bridges. — Big  Stranger  enters  Leaven- 
worth County  just  south  of  the  town  of  Potter  in  Atchison  County  and 
runs  thence  in  a  southerly  direction  through  Easton,  Alexander,  High 
Prairie,  Stranger  and  Sherman  townships  and  empties  into  the  Kaw  River 
just  below  Linwood.  It  was  known  far  and  wide  as  a  good  fishing  stream. 
Along  the  valley  are  found  some  of  the  finest  farms  in  the  county.  The 
valley  early  attracted  settlers  on  account  of  timber  along  its  banks  and 
the  rich  soil  adjoining.  There  are  some  twenty-two  bridges  spanning  the 
stream.  There  are  three  covered  bridges,  one  at  Easton,  one  at  Spring- 
dale  and  the  other  at  Jarbalo.  They  were  constructed  about  the  year  1870 
and  have  proven  substantial  structures.  They  are  in  fine  condition  to  this 
day.  The  county  has  long  since  ceased  building  wooden  structures  but  it 
is  doubtful  if  the  steel  structures  of  the  present  day  will  give  as  good 
service  as  the  old  covered  bridges  still  in  use  on  Big  Stranger. 

There  were  several  mills  located  on  this  stream  that  were  widely 
known  and  patronized.  In  1869  John  J.  Rapp  built  what  was  known  as 
"The  Stranger  Valley  Mills"  at  Milwood.  This  mill  was  built  under  the 
direction  of  Mike  Lackner,  who  afterwards  ran  the  Lackner  saloon  at 
the  same  place.  It  was  a  three  story  building  of  stone  with  three  runs 
of  burrs.  It  was  operated  by  both  water  and  steam  power.  A  mill  race 
was  cut  north  of  the  mill  to  the  banks  of  Stranger  at  the  Collyer  farm. 
Through  this  channel  water  flowed  to  run  the  mill  and  when  there  was 
not  sufficient  power  this  way  then  the  mill  was  run  by  steam.  A  dam  was 
erected  across  the  creek  just  below  where  the  steel  bridge  now  stands 
east  of  the  village  of  Milwood.  For  miles  around  people  brought  in  their 
corn  and  wheat  to  have  it  ground  while  they  waited.  Usually  the  miller 
took  his  pay  by  means  of  toll  and  the  farmer  took  the  remainder  and  hauled 
it  in  a  wagon  or  carried  it  on  horseback.  Mr.  Rapp  died  in  1877  but  the 
mill  was  run  for  many  years  afterwards  by  his  widow  and  sons.  One  of 
the  sons,  George  Rapp,  still  lives  in  the  vicinity  of  Easton.  The  old  stone 
building  is  all  that  is  left  of  the  once  famous  mill. 

John  Wright  owned  a  saw  and  grist  mill  just  north  of  the  covered 
bridge  on  Stranger  east  of  Jarbalo  between  the  years  of  1856  and  1861. 
It  was  one  of  the  busiest  places  in  that  section  of  the  country.  People 
for  miles  around  brought  in  their  corn  to  be  ground  and  their  logs  to  be 
sawed  into  planks  for  their  cabins.  The  mill  was  located  on  the  farm  of 
Solomon  Buxton,  the  father  of  Mrs.  Sam  Hastings,  who  now  lives  at  218 
Fourth  Avenue,  Leavenworth,  Kansas. 


328  HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

The  engine  boiler  exploded  February  1,  1861,  and  killed  eight  people. 
A  number  of  other  people  were  wounded  and  the  mill  completely  wrecked. 
John  Wright,  the  owner,  had  just  completed  fixing  a  belt  and  was  in  the 
act  of  placing  it  in  position  when  the  explosion  occurred.  He  was  thrown 
about  ten  feet  and  landed  among  some  logs  but  was  not  seriously  hurt. 
Harrison  Waymire  and  R.  B.  Richards  were  caught  in  the  main  belt  and 
hurled  quite  a  distance  against  a  tree  and  seriously  injured.  The  lifeless 
body  of  one  man  was  almost  completely  stripped  of  its  clothing.  Others 
were  torn  into  fragments,  and  pieces  of  skulls  and  brains,  fragments  of 
human  flesh  and  parts  of  machinery  were  scattered  for  nearly  half  a  mile 
around.  The  miller  and  engineer  were  killed  and  several  prominent  citi- 
zens. It  was  a  ghastly  sight  to  behold.  It  is  believed  that  water  was 
allowed  to  freeze  in  the  boiler  and  loosen  some  of  the  flues,  and  when 
steam  was  raised  the  explosion  occurred. 

Those  killed  were.  A.  W.  Mason,  Andred  Calhoun,  Henry  Broderick, 
William  Trackwell,  James  K.  Black,  Peter  McKinney,  Jesse  Richards  and 
George  Ecton.  Relatives  of  some  of  these  men  still  live  in  the  vicinity  of 
Jarbalo.  Years  afterwards  while  woodmen  were  cutting  down  trees  within 
a  quarter  of  a  mile  of  the  place  of  the  explosion  a  large  piece  of  boiler 
plate  fell  down  out  of  a  tree.  John  Brune  now  owns  the  farm  on  which 
the  tragedy  happened. 

In  the  winter  of  1879-1880  Thomas  Ashby  built  a  mill  in  Big  Stranger 
two  miles  due  east  of  Springdale.  It  was  run  by  steam  power.  It  was  a 
saw  and  grist  mill.  It  was  well  and  favorably  known.  It  was  built  in  the 
midst  of  what  was  perhaps  the  finest  white  oak  forest  in  Kansas.  So  thick 
were  the  trees  that  it  was  necessary  to  clear  out  some  15,000  feet  of  the 
timber  before  the  mill  could  be  erected.  Mr.  Ashby  and  his  sons  continued 
to  run  the  mill  till  1893,  when  he  moved  to  Leavenworth,  where  he  contin- 
ued in  the  milling  business  at  a  location  between  Tenth  and  Eleventh  on 
Shawnee  street.  He  moved  his  mill  to  the  present  location  between  Fifth 
and  Sixth  on  Oak  street  in  1898  and  is  operating  the  grist  mill  there  at 
the  present  time.  The  old  mill  on  Stranger  was  taken  over  by  E.  J.  Evans 
and  run  till  1912,  when  it  was  abandoned.    A  fire  destroyed  it  in  1920. 

Henry  Ready  also  owned  and  operated  a  mill  on  Big  Stranger  in 
Alexandria  Township.    It  did  a  thriving  business  as  a  grist  and  saw  mill. 

Mrs.  E.  Davis  and  Sons  owned  and  operated  a  flouring  mill  on  Big 
Stranger  four  miles  southeast  of  Tonganoxie.  It  was  run  by  water  power 
and  did  a  good  business.    They  had  an  original  capital  of  $10,00. 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  329 

Abraham  Lincoln  arrived  in  Leavenworth  December  3,  1859.  He 
made  two  speeches  here,  one  on  the  third  and  one  on  the  fifth.  The  larg- 
est political  gathering  that  had  ever  assembled  in  Kansas  up  to  that  time 
heard  the  Great  Emancipator.  His  speech  was  substantially  the  same  as 
that  delivered  at  Cooper  Institute,  New  York  City,  and  is  recognized  as 
one  of  the  ablest  productions  of  any  American  statesman.  On  the  30th 
of  January,  1861,  Kansas  was  admitted  as  a  free  state  and  Abraham  Lin- 
coln took  part  in  raising  the  flag  over  Independence  Hall  with  the  added 
star  of  Kansas  in  the  field.  On  this  occasion  Mr.  Lincoln  said:  "I  am 
invited  and  called  before  you  to  participate  in  raising  above  Independence 
Hall  the  flag  of  our  country  with  an  additional  star  upon  it.  I  wish  to 
call  your  attention  to  the  fact  that,  under  the  blessing  of  God,  each  addi- 
tional star  added  to  the  flag  has  given  additional  prosperity  and  happiness 
to  this  country."  While  in  Leavenworth  Mr.  Lincoln  was  a  guest  at  the 
Planters  Hotel. 

Suicide  of  James  H.  Lane. — The  suicide  of  Gen.  James  H.  Lane  July 
11,  1866,  at  Fort  Leavenworth  stirred  the  State  of  Kansas.  It  is  conceded 
that  General  Lane  had  his  faults  but  without  his  vigorous  arm  and  bold 
heart  Kansas  would  have  stood  little  chance  of  becoming  a  free  state.  He 
was  United  States  Senator  from  Kansas  at  the  time  of  his  tragic  death. 
He  had  secured  a  leave  of  absence  from  his  arduous  duties  in  Washington 
and  returned  to  Kansas.  He  was  in  poor  health  and  appeared  greatly 
depressed  in  spirits  but  started  to  return  to  Washington.  On  reaching 
St.  Louis  his  physicians  expressed  fear  of  his  recovery  and  were  of  the 
opinion  that  he  was  threatened  with  softening  of  the  brain.  He  returned 
to  Fort  Leavenworth  and  stopped  with  his  brother-in-law,  Captain  McCall, 
on  the  government  farm  adjoining  Leavenworth.  Symptoms  of  insanity 
grew  worse.  On  Sunday,  July  1st,  he  expressed  a  desire  to  ride  out  and 
Captain  McCall  and  Captain  Adams  accompanied  him  in  a  carriage.  They 
stopped  to  open  one  of  the  farm  gates  and  Lane  jumped  out  and  exclaimed 
"Goodbye,  gentlemen,"  and  discharged  a  revolver  in  his  mouth,  the  ball 
passing  upward  through  his  brain.  He  was  carried  to  a  farm  house  and 
remained  in  an  unconscious  condition  till  July  11th,  when  he  died.  At 
one  time  he  seemed  to  recover  sufficiently  to  recognize  friends  and  called 
them  in  a  whisper. 

The  abberation  of  mind  was  attributed  to  various  causes,  but  little 
is  definitely  known.  He  supported  the  president's  veto  of  the  civil  rights 
bill  and  for  this  his  friends  had  deserted  him.    Threats  had  been  made 


330  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

to  expose  his  conduct  in  regard  to  government  contracts  in  which  he  is 
alleged  to  have  had  a  personal  interest. 

Millwood  Raid. — One  of  the  most  sensational  armed  raids  to  take 
place  in  the  county  after  the  passing  of  the  days  of  border  warfare  oc- 
curred at  the  little  village  of  Millwood,  which  is  situated  in  the  north 
central  part  of  Easton  Township,  February  19,  1901.  On  that  night  the 
Lackner  saloon  at  Millwood  was  raided  by  citizens  who  are  said  to  have 
marched  from  Easton,  a  small  village  which  is  situated  a  short  distance 
south  of  the  scene  of  the  tragedy.  Two  parties  by  the  name  of  John  Wil- 
burn  and  Joe  Turner  are  said  to  have  entered  the  saloon  first  and  ordered 
a  round  of  drinks.  The  other  members  of  the  raiding  party  remained 
outside.  After  finishing  his  drink  Wilburn  is  alleged  to  have  rapped  three 
times  upon  the  bar  with  his  glass.  This  was  apparently  a  signal  to  the 
members  of  the  party  outside,  as  they  immediately  crowded  in.  Two  of 
the  parties  who  entered  the  saloon  first  were  carrying  shotguns.  One  of 
the  members  of  the  Lackner  family  immediately  seized  the  shotguns  and 
in  the  scuffle  that  followed  either  one  or  both  of  the  guns  were  discharged. 
Rose  Hudson,  one  of  the  members  of  the  Lackner  family,  happened  at  the 
instant  to  be  entering  the  room  a  short  distance  away  and  the  entire 
charge  of  shot  from  the  gun  struck  her  in  the  head,  killing  her  instantly. 
With  the  discharge  of  the  shotgun,  the  concussion  extinguished  all  lights 
within  the  room.  A  fusilade  of  shots  from  the  attacking  party  followed 
and  was  answered  by  members  of  the  Lackner  family  and  friends  who 
happened  to  be  there.  William  Webb,  one  of  the  members  of  the  defend- 
ing party,  was  wounded  twice  in  the  affray.  A  number  of  the  members 
of  the  raiding  parties  was  wounded.  It  is  reported  that  at  least  one  of 
the  raiding  members  never  recovered  from  his  wounds,  but  died  some  time 
later.  It  is  an  established  fact  that  several  of  the  most  prominent  citizens 
of  the  Easton  community  left  shortly  after  this  and  never  returned. 

The  real  purpose  of  the  raid  has  for  years  been  a  matter  of  more  or 
less  speculation  on  the  part  of  citizens  living  in  those  above  mentioned 
communities.  It  occurred  at  a  time  when  Carrie  Nation  was  very  active 
in  the  State  of  Kansas  and  some  believe  that  the  motive  which  animated 
the  movement  was  that  of  suppressing  the  saloon  evil.  Others  have  con- 
tended that  it  was  for  the  purpose  of  putting  the  owners  in  fear — possibly 
in  flight  and  then  plundering  the  stock  of  liquors  on  hand.  The  Lackner 
saloon,  like  many  others,  had  been  operating  in  violation  of  the  Kansas 
prohibitory  law  for  a  number  of  years  and  was  in  bad  repute.  When  four 
of  the  members  of  the  raiding  party  were  tried  in  the  Leavenworth  Dis- 
trict Court  for  the  murder  of  Rose  Lackner  they  were  acquitted. 


CHAPTER    XXI 


BIOGRAPHICAL  HISTORY 


Capt.  John  T.  Taylor,  who  is  recorder  of  the  Military  Order  of  Loyal 
Legion  with  office  in  Room  4,  Wulfekuhler  Building,  and  who  is  one  of  the 
best  known  men  in  Leavenworth,  was  born  in  Cincinnati,  Ohio,  August  7, 
1841.  He  is  the  son  of  Col.  W.  H.  H.  Taylor,  a  native  of  Richmond,  Vir- 
ginia, and  who,  when  young,  located  in  Cincinnati,  Ohio,  where  he  after- 
ward married  Anna  T.  H.  Harrison,  a  daughter  of  William  Henry  Har- 
rison, who  later  became  the  President  of  the  United  States.  Colonel 
Taylor  was  state  librarian  of  Minnesota  for  eighteen  years,  and  died  in 
office  at  St.  Paul  at  the  age  of  eighty  years.  He  is  buried  in  Minneapolis 
and  his  wife  is  buried  in  the  home  burying  ground  at  North  Bend,  Ohio. 
She  was  fifty  years  of  age  at  the  time  of  her  death. 

Colonel  Taylor  commanded  the  Fifth  Regiment,  Ohio  Cavalry,  during 
the  Civil  War.  The  regiment  was  organized  at  Camp  Dick  Corwin,  Sep- 
tember, 1861.  On  March  1,  1861,  the  regiment  left  for  Paducah,  Kentucky, 
reporting  to  Brigadier  General  W.  T.  Sherman.  The  regiment  was  con- 
sidered one  of  the  best  cavalry  regiments  in  the  service  from  start  to 
finish,  as  a  partial  list  of  the  battles  in  which  it  bore  a  conspicuous  part 
will  show.  They  were  as  follows:  Black  Jack,  Tennessee,  sometimes  re- 
ferred to  as  Black  Jack  Forest;  Pittsburgh  Landing;  Crumps  Landing; 
Shiloh;  all  in  Tennessee;  Metamora,  Mississippi;  Little  Bear  Creek,  Mis- 
sissippi, Lexington,  Tennessee  and  Davis  Mills,  Mississippi;  Moscow,  Ten- 
nessee; Hernando,  Mississippi;  Coldwater,  Mississippi;  Rockey  Crossing. 
Mississippi ;  Hernando,  Mississippi ;  Clear  Creek,  Alabama ;  Guntown,  Ala- 
bama ;  Reenzi,  Mississippi ;  Lebanon,  Alabama ;  Red  Oak,  Georgia ;  Jones- 
boro,  Georgia;  Rockey  Creek  Church,  Georgia;  Fayetteville,  North  Caro- 
lina and  Averysboro,  North  Carolina. 

While  stationed  in  Memphis,  Tennessee,  General  Sherman  appointed 


CAPT.  JOH.V  T.  TAYLOR 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  333 

Colonel  Taylor  president  of  a  military  commission  to  try  the  traitors  who 
were  charged  with  ottenses  against  the  rules  of  civilized  war,  and  while 
the  colonel  was  fair  and  just  in  all  his  rulings,  he  had  no  sympathy  or 
patience  with  the  treacherous  and  disloyal  who  came  before  him. 

Colonel  Taylor's  oldest  son,  W.  H.  H.,  Jr.,  responded  to  the  first  call 
of  President  Lincoln  for  three  month  troops,  and  he  went  immediately 
with  his  regiment  to  Washington.  Shortly  afterwards  he  was  given  a 
commission  in  the  Eighteenth  United  States  Regulars,  in  which  he  served, 
reaching  the  rank  of  captain. 

Capt.  John  T.  Taylor  was  married  to  Amelia  M.  Wilson  of  Blooming- 
ton,  Illinois,  December  21,  1880.  She  is  a  daughter  of  Samuel  and  Mar- 
garet Wilson,  natives  of  Illinois.  Captain  Taylor  and  wife  reside  at  710 
South  Seventh  Street,  Leavenworth. 

During  the  Civil  War,  Captain  Taylor  was  in  the  Battle  of  Shiloh  and 
was  within  four  feet  of  Major  Anderson  when  he  restored  the  flag  staff 
to  Ft.  Sumter  in  1865,  which  was  restored  by  order  of  President  Lincoln 
with  elaborate  ceremonies.  When  the  flag  rose  above  the  parapet,  hun- 
dreds of  cannons  roared  a  salute  from  Morris  Island,  Castle  Pinckney  and 
other  forts.  Thousands  of  people  attended  the  ceremony.  Captain  Taylor 
served  four  years  in  the  army.  He  has  a  sword  which  General  William 
T.  Sherman  presented  to  him  on  September  15,  1862,  at  Memphis,  Ten- 
nessee. 

Benjamin  Harrison,  great  grandfather  of  Captain  Taylor,  was  a  signer 
of  the  Declaration  of  Independence,  and  ex-President  William  Henry  Har- 
rison was  the  father  of  the  mother  of  Captain  John  Taylor  and  ex-Presi- 
dent Benjamin  Harrison  was  a  son  of  the  brother  of  Anna  T.  H.  Taylor, 
the  mother  of  Captain  Taylor,  so  it  can  readily  be  seen  that  Captain  Tay- 
lor comes  from  an  illustrious  family. 

The  Military  Order  of  the  Loyal  Legion,  of  which  Captain  Taylor  is 
recorder,  is  confined  to  the  commissioned  officers  of  the  Civil  War,  their 
sons  and  grandsons.  The  commandery  of  the  state  of  Kansas  was  organ- 
ized in  1886  at  Ft.  Leavenworth.  The  present  headquarters  are  in  Phila- 
delphia and  Col.  John  P.  Nicholson  has  been  its  recorded  in  chief  since  the 
organiaztion.  Only  one  commandery  in  a  state  is  permitted.  The  member- 
ship of  the  Kansas  Commandery  is  about  150  at  present,  and  Captain  Taylor 
has  been  its  honored  recorder  since  1911.  Captain  Taylor  has  many  old 
friends  and  is  honored  and  revered  in  the  city  of  Leavenworth. 


334  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

Miss  Lucy  V.  Hook,  treasurer  of  Leavenworth  County,  is  a  daughter 
of  Enos  and  Elizabeth  (Inghram)  Hook.  Enos  Hook  was  born  in  1838 
in  Waynesburg,  Pennsylvania,  which  was  also  the  birthplace  of  his  wife, 
Elizabeth  (Inghram)  Hook.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Enos  Hook  came  to  Kansas 
shortly  after  their  marriage.  They  were  engaged  in  farming  until  they 
retired  to  live  in  Leavenworth,  Kansas.  Mr.  Hook  died  October  8,  1910, 
and  his  wife  in  1904.     They  are  both  buried  in  Mt.  Muncie  Cemetery. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Enos  Hook  were  the  parents  of  seven  children,  as  fol- 
lows: Cora,  widow  of  H.  Feagan,  Kansas  City,  Missouri;  W.  C.  Hook, 
judge  of  the  Circuit  Court  of  Leavenworth,  Kansas;  Elizabeth  H.,  wife 
of  F.  Yohe,  Leavenworth,  Kansas ;  Anna  H.,  wife  of  Henry  Helmers,  Jr., 
Leavenworth;  Lucy  V.,  subject  of  this  sketch;  Edward  E.,  in  the  oil  busi- 
ness, Wichita,  Kansas;  Helen  H.,  wife  of  Victor  Cain,  Leavenworth, 
Kansas. 

Miss  Lucy  Hook  was  educated  in  the  Leavenworth  public  school  and 
graduated  in  the  class  of  1899.  For  many  years  Miss  Hook  was  employed 
as  assistant  treasurer  and  learned  all  the  details  and  responsibilities  of 
the  work  before  she  was  honored  by  election,  November  2,  1918,  to  the 
office  of  county  treasurer.  She  is  now  serving  her  second  term,  to  which 
she  was  elected  without  opposition.  H.  V.  Reilly  is  deputy  treasurer  and 
during  the  rush  season  Miss  Hook  is  assisted  by  two  others. 

Miss  Hook  has  endeared  herself  to  her  associates  and  is  worthy  of 
the  high  esteem  in  which  the  people  of  the  county  hold  her.  She  was 
the  first  woman  treasurer  of  Leavenworth  County. 


Sherman  Medill,  the  well  known  president  of  the  State  Savings  Bank 
of  Leavenworth,  Kansas,  is  from  a  prominent  pioneer  family.  He  was 
born  at  Springdale,  Leavenworth  County,  December  27,  1865,  the  son  of 
James  and  Lydia  A.  (Redburn)  Medill;  his  father  was  born  in  Steuben- 
ville,  Ohio,  in  1824,  and  his  mother  was  born  in  Pennsylvania  in  1839. 
She  died  in  1873  at  the  age  of  thirty-four  years. 

James  Medill  came  to  Leavenworth  County,  Kansas,  in  1857  and 
settled  in  High  Prairie  Township,  and  later  bought  land  and  moved  to 
Alexandria  Township  in  1864.  He  was  a  large  land  holder  and  stockman, 
and,  at  one  time,  owned  thirteen  quarter  sections  of  land  near  Effingham, 
Kansas.  A  few  years  before  his  death  in  1894  he  located  in  Leaven- 
worth.    He  and  his  wife  are  buried  at  Mt.  Muncie  Cemetery. 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  335 

James  Medill  specialized  in  the  breeding  and  raising  of  Shorthorn 
cattle  and  Poland-China  hogs.  Besides  his  large  land  and  stock  interests, 
he  engaged  extensively  in  loaning  money  and  for  safekeeping  in  prefer- 
ence to  depositing  with  the  banks,  which  showed  the  confidence  and  trust 
they  placed  in  him.  He  was  a  public  spirited  man  also  and  served  his 
county  as  representative  in  the  Legislature  for  four  terms,  and  was  rail- 
road assessor  for  two  years. 

Sherman  Medill  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  and  Lawrence 
Business  College.  After  finishing  his  education,  he  engaged  extensively 
in  farming  in  Alexandria  Township  until  1906.  He  specialized  in  feed- 
ing and  shipping  stock.  In  1899  he  represented  Leavenworth  County  in 
the  State  Legislature,  and  has  always  worked  for  the  improvement  and 
betterment  of  local  conditions.  He  became  connected  with  the  State  Sav- 
ings Bank  from  the  start  first  as  stockholder,  then  director,  vice-presi- 
dent, and  since  1912  has  been  president.  Mr.  Medill  and  his  associates 
are  capable  financiers  and  have  shown  constructive  ability  and  foresight, 
as  the  remarkable  growth  of  the  bank  since  1912  will  testify,  as  follows : 
The  deposits  August  31,  1912,  were  $105,778.26;  August  31,  1913,  $182,- 
643.46;  August  30,  1914,  $260,691.00;  August  31,  1915,  $303,750.25;  Au- 
gust 31,  1916,  $496,788.56;  August  31,  1917,  $648,432.29;  August  31,  1918, 
$972,406.85;  August  31,  1919,  $1,081,375.07;  August  28,  1920,  $1, 
229,962.93. 

The  State  Savings  Bank  was  organized  in  1902  with  a  capital  stock 
of  $25,000.00  and  its  first  officers  were:  A.  A.  Fenn,  president;  J.  C.  Stone, 
vice-president;  E.  A.  Kelly,  cashier;  and  F.  D.  Bolman  and  Arthur  M. 
Jackson,  directors.  Its  present  officers  are:  Sherman  Medill,  president; 
F.  M.  Potter,  first  vice-president;  John  G.  Barnes,  second  vice-president; 
O.  J.  Potter,  cashier;  W.  J.  Bransfield,  assistant  cashier;  Laurayne  Medill, 
assistant  cashier;  Frank  Hines,  assistant  cashier;  W.  G.  Leavel,  W.  T. 
Hines,  John  Schwalker,  Jr.,  Dr.  A.  R.  Adams  and  F.  D.  Webster, 
directors. 

June  4,  1890,  Mr.  Medill  was  married  to  Monica  Morgan,  who  was  a 
prominent  teacher  here  before  her  marriage.  She  is  a  native  of  Leaven- 
worth and  daughter  of  Capt.  J.  W.  and  Katherine  (Keogh)  Morgan.  Her 
mother  now  lives  in  the  old  home  where  she  has  lived  for  sixty  years  at 
815  Cherokee  Street.  Capt.  J.  W.  Morgan  was  a  captain  in  the  navy, 
plying  first  on  the  Great  Lakes,  then  to  the  Mississippi,  and  he  also  had 
the  distinction  of  once  sailing  around  the  world.     He  was  of  Scotch  de- 


336  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

scent,  born  in  Glasgow,  and  his  wife  was  born  in  Dublin,  Ireland,  but  of 
Welch  and  English  extraction.  Captain  Morgan  died  in  1913  and  is  buried 
at  Mt.  Calvary  Cemetery.     He  was  a  thirty-second  degree  Mason. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Medill  have  three  sons  living  and  one  deceased.  They 
are  as  follows:  First  Lieutenant  James  Sherman  Medill,  who  was  born 
at  Springdale,  Kansas,  September  4,  1893,  and  who  was  the  youngest 
lawyer  in  Kansas  when  he  passed  the  bar  examination  in  1915.  He  at- 
tended the  public  schools  of  Leavenworth,  Ann  Arbor,  and  finished  his 
law  course  at  Kansas  City,  Missouri.  He  was  a  member  of  the  Phi  Alpha 
Delta  Fraternity.  He  practiced  law  for  two  years,  when  war  was  de- 
clared, and  he  went  to  the  first  officer's  training  camp  at  Fort  Riley,  Kan- 
sas, where  he  was  admitted,  and  was  the  only  Leavenworth  boy  that 
passed  the  regular  army  examinations  at  the  close  of  the  officer's  training 
camp.  He  was  attached  to  the  43d  Infantry,  sent  to  Fort  Douglas,  Utah, 
then  to  Camp  Pike,  Arkansas,  was  sent  to  Louisiana  to  guard  the  oil 
fields  and  later  to  New  Orleans,  to  guard  the  piers  and  the  gulf.  He  was 
then  sent  to  Ft.  Sill  for  special  training,  and  was  placed  at  the  head  of 
the  gun  division  of  the  43rd  Infantry,  and  was  also  made  judge  advocate 
of  the  regiment,  and  two  weeks  prior  to  his  death,  March  12,  1919,  he 
was  made  intelligence  officer  of  his  regiment.  From  New  Orleans,  he 
was  sent  to  Ft.  Logan,  Texas,  where  he  died.  He  is  buried  at  Mt.  Muncie 
Cemetery.  He  had  a  bright  future  and  his  early  passing  is  to  be  re- 
gretted. The  second  son,  Harold  Medill,  was  born  at  Springdale,  October 
17,  1895.  He  was  educated  in  the  grade  and  high  schools  and  the  State 
Agricultural  College  at  Manhattan,  Kansas,  and  has  been  admitted  to  the 
bar  in  Kansas  and  Missouri.  During  the  late  war  he  attended  the  officer's 
training  camp  and  was  made  second  lieutenant  in  the  Reserves.  He  was 
sent  to  Deming,  New  Mexico,  and  from  there  to  Ft.  Sill,  Oklahoma,  and 
then  to  Camp  Perry,  on  Lake  Erie,  for  special  instruction.  He  returned 
to  Camp  Fnnston  and  was  sent  twice  to  the  coast  with  troops,  and  the 
third  time  overseas  with  the  816  Pioneer  Infantry.  He  was  in  France 
for  ten  months,  when  he  returned  to  Camp  Funston,  where  he  was  mus- 
tered out.     He  is  a  member  of  the  Phi  Alpha  Delta  Fraternity. 

The  third  son,  George  Tabor,  was  born  at  Springdale,  May  15,  1897. 
He  received  his  education  in  the  Leavenworth  schools  and  Kansas  Uni- 
versity, where  he  studied  medicine.  He  is  a  member  of  the  Alpha  Tau 
Omega  and  Phi  Beta  Pi  fraternities.  He  entered  the  United  States  service 
at  Camp  Funston  and  was  made  a  corporal.     He  was  ready  for  the  offi- 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  337 

cer's  training  camp  when  the  war  closed.  He  is  now  with  the  Stanton 
Construction  Company,  of  Leavenworth. 

Thomas  Laurayne  is  the  fourth  son  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Medill  and  was 
born  at  Springdale,  Kansas,  July  18,  1900.  He  received  his  education  in 
the  Leavenworth  grade  and  high  schools,  and  was  in  the  S.  A.  T.  C.  at 
Kansas  University,  and  was  made  first  sergeant.  Prior  to  going  to  the 
university,  he  was  captain  of  the  Leavenworth  High  School  Cadets.  He 
is  now  assistant  cashier  of  the  State  Savings  Bank  of  Leavenworth, 
Kansas. 

Mrs.  Medill  is  quite  active  in  club  work  and  well  known  in  social 
circles,  having  a  host  of  friends.  She  is  now  president  of  the  First  Con- 
gressional District  of  Woman's  Federated  Clubs,  vice-president  of  the 
State  of  Kansas  Woman's  Auxiliary  of  the  American  Legion,  and  vice- 
president  of  the  Kansas  Order  of  the  Gold  Star,  an  organization  of  mothers 
who  lost  sons  during  the  World  War,  a  member  of  the  Kansas  State  Board 
of  Woman's  Federated  Clubs,  president  of  the  Byron  H.  Mehl  Post, 
Woman's  Auxiliary  of  the  American  Legion  of  Leavenworth,  Kansas,  is 
past  regent  of  the  Daughters  of  Isabella,  past  president  of  the  Civic 
League,  also  Art  League  and  Catholic  Literaiy  Society.  Mrs.  Medill  is 
also  a  member  of  the  Republican  County  Central  Committee,  and  has  the 
distinction  of  being  the  first  woman  from  Leavenworth  who  attended  a 
state  Republican  meeting. 

The  Medill  family  is  among  the  most  substantial  and  enterprising 
families  of  Leavenworth. 


A.  G.  Dunnuck,  president  of  the  Dunnuck  Manufacturing  Company, 
of  Leavenworth,  Kansas,  is  an  enterprising  business  man  who  is  meeting 
with  well  merited  success  and  conducts  a  thriving  manufacturing  plant. 

The  Dunnuck  Manufacturing  Company  was  established  in  1916  in 
Concordia,  Kansas,  and  on  September  1,  1917,  it  was  moved  to  Leaven- 
worth, Kansas,  where  it  is  located  at  the  corner  of  Shawnee  and  Main 
streets.  This  firm  manufactures  the  inventions  of  its  founder  and  presi- 
dent, Mr.  Dunnuck.  The  different  articles  are  a  combination  two,  three 
and  four  horse  wagon  evener,  a  four  and  five  horse  plow  evener,  tractor 
hitches,  second  binder  hitches,  radiator  screens  for  tractor  and  road  sur- 
facing machines. 

A.  G.  Dunnuck  was  born  in  Fairbury,  Nebraska,  November  16,  186$ 

(18) 


338  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

a  son  of  George  F.  and  Eunice  (Timmons)  Dunnuck,  both  natives  of  In- 
diana. Eunice  (Timmons)  Dunnuck  by  a  former  marriage  to  John  H. 
Crowell  has  one  son,  John  Henry  Crowell,  who  now  lives  in  Indiana.  Mrs. 
Dunnock  died  in  1880,  when  thirty-eight  years  of  age. 

George  F.  Dunnuck  was  a  veteran  of  the  Civil  War,  serving  through- 
out the  last  year  of  the  war.  He  came  to  Kansas  in  1866,  stopping  a 
short  time  in  Washington  County,  Kansas,  then  he  went  on  to  Fairbury, 
Nebraska,  locating  on  the  ground  that  is  now  the  townsite  of  Fairbury. 
In  1867,  he  returned  to  Kansas  on  account  of  the  Indian  scare.  He  lo- 
cated near  Fort  Sneadajohn,  where  he  would  receive  its  protection.  He 
homesteaded  land  and  built  a  log  cabin;  he  hewing  the  shingles  from  the 
cottonwood  trees  growing  along  the  Little  Blue  River.  The  blocks  were 
boiled  in  water  to  remove  the  sap  and  make  them  pliable  for  cutting  into 
shingles.  This  homestead  was  their  home  until  1901,  when  it  was  sold 
and  a  farm  was  purchased  near  the  county  seat  in  Washington  County. 
He  died  in  January,  1917,  at  Morrowville,  Kansas. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  George  Dunnuck  were  the  parents  of  eleven  children, 
as  follows:  W.  J.,  Washington,  Kansas;  S.  K.,  deceased;  George  M.,  de- 
ceased; Franklin  J.,  deceased;  A.  G.,  the  subject  of  this  review;  Mrs. 
Margaret  Smethers,  deceased;  Minnie  L.  Kemper,  Washington,  Kansas; 
E.  A.,  Atchison,  Kansas ;  Mrs.  Eunice  V.  Hide,  Flagler,  Colorado ;  Harvey 
H.,  deceased;  Nora  M.,  deceased. 

A.  G.  Dunnuck  was  reared  on  his  father's  homestead  in  Washington 
County,  Kansas,  and  attended  school  in  the  log  cabin  of  his  day.  The 
means  of  transportation  and  labor  was  the  sturdy  oxen  and  Mr.  Dunnuck 
mastered  the  art  of  driving  ox  teams.  He  handled  four  yoke  of  oxen 
hitched  to  a  twenty-four  inch  breaking  plow  and  turned  the  virgin  soil. 
When  he  was  twenty  years  of  age  he  followed  farming  for  himself,  two 
years  later  engaged  in  the  livery  business  at  Oketo,  Kansas.  He  then 
returned  to  Washington  County  and  bought  grain  at  a  side  track  known 
as  Spencer's  Switch  on  his  father's  farm.  Later,  Mr.  Dunnuck  was  em- 
ployed by  the  Dempster  Mill  Manufacturing  Company  of  Beatrice,  Ne- 
braska. He  remained  there  for  eight'  years,  commencing  as  a  common 
laborer,  promoted  to  foremanship  and  the  last  two  years  as  traveling 
salesman.  He  left  their  employ  in  1908  and  took  up  a  claim  in  western 
Kansas.  While  here  he  perfected  some  of  his  patents  and  began  their 
manufacture  in  a  blacksmith  shop.     He  organized  the  Dunnuck  Manu- 


HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  339 

facturing  Company  and  its  business  has  increased  year  by  year.  So  far 
they  have  been  unable  to  supply  the  demand  for  their  goods. 

A.  G.  Dunnuck  was  first  married  December  4,  1890,  to  Lillian 
Smethers,  a  daughter  of  Jonas  and  Mary  Smethers.  Mrs.  Dunnuck  died 
in  Beatrice,  Nebraska,  December  10,  1905.  To  this  union  two  daughters 
were  born :  Gladys  L.,  wife  of  Joseph  Dawes,  of  Thomas  County,  Kansas, 
and  Bertha  N.,  wife  of  A.  M.  Lukens,  Melbourne,  Florida. 

Mr.  Dunnuck  and  Mrs.  Alice  McReynolds  were  united  in  marriage 
and  they  had  two  children  born  to  them :  Fern,  at  home,  and  Spencer  A., 
who  died  at  the  age  of  eighteen  months,  and  is  buried  at  Stockton,  Kansas. 
Mr.  Dunnuck  has  a  granddaughter,  Bessie  Lillian  Dawes.  Mrs.  Alice 
(McReynolds)  Dunnuck  is  the  daughter  of  Spencer  and  Lydia  Davis,  na- 
tives of  Iowa,  whose  home  is  near  Moulton. 

In  the  many  years  of  a  busy  life  Mr.  Dunnuck  has  also  been  engaged 
in  the  grocery  and  implement  business.  He  is  a  member  of  the  Inde- 
pendent Order  of  Odd  Fellows  at  Concordia,  Kansas. 


0.  J.  Potter,  cashier  of  the  State  Savings  Bank  of  Leavenworth,  Leav- 
enworth, Kansas,  is  a  native  Kansan.  He  was  born  January  13,  1875,  at 
Potter,  Kansas,  on  his  father's  farm  in  Walnut  Township,  Atchison 
County,  Kansas.  He  is  a  son  of  Moses  and  Mary  (Womach)  Potter,  the 
former  a  native  of  Kentucky,  who,  with  his  brother,  Joseph  Potter,  settled 
joined  and  the  brothers  were  intimately  associated  in  their  work  during 
in  Walnut  Township,  Atchison  County,  Kansas,  in  1856.  Their  farms 
their  long  and  useful  lives.  During  the  Mexican  War,  they  enlisted  from 
Fort  Leavenworth  and  crossed  the  plains  to  Santa  Fe,  New  Mexico,  on 
the  old  trail.  The  town  of  Potter,  Kansas,  was  named  in  honor  of  these 
brothers.  Moses  Potter  died  in  1902  and  was  buried  on  the  Womach 
farm.  Joseph  Potter,  was  born  in  1819  and  died  in  1912,  aged  ninety- 
three  years  and  six  months. 

Mrs.  Mary  (Womach)  Potter  was  the  daughter  of  Abraham  Womach, 
who  was  one  of  the  earliest  settlers  of  Atchison  County.  He  came  from 
Buchanan  County,  Missouri.  Mrs.  Mary  Potter  died  in  1913  and  was 
buried  by  the  side  of  the  remains  of  her  husband. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Moses  Potter  were  the  parents  of  the  following  chil- 
dren: Thomas,  deceased;  Tinsley,  of  Atchison  County,  Kansas,  formerly 
lived  at  Leavenworth,  now  deceased — see  history;  Marcillious,  deceased; 


340  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

Belle,  wife  of  Milton  Hebbard,  Alaska;  Newmarious,  deceased;  Frances 
Marion,  deceased;  Martha,  deceased;  Bela,  of  Easton,  Kansas;  Melissa, 
wife  of  William  B.  Mitchell,  of  California;  Vienna,  married  James  M. 
Logue,  cashier  of  the  Lansing  Bank,  Lansing,  Kansas;  Mollie,  wife  of 
James  Robertson,  Springfield,  Missouri;  0.  J.,  the  subject  of  this  sketch; 
Flora,  wife  of  Simeon  Horn,  College  Grove,  Oregon. 

O.  J.  Potter  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  Leavenworth 
County,  Kansas.  He  then  attended  the  Campbell  University  at  Holton, 
Kansas,  and  the  Stanberry,  Missouri,  College.  This  school  building  burn- 
ing he  went  to  the  State  Normal  School  at  Warrensburg,  Missouri.  Fin- 
ishing his  course  at  this  institution,  he  taught  school  in  Leavenworth 
County  for  eight  years.  When  J.  M.  Gilman  was  superintendent  of  public 
instruction,  Mr.  Potter  was  on  the  board  of  examiners  for  teachers  and 
held  this  position  when  he  gave  up  the  teaching  profession.  For  two 
years  Mr.  0.  J.  Potter  was  in  the  lumber  business  with  0.  P.  Lambert, 
when  he  accepted  the  position  of  cashier  of  the  Easton  State  Bank,  which 
position  he  held  for  fifteen  years,  and  resigned  to  accept  the  position  as 
cashier  of  the  State  Savings  Bank. 

0.  J.  Potter  was  married  August  24,  1898,  to  Norah  Hawes,  of  Stan- 
berry,  Missouri.  She  died  October  21,  1918,  leaving  one  daughter,  Letha. 
He  was  married  the  second  time,  March  3,  1921,  to  Grace  Jane  Fisher, 
who  is  at  the  present  time  clerk  of  the  District  Court  of  this  county. 

Mr.  Potter  is  a  member  of  the  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons, 
Scottish  Rite,  Shriners  and  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows. 


The  Easton  State  Bank,  Easton,  Kansas,  was  organized  in  August, 
1902,  with  $5,000  capital.  It  had  the  following  officers :  William  T.  Hines, 
president;  R.  Mayer,  vice-president;  F.  M.  Seward,  cashier;  John  Nieman, 
Dr.  W.  A.  Adams,  Thomas  J.  Hennessey,  Samuel  Watson,  Henry  Holt- 
meyer  and  Samuel  Hulett,  directors.  0.  J.  Potter  became  cashier  of  this 
bank  January  1,  1906  and  was  in  that  position  until  October  1,  1920,  when 
he  accepted  his  present  position  as  cashier  of  the  State  Savings  Bank  of 
Leavenworth,  Kansas. 

The  present  officers  of  the  Easton  State  Bank  are  as  follows:  R. 
Mayer,  president;  W.  T.  Hines,  vice-president;  R.  W.  Stafford,  cashier; 
directors,  C.  W.  Corson,  T.  J.  Hennessey,  Samuel  Watson,  Henry  Holt- 
meyer,  Dr.  A.  R.  Adams  and  O.  J.  Potter. 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  341 

The  Easton  State  Bank  started  with  a  $5,000  capital,  which  has  been 
increased  to  $30,000.  Its  deposits  at  the  time  of  Mr.  Potter's  resignation 
were  $250,000. 


Thomas  J.  Brown,  the  manager  of  the  Hippodrome  of  Leavenworth, 
Kansas,  is  a  well  known  business  man  and  very  successful  in  his  present 
line  of  work.  The  Hippodrome  Theater,  with  Thomas  J.  Brown  and 
Frank  J.  Warren  as  owners,  has  a  reputation  of  giving  clean,  high  cla^s 
pictures.     This  theater  is  located  at  526-528  Delaware  Street. 

Thomas  J.  Brown  was  born  October  30,.  1870,  in  Platte  County,  Mis- 
souri, son  of  Felix  C.  and  Jincy  A.  (Bleakley)  Brown.  They  are  both 
natives  of  Platte  County,  Missouri,  and  make  their  home  in  Leavenworth, 
Kansas,  where  Mr.  Felix  C.  Brown,  since  1883,  has  conducted  a  hospital 
for  the  insane  and  elderly  people. 

Mr.  Felix  C.  Brown  is  the  son  of  Gideon  A.  Brown,  who  came  from 
North  Carolina  and  Tennessee  to  Platte  County,  Missouri,  about  1840. 
He  settled  on  a  farm,  where  he  tilled  the  soil  until  his  death  in  1856. 
Mrs.  Felix  C.  Brown  is  the  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Felix  Bleakley,  who 
were  pioneers  of  Platte  County,  Missouri.  They  came  from  Tennessee 
in  1840.  They  are  both  deceased.  Felix  C.  Brown  was  in  the  Confeder- 
ate Army  under  "Fighting  Joe  Shelby"  during  the  entire  Civil  War.  He, 
with  his  son,  L.  F.  Brown,  conduct  the  business  of  the  Elmwood  Hospital, 
which  Mr.  Brown  opened  in  the  early  eighties.  Despite  his  seventy-seven 
years  he  is  still  active  in  the  management  of  its  affairs.  This  institution 
has  been  instrumental  in  relieving  many  a  hopeless  insane  and  caring 
for  many  other  helpless  people. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Felix  C.  Brown  are  the  parents  of  eight  children,  all 
residing  at  Leavenworth,  Kansas,  as  follows:  Thomas  J.,  the  subject  of 
this  sketch ;  L.  F,  with  his  father  at  Elmwood  Hospital ;  Gideon  A.,  super- 
intendent at  the  Leavenworth  County  Hospital;  J.  C,  engaged  in  the 
mercantile  business  at  Twelfth  and  Spruce  streets;  James  E.;  E.  Kirby, 
in  business  at  619  Cherokee  street;  Cora,  wife  of  Arthur  Laird;  Maude, 
wife  of  C.  H.  Masterson,  of  the  Leavenworth  Motor  Company. 

Thomas  J.  Brown  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  Leavenworth 
and  also  attended  the  Central  Business  College,  now  known  as  the  Leaven- 
worth Commercial  Training  School.  He  then  attended  Professor  Skel- 
ton's  School  of  Telegraphy  at  Salina,  Kansas.     The  next  four  years  were 


342  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY 

spent  in  the  employ  of  the  Burlington  Railroad  as  telegraph  operator  and 
station  agent.  He  was  then  in  the  dairy  business  with  his  brother,  L.  F. 
Brown,  in  Leavenworth,  for  two  years.  In  1898  he  was  appointed  deputy 
sheriff  under  Peter  Everhardy,  serving  under  him  for  five  years,  then 
for  four  years  he  served  under  Sheriff  Stance  Meyers.  He  was  then  elected 
to  the  office  of  sheriff  in  1907  and  was  re-elected  in  1909,  and  at  the  expira- 
tion of  this  term  he  acted  as  deputy  sheriff  under  Thomas  Larkin. 

In  February,  1915,  Mr.  Brown  bought  an  interest  in  the  Hippodrome 
from  Frank  J.  Warren,  who  continued  as  his  partner.  They  have  two 
shows  every  afternoon  and  evening  of  the  week  with  the  exception  of 
Saturdays  and  Sundays,  when  the  show  is  continuous. 

Thomas  J.  Brown  was  married  to  Anna  K.  Taschetta,  April  17,  1899. 
She  is  the  daughter  of  Peter  Taschetta  and  wife,  both  of  whom  are  de- 
ceased. Mrs.  Brown  was  bom  in  Leavenworth,  Kansas.  Two  children 
have  been  born  to  this  union,  Felix  P.,  a  graduate  of  the  Leavenworth 
High  School,  and  Thomas  J.,  Jr.,  a  junior  in  the  Leavenworth  High  School. 

Mr.  Brown,  through  his  many  years  of  residence  and  public  life,  has 
many  friends  and  loyal  supporters. 


Mrs.  Grace  J,  Fisher  Potter,  the  capable  clerk  of  the  District  Court 
of  Leavenworth  County,  Kansas,  is  a  native  of  this  county  and  a  daugh- 
ter of  George  A.  and  Anna  B.  (Klaus)  Fisher,  pioneers  of  Leavenworth 
County.  Mr.  George  A.  Fisher  and  his  wife,  Anna  (Klaus)  Fisher,  were 
born  in  Pittsburgh,  Pennsylvania,  and  were  married  in  1862  and  immedi- 
ately after  their  marriage  left  the  paternal  roof  and  went  to  Dakota,  but 
as  they  were  not  pleased  with  the  outlook  of  a  home  in  this  state  they 
came  to  Leavenworth  County,  Kansas,  and  established  their  home.  They 
celebrated  their  golden  wedding  in  1912.  Mr.  Fisher  died  January  2, 
1914,  and  was  buried  in  Mt.  Muncie  Cemetery.  Mrs.  Anna  Fisher  lives 
at  1018  South  Third  street,  Leavenworth. 

George  Fisher  was  a  mechanical  engineer  and  established  the  Fisher 
Machine  Works.  In  this  business  Mr.  Fisher  earned  a  reputation  of  hon- 
esty and  great  business  ability.  This  business  was  founded  on  the  needs 
of  a  country  newly  opened  to  business  and  the  need  for  ice  machines  and 
refrigerators  was  met  by  the  Fisher  Machine  Works.  For  thirty  years 
Mr.  Fisher  labored  to  build  up  a  business  and  it  stands  high  in  industrial 
ranks  in  Kansas  today.     His  sons,  George  H.,  Arthur  J.  and  Richard  W., 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  343 

are  now  the  owners  of  the  machine  works  and  conducting  the  business 
with  the  same  business  acumen  as  their  father. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  George  Fisher  were  the  parents  of  fourteen  children, 
three  of  whom  died  in  infancy:  Walter  A.,  died  at  the  age  of  twenty- 
three  years;  Dora,  died  in  1907,  and  Harry  G.,  died  in  1914.  The  follow- 
ing children  are  living:  Mrs.  Emma  E.  Gist;  Mrs.  Minnie  C.  Biddle;  George 
H. ;  Arthur  J. ;  Ernest  F. ;  Mrs.  Grace  J.  Potter,  of  this  sketch ;  Clara  F., 
a  nurse  who  served  with  the  Red  Cross  one  year  in  France  and  is  now 
at  the  Research  Hospital,  Kansas  City,  Missouri,  and  Richard  W. 

Mrs.  Grace  J.  Potter  was  reared  in  Leavenworth  and  attended  the 
public  schools.  She  was  employed  by  the  "Kansas  City  Star"  for  a  year 
and  a  half  and  after  severing  her  connections  with  this  newspaper  she 
was  employed  by  the  Bell  Telephone  Company.  In  the  fall  of  1914,  Mrs. 
Potter  was  elected  clerk  of  the  District  Court  of  Leavenworth  County 
and  has  filled  the  position  so  capably  that  she  was  re-elected  in  1916  and 
1920  without  opposition.  She  has  won  many  friends  during  her  term  of 
office  and  is  always  courteous  and  efficient.  She  was  married  March  3, 
1921,  to  Mr.  O.  J.  Potter.  Mrs.  Potter  is  secretary  and  treasurer  of  the 
Woman's  Auxiliary  to  the  American  Legion  and  is  a  member  of  the 
Business  Women's  Club.  She  is  also  an  active  member  of  the  Order  of 
the  Eastern  Star. 


Henry  C.  Arring,  of  the  Arring  Cigar  Company,  is  a  native  of  Leav- 
enworth, Kansas,  born  March  11,  1887.  He  is  the  son  of  August  and 
Mary  (Hokaup)  Arring,  of  Leavenworth,  the  former  a  native  of  Germany 
and  the  latter  a  daughter  of  Henry  Hokaup,  an  early  pioneer  tailor,  who 
located  in  Leavenworth  when  the  Indians  were  here.  Among  Mary 
Hokaup's  childhood  remembrances  were  the  Indians,  with  whom  she 
played.  When  Henry  Hokaup  first  came  to  Leavenworth,  there  was  little 
or  no  tailoring  to  do,  and  so  he  cut  wood  for  fifty  cents  per  day  for  a 
livelihood.     Henry  Hokaup  is  buried  at  Mt.  Muncie  cemetery. 

The  Arring  children  are:  Henry  C,  the  subject  of  this  sketch;  Carl, 
who  is  with  his  father  in  a  bakery  at  606  South  Fifth  street;  Henrietta, 
the  wife  of  Edward  L.  Mason,  of  Armourdale,  Kansas ;  Alma,  the  wife  of 
Anthony  Jellinek,  of  Leavenworth;  Mary  Belle,  a  clerk  in  her  father's 
store. 

Henry  C.  Arring  was  educated  in  the  Leavenworth,  Kansas,  schools 


344  HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

and  also  attended  the  Leavenworth  Business  College,  and  then  entered 
the  business  that  he  is  engaged  in  at  present.  The  Airing  Cigar  Company 
is  located  at  325  Delaware  street  and  was  established  by  Henry  C.  Arring 
on  South  Fifth  street,  February,  1917,  and  later  moved  to  208  South 
Fourth  street,  where  he  sold  out  his  business.  He  again  established  it 
at  its  present  location.  The  building  is  20x100  feet,  and,  in  addition  to 
handling  cigars,  tobacco  and  candy,  Mr.  Arring  operates  a  billiard  parlor 
with  five  tables.  This  is  one  of  the  most  popular  places  in  the  city.  He 
has  all  modern,  up-to-date  fixtures,  and  his  place  of  business  is  kept 
clean  and  inviting. 

Henry  C.  Arring  was  married  in  1910  to  Albertha  Schuller,  who  is 
deceased.  They  had  one  son,  Henry.  Mr.  Arring  again  married  in  1920 
to  Mrs.  Mabel  E.  Thomas,  of  Leavenworth,  a  daughter  of  Harry  and 
Margaret  Schmidt.  Mrs.  Arring  has  a  daughter  by  her  first  marriage, 
Dorothy. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Arring  reside  at  510  Chestnut  street.  Mr.  Arring  is 
a  young  and  prosperous  business  man.  He  is  building  an  excellent  busi- 
ness in  his  new  location. 


Cassius  M.  Barnes,  governor  of  Oklahoma  from  1897  to  1901,  now 
manager  of  the  Postal  Telegraph  Cable  Company  of  Leavenworth,  Kansas, 
which  position  he  has  very  capably  filled  for  the  past  three  years,  was  born 
in  Livingston  County,  New  York,  August  25,  1845.  He  is  the  son  of 
Henry  H.  and  Samantha  (Boyd)  Barnes,  the  former  a  native  of  New  York, 
and  the  latter  of  Massachusetts.  Henry  H.  Barnes  was  a  farmer  and  mer- 
chant. He  and  his  wife  were  living  in  Calhoun  County,  Michigan,  at  the 
time  of  their  death. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Henry  Barnes  were  the  parents  of  the  following  chil- 
dren: D.  H.,  now  deceased,  who  served  in  the  Quartermaster  Corps  dur- 
ing the  Civil  War;  Major  Lucien  J.,  who  was  Assistant  Adjutant  General 
in  the  Union  Army  during  the  Civil  War,  and  who  is  also  deceased ;  Cas- 
sius M.,  the  subject  of  this  review;  Julius  A.,  who  lives  in  Duluth,  Minne- 
sota, and  Miss  Mary  L.  Barnes,  of  O'Fallon,  Illinois. 

Cassius  M.  Barnes  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  and  Wesleyan 
Seminary  at  Albion,  Michigan.  In  1861  he  enlisted  at  Battle  Creek,  Mich- 
igan, in  the  Battle  Creek  Engineers,  an  independent  company,  which 
served  under  John  C.  Fremont  in  Missouri  for  105  days,  and  was  mus- 


C.    M.    P.AKNKS 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  345 

tered  out  by  reason  of  the  organization  of  the  United  States  Signal  Corps, 
and,  during  the  remainder  of  the  war,  he  served  as  military  telegrapher, 
and  clerk  in  the  Quartermaster  department. 

About  the  year  1857  the  Western  Union  Telegraph  Company  was 
extended  from  St.  Louis  via  Jefferson  City,  Lexington  and  Independence, 
Missouri  over  a  country  road  to  Leavenworth,  Kansas,  and  Mr.  Barnes 
came  with  Mr.  Clowry,  who  was  superintendent  of  the  western  division, 
to  Leavenworth  and  opened  up  the  first  telegraph  office  at  that  place,  near 
the  Planters  Hotel.  Owing  to  ill  health,  Mr.  Barnes  returned  to  Michigan 
and  later  went  to  Galena,  Illinois,  and  then  to  St.  Louis  and  was  engaged 
in  telegraph  service  and  accompanied  General  Lyon  on  his  trip  to  South- 
western Missouri  as  telegrapher  and  private  secretary,  and  was  at  the 
Battle  of  Wilson  Creek,  where  General  Lyon  was  killed.  Mr.  Barnes 
afterward  went  to  St.  Louis  on  military  telegraphic  service  and  was  at- 
tached to  General  Grant's  Headquarters,  also  General  Sherman's  Head- 
quarters in  Tennessee,  returning  to  St.  Louis  at  General  Holleck's  Head- 
quarters. From  there  he  went  to  Little  Rock,  Arkansas,  to  settle  up  the 
Quartermaster  business  with  various  military  organizations  that  had  gone 
south  under  General  Reynolds. 

Cassius  M.  Barnes  was  married  in  1868  at  Little  Rock,  Arkansas,  to 
Mary  E.  Bartlett,  a  daughter  of  Judge  Liberty  Bartlett.  Mrs.  Barnes  died 
in  1908  at  Guthrie,  Oklahoma,  and  Mr.  Barnes,  in  1910,  married  Rebecca 
Forney,  a  native  of  Tennessee.  By  his  first  marriage,  Mr.  Barnes  had 
the  following  children:  Cassius  Bartlett,  a  retired  commander  in  the 
United  States  Navy,  and  a  broker  in  New  York  at  present ;  Henry  Cooper, 
a  Colonel  in  the  United  States  Coast  Artillery  at  Washington,  D.  C. ;  Eliza 
Louise,  wife  of  Carl  R.  Havighorst,  of  Spokane,  Washington. 

Cassius  Barnes  served  eight  years  as  chief  deputy  United  States  mar- 
shal at  Ft.  Smith,  Arkansas,  and  intelligently  discharged  the  duties  of  that 
office.  He  went  to  Oklahoma  in  April,  1889,  and  was  receiver  of  the  United 
States  land  office  at  Guthrie,  having  been  appointed  by  President  Harrison. 
While  performing  the  duties  of  this  position,  he  took  a  leading  part 
in  the  organization  of  the  territory,  then  known  as  Indian  Territory.  He 
served  in  the  Third  and  Fourth  Legislative  Assembly  as  representative 
from  the  Guthrie  District,  and  was  speaker  of  the  House  of  Representa- 
tives in  the  Third  Legislative  Assembly.  Because  of  the  work  he  had 
done,  he  was  honored  by  President  McKinley  who  appointed  him  governor 
of  the  Territory,  in  1897,  and  served  in  that  capacity  for  four  years.    After 


346  HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

retiring  as  governor,  he  organized  the  Logan  County  Bank  at  Guthrie, 
and  was  its  president  for  several  years.  He  was  also  mayor  of  Guthrie 
three  terms.  Mr.  Barnes  spent  two  winters  in  Washington  in  an  endeavor 
to  get  the  Statehood  Bill  passed,  and  this  bill  was  passed  in  1906.  He  also 
spent  one  winter  in  Albuquerque,  New  Mexico,  returning  to  Oklahoma. 
He  moved  to  Emporia,  Kansas,  in  1914,  and  to  Leavenworth  in  1917,  where 
he  has  purchased  a  home  and  intends  to  live  the  remainder  of  his  life.  He 
resides  at  212  Second  Avenue. 

Although  Mr.  Barnes  is  seventy-five  years  of  age,  he  is  very  active. 
He  has  lived  a  long  and  useful  life  and  still  exercises  the  vim  that  he 
possessed  in  the  early  days.  Mr.  Barnes  has  a  keen  memory  and  recalls 
many  incidents  of  pioneer  days  of  Leavenworth.  The  wonderful  change 
of  this  city  is  appreciated  by  him  more  than  by  those  who  have  not  seen 
both  pioneer  and  modern  Leavenworth.  He  has  an  extensive  acquaintance 
and  many  friends,  not  only  in  Leavenworth  but  throughout  the  state  and 
country. 

Mr.  Barnes'  grandson,  Capt.  Harry  Cooper  Barnes,  served  very  notably 
in  the  World  War  and  was  wounded  at  Argonne  Forest.  He  received  the 
Distinguished  Service  medal  for  bravery.  He  is  now  in  the  United  States 
Army.  Captain  Barnes'  father  also  served  about  two  years  in  France. 
He  is  now  a  colonel  in  the  Coast  Artillery,  and  also  received  a  medal  for 
distinguished  service.  The  Barnes  family  have  won  many  honors,  both 
in  military  and  private  life. 


F.  M.  Potter,  vice-president  of  the  State  Savings  Bank  of  Leaven- 
worth, has  been  an  official  of  this  bank  since  October,  1913.  He  is  a 
native  Kansan  and  has  been  identified  with  the  line  of  stock  buying  for 
many  years. 

F.  M.  Potter  succeeded  T.  M.  Mains  as  cashier  of  the  State  Savings 
Bank  and  retained  this  position  until  he  was  promoted  to  the  vice-presi- 
dency. Mr.  0.  J.  Potter  succeeded  him  as  cashier  October  1,  1920.  The 
bank  has  been  a  growing  institution  under  the  able  hand  of  Mr.  Potter. 
The  deposits  in  October,  1913,  were  $105,777.26  and  in  August,  1920,  they 
had  increased  to  $1,229,962.93. 

F.  M.  Potter  was  born  September  14,  1883,  on  the  home  farm  in 
Walnut  Township,  Atchison  County,  Kansas.  He  is  the  only  child  and 
son  of  Tinsley  and  Fannie  (Faulconer)  Potter.     Tinsley  Potter  was  born 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY  347 

in  1851  in  Buchanan  County,  Missouri,  and  in  1856  came  to  Kansas  with 
his  parents.  They  settled  in  Walnut  Township,  Atchison  County.  His 
wife  Fannie  (Faulconer)  Potter  was  born  in  Missouri  the  daughter  of 
John  M.  and  Lorinda  Faulconer.  They  came  to  Atchison  County,  Kansas, 
when  their  daughter  was  three  years  old  They  were  among  the  early 
settlers  and  farmers  of  that  locality.  Tinsley  Potter  died  April  15,  1921. 
The  following  is  from  a  local  newspaper  at  the  time  of  his  death:  "The 
late  Tinsley  Potter,  of  Potter,  was  one  of  the  most  widely  known  cattle- 
men of  this  section.  He  began  buying  cattle  in  the  early  days  when  this 
county  was  an  unfenced  range  and  continued  in  the  business  until  recently. 
It  is  doubtful  if  any  man  in  Atchison  County  has  handled  more  cattle 
than  Tinsley  Potter.  He  was  in  the  saddle  most  of  his  life  and  in  point 
of  service  he  might  be  termed  Atchison  County's  oldest  'cowboy.'  He 
preferred  horseback  riding  to  any  other  method  of  travel,  even  after  the 
automobile  came  in  use,  and  made  most  of  his  buying  trips  on  horseback. 
Of  course,  in  rounding  up  and  driving  in  the  herd,  the  horse  was  essential, 
and  Mr.  Potter  was  as  expert  in  horsemanship  and  herding  as  any  cowboy 
on  the  job.  In  his  big  cattle  deals  he  has  ridden  over  much  of  the  terri- 
tory in  northeastern  Kansas,  and  on  many  of  his  trips  would  be  away 
from  home  for  several  days  at  a  time,  often  exposing  himself  to  the  se- 
vere weather.  As  a  cattleman  Mr.  Potter  was  very  successful.  Several 
years  ago  he  retired,  and  moved  to  the  city,  but  his  long  years  as  a  cattle 
buyer  had  so  inured  him  in  the  love  of  the  great  outdoors,  that  it  was  no 
time  until  it  was  back  to  the  farm  and  in  the  saddle  for  him.  Tinsley 
Potter  was  descended  from  a  long  line  of  pioneers  who  helped  to  conquer 
the  wilderness  and  build  an  empire  on  the  western  continent,  and  he  was 
imbued  with  the  same  sturdy  qualities  that  characterized  his  ancestors. 
He  did  much  for  the  development  of  the  community  in  which  he  lived  for 
sixty-five  years.  He  was  a  good,  substantial  citizen  and  will  be  missed  by 
a  wide  circle  of  friends." 

F.  M.  Potter  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  and  the  Campbell 
College  at  Holton,  Kansas.  After  leaving  school  he  taught  two  years  in 
the  rural  schools.  He  then  associated  himself  with  his  father,  Tinsley 
Potter,  in  the  stock  buying  business  until  he  accepted  the  position  as 
cashier  of  the  State  Savings  Bank  in  1920. 

In  1912  F.  M.  Potter  and  Miss  Alice  Ingles  were  united  in  marriage. 
She  is  a  daughter  of  J.  K.  and  Lina  (Dooley)  Ingles,  the  former  deceased 
and  the  latter  living  at  Atchison,  Kansas.     J.  K.  Ingles  was  an  early 


348  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

settler  and  farmer  of  Brown  County,  Kansas,  and  spent  his  latter  days 
in  Atchison  County.  His  death  occurred  in  December,  1919,  at  the  ad- 
vanced age  of  seventy  years.  Mrs.  Alice  (Ingles)  Potter  was  born  in 
Atchison  County,  Kansas. 

F.  M.  Potter  was  only  nine  years  old  when  he  first  helped  to  drive 
cattle  into  the  Broadway  Stock  Yards  at  Leavenworth.  His  father,  Tins- 
ley  Potter,  was  an  extensive  stockbuyer  and  his  trips  on  "Old  Roaney," 
his  favorite  riding  horse,  would  take  him  as  far  west  as  Concordia,  Kan- 
sas. This  horse  was  as  well  known  as  its  rider  to  the  farmers  of  the 
prairie.  Tinsley  Potter  and  his  son,  F.  M.,  have  the  reputation  of  hav- 
ing driven  more  cattle  in  the  Broadway  Stock  Yards  of  Leavenworth  than 
any  other  firm  of  buyers  in  this  part  of  the  country.  They  would  drive 
large  herds  in  each  week  for  months  at  a  time.  These  buying  trips  were 
extended  over  many  months,  requiring  many  days  and  weeks  in  the 
saddle  constantly. 

Before  bank  checks  were  used,  Tinsley  Potter  would  carry  his  money 
in  the  saddle  bags  in  large  rolls,  often  going  long  distances  with  a  large 
sum  of  money,  with  never  a  fear  of  being  robbed. 


Herbert  L.  Justus,  well  known  and  successful  photographer  located 
on  the  fourth  floor  of  the  Wulfekuhler  Bank  Building,  is  a  native  Kansan. 
He  was  born  August  6,  1882,  at  Minneapolis,  Kansas,  the  son  of  George 
H.  and  Jennie  S.  (Sutton)  Justus.  The  former  died  at  Minneapolis,  Kan- 
sas, in  1913,  and  the  latter  now  lives  at  Charlevoix,  Michigan. 

George  H.  Justus  was  born  in  Erie,  New  York,  and  came  to  Kansas 
in  the  fifties.  He  was  a  boot  and  shoemaker  and  followed  his  trade  at 
Junction  City,  Kansas.  While  there  he  made  a  pair  of  boots  for  the 
famous  Col.  W.  J.  Cody  and  other  well  known  plainsmen.  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
George  Justus  had  two  children,  as  follows:  Ethel,  wife  of  0.  D.  Lott, 
Minneapolis,  Kansas;  and  Herbert  L.,  the  subject  of  this  review. 

Herbert  L.  Justus  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  Minneapolis 
and  attended  the  high  school  for  two  years.  He  began  the  study  of 
photography  in  1897  and  continued  his  work  until  he  enlisted  from  Fort 
Scott,  Kansas,  in  1901.  He  was  placed  in  Company  D,  Twenty-eighth 
Regular  Infantry,  and  for  two  years  and  two  months  was  stationed  in 
the  Philippines.  When  he  was  discharged  at  Fort  Scott  he  held  the  rank 
of  quartermaster  sergeant. 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  349 

After  his  discharge  from  the  army,  Mr.  Justus  again  took  up  his  work 
in  photography.  He  was  then  employed  in  a  studio  in  San  Francisco, 
California,  for  one  year.  He  was  at  Minneapolis,  Kansas,  for  a  short 
time  and  spent  six  years  at  Emporia,  Kansas.  At  the  latter  place  he  did 
photographic  work  for  William  Allen  White  and  Walt  Mason.  In  1915 
Herbert  Justus  purchased  the  P.  H.  Bauers  Studio  at  Leavenworth,  Kan- 
sas. This  studio  consists  of  five  rooms,  equipped  with  the  finest  and  most 
modern  appliances  of  any  studio  in  the  state.  The  scope  of  the  business 
reaches  far  beyond  the  confines  of  the  county. 

December  9,  1907,  Herbert  L.  Justus  and  Verna  Hartzell  DeVinny 
were  united  in  marriage.  She  is  a  daughter  of  William  and  Annette  Hol- 
comb,  of  Lincoln,  Kansas.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Justus  have  one  daughter,  Eva 
Jeannette. 

Mr.  Justus  is  a  Knights  Templar  Mason  and  a  Shriner,  also  a  mem- 
ber of  the  Rotary  Club,  in  which  he  takes  an  active  part. 


Charles  D.  Townsend,  manager  of  the  Lyceum  Moving  Picture  Show 
for  the  C.  F.  Mensing  Amusement  Company,  was  born  in  Georgetown, 
Virginia,  December  15,  1883. 

He  is  the  son  of  T.  T.  and  Margaret  Townsend,  the  former  being 
dead.     Mrs.  Townsend  later  married  A.  L.  Foster  and  lives  at  Scott,  Ohio. 

Charles  D.  Townsend  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  Ohio.  He 
left  home  at  the  age  of  thirteen  years  and  made  his  way  until  seventeen 
years  of  age,  when  he  entered  the  United  States  Army,  January  31,  1900. 
He  was  sent  to  the  Philippine  Islands  with  Company  M,  Thirtieth  Infantry, 
and  later  he  was  with  Company  M,  Eighteenth  Infantry,  and  Company  I, 
Engineers.  Mr.  Townsend  was  in  the  Philippine  service  three  years  and 
ten  months,  during  which  time  he  went  around  the  world.  He  was  serv- 
ing his  fourth  enlistment  when  discharged,  December  4,  1909.  He  wanted 
to  enlist  in  the  late  World  War,  but,  on  account  of  his  excess  weight,  he 
was  prevented  from  doing  so. 

Shortly  after  leaving  the  army  Mr.  Townsend  located  at  Leaven- 
worth, and  was  employed  as  operator  of  a  moving  picture  show  by  Ed 
Lampson,  the  first  successful  show  in  the  town.  The  Lyceum,  of  which 
he  has  been  manager  since  1914,  is  one  of  the  most  popular  show  houses 
of  the  city,  and  has  a  seating  capacity  of  796.  He  has  a  thorough  knowl- 
edge of  the  picture  show  business,  which,  together  with  his  energetic 
disposition,  has  made  him  very  successful. 


350  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

Mr.  Townsend  was  married  June  17,  1913,  to  Mabel  Fewing,  a  daugh- 
ter of  Mrs.  Emma  Fewing,  of  Leavenworth,  Kansas.  Mrs.  Fewing  was 
born  in  Atchison,  Kansas. 

Two  children  were  born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Townsend:  Charles  D.,  Jr., 
born  on  his  father's  birthday,  December  15,  1914,  and  Margaret  Emma. 
The  family  reside  at  314  Main  street. 


John  G.  Barnes,  an  efficient  and  enterprising  contractor  of  Fourth 
and  Walnut  streets,  Leavenworth,  Kansas,  was  born  at  Mt.  Union,  Penn- 
sylvania, May  17,  1870,  a  son  of  Joseph  and  Anna  (Graham)  Barnes,  who 
came  to  Leavenworth  in  1870,  Mr.  Barnes  dying  in  1872.  Mrs.  Barnes 
now  resides  with  her  daughter,  Mrs.  Frank  Bott,  in  Oklahoma.  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  Barnes  were  the  parents  of  five  children:  Robert  Barnes,  a  stove 
molder  who  died  at  Hannibal,  Missouri,  in  1920;  Joseph  and  William, 
farmers  of  Lawton,  Oklahoma;  Jennie,  wife  of  Frank  Bott,  of  Lawton, 
Oklahoma;  and  John  Gay  ton  Barnes,  the  subject  of  this  sketch. 

John  G.  Barnes  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  Leavenworth, 
Kansas,  and  learned  his  trade  as  a  contractor  and  builder  in  Kansas  City, 
Missouri,  with  John  L.  Smith,  and  for  a  number  of  years  followed  his 
trade  in  Louisiana.  He  was  superintendent  of  the  Leavenworth  Oil 
Works  from  1892  to  1896,  and  at  the  age  of  twenty-eight  years  began 
contracting.  He  has  constructed  the  Signal  Corps  Barracks  at  Fort  Leav- 
enworth; Hospital  Power  Plant,  Quartermaster  Store,  Quartermaster 
Shops,  Engineer  Shops,  Engineers'  Barracks  and  kitchens,  forty-six  of 
the  Signal  Corps  Cantonment  buildings,  which,  by  the  way,  were  built  in 
forty-five  days  in  1917.  He  put  in  seventy-four  officers'  apartments  in 
the  Barracks  buildings  in  1919,  and  built  the  thirteen  buildings  at  the 
Disciplinary  Barracks,  which  were  constructed  to  be  used  as  detention 
barracks  for  conscientious  objectors.  He  has  done  work  at  Fort  Russell 
and  built  numerous  buildings  around  the  city  of  Leavenworth,  among 
them  being  the  plant  for  the  Schalker  Packing  Company,  Evans'  Garage, 
L.  Wulfekuhler  residence,  0.  P.  Lambert  residence,  The  Leavenworth 
Motor  Company  building  (in  1918)  which  he  owns.  This  building  is 
96x120  feet,  three  stories,  and  of  concrete  construction  and  is  considered 
one  of  the  best  in  the  state.  Mr.  Barnes  has  also  worked  on  or  remodeled 
many  of  the  buildings  in  Fort  Leavenworth,  and  has  done  much  con- 
struction work  at  the  National  Military  Home  south  of  Leavenworth.  Mr. 
Barnes  is  considered  one  of  the  best  contractors  in  the  state. 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  351 

He  was  married  in  1906  to  Jessie  Forbes,  and  maintained  his  resi- 
dence on  the  old  homestead,  south  of  the  city.  Mrs.  Barnes  died  October 
1,  1910.  One  son,  John  Gayton  Barnes,  Jr.,  was  born  to  them,  April  1,  1910. 

Mr.  Barnes  was  again  married  October  14,  1916,  to  Hazel  Shoemaker, 
of  Leavenworth,  a  daughter  of  William  and  Annie  D.  Shoemaker,  the 
former  with  the  Samuel  Dodsworth  Book  Company  during  his  lifetime. 
He  and  his  wife  are  now  deceased.  Hazel  Elizabeth,  born  February  8, 
1918,  and  Charlotte  Jane,  born  January  10,  1920,  are  daughters,  and  the 
family  resides  at  Fourth  and  Walnut  streets,  Leavenworth,  Kansas,  and 
are  among  the  city's  most  substantial  citizens. 

Mr.  Barnes  is  a  director  and  an  active  member  of  the  Leavenworth 
Chamber  of  Commerce,  a  member  of  the  A.  F.  &  A.  M.  Blue  Lodge,  a 
member  of  Abdallah  Temple,  A.  A.  O.  N.  M.  S.,  and  a  member  of  the 
building  committee  of  the  Abdallah  Shrine.  He  is  a  director  and  vice- 
president  of  the  State  Savings  Bank,  and  is  now  in  charge  of  the  remodel- 
ing of  their  new  home  at  the  northeast  corner  of  Fifth  avenue  and  Dela- 
ware street.  He  was  one  of  the  organizers  of  the  Leavenworth  Motor 
Company,  and  is  its  president. 

Mr.  Barnes  has  done  a  vast  amount  of  constructing  and  building, 
and  is  one  of  the  most  prominent  men  in  his  line  of  work  in  the  state. 


Charles  Edward  Curtin,  a  native  of  Leavenworth,  Kansas,  is  a  well 
known  and  successful  mechanic,  and  is  the  vice-president  of  the  Leaven- 
worth Motor  Company.  He  was  born  in  Leavenworth,  Kansas,  May  27, 
1886,  and  is  the  son  of  Charles  and  Catherine  (Cronin)  Curtin,  both  of 
whom  live  at  720  Kiowa  street,  Leavenworth.  Charles  Curtin  was  born 
in  County  Cork,  in  1860,  and  his  wife  was  born  in  Baltimore,  Maryland. 
They  were  married  at  Fort  Leavenworth,  Kansas,  in  1882,  and  the  fol- 
lowing children  were  born  to  them :  Josephine,  the  wife  of  D.  E.  Connole, 
of  Kansas  City,  Missouri ;  May,  wife  of  Dr.  J.  W.  Risdon,  of  Leavenworth ; 
Charles  Edward,  the  subject  of  this  sketch,  and  William  Thomas,  of  716 
Kiowa  street,  Leavenworth.  Mr.  Curtin  is  an  engineer  on  the  Union 
Pacific  railroad. 

Charles  Edward  Curtin  was  educated  at  the  Cathedral  School  of 
Leavenworth,  and  was  graduated  in  1903.  He  then  took  a  course  in  the 
Leavenworth  Business  College  under  Professor  Leach,  after  which  he  was 
with  the  Fisher  Machine  Works  for  four  years,  completing  his  apprentice- 


352  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

ship  as  mechanic  in  1907.  He  was  with  the  Great  Western  Manufactur- 
ing Company  for  two  years,  and  with  the  Hesse  Motor  Car  Company  of 
Leavenworth  for  ten  years.  He  has  been  associated  with  the  Leaven- 
worth Motor  Company  since  its  organization  in  June,  1918,  and  due  to  his 
consideration  and  courtesy  and  ability  as  mechanic,  has  materially  as- 
sisted in  increasing  the  trade  from  year  to  year. 

Mr.  Curtin  was  married  in  1910  to  Mary  Michalak,  a  daughter  of' 
Frank  and  Barbara  (Swanak)  Michalak,  the  latter  being  dead  and  the 
former  living  in  Leavenworth.  Mr.  Curtin  is  a  member  of  the  Knights 
of  Columbus  and  is  one  of  Leavenworth's  most  substantial  citizens. 


Ira  N.  Chapman  is  the  prominent  and  efficient  county  agricultural 
agent  of  Leavenworth  County.  He  was  born  in  Rockford,  Illinois,  August 
10,  1877,  the  son  of  S.  H.  and  Abigail  (Higgins)  Chapman.  His  father 
was  a  veteran  of  the  Civil  War,  belonging  to  the  Second  New  York  Volun- 
teer Cavalry.  After  the  war,  he  engaged  in  farming  and  died  in  1906  at 
Milford,  Kansas.  Abigail  Chapman  is  a  native  of  Pennsylvania  and  is 
now  living  at  Milford. 

Ira  N.  Chapman  reecived  his  preliminary  education  in  the  common 
schools  of  Kansas.  He  then  attended  the  State  Normal  School  at  Emporia, 
Kansas,  for  two  and  one-half  years.  He  finished  his  education  at  the 
State  Agricultural  College,  graduating  in  1916,  having  entered  this  school 
in  1914.  In  the  summer  of  1916  he  was  with  the  farm  management  de- 
partment as  assistant  farm  management  demonstrator,  and  in  September, 
1916,  he  came  to  Leavenworth  as  county  agent. 

Mr.  Chapman  was  married  June,  1906  to  Florence  Edelblute  of  Keats, 
Kansas,  a  daughter  of  Henry  and  Sarah  (Knapp)  Edelblute,  the  latter 
deceased.  Her  father  lives  at  Manhattan,  Kansas.  They  were  among  the 
first  settlers  of  Wild  Cat  Valley,  Riley  County,  Kansas. 

During  Mr.  Chapman's  few  years  as  county  agent,  a  number  of  ac- 
complishments have  been  made.  He  organized  seventeen  canning  clubs 
in  the  county  in  1917  and  was  instrumental  in  organizing  ten  clubs,  be- 
sides, in  the  city.  At  the  close  of  1917  two  assistants  were  employed,  but 
one  has  been  discontinued  since  the  war  closed. 

The  live  stock  work  has  been  a  leading  feature,  five  Pure  Bred  Hol- 
stein  Calf  Clubs  and  three  Pure  Bred  Shorthorn  Calf  and  Cow  Clubs  hav- 
ing been  formed.    Mr.  Chapman  has  also  been  the  means  of  starting  pure 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  353 

bred  sales  in  the  county,  which  are  doing  a  great  deal  toward  the  advance- 
ment of  pure  breeding.  Mr.  Chapman  was  instrumental  in  assisting  in 
the  organization  of  the  Missouri  and  Kansas  Dairy  Producers'  Association 
in  1917  at  Lansing,  Kansas,  with  a  membership  of  forty-three.  This 
county  now  has  seven  locals  and  the  organization  has  spread  in  eastern 
Kansas  and  western  Missouri  until  the  present  membership  is  1,200,  with 
a  capitalization  of  $200,000.00.  The  company  operates  a  plant  in  Kansas 
City,  Missouri,  which  was  purchased  from  Morrison  and  Company  for 
$146,000.00. 

In  addition  to  these  outstanding  features,  there  has  been  a  continu- 
ous line  of  work  in  progress  in  livestock  improvement,  soil  testing,  disease 
control,  orchard  management  and  other  problems  of  rural  life. 

Mr.  Chapman  is  well  qualified  for  the  responsible  position  he  holds, 
being  thoroughly  educated  along  farm  lines,  and  also  having  the  initiative 
to  organize  and  instruct.  He  is  a  member  of  the  Ancient  Free  and  Ac- 
cepted Masons. 


Peter  Everhardy,  commissioner  of  finance  of  Leavenworth,  Kansas, 
is  one  of  the  best  known  men  of  that  city,  and  is  respected  by  all.  He  is 
a  native  of  Ohio,  born  in  Hamilton  County,  October  27,  1847,  the  son 
of  Matt  and  Margaret  (Kommer)  Everhardy.  The  former  was  a  pioneer 
of  Cincinnati,  locating  there  in  1837  when  the  city  was  in  its  infancy, 
and  lived  there  until  his  death  in  1866.     His  wife  died  in  1854. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Matt  Everhardy  were  the  parents  of  the  following 
children:  Matt,  who  died  in  California  in  1905;  Mrs.  Josephine  Paff,  de- 
ceased; Mrs.  Agnes  Haag,  of  Leavenworth;  Peter,  the  subject  of  this 
sketch;  and  Jacob,  who  died  in  California  a  few  years  ago.  The  latter 
left  Ft.  Leavenworth,  accompanied  by  Matt  Ryan,  in  1865  for  Ft.  Larimie, 
Wyoming,  and,  on  arriving  there,  the  war  had  closed  and  prices  had 
fallen  to  less  than  one-half,  losing  them  about  $30,000.00.  They  sold 
their  wagons  for  twenty-five  dollars,  which  cost  them  $275.  Jacob  Ever- 
hardy eventually  located  in  California,  where  he  engaged  in  horticultural 
work  until  his  death. 

Peter  Everhardy  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  Cincinnati, 
Ohio.  He  came  to  Leavenworth  September  2,  1866,  and  learned  the 
butcher  trade  with  his  brother,  Jacob.  He  sold  out  in  1917,  after  fifty 
years  of  successful  business.     Peter  Everhardy  is  a  public  spirited  man. 

(19) 


354  HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

He  has  served  the  city  of  Leavenworth  three  terms  as  councilman  for  the 
Fourth  ward,  and  two  terms  as  sheriff  of  the  county,  from  1898  to  1903. 
After  serving  as  sheriff,  he  was  elected  mayor  for  two  terms.  In  April, 
1919,  he  was  elected  to  his  present  position,  commissioner  of  finance  and 
revenue.  Mr.  Everhardy,  by  his  rugged  honesty  and  straightforward 
conduct,  has  taken  a  place  at  the  front  rank  of  Kansas  pioneers,  who  the 
people  delight  to  honor.  He  is  a  capable  and  conscientious  public  officer, 
and  his  administration  of  the  affairs  has  always  met  with  approval.  He 
served  as  jury  commissioner  during  the  Populist  administration  of  Gov- 
ernor Llewellen,  Morris  Franks,  of  Fairmount,  serving  with  him. 

Mr.  Everhardy  was  married  February  20,  1873,  to  Elizabeth  Naegel, 
a  native  of  Cincinnati.  She  came  to  Leavenworth  in  1868  with  Joe 
Whittaker's  family.  Mrs.  Everhardy  died  November  28,  1908,  and  is 
buried  at  Mt.  Calvary  Cemetery.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Everhardy  are  the  par- 
ents of  five  children :  Mary  and  Clara,  both  at  home ;  Blanche,  a  stenog- 
rapher for  the  Santa  Fe  Railroad  at  Leavenworth;  Dr.  J.  L.,  of  Leaven- 
worth, who  married  Louise  Hesse,  a  daughter  of  W.  G.  Hesse,  a  pioneer 
of  Leavenworth;  and  Louise  H.,  who  is  art  teacher  at  State  Agricultural 
College  at  Manhattan,  Kansas.  Mr.  Everhardy  and  daughters  live  at 
510  Seneca  street. 


Dr.  J.  L.  Everhardy,  a  well  known  and  successful  physician  of  Leav- 
enworth, Kansas,  is  a  native  of  this  state.  He  was  educated  in  the 
Leavenworth  schools  and  at  St.  Mary's  College,  St.  Mary's-,  Kansas,  re- 
ceiving his  A.  B.  degree  in  1893  and  A.  M.  degree  in  1895.  He  was  grad- 
uated from  the  University  Medical  College,  Kansas  City,  Missouri,  in 
1897,  and  also  studied  under  the  late  Dr.  J.  W.  Brock,  who  died  November 
26,  1900. 

Dr.  Everhardy  has  been  practicing  at  Leavenworth  since  1897.  He 
is  a  capable  physician,  has  a  large  practice,  and  stands  high  in  the 
community. 

During  the  World  War  Dr.  Everhardy  was  medical  examiner  for  the 
Local  Draft  Board,  having  been  appointed  by  Governor  Capper.  He  was 
secretary  of  the  Medical  Advisory  Board  No.  2  of  Kansas,  and  also  A. 
A.  S.,  United  States  Public  Health  Service  in  1917  and  1918.  He  also 
worked  under  the  Department  of  Justice  and  in  the  American  Red  Cross. 
He  is  a  member  of  the  Medical  Section,  Kansas  Council  of  Defense. 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  355 

For  the  past  twelve  years  Dr.  Everhardy  has  been  secretary  of  the 
Leavenworth  County  Medical  Society,  and  secretary  for  the  Northeast 
Kansas  Medical  Society  for  six  years  and  is  now  serving  his  third  term  as 
vice-president  of  the  Kansas  State  Medical  Society.  He  was  secretary  of 
the  Kansas  Tuberculosis  Association  for  eight  years,  and  has  filled  the 
offices  of  city  health  officer,  police  surgeon  and  county  health  officer,  and 
is  now  secretary  of  the  United  States  Board  of  Examining  Surgeons.  He 
has  held  the  last  office  since  1905.  In  1916  and  1917  Dr.  Everhardy 
served  as  president  of  the  Kansas  Public  Health  Officers'  Association ;  also 
served  during  the  World  War  on  the  Council  of  National  Defense.  He 
was  county  organizer  of  the  Volunteer  Medical  Service  corps'  of  the 
United  States. 

Dr.  Everhardy  is  untiring  in  his  professional  duties  and,  because  of 
his  extensive  practice  and  the  large  number  of  offices  he  has  filled,  he  has 
a  large  acquaintance  in  Leavenworth  and  the  state. 


Dr.  Thomas  John  Boone,  a  popular  young  dentist  of  Leavenworth, 
with  offices  in  the  Axa  building,  was  born  in  Lansing,  Kansas,  May  2, 
1893.  He  is  the  son  of  T.  J.  and  Theresa  (Ruckel)  Boone,  who  reside 
in  Lansing. 

T.  J.  Boone  was  born  in  County  Tyrone,  Ireland,  November  28,  1866, 
and  came  to  America  in  1882.  His  wife  was  born  in  Junction  City,  Kan- 
sas, July  26,  1872.  They  are  the  parents  of  the  following  children:  Dr. 
Thomas  J.,  the  subject  of  this  sketch;  Grace,  who  lives  with  her  parents 
and  teaches  in  the  Lansing  schools ;  Winfield,  a  cadet  at  West  Point,  New 
York,  and  Cornelius,  at  home.  Mr.  Boone  is  now  employed  as  guard  at 
the  State  Penitentiary  at  Lansing. 

Dr.  Thomas  J.  Boone  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  Kansas, 
and  was  graduated  from  the  Lansing  High  School  in  1912,  and  from  the 
Kansas  City  Dental  College  in  1918,  after  which  he  taught  for  three  years 
in  Kansas  City,  Missouri.  He  began  the  practice  of  dentistry  in  Septem- 
ber, 1919,  upon  his  return  from  the  United  States  service. 

Dr.  Boone  enlisted  in  September,  1917,  for  service  in  the  World  War, 
and  was  sent  to  Camp  Funston  with  the  353rd  Infantry.  He  was  there 
until  in  December,  1917,  when  he  was  transferred  to  the  Reserve  Corps, 
and,  in  June,  1918,  was  stationed  at  Kansas  City,  Missouri,  and,  from 
there,  to  Camp  Greenleaf,  Ft.  Oglethorpe,  Georgia,  until  June  22,  1919, 
when  he  was  discharged  at  Ft.  Leavenworth,  Kansas. 

Dr.  Boone  is  a  charter  member  of  the  Byron  H.  Mehl  Post  of  the 


356  HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY 

American  Legion ;  a  member  of  the  Knights  of  Columbus,  Benevolent  and 
Protective  Order  of  Elks  and  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen.  He 
is  a  very  progressive  young  man,  both  in  his  profession,  and  in  affairs  of 
Leavenworth,  and,  because  of  his  ability  has  a  bright  future. 


Carl  and  Ernest  Hunnius,  jewelers,  located  at  104  North  Fifth  street, 
Leavenworth,  Kansas,  are  capable  and  successful  business  men.  The  firm 
established  by  Carl  Hunnius  twenty-seven  years  ago  has  won  a  reputation 
of  fair  and  honest  dealing  and  has  grown  as  the  years  have  gone  by. 
Carl  Hunnius  was  born  in  Leavenworth,  Kansas,  October  25,  1872,  the 
son  of  Ado  and  Bertha  (Baechle)  Hunnius. 

Ado  Hunnius  wts  born  at  Leipsic,  Germany,  in  1842,  and  came  to 
this  country  in  1858.  During  the  Civil  War  he  enlisted  in  the  Fifty- 
fourth  New  York  Volunteer  Infantry  and  served  during  the  war.  He 
received  a  wound  in  the  limb  but  was  otherwise  unhurt  during  his  years 
of  service.  After  the  war  he  came  to  Fort  Leavenworth,  where  he  was 
located  until  1876,  riding  a  mile  to  and  from  his  business  from  his  home 
on  Osage  street.  Later  he  went  into  business  in  Leavenworth,  conducting 
a  toy  store  and  news  stand.  Later  he  conducted  a  book  and  stationery 
store  and  the  state  agency  for  school  books.  He  retired  from  active 
business  in  1909.  He  is  one  of  the  interesting  pioneers,  being  very  well 
posted  on  early  day  history.  Despite  his  seventy-nine  years,  he  is  still 
interested  in  the  present  as  well  as  the  past. 

Mrs.  Bertha  (Baechle)  Hunnius  is  a  native  of  Switzerland,  born  in 
1848.  She  is  the  daughter  of  Meinrud  and  Marie  Baechle,  who  came  to 
this  country  when  she  was  a  year  old.  They  settled  at  St.  Joseph,  Mis- 
souri, where  they  lost  all  their  worldly  possessions  during  the  Civil  War. 
They  moved  to  Leavenworth,  Kansas,  where  they  established  a  hotel  and 
boarding  house,  and  are  both  now  deceased. 

Four  children  were  bom  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Adolph  Hunnius,  as  follows : 
Carl,  subject  of  this  review;  Herman,  with  the  Abernathy  Furniture  Com- 
pany; Ernest,  of  this  review;  and  Elizabeth,  wife  of  A.  S.  Hatton,  in  the 
grocery  and  confectionery  business,  Leavenworth,  Kansas. 

Carl  Hunnius  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  Leavenworth. 
He  graduated  from  the  Horological  Institute  of  Peoria,  Illinois,  in  1893. 
Prior  to  this,  when  Carl  Hunnius  was  sixteen  years  of  age,  he  worked 
two  years  as  an  apprentice  for  J.  A.  Schmidt  and  two  years  for  W.  A. 


HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  357 

Kirkham.  The  first  six  months  he  worked  without  pay,  the  next  six 
months  for  $1.50  a  week  and  at  the  end  of  four  years  was  getting  $5.00 
a  week.  When  he  was  twenty-one  years  of  age  he  started  his  business 
at  104  North  Fifth  street  and  three  years  later  moved  to  104  South  Fifth 
street,  where  he  is  now  located.  The  first  year  he  was  in  business  his 
place  was  robbed  of  everything  which  he  possessed.  Today  he  has  an 
excellent  line  of  goods  and  a  first  class  trade. 

Carl  Hunnius  is  a  member  of  the  Knights  of  Columbus  and  the  Mod- 
ern Woodmen  of  America  and  the  Security  Benefit  Association.  For  two 
years  Mr.  Hunnius  was  captain  of  the  drill  team  for  this  lodge,  resigning 
in  1919.  He  is  now  and  for  the  past  fourteen  years  captain  of  the  Mod- 
ern Woodmen  of  America  drill  team. 

Ernest  Hunnius  was  born  June  9,  1877,  and  received  his  education 
in  the  Leavenworth  public  schools  and  the  Bradley  Horological  Institute, 
graduating  in  1900.  He  has  since  been  employed  by  his  brother,  Carl 
Hunnius. 

June  14,  1905,  Ernest  Hunnius  and  Sarah  Weisman  were  united  in 
marriage.  She  died  August  20,  1910,  leaving  two  sons:  Oscar,  born 
September  27,  1907,  and  Tracy,  born  January  8,  1909.  They  are  students 
in  the  Leavenworth  public  schools. 

Carl  and  Ernest  Hunnius  are  good  substantial  business  men?  who 
have  aided  in  the  building  of  the  city  of  Leavenworth,  Kansas. 


Dr.  A.  R.  Adams,  acting  surgeon  for  the  Santa  Fe  railroad,  with 
offices  in  the  Axa  building  in  Leavenworth,  Kansas,  is  one  of  the  skilled 
and  widely  known  physicians  and  surgeons  of  this  part  of  Kansas.  He  is 
a  native  of  Kansas,  born  in  Jewell  County,  July  17,  1879,  the  son  of  J.  W. 
and  Mary  (Lane)  Adams.  The  former  was  a  native  of  Kentucky,  born 
in  1849,  reared  in  Illinois,  and  now  lives  in  Leavenworth.  His  wife  was 
born  in  Illinois  in  1852  and  died  in  July,  1912.  She  is  buried  at  Lebanon, 
Kansas.  They  came  to  Kansas  in  1872  and  entered  land  in  Jewell  County. 
He  egaged  in  the  mercantile  business  at  Salem,  Kansas,  and  later  at  Leba- 
non, Kansas.  He  was  postmaster  of  Lebanon  for  nearly  eight  years, 
during  President  Wilson's  administration.  The  Adams  children  are:  E. 
W.,  barber  of  Topeka,  Kansas;  Fred  W.,  merchant  of  Formosa,  Kansas; 
Dr.  W.  A.,  of  Denver,  Colorado;  Dr.  A.  R.,  the  subject  of  this  sketch; 
Love,  the  wife  of  Leonard  Asper,  of  Manley,  Iowa;  Carmen,  the  wife  of 


358  HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

William  Tilsey,  of  Manley,  Iowa ;  and  Bertha,  the  wife  of  John  Beagle,  of 
Kansas  City,  Missouri. 

Dr.  Adams  was  educated  in  the  Lebanon,  Kansas,  High  School,  and 
spent  two  years  at  Washburne  College  in  Topeka.  He  was  graduated 
from  the  Kansas  City  Medical  College  in  1904  and  immediately  began 
the  practice  of  medicine  at  Easton,  Kansas.  While  at  Easton  he  was 
associated  with  his  brother,  Dr.  W.  A.  Adams,  and  they  conducted,  for  a 
number  of  years,  a  private  hospital.  Dr.  W.  A.  Adams  is  now  a  success- 
ful practitioner  of  Denver,  Colorado,  having  located  there  in  1918.  Dr. 
A.  R.  Adams  succeeded  Dr.  C.  D.  Lloyd,  of  Leavenworth,  in  1920.  He  is 
a  member  of  the  Leavenworth  County,  Northeast  Kansas,  State  and 
American  Medical  Associations,  and  is  also  a  registered  pharmacist.  He 
is  vice-president  of  the  Leavenworth  County  Medical  Association. 

Dr.  Adams  rendered  assistance  during  the  World  War,  having  en- 
listed in  the  United  States  Army  in  the  Medical  Reserve  Corps,  and  was 
commissioned  first  lieutenant,  serving  at  Ft.  Riley,  Medical  Officers'  Train- 
ing Corps,  in  January,  1918,  and  followed  his  work  at  Base  Hospital,  Ft. 
Riley.  He  afterwards  was  transferred  to  Columbia,  Missouri,  where  he 
was  made  unit  surgeon,  serving  seven  months,  until  the  close  of  the  war. 
He  was  commissioned  captain  of  the  Medical  Reserve  Corps,  which  posi- 
tion *he  now  holds.  He  is  a  member  of  the  Association  of  Military 
Surgeons. 

Dr.  Adams  was  married  April  15,  1907,  to  Lucy  Haws,  of  Stanberry, 
Missouri,  a  daughter  of  Albert  and  Emma  (DeSavior)  Haws,  the  for- 
mer a  native  of  New  York,  born  in  Philipstown  July  1,  1840,  and  died 
January  25,  1921.  The  mother  was  bom  in  Carrollton,  Missouri,  Decem- 
ber 4,  1855.  Mr.  Haws  served  throughout  the  Civil  War,  and  was  with 
Company  C,  Illinois  Infantry.  Mrs.  Haws  resides  at  Stanberry,  Missouri. 
Dr.  and  Mrs.  Adams  have  three  children :  Leona  Edith,  a  freshman  in  the 
high  school;  Alonzo  Robert;  and  Walter  Alfred.  The  family  reside  at 
310  Fifth  avenue,  the  family  residence  of  Dr.  Lloyd. 

Dr.  Adams  is  a  member  of  the  Thirty-second  Degree  Scottish  Rite 
Mason,  and  a  Shriner,  a  charter  member  of  the  Mehl  Post  of  the  American 
Legion,  Order  of  the  Eastern  Star,  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows, 
Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen  and  is  medical  examiner  for  the  latter 
order.  He  is  also  a  member  of  the  Degree  of  Honor  and  Yeomen.  Dr. 
Adams  is  a  director  of  the  Easton  State  Bank,  the  State  Savings  Bank, 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  359 

Leavenworth,  and  of  the  Lansing  State  Bank.  Dr.  Adam's  life  is  a  busy 
one,  for,  in  addition  to  his  professional  career,  he  takes  a  keen  interest 
in  local  affairs  of  a  public  nature. 


Martin  J.  Eggert,  commissioner  of  the  Leavenworth  Water  Works 
and  Street  Lighting,  also  sales  manager  for  Joseph  V.  Stoltz  Wholesale 
Grocer  Company,  is  a  well  known  citizen  of  Leavenworth  and  a  son  of 
M.  J.  and  Mary  Eggert,  natives  of  Wurttemberg,  Germany.  They  came 
to  America  in  1866  and  settled  at  Quincy,  Illinois,  where  they  were  mar- 
ried, and  came  to  Leavenworth  in  1868.  M.  J.  Eggert  was  a  cabinet- 
maker and  worked  for  different  firms  in  Leavenworth.  He  died  in  1913, 
and  is  buried  at  Kansas  City,  Missouri.  His  wife  died  two  years  later  at 
Columbus,  Ohio.  The  Eggert  children  are  Martin  J. ;  Severin  J.,  now  de- 
ceased; Markus,  who  died  at  Columbus,  Ohio;  and  Beata,  wife  of  J.  M. 
Schumacher,  of  Columbus,  Ohio. 

Martin  J.  Eggert  was  educated  in  the  Leavenworth  parochial  schools, 
and  was  graduated  therefrom  at  the  age  of  eighteen  years.  He  was  then 
engaged  in  the  retail  grocery  business  for  about  ten  years.  He  began 
with  the  firm  of  Joseph  V.  Stoltz  in  1899  and  for  the  past  fifteen  years 
has  been  sales  manager,  which  position  he  has  filled  creditably  and  suc- 
cessfully. 

Mr.  Eggert  was  elected  commissioner  of  Water  Works  and  Lighting 
in  April,  1917,  and  re-elected  in  April,  1919,  the  latter  time  without  oppo- 
sition, and  was  again  re-elected  in  April,  1921.  He  has  served  the  city 
capably,  being  instrumental  in  reducing  the  price  of  street  lights  and  also 
water,  the  total  saving  for  the  first  term  being  over  $5,000.  He  also 
reduced  the  levy  for  his  budget  two-tenths  of  a  mill  during  his  first  term. 

On  August  22,  1898,  Mr.  Eggert  was  married  to  Eleanor  F.  Morton, 
daughter  of  John  and  Catherine  Morton,  of  Blaine,  Kansas.  Her  parents 
are  both  now  deceased. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Eggert  have  eight  children,  as  follows :  Mary  Catherine, 
Josephine,  Louise,  Pauline,  Florence,  Martin  J.,  Jr.,  Edward  F.  and  Florian 
F.  The  family  reside  at  818  Ottawa  street,  Leavenworth,  and  are  among 
the  city's  most  substantial  citizens. 

Mr.  Eggert  is  a  member  of  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America,  Court 
of  Honor  and  C.  M.  B.  A. 


360  HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY 

Ira  J.  Bright,  one  of  the  leading  educators  of  Kansas  and  superin- 
tendent of  the  schools  of  Leavenworth,  is  a  native  of  Iowa.  He  was  born 
in  Greenfield,  the  son  of  T.  M.  and  Elizabeth  (Anthony)  Bright.  The 
former  was  a  Virginian,  and  came  to  Iowa  in  1878.  He  died  in  1915, 
and  his  widow  lives  at  Massilon,  Iowa.  They  were  the  parents  of  the 
following  children:  C.  J.,  an  attorney  of  The  Dallas,  Oregon;  C.  S.,  a 
farmer  of  Alexandria;  A.  T.,  agent  for  the  Milwaukee  railway  at  Mas- 
silon, Iowa;  W.  T.,  agent  for  the  Milwaukee  railway  at  Elwood,  Iowa; 
Clara,  wife  of  C.  L.  Savage,  of  Little  Falls,  Minnesota;  Mollie,  who  died 
at  the  age  of  twenty-one  years ;  and  Ira  J.,  the  subject  of  this  sketch. 

Ira  J.  Bright  received  his  education  in  the  public  schools  of 
Massilon,  Iowa,  and  high  school  at  Oxford  Junction,  Iowa.  He  attended 
the  State  Normal  School  at  Cedar  Falls,  and  Emporia  State  Normal.  He 
was  graduated  from  the  latter  with  the  B.  S.  degree  in  1915.  He  spent 
one  year  at  the  Kansas  State  University  and  one  year  at  Teachers'  Col- 
lege, Columbia  University,  New  York  City,  receiving  the  Masters  degree, 
and  teachers'  college  diploma  as  superintendent  of  schools. 

He  taught  for  three  years  in  the  Iowa  public  schools,  and  then  came 
to  Abbeyville,  Kansas,  where  he  taught  three  years,  and  for  seven  years 
was  superintendent  of  schools  at  Lansing,  Kansas.  He  then  came  to 
Leavenworth,  Kansas,  and  was  head  of  the  department  of  normal  train- 
ing. He  was  also  efficiency  expert,  organizing  the  first  department  of 
research  work  in  the  Kansas  public  schools.  He  spent  three  years  in 
Topeka  as  director  of  research  and  efficiency.  He  returned  to  Leaven- 
worth as  principal  of  the  high  school  in  1918,  and  the  following  year  was 
elected  superintendent. 

Mr.  Bright  is  a  member  of  the  National  Association  of  Directors  of 
Educational  Research,  comprising  those  who  are  engaged  in  doing  special 
work.  Bulletins  are  issued  monthly  showing  what  the  different  schools 
connected  with  this  work  are  doing. 

The  Leavenworth  High  School  has  an  enrollment  of  561  pupils,  and 
2,000  pupils  attend  the  ten  grade  schools.  Dr.  Allen  Albert,  during  his 
survey  of  the  industrial  and  social  conditions  of  cities,  came  to  Leaven- 
worth at  the  call  of  the  Chamber  of  Commerce.  He  reported  the  Leaven- 
worth schools  as  among  the  best  in  the  mid-west.  His  article  was  printed 
in  Colliers,  October,  1920.  The  Leavenworth  High  School  was  one  of  the 
first  schools  to  become  a  member  of  the  North  Central  Association  of 
Colleges  and  Secondary  Schools. 


IRA  J.  BRIGHT 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  361 

The  members  of  the  Board  of  Education  are:  Dr.  S.  B.  Langworthy, 
William  S.  Albright,  Fred  S.  Bolman,  M.  Toppler,  Lee  Todd,  W.  W.  Hooper. 
Mary  M.  Pferferkorn  is  director  of  tests  and  measurements. 

The  high  standard  which  the  Leavenworth  schools  have  attained  is 
due  largely  to  the  expert  knowledge  of  Superintendent  Bright. 

Mr.  Bright  was  married  August  26,  1908,  to  Mary  Elizabeth  Lawson, 
of  Hutchinson,  Kansas,  a  daughter  of  J.  H.  Lawson,  a  pioneer  of  that 
city.     Mr.  and  Mrs.  Bright  reside  at  326  Pine  street,  Leavenworth. 


Franklin  Wuerth,  of  the  firm  of  Wuerth  &  Son,  jewelers,  is  the  senior 
member  of  one  of  Leavenworth's  best  jewelry  firms.  He  was  born  in 
Cleveland,  Ohio,  February  6,  1865,  the  son  of  J.  H.  and  Catherine  (Rock- 
ert)  Wuerth,  both  natives  of  Germany,  but  who  came  to  the  United  States 
when  small.     They  were  married  at  Cleveland,  Ohio. 

J.  H.  Wuerth  came  to  Leavenworth  in  1859  to  visit  his  brother,  Gott- 
lieb Wuerth,  who  was  a  clerk  for  John  F.  Richards,  a  pioneer  hardware 
man  of  Leavenworth.  In  1869  he  left  Cleveland  and  settled  on  a  farm 
three  miles  west  of  Millwood,  and  for  five  years  lived  there,  suffering 
many  misfortunes,  in  the  way  of  drouths,  grasshoppers,  losing  hogs  with 
cholera,  and,  in  the  panic  of  1873,  he  lost  practically  all  he  had.  He  then 
moved  to  Leavenworth  and  was  in  the  wholesale  flour,  feed  and  commis- 
sion business  for  several  years,  and  also  operated  a  transfer  line.  In 
1886  he  and  his  son,  Franklin,  the  subject  of  this  sketch,  started  in  the 
retail  jewelry  business,  which  he  conducted  until  his  death,  about  the 
year  1896,  at  the  age  of  sixty-five  years.  He  is  buried  at  Mt.  Muncie 
cemetery.  His  wife  died  three  months  previous  to  his  passing.  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  J.  H.  Wuerth  were  the  parents  of  the  following  children:  Charles, 
who  is  engaged  in  the  cigar  business  in  Kansas  City,  Missouri ;  H.  E.,  who 
has  been  a  jeweler  in  Kansas  City  since  1886;  John,  deceased,  who  was 
in  business  in  Leavenworth  until  the  time  of  his  death  at  the  age  of  fifty- 
four;  Bertha,  the  wife  of  J.  K.  Roller,  a  retired  real  estate  dealer  of  San 
Diego,  California;  William  J.,  who  operates  a  fruit  ranch  at  Fresno,  Cali- 
fornia; and  Franklin. 

Franklin  Wuerth  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  Leavenworth 
and  also  attended  the  old  Morris  school  and  the  Oak  school.  He  was 
his  father's  partner,  and  since  his  father's  death,  he  bought  out  the  other 
heirs,  and  the  firm  remains  the  same — "Wuerth  &  Son,"  the  son  now 


362  HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

being  Floyd  E.  Wuerth.  This  firm  is  one  of  the  oldest  and  most  reliable 
in  the  city.  Mr.  Wuerth  carries  only  high  class  goods,  the  same  lines 
that  are  carried  by  jewelers  in  the  largest  cities,  and  he  represents  lines 
made  by  the  oldest  and  best  manufacturers  in  the  country,  continuing  to 
do  business  with  firms  with  whom  he  started  thirty-six  years  ago. 

Franklin  Wuerth's  brother,  H.  E.  Wuerth,  of  Kansas  City,  was  fore- 
man for  R.  N.  Hershfield,  of  Leavenworth,  when  Hershfield  was  perhaps 
the  largest  jeweler  in  the  United  States,  having  thirty-five  men  employed. 
When  Hershfield  went  to  Kansas,  H.  E.  Wuerth  went  with  him,  later 
going  into  business  for  himself.  Franklin  Wuerth  learned  diamond  setting 
from  his  brother,  and  watch  making  from  J.  A.  Schmidt,  and  he  also 
worked  with  a  Swiss  watchmaker  and  a  Frenchman  by  the  name  of 
Herman  Huber,  both  expert  watchmakers.  While  in  the  latter's  shop, 
Mr.  Wuerth  made  a  complete  watch  before  he  was  eighteen  years  old.  He 
started  in  business  with  his  father  when  twenty  years  of  age  and  sold  his 
first  watch  to  Rev.  R.  B.  Broener,  formerly  of  Sacred  Heart  Parish,  and 
who  was  introduced  to  him  by  Rev.  Bishop  Fink.  The  watch  is  still 
running  and  in  good  shape. 

On  July  13,  1892,  Franklin  Wuerth  was  married  to  Miss  Lenora 
O'Brien,  a  daughter  of  P.  and  Mary  O'Brien,  early  settlers  of  Leaven- 
worth. Both  are  now  deceased.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  O'Brien  had  the  following 
children:  Mrs.  William  P.  Gilbert;  Joseph,  of  Leavenworth;  Mrs.  J.  W. 
Melvin,  of  Leavenworth ;  Mrs.  Thomas  Jones,  of  Kansas  City,  Kansas,  and 
Mrs.  Franklin  Wuerth. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Wuerth  have  a  son,  Floyd,  twenty-six  years  of  age,  who 
is  an  assistant  in  the  store.  He  is  a  graduate  of  the  Catholic  High  School. 
He  served  during  the  World  War  for  sixteen  months  and  was  first  ser- 
geant, having  enlisted  in  1917.  He  attended  the  officers'  training  school 
at  Camp  Hancock,  going  first  to  Camp  Funston,  then  to  Camp  Pike, 
Arkansas.    He  was  in  a  machine  gun  company,  and  made  a  fine  record. 

Franklin  Wuerth  is  a  Scottish  Rite  Mason  and  a  member  of  the 
Shrine  at  Leavenworth.  He  is  also  a  member  of  the  Benevolent  and  Pro- 
tective Order  of  Elks,  Knights  of  Pythias,  Modern  Woodmen  of  America 
and  the  Country  Club.  Mr.  Wuerth  is  a  progressive  citizen  in  every  sense 
of  the  word.    He  and  his  family  reside  at  413  Chestnut  street. 


HISTORY   OP  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  363 

Francis  J.  McAuliffe,  secretary  and  treasurer  of  the  Mehl  and  Schott 
Drug  Company,  is  one  of  Leavenworth's  wide  awake  and  progressive  citi- 
zens. He  was  born  in  Leavenworth  County,  Kansas,  April  5,  1883,  the 
son  of  James  and  Anna  (Sullivan)  McAuliffe,  both  natives  of  Ireland,  the 
former  from  Beaufort,  Ireland,  and  Mrs.  McAuliffe  from  County  Kerry. 
The  father  came  to  America  when  a  young  man  and  attended  school  in 
St.  Joseph,  Missouri.  She  came  to  Leavenworth  when  eleven  years  of 
age  and  lived  with  her  aunt,  Mrs.  Mack  Brennan,  now  deceased.  James 
and  Anna  McAuliffe  now  live  at  600  Kiowa  street,  Leavenworth.  They 
have  the  following  children:  May,  of  Denver,  Colorado,  who  is  employed 
by  the  Western  Union  Telegraph  Company;  James,  of  Santa  Rosa,  Cali- 
fornia; Francis  J.,  the  subject  of  this  sketch;  William,  of  South  St.  Joseph, 
Missouri;  Genevieve,  a  Sister  of  Charity,  now  of  Denver,  Colorado;  and 
George,  of  Glenn's  Ferry,  Idaho. 

Francis  J.  McAuliffe  received  his  education  in  the  Leavenworth,  Kan- 
sas, public  schools,  and  also  learned  pharmacy  here.  He  is  the  efficient 
secretary  and  treasurer  of  the  firm  of  Mehl  &  Schott.  He  began  working 
in  1910,  and  upon  the  death  of  W.  S.  Schott,  was  taken  into  the  firm  as 
secretary,  and  since  the  death  of  H.  W.  Mehl  in  1919  he  was  also  made 
treasurer.  Mehl  and  Schott  were  pioneer  druggists,  having  been  in  busi- 
ness here  thirty-five  years. 

Mr.  McAuliffe  also  takes  an  interest  in  local  affairs  and  holds  the 
office  of  commissioner  of  parks  and  public  property,  having  been  elected 
to  this  position  in  1918. 

Mr.  McAuliffe  is  a  member  of  the  Knights  of  Columbus. 


Sidney  0.  Colvin,  the  dependable  and  energetic  agent  of  the  Crew 
Levick  Oil  and  Gasoline  Company,  is  a  native  Missourian,  born  in  Hanni- 
bal, September  1,  1885.  He  is  the  son  of  A.  T.  and  Sarah  J.  (Main)  Colvin, 
the  latter  of  a  pioneer  family  of  Pike  County,  Illinois,  born  February  29, 
1852.  A.  T.  Colvin  was  a  son  of  William  A.  and  Elizabeth  (Ready)  Col- 
vin, born  in  LaSalle  County,  Illinois,  February  23,  1850.  Elizabeth  Colvin 
died  about  1854  and  William  A.  Colvin  died  in  1882  in  Pike  County,  Illi- 
nois.   He  was  a  native  of  Ohio. 

A.  T.  Colvin  came  to  Kansas  from  Hannibal,  Missouri,  in  February, 
1887,  and  engaged  in  the  oil  business  on  his  own  account  for  a  number  of 
years.    He  was  also  engaged  in  the  grocery  business  for  two  years.    He 


364  HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY 

began  with  the  Uncle  Sam  Oil  Company  in  1905  and  was  their  agent  for 
fourteen  years,  and,  when  the  Crew  .Levick  Company  bought  the  Uncle 
Sam's  interest  in  1918,  he  was  appointed  assistant  manager  for  this  com- 
pany, a  position  he  now  holds. 

A.  T.  Colvin  was  married  October  14,  1888,  and  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Colvin 
are  the  parents  of  the  following  children :  Minerva,  wife  of  Joseph  Malee ; 
Beulah  A.,  wife  of  Edward  Kulmus  of  Columbia,  Missouri ;  Sidney  C,  the 
subject  of  this  sketch;  Tony,  of  Hutchinson,  Kansas,  who  is  agent  for  the 
Crew  Levick  Company,  at  that  place;  Gladys,  widow  of  Wilford  Logan, 
who  clerks  in  the  main  office  of  the  Crew  Levick  Company  at  Topeka, 
Kansas. 

Sidney  0.  Colvin  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  Leavenworth, 
and  was  window  trimmer  for  William  Small  and  Company  of  Leavenworth, 
for  fifteen  years  prior  to  accepting  a  position  with  the  Crew  Levick  Com- 
pany as  agent  in  1918.  The  company's  place  of  business  is  at  Sixth  and 
Delaware  streets,  and  the  'warehouse  or  tank  station  is  at  Twelfth  and 
Osage  streets,  where  five  men  are  employed.  Another  filling  station  is 
located  at  315  Shawnee  street. 

Sidney  Colvin  was  married  July  18,  1906,  to  Pearl  Colby  of  Leaven- 
worth, Kansas,  a  student  of  the  Leavenworth  High  School.  She  is  the 
daughter  of  Charles  and  Harriet  (Reynolds)  Colby,  early  settlers  of  Leav- 
enworth, and  both  are  deceased. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Colvin  have  two  sons:  Richard,  born  December  31, 
1908,  and  Robert,  born  January  31,  1912. 

Mr.  Colvin  is  a  member  of  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America  No.  365, 
and  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  Lodge  No.  2,  and  takes  a  great 
interest  in  both  lodges.  He  has  a  wide  acquaintance  in  Leavenworth,  and 
by  his  courteous  manner  and  obliging  methods  has  made  many  friends. 


E.  D.  Lysle,  president  of  the  Lysle  Milling  Company,  has  been  identi- 
fied with  the  industrial  development  of  Leavenworth  all  his  life  and  stands 
at  the  head  of  and  is  the  principal  owner  of  this  great  manufacturing 
concern  which  is  one  of  the  leading  milling  institutions  of  the  country. 
E.  D.  Lysle  is  a  son  of  James  C.  and  Letitia  S.  (Dickey)  Lysle,  both  of 
whom  are  now  deceased. 

James  C.  Lysle  was  a  native  of  Pennsylvania,  born  in  Chester  County, 
December  2,  1828.    He  spent  his  early  life  in  his  native  state  and  served 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  365 

an  apprenticeship  in  a  paper  mill  where  he  learned  the  paper  making 
trade.  He  came  to  Leavenworth,  Kansas,  in  1867.  In  1868,  in  partnership 
with  Mr.  Dilworth,  he  started  a  hub  and  spoke  factory  which  was  a  thriv- 
ing business  during  the  days  of  overland  transportation  by  wagon.  As  the 
railroads  were  built  in  the  West  there  was  a  decrease  in  the  demand  for 
wagons  for  transportation  purposes  and  the  Lysle-Dilworth  plant  was 
converted  into  a  furniture  factory.  Later  the  firm  began  the  manufacture 
of  flour  and  Mr.  Lysle  continued  in  the  milling  business  here  during  the 
remainder  of  his  active  career.  He  retired  from  active  business  pursuits 
in  1909  and  died  in  Leavenworth  in  1911.  He  was  a  capable  business  man 
and  was  notably  one  of  the  successful  men  of  Leavenworth  and  Kansas. 
James  C.  Lysle  married  Miss  Letitia  S.  Dickey  who  was  born  in  Pennsyl- 
vania in  1837  and  died  in  Leavenworth,  Kansas,  in  1918.  She  and  her 
husband  are  buried  in  Mount  Muncie  Cemetery  at  Leavenworth. 

To  James  C.  and  Letitia  S.  (Dickey)  Lysle  were  born  the  following 
children :  May,  married  C.  W.  Chase,  Leavenworth,  Kansas ;  Carrie,  mar- 
ried W.  A.  Jeffries,  Leavenworth,  Kansas ;  and  E.  D.,  the  subject  of  this 
sketch. 

E.  D.  Lysle  was  reared  in  Leavenworth  and  completed  his  education 
in  1890.  He  then  entered  the  employ  of  the  Kelley  &  Lysle  Milling  Com- 
pany of  which  his  father  was  the  principal  owner.  He  served  in  various 
capacities  of  responsibility  with  this  company  until  1898  when  he  became 
manager  and  in  1909,  when  his  father  retired,  he  succeeded  to  the  presi- 
dency of  the  company  and  still  holds  that  position. 

E.  D.  Lysle  was  united  in  marriage  November  15,  1894  with  Miss 
Grace  Phillips  and  to  this  union  has  been  born  one  son,  James  C,  who  is 
sales  manager  for  the  Lysle  Milling  Company  and  resides  in  Leavenworth. 
He  was  graduated  from  Yale  in  the  class  of  1916  and  when  the  United 
States  entered  the  World  War  he  was  commissioned  second  lieutenant  in 
the  regular  army.  He  was  a  member  of  the  Twelfth  Field  Artillery  of  the 
famous  Second  Division  and  participated  in  much  of  the  severe  fighting 
in  which  the  American  troops  were  engaged.  During  the  course  of  his 
military  career  he  was  promoted  to  the  rank  of  captain.  In  the  opera- 
tions at  Chateau  Thierry  he  was  wounded  and  gassed.  At  the  close  of  the 
war  he  returned  to  Leavenworth  and  resumed  his  position  as  sales  man- 
ager of  the  Lysle  Milling  Company.  He  was  married  February  7,  1921, 
to  Miss  Frances  Fennelly  of  Kansas  City,  Missouri. 


366  HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

E.  D.  Lysle  is  one  of  the  progressive  business  men  of  Leavenworth 
and  the  Lysle  family  have  for  many  years  been  prominent  in  this  section 
of  the  country. 


The  Lysle  Milling  Company,  of  Leavenworth,  Kansas,  is  one  of  the 
leading  commercial  institutions,  not  only  of  Leavenworth  County  but  of 
the  state.  From  a  small  beginning  it  has  gone  on  in  its  development  until 
the  Lysle  Milling  Company  is  recognized  as  one  of  the  leading  manufac- 
turers of  high-grade  flour  in  the  entire  country.  This  business  was 
founded  in  1872  by  James  C.  Lysle  and  James  Dilworth  who  were  also  at 
that  time  engaged  in  the  manufacture  of  furniture.  This  partnership  ar- 
rangement continued  until  1880  when  John  Kelley  bought  Dillworth's 
interest,  and  in  1889  Mr.  Lysle  bought  Mr.  Kelley's  interest,  becoming  the 
sole  owner  and  proprietor.  In  1909,  the  name  of  the  company  was  changed 
to  The  J.  C.  Lysle  Milling  Company. 

In  1889  the  original  mill  was  destroyed  by  fire  and  at  that  time  a  mill 
with  a  capacity  of  500  barrels  per  day  was  built,  which  was  considered  a 
large  mill  at  that  time,  the  old  mill  having  had  a  250  barrel  daily  capacity. 
The  capacity  of  the  mill  has  been  gradually  increased  from  time  to  time 
and  at  present  the  mill  is  capable  of  manufacturing  1,800  barrels  of  flour 
per  day,  and  the  mill  and  elevators  have  a  storage  capacity  of  350,000 
bushels  of  wheat.  In  addition  to  their  Leavenworth  plant,  the  Lysle  Mill- 
ing Company  erected  a  large  modern  flouring  mill  at  North  Kansas  City 
in  1920.  This  is  a  concrete  structure  equipped  with  the  most  modern 
milling  machinery  and  has  a  capacity  of  3,000  barrels  daily,  and  is  one  of 
the  important  manufacturing  institutions  of  North  Kansas  City,  Missouri. 

The  Lysle  Milling  Company  has  always  been  conducted  on  progressive 
lines.  This  mill  introduced  Kansas  hard  wheat  flour  on  the  European  mar- 
kets and  began  to  export  flour  in  1890.  However,  flour  from  the  mills 
of  Minnesota  had  been  exported  prior  to  that  time. 

The  company  gives  employment  to  over  one  hundred  people,  twenty- 
five  of  whom  are  connected  with  the  offices  and  sales  department.  The 
Lysle  Milling  Company  has  long  since  been  recognized  as  one  of  the 
important  factors  in  the  making  of  industrial  Leavenworth  and  stands  as 
a  monument  to  its  principal  founder,  James  C.  Lysle. 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  367 

Harry  Isaac  Coldren,  a  well-known  and  successful  plumber  of  Leaven- 
worth, Kansas,  was  born  in  this  city  June  15,  1867.  He  is  the  son  of 
Hosea  W.  and  Anna  (Lovett)  Coldren,  the  latter  a  native  of  Pennsylvania, 
who  was  reared  in  Detroit,  Michigan.  She  died  in  August,  1911,  at  the 
age  of  seventy-two  years.  Hosea  W.  Coldren  was  born  in- Delaware  County, 
Ohio,  and  came  to  Leavenworth  with  his  brother  in  1857  and  engaged  in 
contracting  and  building.  He  built  a  number  of  residences  and  business 
houses  in  Leavenworth,  and  followed  his  trade  until  about  ten  years  prior 
to  his  death.  He  died  in  January,  1916,  aged  eighty-four  years.  During 
his  lifetime  he  was  prominent  in  local  affairs  and  served  as  councilman  in 
Leavenworth  eight  years. 

The  children  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Hosea  Coldren  are  as  follows:  Byron, 
Hattie,  the  wife  of  O.  H.  Shelley ;  Charles  R.,  a  carpenter ;  Harry,  the  sub- 
ject of  this  sketch,  and  John  H.,  a  contractor,  all  of  Leavenworth ;  George, 
a  painter  of  Wichita,  Kansas ;  Jessie,  the  wife  of  Charles  Watson  of  Iowa ; 
Anna,  at  home,  and  Bert,  a  jeweler  of  Wichita,  Kansas.  All  the  children 
were  reared  and  educated  in  Leavenworth.  Hosea  W.  Coldren  and  his  wife 
celebrated  their  fiftieth  wedding  anniversary  December  25,  1908.  At  their 
funerals  their  six  sons  officiated  as  pall  bearers. 

Byron  Coldren  learned  the  trade  of  carpenter  from  his  father  and 
began  working  with  him  at  the  age  of  sixteen  years,  and,  since  his  father's 
death,  he  has  conducted  the  business.  He  is  a  member  of  the  Fraternal 
Order  of  Eagles  and  the  Improved  Order  of  Red  Men. 

Harry  Isaac  Coldren  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  and  began 
the  plumbing  business  when  sixteen  years  of  age,  consequently  he  has  a 
thorough  knowledge  of  every  phase  of  the  work.  He  first  was  with  Lovett 
&  Nash,  one  of  the  pioneer  business  firms  in  the  city.  After  six  years 
with  them  he  entered  the  employ  of  Hombrook  of  Kansas  City,  Missouri, 
and  remained  with  that  firm  for  four  years.  In  1890  he  opened  a  plumbing 
shop  in  the  basement  at  the  corner  of  Fourth  and  Delaware  streets,  and 
in  1910  he  moved  to  410  South  Fifth  Street,  and  has  been  in  business 
ever  since. 

The  members  of  the  firm  are  Harry  Isaac  Coldren  and  sons.  They  are : 
Hosea  W.,  Carl  E.  and  Harry  I.,  Jr.  They  have  done  some  of  the  largest 
jobs  in  the  city,  among  them  the  plumbing  and  heating  for  the  Planters 
Apartment,  formerly  the  Planters  Hotel,  the  Cathedral,  Orpheum  Theater, 
Lyceum  Theater,  German  Catholic  School  and  I.  0.  O.  F.  Hall. 


368  HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY 

On  December  25,  1888,  Mr.  Coldren  was  married  to  Sophia  Sohl,  a 
native  of  Brehman,  Germany,  born  in  1867,  and  they  have  three  sons, 
all  members  of  the  firm  with  their  father:  H.  W.,  who  married  Gertrude 
M.  Vieth ;  Carl  E.,  who  married  Helen  Schaller,  and  Harry  I.,  Jr.,  who  mar- 
ried Lena  M.  Zeugin.  They  have  six  grandchildren:  Howard,  Walter, 
Gertrude,  Russell,  Helen  and  Harry  III.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Coldren  reside  at 
525  Michigan  avenue.  Mr.  Coldren  is  a  member  of  the  Ancient  Free  and 
Accepted  Masons,  Shriner,  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen,  Fraternal 
Order  of  Eagles  and  Independent  Order  of  Red  Men  lodges,  and  is  a 
Democrat. 


Dr.  S.  B.  Langworthy,  with  offices  in  the  Axa  Building,  is  dean  of 
general  practitioners  in  Leavenworth,  Kansas.  He  was  born  in  Crawford 
County,  Pennsylvania,  April  29,  1858,  the  son  of  Joseph  A.  Langworthy. 
He  received  his  early  education  in  Fredonia,  New  York,  and  was  gradu- 
ated from  the  State  Normal  School  in  1878.  After  graduation  he  went 
to  Cherokee  County,  Kansas,  and  taught  school  for  one  year,  and  the 
next  year  went  to  Leavenworth  County  and  taught  at  Fairmont  two 
years,  and  two  years  in  the  city  schools  of  Leavenworth.  He  then  took 
up  the  study  of  medicine  and  was  a  student  of  Dr.  J.  A.  Lane,  after  which 
he  attended  the  Kansas  City  Medical  College  and  was  graduated  in  1887. 
He  then  began  the  practice  of  medicine  at  Leavenworth,  but  left  shortly 
afterward  to  form  a  partnership  with  Dr.  John  H.  Van  Eman  in  Kansas 
City,  Missouri,  where  he  remained  for  four  years.  During  this  time  he 
was  instructor  in  the  Kansas  City  Medical  College  until  1893,  when  he 
returned  to  Leavenworth,  where  he  has  since  practiced  with  unqualified 
success. 

Dr.  S.  B.  Langworthy  was  married  in  September,  1878  to  Mary  H. 
Moore,  of  Brocton,  New  York,  a  daughter  of  Rensselaer  and  Dorcas  Moore. 
They  are  the  parents  of  four  children :  Dr.  Joseph  H.,  a  sketch  of  whom 
appears  in  this  book ;  Herman  M.,  an  attorney  of  Kansas  City  of  the  firm 
of  Warner,  Dean,  Langworthy,  Thompson  and  Williams,  and  who  is  a 
graduate  of  the  Law  Department  of  Columbia  University,  New  York, 
with  degrees  Bachelor  of  Arts  and  Master  of  Arts  at  State  University  at 
Lawrence,  and  is  married  to  Minnie  Leach,  of  Leavenworth;  Amy  E.,  at 
home,  who  is  a  teacher  in  the  Leavenworth  High  School,  at  the  head  of 
the  foreign  language  department;  and  William  James,  who  is  the  book- 


DR.  S.  B.  LANGWORTHY 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  369 

keeper  for  the  Galveston  Dry  Dock  and  Construction  Company  at  Gal- 
veston, Texas.  He  is  married,  his  wife  being1  Miss  Genevieve  Leek,  of 
Leavenworth. 

Doctor  Langworthy  takes  a  keen  interest  in  civic  affairs,  and  is  ever 
ready  to  lend  his  aid  to  the  support  of  all  movements  of  the  development 
and  improvements  of  affairs  and  conditions  in  Leavenworth.  For  the 
past  fourteen  years  he  has  been  a  member  of  the  school  board,  and  has 
been  its  president  for  three  years.  He  also  served  as  president  of  the 
board  twice  previous.  He  has  been  chairman  of  the  faculty  for  the  Cushion 
Hospital  Nurses  Training  School  for  eight  years,  and  a  member  of  the 
faculty  for  more  than  twenty  years.  Doctor  Langworthy  was  adjunct 
professor  of  gynecology  at  College  of  Medicine  at  Kansas  State  University 
for  several  years.  He  has  served  as  president  of  the  County  Medical 
Society  for  several  terms. 

Doctor  Langworthy  is  a  Royal  Arch  Mason  and  member  of  Fraternal 
Aid.  For  the  past  ten  years  he  has  been  a  trustee  of  the  First  Methodist 
Church  of  Leavenworth. 

Doctor  and  Mrs.  Langworthy  have  seven  grandcihldren :  Herman  M., 
Jr.,  Dorcas,  Robert  Burton,  William  James,  Jr.,  Joseph  Howard,  Jr.,  Wil- 
liam Biddle  and  Frances  Langworthy. 


Dr.  Joseph  Howard  Langworthy,  a  well  known  physician  of  Leaven- 
worth, is  a  native  Missourian,  born  in  DeKalb  County,  Missouri,  June  21, 
1879.  He  is  the  son  of  Dr.  S.  B.  Langworthy,  a  sketch  of  whom  appears 
in  this  book. 

Dr.  Joseph  Howard  Langworthy  received  his  education  in  the  Leav- 
enworth High  School,  and  was  graduated  from  that  institution  in  1898, 
and  in  the  universities  of  Kansas  and  Pennsylvania.  After  finishing  his 
medical  education,  he  was  an  interne  one  year  in  the  Methodist  Hospital 
in  Philadelphia.  He  began  the  practice  of  medicine  in  Leavenworth, 
Kansas,  in  1908.  In  1911  he  joined  the  Medical  Reserve  Corps  of  the 
United  States  Army  and  went  on  active  duty  March,  1916  with  the  rank 
of  lieutenant.  In  1918  he  was  promoted  to  rank  of  captain  and  was  made 
a  major  in  1918.  During  the  entire  time  he  was  stationed  at  Fort  Leav- 
enworth. 

Doctor  Langworthy  was  married  October  17,  1917  to  Mrs.  Dorothy 
Biddle,  a  daughter  of  W.  I.  and  Minnie  Fisher  Biddle.    Mrs.  Langworthy 

(20) 


370  HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY 

is  a  graduate  of  the  Leavenworth  High  School.  Doctor  and  Mrs.  Lang- 
worthy  have  two  children:  Joseph  Howard,  Jr.,  born  August  12,  1918, 
and  William  Biddle,  born  December  14,  1919. 

Doctor  Langworthy  is  a  member  of  the  Leavenworth  County  Medical 
Society,  King  Solomon  No.  10  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons  and 
Chapter,  and  is  a  charter  member  of  the  Byron  H.  Mehl  Post  of  the 
American  Legion.  He  was  the  physician  who  enlisted  Byron  H.  Mehl 
when  he  entered  the  army  as  private. 

Doctor  Langworthy  is  a  very  successful  physician  and  his  offices  are 
located  in  the  Axa  Building. 


Malcolm  Nathaniel  McNaughton,  one  of  the  leading  members  of  the 
bar  in  Leavenworth,  and  one  of  the  younger  generation  of  the  profes- 
sional men  of  this  section,  is  a  native  of  Leavenworth.  He  was  born 
April  4,  1882,  a  son  of  S.  J.  and  Anna  A.  (Eaton)  McNaughton,  a  sketch 
of  whom  appears  in  this  volume.  S.  J.  McNaughton  is  a  native  of  New 
York,  coming  to  Kansas  in  1872  and  settled  in  southern  part  of  Leaven- 
worth County,  and  is  now  engaged  in  the  practice  of  law  at  Tonganoxie. 
He  received  his  education  in  Williams  College  in  Massachusetts  and  taught 
school  prior  to  1892,  when  he  began  the  practice  of  his  profession.  His 
wife  was  a  native  of  Massachusetts,  a  daughter  of  Nathaniel  H.  and  Mary 
Ann  Eaton,  who  came  to  Kansas  and  settled  in  1872.  Mr.  Eaton  died  at 
Wellsville,  Franklin  County,  Kansas,  in  1894,  and  his  wife  died  at  Tonga- 
noxie in  1913. 

S.  J.  McNaughton  and  wife  had  four  children :  Malcolm  N.,  the  sub- 
ject of  this  sketch;  Lucy  McNaughton,  the  advertising  manager  of  the 
Bunting  Hardware  Company  of  Kansas  City,  Missouri,  Alicia  and  Mabel, 
both  teachers  in  the  Leavenworth  High  School.  All  of  the  children  are 
graduates  of  the  University  of  Kansas. 

Malcolm  Nathaniel  McNaughton  received  his  preliminary  education 
in  the  common  schools  of  Leavenworth  County,  Kansas,  and  Tonganoxie 
Academy,  graduating  from  the  latter  in  1900.  He  was  graduated  from  the 
State  University  in  1904  and  from  Law  School  in  1906.  In  1908,  he  came 
to  Leavenworth,  where  he  has  practiced  since.  Mr.  McNaughton  has 
taken  an  active  interest  in  public  affairs  and  gained  many  warm  friends. 
He  was  appointed  deputy  county  attorney  and  served  from  1908  until  1913 ; 
he  was  assistant  attorney  general  in  1914,  and  city  attorney  of  Leaven- 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  371 

worth  from  1917  to  1919.  He  is  a  member  of  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted 
Masons  and  of  the  Knights  of  Pythias. 

On  September  24,  1910,  Mr.  McNaughton  was  married  to  Mary  Fran- 
ces Dudley,  a  daughter  of  J.  T.  and  Ida  (Bronson)  Dudley.  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Dudley  live  at  304  Vine  street  in  Leavenworth.  They  are  both  natives  of 
New  York.  In  1870  they  came  to  Leavenworth,  Kansas.  J.  T.  Dudley 
conducted  a  book  store  here  for  several  years  and  is  now  retired. 

To  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Dudley  were  born  the  following  children:  Arthur 
W.,  deceased;  Evelyn,  a  teacher  in  the  Omaha  High  School,  Omaha,  Ne- 
braska; Annie,  wife  of  J.  W.  Hirst,  Chicago,  Illinois;  W.  B.,  New  York; 
Mary  F.,  wife  of  M.  N.  McNaughton,  the  subject  of  this  sketch.  Mrs. 
McNaughton  is  a  graduate  of  the  Leavenworth  High  School  and  of  the 
University  of  Kansas. 


E.  W.  Snyder,  the  oldest  bank  president  in  the  State  of  Kansas  in 
years  of  service,  having  been  for  thirty-three  years  the  president  of  the 
Manufacturers  National  Bank,  has  had  an  unusual  and  successful  career, 
Mr.  Snyder  was  born  in  Wayne  County,  New  York,  November  23,  1850, 
the  son  of  James  W.  and  Sarah  A.  (Oniell)  Snyder.  James  Snyder  was  a 
colonel  in  the  Federal  army  with  the  Ninth  New  York  Heavy  Artillery. 
He  entered  the  service  as  captain  and  served  during  the  entire  war.  He 
and  his  wife  came  to  Kansas  and  settled  in  Washington  County,  Kansas, 
where  Mrs.  Snyder  died.    Mr.  Snyder  died  later  in  Wichita,  Kansas. 

E.  W.  Snyder  was  educated  in  Wayne  County,  New  York,  and,  at  the 
age  of  twenty  years,  went  to  Rochester,  New  York,  and  from  there  to 
Illinois  when  twenty-six  years  of  age.  In  1878,  he  went  to  Washington 
County,  Kansas,  where  he  remained  for  five  years  and  where  he  was 
engaged  in  the  banking  and  grain  business.  While  there,  he  organized  the 
Snyder  Brothers  Bank,  which  later  was  changed  to  the  Bank  of  Clifton, 
Kansas,  and  then  to  the  First  National  Bank  of  Clifton.  His  brother, 
Chester  W.  Snyder,  of  the  Topeka  State  Bank,  is  its  president. 

In  1883,  Mr.  Snyder  came  to  Leavenworth  and  entered  the  grain  busi- 
ness in  connection  with  the  Missouri  Pacific  Railroad  firm  of  Snyder  and 
Denton.  Mr.  Denton  is  now  deceased.  The  firm  built  the  Kansas  Central 
Elevator  at  Leavenworth.  He  was  in  the  grain  business  for  five  years, 
and  in  1888,  the  Manufacturers'  National  Bank  was  organized  with  the 
following  officers:     James  C.  Lysle,  now  deceased,  president;  George  H. 


372  HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY 

Hyde,  now  of  Wichita,  Kansas,  vice-president ;  William  B.  Nickels,  at  pres- 
ent of  Kansas  City,  Missouri,  cashier.  The  directors  were:  Robert  Gar- 
rett, J.  C.  Lysle,  John  M.  Laing,  Isaac  Rothenburg,  George  H.  Hyde,  W.  B. 
Nickels,  and  H.  W.  Wulfekuhler.    The  capital  stock  was  $100,000.00. 

The  present  officers  are:  E.  W  Snyder,  president;  Charles  E.  Sny- 
der, vice-president;  C.  W.  Snyder,  vice-president;  John  C.  Walker,  cashier; 
Percival  Read,  assistant  cashier,  and  Horace  W.  Runkle,  assistant  cashier. 
The  directors  at  present  are:  A.  M.  Geiger,  Adolph  Lange,  Jr.,  E.  W. 
Snyder,  Louis  Vanderschmidt,  Charles  E.  Snyder,  W.  A.  Tholen,  C.  W. 
Snyder  and  John  C.  Walker.  The  present  capital  stock  is  $100,000 ;  sur- 
plus, $100,000;  deposits,  $1,430,497.41.  The  bank  owns  its  building  at  the 
corner  of  Fourth  and  Delaware  streets.  It  has  been  remodeled  and  rebuilt, 
and  is  now  one  of  the  finest  banks  in  the  state.  In  the  banking  business, 
Mr.  Snyder  has  evinced  the  same  keen  foresight  and  clear  judgment  that 
has  characterized  his  successful  career  in  other  fields  of  endeavor. 

Mr.  Snyder,  in  connection  with  Senator  Vinton  Stillings,  built  the 
Terminal  Bridge  across  the  Missouri  River  in  1893,  costing  $1,200,000.00, 
which  allowed  the  Burlington,  Rock  Island  and  Chicago  &  Great  Western 
railroads  to  come  into  Leavenworth,  and  made  a  highway  to  connect  with 
Platte  County,  Missouri  Mr.  Snyder  was  president  of  the  company  and 
the  moving  spirit  in  its  accomplishment. 

Mr.  Snyder  also  takes  an  interest  in  local  affairs  and  served  as  presi- 
dent of  the  city  council.  He  is  also  president  of  the  Home  Riverside  Coal 
Mines  Company  of  Leavenworth  and  has  taken  an  active  interest  in  the 
development  of  coal  interests  here. 

Mr.  Snyder  made  the  race  at  one  time  for  state  senate  against  Will- 
iam A.  Harris,  Mr.  Harris  winning  by  117  votes.  These  two  men  were 
close  personal  friends  and  the  election  of  either  was  a  pleasure  to  the  other. 
Mr.  Harris  was  afterward  made  United  States  Senator. 

In  1877,  Mr.  Snyder  was  married  to  Fannie  M.  Benson,  of  Gardner, 
Illinois.  Mrs.  Snyder  died  in  1916  and  is  buried  in  Leavenworth,  Kansas. 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Snyder  had  the  following  children:  Charles  E.,  now  state 
senator  from  this  district;  Ira  B.,  of  Leavenworth,  a  traveling  salesman. 

In  January,  1918,  Mr.  Snyder  was  married  to  Mrs.  Bonnie  A.  Bourke, 
of  Dallas,  Texas,  and  they  reside  at  409  North  Esplanade. 

Mr.  Snyder  is  a  member  of  the  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons  and 
the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen.  He  has  a  very  large  acquaintance 
in  banking  circles  throughout  the  state,  and  also  many  friends  in  Leaven- 
worth and  community. 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  373 

Senator  Charles  E.  Snyder,  of  the  Third  Senatorial  District  of  Kansas, 
and  vice-president  of  the  Manufacturers'  National  Bank,  is  a  well-known 
and  successful  banker,  and  has  been  engaged  in  the  banking  business  for 
several  years.  He  was  born  in  Gardner,  Illinois,  August  25,  1878,  and, 
when  six  weeks  old,  came  with  his  parents  to  Clifton,  Kansas,  where  they 
located,  later  moving  to  Leavenworth. 

Senator  Snyder  attended  the  public  schools  of  Leavenworth,  Marma- 
duke  Military  Academy  at  Sweet  Springs,  Missouri,  and  Philips  Academy 
at  Andover,  Massachusetts.  He  entered  the  Manufacturers'  National  Bank 
in  1897  and  has  filled  every  position  in  the  bank  since  then,  except 
pi-csident. 

Beginning  in  1907,  Senator  Snyder  served  in  the  house  of  representa- 
tives for  two  terms.  He  was  a  member  of  the  board  of  education  of  the 
city  of  Leavenworth  in  1916  and  1917,  and  in  1916  was  elected  to  the  state 
senate,  and  re-elected  in  1920.  He  has  always  been  conservative  in  his 
ideas  and  has  many  warm  friends.  He  assisted  Governor  Allen  materially 
in  the  construction  of  the  industrial  court  bill. 

Senator  Snyder  is  a  member  of  the  Woodmen  of  the  World,  Brother- 
hood of  American  Yeomen,  Fraternal  Aid  Union,  Court  of  Honor,  Knights 
&  Ladies  of  Security,  Modern  Woodmen  of  America,  Ancient  Order  of 
United  Workmen,  the  Homesteaders,  Knights  of  Pythias,  Fraternal  Order 
of  Eagles  and  the  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks.  Senator  Sny- 
der is  a  representative  business  man  of  Leavenworth,  public  spirited  and 
progressive,  and  has  made  a  success  in  his  chosen  field  of  endeavor.  His 
services  for  his  district  in  the  house  of  representatives  and  the  senate  were 
performed  conscientiously  and  are  appreciated  by  the  people  whom  he 
represents. 

Senator  Snyder  was  married  to  Beulah  Newell  of  St.  Joseph,  Mis- 
souri, a  daughter  of  Dr.  and  Mrs.  J.  J.  Newell.  She  was  born  and  educated 
in  St.  Joseph.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Snyder  have  three  sons:  E.  W.,  Jr.,  James 
N.  and  Charles  E.,  Jr.  The  family  reside  at  400  South  Esplanade,  Leaven- 
worth, Kansas,  and  are  among  the  city's  best  citizens. 


Edward  T.  Dicks,  proprietor  of  the  Dicks  Cigar  Company  at  402 
Delaware  street,  is  one  of  the  progressive  and  enterprising  young  busi- 
ness men  of  Leavenworth,  Kansas.  He  was  born  in  St.  Louis,  Missouri, 
the  son  of  George  and  Mary  (Brennan)  Dicks.    The  former  was  a  native 


374  HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

of  St.  Louis  and  died  at  the  age  of  forty-five  years  in  Leavenworth  and  is 
buried  at  Mt.  Calvary  Cemetery.  His  wife  was  also  a  native  of  St.  Louis 
and  now  lives  in  Leavenworth. 

George  Dicks  came  to  Leavenworth,  Kansas,  in  1883  and  the  family 
followed  in  1884.    He  was  employed  as  superintendent  of  the  F.  A.  Rolf's 
cracker  factory,  the  pioneer  cracker  factory  of  the  city,  located  at  Third 
and  Shawnee  streets  (southwest  corner).    He  was  with  them  as  superin 
tendent  until  his  death.    Mr.  and  Mrs.  George  Dicks  were  the  parent? 
the  following  children:     Edward  T.,  the  subject  of  this  sketch;  John 
Leavenworth;  George,  with  the  Dicks  Cigar  Companies,  and  Ca+1 
who  is  proprietress  of  a  florist  shop  at  217  South  Fifth  street. 

Edward  T.  Dicks  is  a  wide  awake  business  man  of  the  proj.     ~*      ' 
type  and  has  built  up  an  extensive  business.     Previous  to  enteri 
cigar  business,  he  was  on  the  road,  traveling  for  the  Leavenworth 
Company  for  five  years.     In  February,  1903,  Mr.  Dicks  and  Herman 
started  the  cigar  store  at  its  present  location.    Mr.  Levy  retired  in  li 
Mr.  Dicks  carries  a  full  line  of  cigars  and  tobacco,  and  does  both  a  whole- 
sale and  retail  business. 

Edward  Dicks  was  educated  in  the  Cathedral  parochial  schools  of 
Leavenworth,  and  spent  two  years  in  the  Morris  public  schools.  He  is  a 
member  of  the  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks,  the  Knights  of 
Columbus,  United  Commercial  Travelers  and  Loyal  Order  of  Moose. 

Mr.  Dicks  was  married  January  3,  1917,  to  Gertrude  Wallace,  a  daugh- 
ter of  J.  P.  and  Anna  (Goltwaite)  Wallace,  the  latter  of  whom  is  deceased, 
and  the  former  lives  in  Leavenworth.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Dicks  have  two  daugh- 
ters, Mary  Ann  and  Gertrude  Louise. 


John  C.  Walker,  the  efficient  cashier  of  the  Manufacturers'  National 
Bank  of  Leavenworth,  was  born  in  England.  He  is  the  son  of  Robert  and 
Martha  (Jowett)  Walker,  natives  of  Darbyshire,  England,  but  who  came 
to  the  United  States  and  located  in  Leavenworth,  Kansas,  in  1888.  Robert 
Walker  was  a  florist  and  opened  a  florist  shop,  also  conducted  a  green- 
house in  South,  and  later  in  North  Leavenworth.  He  died  in  St.  Joseph, 
Missouri,  and  was  buried  there.  His  wife  lives  with  her  son  John  C. 
Walker.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Robert  Walker  were  the  parents  of  the  following^ 
children :  Sidney  R.,  deceased ;  Hugh,  foreman  for  Leavenworth  Bag  Com- 
pany of  Leavenworth;  Joseph  S.,  deceased;  Elizabeth,  wife  of  Charles  H. 
Davis  of  Little  Rock,  Arkansas,  and  John  C,  the  subject  of  this  sketch. 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  375 

John  C.  Walker  received  his  education  in  the  Leavenworth  public 
schools  and  began  work  as  bookkeeper  for  the  Manufacturers'  National 
Bank  in  1900.    In  1904  he  was  made  receiving  teller,  assistant  cashier  in 

1914  and  has  been  the  efficient  cashier  since  January  1,  1920,  and  has 
capably  filled  that  position  to  the  present  time.  Mr.  Walker  has  had  varied 
experiences  in  the  banking  business  and  is  well  qualified  for  the  responsible 

.position  which  he  holds. 

John  C.  Walker  was  married  in  June,  1911,  to  Harriet  Kiser  of  Leav- 
)rth,  Kansas,  a  daughter  of  S.  H.  and  Mary  (Dunham)  Kiser. 

J  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Walker  reside  at  501  Arch  street.     Mr.  Walker  is  a 

P"  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church,  and  takes  a  commendable 

,t  in  church  and  civic  affairs. 

th-  

Jiarles  T.  Cox  is  well-known  proprietor  of  the  Cox  Printing  Company, 
£  of  the  leading  job  printing  offices  in  Leavenworth,  Kansas.  He  was 
~orn  in  Leavenworth,  January  27,  1860,  the  son  of  Benjamin  F.  and 
Rebecca  (Rouse)  Cox.  Mrs.  Rebecca  Cox  was  a  native  of  Ohio,  and  a 
daughter  of  Samuel  and  Elizabeth  Rouse.  Benjamin  F.  Cox  came  to 
Kansas  in  1858  and  located  in  Leavenworth.  He  died  about  1906,  and  is 
buried  at  Mt.  Muncie  Cemetery.  He  was  a  member  of  the  home  guards 
during  the  Civil  War.  The  Cox  children  are:  Charles  T.,  the  subject  of 
this  sketch ;  Elizabeth,  the  wife  of  Thomas  Brady  of  Leavenworth,  Kansas ; 
Rachel,  who  is  married  and  lived  in  Kansas  City,  Missouri;  Cusby  Ann 
and  Maude,  who  live  at  home ;  and  George  and  Frank,  of  Leavenworth. 

Charles  T.  Cox  received  his  education  in  the  public  schools  of  Leaven- 
worth and  at  the  age  of  seventeen  years  learned  the  printer's  trade  with 
C.  J.  Smith  &  Company  and  was  with  them  for  eleven  years.  He  was 
appointed  receiver  for  the  C.  J.  Smith  Company  and  ran  the  plant  for  one 
and  one-half  years.  He  then  leased  the  business  and  went  to  work  for 
himself  with  Henry  Yeager  as  partner,  which  partnership  continued  for 
two  years.  Then  Mr.  Cox  and  Frank  Harmon  bought  the  plant  and  later 
Mr.  Cox  sold  out  to  Harmon.  Mr.  Cox  started  the  present  business  in 
1906  and  is  located  opposite  the  post  office. 

This  firm  does  all  kinds  of  job  printing,  and  because  of  Mr.  Cox's 
ability  and  progressiveness,  he  has  made  a  thorough  success. 

Mr.  Cox  also  takes  an  interest  in  the  city,  and  in  1911  was  elected 
city  commissioner  of  parks  and  public  property  and  re-elected  in  1913, 

1915  and  1917,  serving  the  city  eight  years,  and  he  did  much  to  improve 


376  HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY 

the  parks  of  the  city.  He  established  Kemp  Park  in  South  Leavenworth. 
The  city  has  been  greatly  benefited  by  the  faithful  service  of  Mr.  Cox  as 
city  commissioner. 

In  1881,  Mr.  Cox  was  married  to  Margaret  Elberson  of  Leavenworth, 
a  daughter  of  George  and  Christina  Elberson,  both  deceased. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Cox  have  one  child,  Harriet,  the  wife  of  Floyd  Kurtz, 
of  Leavenworth. 

Mr.  Cox  is  a  member  of  the  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons  and 
is  a  Shriner,  Woodmen  of  the  World,  Knights  of  the  Maccabees  and  Court 
of  Honor. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Cox  reside  at  325  Fifth  avenue. 


Charles  L.  Cherrie,  the  popular  and  widely  known  agent  for  the  Santa 
Fe  Railway  Company  at  Lansing,  Kansas,  was  born  at  Bellepoint,  Dela- 
ware County,  Ohio,  January  24,  1856,  the  son  of  Isaac  and  Susanna 
(Frankenfield)  Cherrie,  who  moved  to  Union  County  shortly  after  the 
birth  of  Charles  L.  Cherrie.  Isaac  Cherrie  died  in  the  Libby  Prison  in 
1864.  At  the  beginning  of  the  Civil  War  he  volunteered,  and  was  cap- 
tured at  Chattanooga,  Tennessee.  His  wife  died  in  Delaware  County, 
Ohio  at  Ostrander.  They  were  the  parents  of  the  following  children: 
Mary,  the  wife  of  Thomas  Haggard,  who  lives  at  Kenton,  Ohio,  and  whose 
husband  was  a  volunteer  in  the  Civil  War;  Charles  L.,  the  subject  of  this 
sketch ;  Philone,  the  wife  of  Wesley  Shover,  of  Marysville,  Ohio ;  Estella, 
the  wife  of  William  Fetter,  of  Canada. 

Charles  L.  Cherrie  received  his  education  at  Watkin,  Ohio,  and  prior 
to  coming  to  Kansas  in  1878  he  followed  farming.  In  1880  he  began 
working  for  the  Santa  Fe  railroad  at  Gardner,  Kansas,  then  moved  to 
Burlington,  Kansas,  and  came  to  Lansing  November  10,  1887,  where  he 
has  been  employed  since.  He  learned  the  telegraphic  business  at  Valen- 
tine Brothers  School  at  Jonesville,  Wisconsin.  Mr.  Cherrie  has  had  many 
years'  experience  in  railroad  work  and  has  a  good  record  to  his  credit. 
He  also  takes  an  interest  in  civic  affairs  and  has  held  a  place  on  the  school 
board  of  Lansing  for  six  years. 

Mr.  Cherrie  was  married  first  in  Ohio  to  Frances  May  Guy,  who  died 
in  February,  1891.  They  had  three  children:  Charles,  who  is  a  conductor 
on  the  Southern  Pacific  railroad  and  lives  in  California;  William  B.,  who 
died  at  the  age  of  thirty-eight  years,  in  June,  1919,  and  who  was  connected 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  377 

with  the  auditor's  office  of  the  Santa  Fe  Railroad  Company  at  Topeka, 
Kansas  at  the  time  of  his  death;  and  Estella,  formerly  a  trained  nurse, 
and  now  the  wife  of  Jacob  R.  Wilson,  of  St.  Joseph,  Missouri. 

July  8,  1892,  Mr.  Cherrie  was  married  to  Laura  A.  Weeks,  of  Grenola, 
Kansas,  and  they  have  three  children:  Lane,  the  wife  of  Clarence  Miller, 
of  Lansing,  Kansas ;  Earl  W.,  who  is  third  trick  operator  and  clerk  with 
the  Santa  Fe  railroad  at  Iola,  Kansas;  and  Bernice,  who  is  stenographer 
for  the  Kansas  City  Southern  Railway  Company  at  Kansas  City,  Missouri. 

Mr.  Cherrie  is  a  member  of  the  following  lodges:  Independent  Order 
of  Odd  Fellows  for  thirty-eight  years ;  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen 
for  thirty-two  years,  and  the  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons  NbT49 
for  eight  years. 


George  A.  Stevenson  has  been  the  very  capable  assistant  chief  of  the 
fire  department,  Station  No.  2,  since  June  1,  1920,  and,  prior  to  that  time, 
was  foreman  for  four  years.  He  was  born  in  Cambridge,  Massachusetts, 
July  9,  1865,  and  is  the  son  of  Andrew  and  Ann  (Stephenson)  Stevenson, 
who  came  to  Leavenworth  in  1877,  where  he  engaged  in  the  livery  busi- 
ness at  Seventh  and  Olive  streets  for  twenty-five  years.  He  died  in  1907 
and  his  wife  in  1914,  both  being  buried  at  Mt.  Muncie.  They  were  the 
parents  of  nine  children,  of  whom  George  A.,  the  subject  of  this  sketch, 
was  the  oldest. 

George  A.  Stephenson  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  Massa- 
chusetts, and  also  attended  the  Third  avenue,  East  Oak  School  of  Leaven- 
worth. After  finishing  school  he  assisted  his  father  in  the  livery  business 
until  he  joined  the  fire  department  in  July,  1895.  He  performed  the  duties 
of  driver  until  the  present  modern  equipment  was  installed. 

Mr.  Stevenson  was  married  October  30,  1894,  to  Emma  Nitzsche,  who 
died  in  1901.  To  this  union  were  born  two  sons,  namely:  George,  who 
died  at  the  age  of  fourteen  years,  and  Frank  who  was  born  in  April, 
1898.  Frank  served  in  the  World  War,  having  enlisted  with  Company  E, 
139th  Infantry,  and  was  with  the  Thirty-fifth  Division  in  France  for  one 
year.  He  was  in  the  battles  of  Meuse  and  Argonne,  and  for  his  services 
in  the  war  has  received  a  medal. 

Mr.  Stevenson  was  married  the  second  time  to  Mrs.  Ida  Keitner, 
July  1,  1905.  Mrs.  Keitner  was  formerly  Miss  Goldthwaite,  and  by  her 
first  marriage  she  had  three  children:  Edna,  Clara  and  Wilma.  By  her 
marriage  to  Mr.  Stevenson,  she  has  one  daughter,  Lillian. 


378  HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Stevenson  are  substantial,  well-respected  citizens  of 
Leavenworth  and  reside  at  231  Foui'th  avenue.  Mr.  Stevenson  is  a  mem- 
ber of  the  Masonic  lodge. 


W.  J.  Bransfield,  the  well-known  assistant  cashier  of  the  State  Sav- 
ings Bank,  was  born  in  Leavenworth,  Kansas,  January  24,  1898.  He  is  the 
son  of  William  F.  and  Catherine  E..  (Rossiter)  Bransfield,  who  resides  at 
408  North  Sixth  street,  Leavenworth.  The  latter  was  a  native  of  Dublin, 
Ireland,  coming  with  her  parents  to  Leavenworth  when  three  years  of  age. 
Both  of  her  parents  died  in  Leavenworth.  William  Bransfield  was  born 
in  Leavenworth  in  1862,  the  son  of  Michael  Bransfield,  an  early  pioneer  of 
Leavenworth,  and  a  captain  in  the  Union  Army.  The  following  children 
were  born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  William  Bransfield :  John,  at  home ;  W.  J.,  the 
subject  of  this  sketch;  Howard,  of  Troy,  Kansas;  and  Walter  and  Charles, 
both  at  home. 

W.  J.  Bransfield  received  his  education  in  parochial  schools  and  St. 
Mary's  College,  St.  Mary's,  Kansas,  leaving  the  latter  in  his  freshman 
year.  He  began  work  in  the  State  Savings  Bank,  September  15,  1917,  and 
has  been  assistant  cashier  since  September  15,  1917. 

He  is  a  member  of  the  Knights  of  Columbus  of  Leavenworth.  Mr. 
Bransfield  is  a  young  man  with  a  bright  and  prosperous  future,  for  he  is 
energetic  and  capable,  qualities  which  insure  his  success.  He  has  a  wide 
acquaintance  and  is  well  qualified  for  the  responsible  position  which  he 
holds. 


John  C.  Seitz,  of  the  Leavenworth  Dairy  and  Creamery  Company, 
one  of  the  important  and  successful  industries  of  that  city,  was  born  in 
Albany,  Minnesota,  August  23,  1877.  He  is  the  son  of  Andrew  and  Anna 
Seitz,  the  former  having  died  at  the  age  of  fifty-nine  years  in  1899,  and 
is  buried  at  Leavenworth,  and  the  latter  is  now  living  in  Leavenworth. 
Mr.  Seitz  came  to  Kansas  from  Minnesota  in  1882  and  was  engaged  in 
farming  until  his  death. 

John  C.  Seitz  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  Leavenworth,  and 
was  employed  by  the  present  firm  eighteen  years  prior  to  becoming  a 
member.  This  is  the  pioneer  creamery  of  Leavenworth.  They  manu- 
facture butter  and  ice  cream  on  an  extensive  scale,  and  deal  in  all  kinds 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  379 

of  dairy  products.  It  is  located  at  507  Shawnee  street.  Mr.  Seitz  is  a 
practical  creamery  man,  and,  with  his  wide  experience  in  the  business. 

Mr.  Seitz  takes  an  active  interest  in  local  affairs.  In  1917,  he  was 
elected  commissioner  of  finance  and  revenue,  and  filled  that  position  for 
two  years,  after  which  he  succeeded  Mayor  Davis  and  filled  the  unexpired 
term  as  mayor. 

John  C.  Seitz  was  married  to  Florence  M.  Erschelle  of  Leavenworth, 
and  they  have  five  children:  John,  Richard,  Edward,  Frances  and  Helen. 
The  family  reside  at  216  North  Broadway  and  stand  high  in  the  com- 
munity. 


C.  M.  Fenning,  the  enterprising  proprietor  of  the  Big  4  Laundry,  orie 
of  the  most  important  industrial  institutions  of  Leavenworth.  He  was 
born  on  the  site  of  the  present  Federal  prison,  May  4,  1863,  and  is  the 
son  of  John  and  Catherine  Fenning.  John  Fenning  died  in  1890  and  his 
wife  died  in  1916.  He  was  a  native  of  Ireland  and  came  to  America  in 
1855  and  settled  in  Leavenworth,  where  he  engaged  in  contracting  and 
building.     During  the  Civil  War  he  served  with  the  Kansas  troops. 

C.  M.  Fenning  was  educated  in  the  parochial  schools  of  Leavenworth, 
and,  since  he  was  seventeen  years  of  age,  has  been  identified  with  the 
city  in  a  business  way.  For  seven  years  he  was  mail  carrier  and  for  a 
number  of  years  was  with  the  Western  Baseball  League,  and  served  as 
umpire.  He  served  the  city  four  years  as  councilman.  Mr.  Fenning 
became  familiar  with  the  laundry  business  when  he  was  formerly  agent 
for  Woolf  Brothers,  of  Kansas  City,  Missouri,  and  started  the  Big  4 
Laundry  in  January,  1903,  at  their  present  location,  410-412-414  Choctaw 
street,  with  office  at  313  Fifth  street.  This  is  one  of  the  prominent  in- 
dustries of  Leavenworth.  The  laundry  building  is  72x100  feet  in  dimension 
and  is  equipped  with  the  latest  improved  machinery.  They  make  a 
specialty  of  family  work  as  well  as  doing  the  finest  fabrics.  Their  work 
is  not  confined  alone  to  the  city  of  Leavenworth,  as  they  have  agencies 
in  many  nearby  towns.     They  now  employ  twenty-seven  people. 

Mr.  Fenning  was  married  January  29,  1903  to  Miss  Frances  E.  Mur- 
phy of  Leavenworth,  and  they  reside  at  605  Osage  street. 

Mr.  Fenning  is  a  member  of  the  Knights  of  Columbus.  He  has  always 
been  a  booster  for  his  city  and  was  president  of  the  Advertising  Club  of 
Leavenworth  for  four  years,  and  in  various  ways  gave  the  city  the  benefit 
of  his  initiative  ability. 


380  HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

John  Lozensky  and  son  Marian  Lozensky,  are  proprietors  of  two  of 
the  popular  stores  in  Leavenworth;  the  Central  shoe  stores  are  located  at 
512  Delaware  and  Fifth  and  Walnut  streets. 

John  Lozensky  came  to  Leavenworth  in  1894  from  St.  Joseph,  Mis- 
souri, where  he  had  followed  the  shoe  business  for  several  years.  Both 
he  and  his  son  were  born  in  Warsaw,  Poland.  John  Lozensky  opened  up 
his  first  shop  in  Leavenworth  in  1894  at  Fifth  and  Walnut  streets.  Harry 
Lozensky,  a  son,  operates  the  store  at  512  Delaware  street. 

The  two  stores  handle  both  dress  and  every  day  shoes  and  they  also 
do  all  kinds  of  repair  work.  They  were  the  first  in  the  city  to  put  in 
electrical  repairing  machinery.  The  stores  do  a  good  business  because 
of  their  fair  dealing  and  reasonable  prices,  and  the  proprietors  are  reliable 
and  substantial  business  men. 

John  Lozensky  was  married  in  Warsaw,  and  he  has  seven  children  as 
follows:  Marian,  a  member  of  the  firm;  John,  a  grocer  on  Fourth  street, 
Leavenworth;  Harry,  also  a  member  of  the  firm,  married  Minnie  Roden- 
burg:  Joseph,  a  fresco  painter  employed  Mahlquist  Decorating  Com- 
pany; Frank,  a  partner  of  John  in  the  grocery  business;  Florence,  wife 
of  Lieut.  Charles  Tyler,  of  Camp  Dix,  N.  J.,  and  Elizabeth,  who  lives  at 
home. 

The  Lozenskys  are  members  of  the  Polish  lodges  of  the  city  and  con- 
nected with  the  Polish  church  St.  Casimer.  They  are  all  among  the  best 
citizens  of  Leavenworth  and  all  are  engaged  in  business  in  the  city. 


Earl  Douglas,  the  progressive  and  enterprising  proprietor  of  the 
Douglas  Garage  at  Leavenworth,  Kansas.  He  was  born  at  Guthrie  Park, 
Colorado,  March  18,  1883,  the  son  of  Charles  and  Mary  Douglas. 

Charles  Douglas  was  born  at  Rockport,  Missouri,  and  in  the  early 
days,  was  a  pilot  on  the  Missouri  River.  About  1879  he  crossed  the  plains 
with  an  ox  team  and  located  in  Colorado,  where  he  owns  a  large  tract  of 
land  and  raises  alfalfa  and  potatoes.  He  was  well  acquainted  with  Col. 
William  H.  Cody,  better  known  as  "Buffalo  Bill".  Charles  Douglas  had 
three  brothers  in  the  Federal  army  during  the  Civil  War:  John,  Daniel 
and  Levi.  Another  brother,  Albert,  lives  at  Rockport,  Missouri.  He  is  a 
retired  farmer. 

Earl  Douglas  received  his  education  in  the  public  schools  of  Colorado 
and  came  to  Leavenworth  in  1896  and  began  work  for  W.  G.  Hesse  and 


HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  381 

Son,  and  was  with  them  for  twenty-four  years,  leaving  their  employ  in 
March,  1920.  He  then  established  the  Douglas  Garage  at  320  and  323 
Cherokee  street.  They  have  a  building  of  48  x  120  feet  in  dimension  and 
furnish  storage  as  well  as  doing  all  kinds  of  repair  work  on  autos.  Mr. 
Douglas  has  three  employees.  He  has  a  good  business  which  is  constantly 
growing.  By  his  courteous  and  accommodating  manner  and  sound  busi- 
ness principles,  he  has  been  very  successful. 

On  June  15,  1907,  Mr.  Douglas  was  married  to  Clara  Dusay,  of 
Leavenworth,  a  daughter  of  John  and  Marie  Dusay.  They  are  of  French 
descent,  but  have  lived  in  Leavenworth  many  years.  Mrs.  Dusay  lives 
with  her  daughter. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Douglas  have  three  children:  Harold,  John  Kenneth, 
Eilene. 

Mr.  Douglas  is  a  member  of  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America  and  of 
the  Court  of  Honor. 


Geraughty  and  Textor,  the  leading  dealers  in  monuments  in  Leaven- 
worth, are  located  at  316-318  Cherokee  Street. 

The  business  was  established  in  1866  by  Patrick  Geraughty  and  about 
1870,  Thomas  Quinlan  was  taken  into  partnership  and,  upon  his  death,  in 
1879,  the  firm  became  Geraughty  and  Textor,  William  Textor,  Sr.,  becom- 
ing a  member  of  the  firm.  The  present  members  of  the  firm  are  William 
L.,  Julius  H,  and  Edward  E.  Textor. 

William  Textor  was  a  native  of  Cologne,  Germany,  but  came  to 
America  in  1848,  when  twenty  years  of  age.  He  first  stopped  at  Sandusky 
Island,  near  Sandusky,  Ohio,  and,  while  there,  learned  stone  cutting  and 
from  this  drifted  into  carving  monuments.  He  was  an  artist  of  exception- 
ally fine  ability.  From  Ohio,  he  went  to  St.  Louis  and  was  foreman  of 
the  Wilson  Monument  Company,  a  firm  employing  150  men.  William 
Textor  came  from  St.  Louis  to  Leavenworth  in  1879.  He  died  September 
28,  1902  and  is  buried  at  Mt.  Muncie.  His  wife  was  Pauline  Kratsch,  also 
a  native  of  Germany.     She  passed  away  in  1901. 

The  Geraughty  &  Textor  Monument  Company  occupies  a  frontage  of 
fifty  feet  by  one  hundred  twenty  feet  deep  at  316-318  Cherokee  street. 
The  first  plant  was  located  at  419  Seneca  street,  and  was  later  moved  to 
324  Cherokee  street,  and  in  1883  moved  to  the  present  location. 

The  firm  handles  nothing  but  the  best  grade  of  stone,  marble  and 
granite,  and  the  business  extends  for  a  radius  of  one  hundred  miles.     Most 


d&Z  HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY 

of  the  best  work  of  the  community  has  been  erected  by  them.  They  have 
a  force  of  thirty  salesmen  in  the  field.  Most  of  the  granite  used  for  the 
monuments  is  bought  direct  from  quarries  in  carload  shipments.  This 
plant  is  the  most  modern  of  any  in  the  West  and  all  the  latest  appliances 
are  used  to  make  the  best  work.  This  is  also  the  oldest  firm  in  this  line 
of  business  west  of  St.  Louis,  Missouri.  The  output  of  the  plant  has  been 
more  than  doubled  in  the  last  twenty  years.  While  the  firm  is  one  of  the 
most  progressive  in  the  city,  it  is  also  conservative. 

The  three  brothers,  William  L.,  Julius  H.  and  Edward  E.  Textor  were 
all  born  in  St.  Louis  and  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  Leavenworth. 
William  L.  Textor  is  the  designer  and  sculptor  and  is  also  superintendent 
of  the  plant  and  has  been  with  the  firm  since  1890,  serving  apprenticeship 
of  four  years  under  his  father.  Edward  Textor,  the  youngest  of  the 
three,  is  assistant  to  William  Textor  and  also  served  an  apprenticeship 
with  the  firm  and  has  been  with  them  for  thirteen  years.  Prior  to  that 
he  served  six  years  in  the  U.  S.  Army,  in  the  Philippines,  with  the  rank 
of  first  sergeant  with  Company  D,  Fifteenth  Infantry.  He  married  Myrtle 
Lahiff  of  Leavenworth. 

The  office  and  sales  department  is  managed  by  Julius  H.  Textor. 
Prior  to  accepting  this  position  in  1900,  he  was  accountant  for  the  Kansas 
City  Southern  Railway  Company  and  was  stationed  at  Kansas  City,  Mis- 
souri. Julius  Textor  is  identified  with  the  National  and  State  Monument 
Dealers  Association  and  for  the  past  three  years  has  been  secretary- 
treasurer  of  the  Retail  Kansas  Monument  Dealers  Association.  He  mar- 
ried Marie  A.  Burke,  of  Leavenworth,  and  they  have  one  son,  William  M. 
J.  Textor,  aged  ten  years. 

The  Textor  men  are  all  hustlers  and  have  a  thorough  knowledge  of 
the  monument  business  in  its  numerous  phases,  which  has  resulted  in 
their  success  and  extensive  business. 


William  H.  Courtney,  of  the  Courtney  Motor  Company,  of  Leaven- 
worth, Kansas,  is  one  of  the  most  widely  known  men  of  the  county.  He 
was  born  in  Alexandria  Township,  Leavenworth  County,  Kansas,  February 
4,  1859,  the  son  of  R.  E.  and  Narcissus  (Agee)  Courtney.  The  former  was 
a  native  of  Harrison  County,  Kentucky.  He  died  in  Leavenworth  about 
1915  at  the  age  of  eighty-eight  years.  His  wife  lives  in  Leavenworth  and 
is  now  eighty-nine  years  of  age.     R.   E.  Courtney  came  to  Buchanan 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  383 

County,  Missouri,  from  Kentucky,  when  thirteen  years  of  age  and  lived 
there  until  in  1855,  when  he  settled  in  Alexandria  Township,  Leavenworth 
County,  where  he  entered  land,  improved  a  farm,  and  lived  there  until 
1908.  The  farm  is  now  owned  by  his  widow  and  son,  Albert.  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  R.  E.  Courtney  were  the  parents  of  the  following  children :  James  F., 
Oklahoma  City;  Rufus,  who  lives  on  a  farm  in  Alexandria  Township;  Mrs. 
Frances  Moody,  of  Hiawatha,  Kansas;  William  H.,  the  subject  of  this 
sketch;  Mrs.  Anna  McGee  of  Oklahoma  City;  J.  E.,  of  Lansing,  Kansas; 
Thomas  M.,  a  farmer  in  Alexandria  Township;  and  Albert,  who  lives  oh 
the  home  place. 

William  H.  Courtney  was  educated  in  the  common  schools  of  the 
county  and  farmed  until  he  was  twenty-six  years  of  age.  He  then  con- 
ducted a  store  at  Springdale  for  eleven  years.  In  1897  he  was  elected 
county  treasurer  and  reelected  in  1899,  making  five  years  of  service.  He 
was  elected  county  assessor  and  served  two  years,  after  which  he  con- 
ducted a  bank  at  Lansing,  Kansas,  for  a  few  years.  In  the  fall  of  1913, 
he  was  elected  sheriff  of  Leavenworth  County  and  served  four  years.  In 
April,  1921,  Mr.  Courtney  was  appointed  chief  of  police  of  Leavenworth. 
Mr.  Courtney  has  to  his  credit  a  splendid  record  of  faithful  and  efficient 
service,  which  has  been  characterized  by  unswerving  devotion  to  duty. 
He  is  one  of  the  progressive  citizens  of  Leavenworth  County  and  has  made 
a  wide  acquaintance,  and,  by  his  courteous  manner  and  obliging  methods, 
has  made  many  friends.  In  1920  Mr.  Courtney  established  the  Court- 
ney Motor  Company,  which  is  situated  at  506  Delaware  street,  the  room 
being  25  x  125  feet.  He  handles  the  Chevrolet  cars  and  Samson  tractors 
and  trucks,  and  his  business  has  opened  very  satisfactorily. 

November  6,  1885,  Mr.  Courtney  was  married  to  Katie  Ruble,  of 
High  Prairie  Township,  a  daughter  of  Thomas  and  Elizabeth  Ruble,  who 
were  early  settlers  of  that  township.  Mrs.  Courtney  died  July  26,  1895 
and  is  buried  at  Bethel  Cemetery.  The  Courtney  children  are :  Earl,  who 
was  born  November  1,  1886;  May;  and  Minnie  Courtney.  Earl  Courtney 
was  married  May  23,  1911  to  Anna  Josephine  Duffy  of  Leavenworth,  and 
they  have  the  following  children:  Evalyn  Narcissus;  Dorothy  Irene, 
Marjory  Marie  and  William  Earl. 

Mr.  Courtney  is  a  member  of  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America  and 
Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks. 


384  HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

W.  J.  Linaweaver,  of  Lansing,  Kansas,  is  road  overseer  of  Delaware 
Township,  which  position  he  has  capably  filled  for  the  past  six  years, 
and  is  also  a  prominent  farmer  and  dairyman.  He  was  born  in  Shenan- 
doah County,  Virginia,  July  3,  1864,  and  is  the  son  of  John  and  Lavina 
(Richards)  Linaweaver,  both  natives  of  Virginia  and  who  are  now  deceased. 

W.  J.  Linaweaver  was  educated  at  Woodstock,  Virginia.  He  first 
came  to  Leavenworth  in  the  spring  of  1883  and  worked  for  fifty  cents 
a  day,  with  board,  room  and  washing,  for  James  Bauserman,  who  was 
an  early  settler  of  Leavenworth  County,  locating  there  in  1860.  He 
died  in  1884. 

In  1886  Mr.  Linaweaver  returned  to  Virginia,  and,  on  October  17, 
1888,  was  married  there  to  Elizabeth  Burner,  a  daughter  of  Israel  and 
Martha  (Cullers)  Burner,  both  natives  of  Virginia.  The  former  died  In 
1884,  and  Mrs.  Burner  is  still  living  in  Page  County,  Virginia,  and  is  now 
seventy  years  of  age.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Linaweaver  lived  in  Virginia  for 
eight  years,  at  the  end  of  which  time  they  lost  their  home  by  fire  and 
also  a  daughter  was  burned  to  death.  They  then  returned  to  Lansing, 
Kansas,  and  built  a  house  and  barn  there,  which  they  later  sold,  when 
they  bought  the  Diger  farm  about  two  and  one-half  miles  southwest  of 
Lansing,  which  they  still  own  and  their  son,  Claude  Linaweaver,  operates 
a  dairy  on  this  farm.  Until  1916  W.  J.  Linaweaver  was  engaged  in  the 
dairy  business  there,  and  made  many  improvements  on  the  place.  He 
built  two  large  barns  and  a  silo  and  dug  two  wells,  besides  cutting  the 
brush  and  other  minor  improvements  and  made  it  a  productive  farm.  He 
milked  forty  cows  and  also  raised  mules.  The  Linaweaver  farm  now  has 
about  fifteen  acres  of  alfalfa.  Mr.  Linaweaver  was  the  first  farmer  to 
raise  alfalfa  in  that  neighborhood. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Linaweaver  reside  in  South  Lansing.  They  are  the 
parents  of  the  following  children:  Claude  B.,  who  married  Margaret 
Smootz,  of  Shenandoah  County.  Virginia ;  Pauline,  the  wife  of  Charles  W. 
Zule,  a  farmer  of  McLouth,  Kansas ;  and  Geneva  Ruth,  who  lives  at  home, 
and  who  was  graduated  from  high  school  in  1920.  They  had  a  daughter, 
Maude,  who  was  burned  to  death  at  the  age  of  eight  years.  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Linaweaver  have  four  grandchildren:  Walter  C,  Glen  L.  and  Carl  William 
Linaweaver,  and  Eugene  W.  Zule. 

Mr.  Linaweaver  is  a  member  of  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Work- 
men and  is  one  of  the  men  who  takes  an  active  part  in  his  lodge,  also  in 
the  community,  and  is  always  ready  to  assist  any  movement  for  the  de- 
velopment of  the  county. 


■s 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  385 

George  J.  Mclntire,  now  deceased,  was  a  prominent  farmer  and  stock- 
man of  Leavenworth  County.  He  was  born  in  Chester  County,  Pennsyl- 
vania, March  16,  1829  and  died  March  16,  1885.  He  was  educated  in  Penn- 
sylvania and  lived  there  until  he  was  twenty-one  years  of  age,  at  which 
time  he  went  to  California  via  Cape  Horn  and  remained  on  the  Pacific 
coast  for  eight  years,  returning  across  the  plains.  He  came  to  Leaven- 
worth in  1859  and  engaged  in  carpenter  work.  In  1862  he  and  his  wife 
located  on  a  farm,  two  and  one-half  miles  south  of  Lansing,  Kansas,  which 
he  purchased  from  Mr.  Stafford.  This  farm  contains  160  acres,  and  Mr. 
Mclntire  improved  the  place  extensively  and  lived  there  until  his  death. 
He  followed  general  farming  and  stock  raising  and  was  very  successful. 
He  also  took  an  active  part  in  the  affairs  of  the  county,  and  was  commis- 
sioner of  Leavenworth  County  for  two  years  and  for  twenty-five  years 
was  a  director  of  the  school  board  of  his  district. 

George  Mclntire  was  married  February  11,  1862,  to  Caroline  Palmer, 
a  daughter  of  Harvey  and  Eliza  (Kingsley)  Palmer,  who  were  among  the 
early  settlers  of  Delaware  Township,  Leavenworth  County.  They  came 
from  New  York  in  1859  and  settled  on  the  O.  D.  Gould  farm.  Harvey 
Palmer  died  in  1883  and  his  wife  died  in  1861  and  both  are  buried  at  Mt. 
Muncie  Cemetery.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Palmer  were  the  parents  of  the  follow- 
ing children:  Mrs.  Jennie  Combs,  of  Kansas  City,  Kansas;  Mrs.  Mary  M. 
Stevens,  of  Trinidad,  Colorado;  Mrs.  George  J.  Mclntire  and  Joseph  D. 
Palmer  of  Fruitvale,  California;  Kenyon  Palmer,  died  in  1908;  George 
Palmer  died  in  1918;  Charles  N.,  who  died  in  California  about  1905;  and 
Gardner,  who  died  about  1880  while  on  his  way  to  Colorado. 

Caroline  Palmer  Mclntire  was  born  in  Warren  County,  New  York, 
November,  1840,  and  was  seventeen  years  of  age  when  she  came  to  Kan- 
sas with  her  parents.  She  is  now  living  on  the  home  farm  which  was 
purchased  by  her  husband  in  1862. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  George  Mclntire  were  the  parents  of  the  following  chil- 
dren :  Harry,  who  died  at  the  age  of  forty-eight  years  and  was  unmarried ; 
Edward,  who  was  born  in  1865  and  lives  on  the  home  farm;  Willard,  of 
Kansas  City,  Kansas;  Harvey,  who  died  in  1893,  married  Laura 
Kiefer  of  Nebraska;  Charlie,  who  died  at  the  age  of  seventeen  years; 
Frank,  who  lives  on  the  home  place,  and  was  born  in  1874.  He  married 
Edith  Jordan  and  they  have  two  sons:  Robert  and  Eugene;  Samuel,  a 
farmer,  who  married  Dena  Shaw  and  who  lives  south  of  Leavenworth, 
near  the  city  limits ;  and  Nathan,  who  died  in  1908  at  the  age  of  twenty- 

(21) 


386  HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

three  years.     Besides  Robert  and  Eugene  Mclntire,  Mrs.  Mclntire  has  a 
granddaughter,  Mrs.  Helen  Miller,  living  in  Nebraska. 

The  Mclntire  brothers,  Edward  and  Frank,  farm  the  home  place  and 
their  mother  lives  with  them.  The  farm  is  well  watered  and  otherwise 
improved  and  they  do  general  farming,  stock  raising,  feeding  and  are  suc- 
cessful farmers  and  excellent  people. 

Charles  R.  Jamieson,  a  well  known  farmer  and  stockman  of  near 
Leavenworth,  Kansas,  on  Rural  Route  No.  2,  was  born  in  Leavenworth, 
April  12,  1865,  the  son  of  Peter  and  Susan  (Stone)  Jamieson.  The  latter 
was  a  native  of  Canada  and  came  to  Leavenworth  before  her  marriage 
to  make  her  home  with  her  sister,  her  parents  being  dead.  She  died  in 
November,  1898  and  is  buried  at  Mt.  Muncie  Cemetery.  Peter  Jamieson 
now  lives  at  815  Pottawatomie  street,  Leavenworth,  and  is  eighty-three 
years  of  age. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Peter  Jamieson  were  the  parents  of  the  following  chil- 
dren: Charles  R.,  the  subject  of  this  sketch;  Mrs.  M.  J.  Aaron,  of  Lans- 
ing, Kansas;  Frank,  who  is  deceased;  Ida,  who  lives  at  home;  and  Fred, 
who  is  deceased. 

Charles  R.  Jamieson  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  Leaven- 
worth, and  was  engaged  in  the  grocery  business  there  with  his  father  until 
he  was  twenty  years  of  age,  when  he  located  on  a  farm.  Mr.  Jamieson 
owns  fifty-five  acres  of  well  improved  land  in  Delaware  Township,  which 
he  bought  in  1906.  He  has  a  good  residence,  which  he  built  in  1911,  and 
he  built  a  new  barn  in  1920,  his  first  barn  being  destroyed  by  lightning, 
August  11,  1920.  He  also  has  a  modern  poultry  house  and  raises  barred 
Plymouth  Rock  chickens.  He  also  does  general  farming  and  has  a  two 
acre  orchard. 

On  October  9,  1900,  Mr.  Jamieson  was  married  to  Catherine  Shea,  a 
native  of  Kansas  City,  but  who  was  living  in  Delaware  Township,  Leaven- 
worth County,  at  the  time  of  her  marriage.  She  is  a  daughter  of  John 
and  Anna  (McLaughlin)  Shea,  who  settled  in  Leavenworth  County,  Kan- 
sas in  1880,  coming  from  Kansas  City,  Missouri.  They  purchased  160 
acres  which  they  improved.  John  Shea  died  in  1899  at  the  age  of  fifty- 
seven  years,  and  is  buried  at  Mt.  Calvary  Cemetery.  He  was  a  native  of 
County  Kerry,  Ireland,  and  settled  first  at  Warrensburg,  Missouri,  where 
he  lived  a  few  years  before  going  to  Kansas  City.  Anna  McLaughlin  was 
a  native  of  County  Wexford,  Ireland,  and  is  now  living  with  her  daughter. 


HISTORY  OF  LEAVENWORTH  COUNTY  387 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  John  Shea  were  the  parents  of  the  following  children: 
Mary  Garrett,  who  is  deceased;  Mrs.  Jamieson,  the  wife  of  Charles  R. 
Jamieson;  Elizabeth,  the  wife  of  John  Griffin,  of  Kansas  City,  Missouri; 
John,  who  is  deceased;  and  Ella,  the  wife  of  John  Chenoweth  of  Wood- 
ward, Oklahoma;  William  and  Walter  of  Kansas  City,  Missouri.  Walter 
Shea  served  in  the  World  War,  having  enlisted  in  Rosedale,  Kansas,  in 
the  117th  Ammunition  Train  of  the  Rainbow  Division.  He  was  made  a 
corporal  shortly  after  his  enlistment.  He  was  gassed  at  Chateau  Thierry 
and  was  returned  as  a  casual  to  a  hospital  at  Des  Moines,  Iowa.  He  was 
discharged  at  Ft.  Riley,  in  1919,  and  now  lives  in  Kansas  City,  Missouri. 

Mr.  Jamieson  is  a  member  of  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America  and 
of  the  Fraternal  Aid. 


L.  D.  and  F.  P.  Harris  are  prosperous  farmers  and  respected  citizens 
of  Delaware  Township.  They  are  sons  of  David  P.  Harris,  deceased,  who 
was  born  in  Nashville,  Tennessee,  in  1807,  and,  when  fifteen  years  of  age, 
his  parents  moved  to  Sangamon,  Illinois,  and,  while  there,  made  the  ac- 
quaintance of  President  Lincoln.  He  lived  there  when  Springfield,  Illinois 
was  laid  out,  and  was  married  in  Springfield  to  Mary  Nelson.  They  moved 
to  Texas,  where  they  remained  for  a  short  time,  then  went  to  Polk  County, 
Missouri  and  lived  for  twenty-four  years.  He  came  to  Leavenworth 
County  in  1865,  and,  in  1866,  moved  to  the  farm  where  his  two  sons, 
L.  D.  and  F.  P.  Harris  now  live  and  own.  David  P.  Harris  died  March  11, 
1885  on  his  home  place  and  is  buried  in  Delaware  Cemetery.  His  wife 
was  born  in  1810  in  Nashville,  Tennessee.  She  died  January  21,  1902, 
and  is  also  buried  in  Delaware  Cemetery. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  David  P.  Harris  were  the  parents  of  the  following  chil- 
dren: Mrs.  Harriet  Peak  died  when  eighty  years  of  age;  William  Harris 
went  to  California  in  1852  and  died  there  about  1875;  George  W.,  of 
Wichita,  Kansas,  who  is  eighty-three  years  of  age;  Mary  Jane  married 
John  Flint  and  died  about  1905;  Sarah  married  Ezekiel  Flint  and  died  in 
1918  (both  John  and  Ezekiel  Flint  were  in  the  Eighth  Missouri  cavalry 
of  the  Union  Army) ;  Early,  who  lives  at  the  National  Military  Home,  and 
is  seventy  years  of  age,  was  with  General  Custer  on  the  plains  in  1868 ; 
Martha,  the  wife  of  Henry  Hopkins,  of  Kansas  City,  Missouri;  C.  C,  a 
guard  at  the  Federal  Prison ;  L.  D.  and  F.  P.  of  this  sketch. 

L.  D.  and  F.  P.  Harris  were  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  Leaven- 
worth and  the  district  schools  of  Delaware  Township.     They  have  made 


388  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

their  home  here  continuously  for  fifty-six  years  and  are  well  known.  They 
own  180  acres  of  good  land,  eighty  acres  of  it  being  the  old  home  place. 
The  improvements  were  put  on  the  farm  by  them.  They  do  general  farm- 
ing and  raise  cattle,  horses  and  hogs. 

F.  P.  Harris  was  married  in  1892  to  Emma  Neudeck,  a  daughter  of 
Leopole  Neudeck,  of  Kansas  City,  Kansas,  and  who  is  now  eighty-four 
years  of  age.  His  wife  was  Teresa  Eckel,  a  native  of  Pennsylvania.  She 
died  August  6,  1916.  Emma  Neudeck  was  born  in  LaSalle  County,  Illi- 
nois, July  24,  1862. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  F.  P.  Harris  have  two  sons:  Edwin  M.,  was  born  May 
15,  1894,  and  served  in  the  World  War,  having  enlisted  in  Company  E  at 
Leavenworth,  the  139th  Infantry,  35th  Division,  in  August  2,  1917.  He 
was  in  service  for  twenty  months,  one  year  and  four  days  of  this  time 
being  spent  overseas.  He  was  in  the  following  battles:  Grand  Ballou, 
Wesserling  sector,  Verdun  sector,  St.  Mihiel  offensive  and  Argonne-Exer- 
mont.  On  April  14,  1919,  he  was  discharged  at  Camp  Funston  and  is  now 
in  Logan  County,  Kansas,  engaged  in  farming.  He  is  a  member  of  the 
Modern  Woodman  of  America.  The  other  son  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Harris  is 
Herbert  B.,  who  was  born  February  20,  1900,  and  now  lives  with  his 
parents. 

Mr.  F.  P.  Harris  is  a  member  of  the  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted 
Masons  and  the  Royal  Neighbors. 


Benjamin  B.  Buchanan  is  the  progressive  proprietor  of  Fairview 
Farm,  one  of  the  best  farms  in  this  section.  He  was  born  at  Kickapoo 
Island,  Kickapoo  Township,  December  31,  1881,  and  is  the  son  of  George 
and  Elizabeth  (Patterson)  Buchanan.  She  died  in  1886.  George  Buchanan 
now  lives  in  Stringer  Township.  He  came  to  Kansas  in  1854  and  settled 
on  Kickapoo  Island,  where  he  lived  until  about  1900  and  then  moved  to 
Stranger  Township,  where  he  now  resides.  He  is  eighty-four  years  of 
age.  He  worked  for  the  United  States  government  during  the  Civil  War, 
and  crossed  the  plains  to  New  Mexico  several  times. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  George  Buchanan  are  the  parents  of  the  following  chil- 
dren: Mrs.  Elizabeth  Whitlock,  who  is  deceased;  L.  C,  of  Delaware 
Township;  Florida  Buchanan,  at  home;  Benjamin,  the  subject  of  this 
sketch;  George,  a  farmer  in  Stranger  Township;  and  Helen,  the  wife  of 
Ben  Cleavenger,  of  Stranger  Township. 


HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  389 

Benjamin  Buchanan  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  Kickapoo 
Township  and  since  early  manhood  has  been  engaged  in  farming.  He 
bought  his  present  farm  in  1908  from  L.  B.  Wheat  and  the  entire  farm 
of  160  acres  was  originally  an  apple  orchard,  belonging  to  Mr.  Wellboure. 
All  of  the  improvements  have  been  put  on  the  place  by  Mr.  Buchanan.  He 
has  a  modern,  seven  room  residence,  a  barn  30  x  40  feet  in  dimension,  and 
other  farm  buildings.  All  the  buildings  are  neatly  painted  and  well  kept. 
The  home  is  very  attractive  and  is  situated  three-fourths  of  a  mile  from 
the  town  of  Fairmont.  For  the  past  ten  years,  Mr.  Buchanan  has  been 
engaged  in  raising  wheat  extensively.  He  uses  a  tractor  for  plowing, 
harrowing,  seeding  and  harvesting.  He  bought  the  first  Fordson  tractor 
used  in  this  township,  and  is  now  using  his  second  tractor.  The  place  is 
favorably  located  and  well  watered.  Mrs.  Buchanan  raises  white  Leghorn 
chickens  and  does  her  part  in  the  work  and  management  of  their  fine 
home. 

Benjamin  Buchanan  was  married  January  6,  1916  to  Alice  Cleavinger 
of  Kickapoo  Township,  a  daughter  of  Joseph  and  Hattie  (Edwards)  Cleav- 
inger. Her  parents  reside  on  a  farm  in  Kickapoo  Township,  on  the  farm 
where  Hattie  Edwards,  a  daughter  of  Benjamin  F.  Edwards,  was  born  in 
1858.  Joseph  Cleavinger  was  born  in  1857  and  lived  in  Jefferson  County 
for  some  years,  later  returning  to  this  county.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Joseph 
Cleavinger  are  the  parents  of  the  following  children:  Miss  Bettie  Cleav- 
inger; A.  B.,  of  Stranger  Township;  Mrs.  Buchanan;  Mrs.  Ben  Highfill,  of 
Potter,  Kansas;  Miss  Hattie  Cleavinger;  Joseph  A.,  of  Lowemont,  Kan- 
sas; Miss  Jane  Cleavinger  and  Eugene,  who  lives  at  home. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Buchanan  have  a  daughter  Evelyn. 

Mr.  Buchanan  is  a  member  of  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America  of 
Fairmont. 


Henry  J.  Lohman,  a  prosperous  farmer  of  Delaware  Township,  was 
born  in  Hanover,  Germany,  May  22,  1848.  He  is  the  son  of  Henry  J., 
Sr.,  and  Phoebe  (Monnich)  Lohman,  who  came  from  Germany  to  New 
Orleans,  afterward  settling  in  Switzerland  County,  Indiana,  where  they 
both  died,  he  at  the  age  of  sixty-three  years  and  she  at  the  age  of  fifty- 
nine  years. 

Henry  J.  Lohman  came  to  Leavenworth  County,  Kansas,  from  Peoria, 
Illinois,  many  years  ago,  and  worked  by  the  month  on  farms  for  $22.00 


390  HISTORY  OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

per  month,  which  was  considered  good  wages  for  that  time.  In  a  short 
time,  he  began  renting  places,  but  after  a  few  months  bought  eighty  acres 
from  Thomas  P.  Fowlon  for  $25.00  per  acre,  where  he  now  lives.  Mr. 
Lohman  has  added  all  improvements  and  he  has  a  good  house,  barn,  fenc- 
ing, good  water,  etc.  He  formerly  owned  two  hundred  acres  more,  but 
has  sold  off  all  except  about  eighty  acres. 

Mr.  Lohman  was  married  the  first  time  to  Clara  A.  Atkinson,  in 
January,  1872.  She  died  in  1892.  They  had  the  following  children: 
Freely,  of  Stafford,  Kansas;  H.  J.,  Jr.,  of  Leavenworth,  who  is  manager 
of  the  Planters  Hotel ;  William,  of  Preston,  Idaho ;  Mabel,  wife  of  J.  Bert 
Barr,  of  Dallas,  Texas ;  and  George,  of  Sparks,  Nevada. 

George  Lohman  was  in  the  United  States  army  and  had  about  two 
years  service  in  the  World  War,  and  during  which  time,  he  was  at  the 
front  for  thirty  days  under  fire. 

Mr.  Lohman  was  married  the  second  time  to  Rebecca  A.  Cleavinger, 
who  had  been  a  teacher  in  Leavenworth  County  for  twenty  years.  She 
died  July  13,  1898,  at  the  age  of  forty-one  years  and  ten  months.  They 
had  a  daughter  Marcia,  who  died  December  12,  1918. 

December  24,  1900,  Mr.  Lohman  married  his  present  wife,  who  was 
Flora  Athey  of  Leavenworth  County.  She  was  born  at  Brazil,  Indiana. 
They  have  four  sons,  as  follows:     Donald,  Jack,  Winfred  and  Rene. 

Mr.  Lohman  and  family  are  highly  respected  citizens.  Mr.  Lohman 
was  road  overseer  for  nineteen  years  in  district  No.  6. 


Lon  Rush  is  the  widely  known  township  trustee  of  Delaware  Town- 
ship, and  a  successful  farmer.  He  lives  on  Route  6  from  Leavenworth, 
Kansas,  four  miles  southwest  of  Lansing.  He  was  born  in  St.  Louis,  Mis- 
souri, March  24,  1879,  the  son  of  Oscar  P.  and  Antomo  Falbrock  Rush; 
his  father  was  born  in  Rushville,  Indiana,  the  town  being  named  for  the 
Rush  family.  He  came  to  Leavenworth  shortly  after  the  Civil  War,  and 
was  shipping  clerk  for  Ruch  and  Sprague  Milling  Company,  now  known 
as  the  Leavenworth  Milling  Company.  He  died  in  1904  and  his  wife  died 
in  1897.    Both  are  buried  in  Mt.  Muncie  cemetery. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Oscar  Rush  were  the  parents  of  the  following  children : 
Fannie,  of  Chicago,  Illinois;  Lon,  the  subject  of  this  sketch;  Oscar,  of 
Kansas  City,  Missouri,  and  Leona  of  Kansas  City,  Kansas. 

Lon  Rush  was  educated  in  the  Leavenworth  schools,  and  followed 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  391 

railroading  for  ten  years,  when,  in  1903,  he  lost  his  right  leg  in  a  railroad 
wreck,  the  engine  turning  over  upon  him,  he  was  forced  to  leave  that  voca- 
tion. He  then  purchased  his  present  home  in  1910,  a  farm  containing 
130  acres,  and  has  been  engaged  in  farming  since  that  time.  This  farm 
was  known  as  the  Carruthers  farm.  Mr.  Rush  does  general  farming  and 
stock  raising  and  is  an  enterprising  farmer,  and  respected  citizen. 

Mr.  Rush  was  elected  township  trustee  in  1916  and  re-elected  in  1918 
and  again  in  1920. 

H.  D.  Rush,  an  uncle  of  Lon  Rush,  now  deceased,  and  who  is  buried 
at  Rushville,  Indiana,  was  president  of  the  Home  Riverside  Coal  Mining 
Company  of  Leavenworth  and  owner  of  the  Rush  and  Sprague  Milling 
Company  for  a  number  of  years  and  was  prominent  among  the  business 
interests  of  Leavenworth. 


James  F.  Timberlake,  who  followed  farming  successfully  in  Delaware 
Township  for  twenty  years,  and  who  now  lives  in  Lansing,  Kansas,  was 
born  in  Platte  County,  Missouri,  January  23,  1851,  the  son  of  James  H.  and 
Lavina  Timberlake,  who  were  married  near  St.  Louis.  James  H.  Timber- 
lake  came  from  Kentucky  and  settled  in  Platte  County,  Missouri,  at  the 
time  of  the  Platte  Purchase.  In  1858,  he  located  in  Brown  County,  Kansas 
and  lived  there  until  1881,  when  he  moved  to  Lansing,  Kansas,  and  bought 
five  acres  of  land  and  built  the  residence  now  owned  by  James  F.  Timber- 
lake.  He  died  May,  1889,  at  the  age  of  seventy-six  years,  and  his  wife 
died  in  1880. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  James  H.  Timberlake  were  the  parents  of  the  following 
children :  Mrs.  Florentine  Blake,  of  Franklin  County,  Kansas ;  Mrs.  Ellen 
Osborne,  of  Thayer,  Neosho  County,  Kansas;  Mrs.  Valena  S.,  of  Merritt, 
Kansas ;  S.  B.,  who  is  deceased ;  and  Martha  J.  Witham,  also  deceased. 

.  James  F.  Timberlake,  the  fourth  of  the  family,  was  educated  in  the 
Brown  County,  Kansas,  public  schools.  In  1865,  he  made  a  trip  across 
the  plains  to  Denver,  Colorado,  driving  seven  yoke  of  cattle,  and  with 
wagons  loaded  with  flour,  and,  the  next  year,  he  drove  from  Leavenworth 
to  Salt  Lake  City.    On  these  trips,  he  had  many  interesting  experiences. 

Mr.  Timberlake  moved  to  his  present  home  in  1907.  He  has  filled  the 
office  of  trustee  of  Delaware  Township  and  for  the  past  ten  years  has  been 
committeeman  of  Delaware  Township.  He  is  well  known  and  highly 
respected  citizen. 


392  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

In  1887,  Mr.  Timberlake  was  married  to  Kate  Digger,  who  died  De- 
cember 22,  1907.  He  married  his  present  wife  April  17,  1913.  She  was 
Mrs.  Anna  J.  (Myers)  Parks,  a  native  of  Richmond,  Kentucky,  and  she 
and  her  first  husband,  G.  B.  Parks,  located  at  Ft.  Scott,  Kansas  about  1886, 
where  he  died  in  May,  1907.  Mrs.  Timberlake  has  four  children  by  her 
first  marriage :  William  H.,  of  Waynoka,  Oklahoma ;  Myers  Parks,  of  Con- 
cordia, Kansas ;  Jennie  Babb,  of  Forgan,  Oklahoma ;  and  G.  B.  Parks,  who 
was  sergeant  in  the  United  States  army  with  Company  C,  Tenth  Field 
Battery  Signal  Corps  during  the  World  War.  He  enlisted  in  June,  1917, 
from  Topeka,  and  was  two  years  in  service,  and  overseas  one  year.  He 
resigned  an  excellent  position  to  assist  his  country  in  the  late  war.  He 
was  married  August,  1920,  to  Verne  Brooks,  of  Bonner  Springs,  Kansas, 
and  he  is  now  employed  as  general  relief  agent  over  the  eastern  division 
of  the  Santa  Fe  Railway  Company,  and  lives  at  Emporia,  Kansas. 


George  E.  Carr,  assessor  of  Delaware  Township,  was  born  in  Putnam 
County,  Indiana,  August  31,  1858.  He  is  the  son  of  William  H.  and 
Margaret  M.  (Busick)  Carr. 

William  H.  Carr  settled  in  Putnam  County  at  the  age  of  seven  years, 
being  a  native  of  Clermont  County,  Ohio.  He  lived  in  Putman  County 
on  a  farm  until  1882.  when  he  and  wife  moved  to  Kansas  and  located  at 
Council  Grove,  where  he  died  in  1914.  His  wife  died  in  1906.  The  fol- 
lowing children  were  born  to  them:  Albert  F.,  of  Lansing,  Kansas;  John 
W.,  who  died  when  thirteen  years  of  age;  Sarah  J.,  who  died  in  childhood; 
George  E.,  the  subject  of  this  sketch;  Mary  M.,  the  wife  of  J.  H.  Athey, 
of  Brazil,  Indiana;  William  E.,  of  Council  Grove,  Kansas;  Elizabeth  E., 
deceased,  who  was  the  wife  of  J.  M.  Barber;  Addie  Miller,  wife  of  Julius 
Miller,  deceased;  C.  L.,  of  Kansas  City,  Missouri,  and  Arthur  E.,  of  Coun- 
cil Grove. 

George  E.  Carr  was  educated  in  the  common  schools  of  Indiana,  and 
followed  carpenter  work  and  farming  in  that  state  until  1882,  when  he 
came  to  Kansas.  He  farmed  for  four  years  near  Council  Grove,  after 
which  he  was  with  the  Missouri  Pacific  as  a  locomotive  fireman  for  about 
six  years.  He  conducted  a  cafe  for  two  years  in  Council  Grove,  and  on 
April  23,  1894,  he  located  in  Lansing,  where  he  was  engaged  in  contract- 
ing and  carpentering.  He  worked  both  in  the  city  and  country  and  built 
many  residences.     He  was  deputy  sheriff  under  Sheriff  Thomas  Larkin 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  393 

for  two  years  and  four  years  under  Sheriff  W.  H.  Courtney.  For  the  past 
four  years  he  has  been  assessor  of  Delaware  Township,  which  includes 
the  city  of  Lansing.  In  addition  to  his  official  duties  Mr.  Carr  writes  fire 
and  tornado  insurance. 

Mr.  Carr  was  married  November  12,  1876  to  Mary  P.  Athey,  a  native 
of  Putnam  County,  Indiana,  and  daughter  of  H.  H.  and  Mary  J.  (Myers) 
Athey,  the  latter  a  native  of  Virginia,  and  the  former  a  native  of  Ken- 
tucky, but  moved  to  Putnam  County  when  five  years  of  age,  in  the  early 
days  when  Indians  were  still  in  that  part  of  the  country.  His  father, 
James  Athey,  was  a  successful  horseman  of  Kentucky,  and  brought  fine 
stock  with  him  to  Indiana. 

H.  H.  and  Mary  Athey  died  in  Putnam  County,  Indiana.  The  Athey 
children  are:  James  H.,  Brazil,  Indiana,  who  married  a  sister  of  George 
E.  Carr;  Mrs.  Carr;  Lucinda  M.,  who  died  at  the  age  of  four  years; 
Lawrence  H.,  of  Greencastle,  Indiana;  Nancy  Elizabeth,  of  Greencastle; 
William  D.,  of  Singer,  California  (the  two  last  named  being  twins)  ;  Sarah 
Frances,  who  died  in  infancy ;  Isadora,  who  died  at  the  age  of  eleven  years ; 
Robert  Milton,  of  Terre  Haute,  Indiana,  and  Flora  M.,  wife  of  H.  J.  Loh- 
man,  of  Lansing,  Kansas. 

George  E.  Carr  was  one  of  the  first  members  of  his  family  to  leave 
Indiana.  He  and  his  wife  drove  in  a  covered  wagon  from  Putnam  County, 
Indiana,  to  Council  Grove,  Kansas.  They  were  one  of  seven  teams  in  a 
train,  making  the  trip  in  thirty-five  days. 


Richard  Cogan,  a  well  known  dairyman  of  Lansing,  Kansas,  is  a 
native  of  this  state,  born  at  Leavenworth  in  1869,  the  son  of  William  and 
Ellen  E.  (Bassett)  Cogan.  His  mother  was  a  native  of  England  and  his 
father  was  born  in  Ohio.  The  latter  owned  slaves  in  Louisiana  prior  to 
the  Civil  War.  He  came  to  Leavenworth  in  1865.  He  drove  an  ambulance 
wagon  during  the  war.  For  a  number  of  years  he  conducted  a  dairy  at 
Lansing  and  furnished  milk  to  the  state  prison,  prior  to  the  purchase  of 
the  dairy  herd  by  the  state.  He  died  about  the  year  1884  and  his  wife  died 
in  1902.    They  are  buried  at  Mt.  Calvary  Cemetery. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  William  Cogan  were  the  parents  of  the  following  chil- 
dren: John,  of  Atchison,  Kansas;  Thomas,  of  Commanche,  Oklahoma; 
Richard,  of  this  sketch;  William,  of  Leavenworth;  and  Ella,  the  wife  of 
Edgar  Matthews,  of  Berkeley,  California. 

Richard  Cogan  received  his  education  in  District  No.  10  of  Mt.  Muncie 
and  also  the  Catholic  School  under  Father  Downey.     He  enlisted  in  the 


394  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

Spanish-American  War  and  was  sent  to  the  Philippine  Islands  with  the 
Twentieth  United  States  Infantry,  and  saw  one  year's  service,  during 
which  time  he  went  around  the  world. 

Upon  his  return  from  the  war  he  worked  for  ten  years  in  the  dairy 
of  Mr.  Phillips  on  the  farm  which  he  now  leases.  This  is  a  farm  of 
seventy-two  and  one-half  acres,  one  mile  east  of  Lansing. 

Mr.  Cogan  has  fifteen  head  of  cows,  and  besides  the  dairying  activities 
he  also  raises  hogs. 

In  1905  Mr.  Cogan  was  married  to  Venitia  E.  Patty,  a  daughter  of 
Thomas  E.  and  Julia  A.  (Smith)  Patty,  both  deceased.  Mrs.  Cogan  was 
born  in  Kansas  City,  Kansas. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Cogan  have  two  sons:  Gail  E.,  who  was  born  April  3, 
1906  and  Cleo  J.,  who  was  born  February  11,  1908.  The  family  are  sub- 
stantial and  well  liked  citizens  of  the  community.  Mr.  Cogan  is  a  member 
of  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America. 


Robert  L.  Seymour,  a  prominent  and  well-known  farmer  of  High  Prai- 
rie Township,  is  a  native  of  Kansas,  and  was  born  in  Kickapoo  Township, 
Leavenworth  County,  January  2,  1863,  the  son  of  G.  W.  and  Susan  (Gann) 
Seymour,  both  now  deceased. 

G.  W.  Seymour  was  born  in  Virginia  and  came  to  Missouri,  via  Mis- 
souri River,  with  the  earliest  settlers  and  located  in  Buchanan  County. 
During  the  Civil  War  he  drove  from  Ft.  Leavenworth  to  Mexico,  return- 
ing across  the  plains.  On  his  last  trip  he  was  attacked  by  Indians,  losing 
much  of  his  property.  Due  to  a  bank  failure,  he  also  lost  his  money.  In 
1865,  he  settled  on  a  farm  in  High  Prairie  Township,  Kansas,  and  bought 
fifty  acres,  known  as  the  government  corral,  where  the  government  kept 
their  horses  and  mules  which  were  used  in  transportation.  He  later  bought 
thirty  acres  more,  and  at  another  time  forty  acres,  and  made  his  home 
on  this  place  until  he  died  in  1895,  at  the  age  of  eighty-two  years.  His 
wife  died  in  February,  1904,  and  both  are  buried  at  Little  Stranger 
cemetery. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  G.  W.  Seymour  were  the  parents  of  the  following  chil- 
dren: Mrs.  Margaret  Ettinger,  of  St.  Louis,  Missouri;  Samuel  A.,  of 
Boling,  Kansas;  Mrs.  Anna  Ettinger,  of  Lansing,  Kansas;  George,  of 
Amarilla,  Texas ;  William  A.,  of  Leavenworth ;  A.  J.,  of  Kansas  City,  Mis- 
souri ;  and  Robert  L.,  the  subject  of  this  sketch. 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  395 

Robert  L.  Seymour  was  educated  at  the  Faulkner  school,  and  has  made 
his  home  on  the  farm  at  Boling  for  the  past  fifty-two  years.  He  also  owns 
the  120  acres  of  the  home  place  at  Boling.  Mr.  Seymour  does  general 
farming  and  raises  mules  and  horses,  also  feeds  hogs  extensively.  He  is 
one  of  the  substantial  citizens  of  his  township  and  has  many  friends. 

R.  L.  Seymour  and  father  conducted  the  first  store  in  Boling,  Kansas, 
which  was  sold  in  1907.  This  store  was  burned  and  rebuilt  by  Mr.  Sey- 
mour. Besides  owning  and  operating  the  store,  he  was  also  postmaster, 
succeeding  his  father  who  held  this  position  for  about  twenty  years.  Mr. 
Seymour's  activities  also  extended  to  township  affairs,  and  he  served  for 
ten  years  as  constable,  and  for  eight  years  as  clerk. 

In  July  5,  1902,  Mr.  Seymour  was  married  to  Edna  Pulley,  a  daughter 
of  W.  D.  and  Mary  (Cooper)  Pulley.  W.  D.  Pulley  was  born  in  Nodaway 
County,  Missouri,  and  now  lives  in  High  Prairie  Township.  His  wife  was 
born  in  Platte  County,  Missouri,  July  20,  1842,  and  died  December  23, 
1920,  and  is  buried  at  Mt.  Muncie.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Pulley  were  the  parents 
of  the  following  children:  Jennie,  who  lives  at  home;  Jesse  B.,  of  Lex- 
ington, Missouri;  Mrs.  Elizabeth  Norris,  of  Kansas  City,  Missouri;  Mrs. 
Fannie  Newton,  of  Linneus,  Missouri;  Mrs.  Seymour,  the  wife  of  Robert 
L.  Seymour;  Grundy  Pulley,  of  Simonton,  Texas,  and  Bruce  Pulley,  who' 
lives  at  home. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Robert  Seymour  have  two  children:  Doris  E.  and 
Robert  Lee. 

Mr.  Seymour  is  a  member  of  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America,  and 
Mrs.  Seymour  is  a  member  of  the  Royal  Neighbors. 

Samuel  Seymour,  a  brother  of  R.  L.  Seymour,  makes  his  home  with 
the  latter.  He  is  now  seventy-two  years  of  age.  When  eleven  years  old, 
he  drove  six  yoke  of  oxen  to  Sale  Lake,  across  the  plains.  John  Carr,  of 
Kickapoo  Township  was  wagonboss.  Samuel  Seymour  has  devoted  thirty 
years  or  more  of  his  time  in  the  West,  and  has  had  many  interesting 
experiences. 


T.  J.  Chesnut  is  the  enterprising  proprietor  and  owner  of  Elm  Grove 
Farm,  which  is  located  in  Delaware  Township,  two  and  three-fourths  miles 
southwest  of  Lansing,  Kansas.  He  was  born  in  Saline  County,  Missouri, 
August  29,  1870,  and  is  the  son  of  L.  and  Mary  (Coffman)  Chestnut.  They 
moved  to  Richardson  County,  Nebraska,  in  1881,  where  he  died  near  Fall 


396  HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

City  in  1899.  Mrs.  Chesnut  is  now  living  at  Fall  City,  Nebraska.  L.  Ches- 
nut  was  in  the  Civil  War,  a  veteran  from  Missouri,  and  served  two  years. 
To  Mr.  and  Mrs.  L.  Chesnut  were  born  the  following  children :  Mrs.  Dora 
Weddel,  of  Laselle,  Colorado;  Mrs.  Bettie  Weddel,  deceased;  T.  J.,  the 
subject  of  this  sketch;  James,  of  Preston,  Nebraska;  Lesel,  of  Brown 
County,  Kansas;  Mrs.  Minnie  Joy,  of  Brown  County,  Kansas;  Charles,  of 
Fall  City,  Nebraska,  and  Roy,  of  Brown  County,  Kansas. 

T.  J.  Chestnut  was  educated  in  Salem,  Nebraska,  and  was  engaged  in, 
farming  there  and  came  to  Leavenworth  County  in  May,  1901,  and  lived 
near  Lansing.  He  bought  his  present  home  in  1916,  from  W.  J.  Line- 
weaver.  Mr.  Chesnut  has  improved  the  farm,  rebuilt  the  house,  built  new 
granary  and  cow  barn.  He  has  eighty  acres  of  excellent  land,  and  a  good 
cistern  with  running  water.  Mr.  Chesnut  does  general  farming,  operates 
a  dairy,  and  raises  stock.  He  and  his  wife  are  hustlers  and  are  very  suc- 
cessful. Mr.  Chesnut  has  eleven  acres  of  alfalfa  land,  which  has  been 
cut  four  times  each  year  for  the  last  two  years. 

Mr.  Chesnut  was  married  in  1892  to  Hattie  Jenning,  who  died  in  1910, 
and  is  buried  in  Delaware  cemetery.  They  had  two  daughters:  Mrs. 
Ethel  Watson,  of  Kansas  City,  Kansas,  and  Pearl,  who  lives  at  home.  He 
married  his  presen  twife  November  6,  1911.  She  was  Mrs.  Flora  Watson 
of  Tarkio,  Missouri.  She  has  three  children :  Mrs.  Lizzie  Chiles,  of  Ard- 
more,  Oklahoma;  Vernon  Watson,  and  John,  at  home. 

Mr.  Chesnut  is  a  member  of  the  Modem  Woodmen  of  America,  of 
Lansing,  Kansas. 


Charles  Edmonds,  a  thrifty  and  successful  farmer,  who  lives  in  Dela- 
ware Township,  is  a  native  of  Monmouthshire,  England,  and  was  born 
October  18,  1846,  the  son  of  Thomas  and  Mary  (Vaughn)  Edmonds.  The 
family  came  to  Wisconsin  from  England  in  1848,  locating  in  Chicago, 
where  they  lived  for  five  years,  coming  to  Kansas  in  1859.  They  settled 
near  Oskaloosa,  Kansas,  two  years  later,  afterward  moving  north  of 
McLouth,  Jefferson  County.  Thomas  Edmonds  died  January  19,  1869,  at 
the  age  of  fifty-seven  years,  and  his  wife  died  December  24,  1887.  Both 
are  buried  at  Fowler  cemetery.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Thomas  Edmonds  are  the 
parents  of  the  following  children :  Thomas  Edmonds,  of  McLouth,  Kansas ; 
Matt,  who  died  in  1914,  and  who  served  in  the  legislature  one  term  as  rep- 
resentative and  four  years  as  senator,  of  Jefferson  County ;  Amos,  who  was 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  397 

born  August  2,  1842,  and  who  died  in  Jefferson  County  in  1912 ;  John  B. 
who  was  born  in  England,  September  8, 1844,  and  died  in  Kansas  City,  Mis- 
souri, February,  1918;  Charles,  of  this  sketch;  Mrs.  Rachel  Rumbaugh, 
who  was  born  in  England  and  died  in  Jefferson  County ;  Albert,  who  was 
born  in  Chicago,  Illinois,  and  now  lives  at  McLouth,  Kansas;  Mrs.  Mary 
Shepherd,  of  Lansing,  Kansas,  and  David,  a  banker  of  McLouth,  Kansas. 

Charles  Edmonds  received  his  education  in  the  public  schools  of  Jef- 
ferson County,  and,  at  the  age  of  twenty-three  years,  began  farming  for 
himself  in  Jefferson  County.  He  purchased  a  240-acre  farm  and  improved 
it.  He  lived  there  for  thirty-four  years  and  sold  it  in  1906  and  came  to 
Leavenworth  County,  where  he  bought  240  acres,  which  he  sold  in  1914. 
He  then  bought  his  present  home  of  thirty-three  acres  in  Delaware  Town- 
ship, one  mile  from  the  city  limits  of  Leavenworth.  He  has  a  nice  resi- 
dence on  this  place,  which  is  modern,  and  the  land  is  second  bottom  and 
very  fertile.  Mr.  Edmonds  understands  farming  thoroughly  and  has  made 
a  success  in  life  by  hard  work  and  careful  management. 

December  31,  1872,  Mr.  Edmonds  was  married  in  Leavenworth,  Kan- 
sas, to  Louisa  Sinclair,  a  daughter  of  Robert  and  Elinor  (Henshaw)  Sin- 
clair. Mr.  and  Mrs.  Edmonds  have  had  nine  children,  as  follows :  Edward, 
who  died  in  1905,  at  the  age  of  thirty-one  years ;  Fred,  of  Topeka,  Kansas  ; 
Albert,  of  Leavenworth ;  Effie  and  Elva,  who  live  at  home ;  Otto,  of  Kansas 
City,  Missouri,  and  who  was  in  the  United  States  Army  during  the  World 
War,  and  was  stationed  at  Camp  Funston  when  the  armistice  was  signed  ; 
Matt,  a  farmer  of  Lansing,  Kansas ;  Oliver,  of  Alexandria  Township,  who 
is  a  farmer;  and  Paul,  who  lives  at  home.  Paul  Edmonds  served  six 
months  at  Camp  Funston  during  the  World  War  and  was  with  the  heavy 
artillery,  Battery  F,  Twenty-eighth  Field  Artillery. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Edmonds  have  eight  grandchildren;  Vesta,  Elsie,  Dale, 
Orville,  Charles,  Howard,  Wilber  and  Albert  Edmonds. 


R.  F.  Faulkner,  a  well-known  and  progressive  farmer  and  stock  raiser 
of  Leavenworth  County,  was  born  on  the  farm  where  he  now  lives  in. 
High  Prairie  Township,  southwest  of  Leavenworth,  February  8,  1866.  He 
is  the  son  of  John  K.  and  Margaret  (Stearns)  Faulkner,  who  are  both 
deceased. 

John  K.  Faulkner  was  born  near  Morgantown,  West  Virginia,  and 
came  to  Platte  County,  Missouri,  when  a  young  man  and  worked  for  a 


398  HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

merchant  at  Farley,  Missouri.  He  later  was  in  the  mercantile  business 
for  himself.  He  came  to  Leavenworth  County  in  March,  1861.  Mr.  Faulk- 
ner made  a  number  of  trips  across  the  plains  from  Fort  Leavenworth  to 
Santa  Fe,  New  Mexico,  and  Salt  Lake  City  for  the  government,  going  by 
way  of  ox  team  route.  John  Faulkner  was  a  Democrat,  and  served  three 
terms  in  the  House  of  Representatives.  His  father,  J.  F.  Faulkner,  was 
Alexander  Faulkner,  who  was  born  on  the  ocean,  while  his  parents  were 
coming  to  America.  Alexander  Faulkner's  father,  Thomas  Faulkner,  was 
a  native  of  Ireland,  and  a  pioneer  of  Virginia.  John  Faulkner  died  in  1900 
at  the  age  of  seventy-four  years,  and  his  wife  died  December  25,  1915, 
being  seventy-eight  years  of  age.    Both  are  buried  at  Greenwood  Cemetery. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  John  Faulkner  were  the  parents  of  the  following  chil- 
dren :  William,  a  farmer  of  High  Prairie  Township ;  Charlie,  of  Guthrie, 
Oklahoma ;  Clarence,  of  Kansas  City,  Kansas ;  James,  of  Lansing,  Kansas ; 
and  R.  F.,  the  subject  of  this  sketch. 

R.  F.  Faulkner  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  his  township, 
and  has  lived  on  the  home  farm  all  his  life.  He  has  200  acres  of  well- 
improved  land,  eight  miles  southwest  of  Leavenworth,  on  the  Lawrence 
road.  He  has  a  good  residence  and  barn.  He  does  general  farming  and 
stock  raising  and  raises  Shorthorn  cattle,  and  is  one  of  the  most  success- 
ful farmers  of  the  community. 

Mr.  Faulkner  was  married  October  30,  1895,  to  Josephine  Sanders,  a 
daughter  of  John  and  Nettie  (Ewing)  Sanders.  The  former  died  in  1895 
in  Stranger  Township,  his  home,  and  Nettie  Sanders  is  now  living  in 
Leavenworth,  Kansas. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Faulkner  have  one  son,  Howard,  who  was  born  May  8, 
1898.  He  was  educated  in  the  public  schools,  and  was  graduated  from 
the  Leavenworth  high  school.  During  the  war,  he  enlisted  April  9,  1917, 
and  shortly  afterward  was  made  a  sergeant  in  Company  E,  One  Hundred 
and  Thirty-ninth  Infantry.  He  was  sent  to  Fort  Sill,  Oklahoma  for  six 
months,  and  transferred  to  the  Thirty-ninth  division.  In  May,  1918,  he 
was  sent  overseas,  and  was  left  two  months  in  England  under  quarantine. 
He  then  went  to  France  and  was  transferred  to  the  Fifth  Army  Corps 
headquarters  troops.  He  was  a  clerk  in  the  message  center  of  the  Fifth 
Army  Corps  headquarters  troops.  In  April,  1919,  he  returned  to  the 
United  States,  after  one  year's  service  in  Europe.  He  now  lives  with  his 
parents. 


HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  399 

R.  F.  Faulkner  is  a  member  of  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America,  and 
has  served  as  democratic  committeeman  for  several  years,  being  one  of 
the  prominent  Democrats  of  the  county. 


Robert  L.  Leeman,  a  substantial  citizen  of  High  Prairie  Township, 
and  who  is  a  well-known  farmer  and  stock  raiser,  was  born  near  Jarbalo, 
in  High  Prairie  Township,  Leavenworth  County,  Kansas,  August  4,  1875. 
He  is  the  son  of  Lewis  G.  and  Charlotte  (Edlin)  Leeman ;  the  father  was 
born  in  Kentucky,  May  20,  1837,  and  came  to  Leavenworth  County  in  1857 
and  settled  near  Jarbalo.  He  worked  for  the  government  and  crossed  the 
plains  a  number  of  times,  driving  mules  and  cattle  to  Ft.  Laramie,  Wyo- 
ming, and,  on  one  trip,  the  party  was  attacked  by  Indians,  and  several 
men  were  killed.  Lewis  Leeman  was  sergeant  during  the  Civil  War,  with 
company  six  in  the  Kansas  State  Militia.  He  also  had  two  brothers,  Jacob 
and  Thomas,  who  served  in  the  same  company;  the  former  died  February 
9,  1920,  at  the  home  of  his  nephew,  Robert  Leeman.  He  had  made  his 
home  in  this  township  since  the  Civil  War.  His  brother  Thomas  is  now 
living  at  Lawrence,  Kansas,  and  is  eighty-five  years  of  age.  Until  recently 
he  lived  in  High  Prairie  Township.  Lewis  G.  Leeman  died  November  10, 
1906,  and  his  wife,  who  was  born  in  Kentucky,  February  26,  1852,  died 
June  20,  1912. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Lewis  G.  Leeman  were  the  parents  of  the  following 
children :  Robert  L.,  of  this  sketch ;  Mrs.  Rosa  Norris,  of  Jarbalo,  Kansas ; 
William,  a  merchant  police  of  Leavenworth;  Ed,  a  barber  of  Leaven- 
worth; Mrs.  Mattie  Bott,  of  Springdale,  Kansas;  and  Mrs.  Myrtle  Geop- 
hart,  of  Perry,  Kansas. 

Robert  Leeman  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  this  township 
and  has  been  engaged  in  farming  practically  all  of  his  life.  In  1904  Mr. 
Leeman  bought  his  present  farm.  It  is  situated  ten  miles  southwest  of 
Leavenworth  on  the  Lawrence  road.  He  has  ninety-one  and  one-half 
acres  of  good  land,  and  a  comfortable  house,  and  other  improvements.  He 
does  general  farming  and  stock  raising. 

June  9,  1903,  Robert  Leeman  was  married  to  May  Plummer,  a  native 
of  High  Prairie  Township  and  daughter  of  Peter  J.  and  Elizabeth  (Lewis) 
Plummer,  who  now  live  at  Topeka,  Kansas.  Peter  Plummer  was  with  the, 
Union  Pacific  Railway  Company  for  eighteen  years,  and  farmer  near  Perry 
for  several  years.    Both  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Plummer  are  of  pioneer  families  of 


400  HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

Kansas.  They  are  the  parents  of  the  following  children:  Mrs.  May  Lee- 
man;  James,  who  married  Myrtle  Whaley,  and  is  a  farmer  near  Perry, 
Kansas ;  Loren  L.,  a  student  in  the  high  school  at  Topeka ;  and  Emery  M., 
who  was  in  the  World  War.  He  enlisted  at  Salt  Lake  City  in  the  summer 
of  1917  with  the  One  Hundred  and  Fofty-eighth  Field  Artillery  and  was 
sent  to  Camp  Mills  and  Camp  Merritt,  New  Jersey.  He  was  sent  to 
France  February,  1918,  and  returned  July,  1919,  during  which  time  he 
served  six  months  with  the  army  of  occupation  in  Germany.  He  is  now  a 
surveyor  in  the  employ  of  the  government  and  is  located  at  Salt  Lake 
City.    He  married  Josephine  Behring  of  Wyoming. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Robert  Leeman  have  had  two  children :  Ferol,  who  died 
at  the  age  of  sixteen  months;  and  Freda,  aged  twelve  years,  who  is  a 
junior  in  the  high  school  at  Topeka,  Kansas. 


John  Milton  Gilman,  deceased,  took  an  active  interest  in  the  public 
affairs  of  this  county  and  had  many  warm  friends.  He  was  born  at  Lan- 
sing, Kansas,  March  2,  1862,  and  was  the  son  of  John  Gilman,  a  pioneer 
of  Leavenworth  County,  who  settled  here  in  1857,  coming  from  Canada. 
John  Gilman  was  born  April  30,  1830,  of  English  parentage,  arid  was 
married  in  Canada  to  Esther  Harvey,  a  teacher  there,  and  who  afterward 
taught  in  Kansas.  John  Gilman  was  a  truck  gardener  and  also  did  car- 
penter work.  He  died  in  1870,  and  his  widow  later  married  L.  A.  Stone 
and  they  now  live  in  Emporia,  Kansas. 

John  Milton  Gilman  received  a  good  education,  attending  the  public 
schools  and  Baker  University.  For  nineteen  years  he  taught  in  Kansas 
and  was  principal  of  the  Baldwin  city  schools  for  one  year.  While  prin- 
cipal of  the  Lansing  schools  in  1902,  he  was  elected  county  superintendent 
of  public  instruction,  and  was  reelected  in  1904.  He  owned  231  acres  of 
land  in  High  Prairie  Township,  and  his  greatest  work  was  from  1901  to 
1915,  when  he  conducted  an  experimental  farm  on  his  home  place,  under 
the  supervision  of  both  state  and  national  governments.  His  experiments 
were  conducted  along  the  line  of  raising  grain  and  vegetables,  and  eighty 
acres  were  devoted  to  this  work.  He  made  displays  at  the  state  and  inter- 
state fairs,  and,  at  one  time,  showed  680  different  varieties  of  farm 
produce.  His  sons  have  many  interesting  photographs  of  the  displays 
made  at  different  times  and  places. 

Mr.  Gilman  was  not  only  successful  and  active  in  a  business  way,  but 


JOHN  M.  OILMAN 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  401 

during  the  course  of  his  career  he  has  always  given  public  affairs  thought- 
ful consideration  and  a  good  citizen's  attention.  He  was  elected  to  the 
House  of  Representatives  in  1912,  re-elected  in  1914,  1916,  1918  and  1920 
and  was  serving  his  fifth  term  at  the  time  of  his  death,  November  20,  19201 
He  was  also  superintendent  of  State  Free  Employment  Bureau  at  the 
time  of  his  death.    He  is  buried  in  High  Prairie  Cemetery. 

February  12,  1882  Mr.  Gilman  was  married  to  Eva  Louisa  Stone. 
Mrs.  Gilman  died  February  24,  1919.  They  had  ten  children:  Louis  M., 
who  is  owner  of  a  cattle  ranch  in  Montana;  a  daughter,  who  died  in  in- 
fancy; Ray  Edwin,  a  professor  of  mathematics  at  Brown  University  in 
Rhode  Island;  John  LeRoy,  deceased;  Ralph,  an  electrical  engineer  at 
Norris,  Montana;  Paul  Everett,  who  lives  on  the  home  farm;  Eva,  the 
wife  of  Louis  A.  Hermann,  of  Butte,  Montana;  Myron  E.  and  Ivan  E.,  on 
the  home  farm ;  and  Martha,  deceased. 

Paul,  Myron  E.  and  Ivan  E.  Gilman  are  operating  the  home  farm  of 
232  acres,  which  they  own.  They  followed  corn  breeding  for  several 
years,  winning  several  premiums  in  both  state  and  national  contests,  hav- 
ing many  medals  to  show  for  their  work. 

During  the  late  World  War,  Ray  E.  Gilman  was  captain  in  the  Coast 
Artillery,  stationed  at  Fortress  Monroe,  Great  Lakes  and  different  places, 
and  was  at  Fort  Totten  when  the  war  closed.  He  specialized  in  gun  range 
and  findings  and  was  an  instructor  in  that  line.  He  was  with  the  first 
officers'  training  school  and  served  until  the  war  closed.  He  now  lives 
at  Providence,  Rhode  Island. 

Ralph  A.  Gilman  enlisted  in  the  Engineer  Corps  in  Montana  during 
the  war,  and  served  at  Vancouver  Barracks  and  owing  to  suffering  from 
rheumatism  was  discharged  after  a  service  of  one  year. 

Paul  E.  Gilman  enlisted  at  Leavenworth,  October,  1918,  in  the  voca- 
tional training  school  at  Lawrence,  where  he  was  at  the  time  the  armistice 
was  signed. 

The  Gilman  farm  is  eight  miles  southwest  of  Leavenworth  and  the 
three  brothers  are  engaged  in  stock  and  grain  business,  feeding  cattle 
and  hogs. 


The  Victor  Manufacturing  Company  is  one  of  Leavenworth's  impor- 
tant industries,  and  is  located  at  Pennsylvania  and  Lawrence  avenues.  It 
was  orgaized  by  F.  J.  Tallant  and  E.  V.  Allen,  and  began  business  in  Hia- 
watha, Kansas,  in  1905,  in  a  very  modest  way,  but  soon  realizing  the  need 

(22) 


402  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

of  better  shipping  facilities  the  business  was  moved  to  Leavenworth  in  the 
fall  of  1906  and  the  present  plant,  including  nearly  two  acres  of  ground, 
was  purchased.  It  has  since  been  improved  in  many  way  and  the  addition 
of  much  labor-saving  machinery  thus  increasing  production  greatly,  mak- 
ing it  one  of  the  leading  businesses  in  the  industry. 

The  principle  business  is  the  manufacture  of  the  wonderful  Wonder 
Washer,  a  machine  of  great  effectiveness,  yet  of  simple  mechanisms.  It 
is  adapted  for  use  by  hand,  or  water  power,  also  gas  or  gasoline  and  elec- 
tricity, and  readily  produces  clean  clothes  in  one-third  of  the  time  required 
by  its  nearest  competitors.  Its  process  combines  the  special  features  of 
suction;  stirring;  squeezing  and  a  slight  rubbing.  In  other  makes  of 
washing  machines  only  one  of  these  processes  can  be  used  but  the  Wonder 
Washer  uses  all  at  the  same  time. 

The  product  of  The  Victor  Manufacturing  Company  is  shipped  to  all 
parts  of  the  United  States  and  to  many  foreign  countries  indicating  the 
importance  and  popularity  of  this  machine.  The  machines  are  sold  to 
dealers  through  salesmen  and  they  have  employed  as  many  as  eighteen 
salesmen  on  the  road  at  one  time.  The  name  of  Leavenworth  is  thus  car- 
ried into  all  points  of  the  compass  by  a  wide  distribution. 

The  present  company  was  incorporated  under  the  laws  of  Kansas  in 
1908  and  again  in  1917  when  the  capital  was  increased  to  $100,000.00.  Mr. 
F.  J.  Tallant  is  president.  Mr.  John  M.  Topper  is  secretary  and  treasurer. 
The  directors  are  principally  members  of  these  two  families  and  the  stock 
is  principally  owned  by  them.  The  business  has  developed  gradually  but 
constantly  from  the  earnings  of  the  business  until  it  has  reached  its  pres- 
ent stage.  The  buildings  of  the  company  are  brick,  four  stories  in  height 
and  are  surrounded  by  spacious  lawns. 

Mr.  F.  J.  Tallant  takes  a  great  interest  in  all  the  welfare  of  the  city, 
was  for  a  number  of  years  president  of  the  Leavenworth  Y.  M.  C.  A.  and 
is  still  a  director  of  that  organization,  and  is  ever  ready  to  devote  his  time 
and  money  to  the  advancement  of  this  institution.  He  is  married  and  has 
besides  his  wife  one  daughter  Ruth,  a  student  in  the  Leavenworth  High 
School.    He  resides  at  1105  South  Broadway. 

Mr.  John  M.  Topper  also  takes  a  great  interest  in  local  affairs,  being 
a  live  member  of  the  Rotary  Club.  He  is  married,  having  a  wife  and 
three  children.  Mr.  Topper  also  takes  an  active  part  in  the  Abdallah 
Shrine.    He  resides  at  1328  South  Broadway. 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  403 

Gus  A.  Brown  is  the  dependable  and  well-known  superintendent  of  the 
Leavenworth  County  Hospital.  He  was  born  in  Atchison  County,  near 
Potter,  Kansas,  June  13,  1880,  and  is  the  son  of  Felix  C.  Brown,  who  came 
from  Buchanan  County,  Missouri,  about  1879,  and  who  now  operates  a 
private  sanitarium  at  Quincy  and  Madison  streets  of  this  city. 

Gus  Brown  received  his  education  in  the  public  schools  in  Leaven- 
worth, and  prior  to  accepting  his  present  position,  he  helped  his  father  in 
his  sanitarium. 

On  May  3,  1911,  Mr.  Brown  was  married  to  Anna  Kempton,  of  Leaven- 
worth, who  was  born  at  Kickapoo,  and  a  daughter  of  Jacob  and  Magdalene 
(Staiger)  Kemptor,  the  former  being  deceased,  and  Mrs.  Kemptor  now 
living  at  504  North  Broadway,  Leavenworth.  Mrs.  Brown  was  also  edu- 
cated in  the  schools  of  this  city.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Brown  have  one  daughter, 
Dorothy  Ann,  who  is  seven  years  of  age. 

Mr.  Brown  is  well  fitted  for  the  position  which  he  holds.  Both  he  and 
Mrs.  Brown  are  adepts  at  managing  the  home,  and  they  handle  the  inmates 
under  their  care  with  skill.  The  place  is  kept  clean,  the  inmates  are  well 
fed,  and  everything  possible  is  done  for  their  comfort.  The  hospital  is 
located  at  Broadway  and  Reese  streets,  and  has  two  buildings,  one  for  the 
insane  and  one  for  the  county  poor.  At  present,  there  are  sixty-eight 
inmates  of  all  ages.  This  home  also  cares  for  incorrigible  juveniles  until 
they  are  sent  to  houses  of  correction. 

Mr.  Brown  is  a  member  of  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows  and 
of  the  Fraternal  Order  of  Eagles.  He  has  many  friends  and  is  well  liked 
by  all  in  Leavenworth  and  community. 


John  Milton  Cory,  now  living  near  the  Country  Club  of  Lansing,  Kan- 
sas, is  one  of  the  pioneers  of  Leavenworth  County,  and  for  many  years 
was  engaged  in  farming.  He  was  born  in  Hancock,  Virginia,  now  West 
Virginia,  in  July  10,  1861,  and  is  the  son  of  Jonathan  Davis  and  Clara 
Elizabeth  Fisher  Cory,  both  deceased.  Jonathan  Cory  was  also  born  in 
Hancock,  Virginia,  but  moved  to  Leavenworth  County,  Kansas  in  1867, 
where  he  purchased  a  homestead.  He  died  in  1872  and  his  wife  died  in 
1884.  During  the  Civil  War,  Jonathan  Cory  was  a  member  of  the  Home 
Guard  of  the  Federal  Army,  the  minute  men  of  Virginia.  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Jonathan  Cory  had  the  following  children:  John  Milton  of  this  sketch; 


404  HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

Lydia,  the  wife  of  C.  P.  Rutherford,  an  attorney  of  Leavenworth ;  W.  A., 
of  Kansas  City,  Missouri,  who  is  in  the  commission  business;  and  Bessie, 
deceased,  who  was  the  wife  of  William  Weir  of  Kansas  City,  Missouri,  also 
deceased. 

John  Milton  Cory  received  his  education  in  the  common  schools  of 
Leavenworth  County.  He  bought  the  home  farm  from  the  other  heirs 
and  lived  there  until  1910,  following  general  farming,  buying  and  selling 
of  stock,  trading,  etc.  Mr.  Cory  bought  an  additional  one  hundred  sixty 
acres,  making  a  total  of  three  hundred  twenty  acres. 

Mr.  Cory  was  elected  county  treasurer  in  1902  and  reelected  in  1904 
on  the  Republican  ticket.  He  was  a  capable  and  conscientious  public 
officer,  and  performed  the  duties  of  this  office  to  the  entire  satisfaction 
of  all. 

In  1910,  he  bought  property  owned  by  J.  E.  Gamble  on  the  Fort  road, 
just  south  of  the  Country  Club,  and  made  this  place  his  home.  He  has  a 
thoroughly  modern  residence  and  twenty-five  acres  of  splendid  land. 

John  Cory  was  married  the  first  time  to  Nancy  E.  Cleavinger  in  1889, 
who  died  in  July,  1915.  They  had  two  children :  Luella  E.,  a  librarian  at 
the  Illinois  University,  was  graduated  from  the  Kansas  University  in 
1916,  after  which  she  took  a  course  at  Columbia  University,  New  York, 
and  taught  two  years  in  Leavenworth,  before  accepting  her  present  posi- 
tion. Their  other  child,  Homer  Davis  Cory  was  commissioned  a  captain 
and  was  in  the  officers'  reserve  corps,  and  when  war  was  declared,  he  was 
ordered  to  report  to  Fort  Riley,  which  he  did  in  May,  1917.  He  was  im- 
mediately detailed  as  finance  officer  at  Fort  Riley,  which  office  he  filled 
during  the  period  of  construction  at  Camp  Funston.  The  expenditures 
of  both  Fort  Riley  and  Funston  went  through  his  hands  up  to  the  time 
the  89th  Division  was  assembled.  In  November,  1917,  he  was  made  dis- 
bursing officer  at  Fort  Riley  and  during  this  time,  he  handled  for  the  gov- 
ernment over  $20,000,000.00.  He  was  mustered  out  November,  1919, 
after  about  two  and  one  half  years  of  excellent  service.  He  is  now  book- 
keeper for  the  Missouri  Valley  Bridge  Works  of  Leavenworth.  Prior  to 
his  induction  into  United  States  service,  he  had  been  connected  with  the 
First  National  and  Manufacturers  National  Banks  of  Leavenworth,  and 
after  being  mustered  out,  for  a  short  time  was  assistant  receiving  teller 
for  the  Southwest  Bank  of  Commerce  of  Kansas  City,  Missouri.  He  mar- 
ried Miss  Eloise  Catlin  in  1917,  and  they  have  two  children :  Clara  Eliza- 
beth and  an  infant  son,  who  was  born  January  17,  1920. 


HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  405 

John  Cory  was  married  to  his  present  wife  in  December,  1919.  She 
was  Helen  L.  Fisher,  a  daughter  of  H.  O.  and  Elizabeth  Fisher.  The 
former  lives  in  Leavenworth,  and  the  latter  is  deceased.  Mrs.  Cory  was 
educated  in  the  public  schools  of  this  city,  and  for  five  years  was  a  gradu- 
ate nurse  at  Kansas  City,  Missouri. 

Mr.  Cory  is  a  member  of  the  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  32nd 
degree  and  a  member  of  the  Shrine.  His  son  is  also  a  member 
of  these  lodges.  Mr.  Cory  is  a  prominent  man  of  the  county  and  has 
always  been  a  public  spirited  citizen  and  a  man  of  real  worth  to  his  com- 
munity. 


John  H.  Jeffries,  who  was  for  a  number  of  years  prominently  identi- 
fied with  the  affairs  of  Leavenworth  County,  and  who  now  resides  at  Fif- 
teenth and  Spruce  streets,  Leavenworth,  was  born  in  Hamilton  County, 
Indiana,  December  29,  1853.  He  is  the  son  of  Richard  J.  and  Sarah  Ann 
(Clayton)  Jeffries,  the  latter  now  lives  at  Springdale,  Kansas,  and  is 
eighty-seven  years  of  age,  the  former  died  at  the  age  of  forty-four  years. 
They  were  married  in  Indiana  and  came  to  Leavenworth  County,  Kansas, 
in  1858  and  settled  at  Springdale,  where  he  was  a  merchant  for  four  years. 
He  also  served  as  justice  of  the  peace  for  several  terms  and  was  one  of  the 
most  widely  known  men  of  that  vicinity. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Richard  J.  Jeffries  were  the  parents  of  the  following 
children:  John  H.,  of  this  sketch;  Anna  J.,  the  wife  of  Samuel  Hanley 
of  Springdale,  and  Addie,  who  died  at  the  age  of  six  years. 

John  H.  Jeffries  was  educated  in  the  public  schools.  He  also  helped 
his  father  in  his  store  while  attending  school.  After  finishing  his  educa- 
tion, he  was  guard  at  the  Lansing  Prison  for  six  years.  He  then  bought 
the  home  farm  where  he  lived  until  1905,  during  which  time  he  served  as 
trustee  of  Alexandria  Township  for  three  terms  and  was  township  treas- 
urer for  two  terms,  filling  both  offices  most  acceptably. 

Mr.  Jeffries  has  taken  an  active  part  in  civic  affairs  and  in  1905  was 
elected  recorder  of  deeds  on  the  republican  ticket.  He  was  re-elected  in 
1907,  1909,  1911  and  1913,  serving  for  ten  years  in  this  position,  four 
years  longer  than  any  other  man.  His  lengthy  term  of  office  shows  the 
respect  in  which  he  is  held  in  the  county.  He  was  a  very  capable  officer 
and  discharged  the  duties  of  recorder  in  an  entirely  satisfactory  manner. 

After  retiring  from  office,  Mr.  Jeffries  moved  to  his  present  location 


406  HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY 

at  Sixteenth  and  Spruce  streets,  where  he  has  nine  acres  of  land  inside 
the  city  limits,  a  modern  residence,  barn,  orchard,  poultry  house,  etc.,  all 
of  the  improvements  being  done  by  Mr.  Jeffries.  Here  he  raised  Buff 
Orpington  and  White  Leghorn  chickens. 

In  1876,  Mr.  Jeffries  was  married  to  Belle  (White)  Damrell,  of  Fort 
Smith,  Arkansas,  and  they  have  four  children:  William,  who  married 
Miss  Marie  Meyers  and  lives  at  Springdale,  Kansas ;  Charlie,  who  married 
Emma  Rhoades,  and  also  lives  at  Springdale;  Ernest,  who  married  Mrs. 
L.  Ray,  and  who  live  at  Leavenworth,  he  being  a  mechanic  at  the  car 
barns ;  and  Nellie,  who  is  a  graduate  of  the  Leavenworth  High  School  and 
for  six  years  was  deputy  recorder  with  her  father,  and  for  four  years  with 
Mr.  Howard,  his  successor.  She  now  is  employed  by  E.  W.  Hopkins,  an 
abstracter  of  Leavenworth. 

Mr.  Jeffries  is  a  member  of  the  Knights  of  Pythias. 


Felix  C.  Brown  is  the  founder  of  Elmwood  Hospital,  one  of  the  impor- 
tant institutions  of  Leavenworth,  which  was  started  in  1888.  Mr.  Brown 
was  born  in  Buchanan  County,  Missouri,  August  13,  1843,  and  is  the  son 
of  Gideon  L.  and  Matilda  (Patton)  Brown. 

Gideon  Brown  came  to  Missouri  from  Tennessee  in  1830  and  settled 
in  Jackson  County,  later  moving  to  Platte  County,  Missouri,  in  1837.  In 
1857,  he  came  to  Kansas  and  entered  land  in  High  Prairie  Township,  in 
Leavenworth  County,  but  never  located  there.  He  died  in  1859  at  the  age 
of  fifty-nine  years.  His  father  was  Felix  Brown  of  North  Carolina,  of 
Scotch  descent,  and  who  was  prominently  identified  with  colonial  history. 

During  the  Civil  War,  Felix  C.  Brown  enlisted  in  the  Confederate 
Army  under  Governor  Jackson,  and  soon  became  a  member  of  the  First 
Missouri  Artillery,  in  which  he  remained  until  the  close  of  the  war.  He 
was  wounded  at  Newtonia,  Missouri,  and  also  at  Jenkins  Ferry,  Arkansas, 
but  not  seriously  either  time.  He  took  part  in  all  of  the  battles  west  of 
Mississippi,  in  which  his  department  participated  except  the  Battle  of  Elk 
Horn.  He  was  also  a  bull  whacker  for  two  years  on  the  Oregon  trail,  in 
1859  and  1860,  and  during  this  time  went  to  Salt  Lake  City  with  Sidney 
Johnson. 

In  1872,  he  settled  in  Atchison  County,  Kansas,  but  returned  to  Mis- 
souri eight  years  later,  and  in  1883  came  back  to  Leavenworth  County, 
Kansas,  and  took  charge  of  the  Maplewood  Asylum,  where  he  remained  for 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  407 

one  year.  He  then  engaged  in  the  mercantile  business  for  four  years,  and 
in  1889  erected  the  present  building  known  as  the  Elmwood  Hospital, 
where  he  has  lived  since.  This  is  a  private  sanitarium,  which  is  located 
on  twenty-five  acres  of  ground,  all  inside  the  city  limits,  and  all  of  it  is 
farmed  or  used  for  garden.  Persons  of  all  ages  are  cared  for  here,  whera 
they  find  a  real  home  and  friends.  Mr.  Brown  is  admirably  fitted  for  such 
work,  for  he  makes  it  a  study  and  gives  the  inmates  much  care  and 
attention. 

Mr.  Brown  was  married  February  15,  1866,  to  Jincy  A.  Blakeley,  of 
Platte  County,  Missouri.  They  have  the  following  children:  Thomas  J., 
of  Leavenworth,  Kansas,  who  is  manager  of  the  Hippodrome,  a  sketch  of 
whom  appears  in  this  volume ;  Cora  M.,  the  wife  of  Arthur  Land,  of  Leav- 
enworth; Maude,  the  wife  of  C.  H.  Masterson,  of  Leavenworth;  Felix  L., 
who  is  with  his  father  and  assists  him  in  the  management  of  the  Elm- 
wood  Hospital;  Gus,  superintendent  of  the  County  Hospital;  Jesse,  who 
owns  a  confectionery  and  pool  hall  at  Twelfth  and  Spruce  streets,  in  Leav- 
enworth; Ernest,  a  barber  of  Leavenworth,  and  who  was  in  the  World 
War,  enlisting  in  1917  with  the  One  Hundred  and  Forty-sixth  Artillery, 
and  was  stationed  at  Camp  Funston  and  Camp  Pike,  Arkansas ;  and  Kirby, 
who  manages  a  soft  drink  emporium  in  Leavenworth. 

Mr.  Brown  is  a  democrat,  and  was  twice  a  candidate  for  alderman  in 
Leavenworth,  but  defeated.  He  very  efficiently  filled  the  office  of  trustee 
of  Walnut  Township  for  two  terms. 

Mr.  Brown  is  a  member  of  the  Past  Grand  of  Odd  Fellows,  Lodge 
No.  103. 


John  Wortman,  a  leading  jeweler  of  Leavenworth,  is  proprietor  of  one 
of  the  best  jewelry  stores  in  this  city,  and  is  located  at  510  Delaware  street. 
Mr.  Wortman  was  born  August  1,  1893,  and  is  the  son  of  Henry  and  Caro- 
line Wortman.  Henry  Wortman  was  a  brickmaker  and  located  in  Leav- 
enworth about  the  year  1885.  He  died  at  the  age  of  fifty-seven  years.  His 
wife  lives  in  Leavenworth. 

John  Wortman  received  his  education  in  the  Maplewood  School,  and 
at  the  early  age  of  thirteen  years,  began  learning  the  jewelry  trade,  receiv- 
ing for  his  work  $1.50  per  week.  He  worked  for  these  wages  for  eighteen 
months.  The  wages  were  increased  gradually  until  he  thoroughly  learned 
the  trade.    He  opened  his  present  shop  at  510  Delaware,  where  he  has  a 


408  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

complete  stock  of  jewelry,  watches  and  clocks.  He  carries  the  "Com- 
munity Plate  Silverware",  cut  glass,  and  repairs  watches,  clocks,  etc.  He 
has  met  with  satisfactory  success  and  has  built  up  a  large  trade.  He  is  an 
excellent  workman,  and  keeps  a  nice,  clean  stock,  which  is  artistically 
displayed. 

Mr.  Wortman  was  married  November  11,  1913,  to  Agnes  Snyder,  of 
Leavenworth,  a  daughter  of  M.  J.  Snyder.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Wortman  have 
two  children:    Lillian  and  John,  Jr. 

Mr.  Wortman  is  a  member  of  the  Fraternal  Order  of  Eagles,  Knights 
of  Columbus  and  Security  Benefit  Association.  He  has  an  extensive  ac- 
quaintance and  ranks  as  one  of  the  substantial  and  reliable  business  men 
of  this  city. 


Charles  Morehead  Swan,  the  senior  member  of  the  firm  of  Swan  and 
Wilson,  proprietors  of  Cedar  Grove  Farm,  which  is  located  on  the  electric 
line  near  Lansing,  Kansas,  was  born  in  Lafayette  County,  Missouri,  Janu- 
ary 5,  1870,  the  son  of  D.  M.  and  Lemira  M.  Swan,  who  came  to  Leaven- 
worth immediately  at  the  close  of  the  Civil  War.  D.  M.  Swan  was  an 
insurance  man  and  also  was  one  of  the  ten  men  who  organized  the  Water 
Works  Company  of  Leavenworth,  Kansas.  He  was  superintendent  of 
construction  of  this  company  until  the  plant  was  finished.  Mr.  Swan  was 
also  one  of  the  three  men  who  organized  the  telephone  company  of  Leav- 
enworth. 

Charles  M.  Swan  has  been  a  poultry  man  all  of  his  life,  learning  the 
business  after  he  finished  his  education,  when  he  lived  with  his  uncle, 
H.  W.  Barnes,  in  High  Prairie  Township.  Mr.  Swan  is  a  graduate  of  the 
high  school  at  Leavenworth  and  also  attended  the  business  colleges  in 
Leavenworth  and  Kansas  City,  Missouri.  He  began  raising  poultry  for 
himself  about  twenty  years  ago,  and  soon  discovered  the  Rhode  Island 
Red  chickens  to  be  his  choice,  and  since  has  given  his  attention  to  them. 
He  purchased  his  present  farm  of  three  aci*es  in  1909,  and  his  associate  in 
business,  J.  H.  Wilson,  owns  four  and  one-half  acres  near  it.  Both  men 
own  a  farm  of  forty  acres  in  Salt  Creek  Valley,  on  which  they  raise 
poultry  also.  They  have  500  hens  on  the  last  named  farm,  as  well  as  500 
on  the  farm  near  Lansing.  J.  H.  Wilson  became  associated  with  Mr.  Swan 
in  the  poultry  business  in  1915,  Mr.  Wilson  coming  here  from  Iowa.  The 
two  men  devote  their  time  to  selling  eggs,  baby  chickens  and  breeding 


C.  M.  SWAN 


HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  409 

stock,  the  latter  being  their  main  field  of  endeavor.  They  have  male 
chickens  worth  $100  each.  They  have  five  brooders,  and  use  eight  incu- 
bators with  2,000  capacity,  also  set  hens.  This  firm  has  an  increasing 
market  each  year,  and  part  of  each  year  cannot  fill  all  orders.  They  ship 
to  all  parts  of  the  United  States,  and  exhibit  poultry  in  all  of  the  shows 
in  the  state,  winning  some  of  the  best  prizes.  They  have  won  first  prizes 
at  the  Topeka  State  Poultry  Show  in  1916,  the  Kansas  State  Fair  at 
Hutchinson  in  1918,  Kansas  City  Show  in  1917,  Kansas  State  Show  at 
Topeka  in  1919,  Kansas  State  Show  at  Hutchinson  in  1919  and  1920,  be- 
sides winning  prizes  at  many  other  shows  in  both  Kansas  and  Missouri. 

This  firm  has  the  advantage  of  all  trains  running  from  Leavenworth 
and  Lansing,  Kansas  to  Kansas  City,  twenty  trains  each  day,  giving  them 
easy  access  to  good  transportation. 

Mr.  Swan  and  Mr.  Wilson  are  liberal  with  the  knowledge  they  have 
acquired  through  years  of  study  and  practical  experience  with  chickens 
and  they  give  valuable  instruction  to  all  of  their  patrons  in  regard  to  the 
care  of  poultry.  They  have  a  wide  acquaintance  with  farmers  and  poultry 
breeders  throughout  the  state. 

Mr.  Swan  is  a  member  of  the  Yeoman  Lodge,  and  for  fourteen  years 
has  been  secretary  of  the  Leavenworth  County  Poultry  Association,  the 
oldest  association  of  this  kind  west  of  Chicago. 


J.  J.  O'Donnell,  Jr.,  is  a  member  of  the  oldest  firm  of  undertakers  in 
this  section  of  the  state.  He  is  a  native  of  Leavenworth,  of  one  of  the  well 
known  pioneer  families  of  the  city,  and  was  born  March  17,  1898.  He 
received  his  education  in  the  schools  of  Leavenworth,  and  St.  Benedict's 
school  at  Atchison,  and  was  graduated  from  the  latter  in  1915. 

During  the  World  War,  he  enlisted  in  the  summer  of  1918  and  was  in 
service  in  the  Infantry  at  Camp  Grant,  Illinois  for  nine  months.  Upon  his 
return  from  the  army  he  re-entered  business  with  his  father,  J.  J.  O'Don- 
nell, Sr. 

The  O'Donnell  Undertaking  Company  is  the  leading  firm  of  its  line  in 
the  city  and  was  founded  by  J.  P.  O'Donnell,  the  grandfather  of  J.  J. 
O'Donnell,  Jr.,  in,  1862.  He  came  to  Leavenworth  in  1857  and  was  in  the 
mattress  business,  prior  to  entering  the  undertaking  and  furniture  busi- 
ness. He  died  about  1895  and  was  succeeded  by  his  son,  J.  J.  O'Donnell, 
Sr.,  who  is  senior  member  of  the  present  firm.    The  company  is  located  at 


410  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

518  and  520  Shawnee,  Leavenworth,  and  they  carry  a  complete  line  of 
undertaking  goods. 

J.  J.  O'Donnell,  Jr.,  is  a  member  of  the  Knights  of  Columbus  and  of 
the  American  Legion  of  Leavenworth.  He  is  a  progressive  young  man, 
and  is  well  qualified  for  the  business  in  which  he  is  engaged. 


S.  C.  Porter  is  the  secretary  and  manager  of  the  Porter  Potter  Pro- 
duce Company,  a  leading  business  in  Leavenworth,  which  is  located  at 
706-712  Delaware  street. 

He  was  born  at  Decatur,  Iowa,  October  4,  1876,  and  is  the  son  of  H. 
C.  and  Catherine  Porter,  both  deceased.  S.  C.  Porter  was  educated  in 
the  schools  at  Decatur,  Iowa,  and  for  ten  years  afterward  was  engaged  in 
the  lumber  business.  Prior  to  coming  to  Leavenworth  in  1915,  he  was 
in  Custer  City,  Oklahoma,  for  several  years.  He  and  F.  M.  Potter  or- 
ganized the  present  company,  which  is  doing  an  excellent  business.  The 
officers  are  F.  M.  Potter,  president;  0.  J.  Potter,  vice-president,  and  S.  C. 
Porter,  as  previously  stated,  the  secretary  and  manager. 

This  company  handles  produce  as  far  west  as  the  central  part  of  the 
state.  They  have  a  cold  storage  at  Schalk  Packing  Company  of  this  city. 
They  handle  poultry,  eggs  and  hides.  They  have  built  up  a  satisfactory 
and  profitable  business,  which  was  successful  from  the  first,  and  are  rec- 
ognized as  one  of  the  leading  firms  in  their  line. 

S.  C.  Porter  was  married  July  4,  1904,  to  Lulu  Harmon,  of  Carter 
City,  Oklahoma.     They  are  among  the  best  respected  citizens  of  the  city. 

Mr.  Porter  is  a  member  of  the  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  is 
a  Shriner  and  Knight  Templar. 

S.  C.  Porter  is  the  progressive  president  of  the  Porter  Potter  Oil 
Company,  which  is  located  at  706-712  Delaware  street,  Leavenworth, 
Kansas. 

This  company  was  organized  in  June,  1920,  and  is  incorporated.  The 
officers  are  as  follows:  S.  C.  Porter,  president  and  manager;  F.  M.  Potter, 
vice-president;  and  W.  B.  Woodman,  secretary. 

Although  the  firm  is  practically  in  its  infancy,  it  does  a  fine 
business  and  is  growing  each  month.  They  handle  two  grades  of  gaso- 
line, one  standard  grade,  and  one  high  test  grade,  known  as  Porter  Potter 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  411 

high  test.  They  have  four  trucks  operating  in  Leavenworth  County. 
The  company  also  handles  exceptionally  high  grade  lubricating  oil  and 
greases.  At  present,  they  employ  eight  men,  and,  in  addition  to  the  plant 
at  Leavenworth,  they  have  pumps  or  depots  at  Lansing,  Kickapoo  and 
Boling. 

S.  C.  Porter  is  a  very  energetic  business  man,  and,  in  addition  to  his 
presidency  and  managership  of  this  company,  he  is  also  secretary  and 
manager  of  the  Porter  Potter  Produce  Company,  which  is  located  at  the 
same  address.  Mr.  Porter  is  winning  success  in  both  fields  of  endeavor, 
due  to  his  good  business  methods.  He  has  many  friends  in  and  around 
Leavenworth. 

Further  reference  to  F.  M.  Potter  and  0.  J.  Potter  is  made  in  con- 
nection with  the  State  Savings  Bank  of  this  city. 


Ross  J.  McClure,  for  twelve  years  on  the  police  force,  and  now  the 
popular  owner  of  the  McClure's  Lunch  Room  at  310  South  Fifth  street, 
was  born  in  Winchester,  Kansas,  February  2,  1882. 

He  is  the  son  of  Reuben  and  Amanda  (Legin)  McClure,  the  latter 
deceased.  Reuben  McClure  lives  at  325  Market  street.  He  located  in 
Leavenworth  in  1898.  He  is  a  Civil  War  veteran  and  lost  a  leg  in  a 
battle, 'just  a  year  after  enlisting. 

Ross  McClure  was  educated  in  the  schools  at  Winchester,  Kansas, 
after  which  he  went  to  St.  Joseph,  Missouri,  where  he  learned  the  pastry 
and  baking  business.  He  came  to  Leavenworth  with  his  father  in  1898 
and  worked  at  the  Siebold  bakery  at  Fifth  and  Spruce  streets.  In  1908, 
he  joined  the  police  force,  and  in  1909  and  1910  was  captain  of  police.  In 
1911  he  served  as  merchant  police,  and  continued  on  the  force  until  March, 
1920.  During  all  of  these  years  he  made  an  enviable  record.  He  per- 
formed his  duties  conscientiously  and  was  well  liked  by  all  with  whom  he 
came  in  contact. 

In  1920  Mr.  McClure  purchased  the  union  depot  lunch  cafe,  which 
he  conducted  until  March,  1921.  Because  of  his  popularity,  he  has  made 
a  success  of  this  business  from  the  first,  and  has  a  fine  trade.  He  is  now 
located  in  same  business  at  310  South  Fifth  street. 

Ross  McClure  was  married  in  1900  to  Lulu  Majors,  and  they  have 
one  son,  Lloyd,  who  is  a  graduate  of  the  Leavenworth  High  School,  and 


412  HISTORY  OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

also  attended  the  University  of  Kansas  in  the  years  of  1919  and  1920. 
He  is  now  employed  as  advertising  solicitor  at  the  Leavenworth  Post. 

Mr.  McClure  is  a  member  of  the  Woodmen  of  the  World  and  of  the 
Fraternal  Order  of  Eagles. 


Joseph  Spaulding,  well  known  liveryman  at  Number  Four  North 
Seneca  street,  was  born  in  Leavenworth  March  15,  1874.  He  is  the  son 
of  Alonzo  and  Rozanna  (Harris)  Spaulding,  who  were  married  in  Leaven- 
worth prior  to  the  Civil  War.  He  was  in  the  State  Militia  here  during 
the  war  and  lived  on  Fifth  and  Olive  streets.  After  the  war,  he  was 
engaged  in  plastering  until  the  time  of  his  death  in  1916.  He  is  buried 
at  Arkansas  City,  Kansas.  His  wife  died  in  1905  and  is  buried  in 
Leavenworth. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Alonzo  Spaulding  were  the  parents  of  the  following 
children:  Ernest,  of  Oakland,  California;  Mrs.  Harriet  Clark,  of  Arkansas 
City,  Kansas;  Alonzo,  of  Kansas  City,  Kansas;  William,  of  Leavenworth; 
and  Joseph,  of  this  sketch.  All  of  the  children  attended  the  public  schools 
of  Leavenworth. 

Joseph  Spaulding  drove  a  hack  in  this  city  for  twenty  years  for  Wil- 
liam- Boy,  a  liveryman  who  now  lives  in  Kansas  City,  Missouri.  Mr. 
Spaulding  went  into  business  for  himself  in  1917,  opposite  the  Planters 
Hotel,  and  in  1920  moved  to  his  present  location.  He  is  industrious,  hon- 
est and  well  liked  by  his  numerous  friends  and  acquaintances.  He  rents 
livery,  also  runs  an  express  wagon,  and  boards  horses. 

Mr.  Spaulding  tells  many  interesting  stories  of  the  old  times  when 
steamboats  plied  the  Missouri  River,  bringing  cotton,  peanuts  and  other 
merchandise  from  the  south,  and  in  those  days  all  the  townspeople  would 
go  to  the  wharf  to  see  the  steamboats  when  they  landed. 


Minor  H.  Day  is  the  enterprising  owner  of  Day's  Battery  Service, 
which  is  located  at  510  Cherokee  street,  Leavenworth,  and  was  opened 
September  1,  1918. 

Mr.  Day  is  a  native  of  Illinois,  born  in  Vermillion  County  in  1877, 
and  is  the  son  of  John  and  Delewna  (Campbell)  Day.  The  latter  resides 
at  314  Grand  avenue,  in  Leavenworth,  and  John  Day  died  in  1893.  He 
is  buried  at  Fredonia,  Kansas.    He  was  a  native  of  Ohio,  and  Mrs.  Day 


HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  413 

was  a  native  of  Illinois.  They  were  married  and  came  to  Bates  County, 
Missouri,  near  Butler,  in  1883,  and  later  moved  to  Wilson  County,  Kansas, 
where  he  engaged  in  farming. 

Minor  H.  Day  received  his  education  in  the  Wilson  County,  Kansas, 
public  schools,  and  took  a  course  at  the  Leavenworth  Business  College. 
After  leaving  school,  he  began  working  for  the  Missouri-Kansas  Telephone 
Company,  and  was  with  this  company  for  eighteen  years,  during  which 
time  he  was  in  the  engineering  department  in  Kansas  City,  Missouri,  and 
wire  chief  at  Leavenworth. 

In  his  present  business,  Mr.  Day  rebuilds  batteries  of  all  kinds,  and 
also  carries  a  line  of  Philadelphia  Diamond  Grid  Batteries,  the  only  bat- 
tery that  is  guaranteed  for  two  years.  Mr.  Day  handled  the  first  storage 
battery  that  was  ever  in  Leavenworth.  This  battery  was  used  in  the 
old  telephone  exchange. 

Mr.  Day  has  a  growing  business,  and  by  his  courteous  and  accom- 
modating manner  has  made  many  friends. 

In  1910,  Mr.  Day  was  married  to  Anna  Cox,  of  Kansas  City,  Missouri, 
a  native  of  Houston,  Texas.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Day  have  three  children :  Hazel 
Eugenia,  Bessie  Leona  and  Robert  W. 

Mr.  Day  is  a  member  of  the  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons. 


The  Campbell  Brothers  Tire  Service  Shop  is  one  of  the  important  in- 
dustries of  Leavenworth,  located  at  508  Cherokee  street.  The  firm  is 
composed  of  three  brothers:  R.  C,  Archie  H.  and  Arthur  W.  Campbell, 
who  were  all  in  the  army  during  the  World  War.  The  firm  has  another 
shop  at  McLouth,  Kansas,  which  is  managed  by  R.  C.  Campbell,  the  shop 
at  Leavenworth  being  in  charge  of  Archie  and  Arthur  Campbell,  and  who, 
are  doing  a  splendid  business.  They  do  all  kinds  of  vulcanizing  and 
retreading  auto  tires,  as  well  as  handling  new  tires. 

Archie  and  Arthur  Campbell  are  twin  brothers,  and  were  born  Sep- 
tember 4,  1889,  and  are  sons  of  Arch  and  Cora  (Heckman)  Campbell,  who 
live  at  the  corner  of  Washington  street,  between  Quincy  and  Ohio  streets. 
Arch  Campbell  came  to  Leavenworth  in  1855  and  prior  to  the  Civil  War 
was  wagon  master  at  Fort  Leavenworth.  For  many  years  he  was  fore- 
man at  the  Great  Western  Store  Works,  and  was  also  with  the  Great 
Western  Manufacturing  Company  for  a  number  of  years,  being  with  the 
two  firms  a  total  of  thirty-nine  years.     He  is  a  carpenter  by  trade,  and 


414  HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

was  born  in  Pennsylvania,  and  his  wife  is  a  native  of  Ohio.  He  is  now 
eighty-five  years  of  age. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Arch  Campbell  were  the  parents  of  the  following  chil- 
dren: Florence,  deceased;  Archie  and  Arthur;  Cordelia,  who  is  dead;  Roy, 
of  Havana,  Cuba,  who  is  with  an  automatic  electrical  company ;  and  Roscoe 
C,  of  McClouth,  Kansas.  The  last  named  enlisted  in  the  United  States 
Army  and  was  with  the  Rainbow  Division.  He  was  overseas  for  eighteen 
months,  and  has  a  medal  from  the  United  States  Government  for  his 
valiant  services.  Arthur  and  Archie  Campbell  enlisted  at  Leavenworth 
with  the  Thirty-first  Engineers,  in  March,  1918,  and  were  sent  to  France 
June  1,  1918,  where  they  were  put  in  the  railroad  service,  and  remained 
overseas  for  fourteen  months,  returning  to  Leavenworth  in  July,  1919. 

Archie  Campbell  is  a  member  of  the  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fel- 
lows. Both  young  men  are  hustlers  and  are  doing  well  in  their  line  of 
work.     They  live  with  their  parents  in  Leavenworth. 


John  Baade  takes  an  active  part  in  the  commercial  life  of  Leaven- 
worth, and  is  a  member  of  the  firm  of  Wallace  and  Baade,  dealers  in 
furniture  and  carpets  at  423  Cherokee  street.  He  was  born  in  Buffalo, 
New  York,  July  10,  1867,  and  is  the  son  of  John  F.  and  Bertha  Baade, 
who  came  to  Leavenworth  in  1867.  John  Baade  was  a  well  known  con- 
tractor. He  died  in  1890  at  the  age  of  fifty-six  years,  and  his  wife  died 
in  1895.     Both  are  buried  at  Mt.  Muncie  cemetery. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  John  Baade  were  the  parents  of  the  following  children : 
Louise  Baade,  of  Philadelphia ;  Adella,  wife  of  Aubrey  Edwards,  of  Water- 
bury,  Connecticut,  and  John  Baade. 

John  Baade  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  Leavenworth,  and 
also  attended  the  Leavenworth  Business  College.  He  first  worked  with 
Herman  Richter,  a  furniture  man  here,  and  later  was  with  Helmer's 
Manufacturing  Company,  and  Abernathy  and  Doughty.  Later,  both  Mr. 
Wallace  and  Mr.  Baade  were  with  Ettenson,  Wolfe  and  Company  in  the 
furniture  department.  They  afterward  formed  the  present  partnership. 
The  firm  carries  a  full  line  of  furniture,  carpets  and  rugs.  Their  stock 
is  clean,  well  kept  and  they  are  both  courteous  and  accommodating  and 
have  built  up  a  satisfactory  and  profitable  business.  John  Baade  is  a 
progressive  citizen. 

He  is  a  member  of  the  Fraternal  Aid,  No.  6,  and  of  the  Ancient 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  415 

Order  of  United  Workmen.  Mr.  Baade  has  been  secretary  of  the  Fra- 
ternal Aid  No.  6  for  the  past  fifteen  years,  and  this  lodge  has  a  member- 
ship of  more  than  three  hundred.  The  Fraternal  Aid  succeeded  the 
Knights  of  Aurora,  and  John  F.  Baade  was  a  member  of  the  Knights  of 
Aurora,  and  when  the  two  lodges  were  merged,  he  was  a  charter  member 
of  the  Fraternal  Aid. 

John  Baade  was  married  to  Elizabeth  Otto,  of  Leavenworth,  Kansas, 
in  1897.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Baade  have  a  son,  John  0.,  who  enlisted  in  the 
motor  transport  service,  during  the  World  War,  as  mechanic,  for  overseas 
duty,  but  was  not  called  on  account  of  his  age,  then  being  but  eighteen, 
and  the  armistice  was  signed  soon  after.  He  is  now  in  the  automobile 
business  at  310  Cherokee  street,  and  is  a  member  of  the  Security  Bene- 
fit Association. 


Jack  J.  Laird  is  a  member  of  the  leading  wholesale  fruit  and  produce 
company  of  Leavenworth.  He  was  born  July  1,  1889,  at  Leavenworth, 
Kansas,  and  is  a  son  of  A.  and  Mary  (Ford)  Laird,  who  now  live  at  313 
Ottawa  street,  Leavenworth. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  A.  Laird  were  married  in  Leavenworth.  He  is  a  native 
of  Scotland,  and  she  of  New  Orleans.  He  is  sixty-eight  years  of  age  and 
is  employed  as  night  foreman  for  the  Water  Company.  He  came  to 
Leavenworth  at  the  age  of  twenty  years  and  was  a  student  of  mine  in- 
specting in  Pennsylvania  previously.  After  coming  to  Leavenworth,  he 
was  connected  with  coal  mines  for  many  years.  Jury  Ford,  grandfather 
of  Jack  J.  Laird,  came  to  Leavenworth  by  wagon  from  New  Orleans,  and 
also  was  engaged  in  mining  here  until  his  death.  He  was  accidentally 
killed  by  falling  from  the  top  of  the  mine  to  bottom  of  shaft,  a  distance 
of  750  feet. 

Jack  J.  Laird  was  educated  in  the  parochial  schools  of  Leavenworth, 
and  was  in  different  produce  houses  in  St.  Joseph  and  Kansas  City,  Mis- 
souri, and  with  Rodenberg  and  Company,  of  Leavenworth,  Kansas,  where 
he  gained  a  thorough  knowledge  of  the  business.  He  also  was  in  San 
Francisco,  California,  for  several  months. 

During  the  World  War,  Jack  Laird  was  in  the  United  States  Army. 
He  was  sergeant  at  Camp  Funston,  with  Fifth  Company,  Fifth  Regiment, 
and  was  retained  there  as  instructor  until  discharged,  serving  seven 
months. 


416  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

The  firm  of  Laird  and  Townsend  is  wide-awake,  and  their  expert 
knowledge  of  the  business  and  wide  acquaintance,  coupled  with  push  and 
energy,  has  placed  them  at  the  head  of  the  produce  houses  here.  Mr.  Laird 
is  honest  and  industrious  and  a  fine  man. 

He  was  married  November  26,  1919,  to  Miss  Mabelle  Kennedy,  of 
Leavenworth,  and  they  reside  at  Mt.  Olive  Church. 

Mr.  Laird  is  a  member  of  the  Knights  of  Columbus  and  U.  C.  T. 


Charles  H.  Masterson  is  the  capable  secretary  and  treasurer  of  the 
Leavenworth  Motor  Company,  one  of  the  largest  concerns  of  its  kind  in 
this  section  of  the  state.  The  company  was  organized  June,  1918,  with 
the  following  stockholders:  John  G.  Barnes,  president;  Charles  H.  Master- 
son,  secretary  and  treasurer;  Charles  E.  Curtin,  vice  president.  The  com- 
pany is  capitalized  at  §25,000.00.  They  moved  into  their  present  building 
January  1,  1919.  It  is  a  three  story  structure,  ninety-six  by  eighty  feet, 
with  a  twenty-four  by  forty-five  feet  three  story  annex,  and  three  stories 
of  both  buildings  are  occupied.  The  firm  sells  Oldsmobiles  and  Packard 
cars  and  carry  a  complete  line  of  automobile  accessories.  They  also  do 
repair  work  and  employ  eighteen  men.  All  of  the  members  of  the  firm 
are  keen  business  men  and  they  do  a  profitable  business. 

Charles  H.  Masterson  is  a  native  of  Leavenworth,  born  April  23,  1877. 
He  is  the  son  of  Charles  H.  and  Sarah  L.  (Short)  Masterson.  The  latter 
lives  at  1240  High  Street,  Leavenworth,  Kansas,  and  is  a  native  of  Ken- 
tucky, born  January  21,  1841.  Charles  H.  was  born  in  Kentucky  in  1831 
and  came  to  Platte  County,  Missouri,  in  1870  and  settled  on  a  farm  there. 
He  located  in  Leavenworth  in  1876  and  followed  the  grocery  business  for 
fifteen  years,  retiring  a  short  time  before  his  death  in  1915.  He  is  buried 
at  Pleasant  Ridge,  Missouri. 

The  Masterson  children  are:  Lenora,  Luella,  John,  Harriet,  Sarah, 
Malcy,  and  Charles  H,  the  subject  of  this  sketch. 

Charles  H.  Masterson  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  and  was 
graduated  from  the  high  school  in  1898.  After  leaving  school  he  worked 
for  the  Burlington  Railway  Company  at  St.  Joseph,  Missouri,  until  he 
accepted  employment  with  the  Fisher  Machine  Works  of  Leavenworth. 
In  1912  he  made  the  race  for  county  clerk  on  the  Democratic  ticket.  He 
is  well  known  and  stands  high  in  the  community. 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  417 

Mr.  Masterson  was  married  January  31,  1899,  to  Miss  Maude  D. 
Brown,  daughter  of  Felix  C.  and  Jincy  A.  (Bleakley)  Brown,  both  of 
whom  live  at  Leavenworth,  Kansas. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Masterson  are  the  parents  of  two  children:  Charles 
Forrest,  a  student  in  the  Leavenworth  High  School,  and  Ruth  Ann,  a 
graduate  of  the  Leavenworth  High  School. 

Mr.  Masterson  is  a  member  of  the  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons 
and  is  a  Shriner.    He  is  also  a  member  of  other  lodges. 


Hashagen  Brothers  are  the  successful  proprietors  of  the  leading  wall 
paper  and  paint  shop  in  Leavenworth,  Kansas.  Their  store  is  located  at 
415  Cherokee  street.  The  firm  is  composed  of  J.  H.  and  D.  A.  Hashagen, 
who  are  brothers.  They  are  sons  of  John  and  Wilhelmiha  Pommering 
Hashagen.  The  latter  is  living  in  Leavenworth,  the  former  having  died 
February  26,  1919,  at  the  age  of  seventy-nine  years.  John  Hashagen 
came  to  Leavenworth  at  the  close  of  the  Civil  War.  During  the  World 
War  he  was  a  cook  on  a  transport.  After  locating  in  Leavenworth,  he 
drove  an  omnibus  between  this  city  and  the  fort,  and  afterward  engaged 
in  the  real  estate  business. 

To  Mr.  and  Mrs.  John  Hashagen  were  born  the  following  children: 
Mrs.  Abraham  Walker,  of  Leavenworth;  William,  of  Kansas  City,  Kan- 
sas; Henry,  of  Leavenworth,  who  is  in  the  grocery  business;  Minnie 
Esterbrbrook,  of  Oakland,  California ;  John  and  D.  A.,  of  this  sketch ;  Mrs. 
William  Rumford,  of  Leavenworth;  Carl,  of  Atlanta,  Georgia,  who  is 
chief  clerk  in  the  Quartermaster  Department;  Albert,  who  is  chief  clerk 
in  the  finance  division  of  Ft.  Leavenworth ;  and  August,  of  Leavenworth. 
All  of  the  children  were  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  Leavenworth. 

J.  H.  Hashagen,  the  senior  member  of  the  firm,  is  not  married. 

D.  A.  Hashagen  was  married  November  1,  1910,  to  Aurelia  Waldman, 
of  Leavenworth.  Mrs.  Hashagen  is  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Herman 
Waldman.     Mr.  and  Mrs.  Hashagen  have  one  son,  Richard. 

J.  H.  and  D.  A.  Hashagen  began  business  at  an  early  age  with  C.  M. 
Tarr,  of  Leavenworth,  a  pioneer  wall  paper  man  of  this  city,  and  who  is 
now  traveling  for  a  New  York  City  wall  paper  firm.  Mr.  Hashagen  was 
with  this  firm  several  years,  and  then  worked  for  Keane  and  Jenkins.  In 
1903  they  bought  the  stock  of  Pamby  and  Anderson  and  began  the  present 
business,  moving,  however,  to  415  Cherokee  street  in  1913. 

(23) 


418  HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

This  firm  carries  a  full  line  of  wall  paper,  paints  and  glass,  and  at 
times  employ  as  high  as  forty  men.  They  have  done  a  large  amount  of 
government  work  here  and  at  other  places  in  the  country.  No  job  is  too 
large  for  them,  and  their  ability  to  handle  the  highest  class  work,  together 
with  the  excellent  quality  of  work  done,  has  put  them  to  the  front  in  their 
chosen  business. 


Charles  E.  Townsend  is  an  enterprising  and  progressive  member  of 
the  firm  of  Laird  and  Townsend,  wholesale  dealers  in  fruits  and  produce, 
of  Leavenworth,  Kansas. 

He  was  born  in  St.  Joseph,  Missouri,  February  26,  1873,  the  son  of 
William  E.  and  Millie  Townsend,  both  deceased,  the  latter  having  passed 
away  in  1908,  and  William  Townsend  died  in  1916.  He  was  a  government 
scout  on  the  plains  during  the  Indian  troubles  after  the  Civil  War,  and 
after  locating  in  Leavenworth,  he  was  in  the  saddle  and  harness  business. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  William  E.  Townsend  had  the  following  children:  Ralph 
and  Lonnie,  both  of  Leavenworth ;  William  and  Harry,  of  St.  Louis ;  Mrs. 
May  Consul,  of  Los  Angeles,  California;  Rosalie  Smith,  of  Kansas  City, 
Missouri;  and  Charles,  the  subject  of  this  sketch. 

Charles  E.  Townsend  received  his  education  in  the  public  schools  of 
St.  Joseph,  Missouri,  and  Leavenworth,  Kansas.  He  first  worked  for 
Rodenberg's  Wholesale  and  Retail  House  of  Leavenworth,  and  was  with 
them  until  the  organization  of  the  firm  of  which  he  is  a  member.  This 
firm  conducts  an  important  industry  and  the  Business  has  increased  from 
year  to  year.  Mr.  Townsend  is  a  good  business  man,  has  many  friends 
and  is  well  liked. 

In  January,  1911,  Mr.  Townsend  was  married  to  Pauline  Brouse,  of 
Leavenworth. 

He  is  a  member  of  the  Fraternal  Order  of  Eagles  and  Ancient  Free 
and  Accepted  Masons. 


W.  J.  Kern,  the  capable  and  efficient  horseshoer,  located  at  304 
Cherokee  street,  Leavenworth,  Kansas,  is  a  native  of  Germany.  He  was 
born  May  1,  1879,  in  Germany,  the  son  of  Stephen  and  Mary  Kern.  They 
left  their  native  land  in  1886  and  came  to  the  United  States,  settling  at 
Hunt  Station,  Kansas,  where  they  were  employed  in  the  curing  of  grapes 


HISTORY  OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  419 

and  the  making  of  wine.  Stephen  Kern  died  in  1894  in  Leavenworth, 
Kansas,  and  his  wife  also  died  at  this  place. 

W.  J.  Kern  received  his  education  in  the  St.  Joseph's  Parochial  School 
and  the  public  school  of  Hunt  Station.  At  the  age  of  fourteen  he  took 
up  the  trade  of  horseshoeing  at  Leavenworth,  Kansas,  where  he  was  em- 
ployed by  Frank  Brown,  later  by  Finnen  and  Eagen.  For  three  years  he 
was  with  the  Riverside  Mining  Company  as  horseshoer,  then  he  worked 
for  the  best  horseshoer  of  the  county,  Jack  McKlain,  of  Kansas  City, 
Missouri.  After  that  he  traveled  from  coast  to  coast,  plying  his  trade 
of  horseshoeing  in  many  different  places. 

In  1914  W.  J.  Kern  established  his  business  at  304  Cherokee  street 
and  has  won  an  enviable  position  in  this  line  of  work.  During  the  Span- 
ish-American War  Mr.  Kern  enlisted  with  Troop  G,  Fifth  Cavalry.  He 
saw  service  in  Cuba  and  Porto  Rico  and  after  two  years  and  seven  months 
of  service  was  mustered  out  at  Porto  Rico. 

W.  J.  Kern  was  married  at  Leavenworth  Kansas  to  Mina  Miller,  the 
daughter  of  Ben  and  Lillie  Miller.  Two  children,  Thelma  and  William 
Ben,  have  been  born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Kern. 

Mr.  Kern  is  a  member  of  the  Ancient  Order  of  United  Workmen. 


Specialty  Garage  and  Manufacturing  Company,  of  Leavenworth,  Kan- 
sas, is  owned  and  operated  by  the  Hartfelder  Brothers.  Edward  H.  and 
Julius  Hartfelder  opened  up  this  automobile  repair  shop  in  1916.  They 
handle  all  kinds  of  accessories,  gasoline  and  oils.  They  handle  the  Hup- 
mobile,  Chandler  and  Cleveland  automobiles,  specializing  in  the  salesman- 
ship and  repair  of  these  makes  of  cars.  The  Specialty  Garage  building  is 
located  at  Third  and  Seneca  streets.  It  is  50x125  feet,  having  a  floor 
space  of  6,250  square  feet. 

Edward  H.  and  Julius  Hartfelder  are  natives  of  Leavenworth,  Kansas, 
and  are  the  sons  of  Ludwig  and  Emma  (Hoppe)  Hartfelder.  Ludwig 
Hartfelder  was  a  cabinet  maker  and  for  many  years  was  engaged  in  this 
business  in  Leavenworth.  He  came  to  Leavenworth  about  1880  and  died 
in  1899.    Emma  (Hoppe)  Hartfelder  makes  her  home  in  DeSota,  Kansas. 

Four  sons  and  four  daughters  were  born  to  Ludwig  and  Emma  Hart- 
felder, as  follows :  Edward  H.  and  Julius,  of  this  review ;  Mrs.  Hilda  Smith, 
Mrs.  Augusta  Field,  Mrs.  Emma  Welda  and  Mrs.  Edna  Bender,  all  of 


420  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

whom  live  at  Kansas  City,  Missouri ;  and  Albert  and  Alphonse,  who  reside 
at  DeSota,  Kansas. 

Edward  H.  Hartfelder  was  married  in  June,  1908,  to  Pearl  Graham, 
of  Leavenworth,  Kansas.  Four  children  have  been  born  to  them,  as  fol- 
lows: Edward  James;  Leslie  Eugene;  Zelma  Pearl  and  Leona  Adelaide. 

Edward  Hartfelder  lives  at  1319  South  Broadway.  He  is  a  member 
of  the  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  also  a  Scottish  Rite  Mason  and 
Shriner,  the  Benevolent  and  Protective  Order  of  Elks,  Fraternal  Order  of 
Eagles  and  the  L.  0.  0.  M.  His  brother,  Julius  Hartfelder,  is  a  member 
of  the  Fraternal  Order  of  Eagles. 

The  Hartfelder  Brothers  are  substantial  business  men,  who  are  well 
known  and  respected  by  their  business  associates.  They  are  conducting 
a  high  class  garage  and  sales  service  and  both  are  members  of  the  Cham- 
ber of  Commerce. 


J.  H.  Donovan,  of  the  Donovan  Transfer  Company,  is  one  of  the  best 
known  residents  of  Leavenworth,  Kansas.  He  is  conducting  a  transfer 
business  which  has  been  conducted  by  the  Donovan  family  for  sixty-one 
years.  This  business  was  started  by  B.  J.  Donovan,  the  father  of  J.  H. 
Donovan,  in  1860.  After  B.  J.  Donovan's  death  a  son,  Martin  Donovan, 
conducted  the  business,  which  later  was  taken  by  the  present  manager, 
J.  H.  Donovan. 

J.  H.  Donovan  was  bom  in  Leavenworth,  Kansas,  November  9,  1861, 
the  son  of  B.  J.  and  Katherine  (Ahearne)  Donovan.  B.  J.  Donovan  was 
bom  in  Ireland  and  when  very  young  located  at  Leavenworth.  He  was 
married  to  Katherine  Ahearne  in  1858.  Her  mother  was  a  widow,  who 
made  her  home  with  B.  J.  and  Mary  (O'Hearne)  Donovan  for  many  years. 
In  1873,  when  forty-three  years  of  age,  B.  J.  Donovan  died  and  his  wife 
died  in  1916,  at  the  age  of  eighty  years.  They  are  both  buried  at  Mount 
Calvary  cemetery. 

B.  J.  and  Katherine  (Ahearne)  Donovan  were  the  parents  of  chil- 
dren, as  follows:  Martin,  deceased,  at  the  age  of  forty-one  years;  J.  H., 
the  subject  of  this  review;  Mary,  widow  of  Joseph  Farrell,  of  Kansas 
City,  Missouri. 

J.  H.  Donovan  was  educated  in  the  parochial  school  of  Leavenworth. 
For  five  years  he  was  employed  by  the  Union  Pacific  Railway  Company 
as  clerk.     For  seven  years  he  was  employed  by  the  Missouri  Valley  Bridge 


HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  421 

Company  and  he  left  their  employ  to  take  up  the  present  work  after  his 
brother's  death. 

The  Donovan  Transfer  Company  is  the  oldest  ice  company  of  Leaven- 
worth and  in  addition  handles  coal  as  well  as  carrying  on  an  extensive 
transfer  business.  As  they  say  there  is  nothing  too  small  nor  too  large 
for  them  to  handle. 

The  Donovan  Transfer  Company's  business  occupies  a  half  block,  be- 
tween Main  and  Second  streets,  on  Shawnee  street.  They  have  eight 
teams  in  use,  two-ton  truck,  a  one-ton  truck  and  two  runabout  automobiles. 

J.  H.  Donovan  and  Mary  Delaney  were  united  in  marriage  October 
28,  1885,  in  Leavenworth,  Kansas.  She  is  the  daughter  of  James  and 
Bridget  Delaney,  who  were  living  in  New  Mexico  at  the  time  of  their 
daughter's  birth.  James  Delaney  was  engaged  in  government  business 
at  that  time.  They  are  both  deceased.  They  died  in  Leavenworth,  Kan- 
sas. Four  children  have  been  born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  J.  H.  Donovan,  as 
follows:  Benjamin  J.,  the  bookkeeper  for  his  father,  Capt.  John  B.,  who 
served  three  years  in  the  United  States  Army  during  the  World  War.  He 
enlisted  with  the  first  volunteers  and  was  sent  to  Camp  Funston,  joining 
the  famous  Eighty-ninth  Division.  He  was  commissioned  captain  and 
served  one  year  in  France.  He  is  now  with  an  oil  company.  Before 
entering  the  service  he  was  with  the  Spinge  Clothing  Company  for  six 
years  and  with  E.  V.  Price,  the  tailor,  for  three  years.  And  Edward  M., 
with  the  firm  also. 

J.  H.  Donovan  is  a  member  of  many  orders,  as  follows:  The  Ancient 
Order  of  United  Workmen,  Knights  of  Columbus,  Brotherhood  of  Ameri- 
acn  Yeomen,  Fraternal  Order  of  Eagles  and  the  Degree  of  Honor. 

J.  H.  Donovan,  through  his  long  years  of  residence  of  Leavenworth, 
is  able  to  recall  many  of  the  things  which  have  passed  away.  The  old  ox 
team,  which  carried  the  heavy  loads  in  the  early  days,  the  clumsy  steam- 
boat unloading  its  freight  at  the  local  wharf,  which  was  an  event  in  the 
lives  of  the  residents  of  Leavenworth. 


Benjamin  J.  Donovan,  bookkeeper  of  the  Donovan  Transfer  Company, 
is  the  eldest  son  of  J.  H.  and  Mary  J.  (Delaney)  Donovan,  whose  sketch 
appears  in  this  volume. 

Benjamin  Donovan  was  born  August  18,  1886,  in  Leavenworth,  Kan- 
sas, and  received  his  education  in  the  Sacred  Heart  Parochial  School  and 


422  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

the  Leavenworth  High  School.  He  graduated  with  the  class  of  1905.  He 
immediately  took  up  work  in  the  office  of  the  Donovan  Transfer  Company 
and  later  was  made  the  bookkeeper,  which  position  he  is  ably  filling. 

January  26,  1907,  Benjamin  Donovan  and  Elizabeth  A.  Toschetta 
were  married.  She  is  the  daughter  of  Charles  and  Martha  Toschetta,  the 
former  of  whom  is  the  postmaster  of  Leavenworth.  Elizabeth  (Toschetta) 
Donovan  was  born  in  Leavenworth  and  received  her  education  in  the  pub- 
lic schools.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  B.  J.  Donovan  are  the  parents  of  four  daugh- 
ters, as  follows:  Beth,  Jane,  Mary  and  Martha. 

B.  J.  Donovan  is  a  member  of  the  Knights  of  Columbus  and  treasurer 
of  the  Rotary  Club. 


Rumford's  Ford  Hospital,  located  at  738-740  Delaware  street,  is  one 
of  the  substantial  garages  which  specializes  in  the  repair  of  Ford  cars. 
This  hospital,  as  it  is  called,  was  started  by  William  A.  Rumford  at  424- 
426  Shawnee  street  in  1918  and  the  business  grew  so  rapidly  that  Mr. 
Rumford  moved  to  his  present  quarters  in  order  to  accommodate  his 
trade.  The  Rumford  Hospital,  in  the  space  of  three  short  years,  has  had 
a  phenomenal  growth,  attesting  to  the  good  workmanship  and  business 
ability  of  its  founder. 

William  A.  Rumford  was  born  in  Emporia,  Kansas,  November  11, 
1883,  the  son  of  Morgan  H.  and  Mary  H.  (Phillips)  Rumford.  He  re- 
ceived his  education  in  the  Emporia,  Kansas,  public  schools  and  the  night 
school  of  Leavenworth,  William  Rumford  was  employed  for  twenty  years 
by  the  William  G.  Hesse  Manufacturing  Company,  the  last  seven  years  of 
which  he  was  foreman  of  the  night  force.  It  was  while  he  was  working 
for  the  Hesse  Manufacturing  Company  that  William  Rumford  took  a 
general  course  in  the  night  school  of  Leavenworth. 

The  marriage  of  William  Rumford  and  Otillie  Hashagen  was  solemn- 
ized December  19,  1906.  She  is  a  daughter  of  John  H.  Hashagen  and 
wife,  of  Leavenworth,  Kansas.  Two  children,  both  deceased,  have  been 
born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Rumford.  Lester  died  at  the  age  of  six  years  and 
Fern  died  in  infancy. 

W.  A.  Rumford  is  a  member  of  the  Modem  Woodmen  of  America, 
a  Knights  Templar  Mason,  a  member  of  the  Shrine  and  a  member  of  the 
Chamber  of  Commerce.  He  is  indeed  one  of  Leavenworth's  substantial 
citizens  worthy  of  the  success  which  he  is  attaining. 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  423 

F.  L.  Wise,  a  well  known  and  successful  business  man  of  Leaven- 
worth, Kansas,  who  conducts  an  up-to-date  meat  market  at  this  place,  is 
a  native  of  Nebraska.  He  was  born  in  Dodge  County,  Nebraska,  July  8, 
1875,  a  son  of  Constine  and  Mary  Wise.  Constine  Wise  died  about  1883 
and  Mrs.  Mary  Wise  is  now  Mrs.  S.  E.  Kennedy,  living  at  Leavenworth, 
Kansas.  Constine  and  Mary  Wise  were  the  parents  of  four  children,  as 
follows:  Mrs.  E.  0.  Cannon,  Leavenworth,  Kansas;  Henry,  a  carpenter  of 
Leavenworth ;  G.  A.,  in  Florida,  and  F.  L.,  the  subject  of  this  review. 

F.  L.  Wise  attended  the  public  schools  of  Creighton,  Nebraska,  and 
Council  Bluffs,  Iowa.  He  learned  the  butcher's  trade  at  Omaha,  Ne- 
braska, but  on  his  coming  to  Leavenworth  in  1896  he  was  employed  by 
L.  C.  Houseman.  Mr.  Wise  opened  his  first  butcher  shop  at  Fifth  avenue 
and  Linn  street  in  1911.  He  had  only  five  dollars  in  the  till  and  no  ice 
box.  The  first  summer  he  fitted  up  a  beer  box  for  an  ice  box,  until  he 
was  able  to  buy  one  for  his  shop.  From  small  beginnings  Mr.  Wise  has 
steadily  increased  his  business.  In  May,  1916,  he  moved  to  his  present 
location  at  Fourth  and  Elm  streets. 

Mr.  Wise  was  married  in  1899  to  Nellie  M.  Owens,  of  Davenport, 
Iowa,  and  four  children  have  been  born  to  this  union,  as  follows :  George 
F.,  for  the  past  three  years  a  railway  mail  clerk ;  Fred,  with  his  father  in 
the  meat  market,  also  employed  by  the  City  Gas  Company;  Orville,  in 
high  school;  and  Dorothy,  at  home. 

F.  L.  Wise  is  a  member  of  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America.  He  re- 
sides at  223  Pine  street. 


D.  I.  Atkinson,  a  well  known  grocer  and  native  of  Leavenworth 
County,  was  born  in  1875  on  a  farm  near  Kickapoo,  Kansas.  He  is  the 
son  of  Thomas  and  Louisa  (Swarts)  Atkinson,  the  former  deceased,  the 
latter  still  living  on  the  old  home  place. 

Thomas  Atkinson  is  the  son  of  Isaac  Atkinson,  a  native  of  Virginia. 
Isaac  Atkinson  came  to  Leavenworth  County  in  1854,  homesteading  160 
acres  of  land  adjoining  the  present  townsite  of  Kickapoo,  Kansas.  This 
land  has  been  owned  by  the  Atkinson  family  all  these  years,  remaining  in 
the  Atkinson  name  until  recently,  when  R.  L.  Gwartney,  husband  of  Nellie 
Atkinson,  purchased  it.  Wilson  Ralston  Atkinson,  a  brother  of  Isaac 
Atkinson,  came  from  Virginia  and  homesteaded  160  acres  of  land  also. 
It  was  this  farm  which  Thomas  Atkinson  purchased  in  1870  upon  his 


424  HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

marriage  to  Louisa  Swarts.  It  was  also  the  birthplace  of  D.  I.  Atkinson, 
the  subject  of  this  sketch.  The  first  Indian  mission  started  in  Leaven- 
worth County  was  on  this  farm  and  was  only  recently  torn  down.  It  was 
a  story  and  a  half  log  cabin  with  two  rooms. 

D.  I.  Atkinson  was  reared  on  this  farm  and  attended  the  Kickapoo 
District  School.  When  a  young  man  he  went  to  New  Mexico,  where  he 
was  in  the  mercantile  business  for  twelve  years.  He  returned  from  New 
Mexico  in  1919  and  in  June,  1920,  he  purchased  his  present  stock  of 
groceries  from  Mr.  Narher,  now  deceased.  He  is  steadily  increasing  his 
business  and  winning  new  friends  and  customers. 

Mr.  Atkinson  has  two  daughters,  Catherine  and  Ruth.  He  is  a  mem- 
ber of  the  Knights  of  Pythias,  the  Security  Benefit  Association  and  a  past 
chancellor  of  the  Knights  Templar  Masons. 

D.  I.  Atkinson  is  very  familiar  with  many  of  the  old  settlers'  names 
and  faces.  He  recalls  men,  such  as  Uncle  Jimmie  Knox,  Doctor  Brown- 
field  and  Joseph  Grover,  whose  granddaughter  now  lives  on  the  old  place. 
George  Sharp  was  an  early  postmaster  of  Kickapoo  and  Mr.  Atkinson 
recalls  many  tales  that  these  old  settlers  used  to  tell  of  their  early 
struggles  and  conditions.  From  his  father  and  grandfather  he  also  knows 
many  of  the  early  historic  events  of  Leavenworth  County. 


James  W.  Powell,  well  known  employe  of  the  Leavenworth  and  Topeka 
Railroad  at  Fifth  and  Choctaw  streets,  was  born  in  Loudoun  County,  Vir- 
ginia, June  11,  1845.  He  is  the  son  of  Alfred  Burr  and  Hannah  (Smith) 
Powell.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  A.  B.  Powell  came  to  Leavenworth,  April  12,  1860, 
with  eight  children,  as  follows:  James  W.,  of  this  sketch;  Mary,  who  is 
deceased ;  Virginia,  the  widow  of  M.  S.  Grant ;  Frank,  who  died  in  Okla- 
homa; Charles,  who  died  in  Leavenworth;  Robert  F.,  who  owns  the  old 
home  farm  in  Alexandria  Township,  Leavenworth  County;  M.  T.,  a  real 
estate  agent  in  Leavenworth,  and  Howard  F.,  a  farmer  in  High  Prairie 
Township. 

Alfred  Bun-  Powell  came  to  Leavenworth  County  in  1857  as  a  Free 
State  man  from  Wayne  County,  Indiana,  and  returned  to  Indiana.  He 
came  to  Kansas  again  in  1860  with  his  family  and  settled  in  Alexandria 
Township,  where  he  and  his  wife  both  died,  he  at  the  age  of  seventy-six 
years,  in  January,  1900,  and  she  at  the  age  of  ninety  years  and  twelve 
days,  in  August,  1910.    Both  are  buried  at  Springdale  Cemetery. 


J.  W.    POWELL 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  425 

The  Powell  family  were  pioneers  of  Alexandria  Township,  and  James 
Powell  knows  much  of  its  early  history.  In  February,  1854,  a  number  of 
Quakers  came  from  Shawnee  Mission  and  settled  in  Alexandria  Township, 
where  they  started  a  Quaker  Church.  The  leaders  were  Eli  Wilson,  Ben 
Hiatt  and  family,  William  Coffin,  Daniel  Mendenhall  and  Henry  Wilson, 
and  also  Professor  Stanley,  who  taught  the  first  school  in  Leavenworth 
County,  outside  of  the  city  of  Leavenworth.  The  school  was  conducted 
in  a  log  cabin  about  sixteen  by  sixteen  feet  square,  and  both  school  and 
church  services  were  held  there  in  1855.  In  1857,  a  church  was  built  at 
Springdale,  where  the  church  is  now  located.  An  academy  was  conducted 
in  the  new  church  at  Springdale  in  1860,  and  this  academy  was  attended 
by  Quakers  from  all  over  the  territory.  The  school  was  maintained  and 
kept  up  until  the  public  schools  were  established  in  Kansas.  The  school 
was  taught  by  Prof.  Mahlon  Oliphant.  Prior  to  the  advent  of  railroads 
in  the  county,  Springdale  was  a  prosperous  village,  with  three  stoi'es, 
blacksmith  shops,  hotel,  mill,  etc. 

There  were  about  sixty  or  seventy  men  from  Alexandria  Township 
who  served  in  different  Kansas  regiments  during  the  Civil  War,  and  James 
W.  Powell,  the  subject  of  this  sketch,  is  the  only  one  known  to  be  living. 
John  Brown  and  Sarah  Ann  Jeffries  are  the  only  people  now  living  there 
who  lived  there  when  Kansas  was  admitted  to  the  Union  in  1861.  The 
first  frame  house  in  Alexandria  Township,  which  was  built  by  Robert 
Courtney,  is  still  standing  and  is  occupied  by  Jane  Courtney. 

James  W.  Powell  was  married  May  2,  1869,  to  Cynthia  A.  Wickersham, 
at  Springdale.  She  was  a  daughter  of  John  Wickersham.  She  died  Octo- 
ber 26,  1918.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Powell  have  five  daughters:  Azalea,  the  wife 
of  William  Wright,  of  Leavenworth;  Flora,  widow  of  Frank  Barbour,  of 
Kansas  City,  Missouri;  Elizabeth,  wife  of  Hubert  Vantloster,  of  Kansas 
City,  Missouri;  Clara,  the  wife  of  Frank  Wright,  of  Leavenworth;  and 
Grace,  the  widow  of  Harry  Caldwell,  Atchison,  Kansas. 

Mr.  Powell  has  eleven  grandchildren,  as  follows:  Rubie  Wright,  the 
wife  of  Sam  Harbester,  a  clerk  in  the  postoffice  at  Leavenworth;  Glenn 
Barbour,  of  Kansas  City,  Missouri,  who  is  chief  clerk  for  the  Canadian 
Pacific  Railway  Company;  Osmund  Vantloster;  Helen  Vantloster;  Mau- 
rinne  Caldwell ;  Evalyn  Caldwell ;  William  Caldwell ;  Harriett  Caldwell ;  Jack 
Caldwell;  and  Constance. 

James  W.  Powell  has  lived  a  very  serviceable  life,  both  to  his  family 
and  to  his  country.    During  the  Civil  War  he  was  a  member  of  Company 


426  HISTORY  OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

F,  Twelfth  Kansas  Infantry,  under  General  Blunt,  and  served  in  the  army 
of  the  frontier.  His  regiment  was  commanded  by  Gen.  James  Lane  and 
Colonel  Adams.  He  was  in  the  battles  of  Jenkins  Ferry,  Arkansas; 
Prairie  Deham  and  numerous  other  skirmishes. 

Mr.  Powell  moved  to  Leavenworth  in  1881  and  built  the  house  where 
he  now  lives.  He  is  well  known  and  has  a  host  of  friends.  He  has  been 
working  for  the  Leavenworth  and  Topeka  Railway  Company  for  the  past 
ten  years.  Mr.  Powell  was  appointed  postmaster  at  the  Soldiers  Home 
by  President  McKinley  and  served  in  that  capacity  for  four  years  and 
two  months. 


R.  E.  Doran,  a  successful  grocer  who  for  the  past  seven  years  has 
conducted  an  up-to-date  grocery  at  the  corner  of  Second  and  Pottawato- 
mie streets,  Leavenworth,  is  a  native  of  Leavenworth.  He  is  the  son 
of  P.  A.  and  Bridget  (Fox)  Doran,  who  were  both  born  in  Ireland  and 
came  to  this  country  when  children.  P.  A.  Doran  was  employed  at  the 
Planters  Hotel  in  pioneer  days,  and  his  wife,  Bridget  (Fox)  Doran,  was 
employed  as  a  governess  to  to  General  Schofield's  family.  General  Scho- 
field  was  located  at  Fort  Leavenworth  at  this  time. 

P.  A.  Doran  and  Bridget  Fox  were  married  in  1858  and  they  were 
the  parents  of  five  children,  as  follows:  Mrs.  Mary  Talbott,  Leavenworth; 
Mrs.  A.  C.  Schwartz,  Kansas  City,  Missouri;  John  and  Thomas,  both  de- 
ceased; and  Robert,  the  subject  of  this  sketch.  P.  A.  Doran  died  in  1900 
and  his  wife  in  1899. 

Robert  Doran  received  his  early  education  in  the  parochial  and  public 
schools  of  Leavenworth  and  was  employed  in  the  restaurant  and  laundry 
business  before  he  opened  his  grocery  store  at  the  present  address  in 
1914.  He  handles  a  complete  line  of  groceries,  fresh  vegetables  and 
meats.  He  owns  the  store  building  and  with  his  two  children,  Dorothy 
and  Bobbie,  resides  in  the  adjoining  building  south. 

Mr.  Doran  is  a  member  of  the  Fraternal  Order  of  Eagles. 


Dr.  T.  G.  V.  Boling,  deceased,  was  a  pioneer  settler  and  physician  of 
Leavenworth  County  and  during  the  course  of  his  career  was  prominently 
identified  with  the  early  development  and  progress  of  this  county.  He 
attended  the  Wesleyan  College,  at  Delaware,  Ohio,  and  graduated  from 
the  Cleveland,  Ohio,  Medical  College.    He  located  at  Leavenworth,  Kansas, 


HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  427 

in  1865  as  a  practicing  physician.  One  year  later  he  moved  his  residence 
to  the  farm  on  which  his  widow  now  resides.  It  was  prairie  at  that  time 
and  he  lived  under  the  pioneer  conditions  of  the  day.  At  the  time  of  his 
death,  July  26,  1893,  he  owned  650  acres  of  land.  This  land  is  still  owned 
by  the  heirs. 

Dr.  T.  G.  V.  Boling  was  elected  State  Senator  for  two  terms  from 
his  district  and  while  in  the  Legislature,  was  appointed  on  the  Railroad 
Committee.  The  Leavenworth,  Topeka  &  Southwestern  railway  runs 
through  one  corner  of  the  farm  and  the  station  of  Boling  was  named  in 
honor  of  Doctor  Boling.  He  was  a  prominent  stock  feeder  and  shipper  of 
hogs  and  cattle  and  one  of  the  very  wealthy  men  of  the  county. 

Doctor  Boling  was  born  in  Holmes  County,  Ohio,  and  was  buried 
in  High  Prairie  cemetery. 

T.  G.  V.  Boling  was  married  twice.  The  first  time  to  Fannie  Long  of 
Millersburg,  Ohio.  One  son,  Dr.  Robert  L.  Boling,  was  born  to  them.  He 
married  Elizabeth  Mason.  They  live  at  Reno,  Nevada.  The  second  time 
he  married  Mrs.  Mary  J.  (Keller)  McCune.  She  was  the  daughter  of 
Henry  B.  and  Mary  C.  (Cook)  Keller,  of  Leavenworth,  Kansas. 

Henry  B.  Keller  came  to  Kansas  from  Platte  County,  Missouri,  about 
1857.  He  settled  on  a  farm  where  he  lived  many  years,  later  retiring  to 
Leavenworth,  where  he  died  in  1897.  Four  of  his  sons  were  in  the  Civil 
War,  as  follows:  Squire  B.,  Benjamin  F.,  David  J.,  and  George.  The  other 
children  of  the  family  were  John  H.,  Alonzo  P.,  Andrew  J.,  and  Mrs.  Bol- 
ing. Their  mother,  Mrs.  Mary  C.  (Cook)  Keller  was  born  November  9, 
1820  and  died  December  4,   1870. 

Mrs.  Mary  J.  (Keller)  McCune  was  the  widow  of  James  B.  McCune, 
who  was  born  in  Ohio.  They  were  married  in  1867  and  one  child  was 
born  to  this  union.  James  H.  McCune,  who  now  lives  with  his  mother, 
unmarried.  James  McCune,  Sr.,  was  educated  in  Ohio  and  also  attended 
Martin's  Ferry  Seminary  of  Virginia.    He  died  at  the  age  of  thirty-four. 

Dr.  T.  G.  V.  Boling  and  Mary  Keller  (McCune)  had  two  children 
born  to  them,  Mary  Stella,  the  widow  of  William  A.  Barnhardt,  who 
passed  away  in  1907.  They  had  one  son,  Robert  Gordon,  now  sixteen  years 
old,  a  student  at  the  Jarbalo  High  School ;  and  William  H.  Boling,  also  un- 
married and  at  home  with  mother. 

The  farm  of  Doctor  Boling.  now  owned  by  his  children  and  widow  is 
located  in  High  Prairie  Township.  It  has  belonged  to  the  family  for  over 
fifty  years  and  the  name  of  Doctor  Boling  is  kept  fresh  through  the  asso- 
ciations of  this  old-time  landmark. 


428  HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

C.  E.  Pettit,  conducts  a  grocery  at  1110  Spruce  street,  Leavenworth, 
the  successor  of  the  William  Gough  grocery.  C.  E.  Pettit  purchased  this 
business  in  March,  1919,  coming  from  St.  Joseph,  Missouri. 

C.  E.  Pettit  was  born  in  St.  Joseph,  Missouri,  the  son  of  John  and 
Annie  (Crook)  Pettit.  John  Pettit  was  a  farmer  of  Buchanan  County 
Missouri,  and  died  when  C.  E.  Pettit  was  four  years  of  age.  Mrs.  Annie 
(Crook)  Pettit  was  born  in  Rushville,  Missouri.  By  a  former  marriage  to 
Mr.  Creveling  she  had  two  children,  Jesse,  of  St.  Joseph,  Missouri,  and 
Mrs.  Bertha  Strickler,  Colorado  Springs,  Colorado.  John  and  Annie  Pettit 
were  the  parents  of  the  following  children:  C.  E„  the  subject  of  this  sketch; 
Mrs.  Flora  Conberry,  of  Colorado  Springs,  Colorado ;  and  Mrs.  Mattie  Alex- 
ander, Savannah,  Missouri.  By  a  later  marriage  to  Mr.  Pullen,  Mrs. 
Annie  Pettit  was  the  mother  of  twins,  Claude  of  Leavenworth,  Kan- 
sas; and  Mrs.  Maude  Vey,  of  St.  Joseph,  Missouri.  Mrs.  Annie  Pettit 
Pullen  still  resides  in  Leavenworth. 

C.  E.  Pettit  was  married  April  2,  1919,  to  Pearl  Edgell  of  Leavenworth. 
She  is  the  daughter  of  Hezekiah  and  Julia  (Knapp)  Edgell.  Hezekiah 
Edgell  was  an  early  settler  of  Leavenworth  County,  coming  here  from 
Handcock  County,  Indiana  when  a  child  with  his  widowed  mother.  They 
settled  near  Kickapoo,  Kansas  on  a  farm,  where  he  worked  with  his 
mother  on  the  farm.  Before  the  Civil  War,  Hezekiah  Edgell  had  crossed 
the  western  plains  many  times,  following  the  old  Santa  Fe  trail  and  driv- 
ing ox  teams.  During  the  Civil  War  he  volunteered  and  joined  Company 
I,  15th  Kansas  Cavalry.  He  served  his  country  for  two  years  and  nine- 
teen days.  He  was  in  many  important  battles.  At  the  close  of  the  war, 
Hezekiah  Edgell  returned  to  his  mother's  farm  and  remained  with  her 
until  he  was  married  to  Julia  Knapp,  in  1872.  He  was  thirty-two  years 
of  age  at  this  time. 

After  his  marriage,  Hezekiah  Edgell  farmed  in  Waubaunsee  County, 
Kansas,  for  five  years.  He  then  came  to  Leavenworth  where  he  was  en- 
gaged in  the  dairy  business  for  many  years.  Later  he  and  his  wife 
moved  to  Boling,  Kansas  and  engaged  in  farming,  but  again  returned  to 
Leavenworth  where  they  continued  in  the  dairy  business  until  Heze- 
kiah Edgell  was  seventy  years  old.  He  died  in  1918,  seventy-eight  years 
old.  His  wife,  Julia  (Knapp)  Edgell  resides  at  1425  Spruce  street.  They 
had  three  children,  as  follows:  Frank,  at  home  at  Leavenworth,  Kansas; 
Thomas,  also  at  home,  and  Mrs.  Pearl  Pettit. 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  429 

Mr.  Pettit  since  purchasing  the  William  Gough  grocery  has  been 
successfully  conducting  an  up-to-date  business,  handling  fresh  groceries 
and  fruits. 


Charles  Gist,  the  capable  and  successful  owner  of  the  telephone  ex- 
change at  Boling,  Kansas,  was  bom  in  High  Prairie  Township.  He  is  the 
son  of  John  and  Kate  (Wilhite)  Gist. 

John  Gist  was  born  in  Maryland,  the  son  of  George  Gist,  a  surveyor. 
George  Gist  moved  from  Maryland  to  Ohio  and  from  there  went  to  Weston, 
Missouri.  In  1850  he  came  to  Leavenworth,  Kansas.  It  was  while  on 
his  surveying  work  that  he  met  his  death. 

In  1850,  John  Gist  homesteaded  land  on  the  present  site  of  Twenty- 
Second  street  in  Leavenworth.  In  1856,  he  sold  this  claim  and  purchased 
320  acres  of  land  in  High  Prairie  Township  where  he  lived  many  years, 
taking  an  active  interest  in  all  of  the  local  affairs  of  his  county  and  town- 
ship. He  was  for  years  county  commissioner  from  his  district.  His  farm 
has  improved  in  value  and  productivity  as  the  years  have  gone  by.  In 
1899  he  died  and  his  wife  died  in  1907.  They  were  the  parents  of  the 
following  children:  Arthur,  Leavenworth;  Mrs.  Emma  Thompson,  died 
near  Waco,  Texas;  Charles,  the  subject  of  this  sketch;  Mrs.  Minnie  Lewis, 
deceased ;  William,  in  Hollywood,  California ;  Walter,  in  Delaware  Town- 
ship, Leavenworth  County,  and  Maud,  of  Hollywood,  California. 

Charles  Gist  attended  the  district  school  of  High  Prairie  Township 
and  the  Spaulding  Commercial  College  of  Kansas  City,  Missouri.  He  fol- 
lowed farming  for  a  number  of  years,  then  operated  a  blacksmith  shop 
at  Boling,  later  a  general  merchandise  store  at  Boling  for  seven  years. 
Mr.  Gist  owns  a  drug  store  at  Plattsburg,  Missouri,  which  is  managed  by 
his  son-in-law,  Rex  Thorning. 

In  1904,  Charles  Gist  took  over  the  management  of  the  Boling  Tele- 
phone Company.  The  exchange  has  205  phones  in  High  Prairie,  Alex- 
andria, Delaware  and  Tonganoxie  townships.  It  is  also  connected  up  with 
the  Leavenworth,  Tonganoxie,  Lansing,  Basehor  and  Easton  exchanges. 
Mr.  Gist  makes  his  home  in  Boling,  Kansas,  where  he  has  ten  acres  of 
land,  three  acres  of  which  are  in  orchard  and  the  balance  in  grass  and 
under  cultivation.  Charles  Gist  has  always  taken  an  active  interest  in 
the  local  affairs  and  has  filled  the  office  of  treasurer  of  Prairie  Township 
for  a  number  of  years.     He  is  a  substantial  Leavenworth  County  citi- 


430  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

zen.    He  is  a  member  of  Modern  Woodmen  of  America  and  the  Ancient 
Free  and  Accepted  Masons,  at  Boling,  Kansas. 

In  1878,  Charles  Gist  married  Lucy  Snell,  a  native  of  High  Prairie 
Township.  She  died  in  1895,  leaving  a  family  of  five  children,  as  follows : 
Frank,  died  at  seven  years;  Dr.  William  Gist,  of  Kansas  City,  Missouri; 
Mary,  wife  of  Rex  Thorning,  Plattsburg,  Missouri;  Grover,  died  when 
seventeen  years  of  age;  and  Nora,  at  home.  Mr.  Gist  was  married  the 
second  time  in  1899  to  Emma  Fisher,  a  daughter  of  George  and  Anna  B. 
(Klaus)  Fisher,  of  Pittsburg,  Pennsylvania.  The  former  died  January, 
1914,  the  latter  lives  in  Leavenworth,  Kansas. 


Dr.  William  Gist,  the  son  of  Charles  and  Lucy  (Snell)  Gist  is  now  in 
charge  of  the  General  Hospital  at  Kansas  City,  Missouri.  William  Gist 
enlisted  in  the  (Hospital  Corps*  Regular  Army,  when  [only  seventeen 
years  of  age  and  served  in  the  Philippine  Islands  for  three  years. 

When  Doctor  Gist  returned  from  the  Philippines  he  attended  the 
Kansas  City  Medical  College,  and  graduated  from  this  institution,  and 
began  practice  in  Kansas  City,  Missouri.  When  hostilities  broke  out  on 
the  Mexican  border,  he  again  enlisted,  with  the  rank  of  Captain.  He 
returned  shortly  after  and  took  up  his  practice.  Dr.  Gist  was  in  the 
National  Guard  and  in  1917,  he  again  enlisted  in  the  army  and  was 
sent  to  Camp  Funston,  later  to  Camp  Sill,  Oklahoma,  where  he  was  to  ar- 
range for  the  camping  of  the  recruits.  He  was  sent  to  France  with  the 
first  detachment  of  troops.  While  here  he  was  promoted  to  the  rank  of 
Major.  He  was  in  charge  of  the  110th  Sanitary  Train,  a  division  of  the 
hospital  corps,  attached  to  the  35th  Division. 

After  being  in  France  for  nearly  fifteen  months,  Doctor  Gist  returned 
home.  In  1920  he  was  appointed  Superintendent  of  the  General  Hospi- 
tal at  Kansas  City,  Missouri. 

Dr.  William  Gist  married  Gertrude  Aaron,  of  High  Prairie  Township 
and  they  have  one  son,  Wilmont. 


B.  W.  Stoneburner,  the  proprietor  of  Walnut  Grove  Dairy  farm,  one 
of  the  leading  farms  of  this  kind  in  High  Prairie  Township  was  born  in 
Bates  County,  Missouri,  January  1,  1884,  the  son  of  John  and  Hattie 
(Freeman)  Stoneburner,  both  natives  of  Bates  County,  Missouri.  John 
Stoneburner  died  in  Boise  City,  Ohio,  several  years  ago  and  his  wife  lives 
at  Glencoe,  Oklahoma. 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  431 

B.  W.  Stoneburner  received  his  education  in  Missouri,  and  came  to 
Leavenworth  County  in  1911,  settling  in  Delaware  Township.  He  rented 
land  for  awhile  and  then  bought  the  Evans  farm  in  this  township,  which 
he  still  owns.  He  bought  his  home  farm  March,  1920,  from  T.  I.  Maines. 
This  farm  consists  of  190  acres  and  is  located  southwest  of  Leavenworth. 
A  building  on  the  farm  now  used  as  a  barn  was  formerly  the  county  home. 
Mr.  Stoneburner  is  in  the  dairy  business  and  has  eighteen  grade  Holstein 
cows.  He  ships  milk  to  Kansas  City,  Missouri.  He  also  raises  mules,  grade 
Poland-China  hogs  and  White  Leghorn  chickens.  Mr.  Stoneburner  has 
six  acres  in  alfalfa.  The  farm  is  well  watered,  having  five  springs  on  the 
place  and  two  good  wells.  The  other  improvements  are  residence,  good 
barn  and  silo.  The  residence  is  situated  on  the  "poor  farm"  road,  which 
runs  through  the  farm. 

Mr.  Stoneburner  was  married  August  11,  1915,  to  Carrie  Evans,  a 
daughter  of  Aaron  and  Serranda  (Hartman)  Evans.  The  former  died 
November  23,  1885,  and  the  latter  died  January  16,  1920.  Both  are  buried 
at  Mt.  Muncie.  Aaron  Evans  was  a  member  of  the  Kansas  State  Militia 
at  the  time  of  Price's  Raid.  Mrs.  Stoneburner  was  their  only  child  and  was 
born  on  the  home  place  in  Delaware  Township. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Stoneburner  are  energetic  and  industrious  and  stand 
high  in  their  vicinity. 


A.  C.  Lark,  a  leading  business  man  of  Leavenworth,  who  manages 
the  DeCoursey  Creamery  of  Leavenworth  at  321  Shawnee  street  is  a 
native  of  Kansas  City,  Kansas.  He  attended  the  ward  and  high  schools 
of  that  city  and  spent  eighteen  months  in  Spaulding's  Commercial  Col- 
lege, beginning  at  the  latter  school  the  day  they  opened  up  their  new  build- 
ing at  Tenth  and  Oak  streets.  Mr.  Lark  was  graduated  from  this  school 
June,  1909,  and,  prior  to  coming  to  Leavenworth  in  September,  1919,  he 
was  with  the  DeCoursey  Creamery  at  their  Kansas  City  plant  for  two 
and  one-half  years,  thus  having  a  thorough  knowledge  of  the  business 
before  accepting  the  position  as  manager  of  their  branch  here.  Mr.  Lark 
possesses  marked  executive  ability  and  is  thoroughly  reliable. 

Ed  DeCoursey  was  the  founder  of  the  DeCoursey  Creameries,  and 
is  one  of  the  pioneers  in  this  business  in  Leavenworth,  Kansas.  He  re- 
sides in  Kansas  City,  Kansas,  and  his  sons,  James,  Frank  and  William,  are 
conducting  the  business,  one  of  the  most  extensive  of  its  kind  in  the  state. 


432  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH    COUNTY 

The  firm  lives  up  to  its  motto — "Twin  products  of  quality."  The  cream- 
ery at  Kansas  City,  Kansas,  manufactures  White  Rose  butter  and  Per- 
fection ice  cream,  in  which  products  they  specialize.  The  company  has 
large  plants  at  Kansas  City,  Kansas ;  Wichita,  Kansas,  and  many  branches 
throughout  the  state.  McLouth,  Leavenworth,  and  Yates  Center  are  the 
most  important  ones. 

Mr.  Lark  is  a  native  of  Wyandotte  County,  Kansas,  the  son  of  Mark 
and  Veronica  (Weaver)  Lark,  who  reside  in  Kansas  City,  Kansas.  Mark 
Lark  works  for  the  Armour  car  lines,  having  charge  of  the  construction  of 
the  cars. 

August  23,  1913,  Mr.  Lark  was  married  to  Mary  Sneller,  of  Kansas 
City,  Kansas,  in  which  city  she  was  born  and  reared.  They  have  three 
children:  Margaret,  Paul  and  Richard. 


William  L.  LaCaille,  a  well  known  farmer  of  Kickapoo  Township,  is 
a  native  of  this  township,  and  was  born  July  12,  1865,  the  son  of  Julian 
and  Lenora  (Groff)  LaCaille,  and  was  the  fourth  of  seven  children  born 
to  them,  as  follows:  Joseph,  deceased;  Josephine,  deceased,  who  married 
Lemuel  Wright;  Eugene,  deceased;  Maggie,  the  wife  of  O.  W.  Hiatt,  de- 
ceased; Nora,  the  wife  of  George  Fellmann,  of  Leavenworth;  Rosa,  the 
wife  of  John  Bedwell,  of  Lansing,  Kansas. 

Julian  LaCaille  was  a  native  of  Canada,  born  October  12,  1819.  He 
was  a  hardware  clerk  in  early  manhood,  and  later  traveled  extensively 
from  St.  Louis  to  California,  where  he  was  engaged  in  gold  mining,  and 
about  the  year  1856,  he  came  to  Kansas  and  engaged  in  farming  in  the 
northern  part  of  Leavenworth  County,  in  Kickapoo  Township.  Later  he 
engaged  in  the  mercantile  business  in  the  Salt  Creek  Valley,  and  conducted 
a  tavern  and  grocei-y  store  until  his  death  in  1895.  He  was  a  member  of 
the  school  board,  and  belonged  to  the  Catholic  Church,  and  assisted  in 
organizing  Sacred  Heart  Church  of  Kickapoo  Township.  His  wife  was 
born  in  Baden,  Germany  in  1829  and  died  in  1905.  Both  she  and  her 
husband  are  buried  in  Kickapoo  Cemetery. 

William  LaCaille  has  always  lived  on  a  farm.  He  bought  his  first 
farm  in  1893,  which  was  known  as  the  old  Col.  Bill  Cody  farm  in  Kickapoo 
Township.  He  improved  this  place  and  still  owns  it,  which  is  two  miles 
west  of  his  present  residence.  The  place  where  he  now  makes  his  home 
was  owned  by  David  Powers,  and  there  is  a  large,  modern  brick  residence 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  433 

on  this  farm,  which  was  constructed  in  1872.  Mr.  LaCaille  is  an  enterpris- 
ing and  progressive  citizen  of  his  community.  He  was  educated  in  the 
district  schools,  is  a  member  of  the  Catholic  Church,  and  of  the  Modern 
Woodmen  of  America  Lodge.    In  politics,  he  is  a  Democrat. 

May  20,  1891,  Mr.  LaCaille  was  married  to  Katherine  Schweizer,  who 
was  born  in  the  town  of  Kickapoo,  December  14,  1872,  the  daughter  of 
George  and  Katherine  (Schott)  Schweizer,  who  were  natives  of  Germany 
and  Kansas  respectively.  George  Schweizer  is  deceased  and  a  sketch  of 
him  appears  in  this  volume. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  LaCaille  are  the  parents  of  five  children,  the  oldest  hav- 
ing died  in  infancy.  The  other  children  are:  William  G.,  of  Pasadena, 
California;  Doerle,  the  wife  of  J.  F.  Doran,  of  Topeka,  Kansas;  Rosa  and 
Katherine,  at  home.  They  also  have  the  following  grandchildren:  Robert 
and  Pauline  LaCaille,  and  Thomas  Lewis,  Doran. 

William  G.  LaCaille  was  a  soldier  during  the  World  War,  and  served 
twelve  months.  He  went  overseas  with  the  Three  Hundred  and  Twelfth 
Field  Artillery,  and  was  a  private. 

William  LaCaille  was  the  very  efficient  superintendent  of  the  County 
Poor  Farm  from  1905  until  1911,  and  served  on  the  school  board  for 
eighteen  years. 


John  N.  Kopp,  is  a  pioneer  citizen  of  Leavenworth,  and  proprietor  of 
one  of  this  city's  important  industrial  institutions,  operating  an  ice,  fuel 
and  feed  business  at  Eighth  and  Miami  streets.  He  was  born  May  16, 
1873,  the  son  of  John  and  Margaret  (Maurer)  Kopp,  the  latter  now  lives 
at  Eleventh  and  Pottawatomie  streets.  John  Kopp  was  one  of  the  pioneer 
business  men  of  Leavenworth.  He  started  the  ice  business  in  1859  and 
followed  this  industry  until  his  death  in  1896.  He  obtained  his  ice  from 
the  Missouri  River,  having  ice  houses  at  Third  and  Chestnut  streets  and 
Eleventh  and  Miami  streets.    He  is  buried  at  Mt.  Muncie. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  John  Kopp  were  the  parents  of  the  following  children: 
Mrs.  Louise  Conrad,  Mrs.  Louis  Falk,  John  N.,  the  subject  of  this  sketch; 
and  Margaret,  the  wife  of  Charles  Baer,  deceased,  of  Denver,  Colorado. 

John  N.  Kopp  has  spent  all  of  his  life  in  Leavenworth.  He  succeeded 
his  father  in  business  in  1898.  He  also  sells  a  two  in  one  ice  saw  which 
he  patented  November  22,  1910.  This  saw  is  very  useful  in  the  ice  busi- 
ness, as  it  saves  labor,  time  and  money.  Mr.  Kopp  has  orders  for  it  from 

(24) 


434  HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

all  parts  of  the  United  States.  Mr.  Kopp  has  also  found  time  to  take  an 
active  interest  in  the  affairs  of  the  town  and  in  April,  1906,  was  elected 
a  member  of  the  council  and  served  two  years.  He  was  re-elected  and 
served  one  year,  when  the  Commission  form  of  government  was  adopted. 
Peter  Everhardy,  now  Finance  Commissioner,  was  mayor  at  the  time  Mr. 
Kopp  served  as  Councilman.  Mr.  Kopp  is  a  good  business  man,  and  has 
many  friends  in  this  vicinity.  Mr.  Kopp  is  a  member  of  the  Fraternal 
Order  of  Eagles,  Redmen  and  Turners. 

October  16,  1900,  Mr.  Kopp  was  married  to  Rose  Clark,  of  Paola, 
Kansas.  They  have  three  children :  John  T.,  Loretta  and  Clark  Leo.  The 
family  reside  at  505  North  Eleventh  street,  and  are  among  the  town's 
best  citizens. 


George  H.  Kuhnhoff,  a  progressive  young  farmer  of  High  Prairie 
Township,  is  a  native  of  Kansas,  and  was  born  in  Atchison  County,  March 
4,  1898,  the  son  of  W.  A.  and  Ottelia  (Hinz)  Kuhnhoff,  who  now  reside  in 
Leavenworth,  Kansas. 

George  Kuhnhoff  was  educated  in  the  Leavenworth  schools,  attending 
the  high  school  for  three  years.  For  the  past  twelve  years,  he  has  been 
on  the  home  farm  of  160  acres,  formerly  the  Murray  farm,  which  is  lo- 
cated one  and  one-half  miles  north  of  Boling,  Kansas.  Mr.  Kuhnhoff 
does  general  farming  at  present,  but  intends  to  devote  most  of  his  time 
to  dairying,  as  that  is  the  line  in  which  he  is  most  interested.  Mr.  Kuhn- 
hoff has  eight  head  of  cows  registered,  and  a  registered  Holstein  bull, 
also  twenty-five  grade  cattle.  The  milk  from  the  dairy  is  delivered  to 
Boling,  Kansas.  Mr.  Kuhnhoff  made  a  seven-day  test  of  his  cow  Arcturus 
Ormsby  Winnie,  No.  434159,  three  and  one-half  years  old,  with  a  recoi-d 
of  seventeen  and  sixty-two  hundredths  pounds  of  butter,  and  he  has 
other  cows  almost  up  to  this  record ;  one  sixteen  and  one-half  pounds  and 
another  with  thirteen  and  one-half  pounds.  He  uses  a  Pinetree  milker  of 
two  double  unit  capacity  for  four  cows  at  one  time.  In  1914,  Mr.  Kuhnhoff 
erected  a  re-inforced  concrete  silo  which  is  considered  by  him  as  the  best 
investment  on  the  farm.  He  is  very  energetic  and  has  a  good,  up-to-date 
improved  place. 

On  June  2,  1920,  Mr.  Kuhnhoff  was  married  to  Marie  Seifert,  a 
daughter  of  William  and  Flora  (Ittner)  Seifert  of  High  Prairie  Town- 
ship. 


HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  435 

Mr.  Kuhnhoff  is  a  member  of  the  Farm  Bureau  of  Leavenworth 
County  and  of  the  Farm  Bureau  of  the  State  of  Kansas. 


Samuel  Z.  Babcock,  a  well  known  and  prosperous  farmer  of  High 
Prairie  Township  has  accumulated  a  large  number  of  acres  of  land,  due 
to  industrious  labor  and  good  management.  He  was  born  in  Platte  County, 
Missouri,  May  15,  1847,  the  son  of  Charles  and  Paulina  (Moore)  Babcock; 
his  father  and  mother  were  married  in  Platte  County  Missouri,  and  lived 
six  miles  from  Platte  City,  until  their  death,  he  at  the  age  of  sixty-seven, 
and  she  at  the  age  of  seventy-eight. 

Samuel  Babcock  was  educated  in  the  private  schools  in  Platte  County, 
and,  at  the  age  of  twenty-two  began  farming  there.  In  1882  he  moved  six 
miles  southeast  of  Tonganoxie,  Kansas,  buying  184  acres  of  land,  later  ad- 
ding sixteen  acres,  where  he  lived  until  1917  when  he  moved  to  his  present 
farm  of  forty  acres.  He  also  owns  farms  of  103  acres,  eighty  acres  and 
160  acres.  Two  hundred  acres  of  his  land  is  in  the  Big  Stranger  bottom, 
and  is  among  the  best  land  in  the  county.  He  cleared  many  acres  of  the 
land  himself.  Mr.  Babcock  says  he  was  once  a  good  wood  chopper,  but 
doesn't  claim  to  be  now.  Mr.  Babcock  drove  ox  teams  for  several  years 
when  a  young  man.  He  has  a  keen  memory  and  can  tell  many  interesting 
incidents  of  early  days,  and  well  remembers  the  Indians  in  Platte  County, 
Missouri. 

Mr.  Babcock  is  litterally  a  self  made  man.  He  says  that  when  he  had 
paid  the  minister  for  marrying  him,  he  had  only  one  dollar  left.  He 
began  driving  oxen,  for  which  re  received  $2.50  per  day,  which  was  unusual 
wages  for  that  time,  as  fifty  and  seventy-five  cents  per  day,  without 
board,  was  considered  average  wages.  Mr.  Babcock  bought  his  first  land 
in  1882  for  $23.50  per  acre;  the  next  at  $20;  then  $30,  and  $67.50. 

In  1875,  Mr.  Babcock  was  married  to  Mary  Naylor,  a  native  of  Platte 
County,  Missouri,  and  a  daughter  of  Tilman  and  Rebecca  Jane  Naylor. 
Tilman  Naylor  was  a  native  of  Kentucky,  and  was  among  the  earliest 
settlers  of  Platte  County.  He  and  his  wife  had  seventy-five  grandchildren 
and  eight  great  grandchildren  at  the  time  of  their  death. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Samuel  Babcock  are  the  parents  of  seven  children: 
Edward,  a  farmer  in  Platte  County,  Missouri ;  Jesse,  a  farmer  near  Tong- 
anoxie; Alza  Eugene,  a  farmer  near  Tonganoxie;  Matthew,  who  follows 
the  tiling  business  near  Tonganoxie;  Olie,  a  farmer  in  Sherman  Town- 


436  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

ship;  Madaline,  the  wife  of  Roy  Allison,  a  farmer  of  Tonganoxie;  and 
Mabel  Eunice,  who  lives  at  home.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Babcock  have  the  fol- 
lowing grandchildren :  Wilma,  Lawrence,  Cecil  Jane,  Letha,  Samuel,  Violet, 
Leona,  Eunice,  Lloyd,  Mary  Alice,  Norman  Babcock,  and  Dorothy  May 
Allison. 


Joseph  Kowalewski,  who  is  a  successful  farmer  and  grocer  of  Delaware 
Township,  and  who  lives  one-fourth  mile  from  the  city  limits  of  Leaven- 
worth on  the  Lawrence  road,  is  a  native  of  Leavenworth,  born  July  15, 
1885  the  son  of  Sevirean  and  Mary  (Parkerovitz)  Kowalewski.  His  father 
and  mother  are  now  living  in  Leavenworth.  Sevirean  Kowalewski  was 
formerly  superintendent  of  the  county  farm,  and  also  conducted  a  grocery 
store  in  Leavenworth  for  three  years.  Later,  he  followed  dairying  until 
he  retired  from  business. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  S.  Kowalewski  are  the  parents  of  the  following  children : 
Mrs.  Lottie  Kern,  of  High  Prairie  Township;  Tony,  of  Leavenworth,  and 
Joseph,  the  subject  of  this  sketch. 

Joseph  Kowalewski  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  Leaven- 
worth, and  has  been  engaged  in  farming  practically  all  his  life.  He  owns 
five  acres  where  he  lives  and  160  acres  nearby.  In  April,  1920,  he 
started  a  grocery,  and  has  done  a  good  business.  Mr.  Kowalewski  is  a 
member  of  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America,  of  Boling,  Kansas.  He  is  an 
enterprising,  substantial  citizen. 

Mr.  Kowalewski  was  married  August  30,  1910,  to  Maiy  Martens  of 
High  Prairie  Township,  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  W.  F.  Martens,  the 
latter  being  deceased. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Kowalewski  have  four  children :  Elinor  Gertrude,  Joseph 
William,  Dorothy  Louise  and  Mary  Alice. 


J.  F.  Brune,  an  exceptionally  successful  farmer  of  Jarbalo,  Kansas, 
was  born  in  Indiana,  February  1,  1875,  the  son  of  Fred  and  Catherine 
(Meinkein)  Brune,  who  came  from  Indiana  and  settled  in  Alexandria 
Township  in  1889.  Fred  Brune  died  about  the  year  1905.  His  widow  lives 
in  Alexandria  Township. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Fred  Brune  were  the  parents  of  the  following  children: 
Anna  Hilderbrandt,  of  San  Antonio,  Texas;  Mary  Benne;  William,  who 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  437 

lives  on  the  home  place ;  J.  F.,  of  this  sketch ;  Louis  and  Henry,  of  Alex- 
andria Township;  Fred,  of  High  Prairie  Township;  August,  who  died 
at  the  age  of  twenty-three  years ;  and  Harry,  of  High  Prairie  Township. 

J.  F.  Brune  was  educated  in  the  district  schools  of  this  county.  He 
lived  at  home  until  he  was  twenty-three  years  old  when  he  rented  land. 
Mr.  Brune's  first  land  was  160  acres  which  he  purchased  in  1903,  two  miles 
north  of  Jarbalo,  and  on  which  he  now  resides.  He  continued  to  buy  land 
until  at  present  he  owns  800  acres  in  High  Prairie  and  Alexandria  town- 
ships. He  also  owns  several  acres  in  Tonganoxie  Township.  Mr.  Brune 
farms  the  entire  estate,  and  raises  stock.  Four  hundred  acres  that  he 
owns  is  bottom  land.  He  has  eighty  acres  of  alfalfa  on  his  farm,  which 
he  uses  for  pasture.  He  raises  Poland-China  hogs,  and  feeds  cattle.  Mr. 
Brune  has  four  sets  of  improvements  on  his  farm,  which  are  provided  for 
the  help  who  assist  him  with  the  work.  For  ten  years,  Mr.  Brune  was  in 
the  grain  business  in  Jarbalo,  buying  and  shipping.  He  also  handled 
live  stock.  He  has  always  been  a  hustler,  and  has  made  a  success,  depend- 
ing on  his  own  business  judgment.  Mr.  Brune  is  a  member  of  the  Grange 
at  Jarbalo. 

Mr.  Brune  was  married  July  4,  1901  to  Hattie  Trackwell,  of  Tong- 
anoxie Township,  a  daughter  of  Frank  and  Mina  (Worland)  Trackwell, 
both  deceased.  Mrs.  Brune  was  born  in  this  county.  Her  father  died  No- 
vember 20,  1918  and  her  mother  December  9,  1895.  They  are  buried  at 
Eagle  Cemetery.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Brune  have  five  children ;  Stella,  who  is  in 
her  third  year  of  high  school;  Blanche,  Mabel,  Agnes  and  Francis. 


Max  Flinner,  a  leading  farmer  and  stock  man  and  the  proprietor 
of  Flinner  stock  farm  in  High  Prairie  Township,  which  is  located  three 
miles  southwest  of  Boling  and  three  miles  northeast  of  Jarbalo  on  the 
Perryville  road,  was  born  on  the  farm  where  he  now  lives,  and  where 
his  father  and  mother,  John  and  Emma  (Somers)  Flinner  were  married 
in  1883.  Max  Flinner  bought  the  farm  in  1919.  It  consists  of  200  acres 
and  is  one  of  the  best  stock  farms  in  the  township.  It  has  excellent 
running  water  the  year  around.  The  improvements  are  a  modern  two- 
story,  nine-room  residence ;  barn,  forty  by  eighty  feet,  with  ten  foot  base- 
ment, also  running  water  in  the  barn,  and  other  buildings. 

John  Flinner  put  the  improvements  on  the  place,  and  was  the  first 
man  in  the  county  to  have  a  telephone,  which  he  made  himself,  and  which 


438  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

connected  his  residence  with  that  of  his  son,  Louis  Flinner.  The  tele- 
phone used  had  a  sheep  head  drum  and  a  knock  on  the  button  attracted 
the  attention  of  one  at  the  other  end  of  the  line.  Mr.  Flinner  also  in- 
vented the  Flinner  automatic  gate,  upon  which  he  has  five  patents.  This 
gate  is  used  all  over  the  United  States.  Another  invention  of  Mr.  run- 
ner's is  a  patent  conductor  check  holder  and  a  fence  weaving  machine. 
When  he  lived  on  the  farm,  he  raised  Shorthorn  cattle  and  Poland-China 
hogs.  Mr.  Flinner  served  two  terms  as  township  treasurer  and  served 
twelve  years  on  the  school  board.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Flinner  are  the  parents 
of  the  following  children :  Louis,  who  died  at  the  age  of  thirty-six  years, 
and  whose  widow,  Emma  (Cavaner)  Flinner,  lives  on  the  home  place; 
William,  who  is  in  the  oil  business  in  Tulsa,  Oklahoma ;  John,  a  merchant 
of  Tulsa,  Oklahoma ;  Mrs.  Herbert  Kihm,  of  Leavenworth,  and  Max  Flinner, 
the  subject  of  this  sketch. 

Max  Flinner  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  and  for  six  years 
lived  in  Leavenworth,  where  he  attended  the  high  school  and  worked  in 
his  father's  gate  factory.  He  came  to  the  farm,  where  he  now  lives,  in 
1911 ;  rented  the  place  for  eight  years,  and  then  bought  it.  In  1918  a  well 
was  drilled  for  oil  at  a  depth  of  800  feet  on  this  farm,  but  turned  out  non- 
productive. Mr.  Flinner  feeds  cattle  and  hogs.  He  raises  Duroc  Jersey 
hogs,  Barred  Plymouth  Rock  poultry  and  does  general  farming,  having 
forty  acres  of  alfalfa  and  eighty  acres  of  wheat. 

Mr.  Flinner  was  married  March  15,  1911,  to  Florence  Hampel,  a  native 
of  Leavenworth,  and  daughter  of  George  and  Louise  (Meyer)  Hampel, 
the  latter  now  living  in  Leavenworth,  the  former  being  deceased.  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  Flinner  have  had  four  children  as  follows:  Ruth,  Charles,  Howard 
and  Roy;  the  last  two  being  dead.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Flinner  are  members 
of  the  Lutheran  Evangelical  Church  at  Leavenworth,  Kansas.  The  family 
is  of  high  standing  in  the  community. 


Samuel  H.  Hill  is  one  of  the  leading  and  progressive  citizens  of  Acker- 
land,  Kansas.  He  is  a  merchant,  postmaster  and  station  agent  for  the  L. 
&  T.  Railroad.  He  was  born  in  Grant  County,  Indiana  September  16,  1856, 
the  son  of  Benoni  and  Aseneath  (Newby)  Hill;  both  came  to  Kansas  in 
1878  and  settled  at  Wilson.  Benoni  Hill  was  born  in  Randolph  County, 
North  Carolina  and  his  wife  was  born  in  Gulford  County,  North  Carolina. 
Major  General  Greene  of  Revolutionary  fame  was  a  great  uncle  of  Mrs. 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  439 

Hill.  She  died  at  Seneca,  Kansas  in  1912  at  the  age  of  ninety-one  years, 
and  Benoni  Hill  died  at  Lawrence,  Kansas,  in  1912  at  the  age  of  eighty- 
six  years.    Both  are  buried  in  Fall  Creek  Cemetery. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Benoni  Hill  were  the  parents  of  the  following  chil- 
dren: Jesse  W.  Hill  of  Lawrence,  Kansas;  Samuel  H.  Hill,  of  this  sketch; 
Lydia  N.  Auspaugh  of  Ness  City,  Kansas ;  Nancy  Bloom  of  Seneca,  Kansas. 

Samuel  H.  Hill  received  his  education  in  the  schools  of  Grant  County, 
Indiana.  He  attended  Back  Creek  High  School,  and  also  took  a  course  at 
South  Wabash  Academy  near  Wabash  City,  Indiana.  He  came  to  Kansas 
in  October,  1878  and  located  near  Great  Bend,  following  carpentering  for 
a  year.  In  1879  he  went  to  Jarbalo,  Kansas  where  he  operated  a  saw 
mill  on  Stranger  Creek  for  six  and  one-half  years.  In  1887,  he  bought 
the  Ackerland  store,  taking  charge  on  March  1st,  of  that  year.  He  was 
appointed  postmaster  by  John  Wannamaker  April  8,  1889,  under  President 
Harrison's  administration,  and  has  held  this  position  continuously  since 
that  time,  with  the  exception  of  the  years  1895  to  1896,  when  he  repre- 
sented the  Sixth  District  in  the  Legislature.  His  wife  worked  in  the 
postoffice  for  five  years.  Mr.  Hill  stands  second  in  length  of  service  of 
postmasters  in  the  state,  the  oldest  being  the  postmaster  at  Oak  Mills, 
Atchison  County.  In  1898,  Mr.  Hill  was  appointed  station  agent  and  has 
held  this  position  since  that  time.  Mr.  Hill  has  made  a  success  of  every 
line  of  work  in  which  he  is  engaged,  and  has  many  friends  throughout 
the  township.  He  carries  a  general  line  of  merchandise  in  his  store,  and 
also  buys  and  sells  country  produce. 

December  20,  1883,  Mr.  Hill  was  married  to  Sarah  E.  Ecton,  who 
died  July  4,  1888.  He  married  his  present  wife,  Mary  F.  Kinkaid  of  Acker- 
land,  a  daughter  of  Benjamin  D.  and  Elizabeth  Kinkaid,  November  15, 
1889.  Benjamin  Kinkaid  is  deceased  and  buried  at  Eagle  Cemetery  and 
his  wife  lives  in  Tonganoxie  Township. 


Louis  Brune,  a  well  known  farmer,  a  member  of  one  of  the  leading 
families  of  Alexandria  Township,  was  born  in  Indiana  February  15', 
1878,  the  son  of  Frederick  and  Catherine  (Meinken)  Brune.  His  father 
is  dead  and  his  mother  lives  on  the  home  place  in  Alexandria  Township. 

Louis  Brune  received  his  education  in  the  district  schools  of  Alex- 
andria Township,  and  stayed  on  the  home  place  until  twenty-one  years 
of  age,  as  did  his  brothers,  who  are:  William,  now  living  on  the  home 


440  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

place;  John  of  High  Prairie  Township;  Henry  of  Alexandria  Township; 
Fred  and  Harry  of  High  Prairie  Township.  He  has  two  sisters :  Mrs.  Anna 
Hildebrandt  of  San  Antonio,  Texas,  and  Mary  Benne  of  High  Prairie 
Township. 

Louis  Brune  bought  his  present  home  of  sixty-four  acres  in  1911  from 
his  brother,  Fred  Brune.  He  is  now  farming  157  acres  and  does  general 
farming  and  stock  raising.  Mr.  Brune  has  placed  many  permanent  im- 
provements on  his  farm.  Among  them  are  a  two-story  residence,  a  large 
barn,  and  other  buildings  for  farm  use.  Mr.  Brune  is  a  practical  farmer, 
and  has  good  ideas  based  upon  his  experience. 

In  February,  1903,  Mr.  Brune  was  married  to  Edith  Sample,  a 
daughter  of  Robert  and  Julia  Sample,  both  now  deceased.  Mrs.  Brune  was 
bora  in  Tonganoxie  Township  and  educated  at  Jarbalo,  Kansas.  Her  father 
died  when  she  was  quite  young. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Brune  have  six  children:  Julia,  who  attends  Jarbalo 
High  School ;  Myrtle,  also  a  student  in  high  school ;  Thelma,  Rowena,  Floyd 
and  Carl. 

Mr.  Brune  is  a  member  of  the  Yeoman  Lodge.  He  receives  his  mail  on 
Rounte  One,  out  of  Jarbalo. 


Thomas  Wosser,  a  highly  respected  farmer  of  Kickapoo  Township,  is 
a  member  of  a  pioneer  family  of  this  county,  and  was  born  in  this  town- 
ship January  7,  1860.  He  is  the  son  of  Richard  and  Ann  (Donnely) 
Wosser,  who  were  the  parents  of  ten  children,  as  follows:  Mary,  the  wife 
of  Joseph  Hentzelman,  of  Mt.  Olivet,  Kansas;  Thomas,  the  subject  of  this 
sketch;  Johanna  Cahill,  of  Mt.  Olivet,  Kansas;  Victoria,  who  lives  at 
home  with  her  brother,  John;  Catherine,  married  Victor  Heintzelman,  of 
Mt.  Olivet,  Kansas;  John,  on  the  old  home  place  in  Kickapoo  Township; 
James  and  Edward,  both  of  whom  are  deceased ;  Anna,  a  Sister  of  Charity 
at  St.  John's  Hospital  in  Leavenworth,  Kansas,  and  who  has  been  in  this 
hospital  for  twenty-five  years  and  is  known  as  Sister  Frances  Marie;  and 
Nellie,  at  home.    Anna  and  Edward  are  twins. 

Richard  Wosser  was  born  in  County  Meath,  Ireland  about  1809  and 
died  in  1884.  He  came  to  Leavenworth,  Kansas  in  1854  and  engaged  in 
carpenter  work,  and  conducted  the  first  carpenter  shop  in  that  city.  In 
1858  he  began  farming,  but  was  called  out  in  the  militia  during  Price's 
Raid  in  the  Civil  War.    He  returned  to  farming  and  engaged  in  this  occu- 


THOMAS   WOSSER   AXD   GRANDSONS.   OWEN   AND    FRANCIS    BUCHANAN 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  441 

pation  until  his  death.  His  wife  was  born  in  County  Kerry,  Ireland,  March 
17,  1827  and  died  in  1919.  She  came  to  the  United  States  in  1854  and 
worked  for  Col.  Bill  Cody's  uncle  at  Weston,  Missouri.  She  was  well 
acquainted  with  the  late  Col.  William  Cody.  She  was  a  hard  working 
and  industrious  woman. 

Thomas  Wosser  was  reared  on  the  farm  and  only  received  three 
months'  schooling  out  of  the  year.  He  worked  for  a  while  as  a  farm 
hand,  then  rented  land  for  twelve  years,  and,  in  1899,  bought  his  present 
farm  of  eighty  acres,  on  which  he  has  made  some  improvements.  When 
he  was  twenty-one  years  old,  he  served  three  terms  as  township  clerk 
and  four  terms  as  township  trustee  of  Kickapoo  Township. 

February  18,  1885,  he  married  Mary  Kennedy,  who  was  born  in  this 
township  in  1859,  the  daughter  of  Lawrence  and  Eliza  A.  (Dunn)  Ken- 
nedy. She  died  March  6,  1915.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Wosser  had  eight  children, 
as  follows :  Frances,  the  wife  of  Frank  P.  Goddard,  of  Kickapoo  Township ; 
Anna,  the  wife  of  Owen  Buchanan,  of  Twin  Falls,  Idaho;  Catherine  and 
James,  deceased;  Sarah,  of  Leavenworth,  Kansas;  the  last  two  named 
being  twins;  Margaret,  of  Leavenworth;  Edward,  at  home;  and  a  child 
who  died  in  infancy. 

Mr.  Wosser  is  a  Democrat,  a  member  of  the  Catholic  Church  and  be- 
longs to  the  Modern  Woodmen  of^  America  Lodge. 

Mr.  Wosser  has  served  four  terms  as  township  trustee  and  three 
terms  as  township  clerk.    He  was  elected  five  terms  without  opposition. 


Henry  J.  Brune,  a  well  informed  and  prosperous  farmer  of  Alexandria 
Township,  living  one  and  one-half  miles  northwest  of  Jarbalo,  Kansas, 
was  born  in  Tonganoxie  Township  January  26,  1880,  the  son  of  Frederick 
and  Catherine  (Meinken)  Brune;  the  latter  now  living  on  the  home  place 
in  Alexandria  Township. 

Henry  Brune  attended  the  public  schools  of  his  district,  and  worked 
on  his  father's  farm  until  he  was  twenty-three  years  of  age.  In  1910,  he 
bought  his  present  home  place  of  one  hundred  acres  from  Fred  and  Nancy 
Mason.  He  has  a  good  residence  and  a  barn,  which  is  thirty-two  by  thirty- 
six  feet;  also  other  buildings  including  a  tool  shed,  corn  crib,  granary, 
etc.  He  has  an  excellent  well,  and  Big  Stranger  Creek  runs  through  his 
farm.    Fifty  acres  of  his  farm  is  bottom  land,  and  on  seven  acres,  Mr. 


442  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

Burne  raises  alfalfa.  He  raises  pure  blood  Duroc  Jersey  hogs,  as  well 
as  other  stock. 

In  1902,  Mr.  Brune  was  married  to  Nettie  Buchheister  of  Tonganoxie, 
Kansas,  a  daughter  of  Albert  and  Amanda  Buchheister,  both  deceased. 
They  were  natives  of  Iowa,  first  locating  in  western  Kansas,  then  later 
moving  to  Tonganoxie,  where  they  both  died.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Brune  have 
four  children ;  Edythe,  Albert,  Erma  and  Glenn, 

Mr.  Brune  is  a  member  of  the  Yeoman  Lodge,  the  Modem  Woodmen 
of  America  Lodge,  and  of  the  Farmer's  Grange.  He  receives  his  mail  at 
Jarbalo,  Kansas,  Route  Number  One. 


John  Schmidt,  well  known  and  popular  Buick  taxi  service  man,  was 
born  in  Germany  November  25,  1870,  the  son  of  Charles  and  Mary 
Schmidt,  both  now  deceased. 

John  Schmidt  came  to  America  when  a  boy,  in  1884,  and  joined  the 
United  States  Army  in  New  York  City.  During  the  year  1890  and  1891 
he  was  in  the  Sioux  campaign  in  Montana.  In  1894  he  came  to  Fort 
Leavenworth  with  the  Twentieth  United  States  Infantry,  and  was  dis- 
charged from  he  army  in  1896.  During  the  Cuban  war,  in  1898,  he 
reenlisted  with  Company  H,  Twentieth  Infantry,  and  was  in  service  in 
Cuba.  He  participated  in  the  battles  of  El  Caney  and  San  Juan  Hill. 
He  returned  to  Fort  Leavenworth  the  second  time  and  was  discharged, 
but  joined  the  Sixth  United  States  Cavalry  and  went  to  the  Philippine 
Islands,  and  was  in  he  campaign  there  with  Generals  Funston,  Bell, 
Weedon  and  Otis.  Mr.  Schmidt  served  eleven  years  in  the  United  States 
Army  in  all,  and  made  an  excellent  record.  His  discharges  show  the 
clean,  efficient  work  he  did  in  all  the  different  places  where  he  served. 

In  1906  Mr.  Schmidt  came  to  Leavenworth  and  settled  on  a  farm  in 
Kickapoo  Township  which  he  had  purchased  in  1898.  He  still  owns  this 
place  of  ten  acres  and  makes  it  his  home.  In  1916  Mr.  Schmidt  opened 
the  Buick  taxi  service  and  operates  four  cars.  He  has  made  a  success 
of  this  business.  Mr.  Schmidt  also  takes  an  interest  in  the  affairs  of 
his  township  and  has  served  on  the  school  board  in  his  district  for 
three  years. 

In  1893  Mr.  Schmidt  was  married  to  Mary  Boedettes  of  Leavenworth, 
Kansas.  They  have  one  son,  Harry,  born  May  11,  1897,  who  assists  his 
father  in  the  taxi  business. 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  443 

Robert  B.  and  Walter  C.  Yoakum,  leading  contractors  of  Leaven- 
worth, came  from  a  pioneer  family.    They  are  grandsons  of  Washington 

C.  Yoakum,  who  was  born  in  Tazewell,  Tennessee,  near  Cumberland  Gap, 
and  was  reared  in  eastern  Tennessee.  When  a  young  man  he  went  to 
Alabama  and  learned  the  contracting  business.  He  was  married  in  Ala- 
bama to  Elizabeth  (Tunstall).  From  that  state  he  went  to  Atlanta, 
Georgia,  where  he  spent  several  years.  In  1857  he  located  in  Leaven- 
worth, Kansas,  at  Broadway  and  Ottawa  streets.  He  died  in  this  county 
about  1870  and  is  buried  near  Fairmont,  Kansas,  of  this  county. 

William  T.  Yoakum,  a  son  of  Washington  Yoakum  and  the  father  of 
the  subject  of  this  sketch,  was  born  at  Huntsville,  Alabama,  in  1840  and 
came  with  his  father  to  Leavenworth  in  1857.  He  followed  contracting 
and  building  until  his  death  in  November,  1918.  He  was  a  member  of 
the  Kansas  State  Militia. 

Robert  B.  Yoakum  was  born  in  Leavenworth  June  19,  1869  and 
Walter  C.  Yoakum  was  bom  October  10,  1875.  Both  were  educated  at 
Leavenworth,  and  Robert  Yoakum  was  graduated  from  the  Michigan 
Military  Academy,  near  Detroit.  The  two  comprise  the  firm  known  as 
"R.  B.  Yoakum,  Contractor."  This  firm  has  been  under  this  name  since 
1894.  They  are  experts  in  their  line  of  work  and  do  a  large  business 
in  the  city,  but  the  majority  of  their  work  is  confined  to  Fort  Leaven- 
worth. They  own  their  building  at  515  Delaware  street.  Among  the 
buildings  they  have  erected  are :  New  Leavenworth  High  School  building ; 
Presbyterian  Church  adjoining  the  high  school;  St.  John's  Hospital,  Luth- 
eran Church ;  the  main  building  of  the  Great  Western  Stove  Company,  also 
their  building  at  Oklahoma  City;  the  library  building  at  Fort  Leaven- 
worth, and  many  of  the  fine  residences  of  the  city,  including  those  of  E. 

D.  Lyle,  Hiram  R.  Wilson  and  Samuel  Wilson.  The  Yoakum  Brothers 
are  live  business  men  and  have  an  extensive  acquaintance  throughout  the 
county. 

R.  B.  Yoakum  was  married  October  28,  1909  to  Alice  M.  Forrester 
of  Leavenworth,  a  daughter  of  P.  E.  and  Mary  Forrester,  both  deceased. 
They  had  a  daughter  Florence,  who  died  at  the  age  of  six  years.  They' 
reside  at  220  Second  avenue. 

Walter  C.  Yoakum  was  married  June  26,  1911,  to  Wilma  P.  McCreary 
of  Leavenworth,  a  daughter  of  M.  B.  and  Clara  McCreary.  They  have 
three  children:  Ruth  Vickery,  Wilma  Caroline  and  Clara  Elizabeth.    The 


444  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

family  reside  at  932  South  Broadway.     Mr.  Yoakum  is  a  member  of  the 
Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons. 

The  Yoakum  family  have  been  identified  with  the  Presbyterian 
Church  for  a  number  of  years,  Washington  C.  Yoakum  building  the  first 
Presbyterian  Church  here  in  1858,  which  was  a  frame  building  on  Seneca 
street.  William  Yoakum  built  the  second  church  in  1870  on  Delaware 
street,  between  Sixth  and  Seventh  streets,  and  the  two  sons  now  in  busi- 
ness built  the  third  Presbyterian  Church  on  Fourth  and  Walnut  streets 
in  1907. 


Miller  B.  McCreary,  who  for  more  than  thirty-five  years  has  been  a 
leading  business  man  of  Leavenworth,  was  born  in  Wabash  County,  In- 
diana November  20,  1850,  the  son  of  Rev.  Lewis  and  Martha  Ann  (Shack- 
leford)  McCreary.  His  father  was  born  in  Knox  County,  Ohio,  in  1829, 
and  was  a  pioneer  Baptist  minister  for  more  than  fifty  years  in  Indiana, 
Illinois  and  Kansas.  He  came  to  Leavenworth  in  1886  and  died  in  1893 
and  is  buried  at  Mt.  Muncie  Cemetery.  His  wife  died  in  1865  and  is 
buried  in  Rensselaer,  Indiana. 

Rev.  and  Mrs.  McCreary  had  the  following  children:  Miller  B.,  of 
this  sketch;  Rev.  Davis  L.,  a  Methodist  minister  at  Kansas  City,  Mis- 
souri; William  L.,  agent  for  Monon  railroad  at  Rossville,  Indiana,  and 
Mrs.  Gussie  McCreary  of  Vancouver,  Washington. 

Miller  B.  McCreary  was  educated  in  the  public  schools  of  Indiana 
and  came  to  Kansas  in  1872,  where  he  engaged  in  farming  for  a  few 
years.  He  then  learned  the  bridge  building  trade  and  was  in  Utah  during 
the  summers  of  1874  and  1875.  He  came  to  Leavenworth  in  May,  1883 
and  in  1885  became  an  ice  dealer,  and  for  fourteen  years  secured  natural 
ice  from  the  Missouri  River  and  surrounding  lakes  or  ponds  in  this  vi- 
cinity. When  ice  manufacturing  machines  came  into  use,  he  sold  their 
products  exclusively.  When  he  first  began  business  he  had  an  office  on 
the  site  of  the  Axa  building.  His  plant  is  now  located  at  Fifth  and  Oak 
streets.  Twenty-two  years  ago  Mr.  McCreary  began  handling  coal,  and 
he  now  is  a  dealer  for  both  ice  and  coal,  and  is  considered  a  reliable  and 
dependable  business  man. 

In  May,  1883,  Mr.  McCreary  was  married  to  Clarissa  H.  Mann,  a 
daughter  of  Aaron  and  Mary  E.  Mann,  the  latter  now  eighty-seven  years 
of  age,  and  who  resides  with  her  daughter,  Mrs.  McCreary.     Aaron  Mann 


HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  445 

was  formerly  a  shoe  merchant  of  Kansas  City,  Missouri.  He  is  now 
deceased. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  McCreary  have  two  children  living:  Miller  A.,  an  esti- 
mating engineer  for  the  Hadley  Refining  Company  of  Danville,  Illinois, 
and  Wilma  Pearl,  the  wife  of  Walter  Yoakum  of  Leavenworth,  Kansas, 
the  latter  being  a  contractor  of  the  firm  of  Yoakum  Brothers  of  this  city. 
One  daughter  Ruth,  deceased,  was  the  wife  of  Lieut.  Glenn  E.  Wood  of 
Kansas  City,  Missouri.  She  died  June  30,  1918  and  is  buried  in  Leaven- 
worth. Her  husband,  Glenn  E.  Wood,  was  in  the  aviation  service  of  the 
United  States  during  the  war  and  stationed  in  Michigan.  He  was  one 
of  the  1,500  volunteers  to  answer  to  Pershing's  call  for  volunteers,  and 
was  commissioned  to  go  overseas  two  days  before  the  armistice  was  signed. 
He  was  mustered  out  in  December,  1920.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  McCreary  have 
five  grandchildren:  Ruth  V.  Yoakum,  Wilma  Caroline,  Clarissa  Elizabeth, 
Mary  E.  McCreary  and  Robert  McCreary. 

The  McCreary  family  is  recognized  as  one  of  the  substantial  ones  of 
the  city,  well  liked  and  highly  respected. 


William  Henderson,  deceased,  was  a  well  known  pioneer  of  Alexandria 
Township,  and  a  native  of  Virginia,  born  in  1834.  His  parents  first 
settled  in  Missouri,  but  came  to  Leavenworth  County  before  the  Civil 
War  and  homesteaded  land  in  Alexandria  Township,  two  miles  northwest 
of  Jarbalo.  The  Henderson  farm  was  one  of  the  first  settled  in  Alex- 
andria Township,  and  a  cabin  is  still  standing  that  was  used  for  a  tenant 
house.  The  cabin,  which  was  built  by  John  Henderson,  the  father  of 
William  Henderson,  is  forty-eight  by  thirty-two  feet,  and  was  the  best 
house  in  this  vicinity  at  the  time  it  was  built.  Hewed  walnut  logs  forty- 
eight  feet  long  were  used  in  the  construction.  A  hand  made  loom  used 
by  Mrs.  John  Henderson  is  in  the  old  building.  John  Henderson  was  a 
member  of  the  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons.  He  died  at  the  age  of 
seventy-five  years  and  is  buried  at  Fall  Creek  Cemetery. 

William  Henderson  was  married  in  Platte  County,  Missouri,  in  1864 
to  Sarah  Lutes,  a  native  of  Georgia,  and  the  same  year  they  moved  to 
Kansas  and  located  on  the  farm  where  Mrs.  Henderson  now  lives.  Wil- 
liam Henderson  owned  204  acres  at  the  time  of  his  death,  and  did  general 
farming  and  stock  raising  and  was  very  successful.  He  was  a  member 
of  the  school  board  of  this  district,  his  father  having  helped  organize 


446  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

the  district.  William  Henderson  was  one  of  the  fifty-four  men  who  en-* 
listed  in  the  State  Militia  from  Alexandria  Township  during  the  Civil  War. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  William  Henderson  were  the  parents  of  three  children: 
William,  who  lives  on  the  home  place;  Sarah,  the  wife  of  Ralph  Hutchin- 
son of  Boling,  Kansas;  and  May,  at  home.  The  parents  of  Mrs.  Hender- 
son, Joseph  and  Sarah  (Steele)  Lutes,  were  of  English  descent.  The 
Henderson  children  were  all  educated  at  Star  school  house  in  District 
No.  62. 

William  Henderson,  Jr.,  together  with  his  mother  and  sister,  lives 
on  the  home  place.  He  left  home  when  thirty  years  of  age  and  was  a 
carpenter  for  fifteen  years,  returning  home  in  1919.  He  is  now  in  charge 
of  the  farm.  For  the  past  three  years  he  has  made  a  specialty  of  raising 
pure  bred  Duroc  Jersey  hogs,  and  has  about  fifty  head  on  hands.  His 
sister  is  interested  in  Buff  Orpington  poultry  and  has  a  nice  flock. 


William  M.  Brune  is  the  energetic  proprietor  of  a  large  stock  and 
grain  farm  near  Jarbalo,  Kansas,  in  Alexandria  Township,  and  was  born 
December  25,  1872  in  Indiana,  the  son  of  Fred  and  Catherine  (Meinken) 
Brune,  the  former  deceased  and  the  latter  living  on  the  home  farm. 
Fred  Brune  was  a  stockman  and  farmed  and  owned  410  acres  of  land, 
formerly  owned  by  C.  P.  Dewey  of  Chicago.  Mrs.  Brune  was  born  in 
Germany  November  21,  1843,  and  still  leads  an  active  life.  She  does  the 
house  work  and  last  year  made  more  than  1,000  pounds  of  butter,  using 
the  old  fashioned  dash  churn. 

William  Brune  attended  the  Star  school  in  District  No.  62  and  has 
lived  in  Alexandria  Township  all  of  his  life.  He  has  many  friends  here. 
He  farms  the  home  place  of  480  acres,  besides  fanning  270  acres  else- 
where. He  has  100  acres  in  meadow,  twenty  acres  in  alfalfa,  having  four 
cuttings  last  year,  and  280  acres  in  wheat.  He  has  forty  Shorthorn 
cattle  on  the  place  and  seventy  head  of  Poland-China  hogs.  The  farm  is 
mostly  second  bottom  land  and  the  remainder  is  upland.  Mr.  Brune  has 
two  tenant  houses  on  the  place  and  usually  has  three  form  hands  em- 
ployed. The  farm  is  situated  one  mile  north  and  one  and  one-half  miles 
west  of  Jarbalo,  Kansas,  and  is  one  of  the  most  excellent  stock  and  grain 
farms  in  the  township. 

Mr.  Brune  is  one  of  the  substantial  and  progressive  citizens  of  the 
county  who  has  done  his  part  in  stock  and  grain  production  of  this  section. 


HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  447 

John  S.  Campbell,  deceased,  was  an  enterprising  and  progressive 
farmer  of  Alexandria  Township  for  many  years.  He  was  born  in  Warren 
County,  Missouri,  in  1833  and  reared  there,  coming  to  Kansas  in  1859 
and  settling  in  Leavenworth  County,  Alexandria  Township.  In  1860  he 
was  married  to  Sarah  F.  Henderson,  a  native  of  Virginia,  who  was  born 
October  16,  1843,  and  who  now  lives  on  the  home  farm  two  and  one-half 
miles  northwest  of  Jarbalo.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Campbell  moved  to  this  farm 
in  1862.  Mr.  Campbell  owned  278  acres  at  the  time  of  his  death,  Novem- 
ber 15,  1893,  which  had  heavy  timber  on  most  of  it  at  the  time  he  pur- 
chased the  place.  He  improved  the  land  and  did  general  farming.  He 
was  a  very  progressive  citizen,  and  was  a  charter  member  of  the  first 
grange  organized  in  this  township.  He  also  served  on  the  school  board 
a  number  of  years. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  John  S.  Campbell  enjoyed  the  pioneer  home  life,  the 
wide  prairies  and  the  winding  Indian  trails.  The  Indian  reservation  was 
one  and  one-half  miles  from  their  home,  and  the  Delaware  Indian  women 
came  to  their  home  peddling  baskets,  shells  and  bead  ornaments,  carrying 
their  papooses  on  their  backs.  Mrs.  Campbell  relates  many  interesting 
experiences  of  those  days.  She  is  still  active,  has  good  eyesight  and  does 
her  own  house  work. 

The  Fall  Creek  Cemetery  adjoins  the  Campbell  farm.  Jesse  Hen- 
derson, a  brother  of  Mrs.  Campbell,  was  buried  there  in  1856,  the  first 
burial  in  this  cemetery.  It  was  first  used  as  a  private  cemetery,  but  in 
1885  was  made  a  public  burying  ground. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  John  S.  Campbell  had  the  following  children :  Anna,  the 
wife  of  William  O.  Bell,  of  Alexandria  Township;  Addie,  who  lives  at 
home  and  was  formerly  a  teacher  of  the  county ;  Eugene,  of  Kansas  City, 
Missouri,  who  married  Viola  Banner;  James  H.,  who  lives  at  home  and 
manages  the  home  place,  a  carpenter  by  trade;  and  John  T.  Campbell, 
who  for  nine  years  has  been  in  government  service  at  Yellowstone  Park 
and  at  present  is  a  guide  at  Geyser  Basin.  John  T.  went  to  Dakota  in 
1912,  and  from  there  to  Montana  and  the  same  year  to  Yellowstone  Park 
with  A.  W.  Miles,  a  nephew  of  General  Miles.  He  worked  as  barnkeeper 
for  five  years,  and,  when  automobiles  took  the  place  of  horses,  Mr.  Camp- 
bell was  made  night  watchman  to  look  after  the  tourists,  locating  and 
registering  them  and  overseeing  the  park  in  general.  The  trip  thi-ough 
the  park  from  north  or  west  entrance  takes  four  days,  and  from  east 
entrance  takes  five  days.     There  are  about  400  buffalo  in  the  tame  herd. 


448  HISTORY   OF  LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY 

Twenty-five  of  these  are  kept  in  the  pasture  or  corral.  Other  animals  in 
the  park  are  elk,  deer,  antelope,  bear,  moose,  mountain  sheep,  mountain 
lions,  coyotes,  and  many  fur  bearing  animals  such  as  beaver,  mink,  fox 
and  martin.  Mr.  Campbell  spends  from  two  to  three  months  each  winter 
season  at  his  home  in  Alexandria  Township,  but  he  is  very  fond  of  the 
West  and  one  of  his  favorite  poems  is,  "Out  Where  the  West  Begins." 


John  N.  Bollin,  deceased,  was  a  well-to-do  and  prominent  farmer  and 
stockman  of  Leavenworth  County,  Kansas,  and  a  descendant  from  a  well 
known  pioneer  family,  was  born  in  Kickapoo  Township,  December  29,  1862. 
He  was  a  son  of  Jerome  and  Jacobine  (Schulthies)  Bollin,  both  natives  of 
Germany,  but  who  settled  in  Leavenworth  County,  Kansas  in  pioneer  days. 
They  reared  one  son  and  three  daughters,  two  daughters  now  living :  Mrs. 
Michael  Malloy  and  Mrs.  Joe  Klasinski,  of  Leavenworth  County. 

John  N.  Bollin  was  a  farmer  all  of  his  life.  He  owned  660  acres  of 
land,  360  acres  in  Kickapoo  Township.  He  specialized  in  the  breeding  of 
Poland-China  hogs  and  was  a  successful  exhibitor  at  county  fairs.  He 
was  a  very  enterprising  farmer,  and  made  quite  a  success  in  his  field  of 
work.  In  politics,  Mr.  Bollin  was  a  Democrat,  and  for  four  years  was 
county  commissioner,  and  he  also  served  as  township  trustee  of  Kickapoo 
Township.  He  was  a  member  of  the  Catholic  Church,  the  Modern  Wood- 
men of  America,  Knights  and  Ladies  of  Security,  of  the  Catholic  Mutual 
Benefit  Association  and  the  Knights  of  Columbus. 

Mr.  Bollin  was  twice  married,  his  first  wife  being  Clara  Arron,  who 
was  born  in  Pennsylvania,  the  daughter  of  John  and  Mary  Arron.  Mrs. 
Clara  Bollin  died  in  1903.  To  that  union,  ten  children  were  born,  seven 
now  living,  as  follows :  John  J.,  of  Kickapoo  Township ;  Aloysius  R.,  Frank 
J.,  Clara  H.,  George  A.,  Florence  M.,  Walter  J.,  all  of  Kickapoo  Township. 

In  1905,  Mr.  Bollin  was  married  to  Elizabeth  Hoberg,  a  native  of 
Kickapoo  Township,  Leavenworth  County,  a  daughter  of  Frederick  and 
Elizabeth  (Litch)  Hoberg,  natives  of  Germany  and  Indiana,  respectively. 
They  came  to  Leavenworth  County  in  the  fifties,  where  Mr.  Hoberg  en- 
gaged in  farming.  Mrs.  Elizabeth  Bollin  was  educated  in  the  district 
schools  ,  and,  in  1894,  entered  the  dishing  Hospital  at  Leavenworth,  Kan- 
sas, and  became  a  nurse,  which  occupation  she  followed  until  her  marriage 
in  1905.  To  Mr.  Bollin's  second  wife  was  born  one  child,  Mary  J.,  who 
now  lives  at  home.    Mr.  Bollin  died  February  10,  1918. 


J.  N.  BOLLIX 


HISTORY   OF   LEAVENWORTH   COUNTY  449 

Mrs.  Bollin  owns  200  acres,  which  she  rents.  In  1920,  she  erected  a 
thoroughly  modern,  two  story  residence,  with  hot  and  cold  water,  and 
with  Delco  lighting  system.  She  also  built  a  barn  and  other  necessary 
improvements.  Mrs.  Bollin  is  a  member  of  the  Eastern  Star,  her  father 
having  been  a  Mason.  He  was  a  prominent  man  in  Kickapoo  Township. 
Mrs.  Bollin  is  a  capable  woman,  and  is  well  known  throughout  the  county, 
where  she  has  many  friends.    She  is  a  member  of  the  Baptist  Church. 


Martin  L.  Stigleman,  a  respected  citizen  of  Alexandria  Township 
for  many  years,  is  now  proprietor  of  Variety  Grove  Farm,  near  McLouth, 
Kansas.  He  was  born  June  30,  1840,  six  miles  northwest  of  Richmond, 
Indiana.  He  served  in  the  Civil  War,  enlisting  in  Company  K,  Fifty- 
seventh  Indiana  Volunteer  Infantry.  He  served  in  the  war  for  two  years, 
and  on  September  24,  1868,  he  and  his  wife  started  with  a  team  of  two 
year  old  mules  hitched  to  a  spring  wagon  for  Kansas,  reaching  Springdale 
November  3,  1868,  where  they  stopped. 

Mr.  Stigleman  rented  land  here  for  a  few  years,  and  bought  his  first 
eighty  acres  about  the  year  1870  from  the  railroad  company,  paying  $4.00 
per  acre.  He  then  bought  forty  acres  where  his  residence  stands,  and 
later  purchased  another  forty  forty  acres  and  an  additional  eighty  acres, 
making  a  total  of  240  acres  in  section  2,  township  10,  range  20.  All  of 
the  improvements  were  put  on  the  place  by  Mr.  Stigleman.  He  has  a 
good  residence,  barn,  seventy  by  forty-two  feet;  tool  shed,  thirty-six  by 
forty  feet  for  his  farm  implements;  cribs  and  granaries.  Mr.  Stigleman 
has  been  an  extensive  stock  raiser  and  feeder.  He  has  handled  the  O. 
I.  C.  hogs  for  several  years,  and  raised  the  Shire  horses  and  Shorthorn 
cattle.  The  place  is  well  watered,  there  being  a  fine  well  at  the  house 
and  stock  water  in  all  the  fields.  The  farm  name  is  derived  from  a  grove 
of  trees  on  the  farm  of  many  varieties,  which  are  not  native  here,  one 
especially  unusual  tree  that  Mr.  Stigleman  has  set  out  being  the  Balming 
Gilead. 

Mr.  Stigleman  served  as  clerk  of  the  school  board  for  twenty  years 
in  his  district.  Jesse  Hall,  one  of  the  editors  of  this  volume,  got  his  first 
and  second  schools  when  Mr.  Stigleman  was  on  the  board. 

Mr.  Stigleman  has  made  a  success  in  life  by  hard  work.  He  learned 
to  write  on  a  slab  in  a  log  school  house  in  Indiana.  He  now  writes  a 
plain,  legible  hand,  far  better  than  the  average  person,  though  he  is 

(25) 


450  HISTORY   OF  LEAVEXWORTH   COUNTY 

eighty-one  years  old.  He  remembers  many  interesting  events  of  early 
days,  and  recalls  the  struggles  he  had  to  undergo.  He  lived  here  when 
he  had  to  drive  to  Leavenworth,  a  distance  of  eighteen  miles,  for  pro- 
visions, and  when  he  hauled  hay  to  Leavenworth  for  $2.00  per  ton.  Gal- 
vanized barb  wire  sold  for  fourteen  cents  per  pound  and  corn  for  fourteen 
cents  per  bushel,  and  he  had  to  pay  twenty-five  cents  for  weighing  on  the 
city  scales.  One  hundred  bushels  of  corn,  af